View Full Version : Jason Cave's views on improving VAFA football

Pages : [1] 2

Jascave
11 Nov 2007, 07:19
I know VAFA football is going along OK at the moment, but are some ideas which I hope would improve the VAFA:

1) Have 45m and 20m arcs (not 25, due to some ground sizes which are small) at all VAFA grounds. This will help players & spectators to identify how far out a shot for goal is from.

2) Have numbers on the front of the jumper as well as the back. This worked well in WA football, why can't the VAFA?

3) Have players be sent off for an audible obscentity for 10min, other offences (like striking) 15min. The umpire must first hand out a warning to a offending player for an audible obscentity, and if it happens again, send the player off with a yellow card (as long as the umpire picks out the right card!)for 10min.

4) Bump up the prescribed penalty handed out by the VAFA Tribunal to players who wish to take the prescribed penalty from 2 games to 4. Also hand out a maximum 5 game suspension for players who are reported in a VAFA Grand Final.

5) If there is a melee, the umpire must call out both captains during a break in play, and warn them that it's not on, and if it happens again, a 25m penalty would be handed out against the team that started the brawl.

6) Start up a Under 18 competition, so as there is a 'bridge to cross' for players going from junior to senior football.

The Tiger's Nuts
11 Nov 2007, 08:16
Slow news day today is it Jase?

1. Tigernuts Table of Truth (could perhaps be printed out on little laminated cards and be given free to spectators):
- Is the kicker on the line? 45 out.
- Is he about a third of the way in? 30 out.
- Round about halfway? 22.5 out.
- About two thirds towards the goal? 15 out.
No need for extra lines.

2. They would only be of use to umpires, as they'd be too small to see from more than a short distance away, and the umps probably know the numbers anyway once the game has been going for a short time.

3. "Audible Obscenity" is already rather flexible, as there seems to be different levels of obscene depending on which grade you're playing. Zero tolerance for U19s is already well established. Are you looking at tightening up the tolerances with a reduction in time off to 10 minutes? Could we see an A section forward who sprays it from 30 out and who says a heartfelt "Pharrk!" have insult added to injury and gets binned for 10? The current 15 minute system is working well. Cynics among us might think you were trying to reduce the amount of time spent by certain Hamptonites warming the pine.

4. Prescribed penalty is always going to be a soft option. Increase the stakes and a lot more cases will go through to the tribunal. "Hmmm... 4 weeks... lets play Tribunal Lotto and see if I get off." I don't know what the members would feel about going home much later on Tuesdays.

5. Melees are already adequately dealt with. Generally who started it is unclear. Who is going to get the 25? Nah, drop this one.

6. You haven't been paying attention. We're getting an U17 comp to bridge the gap between junior leagues and VAFA.

Stumpy McFadden
11 Nov 2007, 13:32
jascave, seriously you are a flog. hurry up and go f**k yourself
noone wants to hear your shite

melbdocker
11 Nov 2007, 13:36
i like the idea of numbers on the front like wa and tac cup

Scribe
11 Nov 2007, 15:20

Nice, really nice. :thumbsd:

Jason - the only means by which you can generate these changes is by getting onto your club committee and having input when the VAFA circulate proposed rule changes. Alternatively, nominate for the VAFA Executive, and then you may be properly heard.

Whilst I don't agree with any of your proposed improvements (they are mainly cosmetic anyhow) I know your heart is certainly in the right place - unlike some other gutless wonders.

Jascave
11 Nov 2007, 16:02
I think 12 people on the VAFA Board/Executive is far too many. A few years ago, I wrote a report which called for changes in the VAFA-including a streamlined board. The board would feature the president/chairman, CEO, treasurer and 3 or 4 Board members-and that's it. Surely it would be a lot better to have prospective VAFA Board members elected in a democratic way, rather than being asked to join by a member from the VAFA Board, in other words club members vote on who not gets onto the Board, but also who get to be president of the VAFA, rather than doing it on a rotation basis. Some guys like Bruce Ivey and Ross Booth, who have been on the VAFA Board for a long period of time might not get the chance to be VAFA president or chairman due to the rotation system that's in place at the moment. It could be a very long time before Bruce Ivey and Ross Booth finally gets the recognition they deserve.

Cardio Carl
11 Nov 2007, 16:10

ooops...prepare for the wrath from Mrs Voss via a PM.

The Goats
11 Nov 2007, 16:35
I know VAFA football is going along OK at the moment, but are some ideas which I hope would improve the VAFA:

1) Have 45m and 20m arcs (not 25, due to some ground sizes which are small) at all VAFA grounds. This will help players & spectators to identify how far out a shot for goal is from.

2) Have numbers on the front of the jumper as well as the back. This worked well in WA football, why can't the VAFA?

3) Have players be sent off for an audible obscentity for 10min, other offences (like striking) 15min. The umpire must first hand out a warning to a offending player for an audible obscentity, and if it happens again, send the player off with a yellow card (as long as the umpire picks out the right card!)for 10min.

4) Bump up the prescribed penalty handed out by the VAFA Tribunal to players who wish to take the prescribed penalty from 2 games to 4. Also hand out a maximum 5 game suspension for players who are reported in a VAFA Grand Final.

5) If there is a melee, the umpire must call out both captains during a break in play, and warn them that it's not on, and if it happens again, a 25m penalty would be handed out against the team that started the brawl.

6) Start up a Under 18 competition, so as there is a 'bridge to cross' for players going from junior to senior football.

1. You've got to be kidding me!

2. Only worthwhile for televised games. Absolute waste for games viewed only by spectators, as numbers would be too small to be seen.

3. Possibly your only point that isn't worth laughing at.

4. Why would you even consider that this would make the vafa better? 4 games is a massive amount of time for a prescribed penalty. Current system works well.

5. You've had some stupid ideas, but this one takes the cake.

6. Your proposing an un17, an un18 and an un19 comp? Surely your not serious?

For the sake of everyone's sanity on bigfooty please stop posting!

Jascave
11 Nov 2007, 17:17
To be honest with you, I've never been a great fan of the audible obscentity rule. I reckon that rule should only apply to junior and Under 19 comp, but never senior level. After all, the VAFA is not a televised competiton, so why is the audible obscentity rule included at senior level? If I was on the VAFA Board, I'd have the rule scrapped at senior level, and have the audible obscentity rule apply only to the proposed Under 17 competition and Under 19 level. And some umpires can get confused about what is an audible obscentity and what is not. An example could be if a player kicks a goal at a vital stage of a game and yells encouragement to his teammates. The umpire however decides to send the player off for 10min (under my proposal for a period of time a player is sent off for an audible obscentity) for uttering an audible obscentity, when clearly the player was only trying to rev up his team.

harper
11 Nov 2007, 20:42

Stumpy, why would you click on a thread "Jason Cave's views........." if you know that thread is only going to frustrate you then turn around and bag the bloke for expressing his opinion. Perhaps you could start your own thread, "when moron bogans cant read!"

Jase! One of the major turn off's of the AFL is the constant tinkering with rules and the like (this is why I don't bother with it any more). Personally, I'm pretty happy with the state of play in the Ammo's, I'd love to see some more of the suburban gun players in the comp but realise the lure of the $ is strong for some blokes. If you could come up with a way of attracting these types of players to the VAFA then I'll be all for it, but numbers on the front of jumpers and 25 metre arcs is not going to improve the FOOTY at all.

MC Extra Dollop
11 Nov 2007, 21:53
7. Have a bigger serve of tartare sauce with our fish sticks...

1 & 2: As Scribe and Tigers Nuts have put, these are cosmetic changes, they probably wouldn't make much difference to 95% of the people watching and they would also create more work for people who have enough on their plate as it is prior to the first game of the season (jumper numbers) and before each home match (20m marks).

3: Audible obscenity rule can be frustrating with the inconsistency (some umpires let it go if it's not abusive, some have zero tolerance, some change their mind halfway through the game), but the rule is in place, we all know what the rule is and if you get pinged for it, you've let your team down and you have no-one to blame but yourself. And if you have to drop f and c bombs to "rev your team up", maybe you should brush up on your vocabulary. An obscenity is an obscenity, regardless of what context it is used in.

4. Just creating more work for the VAFA office, so they'd never agree to this. And I can tell you, when most teams only play eighteen games in a season, two weeks off is a fair slice out of that. And did you mean maximum or minimum five game suspension for a Grand Final? I say the penalty should be the same, whether it's a grand final or round 1.

5. Again, pointless and too hard to police. How the hell would the umpires know who started it? As above, the rule is in place and everyone knows the rule.

6. If you have an Under 18 comp, what is the point of having Under 19s, as well?

0/6 with me as well, Jascave. Which is probably why you aren't on the VAFA Board.

But be that as it may, Stumpy, Jascave has as much right to post on here as you, me or anyone else. I clicked on the thread knowing it would be good for a laugh and continuing my quest to find out if Jascave is fair dinkum or if he's just taking the pi** (for the record, I'm still not sure).

Mappa
12 Nov 2007, 07:17

Let's do away with the arc altogether. It was brought in for TV back in the 80s, and last time i looked, there were not too many TV cameras at the Reds games last year (perhaps a blessing !). The 50 / 45 / 40 only serves to reinforce if a player can or can't kick the distance, "oh, I'm 45 out, it's just a bit beyond me". Take it away and then players will be forced to rely on their own judgement which is much better. In any case, the distance isn't uniform at all grounds, so why are they there anyway ?

How about we educate the umpires that "AARRRGGHHHH" is not the same as "FAAARRRKKKK". That way I might get to play the whole game :D

The Tiger's Nuts
12 Nov 2007, 07:42
Love him or hate 'im, Jase has given us something to talk about when there is nothing to talk about.

And as Wilde said, the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

ultimate hater
12 Nov 2007, 08:59
Love him or hate 'im, Jase has given us something to talk about when there is nothing to talk about.

And as Wilde said, the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about.

maybe he should change his name to kyle sandilands?

uglydermie
12 Nov 2007, 09:31
I think 12 people on the VAFA Board/Executive is far too many. A few years ago, I wrote a report which called for changes in the VAFA-including a streamlined board. The board would feature the president/chairman, CEO, treasurer and 3 or 4 Board members-and that's it. Surely it would be a lot better to have prospective VAFA Board members elected in a democratic way, rather than being asked to join by a member from the VAFA Board, in other words club members vote on who not gets onto the Board, but also who get to be president of the VAFA, rather than doing it on a rotation basis. Some guys like Bruce Ivey and Ross Booth, who have been on the VAFA Board for a long period of time might not get the chance to be VAFA president or chairman due to the rotation system that's in place at the moment. It could be a very long time before Bruce Ivey and Ross Booth finally gets the recognition they deserve.

Jas - can you table that report on here? would be interesting reading.

Jascave
12 Nov 2007, 10:13
The report was actually a assignment for Swinburne TAFE back in 2001titled 'The future of the Victorian Amateur Football Association-From 2001 and beyond'. While I can't table the report in full, here are the recommendations I made from the report:

-Keep the promotion and relegation rule.

-More communication between the VAFA and players/coaches over new rules the VAFA is likely to introduce.

-If there is any trouble between the VAFA and a club that is likely to go to court, have a meeting set up between club and VAFA to sort out issue however if club does not agree to have a meeting the VAFA can expel them (or have them relegated) until further notice.

-9 people (although now I think 5 is a better number) rather than 12 to sit on the VAFA Executive.

-Have a member of either the Coaches or Umpires Association sit on the VAFA Board and update the Board on what is happening within their own organisation.

-Appoint a full-time media manager to lessen workload on VAFA CEO.

-The VAFA must promote its competitions more thoroughly than previous years. More emphasis on all sections rather than A & B Sections in daily papers.(And remember, back in 2001 the VAFA couldn't give a damn about scores from the lower sections, and it's still happening today as well.)

-Appoint independent journalists to write for 'Amateur Footballer' rather than people who are aligned to a club, thereby lessening club parochalism, especially if the writer is aligned to a club that is playing in the same section that the writer is covering in the 'Amateur Footballer'.

uglydermie
12 Nov 2007, 11:59
Keep it up Jas - most of us love your work mate.

ultimate hater
12 Nov 2007, 12:55
-The VAFA must promote its competitions more thoroughly than previous years. More emphasis on all sections rather than A & B Sections in daily papers.(And remember, back in 2001 the VAFA couldn't give a damn about scores from the lower sections, and it's still happening today as well.)

the problem with that is, there are alot of other legues that also want media coverage, as well as individual clubs... you are only ever going to get "good" coverage on the higher grades in any legue... joe blogs from cranbourne doesn't want to be reading about how some overweight 40 yr old kicked 10 goals in D4 against a bottom of the ladder team that he's never heard about.. news about powerhouse clubs always gets more attention.. Old Xavs, Old Scotch and Collegians and the like..

also, where is the VAFA going to get the money to employ all these "specialist" people you have mentioned..?

Slay Master G
12 Nov 2007, 13:19
What about some real improvements Jason, not just window dressing.

Media coverage is not going to improve the competition.

I think they should reverse the infamous "Sholly" rule granting any cash hungry pig amateur status. This will reverse the trend for clubs like Marcellin, St.Bernards, Haileybury and other clubs losing players to cashed up suburban clubs and improve the overall integrity of the amateur competition.

JG Hornet
12 Nov 2007, 14:10
What about some real improvements Jason, not just window dressing.

Media coverage is not going to improve the competition.

I think they should reverse the infamous "Sholly" rule granting any cash hungry pig amateur status. This will reverse the trend for clubs like Marcellin, St.Bernards, Haileybury and other clubs losing players to cashed up suburban clubs and improve the overall integrity of the amateur competition.

Interesting stuff. My views would be...

1 - Reverse the rule which allows suburban clubs to pinch all our half decent players. And do it NOW.

2 - Don't play A and B Section finals at Sportscover Arena. Play 'em anywhere, I don't care.

3 - Get more women, young people and Tea Tottlers on to the VAFA executive.

4 - Reduce the emphasis on interstate and particularly Under 23 football - no-one gives a stuff.

5 - Come up with a smart, modern answer to the alcohol at games question.

Just my views though...

Slay Master G
12 Nov 2007, 14:32

1 - Reverse the rule which allows suburban clubs to pinch all our half decent players. And do it NOW.

2 - Don't play A and B Section finals at Sportscover Arena. Play 'em anywhere, I don't care.

4 - Reduce the emphasis on interstate and particularly Under 23 football - no-one gives a stuff.

Just my views though...

Horn Man

Don't worry about women on the executive, we need more women attending VAFA games week in week out, preferably fit young things!

I think rep footy is what gives the VAFA an edge in attracting quality young players, keep it going I say.

I think that all footy should be banned from Elsternwick (if the AFL can charge Ben Cousins for bringing the game into disrepute, surely Elsternwick Park can be charged with butchering quality games of football), give the golf course an extra par 3 hole or use the land for drought starved grazing animals, just not for football.

The Big Pineapple
12 Nov 2007, 14:32

Jager bombs? Perhaps one after every goal kicked to encourage high scoring shoot outs?

Surly23
12 Nov 2007, 15:50

Just my views though...

Do you think this might help you with you're choking problem?

Slay Master G
12 Nov 2007, 16:17
Do you think this might help you with you're choking problem?

You are a little confused young Surly as to which club I am aligned to......

Please research your comments better in the future.

SMG

Jascave
12 Nov 2007, 16:37
i'm just wondering, when are the VAFA Board members up for re-election? And who review their performances indvidually and the VAFA Board as a whole? I think it's about someone from outside the VAFA conduct a a total review into the VAFA Board and assess their performances. There needs to be new people with fresh ideas into the VAFA Board every 2 or 3 years, rather than have the same group of people run the VAFA, thereby blocking the chances of several people who have aspirations to get on the VAFA Board.

BrianSpeaking
12 Nov 2007, 18:57
i'm just wondering, when are the VAFA Board members up for re-election? And who review their performances indvidually and the VAFA Board as a whole? I think it's about someone from outside the VAFA conduct a a total review into the VAFA Board and assess their performances. There needs to be new people with fresh ideas into the VAFA Board every 2 or 3 years, rather than have the same group of people run the VAFA, thereby blocking the chances of several people who have aspirations to get on the VAFA Board.
Thank F ark you dont run my companies Jase, so far you have expenditure on needless reviews, media, ground improvements or relocations, hitech scoreboard with instant replays at EP, gridlines all over every VAFA oval in Melbourne etc at $25 million and income at $0. I hope you are not involved on the committee at Rovers and dont sign any cheques, if you do can I have one for 50K to lure SMG back to Melbourne?
The only thing that needs to be fixed in the VAFA is the Sholly rule, everything else IMO in fine...

Jascave
12 Nov 2007, 21:18
I think Michael Sholly would look back and possibly regret disbanding the permit & reinstatement rule. When Phil Stevens was CEO,you had to be 100% amateur-no going after cash, full stop. Now, the VAFA looks to be going the same way as country leagues from the past like the Echuca Football League going down the drain because some clubs can't afford to keep players due to some suburban clubs who are tempting players to play in comps like the Southern Football League with big money. I would like to see the reinstatement rule re-introduced but some tough clauses have to be made in regards to reinstatements, as well as restoring permits. To get into VAFA football, you had to prove you want to play for the love of the game and not go after huge sums of money to play VAFA football.

Surly23
13 Nov 2007, 06:56
You are a little confused young Surly as to which club I am aligned to......

Please research your comments better in the future.

SMG

You're the one confused Slay Master Gay, if you read back the comment was directed at your boyfriend J.G Butt Hornet!

Slay Master G
13 Nov 2007, 07:13
You're the one confused Slay Master Gay, if you read back the comment was directed at your boyfriend J.G Butt Hornet!

Seriously Surly, a 10 year old school girl could come up with a more mature and well thought out response than that.

You're really scraping the bottom of the barrel, please crawl back into your hole for a while.

The Big Pineapple
13 Nov 2007, 07:22
Seriously Surly, a 10 year old school girl could come up with a more mature and well thought out response than that.

You're really scraping the bottom of the barrel, please crawl back into your hole for a while.

It was a stinking come back. Remove that chip buddy!

ultimate hater
13 Nov 2007, 07:29
Do you think this might help you with your (not "you are" twit) choking problem?

you are (thats you're) a little confused aren't you..

try stay out of the sun a bit this summer hey.. don't want to fry your brain anymore than it already is..

Lance Burkhardt
13 Nov 2007, 07:35
Thank F ark you dont run my companies Jase, so far you have expenditure on needless reviews, media, ground improvements or relocations, hitech scoreboard with instant replays at EP, gridlines all over every VAFA oval in Melbourne etc at $25 million and income at $0. I hope you are not involved on the committee at Rovers and dont sign any cheques, if you do can I have one for 50K to lure SMG back to Melbourne?
The only thing that needs to be fixed in the VAFA is the Sholly rule, everything else IMO in fine...

Can someone please enlighten me to the fact at what level reversing this rule would change ammo footy. I know there's a lot of conjecture about the integrity of the competition and so on but wasn't the rule initially introduced to attract players from all levels especially those higher to play ammos. There seems to be a clear cut opinion here that those type of players that play for $$$ then come to play ammos are not wanted in this comp. I think that is fine, i agree with the "love of the game" mantra which separates the ammos from the rest but, if we are trying to attract better players to this comp as stated previously, would the reversal of this rule actually work?
My point being, despite increasing the integrity of the ammos, would this have an adverse effect on standard of footy within this comp?
Just asking the question, thoughts?

ultimate hater
13 Nov 2007, 07:40
Lance. You're a little too articulate for a "hot dogging" pro surfer for my liking.. Maybe a name change to wordsworth?

You're a Barney... a kook in and out of the water..

Lance Burkhardt
13 Nov 2007, 07:53
Lance. You're a little too articulate for a "hot dogging" pro surfer for my liking.. Maybe a name change to wordsworth?

You're a Barney... a kook in and out of the water..

Hater,

I think you'll find the term is "shredding" as opposed to your style of soul surfing hey? "Looks like i don't ride my board straight like some people i know."

Respond to the post howley!

ultimate hater
13 Nov 2007, 08:01
Hater,

I think you'll find the term is "shredding" as opposed to your style of soul surfing hey? "Looks like i don't ride my board straight like some people i know."

Respond to the post howley!

and I think you'll find the term is "haole"... Barney..

what are you going to do.. snake me?

Scribe
13 Nov 2007, 08:31
Can someone please enlighten me to the fact at what level reversing this rule would change ammo footy. I know there's a lot of conjecture about the integrity of the competition and so on but wasn't the rule initially introduced to attract players from all levels especially those higher to play ammos. There seems to be a clear cut opinion here that those type of players that play for $$$ then come to play ammos are not wanted in this comp. I think that is fine, i agree with the "love of the game" mantra which separates the ammos from the rest but, if we are trying to attract better players to this comp as stated previously, would the reversal of this rule actually work?
My point being, despite increasing the integrity of the ammos, would this have an adverse effect on standard of footy within this comp?
Just asking the question, thoughts?

The relaxation of the re-instatement requirements had the immediate reverse effect (i.e. elite VAFA players left knowing they could return later without impediment) to what the competition had hoped would occur (elite semi-professional players coming into the comp).

One would expect in a couple more years, the desired outcome would begin to materialise as players who previously played for match payments start to gravitate to the VAFA with jobs/careers in mind through the club/old boy network, rather than cash for playing.

I think that now the rule is in, it should stay in its current form. Hiopefully, clubs and players are now appreciative of what the incentive should be to attract players into playing VAFA footy.

Short/medium term pain, long term gain.

Surly23
13 Nov 2007, 09:08
you are (thats you're) a little confused aren't you..

try stay out of the sun a bit this summer hey.. don't want to fry your brain anymore than it already is..

Thanks for the english lesson!

I think I have it now, let me try a sentence.

Ultimate hater your a f*ckwit and your're little d*ick would fit through the eye of your're mums sowing needle.

Damn I still don't think I have it!

Surly

The Big Pineapple
13 Nov 2007, 09:20

Ultimate hater your a f*ckwit and your're little d*ick would fit through the eye of your're mums sowing needle.

Surly

Why so much anger? Were you bullied as a kid? Parents don't love you? Or just having a bad day?

Chin up buddy.

The Tiger's Nuts
13 Nov 2007, 09:24
So! TBP is back. Out of hibernation, out of retirement, or simply ripening in the sun?

ultimate hater
13 Nov 2007, 09:29

Surly

You're welcome for the english lesson.

And here's another lesson. Leave the good banter on this thread to the people with some wit, and stick to talking about your bumchum "stretcherman", your girlfriend tinkerbell and sipping latte's and whatnot..

your material is very very stale.. get back to us once the summer is over.. (hopefully not with a post begining with "NEWSFLASH" for a change too..)

back to the "sholly" rule anyone?

Surly23
13 Nov 2007, 09:35
(1)Why so much anger? (2)Were you bullied as a kid? (3)Parents don't love you? (4)Or just having a bad day?

Chin up buddy.

Answers
1. They wouldn't call me Surly without it.
2.Yes, especially by girls but you know how girls say they hate you when they really love you.
3.Mr & Mrs Surly don't act like it (because they are surly) but I know deep down that they do.
4. No I am surly everyday.

JG Hornet
13 Nov 2007, 09:43

Everything all right Surly?
I'm not affiliated with any clubs. And the one that I have a (very distant) connection with certainly hasn't graced E Park in recent years, let alone choked there.
I don't know who you are so I prefer that you don't engage me in such a manner reflective of your username.

Kid Dynamite
13 Nov 2007, 10:23
Jascave

Add another item to your list...can the VAFA please do this draw for St Bedes next year

Rd 1 v Old Xavs at home (Xavs pants em by 12 goals)
Rd 2 v Old Ivanhoe away (Hope bags six, Hoes easily, Surly concerned)
Rd 3 v Uni Blues at EP (Paterson, Gleeso and co run riot. Blues by plenty)
Rd 4 v De La Salle away (Mannix does party tricks, De La just)

St Bedes 0-4, and hopefully finding some humility.

What are the current "development" plans for EP? Is anything in the pipeline?

ultimate hater
13 Nov 2007, 10:40
Jascave

Add another item to your list...can the VAFA please do this draw for St Bedes next year

you be better off having that draw in rd's 15, 16, 17, 18 as thats when teams like xavs are firing.. sending them back to B grade :D

Quick Eze
13 Nov 2007, 10:56
Jascave

What has happened KD, has one of the SBMT players annoyed you?

You're a newby and you're keeping your team close to your chest. All you have done is bagged SBMT since joining big footy.

What club do you support?

And I noticed you only had Xavs beating them at home; do you think they will be hard to beat there?

Kid Dynamite
13 Nov 2007, 12:01
What has happened KD, has one of the SBMT players annoyed you?

You're a newby and your keeping your team close to your chest. All you have done is bagged SBMT since joining big footy.

What club do you support?

And I notice you only had Xavs beating them at home; do you think they will be hard to beat there?

Apologies again to jascave for going off tangent on his thread. But to answer your question Quick Eze, I have no on-field problem or history with St Bedes. Rather it's the arrogance and banal postings by supporters of the club on this site and lack of respect shown towards others.

Perhaps it's a case like Fitzroy Reds and they aren't really from there. I doubt it though. So congrats on joining A-Section, but I care not for how tough you'll be to beat at home, just not for this site to be filled with what the C and B section threads have endured for the past two years.

Quick Eze
13 Nov 2007, 13:14
Apologies again to jascave for going off tangent on his thread. But to answer your question Quick Eze, I have no on-field problem or history with St Bedes. Rather it's the arrogance and banal postings by supporters of the club on this site and lack of respect shown towards others.

Perhaps it's a case like Fitzroy Reds and they aren't really from there. I doubt it though. So congrats on joining A-Section, but I care not for how tough you'll be to beat at home, just not for this site to be filled with what the C and B section threads have endured for the past two years.

Thanks for the reply but you didn't answer my question.

What team do you support?

Jascave
13 Nov 2007, 13:39
The VAFA Annual Report which comes out on 4th December will hopefully have some annoucements re Sportscover Arena. Unfortunately it will probably be along the the lines of 'The VAFA have some quite exciting plans for Sportscover Arena of which we are so proud.' And the VAFA Board trot out that line at every single VAFA Annual Report, and there'll be nothing new to report about Sportscover Arena. How much longer is the VAFA going to be blind about the limitations of Sportscover Arena? This is the reason why I call for a full-scale review of the VAFA Board of Directors and its decision making process, plus the way it elects people on to the Board and it has to be done NOW.

uglydermie
13 Nov 2007, 14:25
The VAFA Annual Report which comes out on 4th December will hopefully have some annoucements re Sportscover Arena. Unfortunately it will probably be along the the lines of 'The VAFA have some quite exciting plans for Sportscover Arena of which we are so proud.' And the VAFA Board trot out that line at every single VAFA Annual Report, and there'll be nothing new to report about Sportscover Arena. How much longer is the VAFA going to be blind about the limitations of Sportscover Arena? This is the reason why I call for a full-scale review of the VAFA Board of Directors and its decision making process, plus the way it elects people on to the Board and it has to be done NOW.

Can you give that report the once over Jas and file a brief summary for us all on BF?

Much appreciated

Ruck Machine
13 Nov 2007, 14:28
VAFA BOARD
President/CEO
Secretary
A Grade Member
B Grade Member
C Grade Member
D1 Member
D2 Member
D3 Member
D4 Member
CLUB 18 Member
U19 Member

11 Members, means no dead locks.

Also ensures fair representation of the lower grades who are often shat on by the VAFA.

BrianSpeaking
13 Nov 2007, 14:48
Can you give that report the once over Jas and file a brief summary for us all on BF?

Much appreciated
Ugly, come on, stop winding the poor bloke up, although I do laugh every time you post. Jason, perhaps you can negotiate a fair swap of Telstra Dome for EP? Then again, you would complain that the surface is too hard and that your beloved Hampton Hammers dont get to display their wares there, although you would be excited with the 2 score boards showing instant replays of my mate Kinna jumping the fence and running off to buy some pies. Imagine also the gridlines they could draw on a ground that size, would be sensational, and Tommy Brain could host the pre match lunch and post match raffles all of the time whilst being held up by Fraser Cameron sculling jugs.

Scribe
13 Nov 2007, 17:49
....and Tommy Brain could host the pre match lunch and post match raffles all of the time whilst being held up by Fraser Cameron sculling jugs.

I'm not that strong BS, I'd want some danger money if you gave me that gig. ;)

kingbrown
13 Nov 2007, 18:09
I'm with Ugly, have become a follower of Jas, always good for a laugh, would love him at Rupo. But i can't see all of Jas's hullaballoo about EP, seen a couple of "A" grade finals, seen a rep game, no issues here. Went to the OC1 and OC2 grand final this year and definitely wouldn't rave about Sandringham. All BF followers have to agree Jas is a beauty, keeps things alive, speaks some crap amongst some really good s h i t. Keep it going mate.

The Tiger's Nuts
13 Nov 2007, 19:57
Optus Oval or Manpower or whatever its called this week has a lot going for it. Drawbacks are the Carlton inhabitants but you can't have everything.

Coburg is going byebyes with the huge redevelopment the council is pushing through, so thats out.

Victoria Park has already been discredited as an about-to-be-pulled-down rubbish tip, albeit one with a beautiful greensward.

So many choices to argue about, so few realities. EP it is, unless Jase can pull off a massive revolution and have the ruling junta turfed out of office.

Jascave
14 Nov 2007, 16:07
I'm not calling for a revolution, I'm calling for a review of the VAFA Board/Executive, similar to the one the AFL had back in the early 1990's when it conducted a independent review of the AFL Commission after complaints from clubs like Collingwood, Carlton and the Western Bulldogs that the AFL Comission under then CEO Ross Oakley was becoming too powerful and undemocratic. Unfortunately for those clubs, when the review came out, it was heavily pro-commission. And if a similar review was carried out about the VAFA Board, the result might be the same: pro-VAFA Board, anti-clubs. The VAFA Board would strengthen its hold on VAFA matters, which means that any hope of Sportscover Arena being given its last rites as a major VAFA venue would be dashed for ever.

BrianSpeaking
14 Nov 2007, 21:28
Whilst I don't agree with any of your proposed improvements (they are mainly cosmetic anyhow) I know your heart is certainly in the right place - unlike some other gutless wonders.
Scribe, interesting little post, can you expand on the above? Are you talking about people with multi personalities or multi usernames? Sorry if I sound dumb, but I have a little brain drain today!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif

BrianSpeaking
14 Nov 2007, 21:31
I'm not calling for a revolution, I'm calling for a review of the VAFA Board/Executive, similar to the one the AFL had back in the early 1990's when it conducted a independent review of the AFL Commission after complaints from clubs like Collingwood, Carlton and the Western Bulldogs that the AFL Comission under then CEO Ross Oakley was becoming too powerful and undemocratic. Unfortunately for those clubs, when the review came out, it was heavily pro-commission. And if a similar review was carried out about the VAFA Board, the result might be the same: pro-VAFA Board, anti-clubs. The VAFA Board would strengthen its hold on VAFA matters, which means that any hope of Sportscover Arena being given its last rites as a major VAFA venue would be dashed for ever.
Jase, enough is enough, please stop the dribble and go and start a new poll about whether Graeme Burgen should be given the job at Beauy or should it be Steve Easton ,who got the Tijuana from Bulleen-Temp tonight.

crazybear
14 Nov 2007, 21:49
Jase, enough is enough, please stop the dribble and go and start a new poll about whether Graeme Burgen should be given the job at Beauy or should it be Steve Easton ,who got the Tijuana from Bulleen-Temp tonight.
Easto will be coaching the Lance Whitnall led Lalor. Did he get sacked or resign? strong rumours suggest he took the Lalor Job last week.

number31
14 Nov 2007, 22:05
Easto will be coaching the Lance Whitnall led Lalor. Did he get sacked or resign? strong rumours suggest he took the Lalor Job last week.
he did take the job at lalor last week

Scribe
15 Nov 2007, 06:38
Scribe, interesting little post, can you expand on the above? Are you talking about people with multi personalities or multi usernames? Sorry if I sound dumb, but I have a little brain drain today!http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon12.gif

I'm sure I have no idea what you're referring to BS!! :D

Most people know that Jason is very enthusiastic, and occasionally misguided. A fair level of latitude should be extended, and those who resort to banal abuse would probably re-think their postings if they actually knew the man in question.

ultimate hater
15 Nov 2007, 07:37

wait... ok.. i think I've got this...

You want a review carried out so they can strengthen the VAFA boards power and thus holding onto sportscover for ever... which is against what you want, but yet its what you want...

yeah sweet sounds good.. go for it..

BrianSpeaking
15 Nov 2007, 12:15
I'm sure I have no idea what you're referring to BS!! :D

Most people know that Jason is very enthusiastic, and occasionally misguided. A fair level of latitude should be extended, and those who resort to banal abuse would probably re-think their postings if they actually knew the man in question.
Correct, I love the boys enthusiasm, he has brought great debate to the board, in fact mass debate(haha).
He is the best boundary steward in C section.

Jascave
15 Nov 2007, 13:41
While the VAFA Annual Report will be interesting, even more so is what going to happen at the Annual General Meeting. I reckon 2 or 4 people from the VAFA Board would resign due to retirements. Unfortunately, I believe that the VAFA has replacements already lined up to replace those who are retiring from the Board. And, in my view, that's not good. I reckon the VAFA should have Board members elected by the clubs, not by the Board themselves. Under my proposal, prospective members wanting to join the VAFA Board would have to go through an election process, in other words state why they want to join the VAFA Board, then let the club members decide by voting for the candidates before being admitted to the Board. The days of simply being asked by a contact from the VAFA Board if they are interested in joining the Board, then being admitted to the Board without club members not knowing about the new Board member's track record would not happen in my view.

kingbrown
15 Nov 2007, 14:00
I enjoy most of your stuff Jas, but this stuff with the board has become tiresome. This forum is about your views and it has livened things up a bit, so well done, but i can't get into this board crap at all.

What is your view on the worst grounds in the VAFA. Rupo's is not great but is getting better, i had to ring a mate to check wether De La Selles ground was where they played. I drove past it and couldn,t believe they play there. Looked very unimpressive. St Bedes cops a heap as well, never been there, and how the VAFA don't let Elternwick play at Sportscover arena is beyond me, the ground they play on is a shocker.

The Big Pineapple
15 Nov 2007, 14:28
I enjoy most of your stuff Jas, but this stuff with the board has become tiresome. This forum is about your views and it has livened things up a bit, so well done, but i can't get into this board crap at all.

What is your view on the worst grounds in the VAFA. Rupo's is not great but is getting better, i had to ring a mate to check wether De La Selles ground was where they played. I drove past it and couldn,t believe they play there. Looked very unimpressive. St Bedes cops a heap as well, never been there, and how the VAFA don't let Elternwick play at Sportscover arena is beyond me, the ground they play on is a shocker.

Opening a massive can of worms there KB.

I've only played De La once and it was a week after solid rain so half the oval was absolutely dead. Massive drainage issue which I'm not sure if it's been fixed or not? Would be fine on a dry day though.

Brindisi St cops a lot for it's size and surface. It is smaller than most grounds which doesn't really bother me but the surface is pretty ordinary. That was going back 3-4 years. With current drought conditions it's only marginally worse than other poor grounds.

As for HQ, I can't stand it. The centre is always a disgrace, there are practice wickets in the forward pocket, it's size is rediculous and you get one still day a year.

SKOB's 'Rat Cage' is pretty bad too. Poor surface and poor facilities.

In saying that though, Keilor Hill doesn't offer spacious away rooms but at least the surface is generally pretty good.

Jascave
15 Nov 2007, 14:31
Kingbrown, I agree with you on Elsternwick's home ground,having seen the Rovers play against Elsternwick in the late 1980's play on what is one of the worst grounds (MHSOB's ground is no.1 in my book, especially when their ground is wet & muddy) in the VAFA, and being forced to use the no.2 oval, and is probably after St Bedes Mentone Tigers as the smallest ground in the VAFA in terms of size. If the AFL allows Melbourne to use the MCG as well as Richmond, Collingwood, Kangaroos, I can't see no reason why the VAFA won't allow Elsternwick the use of the no.1 oval full-time. As I said before, and I'll say it again, the message to the VAFA is clear and to the point: Give the keys of Sportscover Arena back to its rightful owners, Elsternwick AFC-NOW.

harper
15 Nov 2007, 14:57
While the VAFA Annual Report will be interesting, even more so is what going to happen at the Annual General Meeting. I reckon 2 or 4 people from the VAFA Board would resign due to retirements. Unfortunately, I believe that the VAFA has replacements already lined up to replace those who are retiring from the Board. And, in my view, that's not good. I reckon the VAFA should have Board members elected by the clubs, not by the Board themselves. Under my proposal, prospective members wanting to join the VAFA Board would have to go through an election process, in other words state why they want to join the VAFA Board, then let the club members decide by voting for the candidates before being admitted to the Board. The days of simply being asked by a contact from the VAFA Board if they are interested in joining the Board, then being admitted to the Board without club members not knowing about the new Board member's track record would not happen in my view.

Jase, I will be at the AGM in a couple of weeks and will put my hand up to be elected to the Board on the platform of free beer for reserve coaches. That ought to fix the comp!

Jascave
15 Nov 2007, 15:07
Seeing that the season is likely to start on April 12 (at this stage), my advice to the VAFA would be to have two other dates (April 19 or 26) as back-up options in case April 12 is ruled out due to drought conditions, and was the case earlier this year when we had a late start because of the drought.

crownies2
15 Nov 2007, 15:28

Well come on Jas who do you reckon is retiring first question....

And who do you think they have lined up to replace them....

We are all itching to know your thoughts.....

God Yeah
15 Nov 2007, 15:44

KB,

What were you expecting when you drove past De La??? Why could'nt you believe they play there?

De La would be in top half of grounds to play on.

The ground has had it's share of drainidge problems over the years (fixed now) but is a very nice ground to play footy on.

Also comes with a great ice cream shop accross the road, quality supporters and lovely ambience for a beer afterwoods.

Jascave
15 Nov 2007, 15:53
This is a rough guess, but possibly Bruce Ivey, Ross Booth, Richard Evans might be retiring from the VAFA Board at the AGM (I could be wrong). In regards to their replacements, I'm still not sure who's their replacements would be, but I could take a stab at what club they're from: Old Xaverians, and possibly Ormond or Old Carey.

The Big Pineapple
15 Nov 2007, 15:53
Seeing that the season is likely to start on April 12 (at this stage), my advice to the VAFA would be to have two other dates (April 19 or 26) as back-up options in case April 12 is ruled out due to drought conditions, and was the case earlier this year when we had a late start because of the drought.

The season should be pushed back until April 30 so the annual VAFA Big Footy AGM can be held in Sydney in conjucntion with the AJC Derby/Doncaster and the Lawn Party.

The Goats
15 Nov 2007, 15:57

Great idea Jas, i'm sure the 12 man board would not have considered this yet.

You should definately ensure that the VAFA starts to consider the drought that almost certainly as slipped their mind. Lucky your on the ball!

BrianSpeaking
15 Nov 2007, 16:20
Well come on Jas who do you reckon is retiring first question....

And who do you think they have lined up to replace them....

We are all itching to know your thoughts.....
Crownies, are you staying on? You are the main man, the peoples voice. We need a Presidential type election process, start it 2 years out and bring in as much dirt on other members as possible, have debates on Channel 9, invite the worm to do his thing and then spend another 20K on printing out vote cards for all 10,000 registered players to cast their vote...Jase, we dont give a flying f ark whos on the executive, its a boys club except for crownies, although he certainly enjoys the weekly perks and piss.
As for your demand to hand over the keys to Elsternwick, you are kidding.

Scribe
15 Nov 2007, 16:44

One step ahead of the rest again Jase - sharp work old son.

Harps - without doubt, you've got my vote!!! :thumbsu:

kingbrown
15 Nov 2007, 18:29
KB,

What were you expecting when you drove past De La??? Why could'nt you believe they play there?

De La would be in top half of grounds to play on.

The ground has had it's share of drainidge problems over the years (fixed now) but is a very nice ground to play footy on.

Also comes with a great ice cream shop accross the road, quality supporters and lovely ambience for a beer afterwoods.

I've never been on it so wouldn't know, i suppose from a distance it looked very basic, are the club rooms any good or have i just had a bad dream? Having gone to the VCFL V Vafa game this year and they played at East Point, now there is a ground that oozes tradition and history, so i probably expected something more trending along those lines. Again as i say i only drove past it and saw the scoreboard saying De La Selle which i thought may need updating. Could be frightfully wrong here though. Apologies for not being able to spell De La Selle, that doesn't even look right.

Scribe
15 Nov 2007, 18:44
I've never been on it so wouldn't know, i suppose from a distance it looked very basic, are the club rooms any good or have i just had a bad dream? Having gone to the VCFL V Vafa game this year and they played at East Point, now there is a ground that oozes tradition and history, so i probably expected something more trending along those lines. Again as i say i only drove past it and saw the scoreboard saying De La Selle which i thought may need updating. Could be frightfully wrong here though. Apologies for not being able to spell De La Selle, that doesn't even look right.

De la Salle's ground has always been a sloping, mud-ridden, odd-shaped suburban paddock with a centre square which becomes deadly once the sun dries out the centre wicket after a heavy winter.

One of the prime reasons for them staying in A grade and threatening finals regularly - its one massive home ground advantage at Dairy Bell.

Jascave
15 Nov 2007, 19:00
Most VAFA grounds would not be ready by April 12, if there is no rain between now and that date. The most logical start to the VAFA season would be in my view April 26th. If it meant the same as the season just gone (state games played during a Home & Away week, no breaks during the season, 3 week finals series for A-D4), so be it. The VAFA must be pro-active in making sure that the 2008 VAFA season goes off without a problem, even if it meant having back-up dates in readiness in case the orginal date (April 12) is ruled out.

JG Hornet
15 Nov 2007, 20:15
De la Salle's ground has always been a sloping, mud-ridden, odd-shaped suburban paddock with a centre square which becomes deadly once the sun dries out the centre wicket after a heavy winter.

One of the prime reasons for them staying in A grade and threatening finals regularly - its one massive home ground advantage at Dairy Bell.

You love it Frase!! De La do have a good record at home but sometimes come unstuck when it's really muddy. Doesn't really suit their game. I'm always amazed at how opposition teams play that ground - first thing you're told as a De La player - don't play to the Grandstand side. Ever!

ultimate hater
16 Nov 2007, 07:16
Most VAFA grounds would not be ready by April 12, if there is no rain between now and that date. The most logical start to the VAFA season would be in my view April 26th. If it meant the same as the season just gone (state games played during a Home & Away week, no breaks during the season, 3 week finals series for A-D4), so be it. The VAFA must be pro-active in making sure that the 2008 VAFA season goes off without a problem, even if it meant having back-up dates in readiness in case the orginal date (April 12) is ruled out.

mate.. of course there is going to be rain, just depends on how much..

I know you think you're onto something here jas, but as a few ppl have stated previously.. I think you're not the only one "on the ball" in the drought department..

And for De La's ground... I'm sure they have tried to "fix" their drainage problems but it won't help much.. the ground feels like your going up-hill no matter which way you're running, and you're right on their hornet.. don't play the grandstand side!! unless you want to run around with 3 kgs of turf on your boot trying to get out of quicksand.. rooms are ok though..

Jascave
17 Nov 2007, 13:53
I wonder what should the VAFA do about representative/State of Origin football as opposed to club matches. Should the VAFA reduce the rep matches in terms of importance in order to allow the club games to take top billing, or go full-bore on representative matches and not have a care in the world about the importance of club games. The reason why I say this is because the VAFA Under 23 side have struggled to win a game while SA and WA have gone from strength to strength. Add to this is the fact that several guys in the Under 23 state team are key players for their clubs and do extremely well for their respective club, yet somehow don't carry over that club form to state games. Also the senior state team has been reduced somewhat of importance in terms of state football. The VAFA senior state squad has only played 1-that's right, yes 1-game in the last 2 years. And that was because the VAFA would rather use the A-D4 and the Under 19 and Under 23 sides as representative of VAFA football, but never the side that is representative of the VAFA-the State Senior team. Is it about time the VAFA make a decision on whether or not they are 100% committed to state football or bring the club games back to greater importance?

ultimate hater
21 Nov 2007, 07:54
jas... thought I'd bump up your thread and ask;

Now that stkilda are moving from moorabbin, do you think its a possible new home for the VAFA? (they will be out by 2009)

I feel a poll coming along..... :rolleyes:

THE BEACON
21 Nov 2007, 08:39
Maybe a brief summary for us all on BF on the pros & cons of Moorabbin as the VAFA HQ?

Would be much appreciated.

Phantom Strobler
21 Nov 2007, 15:33
jas... thought I'd bump up your thread and ask;

Now that stkilda are moving from moorabbin, do you think its a possible new home for the VAFA? (they will be out by 2009)

I feel a poll coming along..... :rolleyes:

Get a poll going. This would be a great move for the VAFA. Spies tell me AJAX are going after the ground.

Jascave
21 Nov 2007, 15:46
No, I think something tells me that the Southern Football League will have first use of the ground and probaly use it as their HQ, so they can play their Div.1 Grand Final and possibly the rep game against the VAFA. Interestingly, the then VAFA Chairman Nick Bourke said in the 2006 VAFA Annual Report that there were some serious discussion among VAFA Executive members about the possibilty of moving away from Sportscover Arena and going to a venue like Moorabbin. But in the end the pro-Sportscover Arena lobby among the VAFA Executive won the day, and according to the Annual Report, 'Sportscover Arena had more plusses and was worthy of retention as the no.1 venue in the VAFA.' I reckon the VAFA, in time, would regret not moving away to Sportscover Arena when they had the chance.

Chazz M Michaels
21 Nov 2007, 15:48
Get a poll going. This would be a great move for the VAFA. Spies tell me AJAX are going after the ground.

spies..??

do none of them have jobs or something? the move was only announced this morning.. I don't think AJAX can move that quick... or maybe they are a little quicker off the field than on it..

Jascave
26 Nov 2007, 10:08
Don't be surprised to see Tom Brain being awarded Life Membership of the VAFA. Whatever your thoughts/opinions about Tom, the fact is that no-one have gave more for VAFA football than Tom Brain, who has given 100% of his time to make the VAFA the competiton is it today. The VAFA will not survive if it wasn't for people like Tom Brain.

The VAFA HAD THEIR ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ON MONDAY NIGHT. THERE IS ONE NEW PERSON ON THE VAFA BOARD, AND THAT IS A-D4 REP COACH GEORGE VOYAGE. HOWEVER NO INFO AS TO WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO SPORTSCOVER ARENA.

harper
10 Dec 2007, 17:31
Jase, I will be at the AGM in a couple of weeks and will put my hand up to be elected to the Board on the platform of free beer for reserve coaches. That ought to fix the comp!

Obviously not enough reserve coaches at the AGM as I couldn't get my nomination seconded! Scribe, Rabs, Sloth, Griff where were you guys?

Jascave
11 Dec 2007, 09:16
If there's one thing I would like to see improved as far as VAFA football is concerned, it's the performance of the Under 23 team. Their last win was in 2005 against South Australia and since then have really struggled for form while SA and Western Australia have gone ahead quicker than most people expected. Would it be better to have TWO state competitions-one at Under 23 level, the other at senior level?

Monkeyboy
11 Dec 2007, 09:22
If there's one thing I would like to see improved as far as VAFA football is concerned, it's the performance of the Under 23 team. Their last win was in 2005 against South Australia and since then have really struggled for form while SA and Western Australia have gone ahead quicker than most people expected. Would it be better to have TWO state competitions-one at Under 23 level, the other at senior level?

Poll it up Jase! Should we have two teams?

Jascave
11 Dec 2007, 09:42
No, more like two competitions. The VAFA senior team has played only one game in the last couple of years, which was against Vic Country, and in my view should have played more state games. The fault lies really with the VAFA, because they should've told their counterparts at the AAFC meeting to go with two competitions-a Under 23 & Senior comp-rather than leave it to the Under 23 level to provide State football. I reckon it goes back to 2003, where WA was slaughtered by Victoria at a senior state game at Subiaco and the VAFA was concerned about more mismatches in the future against their counterparts in SA and WA. That's the reason why it's now the AAFC Championships at Under 23 level. I hope the AAFC include a senior competition to go with the Under 23 comp.

TheWamba
21 Dec 2007, 08:59
Free beer during games and topless girls doing the scoreboard would be my improvement.

Jascave
5 Jan 2008, 07:11
I think what the VAFA should do in regards to rep football is to pressure the AAFC into admitting not just Tassie North, but quite possibly NSW and Qld, the ACT and NT as well. If the AAFC wants to be 100% committed into making this carnival (or series) a truly national one, seeing the AFL are making the Under 18 National Championships the only place to watch state footy, then here's their chance. Admitting Tassie North is a good start. Maybe admitting NSW, Qld and possibly the Northern Territory,the ACT might also be on the cards as well. Not now, but possibly 5-10 years later on. The AAFC must work with the AFL to make the Under 23 championships a true national championships series, so that more and more players from those states can further their careers into possibly AFL players by the end of a championships series. A Under 18 Carnival is not enough. What the AAFC is doing with a Under 23 series I think is a much better format.

Jascave
9 Jan 2008, 16:37
What should be done about the so-called 'Sholly rule'. Should the VAFA scrap it altogether and bring back the old reinstatement rules, which IMO was a far better system than what we have in store now, or keep it (the 'Sholly rule')so the rich-in this case the Old Boys clubs-stays richer, the poor-in this case the district clubs-stays poorer. Maybe it would be of an idea for the VAFA to start up a draft system similar to the AFL.

Brain drain
9 Jan 2008, 17:53
What should be done about the so-called 'Sholly rule'. Should the VAFA scrap it altogether and bring back the old reinstatement rules, which IMO was a far better system than what we have in store now, or keep it (the 'Sholly rule')so the rich-in this case the Old Boys clubs-stays richer, the poor-in this case the district clubs-stays poorer. Maybe it would be of an idea for the VAFA to start up a draft system similar to the AFL.

Yes Jason it would be an idea for a VAFA draft - an absolutely stupid idea which goes to show exactly how out of touch you truly are.

Accept the following:

1. Noel Rundle is dead, has been for several years, and unless he's been cryongenically frozen like Walt Disney, he ain't coming back in a hurry.
2. the VAFA is a different football competition than the AFL, vastly lower in standard and completely different in structure
3. the VAFA exsists for the clubs first and foremost, not representative football, no matter how much you and your love for George Voyage wishes otherwise.
4. the VAFA has been operating for 105 years, and now has 80-odd clubs involved. I'm taking a wild guess that about 10 times as many men have played VAFA footy as AFL
5. to suggest that a Team of the Century, or a Team of the past 32 years could be selected and agreed upon by anyone is completely fanciful
6. you have become like a Runaway Train, unwilling to stop and endangering the sanity of all those reasonable, rational posters who used to enjoy this forum

We are sick to death of your thoughts/ideas/polls/teams, etc.

Time to take a break Jase - I'd say about 3 to 4 months should do it.

BrianSpeaking
9 Jan 2008, 18:06
I second Toms above post! One area where you mistyped Mr Brain, I think you meant Jason should have a rest for 3 or 4 years.
IF this really is you Tom(http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif), perhaps you can drop around to the Cave residence(or room at the Monash nut house) and cut his cable to the net.
Bring back Magnum PI and Justin Timberlake PLEASE.

north of the river
9 Jan 2008, 19:10
I second Toms above post! One area where you mistyped Mr Brain, I think you meant Jason should have a rest for 3 or 4 years.
IF this really is you Tom(http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon10.gif), perhaps you can drop around to the Cave residence(or room at the Monash nut house) and cut his cable to the net.
Bring back Magnum PI and Justin Timberlake PLEASE.

Old Cardio put up a (humourous) post in regard to culling Jascave and all he got was crap from Scribe, Brain Drip, Ninja, otpost etc etc, some who give the VAFA thread nothing.

I'm sure you all know Jascave is a 'protected species' so be ready for some PM's to tell you to leave him alone.

keep going Jas, keep us bored to death during this lull in proceedings, we understand.

harper
9 Jan 2008, 19:58

Jason, no problem from this district club, 2 flags in a row, a fantastic new coach, some bright recruiting prospects, renovations to our rooms in the planning stage, an oval that looks fantastic ('till the GP hits) with new lights, a fantastic new major sponsor (South Pacific Health Club at the St Kilda sea baths), Reggies awesome dim sims, considered by many to be a chance at finals in our first year in D1, an holding a few dollars in the bank. If this is the VAFA then bring it on!

As a supporter of a promoted club I would of thought you could find some positves to write about Jase, from what I hear the future's also bright down Hampton way!

Jascave
9 Jan 2008, 20:13
Well, I haven't been down to the Rovers as of late, but I've been kept up to date with the latest news on the Rovers website. You may not know this, but this year will be my 13th season in doing the interchange for the Rovers. Not bad when you consider I started doing this job I was 19...and I'm now 32, and I've done 400+ games (plus 1 State of Origin), 4 grand finals for 3 premierships (1 senior, 1 reserves, 1 under 19). While I will continue doing the job for as long as I want, however there may come a day when I say, 'I had enough' (ie retirement). It may not happen now, but it could happen sometime down the track.

BrianSpeaking
9 Jan 2008, 21:38
Pass Jason the pump for his tyres....