View Full Version : Essendon v Melbourne, Round 6 1992....

Wally
26 Jun 2002, 17:23
Remember?

Final Quarter, 5 minutes in.......Demons by 47 points.
Bang, bang, bang, Salmon, Somerville,(twice),Wallis, etc.......27 minutes gone, Wanganeen from 50......Wally observes "nah, he's too far out"...........slots it, Bombers in front. A couple minutes later, Derek Kickett courageously marks running with the flight into goalpost. Siren.....Essendon 18.16.124...Melbourne 19.9.123.
The Essendon contingent in the Olympic Stand is going bananas, incredible win, Melbourne's entire season has turned to sh*t.

Great day in a forgettable year for the club, hard to believe it's 10 years ago :(

Who else was there?

where's wally?

gPhonque
26 Jun 2002, 17:52
I was there!

And i remember saying exactly what you said when Wanganeen was lining up. :)

Lethal
26 Jun 2002, 18:11
Unfortunately not.......was playing golf that day:(

M29
26 Jun 2002, 23:38
Was there. 2nd teir of the Southern Stand right behind the goals. I've never felt the stand shake like that before. It was fantastic!

Dave
27 Jun 2002, 08:24
yeah, was there. Thought the same thing too. We were gorn.

Anzac day too.

Anyone buy the video? Some classic commentary by EJ.

windyhill
27 Jun 2002, 08:35
Yes, Anzac Day,did buy the video from the club and ended up on it ! (jumping up and down on centre wing,scarf was there as well)...one of our greatest home and away wins ever.

Dan26
27 Jun 2002, 23:08
I was top deck of the Southern Stand, directly behind the goals. Pro-Essendon crowd. I've never heard the Southern Stand louder. I didn't even hear the siren - I just saw the umpire with two arms in the air, and realised we had won. Unbelievable win.

In many ways, that game was the first step towards the 1993 flag. We started 1992 poorly, and copped a bad loss to Fitzroy in round 2. When we defeated Melbourne, you could see that group of players had some belief about them. There was no optimism about our club before that loss, but plenty after it.

M29
28 Jun 2002, 00:36
Originally posted by Dan26
We started 1992 poorly, and copped a bad loss to Fitzroy in round 2.

Played little league that day. We copped a hammering to. :(
I do remember it was a huge ****ing crowd!

Dan26
28 Jun 2002, 01:11
Originally posted by M29

Played little league that day. We copped a hammering too. :(
I do remember it was a huge ****ing crowd!

M29
28 Jun 2002, 01:19

You sure? I'm sure it was somewhere near 50,000.

This is the game where they did us by 50+ points?

BIG POPPA PUMP
28 Jun 2002, 05:31
Originally posted by Wally
Remember?

Final Quarter, 5 minutes in.......Demons by 47 points.
Bang, bang, bang, Salmon, Somerville,(twice),Wallis, etc.......27 minutes gone, Wanganeen from 50......Wally observes "nah, he's too far out"...........slots it, Bombers in front. A couple minutes later, Derek Kickett courageously marks running with the flight into goalpost. Siren.....Essendon 18.16.124...Melbourne 19.9.123.
The Essendon contingent in the Olympic Stand is going bananas, incredible win, Melbourne's entire season has turned to sh*t.

Great day in a forgettable year for the club, hard to believe it's 10 years ago :(

Who else was there?

where's wally?

I was devastated after that game. I still can't believe how it slipped away so quickly.

Anyway, good luck tonight. With Powell back and Neitz back to collarbone breaking best form, you'll need it. ;)

windyhill
28 Jun 2002, 10:32
Originally posted by M29

You sure? I'm sure it was somewhere near 50,000.

This is the game where they did us by 50+ points?

Yes,the crowd king has got it wrong,there was heaps more than 29 thou there that day, our first as an M.C.G tenant.

Dave
28 Jun 2002, 10:49
According to the AFL the crowd was 29,206.

go team
28 Jun 2002, 13:24
Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

I was devastated after that game. I still can't believe how it slipped away so quickly.

Anyway, good luck tonight. With Powell back and Neitz back to collarbone breaking best form, you'll need it. ;)

Powell is a quality player, no disrespect to him, but you're talking as if he missed last week cause of injury/suspension. HE WAS DROPPED. The Bulldogs better watch out next week, we might include Heneman...

windyhill
28 Jun 2002, 13:51
Originally posted by Dave
According to the AFL the crowd was 29,206.

Ok , I stand corrected,it felt like more.
Mick Long kicked one of the greatest goals I have ever seen,one highlight in a day of lows. I have never seen it on T.V,it just sits in the memory bank.

Dan26
28 Jun 2002, 16:54
I know my crowds. ;)

11.1 in the last quarter that day IIRC.

If you're thining of 50,000, you're probably remembering the game the next year on the Friday night. Twas a classic too. Timmy 5 goals...

Pornstar
28 Jun 2002, 17:07
The crowd for the round 6 game 1992 was 41,405.
We kicked 8.2 in the last qtr to 1.2

source:
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/teams/essendon/allgames.html

Stealth bomber
29 Jun 2002, 00:16
Funny all of this, considering tonight's result.

All I was thinking about during the last quarter and a half was this thread.

windyhill
29 Jun 2002, 09:35
Originally posted by Pornstar
The crowd for the round 6 game 1992 was 41,405.
We kicked 8.2 in the last qtr to 1.2

source:
http://stats.rleague.com/afl/teams/essendon/allgames.html

Very good , i now stand un-corrected, for god`s sake it was our first game as a home tenant at the G if we couldn`t get more than 29 thou for that one , no matter who the opponent, you would be very worried.

windyhill
29 Jun 2002, 10:07
Hang on,we did get 29 thou for the fitzroy game,that is s hithouse.

BT
29 Jun 2002, 14:53
I know my crowds. ;)

11.1 in the last quarter that day IIRC.

If you're thining of 50,000, you're probably remembering the game the next year on the Friday night. Twas a classic too. Timmy 5 goals...

Dan, you didn't play us on a friday night in 93. It was a Saturday game which finished under floodlight because it was in June.

But you're right it was a classic, Jacko 8 goals, great win.

I was at the 92 game too, amazing stuff.

Stange this topic was brought up actually, as we might've had a repeat performance last night, only in reverse had the game gone 2 minutes longer...;)

Dan26
29 Jun 2002, 16:24
Originally posted by BT

Dan, you didn't play us on a friday night in 93. It was a Saturday game which finished under floodlight because it was in June.

But you're right it was a classic, Jacko 8 goals, great win.

I was at the 92 game too, amazing stuff.

Stange this topic was brought up actually, as we might've had a repeat performance last night, only in reverse had the game gone 2 minutes longer...;)

I was referring to our match against Fitzroy in 1993. John was talking about our first game as an MCG tenant which was round 2 1992 vs Fitzroy (29,000-odd). My comments then referred to the following years 50,000 match against Fitzroy in a Friday night, whcih possibly may have been confused with the 1992 round 2 match.

The 11.1, I was referring to was the 11.1 we kicked in the last quarter against Fitzroy in 1992.

As for the 1993 game against Melbourne I remember it well. We were on a roll going into the game, and we were upstaged by you blokes. We only kicked 10 goals IIRC

Dan26
29 Jun 2002, 16:30
Originally posted by windyhill
Hang on,we did get 29 thou for the fitzroy game,that is s hithouse.

I don't think it was too bad under the circumstances.

*it was against the club with Victoria's smallest following
*We lost in round 1
*It wasn't really a big match

The fact it was our first match at the MCG wouldnt have drawn any more fans. It wasn't exactly a special occasion. I mean, we had played heaps of matches there previously, and would play heaps more over the next decade.

BTW, that Long goal you were talking about... did he kick it the Punt Road end early in the match? Similar to a freak goal Derek kicked against the Cats at the Punt road end a few weeks later? I'm trying to jog my memory.

windyhill
29 Jun 2002, 23:46
Nuh,29 thou is disgraceful,but anyway......That goal was at the Punt Road end,pure magic.

Dan26
30 Jun 2002, 00:05
It's not disgraceful back in 1992 against the pevious years second bottom team, in lacklustre fixture. Fitzroy never drew well. We would have only got 13,000-odd if it had been at Windy Hill. Every match has different circumstances.... I reckon I'm pretty reasonable at judging crowds and that sort of thing so take my word for it.

About Longy, the best goal I saw him kick was in the '89 Qualifying Final. It was to the Ponsford Stand end, and it was on the southern stand side of the ground. The normal TV camera couldn't pick up the curve of the ball, because it was on the wrong side of the ground. But if the cameras were in the southern Stand, it would have been goal of the year. A classic.

Wally
30 Jun 2002, 10:42

About Longy, the best goal I saw him kick was in the '89 Qualifying Final. It was to the Ponsford Stand end, and it was on the southern stand side of the ground. The normal TV camera couldn't pick up the curve of the ball, because it was on the wrong side of the ground. But if the cameras were in the southern Stand, it would have been goal of the year. A classic.

Remember it well....was sitting in the middle deck of the Ponsford, brilliant goal. Longy snagged 4 that day. 'Vanda' booted 5 as well.

where's wally?

dees01
30 Jun 2002, 13:26
I remember that game like it was yesterday. Everyone around me was just in shock, absoloutly devestated. I still have visons of Kickett touching the ball on the Melbourne goal line numerous times.
Funny how things change with Friday night's game, Melbourne making the comeback, but not good enough to win:(

By the way, surely the crowd was way more than 29,000. I remember it to be at least 40,000.

Dan26
30 Jun 2002, 16:31
Originally posted by dees01
I remember that game like it was yesterday. Everyone around me was just in shock, absoloutly devestated. I still have visons of Kickett touching the ball on the Melbourne goal line numerous times.
Funny how things change with Friday night's game, Melbourne making the comeback, but not good enough to win:(

By the way, surely the crowd was way more than 29,000. I remember it to be at least 40,000.

The Anzac day crowd in '92 was 41,000-odd.

windyhill
30 Jun 2002, 19:30
It's not disgraceful back in 1992 against the pevious years second bottom team, in lacklustre fixture. Fitzroy never drew well. We would have only got 13,000-odd if it had been at Windy Hill. Every match has different circumstances.... I reckon I'm pretty reasonable at judging crowds and that sort of thing so take my word for it.

Agreed,not disgraceful,s hithouse.

Dan26
1 Jul 2002, 17:49

Agreed,not disgraceful,s hithouse.

You're a stirrer. :p

That crowd of 29,000 would have been the second bigest home and away crowd YOU would have seen for Ess v Fitz since your footy days began in 1973. There was nothing wrong with it under the circumstances. The Roys just didn't have any fans.

windyhill
1 Jul 2002, 18:02

You're a stirrer. :p

That crowd of 29,000 would have been the second bigest home and away crowd YOU would have seen for Ess v Fitz since your footy days began in 1973. There was nothing wrong with it under the circumstances. The Roys just didn't have any fans. Not including finals there young fella ?

Dan26
1 Jul 2002, 22:03
Not including finals there young fella ?

Of course not, old fella. Any finals crowd is going to be impressive - that goes without saying. Hell we had 86,000 versus West Coast. But can we get that in the home and away? No.

windyhill
1 Jul 2002, 22:35

Of course not, old fella. Any finals crowd is going to be impressive - that goes without saying. Hell we had 86,000 versus West Coast. But can we get that in the home and away? No.
Hell we had 30 thou when we played w.coast in a final at Waverley,that again was s hithouse,no-where near impressive,go on son roll out your excuses for that one.. hell we got more than that v fitzroy junior......hahah impressive.

windyhill
1 Jul 2002, 22:38
36 thou to be precise,good old Porny and his crowd number site comes to the rescue.

Dan26
2 Jul 2002, 00:47

Hell we had 30 thou when we played w.coast in a final at Waverley,that again was s hithouse,no-where near impressive,go on son roll out your excuses for that one.. hell we got more than that v fitzroy junior......hahah impressive.

Every game has a different set of circumstances, and therefore a different crowd. You can't compare one game to another, because you've got to look at the circumstances.

In 1995, we lost our last two H&A games and the final was a dead rubber. Both teams would advance to the second week of the finals WIN OR LOSE. Lose and we play 6th (North.) Win and we play 3rd (Richmond.) The outcome of the match didn't matter. Who is gonna go to match like that? There was no hype surrounding the game. The next year (the 86,000 game), the hype was huge. Circumstances were different.

Under the 1v8, 2v7, 3v6, 4v5 system, the first week was more like round 23, than proper finals. 36,000 is poor, but understandable given the circumstances. If it was a knockout final, the crowd would have been bigger (eg Prelim Final 1990, 55,000 at Waverley, 1st-semi final 1993, 75,000)

What kind of crowd would you expect for a dead rubber, Johnny boy? Might as well have played our reserves team, and given everyone a week off, knowing that we were going to have an MCG knockout final the next week no matter what.

windyhill
2 Jul 2002, 17:08
Hell,it still wasn`t impressive.

Pornstar
2 Jul 2002, 17:35
hehehe

working beautifully john

Dan26
2 Jul 2002, 18:16
It was an expected crowd under the circumstances. Case closed.

topdon
2 Jul 2002, 18:27
It was an expected crowd under the circumstances. Case closed.

I object your honour!

M29
2 Jul 2002, 20:36
Originally posted by topdon

I object your honour!

Over ruled.

windyhill
2 Jul 2002, 21:35
Originally posted by topdon

I object your honour!

Hell,upheld.

Dan26
2 Jul 2002, 21:48
Case closed. Dan wins.

No apostrophe, no spacebar, leaves me no option. ;)

windyhill
3 Jul 2002, 18:03
Case closed. Dan wins.

No apostrophe, no spacebar, leaves me no option. ;)

Pedantic little boy.

Dan26
3 Jul 2002, 21:28
I'm still trying to work out just HOW this thread turned into an argument. :confused:

fishardansin
5 Jun 2011, 23:29
I was there that day. I nearly caught the ball when Wanganeen kicked that goal. I too thought he wouldn't make the distance.

Funny thing was I was sitting in the same spot nearly a year later when we played Carlton in that draw. I nearly caught the ball that Kernahan kicked out on the full as he was in the opposite pocket.

Proves I have magical powers in calling for the ball.

gPhonque
5 Jun 2011, 23:51
Jesus.... what an old thread to dig up!

In fact, even though I replied with the 2nd post of thread recalling the fact that I was there and recalling exactly what I was thinking when Wanganeen was lining up for goal, this thread is so old that I've now forgotten being there and forgotten what I was thinking when Wanganeen was lining up for goal.

Luckily, I have this thread to remind me.

:p

Jonesy1987
6 Jun 2011, 01:49
I was there that day. I nearly caught the ball when Wanganeen kicked that goal. I too thought he wouldn't make the distance.

Funny thing was I was sitting in the same spot nearly a year later when we played Carlton in that draw. I nearly caught the ball that Kernahan kicked out on the full as he was in the opposite pocket.

Proves I have magical powers in calling for the ball.

We need you sitting behind the goals and rotating every quarter with the change.

table tennis
6 Jun 2011, 09:21
My first ever game I attended was this one. 6 years old, in the southern stand, i remember hiding under the seat as I thought the great southern stand was going to fall the crowd was that loud and the vibration through the concrete.

Now who can blame me for being addicted to the bombers, as that was a great high, better than anything in a needle can give you!

fishardansin
6 Jun 2011, 09:28
My first ever game I attended was this one. 6 years old, in the southern stand, i remember hiding under the seat as I thought the great southern stand was going to fall the crowd was that loud and the vibration through the concrete.

Now who can blame me for being addicted to the bombers, as that was a great high, better than anything in a needle can give you!

That is a pretty good one first up. My son's first game was the Hawthorn "line in the sand" bullshit. Might explain some of his antics!! He took on five other kids in a fight in the goal square a few weeks ago.