41.00 - Ellinbank
41.00 - Neerim Neerim South
61.00 - Buln Buln
101.00 - Koo Wee Rup
501.00 - Warragul Industrials
PM me to place bets
Themagicman
8 Nov 2007, 14:47
Im new to this fellas but as I have seen a fair bit of edfl in the last 10 years, I would have to say the 3 dollars for nyora to 3 peat looks pretty good
goal sneak
8 Nov 2007, 14:49
Welcome magician. nice to have you on board. What club are you associated with?
bigpapagman
8 Nov 2007, 14:51
i say we wait for bigbadmal to come on & confirm the odds for us.
he seems to know what hes doing.
EDFL follower
8 Nov 2007, 14:57
Im new to this fellas but as I have seen a fair bit of edfl in the last 10 years, I would have to say the 3 dollars for nyora to 3 peat looks pretty good
I agree magicman they are great odds for Nyora. Catani are also good value. I think Cora Lynn are way too short.
bigpapagman
8 Nov 2007, 15:05
I agree magicman they are great odds for Nyora. Catani are also good value. I think Cora Lynn are way too short.
CL should be out near, oh say......$3.25.
goal sneak
8 Nov 2007, 15:09
Cobras are value at $2.20
Already had a good side last year and when you add Hora, Donno, Bakaysia and some Narre guy they gonna be hard to top.
bigpapagman
8 Nov 2007, 15:12
true....but they dont deserve to start favourites.......
2nd fave.
Themagicman
8 Nov 2007, 15:13
not really associated with any one club, just a follower of local footy
lucifer1
8 Nov 2007, 15:32
Cobras are value at $2.20
Already had a good side last year and when you add Hora, Donno, Bakaysia and some Narre guy they gonna be hard to top.
Fair enough but they have lost that Newman fella and also sheen has gone to Box Hill so no guarantee to play either. I'll believe they have donaldson & co when i see their clearances go thru, until then anything can happen.
bigbadmal
8 Nov 2007, 15:53
My 2008 EDFL Premiership Market -
Catani 3.0
Cora Lynn 4.0
Nyora 5.0
Poowong 8.0
Bunyip 8.0
Longwarry 12.0
Lang Lang 14.0
Nar Nar Goon 21.0
Nilma Darnum 26.0
Buln Buln 41.0
Neerim Sth 51.0
Ellinbank 51.0
Warragul Ind 67.0
Kooweerup 67.0
It is too early to frame any reliable market at this stage.
Wont know until official transfers in/out are known.
I would be happy to lay Cora Lynn at 4.0 this early if there are any takers??
goal sneak
8 Nov 2007, 16:16
I like Cora Lynn, Nyora and Lang Lang at them odds. Cora Lynn especially. How can Catani be shorter than Nyora when Nyora beat them by 100+ in the Grand Final and don't look to be losing many.
Themagicman
8 Nov 2007, 18:29
Nyora at 5s and catani at 3s, this must be a joke. Nyora has lost a couple but they have picked up 1 gun and are sure to pick up more. I would say they have the best recruiters in the comp. Would love to see how much buln was spending when they won their flags, tipping its a lot more than nyora spent in the last 2 years
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 06:19
Nyora at 5s and catani at 3s, this must be a joke. Nyora has lost a couple but they have picked up 1 gun and are sure to pick up more. I would say they have the best recruiters in the comp. Would love to see how much buln was spending when they won their flags, tipping its a lot more than nyora spent in the last 2 years
most definitely would be!
It's just a guess but I would doubt Buln spent as much as Nyora simply because the money in local footy has exploded at the top end of the ladder in the last few years. Buln's last flag was in 2002 - I just don't think it was necessary back then to spend as much as you have to now to challenge for a flag. Could easily be wrong though, just my thoughts...
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 10:24
maybe if you ratio the money between the years....... you would find it would be roughly the same.
ie. teams best player may be worth $200 in 2002
& $450 in 2007.
but we dont know whos gettin paid what so we cant comment.
maybe if you ratio the money between the years....... you would find it would be roughly the same.
ie. teams best player may be worth $200 in 2002
& $450 in 2007.
but we dont know whos gettin paid what so we cant comment.
That's exactly what I meant. Buln might have comparatively (to other teams) been paying more back then, but in simple dollar terms I would have thought it would be less than Nyora today.
It's fairly likely Buln were paying more than everbody else back then, but Nyora wouldn't have been the top paying team this year.
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 10:46
That's exactly what I meant. Buln might have comparatively (to other teams) been paying more back then, but in simple dollar terms I would have thought it would be less than Nyora today.
It's fairly likely Buln were paying more than everbody else back then, but Nyora wouldn't have been the top paying team this year.
excellent way to put it, axe man. agree completely.
saint leo
9 Nov 2007, 11:20
I know for a fact Nilma spent more than nyora in 2007 and i reckon Cora Lynn and Catani would have spent more to. I play at nyora and know what most guys are on and some are a lot less than most ppl would think. It would be more than buln 02 but in comparison to what teams pay these days i dont think nyora pays heaps.
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 11:34
darnum probably did pay more than nyora.
but they had to, nothing else was gonna do it!
Catani & Nyora would have spent pretty much the same i reckon.........
Cora Lynn spent the most by an absolute country mile!
I know for a fact Nilma spent more than nyora in 2007 and i reckon Cora Lynn and Catani would have spent more to. I play at nyora and know what most guys are on and some are a lot less than most ppl would think.
I dont know how you know for a "fact" Leo. Were you paying the wages of both sides players? No outsiders know the real truth to exact player payments. It is common for players to exagerate their income. At the end of the day who really cares who spends how much. If a club has the sponsors and good revenue streams to pay out good money then good luck to them. At the end of the day it is whoever wins the premiership that is remembered, not about how much they spent or how they won it.
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 11:42
I know for a fact Nilma spent more than nyora in 2007 and i reckon Cora Lynn and Catani would have spent more to. I play at nyora and know what most guys are on and some are a lot less than most ppl would think.
I dont know how you know for a "fact" Leo. Were you paying the wages of both sides players? No outsiders know the real truth to exact player payments. It is common for players to exagerate their income. At the end of the day who really cares who spends how much. If a club has the sponsors and good revenue streams to pay out good money then good luck to them. At the end of the day it is whoever wins the premiership that is remembered, not about how much they spent or how they won it.
correct, if they have the money to splash....who gives a shit?
i dont totally agree with it, but what can you do?
saint leo
9 Nov 2007, 12:00
i heard from a good source what nilma paid, and it was more than us. If ya got the money why not spend it, but how many clubs a going to survive the way they are spending cash these days.
I heard from a good source what nilma paid
And this "good source" makes it a fact does it Leo?
At the end of the day every club spends money on players and no doubt some more than others. Nilma had to do something to lure players to a club that were getting beaten by 40 goals a game. Regardless of how much they spent and who they recruited last season they have made a step in the right direction. It wasnt that long ago that Nyora were the worst side in the competition. With their current crop of juniors they will be back down the ladder where they were 10 years ago in the not too distant future.
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 12:34
correct. what goes around comes around.
buln are having a down patch now, but no doubt they will be back amongst it down the track....
saint leo
9 Nov 2007, 12:58
i sense a bit of jealousy there stretch, dont worry about my source mate, he is a man in the know. I dont care what Nilma spend, if Patto is willing to put it in he might as well spend it.
Good juniors dont mean much when it comes to senior flags, Nyora have been ordinary but won 2 flags, Bunyip and NNG have dominated and have nothing to show for it! If it went on who had the best juniors Darmun would have been the top team in the comp around 2002-2004. They lost them all, thats how it works pal. We wont stay up for ever but why we are up why the hell not bask in the glory of back to back flags!!
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 13:00
i sense a bit of jealousy there stretch, dont worry about my source mate, he is a man in the know. I dont care what Nilma spend, if Patto is willing to put it in he might as well spend it.
Good juniors dont mean much when it comes to senior flags, Nyora have been ordinary but won 2 flags, Bunyip and NNG have dominated and have nothing to show for it! If it went on who had the best juniors Darmun would have been the top team in the comp around 2002-2004. They lost them all, thats how it works pal. We wont stay up for ever but why we are up why the hell not bask in the glory of back to back flags!!
do you play ones or twos champ?
i sense a bit of jealousy there stretch
Not jealous at all Leo. I admire Nyora for how they have turned a struggling club into a successful one but just remember that football is just one big merry-go-round and what was once up the top must come back down to earth. Nyora have had their glory years but how long will it last? I doubt whether they will be as strong in years to come as they were the past couple. All i am saying is that good juniors are important and Nyora fail in that department and understandably so because of location. Yes Darnum did have gun juniors a few years ago but the senior club failed miserably to keep them. Why would those former premiership thirds players want to play in a senior side coping hidings each week? I dont blame them for moving on to other clubs. All i can say is that the club has a good president and comittee and are also improving the infrastructure within the club and not just spending it on players. The ground has been totaly levelled and resurfaced and will be close to the best surface in the EDFL next year. Things at Nilma are on the move. Dont be surprised if they taste success in the future. Remember Leo that every dog has his day!
saint leo
9 Nov 2007, 13:32
Fair call stretch, Nilma have had problems in the past and hopefully they turn it around. No body wants to see clubs struggling to survive and Nilma looks like they are on the right track.
Bigpapa, i have played ones and two over the last few years but didnt play in the premierships.
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 13:45
did you play your 50th senior game this year?
saint leo
9 Nov 2007, 14:05
nah not this year. Played at nyora my whole life though.
bigpapagman
9 Nov 2007, 14:11
okay, just had a coupla ideas is all..
i heard from a good source what nilma paid, and it was more than us. If ya got the money why not spend it, but how many clubs a going to survive the way they are spending cash these days.
is your good source the 3BBRFM radio show of a sat morning?
saint leo
14 Nov 2007, 09:32
cant say i have ever listened to 3BBR on a sat morning. Who is on that show?
dickwads and barney sell.
bigpapagman
15 Nov 2007, 06:12
cant say i have ever listened to 3BBR on a sat morning. Who is on that show?
leight steenholdt, mike jungwirth & barney.
Geegrimey
15 Nov 2007, 09:12
Bad juniors don't equal bad seniors down the track? Come on saint leo. In Nyora's premiership side for the last couple about 85% of the players played juniors at the club. Nyora does a great job of keeping the Hendry's, Collis's, Fergusons, Hislops and many others at the club. All these players could play at any rival EDFL club for good coins, just look at what Longworry are paying that average midfielder Ty Holland, not sure if thats his name, and what Poowong pay Hooker? I know that locals at your club Nyora are rewared through on field results, BOG's, maybe cheap fees even. You can't buy 21 good players and expect them to enjoy it, perform well as a team and build a structure for 5 years. ie Cora Lynn, they are ok, but on paper they are awesome. At $5, ill put $100 on Nyora to win each year while the 2 coaches are at the helm. They're recruiters do a great job each year!
bigpapagman
15 Nov 2007, 09:16
i hope you break your leg in a car accidedent.
fool.
just what are longwarry paying Holland?
what did they pay Donaldson for that matter?
do you even know?
you can't make calls like that.......
Geegrimey
15 Nov 2007, 09:20
All i am saying is that good juniors are important and Nyora fail in that department and understandably so because of location.
Interesting, think the Nyora population is one of the bigger in the leagues, much more then Nilma and Darnum put together, know they have the Warragul community to work with but not sure if Nyora's 'location' has anything to do with struggling juniors. They won the 4ths and 5ths premiership a few years back i think, but maybe those boys are playing seniors by now. Think Nyora's juniors are just in a low at the moment, their are a few Heylen's on the way, if they are like their old men in Josh and Jack, well....
bigpapagman
15 Nov 2007, 09:23
yeah, not many kids out that way, not to mention they have Poowong & Catani to contend with when it comes to juniors.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
15 Nov 2007, 09:24
do u actually know what pays these players or are u just assumeing
bigpapagman
15 Nov 2007, 09:25
who? me or the other dude?
Geegrimey
15 Nov 2007, 09:29
I don't like seeing players getting paid a huge amount from their home club, Holland and Hooker can play, but where is the loyalty gone? Donaldson is a club hopper chasing big dollars. He doesn't care about where any club will be in a few years, he just wants his cash at the end of a game. Im hoping Holland and Hooker, if they left their respective clubs would still want the success to continue their unlike other players. I know that Holland and Hooker get over $200 a game, are they worth that? Why not pay them on performance each week? Not having a crack at either player, as they would have towelled me up in my playing days.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
15 Nov 2007, 09:30
the other guy i wouldnt say anything bad about u on here
bigpapagman
15 Nov 2007, 09:52
I don't like seeing players getting paid a huge amount from their home club, Holland and Hooker can play, but where is the loyalty gone? Donaldson is a club hopper chasing big dollars. He doesn't care about where any club will be in a few years, he just wants his cash at the end of a game. Im hoping Holland and Hooker, if they left their respective clubs would still want the success to continue their unlike other players. I know that Holland and Hooker get over $200 a game, are they worth that? Why not pay them on performance each week? Not having a crack at either player, as they would have towelled me up in my playing days.
i doubt it.
Geegrimey
15 Nov 2007, 09:56
Why would Holland say that then? Does he talk himself up? I know Hooker is getting that much as i work with Poowong President.
so you'll know about the water then, whats happening there? anything?
hayesy_27
15 Nov 2007, 10:09
Nyora won the premiership when i was top age 4ths im pretty sure in 2002 and then in 2004 when they were all top age again they didnt even make the finals. So junior development there?
saint leo
15 Nov 2007, 10:14
When Nyora won the 4ths premiership they had a few korumburra kida playing cos they had different age groups. These kids went back up there for thirds so they were not as strong.
Nyora hang on to there good players thats why we are good, a lot of other clubs lose them all when they get to seniors. Really out of most good junior sides only 3 or 4 go on the play good senior footy at the most, these are the kids ya need to keep at the club.
bigpapagman
15 Nov 2007, 11:28
ie. poowong.
have kept; Hooker, Interlandi, etc. etc.
and on paying kids to stay at their club.
if you're aged 18-21, earning shit money, or at uni, and someone offers you a coupla hunge to play footy.......mad if you dont.
thats why these clubs are paying people like tye or hooker..... to keep them at the club! they would have gone to the prez & said "Club X have offered me X amount to play footy, can you match it?"
Club has said yes, and it shows the kid how much the club wants him there.... he gets his money, the club keeps the kid & makes a worthwhile investment, instead of paying an outsider to come in for one year.
if you're aged 18-21, earning shit money, or at uni, and someone offers you a coupla hunge to play footy.......mad if you dont.
taking money from your local club is called greed. would you rather have an extra $200 a week in your pocket, or let the club use that money to attract better players from outside of the club in order to have a crack at a premiership. i know i would take a premiership over $4000 any day of the week
goal sneak
16 Nov 2007, 05:47
I've got to disagree with you here Amog. When at uni it can be really hard to make ends meet, paying for rent, petrol and everything while working limited hours because of school work. $200 a week during the football season would come in real handy and i don't begrudge anyone who asks to be paid.
bigpapagman
16 Nov 2007, 06:18
I've got to disagree with you here Amog. When at uni it can be really hard to make ends meet, paying for rent, petrol and everything while working limited hours because of school work. $200 a week during the football season would come in real handy and i don't begrudge anyone who asks to be paid.
excellent post sneaky. agree with you entirely.
saint leo
16 Nov 2007, 06:39
maybe this is why nyora are successful, blokes like airmog prepared to do the hard yards to win a flag for no money rather than chasing the $$$. As him whats better, a flag or cash??
bigpapagman
16 Nov 2007, 07:10
taking money from your local club is called greed. would you rather have an extra $200 a week in your pocket, or let the club use that money to attract better players from outside of the club in order to have a crack at a premiership. i know i would take a premiership over $4000 any day of the week
okay then. Tom Johnson for instance.
he can play for free next year, for the love of the club, when a club like Warragul would pay good money for him.
Better Footy, Money, and he's expected to plod @ Ellinbank for donuts.
:)
saint leo
16 Nov 2007, 07:15
If he was to leave ellinbank he should go to a VFL club or at least Eastern league, what he get out of going to warraul? it wont make him a better footballer.
$200 a game or a flag at the club ya played ya whole life at with ya best mates? what would you prefer bigpapa???
bigpapagman
16 Nov 2007, 07:28
well.
i won flags with all my mates in juniors @ warrragul.
now they're spread all over the shop, some dont play at all. 3-5 blokes from those side still play @ warragul now.
if i were to win a senior flag somewhere down the track, it would be at a club that i was coincidentally at. i've lost the oppurtunity to win a senior flag with mates.
have to remember boys, footy aint everything. you have a life to live as well. and @ 20 years old, $200, $100, $50, whatever..... it all helps.
if you had a kid or a house to pay off then it would be different. but not many 20 years old have those things. everybody knows that the more you earn the more you spend. i'm tipping most 20 year olds with an extra $200 would be drinking cruisers instead of beers. living off **** all doesn't mean you wont have a life, it just means you have to drink out of a bag of goon instead instead of top shelf.
bigpapagman
16 Nov 2007, 11:37
if you had a kid or a house to pay off then it would be different. but not many 20 years old have those things. everybody knows that the more you earn the more you spend. i'm tipping most 20 year olds with an extra $200 would be drinking cruisers instead of beers. living off **** all doesn't mean you wont have a life, it just means you have to drink out of a bag of goon instead instead of top shelf.
no shit. thats the idea assshole.
instead of going home & getting into a goonbag, it means they can go out & celebrate a well earnt win, or drown their sorrows, or take recreational drugs or whatever. i think its a good idea & i am all for paying young players to stay at a club.
someone who gets offered $200 somewhere, might stay at their own club for $100 or something.
just get over it, its going to happen anyway.
assshole????
didn't know i was an assshole for voicing an opinion?
and what's wrong with the goon bag? treating your body to some cask wine will do you the world of good. sounds to me like you care about your insides way too much.
saint leo
16 Nov 2007, 11:51
If a 19 year old kid wants 200 a game then by the time he is 25 he will be on his 5th club with no team loyalty and if he wins a flag it will mean nothing. Kids that age should help the club that helped them, tell airmog $200 a week is better than a flag, i know what he would prefer!
bigpapagman
16 Nov 2007, 12:31
If a 19 year old kid wants 200 a game then by the time he is 25 he will be on his 5th club with no team loyalty and if he wins a flag it will mean nothing. Kids that age should help the club that helped them, tell airmog $200 a week is better than a flag, i know what he would prefer!
AAARRGGHH.
okay.
1) The $200 a game is to stop young blokes getting poached & encourages them to stay @ their club. Thus putting forward the notion of loyalty. In my honest opinion, a club is better off paying their good young juniors than ringing in a bunch of mercanaries. ie. where buln made their mistake over the 06/07 summer.
2) That is all
Unfortunately no clubs can afford 200 bucks for each of their local players as well as bringing in the players required to win a flag in this competition. In good teams, sacrifices are made by all players, the local kids play to win a flag with their mates and the paid players play for less than they could get(or have been offered) elsewhere because they see the sacrifices all the other players are making.
goal sneak
16 Nov 2007, 16:00
There is absolutely nothing wrong with getting paid $200 a game as a teenager at your club. These guys need the money heaps more than a 25 year old. Don't know if you guys went to uni or what but it can be hard trying to live off no money.
$200 aint much anyway by the time you factor in petrol driving to training twice and to the game. Entry into the game. Drinks after training and the game, raffle money, footy trip ect. + the time commitment. At the end of the day most of the $200 goes back into playing football anyway.
If you don't pay these guys who need the money they are going to end up quiting football and working on the weekends, and no-one wants to see good footballers not playing.
hayesy_27
16 Nov 2007, 16:25
i second that post. very good point. young players getting paid to stay at a team is a good idea. if they know they have the support of the club then they will 100% towards that team its a great idea. but also young players should not get payed anything silly i think the 200$ would be close to a maximum
saint leo
16 Nov 2007, 20:24
what about the 20 local blokes that play 2's every week for nothing, how would they feel to see a local 19 year old kid get 200 a game. If a local kid can play footy then winning games with ya mates should be enough. If at 19 year old wants 200 to play then he is not worth having, a good mate of mine Ben Hallas got offered 200-300 a game 3 years ago as a 19 year old but he stuck at nyora for nothing to win a flag with his mates and his family, he is a gun player but was loyal to the club, surely if ya care about the club thats should be enough these days. No club can afford to pay everybody 200 a game, the club would not survive!
goal sneak
17 Nov 2007, 05:50
Saint Leo i think you are placing too much emphasis on winning a game football. Football is only a game and in the overall picture of life it is only a very small, insignificant part. If you can be paid to play football to help you pay for things you would not have otherwise had you should take it. Getting this money may give you a chance to exoperience things in life you would not have otherwise been able to. ANd this is more important than winning a game.
bigpapagman
18 Nov 2007, 03:29
Saint Leo i think you are placing too much emphasis on winning a game football. Football is only a game and in the overall picture of life it is only a very small, insignificant part. If you can be paid to play football to help you pay for things you would not have otherwise had you should take it. Getting this money may give you a chance to exoperience things in life you would not have otherwise been able to. ANd this is more important than winning a game.
and you have to remember. not everybody is good.
Geegrimey
19 Nov 2007, 13:33
Not everyone is good, but for team success then airmog, saint and saint leo are right, the sacrifices must be made by the club. Big Papa and others, stop talking about the individual, its a team game. Reward your locals if they stay around, you can't stop them. Nyora are well set up, they are also lucky. Players like the Hendry's, Collis's, Hacketts, Fergusons and their are others have stayed at the club all their life, they live there. These players don't ask for the big dollars, if they are short of money the club im sure is willing to help out.
I know through recruits to the club that their is a system in place, that when a non-paid or player on a certain contract plays well then they are rewarded. The culture is great, its a team culture without the individuals that other clubs contain and we can name them.
If a player wants to leave for the big bucks, let them go cos they are around for the wrong reasons. If a player leaves to play better football as what i understand Hallas has done, let him go on happy terms and hope that he will return one day as a coach or something.
Thats Nyora's strength, they keep their juniors happy, from 2's to seniors. The players stay around when recruited like Hutchison, Hislop's, Francis, Wilson's, Gilliete. They are rewarded with 2 senior premierships, its not life but they are amazing things to do with your mates when your young! Great posts Airmog, Saint Leo and Saint! Others, stop chasing cash.
bigpapagman
19 Nov 2007, 13:48
JESUS. H. CHRIST.
this has nothing to do with chasing cash, as such, it has to do with being made an "offer you cant refuse" as a 19 or 20 year old. not to put yourself out there for the highest bidder..... notice how it's Nyora vs. the rest?
EDFL follower
19 Nov 2007, 14:20
Not everyone is good, but for team success then airmog, saint and saint leo are right, the sacrifices must be made by the club. Big Papa and others, stop talking about the individual, its a team game. Reward your locals if they stay around, you can't stop them. Nyora are well set up, they are also lucky. Players like the Hendry's, Collis's, Hacketts, Fergusons and their are others have stayed at the club all their life, they live there. These players don't ask for the big dollars, if they are short of money the club im sure is willing to help out.
I know through recruits to the club that their is a system in place, that when a non-paid or player on a certain contract plays well then they are rewarded. The culture is great, its a team culture without the individuals that other clubs contain and we can name them.
If a player wants to leave for the big bucks, let them go cos they are around for the wrong reasons. If a player leaves to play better football as what i understand Hallas has done, let him go on happy terms and hope that he will return one day as a coach or something.
Thats Nyora's strength, they keep their juniors happy, from 2's to seniors. The players stay around when recruited like Hutchison, Hislop's, Francis, Wilson's, Gilliete. They are rewarded with 2 senior premierships, its not life but they are amazing things to do with your mates when your young! Great posts Airmog, Saint Leo and Saint! Others, stop chasing cash.
Excellent post.
bigpapagman
19 Nov 2007, 14:29
we've missed the point here fellas.
Budda 230
19 Nov 2007, 14:36
Bloody hell, what a boring thread. I'm not quite sure why I wasted 5 min reading through the whole thing.:rolleyes:
bigpapagman
19 Nov 2007, 14:49
why? because its not general chit-chat?
saint leo
19 Nov 2007, 15:01
This started becasue you guts think its ok for a 19 year old to get 200 a game at his local club, we nyora ppl think thats wrong. Ya play footy to be with mates and win flags, if you are 19 and want 200 a game at your local club then ya club is not going to be able to recruit players to win games. This is the system nyora has in place and it seems to work well if the last few years are anything to go by.
goal sneak
19 Nov 2007, 19:30
I don't play football to win flags. I would rather be best on ground and the team loses then to play shit and the team wins. The main reason i play footy is to keep fit and to have a good time with some mates and hopefully improve as a player. Couldn't care less about winning.
yer i thought the exact same thing until i finally won a senior game on my 20th game of senior footy even if it was against dusties, it felt alot better then getting a league best and fairest, BOG's and league votes.
if winning a game feels that good i can't wait until i win a flag if i ever do.
Themagicman
19 Nov 2007, 20:06
Just a quick 1 for the nyora boys. Any truth to the saints looking to recruit wulf and kilpatrick from doveton?
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 06:13
I don't play football to win flags. I would rather be best on ground and the team loses then to play shit and the team wins. The main reason i play footy is to keep fit and to have a good time with some mates and hopefully improve as a player. Couldn't care less about winning.
i won flags with my mates in juniors. i probably wont ever play with them again. having said that, i still care about winning obviously. :p
it's still nice to see your name in the paper though. :D
yer i thought the exact same thing until i finally won a senior game on my 20th game of senior footy even if it was against dusties, it felt alot better then getting a league best and fairest, BOG's and league votes.
if winning a game feels that good i can't wait until i win a flag if i ever do.
because ya get 50 bucks when ya win????
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 08:12
ha. nice one.
Hoggwash
20 Nov 2007, 08:29
I have heard they are talking to those 2 but not sure if they are coming or not. Are they good players??
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 08:59
is Kilpatrick a CHF?
lucifer1
20 Nov 2007, 12:57
No Kilpatrick looks like a little weasel
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 13:01
well i'm barking up the wrong tree then.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
20 Nov 2007, 13:14
tye holland does not get over 200 a game a complete lie there well under
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 13:29
tye holland does not get over 200 a game a complete lie there well under
talking himself up then. according to this other so & so.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
20 Nov 2007, 13:33
so have u heard the good news i made up with gilbert and im also pulling on the crows jumper next year
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 13:47
bunyip party?
and why on earth would you play for longwarry again?
you like withers when he went from Garfield to Pakky every 2nd year!
longworrytheonlywaytogo
20 Nov 2007, 13:59
yeah because linklator is gonna play again if i pla down there and thats just bad news for all 2's players lol yeh me and gilbert came to understanding on the sitution so at least we are talking now
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 14:05
yeah because linklator is gonna play again if i pla down there and thats just bad news for all 2's players lol yeh me and gilbert came to understanding on the sitution so at least we are talking now
well thats good to hear mate.
i am never, ever going to play twos against longwarry this year. (i hope not to play twos at all).
i dont care if its the grand final & shit.
longworrytheonlywaytogo
20 Nov 2007, 14:08
yes i think this is defintly going to be a concern for other clubs lol
Themagicman
20 Nov 2007, 14:18
I have heard they are talking to those 2 but not sure if they are coming or not. Are they good players??
Yeah they are handy players, kilpatrick played in the 2 grand finals in 05-06 as well as playing in the 2s flag last year. Pretty sure he only played 2s because of injury during the year, came back through the seconds and qualified for finals.
Wulf is the brother of the bloke who played for stkilda a few years back. Think he was a seconds player a few seasons ago and is now a doves regular. Niether are superstars but i'm sure they would be more than handy players
Budda 230
20 Nov 2007, 14:37
why? because its not general chit-chat?
Nah, cos it makes me want to go to sleep.
bigpapagman
20 Nov 2007, 14:56
quiet day from you mate?
because ya get 50 bucks when ya win????
yer that was a handy $50, but just the feeling of winning a game was good enough.
bigpapagman
21 Nov 2007, 05:54
agreed. if you can win enough games to pay your subs. :D
when you actually love the club you're at, winning becomes the no. 1 thing.
Budda 230
21 Nov 2007, 06:38
quiet day from you mate?
Not really. Just couldn't be bothered working. Yesterday's heat was very draining.
bigpapagman
21 Nov 2007, 07:10
agreed.
air conditioned office board.
and i was speaking to hassa @ training last night.
it was rb/v.
Budda 230
21 Nov 2007, 07:13
agreed.
air conditioned office board.
and i was speaking to hassa @ training last night.
it was rb/v.
Haha. No worries. It stings your eyes good.:thumbsu::p