View Full Version : Pick #18: Alex Rance Discussion Thread
rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:14
All discussion about pick #18 Alex Rance in here please.
tony_montana
24 Nov 2007, 09:15
didnt expect him to fall this late! :thumbsu::)
rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:16
Don't know much about this kid, whats he like? Key defender is he? Is he solid?
UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 09:16
Rapt. Absolutely rapt. And a bargain
Best midfielder and best key backman in the draft coming to Punt Road.
You beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rapt. Absolutely rapt. And a bargain
Best midfielder and best key backman in the draft coming to Punt Road.
You beauty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What he said!
Richmond FC
24 Nov 2007, 09:17
YEEEEHHHHH good start to the draft thats 4 sure.
duckboy
24 Nov 2007, 09:17
Hard to be anything but impressed with those two picks. Lets hope there's a decent ruck prospect left at 51 now.
YellowandBlackBlood
24 Nov 2007, 09:18
Cannot believe he'd fall to 18! Earlier this year I was debating if we should pick him up with our first choice!
Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
richcogs
Got Cotchin ...YES! And I can't believe we got Rance did even have him in consideration.
adamania11
This is a brilliant draft for Richmond so far...
beaver fever
24 Nov 2007, 09:19
wow this is awesome. the best key defender in the draft.
rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:20
So, whos actually seen him?
The Teflon Dean
24 Nov 2007, 09:21
Congratulations, awesome pick up at 18.:thumbsu:
We took a kid with injuries that was tipped to go in the >30's.:thumbsd:
It looks like we will be playing a 190 cm midget at full back for the next decade.:rolleyes:
My club is run by ****wits.:thumbsd:
Grange Hermitage
24 Nov 2007, 09:22
Absolutely glorious picks for the Tigers....Happy days are here again !!!! Here we come !!
beaver fever
24 Nov 2007, 09:22
good point
rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:23
good point
Well its easy to claim that hes the best key backman through word of mouth. I just want to know who's seen him play.
UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 09:24
Don't know much about this kid, whats he like? Key defender is he? Is he solid?
See below:
Matt Burgan (tipped him to go at #11):
ALEX RANCE
Swan Districts, WA, Tall defender, October 9 1989, 192.3cm, 87.6kg
Rance is one of the most difficult players to place in the top echelon, as he is highly rated by all clubs from No.5-13 – including the Swans. It won't surprise where he is chosen, but any later than West Coast (No.13) would raise an eyebrow. Jack Grimes, who is similarly rated to Rance, is also a strong tip for No.11. Lachlan Henderson, Ben McEvoy and Patrick Dangerfield could come into play, and don't be surprised if Tony Notte, Tayte Pears, Andy Otten or Brendan Whitecross bolts here.
Bio: Strong, hard running tall defender noted for his dash off the backline. His father Murray played 97 matches with the Western Bulldogs and West Coast from 1986-1990. Alex was a leading player in rebound 50s with Western Australia, averaging 17 possessions at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships, earning him All-Australian honours.
Weaver (had him at #10):
The Crows build from the back. If they could they'd field 18 defenders and rely entirely on the counter-attack. Rance is a superb fullback in the making, but importantly a modern one. He can carry the ball out of defence, kick well, switch play and provide leadership and organization. Nathan Bassett is an important part of the Crows machine with his 20-mark high-possession zonal play but getting on in years, and Rance would step happily into that spot after only a brief apprenticeship. Perhaps could even develop his motor and emulate the other WA fullback they snagged in Stenglein. Mundy was the last fullback I liked this much.
Realistic Tiger
24 Nov 2007, 09:25
From the AFL draft site:
Height - 192
Weight - 87.6kg
Averaged 27 disposals 6 marks during the Championships. Could be a player to slot in early in the season.
Realistic Tiger
24 Nov 2007, 09:29
Damn the Cats took Simpson. Oh well hopefully we can land Putt.
beaver fever
24 Nov 2007, 09:29
Well its easy to claim that hes the best key backman through word of mouth. I just want to know who's seen him play.
yeah you are absolutely right.
davemills
24 Nov 2007, 09:31
You can see some highlights on the afl's draft tracker.
rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:33
Yeah, its not working for me. Just comes up: 'No Video'
davemills
24 Nov 2007, 09:34
Congratulations, awesome pick up at 18.:thumbsu:
We took a kid with injuries that was tipped to go in the >30's.:thumbsd:
It looks like we will be playing a 190 cm midget at full back for the next decade.:rolleyes:
My club is run by ****wits.:thumbsd:
Tarrant may surprise many. I wouldn't be to worried. He has a good chance of being a very good player.
I like the Rance pick. I wonder if RFC had not given much chance on him falling, thus the extra time it took.
Terry Tan
24 Nov 2007, 09:41
I hope he's a lot better than his dad Murray.
richcogs
24 Nov 2007, 09:42
********** said Rance is a chance to go as high as 2 to Richmond:eek: No clue but still!
Absolutely LMAOOOOOO @ the bulldogs not being able to father/son him by three games
Huge win for our club being able to pick this kid up
Were they all asleep ?
astro_toby
24 Nov 2007, 10:03
rapt!!!
in brizzy at the moment, just heard!!! awesome news!!!
i rated rance as a top 7, and the best key defender in the draft!!!
cotchin and Rance were my two best suits for us - and we NAILED them both!!!
thrilled!!!
The Teflon Dean
24 Nov 2007, 10:07
Tarrant may surprise many. I wouldn't be to worried. He has a good chance of being a very good player.
I like the Rance pick. I wonder if RFC had not given much chance on him falling, thus the extra time it took.
Yeah, Tarrant shows a bit, but recurring injuries and "Sybil" genes are a worry.:eek:
We desperately need a FB/CHB and we overlooked the best one in the draft. Spewing.:(
You blokes have had a ripper draft. Well done.:thumbsu:
TIGER ROCKET
24 Nov 2007, 10:14
from what i have read about this kid,an absolute steal at no 18.
duckboy
24 Nov 2007, 10:15
Absolutely LMAOOOOOO @ the bulldogs not being able to father/son him by three games
Huge win for our club being able to pick this kid up
Were they all asleep ?
I don't think thats correct. Murray Rance played 97 total for the Dogs and the Eagles. nowhere near F/S for either club.
UpTheGuts
24 Nov 2007, 10:15
Yeah, Tarrant shows a bit, but recurring injuries and "Sybil" genes are a worry.:eek:
We desperately need a FB/CHB and we overlooked the best one in the draft. Spewing.:(
You blokes have had a ripper draft. Well done.:thumbsu:
Cheers mate. Remember, Hansen goes better than OK.....;)
mattdwyer
24 Nov 2007, 10:23
THIS WAS A HUGE SURPIRSE !!!! absolutely stoked ...
exactly wat we need !! a huge strong backman ..
we did awesome this draft !!
jack_riewoldt_rulz
24 Nov 2007, 10:36
I am so HAPPY!!!
David_Brent
24 Nov 2007, 10:41
Were they all asleep ?
Probably not.
Slow link defenders arnt that highly sought after. Alot of scouts didnt have him in their top 50.
There is always a reason a player slides...
Jack 17
24 Nov 2007, 10:55
Probably not.
Slow link defenders arnt that highly sought after. Alot of scouts didnt have him in their top 50.
You mean like Kepler Bradley?:D
I don't think thats correct. Murray Rance played 97 total for the Dogs and the Eagles. nowhere near F/S for either club.
i stand corrected ... ithought he played 97 for the bullies
RichosGuns
24 Nov 2007, 11:02
The player we need. Will probably fill out to be 193-194cm 93-95kg by the 2009 season. He lacks a little pace but won't be beaten in a one-on-one contest, which is the exact opposite of Thurstfy. They will be an excellent team
Rayzorwire
24 Nov 2007, 11:29
Probably not.
I almost broke ribs laughing when I saw Freo had picked up Bradley AND Johnson to go with Solomon and Tarrant.
Quite happy to get Rance at #18.
I suspect McGuane is feeling a little ill ATM.
Richo URA Star
24 Nov 2007, 11:33
Rance excellent pick.
You need strong bodied players they win premerships he will fit in very well.
Tigertriumph
24 Nov 2007, 11:37
cant beilieve we got rance, would have thought he would have bin taken earlier. We got a big bodied defender who will complement our game plan well. Hats off to u francis jackson
Probably not.
There is always a reason a player slides...When your club has even a whiff of success feel free to tee orf ... but until then ... f..k orf
this from the club that traded pick 2 in the draft for Chris Bond ...LMAOOOO
How many picks did you give for Carr ?
Validity ...... 0
credibility .......0
I almost broke ribs laughing when I saw Freo had picked up Bradley AND Johnson to go with Solomon and Tarrant.
i had to get the Mrs. to get the needle and thread out to sew my sides back up
RichosGuns
24 Nov 2007, 11:44
Quite happy to get Rance at #18.
I suspect McGuane is feeling a little ill ATM.
Maybe, but I would say Schultz, Hughes are feeling it just as much. Moore would surely know hes bassically ****ed.
Thurstfield and Rance at FB, McGuane at CHB and then push Polak to CHF with Richo out of the squar. This means that Schultz and Hughes are in trouble
Rayzorwire
24 Nov 2007, 11:54
Maybe, but I would say Schultz, Hughes are feeling it just as much. Moore would surely know hes bassically ****ed.
Thurstfield and Rance at FB, McGuane at CHB and then push Polak to CHF with Richo out of the squar. This means that Schultz and Hughes are in trouble
There's pressure for all spots RG, but I don't see Polak moving forward full-time, he just doesn't kick well enough. In Thursfield and Rance we have two good, solid, accountable defenders, with Polak able to drift loose or mark the least dangerous tall. I'm sure he'll spend a bit of time forward, but not play there full-time.
Wouldnt suggest they are in any more trouble than they were last year.
We got rid of 3 tallish defenders this year, bring in Mcmahon and one young gun in Rance who's not going to strongly impact immediately.
Defenders won't feel any more heat than they did this year.
Forwards are unchanged to last year, bar the addition of Morton. So no extra pressure really on Huges or Schulz. They are still fighting against the same players for their positions.
jack_riewoldt_rulz
24 Nov 2007, 11:59
Rance Thurstfield Mguane
Mcmahon JB King
What do you guys think
Rance Thurstfield Mguane
Mcmahon JB King
What do you guys think
Put Moore in Rances spot and we are set.
Remember these guys are 18... hardly going to be better than Moore in his 1st year.
nugget_12
24 Nov 2007, 12:05
Not neccesarily (Spellin??), i personally prefer a side to have atleast 3 recognised KPD's and i reckon that Thurstfield,Rance & McGuane will be ours but i also think a side need a player than can play accountable but deliver drive!
Moore proved he could be that player there for leaving Bowden, McMahon Polak and King to rotate the other 2 positions aswell as other positions on the field.
Thats just my opinion though.....it will be interesting to see it unfold.
LuKe2428
24 Nov 2007, 12:05
i rekon put thurstfield and rance on the two best forwards and give them some expiriance with j.b floting in the backline
Rayzorwire
24 Nov 2007, 12:26
Defenders won't feel any more heat than they did this year.
Talking long term position in the best-22, not tomorrow.
carmi99
24 Nov 2007, 13:00
wow this is awesome. the best key defender in the draft.
How do you know?
Being the first key defender chosen is a pretty good indication.
jack_riewoldt_rulz
24 Nov 2007, 14:00
Weaver Do you have a bio on him i cant find 1
Tigerrific
24 Nov 2007, 14:24
Weaver Do you have a bio on him i cant find 1
Alex Rance – Swan Districts, WA, 192.3cm, 87.6kg, DOB 9/10/89
Honours
NAB AFL All-Australian Under-18 Team 2007
Western Australia representative – winners of the 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 ChampionshipJon Haines, Talent and Coaching Manager WA Football Commission says:
“Alex is the son of Murray who played a fair bit of footy over here in WA [with both the Eagles and Swan Districts]. He has a mature body for his age and played a lot of footy at the Championships as a running half-back with really strong defensive skills. He loves to run hard and aggressively from the half-back line; he showed that all year and not just at the carnival. For Swan Districts, he continually set up their play from the half-back line with his hard running, but he can certainly hold down a key position as well.
“He’s very good overhead and very good in one-on-one situations, he holds his ground very well and rarely gets beaten in marking duels. Alex is a really committed, disciplined trainer; he soaks up the fitness and training side of things which is another good sign from a coachability point of view.”
Kevin Sheehan, AFL National Talent Manager says:
“He’s a dasher and he’s been a revelation this year; he’s much improved. He’s one of those defenders who is prepared to take them on and provide that dash out of defence and break the lines. He’s one who really enhanced his prospects with his three performances as a tall defender at the Championships.”
RECORDS!
24 Nov 2007, 14:45
Alex Rance – Swan Districts, WA, 192.3cm, 87.6kg, DOB 9/10/89
Honours
NAB AFL All-Australian Under-18 Team 2007
Western Australia representative – winners of the 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 ChampionshipJon Haines, Talent and Coaching Manager WA Football Commission says:
“Alex is the son of Murray who played a fair bit of footy over here in WA [with both the Eagles and Swan Districts]. He has a mature body for his age and played a lot of footy at the Championships as a running half-back with really strong defensive skills. He loves to run hard and aggressively from the half-back line; he showed that all year and not just at the carnival. For Swan Districts, he continually set up their play from the half-back line with his hard running, but he can certainly hold down a key position as well.
“He’s very good overhead and very good in one-on-one situations, he holds his ground very well and rarely gets beaten in marking duels. Alex is a really committed, disciplined trainer; he soaks up the fitness and training side of things which is another good sign from a coachability point of view.”
Kevin Sheehan, AFL National Talent Manager says:
“He’s a dasher and he’s been a revelation this year; he’s much improved. He’s one of those defenders who is prepared to take them on and provide that dash out of defence and break the lines. He’s one who really enhanced his prospects with his three performances as a tall defender at the Championships.”
Sounds like we could have our very own Matty Scarlett ;) Shit I am excited about our first 2 picks.
Congrats Tiges. Rance is an excellent prospect, you should be stoked.
I was hoping the Eags would pick him up, would have been a killer next to Glassy :thumbsu:
Crumden
24 Nov 2007, 15:30
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=388450
Alex Rance (Key Def) - 9 October 1989, 194cm 87kg. WA/Swan Districts FC
"Weaver: Was superb at FB and at 194cm is a perfect height for the AFL scouts. Should good courage in his aerial work and was a very enthusiastic rebounder racking up touches from the last line. Good kicking is crucial in a modern FB for switching play and maintaining possession and Rance ticks that box. The prototype modern FB.
"
"Recruiter 1: A rangy type who can play on both taller or shorter opponents. He was quite competitive and impressed me with his athleticism and ability to run off his opponent. There appears to be some scope for improvement with his decision-making ability.
"
"Recruiter 2: Alex Rance was very steady in defence – he seemed to be the cornerstone of Western Australia’s backline.
"
"Kevin Sheehan: Tall defender who showed great dash from defence in his three championship matches. His father, Murray, played for both the Western Bulldogs and West Coast, where he was captain. Already had a taste of senior football in the WAFL and is much improved. He ranked seventh overall in handballs for the championships, helping provide Western Australia with its quick ball movement from defence.
"
"Vic Crow: St.Kilda needing a key backman, KPP stocks in this draft not terribly deep = easy selection. More of a modern day full back but has the scope to play at CHB. Already 87kg and has played a bit of senior footy in the WAFL at 17 years of age so his body is already pretty strong. A pre-season at an AFL club will see him bulk up a bit more and as his body matures likely to become a physical force. Provides plenty of rebound, as he showed at the Championships. There's a lot to like about Rance - big bodied, good defensive skills, good disposal. Ticks a lot of boxes.
"
"Ant555: Alex Rance-194cm, 87kg-Swan Districts. ( CHB/FB). The star defender of the National champs. His run out of defence was great. His defensive work was excellent. Has good pace and skills for a big bloke. He worked in well with Browne and Meyers to give WA the killer dash from defence. His handballing was creative and he hits targets by foot. He is simply a defender that every club will rate.
"
"AFL Insider:
AFL Positions:
Rance is a big defender who can run and use the ball well. He should develop into the most important defender on his AFL team.
Perfect Fit For:
Firrito is sometimes undersized at full back so the addition of another tall defender could help the Kangaroos. Rance may not last to their pick.
**********.net prediction:
The Bulldogs could use their first round pick to take Rance. For more than a decade, they have needed height. Rance, Williams and Everitt would be a great trio of young defenders. A lot of the teams with early picks need someone like Rance, so he could be a possibility to go at pick 2, but when the Bulldogs are up at pick 5 and if Rance is still there it would be difficult for the Bulldogs to say no.
AFL Fantasy Outlook:
If he goes in the early picks, Rance will probably be on a team that needs help right away, so he should play a lot. He is strong in the air, with good anticipation of where the ball is going, so he can get plenty of marks from opposition kicks. When Rance uses the ball he kicks it long and accurately. Rance should be a player who starts the fantasy season on many teams as a defender on the bench.
"
"AFL Insider:
The family connection to the Bulldogs is a bonus, that Alex Rance is a big defender with plenty of skills is the real reason they will consider drafting him.
He has plenty of size but his mobility is also something that should appeal to teams with very high picks in the draft. A centre half back with good hands and defensive skills combined with some dash from the back line when it is needed, Rance would be a perfect fit for the Bulldogs.
While Rance would be a big part of the Bulldogs in the future, he is also ready to contribute for them next season. That will be important if they do keep the pick, as they need to win now before West, Johnson, Akermanis and Grant finish their careers.
"
No idea but in the Phantom drafts he was placed high.
deliberate!!
24 Nov 2007, 21:08
"Poor the ****ing concrete, we're going to build a backline!!"
:D:thumbsu::cool: