View Full Version : Tiger Airlines
FlyingCrow
13 Nov 2007, 10:22
Tiger have just announced Adelaide to Melbourne Flights
For today, first 8500 flights are $9.95 including taxes. I just booked My flights for myslef and fiance and return cost $62.80 including seat preference for the Carlton game in round 6. The flight for the Friday is full price so I went on Thursday. Gonna get in the Anzac day game at the G too.
Just thought some people would like to know.
I am not an employess heard only heard myslef on radio and checked it out
IddyBiddy
13 Nov 2007, 10:58
Thanks FlyingCrow, just booked for a gang of friends to come over for that same game.
maccas_no1
13 Nov 2007, 11:01
Get on to them guys because they will sell fast, word is they will operate out of the old domestic terminal.
Dasher39
13 Nov 2007, 11:04
I've been waiting for them to announce Adelaide as a destination.
I jumped on and got a return flight for the Geelong-Adelaide game on 4th July. Return flight for $22.90! Cannot go wrong!
FlyingCrow
13 Nov 2007, 11:18
I jumped on and got a return flight for the Geelong-Adelaide game on 4th July. Return flight for $22.90! Cannot go wrong!
Cheaper than a taxi fare home from a night on the piss.
I booked for Round 20 and 21 in Melbourne earlier today :thumbsu:
maccas_no1
13 Nov 2007, 14:44
Just all be fully aware of there conditions of carriage especially the amount of checked luggage you can take which is 15kg and if you go over they will charge you for it, but nail those $9.95 fares because they are great:thumbsu:
Ahh thanks for pointing that out, we did take a little time out to read the fine print. Airfares don't come around that cheap for no reason :)
Bah! At this stage I can only commit to Friday night games in Adelaide until I see a fixture for the Australian Ice Hockey League because I have commitments with the Melbourne Ice.
Once I see an AIHL fixture I can start planning more trips to home games, but the times that Tiger Airways flies from Melbourne to Adelaide on Friday's are garbage! For one of them I would arrive at like 7am and for the other I would arrive five minutes after the opening bounce. Those are the only two times on Friday's.
I'll probably get my flights for Friday games through Virgin Blue because the times will be more accessible and then work everything else out when I get the hockey schedule.
maccas_no1
13 Nov 2007, 14:53
Tiger Airways are pleased to announce that from Jan 10th 2008 Tiger Airways Australia will be operating 2 direct flights a day between Mulbourne (Tullamarine) and Adelaide.
These flights are on their first day of operations
TT 7302 MEL 1005 ADL 1055 10 Jan 08 (All times are local)
TT 7303 ADL 1225 MEL 1410 10 Jan 08
From 11th Jan 08 onwards flights will be:
TT 7302 MEL 0630 ADL 0720 (All times are local)
TT 7303 ADL 0750 MEL 0935
TT 7308 MEL 1855 ADL 1945
TT 7309 ADL 2015 MEL 2200
The flights will deaprt from Melbourne Airports Terminal 4 and arrive in Adelaide's Terminal 1 according to www.tigerairways.com.
The introductry fares are $9.95 one way. This is only for 8500 seats. These fares will end when all 8500 seats are sold and you may fly from 10 Jan 08- 25 Oct 08. The internet fares after $9.95 are either $39.95, $49.95, $59.95 or $69.95.
As I said go grab those $9.95 seats while they are there:thumbsu:
maccas_no1
13 Nov 2007, 14:54
Bah! At this stage I can only commit to Friday night games in Adelaide until I see a fixture for the Australian Ice Hockey League because I have commitments with the Melbourne Ice.
Once I see an AIHL fixture I can start planning more trips to home games, but the times that Tiger Airways flies from Melbourne to Adelaide on Friday's are garbage! For one of them I would arrive at like 7am and for the other I would arrive five minutes after the opening bounce. Those are the only two times on Friday's.
I'll probably get my flights for Friday games through Virgin Blue because the times will be more accessible and then work everything else out when I get the hockey schedule.
Contact me if you want some help;)
Seanason
13 Nov 2007, 15:03
i think they are gone...
BlackDouglas
13 Nov 2007, 15:05
i think they are gone...
I found some early morning fights for the $9.95 price in July and August (but they were for a return fight)
maccas_no1
13 Nov 2007, 15:06
Jetstar have matched with $9 AVV-ADL fares on Tue, Wed and Sat only for flights between 31Jan-4-Mar08 and 29-Jul-11Sep08.
http://www.jetstar.com/sale-fares.html
FlyingCrow
13 Nov 2007, 15:13
I ahve no problems witht he time. Early in the morning gives me full day in Melb. Later in evening gives me another day in Melb.
Turning into a footy weekend.There are four games on in melb the weekend I am going.
brucetiki
15 Nov 2007, 20:45
I reckon the times are perfect footy-wise. No more driving to Melbourne hehehe
FlyingCrow
15 Nov 2007, 20:47
yep...hope they stay afloat...well in the air, floating not good for a plane
brucetiki
16 Nov 2007, 17:06
yep...hope they stay afloat...well in the air, floating not good for a plane
Isn't Singapore Airlines their parent company. If so, then I think they'll be ok.
FlyingCrow
16 Nov 2007, 17:07
yeah they are.
Basically their version of Jetstar
brucetiki
16 Nov 2007, 17:12
I hope their service is better than what I've heard about Jetstar
NikkiNoo
16 Nov 2007, 20:36
Isn't Singapore Airlines their parent company. If so, then I think they'll be ok.
But they are also in conjunction with Ryan Air. Low cost, no service, no safety and disabled people not allowed ;) See the court case last year when Ryan Air had to fork over a bit of compensation.
FlyingCrow
17 Nov 2007, 07:00
But they are also in conjunction with Ryan Air. Low cost, no service, no safety and disabled people not allowed ;) See the court case last year when Ryan Air had to fork over a bit of compensation.
Flying to melbourne I dont care.
If you can go without food or drink for an hour, I pity you. I wouldnt take snacks to drive to Marion and I live over an hour from there.
NikkiNoo
17 Nov 2007, 07:14
I can easily go without food and drink for an hour. It's often why I fly virgin blue, cheaper, but at least they understand service.
I experienced Ryan Air in the UK. I expect a certain level of service from the hostees. They were down right grumpy and rude towards passengers. I felt that I was sitting on a seat made of cardboard and screws. Their was no where near the safety info you get and the demo life jacket looked like it might be able to hold up one of your arms and that is it. When you are flying over seas that didn't give me a lot of confidence.
I just hope that they have more service along the lines of singapore and not ryan air.
FlyingCrow
17 Nov 2007, 07:43
I can easily go without food and drink for an hour. It's often why I fly virgin blue, cheaper, but at least they understand service.
I experienced Ryan Air in the UK. I expect a certain level of service from the hostees. They were down right grumpy and rude towards passengers. I felt that I was sitting on a seat made of cardboard and screws. Their was no where near the safety info you get and the demo life jacket looked like it might be able to hold up one of your arms and that is it. When you are flying over seas that didn't give me a lot of confidence.
I just hope that they have more service along the lines of singapore and not ryan air.
So a bit like going to a bank...or any other customer "service" place...
Life jacket sounds dodgy, lucky there is no water between us and Melb.
I doubt i would use a budget airline on a longer journey. Depends how comfy the pance is.
maccas_no1
17 Nov 2007, 09:43
Tiger is 10% owned by Singapore Airlines.
KingsCrow
19 Nov 2007, 12:15
I'd support JetStar, at least the profits kind of stay in Australia.
Not that Qantas (JetStars big daddy) has been the best to Adelaide.
Campbell's Chunky
19 Nov 2007, 12:30
Jetstar is utter crap, although I don't expect Tiger to be much better.
I've flown Jetstar...4 times. 3 out of 4 were delayed by half an hour +, one of them by 4 hours.
And the other one we had to go via Brisbane to Hamilton Island because their Brisbane plane broke down so we had to take their passengers on board.
Just booked flights for round 1.
$130 all up return. Not bad.
AngelEyes
19 Nov 2007, 13:32
If you believe the South Australian government's speaking of crap to cover up their own incompetence. As someone who flies back home at least once per month, I agree getting flights to Adelaide is alot harder than anywhere else. However, I can completely understand why airlines don't fly to Adelaide - its not worth their while dollars wise. Why? Because the South Australian government has been to incompetent for too long and tries to blame it on others rather than do something to fix our lack of tourism appeal. Does the government tell you how it costs twice as much in Airport Taxes to land at Adelaide rather than Melbourne Airport (and no I'm not talking Avalon) i.e. severly reducing profit margins or increasing the price of tickets?
Since I have moved to Victoria - I am bombarded every night with commercials from Tasmania, Queensland, Northern Territory, Sydney, the Hunter Valley (NSW), New Zealand, Regional Victoria but never South Australia. The Government chooses not to sell South Australia so if they are unable to commit to pushing the cause why should QANTAS/Jetstar reduce profits to help the government out? We are closer linked to Victoria than anywhere else yet we decide to build a tram to attract tourists when Melbourne is Australia's capital of trams. I'm sure everyone will flock to see it.
Its not QANTAS' fault - blame our government. If they cut taxes, improved the image of South Australia (rather than that of the inbred cousin) and built something or made something that made people want to come maybe people would come and there would be more flights but instead its QANTAS' fault. Giving Tiger money to fly to SA doesn't solve the problem and will just annoy QANTAS more. Increasing demand is the key to increasing flights.
Adelaide isn't a bad place and a great place to live (despite me moving to Victoria for work) but it needs to be sold and encouraged interstate. As tourist though, there is nothing bad but why would you come here when its cheaper (due to Airport taxes) to fly to Tasmania, New South Wales, Queensland etc? If I wasn't from Adelaide I would go to Queensland every time and I think most of you would too. Gold Coast, Cairns, Sunshine Coast or Adelaide?
I jumped on and got a return flight for the Geelong-Adelaide game on 4th July. Return flight for $22.90! Cannot go wrong!That is almost ridiculous. Imagine Ansett trying to compete with that. Poor bastards, probably good they went under when they did.
Great for us though. It's no longer a dream to take your kids on a plane anywhere in Australia.
maccas_no1
19 Nov 2007, 18:20
If you believe the South Australian government's speaking of crap to cover up their own incompetence. As someone who flies back home at least once per month, I agree getting flights to Adelaide is alot harder than anywhere else. However, I can completely understand why airlines don't fly to Adelaide - its not worth their while dollars wise. Why? Because the South Australian government has been to incompetent for too long and tries to blame it on others rather than do something to fix our lack of tourism appeal. Does the government tell you how it costs twice as much in Airport Taxes to land at Adelaide rather than Melbourne Airport (and no I'm not talking Avalon) i.e. severly reducing profit margins or increasing the price of tickets?
Since I have moved to Victoria - I am bombarded every night with commercials from Tasmania, Queensland, Northern Territory, Sydney, the Hunter Valley (NSW), New Zealand, Regional Victoria but never South Australia. The Government chooses not to sell South Australia so if they are unable to commit to pushing the cause why should QANTAS/Jetstar reduce profits to help the government out? We are closer linked to Victoria than anywhere else yet we decide to build a tram to attract tourists when Melbourne is Australia's capital of trams. I'm sure everyone will flock to see it.
Its not QANTAS' fault - blame our government. If they cut taxes, improved the image of South Australia (rather than that of the inbred cousin) and built something or made something that made people want to come maybe people would come and there would be more flights but instead its QANTAS' fault. Giving Tiger money to fly to SA doesn't solve the problem and will just annoy QANTAS more. Increasing demand is the key to increasing flights.
Adelaide isn't a bad place and a great place to live (despite me moving to Victoria for work) but it needs to be sold and encouraged interstate. As tourist though, there is nothing bad but why would you come here when its cheaper (due to Airport taxes) to fly to Tasmania, New South Wales, Queensland etc? If I wasn't from Adelaide I would go to Queensland every time and I think most of you would too. Gold Coast, Cairns, Sunshine Coast or Adelaide?
Spot on the money, and this is the exact reason why I post what I do from time to time in regards to SA, as I get the exact same feeling.
maccas_no1
19 Nov 2007, 18:29
Nice to see you support the only way Qantas have of breaking down of domestic Qantas putting employees on lower wages ans AWA's just to ensure they make billions of dollars to look after the share holders and not give a fat rats clacker about the travelling public:rolleyes:
Nobody since the Qantas takeover bid failed actually knows who owns Qantas, its still being sorted out.
Found a nice little hidden fee. 5kg of luggage costs $25 10kg costs $40 and 15kg costs $50 per passenger. Not cheap.
maccas_no1
19 Nov 2007, 19:34
Found a nice little hidden fee. 5kg of luggage costs $25 10kg costs $40 and 15kg costs $50 per passenger. Not cheap.
I put that there are 'hidden charges' in one of my earlier posts, make sure you know all of this because you will get stung at the airport. You are also not allowed to take your own food and drink aboard Tiger flights you must purchase their food and drink if you want it.
Their baggage allowance is 15kg go over that and the above applies.
15 kg is easy as for a weekend.
FlyingCrow
20 Nov 2007, 05:16
yeah reweear your undies...
maccas_no1
20 Nov 2007, 05:27
Yeah for sure will be no problem for a footy w/end. Just be aware of it though:)
KingsCrow
20 Nov 2007, 10:52
I agree Adelaide does need some more attractions, to sell the state. HOWEVER
How can Qantas the national carrier claim there is not enough demand in Adelaide to put more international fights on. Meanwhile a whole host of other International carriers are fortifying there spot in the Australian market by increasing flights in SA. This has an effect even on me. I've always flown Qantas, Australian pride :thumbsu:. But whats best for this state is to support the carriers that care about this state, Singapore, Malaysia, New Zealand. Real good by Qantas, they can fly near empty planes between sydney and melbourne every 10 minutes but they can't add a few more international fights here.
brucetiki
20 Nov 2007, 14:52
I felt that I was sitting on a seat made of cardboard and screws. Their was no where near the safety info you get and the demo life jacket looked like it might be able to hold up one of your arms and that is it. When you are flying over seas that didn't give me a lot of confidence..
Sounds like my QANTAS experiences
BockPorplyziaFC
20 Nov 2007, 15:11
I booked 4 return trips at the $10 price and basically im not too concerned about the service, Im on the bus a couple hours most days into town and they dont give me a meal either lol.
Even if you manage to get a ticket for $50 or $60 it's only about an hour sitting down and a cheap weekend a way.
Longer trips I might want a bit more comfort if the price difference isnt huge but for the Melbourne trip its fine.
Crow Chick
20 Nov 2007, 15:59
Easy-as, I did Europe for 2 months in the winter on 13kg!! With clean socks and jocks and shirt everyday. Just don't use a heavy suitcase :) Maybe pack your stuff in plastic shopping bags to reduce weight@!
Blue Red and Gold
20 Nov 2007, 16:33
I used Jetstar just this week, I hadnt used them before but I found they were pretty good.
Cheap flight, no delay, no hassles. The seats were pretty tight which made it a bit uncomfortable but I can deal with that.
I would use them again.
Blue Red and Gold
20 Nov 2007, 16:40
Come over for R1 BRG!
I will have to see how things go.
Cash flow is pretty average at best at the moment.
FlyingCrow
20 Nov 2007, 16:56
My thoughts too
Not sure if I would use Tier for a trip to say Perth or Brissy. I would probably fly QANTAS, business class.
maccas_no1
20 Nov 2007, 19:30
www.jetstar.com get on it 7pm tomorrow night five cent fares up for grabs:thumbsu:
maccas_no1
20 Nov 2007, 19:33
From SMH.com.au
Jetstar to sell five cent airfares
Scott Rochfort
November 21, 2007
Jetstar is planning the cheapest ever airfare sale in Australian history in an attempt to draw public attention away from Tiger Airways upcoming launch of domestic services.
The Qantas low-cost offshoot plans to sell 5000 five cent fares (including taxes) on its website from 7pm tomorrow night on a handful of its routes.
Jetstar has claimed the sale is a celebration of it recently winning five awards, including the Sydney-based Centre for Asia Pacific Aviation's award for the best low-cost airline in the Asia-Pacific for 2007.
But it is more likely, Jetstar not only wants to frustrate Tiger's upcoming launch but also ensure its Singapore-headquartered rival does not undermine the Qantas offshoot's reputation as the lowest fare airline in Australia.
"It is just another example of why we are and will remain Australia's low fares airline," Jetstar chief Alan Joyce said in a statement issued by the airline.
However, the only flights on offer from Sydney are to the Gold Coast. From Melbourne - Tiger's homebase - the flights are only on three routes served by Tiger.
The tickets are also for travel in the low winter season, more than six months away and on selected flights on the low-peak Tuesday, Wednesday and Saturday daytimes. The five cent tickets also entail a $2 credit card fee for people booking over the internet..
The 5000 tickets on offer are a small percentage of the average 700,000 seats Jetstar would expect to sell every month.
News of the sale comes as Tiger attempts to gain final regulatory approval to launch flights by Friday. With a plane load of passengers, crew and Civil Aviation Safety Authority inspectors, Tiger made a "proving" flight from Melbourne to the Sunshine Coast today. Tonight Tiger will undertake a final "proving" flight from Melbourne to Launceston. If the flights go off without a hitch, Tiger could expect to have its Air Operators Certificate by Thursday. If not, it will be forced to reschedule another "proving" flight and refund thousands of tickets for its first scheduled flights.
Campbell's Chunky
13 Apr 2008, 21:57
Tiger Airways are pleased to announce that from Jan 10th 2008 Tiger Airways Australia will be operating 2 direct flights a day between Mulbourne (Tullamarine) and Adelaide.
These flights are on their first day of operations
TT 7302 MEL 1005 ADL 1055 10 Jan 08 (All times are local)
TT 7303 ADL 1225 MEL 1410 10 Jan 08
From 11th Jan 08 onwards flights will be:
TT 7302 MEL 0630 ADL 0720 (All times are local)
TT 7303 ADL 0750 MEL 0935
TT 7308 MEL 1855 ADL 1945
TT 7309 ADL 2015 MEL 2200
The flights will deaprt from Melbourne Airports Terminal 4 and arrive in Adelaide's Terminal 1 according to www.tigerairways.com.
The introductry fares are $9.95 one way. This is only for 8500 seats. These fares will end when all 8500 seats are sold and you may fly from 10 Jan 08- 25 Oct 08. The internet fares after $9.95 are either $39.95, $49.95, $59.95 or $69.95.
As I said go grab those $9.95 seats while they are there:thumbsu:
Hey maccas.
I know it says terminal 1 and 4 respectively regarding which Terminals Tiger operate out of, but could you tell me the following...
Is Terminal 1 the old terminal at Adelaide (ie not connected to the current main terminal).
And, is Terminal 4 in melbourne the same terminal where virgin and qantas operate (or atleast connected without me having to walk 5k)?
I've booked my flights for ANZAC weekend and am just curious which terminals I need to front up at.
doppelganger47
13 Apr 2008, 22:09
Tiger Airlines in Melbourne is located where the old Virgin Blue terminal was found... not the same as the current VB and Qantas terminals.
Jetstar...adelaide to melbourne or vice versa is the worst...you end up at Avalon airport (near Geelong), which is smaller than a shed and hours away from anything. i'm not sure if there was even any service there when we arrived. all there is are a few trolleys and an old vending machine, which probably never gets refilled. why adelaide are the only city to arrive at this crapola airport is beyond me...are we really that petty that we can't arrive at the same main airport as other cities.
Tiger Airlines - get there 19 hours before boarding to ensure your seat back to Adelaide.
Yeah, I flew Tiger today getting back from Newcastle and I got there two hours before take off after hearing your horror story.
maccas_no1
15 Apr 2008, 18:46
Hey maccas.
I know it says terminal 1 and 4 respectively regarding which Terminals Tiger operate out of, but could you tell me the following...
Is Terminal 1 the old terminal at Adelaide (ie not connected to the current main terminal).
And, is Terminal 4 in melbourne the same terminal where virgin and qantas operate (or atleast connected without me having to walk 5k)?
I've booked my flights for ANZAC weekend and am just curious which terminals I need to front up at.
CC Tiger operate out of the new terminal at ADL, in MEL they operate out of terminal 4 which was the orginal Virgin Blue terminal before we moved into Ansetts old terminal, if you are walking near the Virgin Blue terminal in MEL near where the taxi rank is outside of arrivals you need to walk to your left there are 'paw' prints sprayed on the pavement and there are alot of signs as to which direction to go, its a shed type thing and it has a ex shipping container out the front as a cafe:eek: To board Tiger flights they have the aircraft parked on the cargo apron and virtually have to walk half the length of the cargo apron to board, if it raining they bring in buses for pax to board and then drive out to the aircraft.
Hope that helps:)
AngelEyes
18 Apr 2008, 15:29
Tiger Airlines in Melbourne is located where the old Virgin Blue terminal was found... not the same as the current VB and Qantas terminals.
Jetstar...adelaide to melbourne or vice versa is the worst...you end up at Avalon airport (near Geelong), which is smaller than a shed and hours away from anything. i'm not sure if there was even any service there when we arrived. all there is are a few trolleys and an old vending machine, which probably never gets refilled. why adelaide are the only city to arrive at this crapola airport is beyond me...are we really that petty that we can't arrive at the same main airport as other cities.
1. Avalon is about 45 minutes bus ($12 is it?) from the City and 15 minutes from Geelong City. If you want cheap fares thats the sacrifice you pay. Avalon is also very cheap to the Geelong-Melbourne fast train line and will undoubtedly be linked to Melbourne and Geelong via rial in the near future.
2. Adelaide is not the only city that uses Avalon Airport. Jetstar uses flights from Sydney (rising to 10 per day) and Brisbane (3 per day) exclusively from Avalon. It also has Perth flights from both airports, however, these are all moving to Avalon in the current year and are only partially based at Tullamarine due to plane shortages.
ams4crows
18 Apr 2008, 20:51
So If I wanted to actually go to geelong I should go Jetstar?
Yep.