View Full Version : Pick #2: Trent Cotchin Discussion Thread

rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:05
All discussion about Trent Cotchin and the #2 pick in here.

UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 09:11
stoked.

get rance!

UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 09:14
now utterly delighted.... we got rance!!!!

thank heavens we blew off Maric

Richmond FC
24 Nov 2007, 09:17
GOOD we got Cotch!!!!

UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 09:28
Welcome Trent. Delighted to have you at Punt Road. Utterly delighted.

I reckon give him #9....

mattdwyer
24 Nov 2007, 09:47
definately number 9 !!

thank god we got cotchin !! haha ..

Equus
24 Nov 2007, 10:14
Happy days ahead!!!

emperor
24 Nov 2007, 10:39
Welcome to Tigerland Trent:thumbsu:

We are very glad to have you:)

Tambo
24 Nov 2007, 10:40
He's a Richmond supporter too:thumbsu:

mattdwyer
24 Nov 2007, 10:43
i know already posted .. BUT I'M JUST TO EXCITED .. been watching his video over and over !! left and right foot .. he is a freak !!

smasha
24 Nov 2007, 10:48
Bring on 2008.

The blues will not know what hit them.:thumbsu::)

Gonna get drunk at the Victory game to celebrate!:D

boodsyboy
24 Nov 2007, 10:56
yeah awsome!! now if we can just get rid of john howard be a great double!!!

UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 10:58
yeah awsome!! now if we can just get rid of john howard be a great double!!!

Hear hear!!!

Cotchin used to support Geelong. History now. He's a Tiger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jack_riewoldt_rulz
24 Nov 2007, 11:22
He now plays with his idol

The Dice Man
24 Nov 2007, 11:25
i know already posted .. BUT I'M JUST TO EXCITED .. been watching his video over and over !! left and right foot .. he is a freak !!

Link?

Tigertriumph
24 Nov 2007, 11:42
can sense good times comin ahead at rfc pretty soon, how awesome is our midfield going to b with cotchin, foley, lids, cogs, tuck, johnson.

Darth_Tiger
24 Nov 2007, 12:08
it is looking good. hope we made the right call on overlooking morton though.

Tambo
24 Nov 2007, 12:15
A question for someone like Weaver/ draft watcher.

At the same age how do Cotchin and Deledio compare in their junior days?

Drunken Wookie
24 Nov 2007, 12:20
Is it just me or does Cotchin even look a hell of a lot like Lids? They could be brothers to my eyes.

jack_riewoldt_rulz
24 Nov 2007, 12:54
He also plays like lids

PLSC
24 Nov 2007, 13:38
very happy to have trent cotchin :thumbsu:

ive gone through blood, sweat and tears (not really) to make sure cotchin was to become a tiger and finally the day has arrived

enjoy the ride everyone!

Weaver
24 Nov 2007, 13:52
A question for someone like Weaver/ draft watcher.

At the same age how do Cotchin and Deledio compare in their junior days?

He also plays like lids

Cotchin and Lids are very different.

Lids is a power player. He excites you with his ability to blast away from packs, fly for marks, carry the ball and bounce and kick 60. You never blink and miss Lids he demands your eyes. Lids is fuelled by Nitro and is a destroyer. He is a bottle of bourbon washed down with a bottle of scotch. He is a machette.

Cotchin is all science and tricks and dinks and class. He is cheeky and elusive. A pickpocket. He is more a magician who uses slight of hand - "what the, did I miss something?". He won't blast away from anyone, he won't get a crowd up on their feet roaring - he'll have people in the stands turning to each other giving knowing nods with a sly smile on their face - "you see that?" they'll say. Cotchin is about vision and smarts and reading of the play. Cotchin is a fine red wine and cheese. He is a razor sharp stiletto to the ribs.

Darth_Tiger
24 Nov 2007, 13:59
the joker and the thief in the night you mean?

aaronm46
24 Nov 2007, 14:29
so weaver would you say cotchin is very similar to one nathan g brown?

tigertiger
24 Nov 2007, 14:59

Lids is a power player. He excites you with his ability to blast away from packs, fly for marks, carry the ball and bounce and kick 60. You never blink and miss Lids he demands your eyes. Lids is fuelled by Nitro and is a destroyer. He is a bottle of bourbon washed down with a bottle of scotch. He is a machette.

Cotchin is all science and tricks and dinks and class. He is cheeky and elusive. A pickpocket. He is more a magician who uses slight of hand - "what the, did I miss something?". He won't blast away from anyone, he won't get a crowd up on their feet roaring - he'll have people in the stands turning to each other giving knowing nods with a sly smile on their face - "you see that?" they'll say. Cotchin is about vision and smarts and reading of the play. Cotchin is a fine red wine and cheese. He is a razor sharp stiletto to the ribs.

beautifully written

RECORDS!
24 Nov 2007, 15:06

You have given me a hard on, Weaver. Sure you are not Rhett Bartlett?

Yellowandblack10
24 Nov 2007, 15:11
bring on 2008!

nugget_12
24 Nov 2007, 15:13
so weaver would you say cotchin is very similar to one nathan g brown?

I agree! sounds ALOT like Browny!

Both are superb on either foot aswell. If Cotchin is the next Nathan G Brown then i say sign him up on a career long contract! (j/k...3 years at a time will do)

Love Browny and cant wait to see him back in full flight next year!

anywayz back on topic......Trent seems to be a very special player.
Havn't been this excited since Lids came to the club!

Crumden
24 Nov 2007, 15:36
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=388450

Trent Cotchin (HFF / FP) - 7 April 1990, 184cm 81kg. Vic Metro/Northern/PEGS
"Weaver: In the Nathan Brown / Garry Ablett mould of super-tricky, silky-skilled small forwards. Might develop into a genuine midfielder in time but at present projects as a forward. Has some of the Dale Thomas-like traits of just knowing what to do and where to go. Cotchin is superb swooping on the loose ball. Reads the play well. Has good acceleration and quickness between the ears to react first - but probably won't win a sprint. Kicking for goal needs to improve. Has to stay involved when tagged which means amping up the tackling, chasing etc.
"
"Recruiter 1: Trent Cotchin has had a lot of pre-championship publicity, but there was no doubt that he was disappointing in this match. We would've expected him to start the match much better than he did – it was quite surprising that he started out of the centre square and only had limited time playing on the ball. This was a game that he will want to put behind him – I have no doubt he'll play much better in the next two matches.
"
"Recruiter 2: Cotchin had a game that he would probably rather forget. There isn’t much that you could say about his performance today that resembled his form leading into the championships. Let’s just reserve our assessment until after next week.
"
"Alan McConnell: Cotchin had a much better match today across half-back. It was interesting that he was freed up and not tagged as heavily as he was against Western Australia. He certainly enjoyed a bit more freedom and demonstrated an ability to be a one-touch player.
"
"HBF: Have seen him a few times this year, and boy is he impressive. Bottom aged midfielder who is 184cm and 81kg. Seen him do some things on the football field that have made me call out JUDD!
Not express, back has decent leg speed that has seen him pull away from his opponents. His work at the clearances is a thing of beauty, and he will have gathered and be on his bike before his opponents know what has happened. Can kick on either foot, and his decision making is pretty impressive as well. Ticks pretty much every box. What else can I say, this kid will be special.
"
"ant555: Trent Cotchin – 184cm, 77kg – Northern Knights. Classy skilful player who was all the talk before the Nationals but failed to deliver his best for Vic Metro. He was tagged pretty heavily during the champs and didn’t have the answers to beat it. In the TAC Cup he has been a standout. Great skills, excellent reader of the play. He is a one touch player who finds targets. In the champ trail match’s he dominated to the extent that he was taken off the ground after a quarter and a half so that they could get a look at other players.
"
"AFL Insider:
AFL Positions:
He will be a speedy and dominating midfielder for many years in the AFL.
Perfect Fit For:
Essendon need to be quicker in the middle, adding Cotchin would greatly improve every aspect of their midfield group. He might get to them in the draft, if the teams picking before the Bombers have different priorities. Unlike many teams, the Bombers have consistently drafted for height so that puts them in a good position now, as they can add quality midfielders with their early picks because they already have players like Gumbleton and Ryder.
**********.net prediction:
The teams picking with the first picks need to get talls but one of them will probably think that Cotchin is the BPA. Melbourne have been getting solid play from Newton, and Frawley was their first pick last year, so they might forget about selecting a tall early in the draft and take Cotchin. The Tigers and Blues might also have him at the top of their list and could take him as the best player available.
AFL Fantasy Outlook:
He should help fantasy teams next season. Cotchin gets a lot of the ball and uses it well. He plays taller than his height and should get plenty of marks against other midfielders. He will be among a group of 4 or 5 quality first-year onballers to choose from, and while it will depend on the AFL teams that they play for, it could be Cotchin who is the best for stats.
"
Mr Cat: Trent Cotchin, 184 cm. A-A+ grade due to his ceiling- potential is limitless. Just think 6'0 version of brett deledio and you have cotchin. Turn of speed terrifc, both sides of the body outstanding- aerobic/anaerobic capabilities through the roof- marks, kicks goals, attacks, defends, versatile. But in and out? consistency is a worry. Watched him play a praccy match where he got the footy, cut away from an oppoenent, burst through the centre and delivered a picture perfect pass to Bongetti who drilled it from 40m- quality football. Will feature in the top 3.
"AFL Insider:
There was talk that Richmond wanted a few of the Morton brothers, although it is hard to see them letting Cotchin go past their pick. A Deledio and Cotchin pairing is something that Richmond fans will want to see, they are similar players and opposition teams won’t be able to keep up with both of them. The Tigers do need height, but they can probably afford to go small here if they use picks 18 and 19 on tall players.
There might be up to ten players who are worth the second overall pick, so Richmond may be able to trade down a bit and still get the player they wanted, something that worked for them last year in the Polak deal when they were able to draft Jack Riewoldt.
While Cotchin is injured at the moment, that isn't a reason to not take him at pick 2. Chris Judd wasn't drafted by a team or two due to his shoulder problem, Joel Selwood was recovering from a knee injury, and the teams that drafted them were rewarded.
"

wez10000
24 Nov 2007, 15:37
He's a Richmond supporter too:thumbsu:

Incorrect!

He is a Geelong supporter but close enough ;)

Kyusss
24 Nov 2007, 15:54
do we give him number 9 now it looks like foley will be 41 for life
rance 16
putt 27

brown_2000au
24 Nov 2007, 17:30
do we give him number 9 now it looks like foley will be 41 for life
rance 16
putt 27

Rance can get 36 and hopefully develope as well as Will has been:thumbsu:

sante
24 Nov 2007, 17:54
Excellent news to have got him :)

Funny how Miller said we have been watching him for 2 years and he was at the club in January 2007, we must have tanked to get him :p

captain blood 17
24 Nov 2007, 18:06

Both are superb on either foot aswell. If Cotchin is the next Nathan G Brown then i say sign him up on a career long contract! (j/k...3 years at a time will do)

Love Browny and cant wait to see him back in full flight next year!

anywayz back on topic......Trent seems to be a very special player.
Havn't been this excited since Lids came to the club!

No mate, not Brown, more like a Deisel Williams. Not fast, or a long kick, just devastating either side, and cuts teams up from the inside (thought i'd say this as i happened to see some old footage of Williams today). Give him the 9 guernsey and lets fire up 2008.:thumbsu:

mattdwyer
24 Nov 2007, 19:41
Link?

sorry dice man .. it was on the AFL draft tracker .. no link for it

pretzel
24 Nov 2007, 19:54
Is it just me or does Cotchin even look a hell of a lot like Lids? They could be brothers to my eyes.

When i went to school with him all the boys use2 call him lidsy because of the resemblence.

deliberate!!
24 Nov 2007, 21:02
Happy as a pig in shit!! More quality please.

Let's now set some high player level standards.
We now have a better core of quality with which to use as a benchmark.
Every little bit counts.
:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Tigerdude3
24 Nov 2007, 22:02
I think 29 will look good on him . The next Gary Ablett Jr :thumbsu::)

polakthetiger
24 Nov 2007, 22:11
I think 29 will look good on him . The next Gary Ablett Jr :thumbsu::)

:confused::confused::confused: I believe we have our own famous No. 29. And he actually has a bit more in the war cabinet than Jr!! (apologies if you are under 30 and haven't done much history)

zacaxel1975
24 Nov 2007, 22:21

So, Foley to Cotchin to Lids. Cant wait :thumbsu:

Rayzorwire
25 Nov 2007, 00:42

Both are superb on either foot aswell.

LMAO...for all his value, Brown can be thoroughly inaccurate with his good foot, let alone his non-preferred. ;)

Incorrect!

He is a Geelong supporter but close enough ;)

Hehe...'he's a gun inside midfield hard-ball winning certainty'...'uh, he's a good HFF/FP on his day'...;)

'Close enough...'

Time will tell. ;)

sante
25 Nov 2007, 10:27
Lids and Cotch - What a combo :thumbsu:

He'll be loving life if he plays Round 1...He'll be playing with and against his heroes

PLSC
25 Nov 2007, 15:29
hey rayzor - you lose!

go cotchin :thumbsu:

Rayzorwire
25 Nov 2007, 17:04
hey rayzor - you lose!

I won't have to defend his half forward cameo's.

You could well be hollering that he needs to go to midfield when he's 26 like Newman. :p

UpTheGuts
26 Nov 2007, 10:15
For the absolute avoidance of doubt, I am just freaking rapt we have this bloke.

nugget_12
26 Nov 2007, 10:31
apparently SEN just said that Trent will be given the No 9 jumper next year....confirmation would be appreciated!

Bojangles17
26 Nov 2007, 10:41
apparently SEN just said that Trent will be given the No 9 jumper next year....confirmation would be appreciated!

wrapt to hear that, If I see another senior player running around in a 40+ jumper I'll spew:eek:

rfctigerarmy
26 Nov 2007, 10:45
Except for Nath'. :)