View Full Version : Lachlan Henderson

Pages : 1 [2]

TheBrownDog
28 Feb 2008, 15:03
Cupido looked good in his early days.

Cupido was good, It was the stuff between his ears that let him down.

The Flying Belgian
28 Feb 2008, 15:05
Cupido was good, It was the stuff between his ears that let him down.

It's all a seamless quilt.

Lionwest
28 Feb 2008, 15:12
i dont think this will be the case for young henderson, seems like a nice fellow.

TheBrownDog
28 Feb 2008, 15:17
i dont think this will be the case for young henderson, seems like a nice fellow.

Apart from his serious affliction of the "yeah nahs"... :D

notting18
28 Feb 2008, 15:44
Apart from his serious affliction of the "yeah nahs"... :D

If it is good enough for Brown it is good enough for Henderson IMO :p

xplo
29 Feb 2008, 09:52
Not too early to make the call; barring injury he should become a 200 game CHF, and along with Clark at FF, replace Brown & Bradshaw down the track ;)

Jeez,.. 4 months ago you could hear the dejected exhalation from the Lion masses across the country as Gubby and Co. called out 'Lachlan Henderson' instead of 'Brad Ebert'. There was just about civil war here.

A few months down the track summer isn't over and he hasn't debuted, but apparently a 200 game glittering career is a mere formality.

Have a look at the thread following JBizzy's debut in 2003. Not exactly a armchair ride to the top that it looked like since then, huh?

Lace Out
29 Feb 2008, 10:07
Jeez,.. 4 months ago you could hear the dejected exhalation from the Lion masses across the country as Gubby and Co. called out 'Lachlan Henderson' instead of 'Brad Ebert'. There was just about civil war here.

A few months down the track summer isn't over and he hasn't debuted, but apparently a 200 game glittering career is a mere formality.

Have a look at the thread following JBizzy's debut in 2003. Not exactly a armchair ride to the top that it looked like since then, huh?
I think its alright for people on here to have an opinion on players at any stage of their career.

Grimreepah
29 Feb 2008, 10:26
While I am well and truly on the bandwagon, I agree that it's a bit early to be predicting long and successful careers after a good NAB Cup game against Essendon and an OK NAB Cup game against North.

Looking at the last few year's no 8 draft picks:
2006 - Ben Reid (Pies)
2005 - Jarrad Oakley Nicholls (Richmond)
2004 - John Meeson (Adelaide)
2003 - Raphael Clarke (St Kilda)
2002 - Luke Brennan (Hawthorn)
2001 - James Bartel (Geelong)
2000 - Daniel Motlop (North)

All players would have had similarly high expectations at this stage of their careers, but not many live up to them.

Lionwest
29 Feb 2008, 10:36
You're right XPLO early doors there is no certain 200 gamer, but there is room for optimism. That’s the great part of a new season and new recruits.

LionKing
29 Feb 2008, 10:39
Lachie Henderson will be a gun ! :thumbsu:

xplo
29 Feb 2008, 14:06
I think its alright for people on here to have an opinion on players at any stage of their career.

Sure it is. I'm impressed with the kid too, but he's a first year KPP.

I've just seen plenty of people putting giddy expectations on young blokes, and those people are generally the first to get the knives out when things get tough -- as they almost without exception do.

If you start out with unreasonably expectations on a kid, you're going to end up feeling bitchy when he doesn't live up to them. We've already seen blokes around here talking about Mitch Clark being 'under scrutiny' in the last few days.

chopperduck
29 Feb 2008, 17:25
totally agree xplo. clark is a great example of this. my mrs is always on his case, but i've loved him since day dot. he has had problems with injuries, but some guys get that in the younger years.

how old is clark ? 20, 21 maybe ?? some people forget he is still very young, and with his size, strength, speed and sticky hands like fev (i still think he marks like fev, with hands our in front where possible) he will be fantasic.

how many games has brown missed because of injury. last year was he first full season and what did he do ? coleman. clark will get his chance, and so will hendo. today its brown/bradshaw, tomorrow its clark/hendo. dont know bout others, but that excites me

Lace Out
29 Feb 2008, 21:22
Sure it is. I'm impressed with the kid too, but he's a first year KPP.

I've just seen plenty of people putting giddy expectations on young blokes, and those people are generally the first to get the knives out when things get tough -- as they almost without exception do.

If you start out with unreasonably expectations on a kid, you're going to end up feeling bitchy when he doesn't live up to them. We've already seen blokes around here talking about Mitch Clark being 'under scrutiny' in the last few days.
Yes but I'm not directing my expectations to him personally.It certainly wouldn't be a good idea to tell him that face to face.It would be more like "Work hard and the rewards will come" or some such.
In the event down the track I feel he is not what I thought I will post that too.Its just the cut and thrust of footy banter imo

fuzzi1313
29 Feb 2008, 22:23
he might be a awsome he might not be we will just hav to c

Grimreepah
7 Mar 2008, 10:49
http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/2127/hendersonjt0.jpg

Ruse
7 Mar 2008, 15:30
is it just me or does he seem to have an especially elongated neck?

danielcanberra
7 Mar 2008, 19:27
is it just me or does he seem to have an especially elongated neck?

it is just you, and also how the guernsey is cut.

lionbear
7 Mar 2008, 20:33
http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/2127/hendersonjt0.jpg

What a great effort to have kicked 3 goals and never played a game:D

LIONOFZION
7 Mar 2008, 21:22
What a great effort to have kicked 3 goals and never played a game:D

Excellent spot :thumbsu:
This should now mean that he only needs nine more against the Eagles in Rd 1 to match my prediction of 12 in his first game ;):o

Grimreepah
10 Mar 2008, 01:16
Link (http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23346495-5016212,00.html)

Henderson in mix for Lions
Andrew Hamilton
March 09, 2008 11:30pm

BRISBANE Lions' tactical win against West Coast last year and the successful return of Daniel Bradshaw on Saturday could contribute to a shock Round 1 call-up for first-year draftee Lachlan Henderson.
Coach Leigh Matthews looks to have settled on his team for the Subiaco clash against the Eagles on Saturday week.
Defensive midfielder Troy Selwood – rested at the weekend – and Henderson are the only likely additions to the team that defeated Sydney by 10 points in Canberra on Saturday.
Bradshaw's encouraging outing in attack against the Swans may allow Henderson to make his debut as a defender.
Bradshaw played alongside Jonathan Brown in Canberra, a combination Matthews seems keen to retain.
Henderson, the Lions' top draft pick last year, has played most of his football as a forward and has been used in attack in the pre-season.
But in a match against Morningside at Coorparoo yesterday, Henderson was used as a defender against Kent Abey, one of the AFLQ's best players.

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/406/henderson2rd2.jpg

Gabbatoir
11 Mar 2008, 00:23
I like Henderson at CHB.

Not too sure why. I just feel like it fits.

Someone down back able to take the defensive pack mark as well as the big spoils.

chopperduck
11 Mar 2008, 08:24
im a lil torn with hendo at chb. he has shown such good promise up forward that i would love to have them there to give us a 3rd option, but there is no denying we need a bigger play at chb.

bradshaw would be good to have there cos he atleast has some experience. i think in terms of games, merret is one of our most experienced defenders. but you have to keep him up forward to get working with brown, we haven't had both on the field for way too long.

we also have clark yet to return, and i think he deserves first shot at the 3rd tall up forward. hendo is no stranger to chb

LIONOFZION
11 Mar 2008, 09:02
I'd feel a little more confident with Hendo at CHB after he gains some more weight - upper body strength. If he gets a go early on I'd like it to be up forward - he can read the play really well as is obvious already, but I'm yet to be convinced re: his reaction time if he has to play back (probably because I haven't seen him play back at all :o)
How'd he go at CHB - did anyone see the scratch match against Morningside?

ZoBlitz
11 Mar 2008, 09:46
Will be interesting to see if he's thrown into the deep end at CHB. Least we'll have some height down there, it seems like we've been a little undersized height-wise down back through the pre-season.

TheBrownDog
11 Mar 2008, 11:00
Henderson has the burst of speed off the bloock to get clear, which helps as a forward.

I don't know if he has the Daniel Merrett closing speed needed to be an effective defender though.

brisbanelioness
11 Mar 2008, 22:00
Only caught the end of the scratch match. Wish I had gotten there earlier. Seemed to be a good one too, a bit of a crowd around and plenty of Lions there to support.

Grimreepah
15 Mar 2008, 01:59
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23375033-5003410,00.html)

LEIGH Matthews starts his search for a first finals berth since 2004 next Saturday in Perth. He reveals his thoughts on the season.

Will we see rookie Lachlan Henderson in round 1?
He's very exciting. When the first-year players come in, you look at them as people and as footballers. We were really excited with Matthew Leuenberger last year, and Lachlan Henderson I'd put in the same category. He looks like he can play.

http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/1234/henderson2gz0.jpg

TheBrownDog
17 Mar 2008, 18:56
Link (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23389230-19742,00.html?from=public_rss)

Matthews said rookie Lachlan Henderson was "in contention" for the Eagles game.

Ceebee
17 Mar 2008, 20:23
I have this dream that he will turn out to be a superstar like Browny.
I hope this dream comes true.

GabbaMan
17 Mar 2008, 20:24
Primarily a fast leading full-forward is how I see Lachlan Henderson.

Copeland alongside to help chase & block and offer options.

Tough task for Bradshaw firstup but if he’s fit then has to be CHB, especially as Roe is still injured. Daniel B. will eventually end up there anyway.

ZoBlitz
17 Mar 2008, 21:16
I have this dream that he will turn out to be a superstar like Browny.
I hope this dream comes true.

Let's hope his debut game is better than Browny's was :D

Grimreepah
17 Mar 2008, 23:48
Link (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/sport/lions-to-tame-wild-west/2008/03/17/1205602272316.html)

Matthews confirmed that versatile rookie Lachlan Henderson stood to make his AFL debut after trialling strongly in the NAB Cup. The Geelong youngster, who idolises Nathan Buckley and James Hird, will help give the Lions some more versatility at both ends of the park after Matthews admitted they were predictable at times in 2007.
"If you talk the first game, Lachlan Henderson's in contention of the first year players. Everyone else would have played before," Matthews said.
"He's mainly played as a forward in his junior days and we've played him mostly forward with us to be honest, but he played half a game against the Kangaroos in defence and we played him in defence last week."

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/651/henderson2ug0.jpg

Link (http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/03/17/2191682.htm?section=sport)

The Lions are set to use first-round draft pick Lachlan Henderson when they take on West Coast in their season opener in Perth on Saturday night.

The Geelong Falcons recruit is likely to line up in defence despite playing most of his junior football in the forward line.

Grimreepah
21 Mar 2008, 00:27
Named as an emergency for round 1.

Interestingly Leigh admitted we were a little undersized in defence for round 1. That tells me they aren't that keen on playing Henderson down back, and they probably like him more as a forward.

chopperduck
21 Mar 2008, 11:06
Named as an emergency for round 1.

Interestingly Leigh admitted we were a little undersized in defence for round 1. That tells me they aren't that keen on playing Henderson down back, and they probably like him more as a forward.

and thats the way it should be. really, if we were to play him down back, i dont think he is gonna help that much. he tall, but still not big. if we really find trouble with no chb, bradshaw will go back, and hendo will play forward. its a much better fit that way then the other way around.

hendo is good, but we dont need to rush him in. hopefully collier will turn out to be a good chb for us in a year or 2 and sure up our defence, leaving the likes of brown, bradshaw, hendo and clark up forward.... tall, fast, strong. nightmare line up for any defense

Grimreepah
27 Mar 2008, 18:24
HENDOOOOOOHHHH:thumbsu:

I'm guessing he will be used down back in his first game. I think they'll be wanting to keep Bradshaw up forward.

TheBrownDog
27 Mar 2008, 18:51
HENDOOOOOOHHHH:thumbsu:

I'm guessing he will be used down back in his first game. I think they'll be wanting to keep Bradshaw up forward.

Collingwood has named a smallish forward line though.

Patfull will get Cloke, Merrett will get Rocca... who would you play Hendo on?

I reckon Hendo will be third tall forward, freeing Brennan up to play in the middle.

I guess Fraser and Wood will spend time up forward and will need to be covered.

Grimreepah
27 Mar 2008, 22:07
Collingwood has named a smallish forward line though.

Patfull will get Cloke, Merrett will get Rocca... who would you play Hendo on?

I reckon Hendo will be third tall forward, freeing Brennan up to play in the middle.

I guess Fraser and Wood will spend time up forward and will need to be covered.

Yeah good point. Against Essendon (I didn't see the other preseason games) he played at full forward, but if he plays forward this time you'd think he'd be playing a lot further up the ground.

If he plays back they may give him a run on Cloke and let Patfull take a smaller player. And then shift him to the ruckmen when they rest up forward.

It's a fantastic effort from Hendo to get the nod so soon, but he is a bottom aged first year key position player, so we shouldn't be expecting to much from him at this stage.

ZoBlitz
28 Mar 2008, 00:54
Yeah good point. Against Essendon (I didn't see the other preseason games) he played at full forward, but if he plays forward this time you'd think he'd be playing a lot further up the ground.

If he plays back they may give him a run on Cloke and let Patfull take a smaller player. And then shift him to the ruckmen when they rest up forward.

It's a fantastic effort from Hendo to get the nod so soon, but he is a bottom aged first year key position player, so we shouldn't be expecting to much from him at this stage.

Very true. I'm very interested to see how Leigh uses him. I just hope he's give a chance to settle and not swung back and forward through the game.

xplo
29 Mar 2008, 10:55
Showed quite a bit early. Shame he couldn't slot that goal. Will probably find most games a tick or so slower than that one too.

Grimreepah
30 Mar 2008, 11:17
Link (http://news.smh.com.au/big-lions-win-helps-johnstone-settle-in/20080330-22f2.html)

Matthews also had high hopes for another new face - their top draft pick Lachlan Henderson.
His AFL debut drew comparisons with his champion teammate and childhood idol Jonathan Brown - for all the wrong reasons.
The 18-year-old managed just two kicks, a handball and one mark against Collingwood.
But Matthews was happy to cut Henderson some slack.
"Jonathan Brown had a very bad first game and has become a champion," Matthews said.
"First games don't matter but Lachlan will have better second, third, fourth and fifth (games).
"He's a good kid, Lachlan. I've got a lot of time for him. I believe he'll be a really good player for a long time.
"But first game, damp conditions, mud - it was a tough gig."

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/9481/hendersonup5.jpg

konstas_87
30 Mar 2008, 11:29
"First games don't matter but Lachlan will have better second, third, fourth and fifth (games).
"He's a good kid, Lachlan. I've got a lot of time for him. I believe he'll be a really good player for a long time.
"But first game, damp conditions, mud - it was a tough gig."

that is terrific support from the senior coach, that should give him the world of confidence :thumbsu:

charles202
30 Mar 2008, 12:11
Those stats really surpseid me on Hendo, i was watching the replay yesterday and it only took the commenntators a littleover a quarter of player to say that the kid had shown enough.

Kid just needs some bulk.

Gabbatoir
5 Apr 2008, 20:29
1st to congratulate lachy on his first goal :D

Kochie 16
5 Apr 2008, 23:21
1st to congratulate lachy on his first goal :D
Suck up!;):D

Gabbatoir
5 Apr 2008, 23:25
Suck up!;):D

your jealousy condemns you

ZoBlitz
8 Apr 2008, 23:20
As much as I like the kid, you wonder whether we can afford to have him, Browny and Bradshaw in a team when we're struggling so badly on ground level in the forward line. Maybe a smaller restructure is needed?

Having said that, I'd keep him in the team.

acuguy
8 Apr 2008, 23:47
Tough one, i think he is probably better value for us at the moment kicking bags in the 2s, he has had a taste, we need to get a third tall up and running on that forward line, i think Mills might come in for Hendo and Harding for Rischi

charles202
13 Apr 2008, 12:51
I really liked Hendo in he backline it seemed to give a much better structure having Patful being able to play on a smaller player and beiing able to rebound more.

Will be intersting is Leigh keeps this match up for the Hawks, Buddy would be a massive challenge for the kid but i think phyically it would be a good match up, Hendo has the height and speed, cmon Leigh keep the faith :thumbsu:

Grimreepah
13 Apr 2008, 12:56
Interesting to see him playing on Chad Cornes at one stage.

And that was a great spoil backing into traffic. The kid has got courage.

chopperduck
13 Apr 2008, 19:19
very promising start, never seemed to let the pressure get to him, played well and gave another tall down back. would definitely give him another run down there next week with how the hawks forward structure is. patful did ok on buddy last year, but lacks a bit of height. think buddy had great delivery that game too and wasn't too much any defender could have done with half the possies he got.

could become the next best key position utility like bradshaw, forward or back, which would be fantastic for our team. give us a lot more options with match ups

ZoBlitz
15 Apr 2008, 09:52
He's probably cemented his spot for next week as a tall defender. Doing well.

Old Den
15 Apr 2008, 11:54
Bomberblitz interview (http://bomberblitz.com/news/interviews/henderson.php)

Link (http://blackwhitestripes.scribblewiki.com/images/blackwhitestripes/b/b6/HendersonSouthAfricaTourStory.jpg)

Link (http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2007/11/20/9038_geelong_sports.html)

Lachlan is getting terrific experience so early in his career - has played a variety of roles in three super games - yes,it will be handy to have another
tall defender option

chiefcharging
15 Apr 2008, 12:00
good to see the former birregurra boy going great guns.. will do great things for birre

Grimreepah
18 Apr 2008, 01:28
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23556400-10389,00.html)

First-year player Lachlan Henderson also was good last week and his omission is a surprise, although the Lions may be taking a calculated approach to the 18-year-old's development, given he had never played against men before the pre-season tournament.

Grimreepah
27 Apr 2008, 01:50
Last week (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5352688&sectionID=56333) Hendo lined up in defence for Suncoast and was voted the 3rd best player on the ground

Zillmere Eagles v Suncoast Lions
5 Votes Matt Payne Zillmere Eagles
4 Votes Albert Proud Suncoast Lions
3 Votes Lachlan HendersonSuncoast Lions
2 Votes Pat Garner Suncoast Lions
1 Vote Nikos Keim Zillmere Eagles

Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23601965-10389,00.html)

Lachie Henderson may go to defence for Brisbane Lions
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/sm_sundaymail.gif
April 27, 2008 12:00am

TEENAGE Lion Lachie Henderson has vowed he won't let his teammates down if pitched into defence against Melbourne at the Gabba this afternoon.
The tall and athletic youngster spent most of his junior days as a forward but coach Leigh Matthews will trust him with a defensive role, at least until the return of experienced defenders Jason Roe and Josh Drummond.
Brisbane's youngest player, 18-year-old Henderson demonstrated unwavering courage playing in the backline against Port Adelaide two weeks ago.
As the Lions began their charge in the third term, the 92kg youngster followed the flight of the ball directly into the path of a rampaging Brendon Lade who is 8kg heavier.
He spilled the mark but never took his eyes off the ball and prevented Lade from getting a hand to it.
"I didn't know it was Lade. I thought there'd definitely be someone coming," he said.
"You have to hold strong. You're not going to wimp out of it. When you have to go, you have to go to help out your teammates.
"That's what it's all about, giving your teammates a hand if they need it." Henderson prefers playing in the forward line but is happy to play anywhere – even in the ruck – as long as it gets him a game.
Henderson also boasts some pedigree in the ruck, with his dad Ian a former country league ruckman for their home town Birregurra, Victoria.
"Just to get a game is the big thing at the moment," he said.
"I'm a bit small to be a ruckman but I'll give it a go if asked.
"I played on Chad Cornes (against Port Adelaide) when (Justin) Westhoff went off and I was really pinching myself. That was pretty crazy."
Today, he is likely to be used to combat Demon Jeff White when the dangerous ruckman drifts into the forward line.
Matthews said he was happy with Henderson's development.
"We've got a lot of time for him. I think he's a really good prospect and we're certainly not afraid to put him out there."

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/4733/hendersoncv6.jpg
POSITION move ... Lachlan Henderson has promised he won't let his Brisbane Lions teammates down this afternoon at the Gabba against the Demons if asked to play in defence

Interview: Lachlan Henderson (http://media01.couriermail.com.au/multimedia/mediaplayer/smp/index.html?id=900#large?id=896)

Grimreepah
2 May 2008, 10:48
Link (http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2008/05/02/13540_geelong_sports.html)

Brisbane young gun facing footy's Wheel of Fortune
Geelong Advertiser
Michael Auciello
02May08

Moving interstate to follow an AFL career can be tough on a young hopeful. The Lions' Jonathan Brown remembers what it was like and now another key forward from the Geelong Falcons, Lachie Henderson, is finding out. MICHAEL AUCIELLO reports

JONATHAN Brown is in the spotlight. Again.

Less than 12 months after Chris Judd, the biggest name in the game, decided to head home to Victoria, the Brisbane powerhouse is all the talk.

Collingwood is circling. Victorian clubs will always salivate at the prospect of landing a big fish when the hottest prospects in football come out of contract.

Chris Judd couldn't take it any longer. The lure of coming home was too strong.

``With Chris, he loves football, but it's not No. 1. No. 1 is his family. Maybe you have to be as good as he is to be able to think like that,'' West Coast coach John Worsfold said this week.

``I have heard him say if West Coast was based in Melbourne, he would have been a West Coast player for his whole career.''

Jonathan Brown arrived in Brisbane at the end of 1999. There was no Friday night footy on TV and little, if any, AFL coverage in the papers.

It made it hard to feel like home.

Almost a decade on, another key forward from the Geelong Falcons, Lachie Henderson, arrived in the sunshine state.

Things are different now. It's not quite AFL overload, and probably never will be, but there is more respect and recognition of the game than ever before.

Three-straight premierships by one of the most outstanding teams in decades will do that.

Henderson knows there is always pressure on players to return home. Not necessarily from themselves or their families, but from the outside football world, which loves the romantic story of a good homecoming.

It might come on him, too, one day.

``You don't want to think about that very much, you're up here to play footy and you're up here to do what they drafted you here for,'' he said.

``That's just what everyone else thinks about it, once you leave Victoria, and it'll come down the track.

``It's still coming back to Browny at the moment, he's out of contract as everyone's been saying, and they all still want him to come back to Victoria, so that's always going to come for any Victorian, really, that moves interstate.''

Brisbane has put plenty of resources into its player welfare department.

It has to be proactive in keeping players interested in staying up north, not just reacting to a crisis when one of its players wants out.

``Our player welfare manager's Craig Lambert and he's just fantastic with everyone and he was just great with us for the first month or two and he made it a lot easier,'' Henderson said.

``They pretty much set up everything. I moved in with Simon Black, which was another one that made it very easy for me, (and) Lamby pretty much did everything for us first year (players) _ got our cars, got our houses, got our beds in and all that kind of stuff, got our TVs organised, just got everything organised for us.''
While clubs continue to pour more and more money into sports science and its football department, Jonathan Brown is well aware of the importance of making an investment in the player welfare department.

``They put a lot of resources into the welfare and make the new players feel welcome because obviously a fair proportion of our guys are originally from interstate, so to try and quell the go-home factor,'' Brown said.

``You don't want to be losing kids that you invest time and money into, and they recognise that it's as important an area as there is in the football club.

``They do it very well, it's like one big family _ all the players are very close because we all are interstate kids and most of us, our outside-of-football friendships are the same as our in-football friendships, we hang around off the field as well.

``There's a lot of Victorian kids on the list, I think we've got about 14 or 15 Victorian kids, so a lot of us are in the same boat.''

Brown is an interesting proposition. Like Judd before him, he has become the public face of an interstate football club.

But Victoria is still home. If you wanted any more proof of that, take a look at how excited he is about pulling on the Big V and captaining his state on the MCG next weekend.

It must be hard to fight the urge to come back to footy's heartland.
When Brown first arrived at Brisbane, Shane O'Bree had just left to return home to Victoria.

A few years and a premiership later, Des Headland followed suit, returning home to his native Western Australia.

``I think they're two of the guys that had that bit of homesickness,'' Brown said.

``But the club's been pretty fortunate in that fact over the last seven or eight years, that we haven't had too many guys leave because of that.''

Brown said he's never really felt homesick. His cousin, Marcus Picken, was on the Lions' list when he was drafted under the father-son rule, making the transition a little easier.

Henderson, he said, was dealing with the upheaval of his life just as well.

``I think Hendo's a pretty mature young fella, he looks like he could cope with it no worries at all,'' Brown said.

``Usually you can pick the guys when they come in _ the mature kids. Lachie's got an older head on his shoulders.''

Henderson knew 24 hours before the draft that he was to become a Lion with their first-round pick. Speculation he would be taken by the Western Bulldogs was out the door.

``At the start, it was just very daunting knowing that you're coming straight out of school and going interstate to somewhere where you don't know anyone and you're going in with a bunch of guys that have been up here for a little while,'' Henderson said.

``You're leaving your family and everything you've known for so long.

``I think Mum was a little bit devastated at the time and Dad, I suppose he would have been a bit sad too, but he was just happy that I was doing what I love to do _ playing footy and I got my chance.

``So I think down deep they were a bit shattered but it's all turned out fine, it's a fantastic club up here so they love it now.''

Henderson can't help but laugh when asked if his parents have been up to visit him in Brisbane much.

``Yeah, Mum's the number one supporter, the boys reckon. Mum's everywhere at the moment,'' he said.

``She came up this weekend and she came up last weekend, too. They've been up a fair bit. Yeah, a fair bit.

``Nah, it's good. It's good to see them again.''

More than half the kids picked in last year's draft were taken by clubs outside the state they call home.

The year before, 60 per cent of draftees had to move interstate to give their shot at an AFL career a chance.

In 2006, the Geelong Falcons had five of their players drafted. Four of them _ Travis Boak and Ryan Williams (Port Adelaide), Daniel O'Keefe (Sydney) and Will Schofield (West Coast) went to interstate clubs.

Only Simon Hogan, taken by Geelong, stayed in his home state.

``I just screamed, `no','' Chicki Boak, Travis's mother said last year.

``Then the tears flowed and then the girls' (Travis's sisters) tears flowed. You're realising that this means moving away. But then he looked at me and straight away I knew he was living his dream.''

This is the way of the world these days. In the AFL, anyway.

NRL chief executive David Gallop recently not only defended his competition's stance on not having a draft, but questioned whether the AFL could even continue under its current model.

``As you spread geographically, and the battle among the codes becomes more intense for athletes, it's a tough selling point to say to mothers and fathers, `bring your kids to our game, but at 18 he might end up in Fremantle','' Gallop said.

``That's not an easy sell in this day and age where kids tend to stay at home longer and there's more and more emphasis on players getting an education on top of their time span in football. Players are making it in first grade at far younger ages.

``All of those things mean a draft system is difficult to maintain.

``(Former Newcastle champion) Andrew Johns is possibly the best example. The kid from Cessnock becomes the biggest name in Newcastle. That's simply not available in the AFL system.''

Lachie Henderson said it was drilled into him in his last year of under-age footy how important it was to be prepared for anything.

``I was lucky enough to get into the AIS (Australian Institute of Sport) and (they) were big on teaching kids when they get drafted how to act and all that,'' he said.
``They just said you're getting this amazing opportunity to play AFL so if you don't want to move interstate then don't play.

``You're going to have to give up a fair few things if you want to play so that's just one of them for some of the people. It took a little while (to settle in) but it's all good now, the club's great and all the boys are really open and friendly so it made it a lot easier.''

Jonathan Brown believes being thrust interstate and having to fend for yourself teaches major life lessons.

``To me it was pretty exciting as well because you're forging ahead with your own life, you're responsible for yourself, but it certainly does take a little bit of time to adjust, no doubt,'' he said.
``Especially early on when you're not sure if you're going to make it in your league career and there's a fair bit of apprehension.''

For now, Henderson will wait for his next opportunity at AFL level, after playing four senior games from the first six of the season.

His team will take on the Cats on Henderson's `home turf' at Skilled Stadium tomorrow, followed by a week's break for the Hall of Fame match which will give him a chance to head home.
``It'll just be good to get home and see all the family and friends,'' he said.

It might be a safe bet that Vonnie and Ian Henderson will be waiting anxiously for the boy from Birregurra to make his return, too.

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/4504/hendersonlu6.jpg

xplo
2 May 2008, 15:38
I know they're writing for a misty-eyed local market, but honestly, all this homecoming stuff is layed on a bit thick. Sure Juddy came home, but not one comment in there by either Lachie or Browny gave any inkling that they wanted to go home.

Geez, they've nabbed father/son picks from all over the shop (Tomahawk grew up in NSW), but apparently they also have a permanent option on any kid born west of Werribee?

Grimreepah
7 May 2008, 01:03
Link (http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2008/05/03/10700_gold-coast-sport.html)

Clark was named at the expense of first-year forward Lachlan Henderson."We have enormous regard for Lachlan's future but we think at this stage of their footy maturity, Mitch is further advanced," Matthews said.

Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 01:46
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5526544&sectionID=56333)

A six-goal haul by promising young key position player Lachlan Henderson was the difference in a low scoring game at Coorparoo as Suncoast beat Mt Gravatt by 12 points today.

Henderson used his size, strength and athleticism to full advantage, proving a handful for three different opponents.

With a few of our back six under injury clouds, Hendo's a good chance to return to the seniors next week.

bears2lions
3 Jun 2008, 22:23
Watched Lachie play (for Suncoast) on Saturday. He took great marks - not afraid to get his knees wet. I think he would be versatile as a defender as well.

For our youngest player, he's incredibly good.

Grimreepah
24 Jun 2008, 01:36
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23910393-10389,00.html)

Henderson, Brisbane's first pick last year at No. 8, drips with class but could do with a bit more strength and conditioning.

http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/3942/collierke0.jpg

Y'know what I love there?

Hendo would be at least a year younger and only have played 5 or 6 more games, but is clearly 100% rapt for Tom and only too happy to show it.

The reality is, these two guys are to some degree in competition for the same spot/s, and it would be easy for Lachie to smile but stand back after Tom makes a classy debut, but he clearly didn't feel the need to.

That's leadership potential there -- worrying about the team welfare ahead of your own.

Grimreepah
29 Jun 2008, 13:26
AFLQ (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5756927&sectionID=56333)

In-form defender Wade Dickson dominated Lachlan Henderson in the first term, but the promising young Lion worked his way back into the game and did well to finish with four goals at the finish.

AFLQ (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=62417)

Lachlan Henderson played as a deep forward and showed plenty of character to rebound from an early beating by Wade Dickson – who won the Zane Taylor Medal for Queensland’s best player in the recent interstate clash with WA – to kick four goals.

Henderson gave a strong physical presence, but lacked support as Broadbeach consistently got numbers back behind the ball.

beatnik
6 Jul 2008, 20:58
Most of the young boys have been doing what's asked of them. When I started you couldn't do enough extra stuff. No one was like Blacky (Simon Black). He'd spend half an hour extra every day doing the in and under work and whatever he thought would make him a league player. You'd see a lot of players do that but no one as much as him. He is an extremely hard worker and the most competitive player I've ever met. Lachie Henderson's one who always does a bit extra and it's funny because he lived with Blacky for a while. He'll reap the rewards of that.

i was interested by this little snippet in Nigel's interview in the Courier Mail - sounds like Hendo's got a good role model :thumbsu:

acuguy
6 Jul 2008, 23:19
I was impressed with how thick Henderson has become in his upper body, he is obviously trying to build up, this may hamper his mobility for a season though. Key position players take 3-5 years before we will see him make a massive impact on the competition.

Grimreepah
14 Jul 2008, 01:54
AFLQ (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5904898&sectionID=56333)

Key forward Lachlan Henderson botted nine goals. Henderson was too poised for three different opponents, winning almost every contest when the ball was brought in quickly and he was left one-out.

TheBrownDog
15 Jul 2008, 13:41
Although its easy to get carried away by ressies form (Marty Pask anyone?)... Lachie Henderson is one exciting prospect. :)

Seems to have all the tools to be a gun forward, and the versatility to be used elsewhere. Not to mention a true professional attitude.

Bradshaw clone.

Grimreepah
16 Jul 2008, 01:54
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,24026205-5016169,00.html)

Lachlan Henderson ready to add another AFL notch
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
By Marco Monteverde
July 16, 2008 12:00am

FRESH from a nine-goal haul for the Suncoast Lions, Lachlan Henderson is ready for another chance at AFL level. However the No. 8 pick in last year's national draft won't be too despondent if he doesn't get the call-up for the Lions' clash against the West Coast Eagles on Saturday night at the Gabba.

He has already achieved his goal of playing one senior game this season. So for the 18-year-old to have been involved in six of Brisbane's 15 matches this year has been beyond his wildest dreams.

"That's far exceeded the games I thought I'd play this year," the former Victorian Country representative said.

"It's been a really good experience for me.

"I just wanted to get through the season without playing for two or three weeks and then suffering an injury and have to miss games.

"So far it's worked out well for me."

Perhaps Henderson's best chance of a senior recall this weekend is if Lions' talisman Jonathan Brown succumbs to a hip injury he suffered in Brisbane's disappointing loss to Essendon at Telstra Dome last Saturday night.

Both Brown and fellow Lions co-captain Simon Black (shoulder) must pass fitness tests to line up against the Eagles.

Henderson backed Brown to play and said the big forward's presence was crucial in Brisbane's bid to snap a two-game losing streak.

"I don't think Brownie will miss this one," the AIS-AFL Academy graduate said.

"And even if he doesn't play, I'm no certainty to get a call-up.

"It depends on how things need to be structured."

Henderson wasn't expecting Lions coach Leigh Matthews to make mass changes in response to shock defeats against lower-placed sides Melbourne and Essendon.

"We've played well for patches in both those games," he said.

"It's a matter of doing it for the four quarters, winning the 50/50 contests and putting our head over the ball.

"There's no panic.

"These losses are just a little bit of a hiccup.

At least Matthews knows Henderson is in rare goal-kicking form if he calls on the young gun.

Making his nine-goal effort in Suncoast's 75-point thrashing of Morningside at Esplen Oval last Sunday all the more remarkable was the fact he did not get to sleep until after 3am that same day.

Henderson flew to Melbourne as an emergency for the Lions, with the club's post-match chartered flight home ensuring it was a long and tiring night.

"I was probably a little bit fatigued during the game and got a bit lucky to kick nine," he admitted.

"But catching the flight back on the same night did help.

"I managed to get six hours sleep when I finally got home."

The tall Henderson dismissed himself as an option to act as ruck cover for string bean Matthew Leuenberger, who is set to miss the rest of the season with a knee injury.

http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/2856/henderson5zp3.jpg

bears2lions
16 Jul 2008, 19:27
"I was probably a little bit fatigued during the game and got a bit lucky to kick nine," he admitte

Lachie is also way too modest.

Lucky? Nup, he kicked nine because he's brilliant.

LionKing
17 Jul 2008, 00:45
Great read. . . . comes across very level headed and mature for his age:thumbsu:

Grimreepah
17 Jul 2008, 20:26
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5943894&sectionID=56333)

Henderson became the highest goalkicker in an individual game for 2008, his nine goals against Morningside bettering Austin Lucy’s eight goals against Redland two months ago. Henderson has impressed in attack and defence this season and would be right up near the top of the goalkicking table if played permanently near the attacking goalsquare.

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/8419/henderson4nl3.jpg

TheBrownDog
17 Jul 2008, 20:57
Lucy and Henderson... what a combination that would be. ;)

Redemptionin09
17 Jul 2008, 22:22
Stick by this kid! He went to my school and he's a gun:D:thumbsu:

Lehmo87
22 Jul 2008, 22:24
I saw that Lachie was listed as having a quad injury... anyone know how serious it is?

Grimreepah
4 Aug 2008, 01:22
AFLQ (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=6115450&sectionID=56333)

Teenage key position utility Lachlan Henderson proved a major thorn in the side of the Vultures for the second time in a row, following his matchwinning performance at Coorparoo in Round 9 with another strong display.

Grimreepah
31 Oct 2008, 11:31
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=69432)

Henderson seeks captain’s advice
By Michael Whiting
5:14 PM Thu 30 October, 2008

SECOND year Brisbane Lion Lachlan Henderson does not have far to look for advice on how to improve his football.The 18-year-old key position player had a solid first year in Brisbane, playing eight games and showing he could play both back and forward.
And after a solid break, Henderson is ready to tackle his second season head on.
His preferred forward post is currently held down by newly-appointed Lions skipper Jonathan Brown, and Henderson said he was quick to pick the brains of the superstar when it came to improving his game.
“Because Browny is the big centre half-forward and that's the position I like, I've trained with him a lot and that'll continue this season,” he said during his first week back on the paddock.
“[He has helped me with] all the little things I didn't really think about. Whether the guy passing is left or right footed, how far they kick it, where to lead, all that stuff.''
The Geelong Falcons recruit bulked up considerably in 2008 and said this season would be all about consolidating that as well as adding to his running game.
After preliminary chats with new coach Michael Voss, Henderson said they had identified a couple of key areas to work on.
“I have to get a lot fitter and get my legs a bit stronger so I don't get pushed around by those bigger bodies in the league and I can hold my ground,” he said.
“I also need to improve my skills. I need to kick better and prepare better for games.”
Henderson said he had taken plenty from his debut season and was hopeful of adding another 10 games and a lot more experience in 2009.
“I learnt a lot last season and played a lot of different positions,” he said.
“Every young bloke needs to play a few different positions to learn about the game so I didn't mind at all.
“It's intense and a lot faster and more skilful than you can prepare for.”

http://img296.imageshack.us/img296/9710/henderson6wn7.jpg

TheBrownDog
31 Oct 2008, 13:58
Hendo always says the right things in interviews... always.

Either his attitude is spot-on, or he's an accomplished bullshitter. :p

Lehmo87
31 Oct 2008, 18:10
Hendo always says the right things in interviews... always.

Either his attitude is spot-on, or he's an accomplished bullshitter. :p

Grandpa Simpson quote: A bit from column A and a bit from Column B

:D

Grimreepah
3 Nov 2008, 18:21
2008 End of Season Review

As a bottom aged, key position player, having missed most of the previous year through injury, and playing in a team with a lot of key position depth, Lachie Henderson was not expected to be seen much at senior level this year.

But Hendo impressed straight away with his attitude and his form in the NAB Cup, including kicking 3 goals on Mal Michael in the opening round. He made his debut in round 2 against the Pies but struggled to have an impact. He was in and out of the side all year, being a prominent player for Suncoast (including kicking a haul of 9) but not doing much in the seniors. But it was obvious the club holds him in high regard, and was keen to give him every opportunity to find his feet.

Lachie played in different positions - full forward for Suncoast and during the NAB Cup, and then swapping between a 3rd tall in defence and attack during the home and away season. Towards the end of the year, with the Lions’ ruck stocks severely diminished he even played a couple of games as a backup ruckman.

It is not yet clear where Henderson’s best position is or where the club is grooming him to play. For an 18 year old he has a good size and his body looks to be filling out and putting on muscle fairly well. Combine that with a good engine and good speed across the ground and he could play anywhere along the spine. He says his preferred position is CHF but Browny will be tough to dislodge. It looks at this stage that the opportunities for him will be in the backline.

http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/5370/hendersondq9.jpg

http://i34.tinypic.com/rmn3ic.jpg

maroon and blue
6 Nov 2008, 23:02
Lachie reminds me of Robbie Walls in his playing days. Definately a centre half forward. If I'm right it would mean Browny to full forward and Bradshaw to centre half back. (Which wouldn't be a bad thing for him as running forward would increase his longevity in the game, not having to twist so much on his dicky knee.).