nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 12:48
In the forum, rating threads would be good
If everyone could rate threads, people cold have an idea on the good posters

Jabso
30 Nov 2007, 13:06
Yeh just something simple will be fine

When would you like to make the forum

I was just looking at the Port board at theirs and I could do what blackdiamond has done and make each thread for each player and post their profile, but no one else post in the board until we have done the draft, or do you want to wait until the draft is done

That's the plan, a separate thread per player so that we don't have one big thread with reports lost. I'll wait until the draft is done and maybe even wait till janurary some time to get the board opened, there won't be anything at all to post about really during the Christmas break.

Bloben
30 Nov 2007, 13:09
That's the plan, a separate thread per player so that we don't have one big thread with reports lost. I'll wait until the draft is done and maybe even wait till janurary some time to get the board opened, there won't be anything at all to post about really during the Christmas break.

So we don't have to buy our buddy a christmas present and have it sent to the Lexus centre??

Note to self - give the framed picture of myself to my mum now.

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 13:10
Ohk fair enough

When we get enough people to join, ill do the draft, then you can open the board when you think is good

Jabso
30 Nov 2007, 13:11
Another suggestion, thoughts would be appreciated

We get Jabso to make the sub-forum and we get this thread moved over to it
I will make a new thread for the draft to be held in.
Once the draft is held I will make a thread with the players name and then the person who got the player can take over, first up they could post a profile ect

but one problem we could have would be newbs making threads in the board....
Maybe once all the threads are made, it can be locked from threads being made, and if any threads are made during the time of the draft they could be deleted....?

I can't open and close boards at will. I can't even do it I have to ask admins to do it. There won't be too many 'newbs' posting on it, if it is opened early I'll just delete threads that don't belong there. What exactly do you mean by newbs anyway, I thought bigfooty was above calling people newbs :)

Bay Pie
30 Nov 2007, 13:26
I would like to see it done similar to last year, where the thread was just titled: 'Buddy Match reports Rd 1 Pies v Freo' and another under a similar title for the VFL game.

Everyone can then just post their players report on the thread and we move on to the next week with a new thread for the following weeks game.

Obviously we could do something different during the offseason, but I'd be more interested in reading about each players game from the weekend from the 1 thread rather then jumping from thread to thread to read about a particular player. Someone might have something interesting to say about a player that we could have little interest in, therefore don't jump to that players thread and we miss the post.

Just another idea.

I'm happy any way you go, as long a no one takes our best player the Croatian sensation prior to my pick. I can feel another Copeland coming my way.

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 13:29
The problem with that is that we are not just reporting on the matches, we are reporting on everything
Articles, off-field stuff (hopefully good), pictures ect
That is why I think the thread for each player is better as you can pick a player you want to read about and do so

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 13:29
and that way, it is easier to see who is not posting and get someone who is willing to post to take over

sirlothie
30 Nov 2007, 14:00
and that way, it is easier to see who is not posting and get someone who is willing to post to take over

Agreed, but it doesn't sound possible to do that going off what Jabso said... it will be very messy in one threads though but I can't see BF allocating us 44 forums for this either...

Why not everyone post a thread for their player?

"Buddy Draft - Dale Thomas Thread"

etc
etc
etc :):thumbsu:

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 14:02
Agreed, but it doesn't sound possible to do that going off what Jabso said... it will be very messy in one threads though but I can't see BF allocating us 44 forums for this either...

Why not everyone post a thread for their player?

"Buddy Draft - Dale Thomas Thread"

etc
etc
etc :):thumbsu:
Thats the plan

AsianWithAFro
30 Nov 2007, 14:29
Can I Join please :)

mdc
30 Nov 2007, 18:13
The problem with that is that we are not just reporting on the matches, we are reporting on everything
Articles, off-field stuff (hopefully good), pictures ect
That is why I think the thread for each player is better as you can pick a player you want to read about and do so

Yep, 1 thread per player is good.

AsianWithAFro
30 Nov 2007, 18:19
When do we select players and how many do you get I got Dibs on Harry O

Tarkyn_24
30 Nov 2007, 18:21
As long as I get my Tarks I'm content.:thumbsu:

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 18:43
we get players when we have enough people, a you cant get dibs, you just have to hope that no one picks him up before you in the draft

Tarkyn_24
30 Nov 2007, 18:54
we get players when we have enough people, a you cant get dibs, you just have to hope that no one picks him up before you in the draft
I know mate, I think I left this off the end. ;) :thumbsu:

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 19:04
im was reffering to asianwithafro

Tarkyn_24
30 Nov 2007, 19:05
im was reffering to asianwithafro
Sorry mate, my bad. How far short are we?

bradrowe#32
30 Nov 2007, 19:10
I like the idea of individual threads. I'm still in too.

luvlicca
30 Nov 2007, 19:29
What happens if someone gets the player you want but they dont keep it updated?? I reckon we should be able to choose who we want to write about! ie - Tarkyn_24 you know would write everything possible about Tarks, me with Nick, and even you Nick with Marty!!!

I just think it will be better - but thats only my opinion lol!!

nick_savo
30 Nov 2007, 19:31
IMO that sort of defeats the purpose of holding the whole draft if people are going to report on them even if they are not their buddy

Tarkyn_24
30 Nov 2007, 19:35
What happens if someone gets the player you want but they dont keep it updated?? I reckon we should be able to choose who we want to write about! ie - Tarkyn_24 you know would write everything possible about Tarks, me with Nick, and even you Nick with Marty!!!

I just think it will be better - but thats only my opinion lol!!
I try to anyway... :p

mdc
30 Nov 2007, 22:43
What happens if someone gets the player you want but they dont keep it updated??

Then you can ask to step in - until that happens, you just have to report on the player you drafted.

You can't have everything, you know...where would you put it?

luvlicca
1 Dec 2007, 01:51
IMO that sort of defeats the purpose of holding the whole draft if people are going to report on them even if they are not their buddy

That wasnt what I meant. I meant we choose who we would like to do our reports on instead of the draft - ie you choose Martin Clarke - so he is your buddy! Not that we just write about whoever if they arent our buddies.

As I said it was only my opinion!

luvlicca
1 Dec 2007, 01:52
Then you can ask to step in - until that happens, you just have to report on the player you drafted.

You can't have everything, you know...where would you put it?

Well I like to think I can, but I know I cant haha!!!

Tarkyn_24
1 Dec 2007, 07:56
That wasnt what I meant. I meant we choose who we would like to do our reports on instead of the draft - ie you choose Martin Clarke - so he is your buddy! Not that we just write about whoever if they arent our buddies.

The whole point of the draft is that we choose who we would like, but also stops 25 Marty Clarke threads popping up.

nick_savo
1 Dec 2007, 09:23

Thats why I thought of doing the draft so people can choose, but if we just let people pick who they want then we will have too many people wanting to do Dale, Marty, Scott ect

People are going to leave Marty for me :p:thumbsu:

MagpieGirl_13
1 Dec 2007, 09:44
Yeah, go with the draft. Although I would like to pick the player that I'd want, I'm happy with whoever I get.
& I wont be disappointed if I don't get Dale, it doesn't bother me...

mightypies9
1 Dec 2007, 09:46
draft is the way to go, I just hope I get a player who'll play first grade alot seeing i live in NSW and can't make it to training and such

scottyD
1 Dec 2007, 11:45
ScottyD wants a shot... Marty may be taken but it isnt about one player....(yes it is!)
Join the Marty Clarke club!

MagpieGirl_13
1 Dec 2007, 11:52
draft is the way to go, I just hope I get a player who'll play first grade alot seeing i live in NSW and can't make it to training and such

That's the same for me. (except I live in QLD lol!)

nick_savo
1 Dec 2007, 12:15
ScottyD wants a shot... Marty may be taken but it isnt about one player....(yes it is!)
Join the Marty Clarke club!
You got that part right :thumbsu::D

borgy
1 Dec 2007, 12:19
ADDITIONS:
Father/son selection: Jaxson Barham (Geelong Falcons)
Exchange period – received: Cameron Wood (Brisbane Lions)
Rookie elevation: Martin Clarke
Scholarship elevation: – Nil
NAB AFL Draft: John McCarthy, Tobias Thoolen
NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft: Nil
NAB AFL Rookie Draft: Kevin Dyas (County Armagh, Ireland)

DELETIONS:
Retired: Nathan Buckley (veteran – outside), James Clement, Paul Licuria
Exchange period – traded: Ben Davies (Kangaroos)
Delisted: Guy Richards, Daniel Nicholls (rookie)
The opposite to addition is subtraction, not deletion;)

nick_savo
1 Dec 2007, 12:22
The opposite to addition is subtraction, not deletion;)
Why don't you e-mail the Collingwood football club if your that worried as that is where I got the list from

luvlicca
1 Dec 2007, 19:14
Fair enough - the draft system it is lol!!!!

I hope peoples have seen I want Nick lol!!!!

Tarkyn_24
1 Dec 2007, 22:08
Wow. I wonder if I should advertise any more that i want to pick Tarkyn Lockyer as my buddy again in 2008?

nick_savo
1 Dec 2007, 22:10
no please dont :p

Tarkyn_24
1 Dec 2007, 22:25
no please dont :p
Don't make me quote all your posts about Marty Clarke... .: Looks threatening...:. :p

scottyD
2 Dec 2007, 14:29
I think you need toupdate the list...

jerry springer
2 Dec 2007, 17:11
I will happily take Shane o'bree

luvlicca
2 Dec 2007, 20:00
How many more we waiting for??

nick_savo
2 Dec 2007, 20:35
9 or 10, get recuiting....

nathansb
2 Dec 2007, 23:42
I'm in!

How will the draft order be decided?
Random?

popathon
3 Dec 2007, 08:36
can we trade?

Tarkyn_24
3 Dec 2007, 09:30
can we trade?
WTH, why would you trade? You get one player. If the guy with the earlier pick wants the player, he'll just pick him up??? :confused:

popathon
3 Dec 2007, 09:36
WTH, why would you trade? You get one player. If the guy with the earlier pick wants the player, he'll just pick him up??? :confused:

you make a good point and make me seem quite foolish. I'll scrap that idea.

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 10:03
Are you in popaton?

jerry springer
3 Dec 2007, 10:15
Chuck me in Nick Im happy to have anyone but would love O'bree:)

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 10:22
I don't think you will have many people contesting you on taking O'Bree mate :p

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 10:24
6 spots left
but 7 will be fine as TRS said he would only go in if we were desperate as he is busy

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 11:11
Hey Jabso, I was thinking of maybe naming the sub-forum

Magpie Watch or something like that

What you think?

driver 8
3 Dec 2007, 11:17
Eyes on the Pies

jerry springer
3 Dec 2007, 11:19
Eyes on the Pies

nice:thumbsu:

Shakermaker94
3 Dec 2007, 11:32
ill go in

popathon
3 Dec 2007, 12:15
Are you in popaton?

Yeah i said i'd have a go at it. I won't be posting as much as others but i'll jump on whenever i've got some free time.

Bloben
3 Dec 2007, 12:24
Will rookies be allocated??

Maybe we could have a generic rookie thread where anyone who can attend VFL matches regularly can input into... I would like to be kept up to date on Dyas for instance.

dale_thomas13
3 Dec 2007, 14:11
Ill go in.

MagpieGirl_13
3 Dec 2007, 14:25
So with this draft thing, are we allocated numbers & we get to pick the player we want? or are we allocated players randomly? or what:confused:

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 14:41
Yes you will be given a number and you choose a player when it comes to your turn.

Just like a normal draft

Numbers will be done randomly

MagpieGirl_13
3 Dec 2007, 14:50
Ahhhh... I get it now. So if you have #1 you have first preference & can choose from the entire list. But if you have eg #34 you wont have as many players to chose from. I think I get it!

Snag Breac
3 Dec 2007, 15:29
Ahhhh... I get it now. So if you have #1 you have first preference & can choose from the entire list. But if you have eg #34 you wont have as many players to chose from. I think I get it!

And Nick Savo will be randomly allocated Marty the lad. But not before he passes this test:

Respond Nick...

An bhfuil Gaelige agat?

luvlicca
3 Dec 2007, 15:40
how will you go handing out draft numbers??

mdc
3 Dec 2007, 16:01
how will you go handing out draft numbers??

If we want to make sure everything's above board, here's how we can do it:

- Someone PM nick_savo a number between 1-42 (or however many people we get).
- I can then put all the names into random.org and get them randomized, and post them on here.
- The person who's in the same position on the list as the number that was PM'd to nick_savo gets the first pick, then next on the list gets the second pick, and so on.

So for example, let's say he gets sent the number "13", and the list was the same as the one on the front page, then Smoky would get pick 1, Snag Breac would get pick 2 and so on.

Hopefully that makes sense. That way there can be no funny business :cool:

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 18:51
I dont care what number I get because you all you charming, lovely lads and gals will leae Marty for me :D

I was thinking of dividing the list into 2 groups
- Posters I know will post alot
- Posters that will post not as much

I think Jabso was going to help me decide on the frequent posters

I will use random.org to mix up both lists and then the frequent posters list will be put onto of the other one

This is so we dont end up getting someone who isnt going to post alot with someone like Dale or Scott

MagpieGirl_13
3 Dec 2007, 19:06
And Nick Savo will be randomly allocated Marty the lad. But not before he passes this test:

Respond Nick...

An bhfuil Gaelige agat?

Psstt Nick_savo... ;)
The above question is in Irish... (I know what it means, do you??? lol:D)

nick_savo
3 Dec 2007, 19:24
Do you speak Irish?

Now can I have my man? :p

MagpieGirl_13
3 Dec 2007, 19:28
Sure!! I wasn't going to take him anyway!!!! lol:p
I knew you would probably hunt me down & kill me if I did!!!! lol jks....:p:D:thumbsu:

Marklar_33
3 Dec 2007, 20:28
Give me a second chance, I let Leon down mostly last year... I promise Ill be better!

luvlicca
3 Dec 2007, 22:20
So when is the draft happening??? haha!! I know I'm impatient haha!!!
I just want some footy stuff happening!!!

And hopefully all the lovely boys and girls have recognised I want to post on Maxy too!!
Thanks in advance people haha!!

nick_savo
4 Dec 2007, 09:40
for the hundredth time, when we get enough bloody people lol
be patient because I dont think Jabso wants to put the subforum up until about Janurary

So you will get your player when we get enough people

Snag Breac
4 Dec 2007, 12:07
Do you speak Irish?

Now can I have my man? :p

:thumbsu: Good Man. He's yours and welcome.

Stand by Marty - he comes Nick.....

scottyD
4 Dec 2007, 13:09
and what if i get marty?

Tarkyn_24
4 Dec 2007, 13:24
and what if i get marty?
You won't. I think it's fair enough that Nick gets Marty as he is organizing it.

Snag Breac
4 Dec 2007, 13:25
and what if i get marty?

The concept of twin buddies shadowing the Hound of Feats is enormously appealing. You could each report on different aspects of his perfection. I see positive potential for collaboration here, and no danger of conflict.

MCC - United in Martydom.:D

nick_savo
4 Dec 2007, 13:27
No Marty is mine, I aint sharing him :P

He is mine! ALLLLLL MINE! :D :D

mwahahahahaha

scottyD
4 Dec 2007, 13:28
I will take Rocca i think. Italian for Italian.

nick_savo
4 Dec 2007, 13:38
Ok we have 40, but we would like 5 more as TRS is only an emergency

PM people and get them to join as the quicker you do that the quicker we get our players

Snag Breac
4 Dec 2007, 14:46
I will take Rocca i think. Italian for Italian.

Of course I could take him just to keep the peace; and you and Nick could have rookies.:D:p:):D;)

Tarkyn_24
4 Dec 2007, 18:08
Sign The Majestic up.

nick_savo
4 Dec 2007, 21:26
I did, Jabso said we can have the subforum as soon as the draft is done :D

Marklar_33
4 Dec 2007, 21:36
Seriously, Im invisible on this board!

Put me on the list or tell me why I cant be!

PieGal
4 Dec 2007, 22:48
I may be too late to get my favourite- the awesome T Cloke!!:mad:

Happy to join in..check out Collingwood stuff daily, but will make an effort to post more often:thumbsu:

nick_savo
5 Dec 2007, 06:59

Sorry mate, missed you for some reason but your up now :thumbsu:

I may be too late to get my favourite- the awesome T Cloke!!:mad:

Happy to join in..check out Collingwood stuff daily, but will make an effort to post more often:thumbsu:
You still might get Trav, we are doing a draft

Tarkyn_24
5 Dec 2007, 10:44

Seems that way. :p

PieGal
5 Dec 2007, 10:59
Thanks Nick, Trav or not, happy to contribute:thumbsu:

Pie 4 Life
5 Dec 2007, 10:59
Come on guys we need like 2 more people. Hopefully we can get this started this afternoon. I won't be here from like tonight and until late tomorrow night :(

Snag Breac
5 Dec 2007, 13:22
Buddy Draft Audition - Josh Fraser
Herewith my sample report from today's training session - Wed 05/12/07

Went with mate and daughter to Lexus Centre. Drove past Gosch’s paddock. Noted a group of players plus acolytes lying on backs with legs bicycling in air. They seemed very far away, and it was warming up. Realised there was nothing I could do to help the team by staying out there, exposed to the elements. Thought we’d better go over to the Lexus Centre instead, for a coffee. Great atmosphere in café. Cool, with excellent views over sporty architecture.

Then, at 11.30 went into shop to forage for Christmas gifts. Daughter didn’t fancy anything – Dale was still training – so just got B&W magazine. Was going to pay when Josh Fraser walked in. Now good news, Magpie Girl – he’s much more attractive in person than in photos – clearly not very photogenic. Is also very tall. He bought 2 items and actually had to pay for them. His new salary package clearly doesn’t include free stuff from shop. I exchanged a pleasantry with him. Thought briefly of asking him for an autograph for you, Magpie Girl, but it wasn’t a public day and he’s entitled not to be pestered when going about his lawful business.

Technically speaking, I can certainly confirm that assorted players were definitely doing something out on the paddock this morning.

Is this the sort of thing you want Nick?:)

Bloben
5 Dec 2007, 13:44
I think the readers out there would be demanding to know what the two items were!!

nick_savo
5 Dec 2007, 14:26
Thanks for that Snag Breac, yeh thats the sort of stuff im looking for if Josh is was ur player :p

dooda
5 Dec 2007, 14:38
Sign me up buddy, thats if there is some spots left.

Snag Breac
5 Dec 2007, 14:46
I think the readers out there would be demanding to know what the two items were!!

Was trying to be discreet, Bloben - against my nature. But rest assured, they related to his profession; which is why I thought that C'wood might supply same.

Glad you're pleased, Nick. Maybe not exactly an Optimax-style report, but a true account of one fan's training session.

Swanny36
5 Dec 2007, 14:47
yup count me in.

MagpieGirl_13
5 Dec 2007, 14:49
I think that means we have enough then Nick??? (hope so... lol)

nick_savo
5 Dec 2007, 14:55
One more as TRS was only a last resort

Swanny36
5 Dec 2007, 15:17
If We get a player thats not reguarly in the side do we cover their VFL matches?

nick_savo
5 Dec 2007, 15:41
Yes we do

I will be putting the draft thread up soon

with the order you will be picking in

to ge the draft going quicker, pm me 5 choices 1-5 so when it gets to you i can just put your player in straight away
if your number 1 pick is gone i will goce you your number 2 pick

you dont have 2 pm me but it would be easier

Bloben
5 Dec 2007, 15:49
The draft may take a long time if people do not get on BigFooty very much. Maybe we need to have a time limit - say 24 hours and that after that a player is selected at random.

MagpieGirl_13
5 Dec 2007, 16:01
What happens if you're an unlucky one & your top 5 are all chosen by the time it's your turn?

Swanny36
5 Dec 2007, 16:01
The draft may take a long time if people do not get on BigFooty very much. Maybe we need to have a time limit - say 24 hours and that after that a player is selected at random.
good idea