View Full Version : Hentschel - What do you think his retun season will be like?

Zarko
8 Nov 2007, 18:00
Personally, I hope he plays superbly, but I can't see him playing more than 15 games... About the 35 goal mark would be pretty nice IMO... Of course you would like to see him kick more, but he has been gone a whole year...

Whats his SANFL team btw?

Southerntakeover
8 Nov 2007, 18:05
Brownlow.

Dogga79
8 Nov 2007, 18:10
Personally, I hope he plays superbly, but I can't see him playing more than 15 games... About the 35 goal mark would be pretty nice IMO... Of course you would like to see him kick more, but he has been gone a whole year...

Whats his SANFL team btw?

He plays for Woodvile/West Torrens Eagles.

I wouldn't expect much from him for the first half of the season. Get him back playing some SANFL footy to give him a chance to regain fitness and confidence.

Dogga79
8 Nov 2007, 18:12
Brownlow.

And Coleman medal :)

Southerntakeover
8 Nov 2007, 19:59
And Coleman medal :)

You forgot the norm smith.

Vic Crow
8 Nov 2007, 20:15
Michael Tuck Medal.

macca23
8 Nov 2007, 20:23
He plays for Woodvile/West Torrens Eagles.

I wouldn't expect much from him for the first half of the season. Get him back playing some SANFL footy to give him a chance to regain fitness and confidence.

That makes sense to me. :thumbsu:

Southerntakeover
8 Nov 2007, 20:41
Michael Tuck Medal.

Malcolm Blight medal

FlyingCrow
8 Nov 2007, 21:01
Round 1-16 slow will explode rounds 17-22...Get us in 8 and on to a Flag...;)

Vic Crow
8 Nov 2007, 21:01
Malcolm Blight medal
Leigh Matthews Medal

-CG-
8 Nov 2007, 21:07
Magery Medal

Vic Crow
8 Nov 2007, 21:45
Booker Prize for his masterpiece 'Rowdy'

BlackDouglas
8 Nov 2007, 21:50
Booker Prize for his masterpiece 'Rowdy'

Archibald Prize for his haircut

Southerntakeover
8 Nov 2007, 21:56
Nobel Peace Prize for attempting to break up a van Berlo/Chad Cornes fight (read: trying to stop van Berlo mid beatdown)

Carl Spackler
8 Nov 2007, 22:13
A season hampered by "complications" and hot spots. Doesn't play a game for the AFC. Shows a glimmer or two for the Eagles late in the season which leaves us hopeful about 2009, with a decent preseason under his belt...

fightingdreamer88
8 Nov 2007, 22:20
We will be such a better side if we can get him back fit and firing. It's a huge if, and there's every chance he won't ever make it.

Vic Crow
8 Nov 2007, 22:42
Academy Award (Best Actor) for his role in an edgy drama based on racial tension in the NT. Starring alongside Emma Thompson and Jada Pinkett-Smith.

Jarmayhem
8 Nov 2007, 23:07
He'll pick up the Marn Grook as well.

James_37
9 Nov 2007, 00:07
I see him having a slow start to the season, starting in the SANFL with WWT, then after about 4-5 games really starting to dominate at that level and thus becoming a regular fixture in the crows line up, perhaps 30 goals. He's got a good SANFL club to come back through, so i think he might start getting back to his best by the end of the year, perhaps a similar year to Treadrea although a couple more matches in the SANFL.

betterthanu
9 Nov 2007, 00:14
ARIA award for best male artist due to a string of chart topping hits from his album by the name of "Lets get rowdy in here" (i would buy it).

Southerntakeover
9 Nov 2007, 00:35
Olympic Gold Medal in equestrian.

rAdelaideCrows
9 Nov 2007, 09:12
It will be nice to have a forward back in our team that can actually kick a snap goal :thumbsu:

Hope all goes really well for him!

Stiffy_18
9 Nov 2007, 09:59
I expect him to spend most of 2008 in the SANFL and I don't expect him to play as a forward next year. I suspect he will be played at CHB with the occasional pinch hitting role as a forward. I wouldn't expect more than maybe 5 AFL games from Trent next year. 2009 will be the year he comes back to some really good form for us.

Asgardian
9 Nov 2007, 11:51
A season hampered by "complications" and hot spots. Doesn't play a game for the AFC. Shows a glimmer or two for the Eagles late in the season which leaves us hopeful about 2009, with a decent preseason under his belt...

Sounds correct to me

You have to remember, the injury was described as a "car accident" style injury, so there wont be anything rapid about his return.

Gets!
9 Nov 2007, 11:54
Sounds correct to me

You have to remember, the injury was described as a "car accident" style injury, so there wont be anything rapid about his return.

You are in love with our board.

Asgardian
9 Nov 2007, 12:10
What on earth is wrong with the comment I made? :confused:

Don't you prefer discussing footy issues with those who disagree with you?

That way you can get actual debate, disagreement, rather than sycophantic style posts.

I prefer the 'heated argument' type threads as opposed to the 'all in love fest' threads

Farmy
9 Nov 2007, 12:13
go away

Asgardian
9 Nov 2007, 12:18
If I have stepped over the line, your mods will deal with me.

If you don't like my posts, report them, or if all the Crow supporters want me banned from the Adelaide Board, I'm sure you could arrange it.

johnnypanther
9 Nov 2007, 12:20

That way you can get actual debate, disagreement, rather than sycophantic style posts.

I prefer the 'heated argument' type threads as opposed to the 'all in love fest' threads

:thumbsu: have i missed something here? have you done something to offend people here? (other than being a Port Power supporter) - nevertheless rational discussion amongst people with conflicting views is always welcome

BlackDouglas
9 Nov 2007, 12:33
If I have stepped over the line, your mods will deal with me.

If you don't like my posts, report them, or if all the Crow supporters want me banned from the Adelaide Board, I'm sure you could arrange it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/parenting/images/300/baby_crying_closeup.jpg

Asgardian
9 Nov 2007, 12:36
Just saying if you want to get rid of me, you can, that's not having a cry, just fact.

Gets!
9 Nov 2007, 12:39

Easy tiger, just said you were in love with our board. :)

Freddy Bassett
9 Nov 2007, 12:40
I expect him to spend most of 2008 in the SANFL and I don't expect him to play as a forward next year. I suspect he will be played at CHB with the occasional pinch hitting role as a forward. I wouldn't expect more than maybe 5 AFL games from Trent next year. 2009 will be the year he comes back to some really good form for us.

I hope he plays back for at least the first half of next year.At least then you are running forward and not turning and twisting and having blokes all over you quite as much. But he is a freak and nothing would surprise me with him. Who would of thought Huddo would of been so good, knee wise. I just hope he gets a few good games under his belt and is injury sound.

johnnypanther
9 Nov 2007, 12:52
with Bassett and Hentschell both returning I cant see how we can fit all these taller blokes in the back line - add in Scott Stevens, Bock and Rutten (and Moran hopes to play there too)

I would have thought we would have say Ruutten, Bock & Bassett as the 3 tall backs - but where does that leave Stevens (and IMO Hentschell will probably be playing SANFL for quite a while)

jmorg1
9 Nov 2007, 13:04

No need to get all precious and upset. He never said there was anything wrong with your comment. All he said was that you were in love with our board which, while a touch exaggerated, does have an element of truth.

BlackDouglas
9 Nov 2007, 13:19
with Bassett and Hentschell both returning I cant see how we can fit all these taller blokes in the back line - add in Scott Stevens, Bock and Rutten (and Moran hopes to play there too)

I would have thought we would have say Ruutten, Bock & Bassett as the 3 tall backs - but where does that leave Stevens (and IMO Hentschell will probably be playing SANFL for quite a while)

Good point; I just hope NC doesn’t get the ideal stuck in his head that he has to play Nathan Bock as a forward to fit everyone in.

IMO the forward line will revolve around Burton, McGregor and Welsh (if he stays) with Porplyzia and 2 younger types in there somewhere.

There is no reason why Trent Hentschel cannot play as a full forward. If he leads out and marks the ball he will be fine. If he doesn’t mark the ball he still has to chase (and he will still have to do this as a defender) so his knee injury will not stop him from doing this. The only thing he will not want to happen is to play at CHF and then have the pack to crash down upon him or have to lead up and then double back as his lateral movement (turning circle) will take time to fully recover

If his job was simple to lead up and then chase hard once the ball hit the ground, he will be fine as a forward.

Stiffy_18
9 Nov 2007, 13:58
Good point; I just hope NC doesn’t get the ideal stuck in his head that he has to play Nathan Bock as a forward to fit everyone in.

IMO the forward line will revolve around Burton, McGregor and Welsh (if he stays) with Porplyzia and 2 younger types in there somewhere.

There is no reason why Trent Hentschel cannot play as a full forward. If he leads out and marks the ball he will be fine. If he doesn’t mark the ball he still has to chase (and he will still have to do this as a defender) so his knee injury will not stop him from doing this. The only thing he will not want to happen is to play at CHF and then have the pack to crash down upon him or have to lead up and then double back as his lateral movement (turning circle) will take time to fully recover

If his job was simple to lead up and then chase hard once the ball hit the ground, he will be fine as a forward.This is a flawed argument! Anything that he would do at CHF, he would need to do at FF and that also includes standing under the ball with the pack crashing on him. It would also involve leading up and then having to double back. Have a look at how the deep forward play. That is EXACTLY what they do. They lead up, then they double back and lead again. Its pretty much the same thing as playing CHF in today's game. If anything, in our system it would be easier for him to play at CHF than at FF.

We want our CHF to lead up the ground and be a leading target, and create space. If anything, it is our FF that have to stay under the ball and have the pack crash on them. In our system and the way we want our players to play, his body would take more battering at FF than at CHF because we pretty much use our CHF as a lead up flanker more than a true CHF.

Hentschel shouldn't play as a forward next year full stop. He should find his feet and confidence at SANFL level playing at CHB and when he regains the mobility and agility, then throw him forward. Until then, keep him in defense and let him have some fun playing footy.

Tails14
9 Nov 2007, 20:01
It will be a tough call but I think that the club would err on the side of caution with such a talent and with griffen, tippett, sellar it will give them some exposure earliar than expected if welsh leaves as well.....time will tell and it would be great to see him back as a key focal point. The whole structure and game plan might change a little with more emphasis on attack and legspeed with what is on the list this year ??????

TigerHunter
12 Nov 2007, 13:40
Sounds correct to me

The poor bugger only had skin holding his leg together, so it will be a miracle if he even gets back to an afl level. I have met the guy twice through my girlfriends parents, and he is such a great bloke.

I hope he can do it, footy is their families life.

Asgardian
12 Nov 2007, 14:59
The poor bugger only had skin holding his leg together

I didn't know that, so the posterior & anterior cruciate plus medial & lateral ligaments were all ruptured in addition the the bone fractures?

earlsta
12 Nov 2007, 15:27
I didn't know that, so the posterior & anterior cruciate plus medial & lateral ligaments were all ruptured in addition the the bone fractures?

pretty sure it was, he had to wait like 5 months before getting his knee reco done, he had to fix other shit first. Pretty insane IMO

TigerHunter
12 Nov 2007, 15:35

Yeah, it was a wreck - pretty much the worst knee injury you could get. All the muscles, ligaments were torn. He had to sit in a wheelchair for 5+months without moving his leg, so whatever he achives will be a top effort.

I thought dean polo playing with a dislocated shoulder after it was poped back in was heroic.... Trent walking again is pretty awe inspiring let alone playing afl.

BlackDouglas
12 Nov 2007, 15:48
Yeah, it was a wreck - pretty much the worst knee injury you could get. All the muscles, ligaments were torn. He had to sit in a wheelchair for 5+months without moving his leg, so whatever he achives will be a top effort.

I thought dean polo playing with a dislocated shoulder after it was poped back in was heroic.... Trent walking again is pretty awe inspiring let alone playing afl.

Didn’t Michael Owen do exactly the same injury in the 2006 WC in Germany?

Most major knee injuries theses days are compared to that of a major car accident so lets not get carried away. Yes it was a major injury and was horrific but it’s far from a miracle he is playing again.

I expect him to be playing somewhere by the time round one rolls around next season.

TigerHunter
12 Nov 2007, 16:39
Didn’t Michael Owen do exactly the same injury in the 2006 WC in Germany?

Most major knee injuries theses days are compared to that of a major car accident so lets not get carried away. Yes it was a major injury and was horrific but it’s far from a miracle he is playing again.

I expect him to be playing somewhere by the time round one rolls around next season.

Owen did an ACL only, not the whole skin just left holding the leg on.

Thats nothing she will be right :rolleyes:

Tails14
12 Nov 2007, 20:02
Saw Hentschel at training today and he has a lot of wastage in his upper leg........lookd fit in upper half of body but think a while off yet !!!!

-CG-
12 Nov 2007, 20:22
Saw Hentschel at training today and he has a lot of wastage in his upper leg........lookd fit in upper half of body but think a while off yet !!!!

Anything else worth mentioning from training?

James_37
13 Nov 2007, 10:49

Yeah, his actual return is scheduled for for around NAB cup time in terms of playing ability, so that would make sense, hopefully he can get up.

crowman_23
13 Nov 2007, 11:14
Would expect to see him running around at some level around the beginning of the season but would be very hard to have many expectations of him for the 2008 season at all. Wouldn't surprise me if he has a very similar return to Nathan Brown, although probably in the SANFL. Brown showed promising signs but then continually ran into problems with his knee.

Ideally would love to see Trent play some decent footy in the SANFL and just get back to playing footy, then hopefully see him play a few games for the Crows later in the season. His absence will also hopefully leave a bit of room for someone like a Tippett to make a debut.

Freddy Bassett
15 Nov 2007, 10:47
I hope I am wrong but cant help think there is lots of wishfull thinking with Kurt Tippett. I reckon Griffin is our biggest chance to come on as a forward next year ( Ive already pencilled in Gill), if not a good pre-season could see Sellar break through. I just think Texas Walker and Tippett are 09 projects along with Hentschell.

FlyingCrow
15 Nov 2007, 18:03
I would love to see Griff at FF next year.

macca23
15 Nov 2007, 22:22
I hope I am wrong but cant help think there is lots of wishfull thinking with Kurt Tippett. I reckon Griffin is our biggest chance to come on as a forward next year ( Ive already pencilled in Gill), if not a good pre-season could see Sellar break through. I just think Texas Walker and Tippett are 09 projects along with Hentschell.

I've heard Johnny Reid talking about Tippett a few times and he expects Tippett to push for AFL games in 2008 - he's a big gee for Tippett.

I like what I've seen from him, although it's as a ruckman that he has impressed me to date.

earlsta
15 Nov 2007, 22:56
I just hope Trent comes good....he's a good bloke that one...

I saw him a week before we did his knee, the match against Western Bulldogs at the MCG, we lost but Trent was fantastic..heard Lyon talking him up on the radio..big wraps for Trent after this game.

Saw him come out of the elevator with Truck Rutten, had my cousin with me, I just said to Trent "Well played champ",.. his reply "Thanks mate", but you could see in his face that the team was his #1 priority, but he still managed to put a little smile on his face for a fan... his own milestones didn't mean shit all if his team lost the game. This has stuck with me for awhile now.

Then the week after I saw him do his knee on TV, when someone gets injured I'm really angry about what our team will lose in the coming weeks etc.

But when Trent got injured I now see football in a different way, he is a special special player, kinda forget how good he actually is...he will come good no doubt about it. Just probably later on in the year, thank God he did his knee at a relatively young age.

Matthew Richardson, Paul Salmon all did knees at their young age, it didn't stop them.

Same with Biglands, good on him for working his ass off for the team, sure we'll diss him but at least he's putting it in 100% for the AFC.

Now that Meesen and Hudson left, it's fantastic that Biglands never gave up even when he thought he would never play again.

Hope

Powerful Powerful word.

James_37
16 Nov 2007, 01:01

Havn't seen him myself, but the reports i have are good, aparently he can take pack marks like Carey used to and actually chatted to a mate of his who saw his first ever game of footy, he kicked 9 goals i think.

Wayne's-World
16 Nov 2007, 06:06
I've heard Johnny Reid talking about Tippett a few times and he expects Tippett to push for AFL games in 2008 - he's a big gee for Tippett.

I like what I've seen from him, although it's as a ruckman that he has impressed me to date.
Macca can certainly ruck .....but his mobility and ability to take a contested mark and swoop on a groundball as a 200cm player has you drooling as a key forwd.

That's where his max hurt factor can be felt, his best value to us, and he WILL BE a very very good player.

FlyingCrow
16 Nov 2007, 06:13
another Buddy??

hopefully a but more consistant than him though.

Crow-mo
16 Nov 2007, 06:57
Matthew Richardson, Paul Salmon all did knees at their young age, it didn't stop them.

Really?

you might want to ask someone about salmon pre-injury. ;)

swanfan
16 Nov 2007, 07:41
I would love to see Trent line up first game in the NAB Cup. Realistically, I don't think he will be a permanent fixture in the side until mid-season.