View Full Version : G Train Into National Draft
Buckster
21 Nov 2007, 14:36
Big Fraser has burnt the sainters and nomintated for the National Draft
Kildonan
21 Nov 2007, 15:07
The Saints apparently lodged the forms on his behalf - so it hardly sounds like a bad thing for the Saints.
But thanks for the update anyway.
Oh When the Saints
21 Nov 2007, 15:11
Has said on SEN that he will only go back to play for St Kilda.
bloods01
21 Nov 2007, 15:22
Why retire then? Will he do a Mal Michael and play elsewhere?
Sir Robert
21 Nov 2007, 15:23
Thank god for that... I was just copping it here at work... Would have been devastated!
To that Carlton supporter that said he burnt us... Suck a fat one... God you are a bun(h of F#%wits!
eddies army
21 Nov 2007, 16:46
i thought if someone nominates themselves for the pre season draft they take whatever comes their way....if this is true and not a load of horse shit then he has just DONE a mal job on the saints
Magnificence
21 Nov 2007, 16:47
Thank god for that... I was just copping it here at work... Would have been devastated!
To that Carlton supporter that said he burnt us... Suck a fat one... God you are a bun(h of F#%wits!
Even better the saints have to waste a national draft pick on him hehehehhehehehehehehe
A player who will play for max one year.
Magnificence
21 Nov 2007, 16:50
I have a funny feeling if he says he will only play for one club he is going to be looking at a nice big suspension and fine as will the Saints this sounds like a massive balls up to me.
Squizzy1970
21 Nov 2007, 16:57
Geez - the Collingwood supporters are still dirty they didn't get him the first time, and the Carlton supporters pick up one player and think the world is their oyster again.
At the end of the day, if he nominates and gets picked by someone else he has no choice. But why not let clubs know now if he doesn't want to play elsewhere?
FAT DILIBERTO
21 Nov 2007, 17:00
Obviously the nut case has had a change of heart,it would be nice for him to go to stkilda,however you do have a few desperato clubs such as RICHMOND,ESSENDON CARLTON who would pick up CLINT BIZZELL if he comes out of retirement. watch out saints.
johnnyhoward
21 Nov 2007, 17:10
We'll get him with pick 70 surely? I don't think he'd want to play for any other club, so surely no club would be big enough bastards to select a player who doesn't want to be there?
Magnificence
21 Nov 2007, 17:18
We'll get him with pick 70 surely? I don't think he'd want to play for any other club, so surely no club would be big enough bastards to select a player who doesn't want to be there?
Draft tampering!!!
Look2Me4Guidance
21 Nov 2007, 17:32
It clearly shows the Saints are doing something right if he wants to come back and play for another year. This is sensational news. WHAT A RIPPING DAY!!!!!!!
I genuinely dont understand the finer points of the draft system, so I'm not being smart......how, and why would Fraser want to come back through the draft? Didn't he retire? or if the club "urged" him to retire, why would he want to go back to a club that didn't want him.....is he having a "braindrain" again?....Saints my second team, hubby is a Saint, so this interests me....does anyone know what plans he had for retirement..e.g....workwise and income etc...I just hope he stays retired, remembered for his greatness and just being the G train...
Ice-Wolf
21 Nov 2007, 17:41
I genuinely dont understand the finer points of the draft system, so I'm not being smart......how, and why would Fraser want to come back through the draft? Didn't he retire? or if the club "urged" him to retire, why would he want to go back to a club that didn't want him.....is he having a "braindrain" again?....Saints my second team, hubby is a Saint, so this interests me....does anyone know what plans he had for retirement..e.g....workwise and income etc...I just hope he stays retired, remembered for his greatness and just being the G train...
The Club wanted him to play on but he didn't think his body had another season in it. Hes gotten away had some time off and re-thought it and now wants to come back.
MilneyLoves2Snap
21 Nov 2007, 17:52
The train will be welcomed home :)
Even better the saints have to waste a national draft pick on him hehehehhehehehehehehe
A player who will play for max one year.
Who said we have to ??
There's a thing called the PSD.
Magnificence
21 Nov 2007, 19:06
Who said we have to ??
There's a thing called the PSD.
Funny feeling he would not last past pick two in the PSD
Ice-Wolf
21 Nov 2007, 19:39
Does anyone think they should add a new rule stating that a player that retired the previous season may nominate to return to his previous club at the cost of a national draft pick or via a bidding system like father son?
This would only apply to retiring players not those who are simply delisted.
Nineteen_Fifty_Four
21 Nov 2007, 20:23
I think the current system is good. You retire and stay retired or you nominate for the draft and go to what ever team picks you. I'll be mega peeved he can get away with dictating he will only play for St.kilda. And before you all have a go at me I like St.kilda Im not trolling. Things like this should be fixed up , I mean after Mal Michael you think the AFL would have fixed it.
sunnyTEE
21 Nov 2007, 20:24
Frasie better go back to St Kilda, it just wouldn't be right if he ended up playing for a puss, bottom dweller like Richmond or Carlton. Geez I loved that mans hairstyle and choice in short sizings.
The natural
21 Nov 2007, 21:30
I genuinely dont understand the finer points of the draft system, so I'm not being smart......how, and why would Fraser want to come back through the draft? Didn't he retire? or if the club "urged" him to retire, why would he want to go back to a club that didn't want him.....is he having a "braindrain" again?....Saints my second team, hubby is a Saint, so this interests me....does anyone know what plans he had for retirement..e.g....workwise and income etc...I just hope he stays retired, remembered for his greatness and just being the G train...With all due respect.REMEMBERED FOR HIS GREATNESS !!!!!!!!!!!!! :rolleyes: Please !!!!!!!!!!!
ChrisFooty
21 Nov 2007, 21:32
This is quite stupid. After calling it a day, you would of thought fraser would be the last player you would see wanting to play again.
So what happens if a Richmond drafts him (for example) Will he just retire again and the tigers have wasted a pick? Any rules saying he can't do that?
SriLankanCat
21 Nov 2007, 21:48
I think there is an unwritten rule amongst clubs that in situatuions like this they will let the player go where he wants. this is a uinique situation. This is not a Chris Judd or a player with a few years in him, he will be at StKIlda the G TRAIN!
U haev sen it befoire where players on the veterans list have been delisted only to be picked up in the PSD so they can go on the main lsit as u cant go from the vet's list back to the mian list except via the draft.
ChrisFooty
21 Nov 2007, 21:54
I think there is an unwritten rule amongst clubs that in situatuions like this they will let the player go where he wants. this is a uinique situation. This is not a Chris Judd or a player with a few years in him, he will be at StKIlda the G TRAIN!
U haev sen it befoire where players on the veterans list have been delisted only to be picked up in the PSD so they can go on the main lsit as u cant go from the vet's list back to the mian list except via the draft.
Even though there may be an unwritten rule, it can still be broken. Football is a business, if recruiting a player helps the team, coaches can still make the move.
Big G back for the saints :)
Carlton supporters have remebered they to can participate in football again next year and will have one player in the team thats not a dud or is he ;)
Chazz M Michaels
22 Nov 2007, 07:25
G-Banger has said he won't play anywhere else other than the saints...
They can use their lowest pick to grab him i guess..
thegoldenbear
22 Nov 2007, 08:23
I wonder if the court case had something to do with making his mind up? I know I wouldn't be thinking so clearly with that hanging over my head. Maybe thought he was doing us a favour by not resigning incase (worst case senario) he got some jail time.
kainokaino
22 Nov 2007, 12:07
I can pretty much guarantee you that no club in the AFL will pick up gtrain except for maybe the bulldogs.
Persevering Saint
22 Nov 2007, 13:33
I can pretty much guarantee you that no club in the AFL will pick up gtrain except for maybe the bulldogs.
And in the Hun today the Doggies said they wouldn't take him, so I think we're fine.
Kinda opens up Kosi's role in the team again, doesn't it?
Ripper_G
22 Nov 2007, 15:45
Ladies and gentelmen, it is indeed the lead singer/lead guitarist of ripper G speaking. and id just like to say one thing.
2007 was a crazy year for the saints and myself, the sadest thing i herd for the year that was the G train was retiring. and the best thing ive herd all year is that hes gonna play agian! let us pray to the footy god that he's back in the red white and black.
saints fans check out www.myspace.com/rippergtain
haha, nice work lads. Thought I recognised you Pulfer.
I have a funny feeling if he says he will only play for one club he is going to be looking at a nice big suspension and fine as will the Saints this sounds like a massive balls up to me.
THIS sounds like a balls up does it.. get ur hand off it carlton ur hole club is a balls up..get out of here
Ripper_G
22 Nov 2007, 19:58
haha, nice work lads. Thought I recognised you Pulfer.
WHo is this?
Ripper G
jbazzle
23 Nov 2007, 14:45
haha ripper G i got ur little banner thing on my myspace.
foxy_dal
24 Nov 2007, 09:58
welcome back to the saints big frase. its official now
Ripper_G
24 Nov 2007, 11:27
haha ripper G i got ur little banner thing on my myspace.
good work mate. appreciate the support to the ripper G. were gonna get a banner for him this year with me and some mates its gonna say "You little Ripper G" or something along those lines. look out for it.
Pearce off Jack
24 Nov 2007, 12:15
welcome back to the saints big frase. its official now
Why would you waste a draft pick on a bloke that will be around for one year instead of putting some time into a bloke that could be a 10 year player at your club? Crazy
Look2Me4Guidance
24 Nov 2007, 12:48
Why would you waste a draft pick on a bloke that will be around for one year instead of putting some time into a bloke that could be a 10 year player at your club? Crazy
Not too many 10 year players come in at Pick 57 these days pal.
Ice-Wolf
24 Nov 2007, 13:34
Cause he's a gun forward who will kick a bag of goals, no need for speculation, he has a proven record, and we didnt want him tor retire in the first place.
sainter
24 Nov 2007, 14:24
As Ross Lyon said, "60 goal full forwards don't grow on trees".
Being a Bulldogs supporter you should know that.
We took 3 kids in the draft, two of which won't turn 18 until next year. We'll also have a full compliment of rookies. I think it will allow us to continue to groom a kid like Jarryd Allen who will hopefully be able to step into his shoes in future seasons.
Pearce off Jack
24 Nov 2007, 15:55
Not too many 10 year players come in at Pick 57 these days pal.
I guess you will never know!I think you will find plenty of great players have been late draft picks!!!! No need to get defensive just dont see that there is a lot to gain.I should know the dogs have been wasting draft picks on older players for years!
ChrisFooty
24 Nov 2007, 20:21
I guess you will never know!I think you will find plenty of great players have been late draft picks!!!! !
Us saint fans know this could happen, but it's rare. It's the exception rather than the rule. This was a shallow draft by all reports, which could provide further justification to selecting him with pick 57.