View Full Version : Pick #51: Dean Putt Discussion Thread

rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:44
All discussion about Pick #51 Dean Putt in here please.

PHX
24 Nov 2007, 09:47
Would've prefered Gourdis as it doesnt seem like he's gone yet(??? because the afl tracker is ****ed.) but happy with Putt.

beaver fever
A tall athletic ruckman. what more could we want?

UpTheGuts
Superb!!!!!!!!

Weaver:

18. Richmond - Dean Putt

So what to footy clubs want in their XMas stocking every November? Porn and fireworks? No. Talls blokes who can run, jump, take a mark and kick it to blokes wearing the same jumper as them. Putt started the year in the ruck and was handy. Was moved out to a HFF where he was mobile and showed jaw-dropping handling at shoe-lace level for a bloke who is the right side of 202cm. He can kick. He can work as a Paul Salmon FF. Richmond need height but would not be keen on gorillas. Putt shapes as a ruck-forward who would be the perfect partner for the up-and-at-em Pattison. Temptation to address the forward and ruck weaknesses with one pick must appeal to a club reluctant to invest in traditional talls. Richmond have always been suckers for a good finals campaign.

Matt Burgan:

54 – ESSENDON – DEAN PUTT

Calder Cannons, VIC, Ruckman, April 10 1989, 202.5cm, 89.7kg

One of the best prospects from this year's state-based screening, Putt is a little difficult to place in the overall scenario, although in recent weeks he has firmed as a likely draft prospect. Essendon, with just two ruckmen on its list – David Hille and Jason Laycock – look set to grab a big man at some point. If it doesn't opt for Ben McEvoy or Tom Bellchambers earlier, it may pounce on Putt. Along with the Dons, Putt has also been linked with the Kangaroos, Melbourne, St Kilda and Collingwood.

Bio: Athletic tall with good speed and endurance combination, highlighted by 2.93sec for 20m and 14.1 Beep Test at the recent NAB AFL State Screening Session.

Tambo
Many were hoping to select him, anyone got details?

duckboy
24 Nov 2007, 09:48
He was Weaver's pick for our #18 selection, so we'd have to be happy with that.

rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 09:52
Weaver seems to have put him there purely because our next one wasn't until #51. Perhaps its through desperation that we pick up a ruckman, in Weaver's eyes.

Richmond FC
24 Nov 2007, 09:59
Im Guessing/Hoping that Putt means no Richards now.

rfctigerarmy
24 Nov 2007, 10:01
Then we can get Ben Cousins in the PSD! Oh, wait..

carmi99
24 Nov 2007, 10:10
He was Weaver's pick for our #18 selection, so we'd have to be happy with that.

No way in the world would any club even consider taking him so low. He was always going to go late in the draft. Much better option for you guys than Richards that's for sure!

mattdwyer
24 Nov 2007, 10:16
very very happy !!! much better option than guy richards

King Richard
24 Nov 2007, 10:17
You should be very pleased with Putty...great hands fantastic below his knees:thumbsu::thumbsu::)

adamania11
24 Nov 2007, 10:17
HOPEFULLY we wont consider Richards now...

Pugnosis
24 Nov 2007, 10:25
PUTTY!!! High five!

tigerboyz
24 Nov 2007, 10:36
very very happy !!! much better option than guy richards

Ditto.

dale_mighty_pies
24 Nov 2007, 10:48
You should be very pleased with Putty...great hands fantastic below his knees:thumbsu::thumbsu::)

Agreed, im a good mate of putties and i'm spewing Collingwood didn't pick him up.

He will address Richmonds lack of ruckman, will be used as a 2nd or 3rd option, and then will float up forward.

nugget_12
24 Nov 2007, 11:39
Matt Burgan said that when we called out Putt that Essendons table didn't look happy. :D love it!

King Richard
24 Nov 2007, 12:02
Matt Burgan said that when we called out Putt that Essendons table didn't look happy. :D love it!

Pissed me off..let me tell ya:thumbsd::(

jeff99_Au
24 Nov 2007, 13:35
great pick up, a fast tall over 200cm run something like a 2.2sec 20m at the draft camp.good hands can take a mark looks good at tiger land.very happy with our picks all spot covered. tall backman,future ruckman,another quailty midfielder

side note:
can't wait for round one when patto goes up against kreuzer both 2nd ruckman a patto killing him all over the ground.foley showing marc murphy how to play on ball. polo/jackson holding judd quite. looking good

BalmyArmy
24 Nov 2007, 13:58
Agreed, im a good mate of putties and i'm spewing Collingwood didn't pick him up.

He will address Richmonds lack of ruckman, will be used as a 2nd or 3rd option, and then will float up forward.

So what you're saying is Putty will fill a gap?

Ruanaidh
24 Nov 2007, 14:36
So what you're saying is Putty will fill a gap?Very good:thumbsu:

Tigerrific
24 Nov 2007, 14:40
Review from footydraft

http://www.footydraft.com/dean-putt/ (http://www.footydraft.com/dean-putt/)

Dean Putt – Calder Cannons
Ht: 202cm Wt: 90kg
Junior position – ruck
AFL position – ruck

Tall athletic ruckman who can push forward and take a mark. Is a left footer and his kicking is pretty good without being outstanding. Had some games where he had a heap of hit outs but others where he didn’t fire at all. Doesn’t always do a lot around the ground but he is very agile for a big man and his pace is good. Proved to be very dangerous up forward in a number of games.

Strengths: Pace and agility; Ability to push forward and kick goals; Marking

Weaknesses: Doesn’t always work hard enough around the ground; Should win more hit outs than he does; Kicking can be dodgy at times as far as hitting targets goes.

Question marks: Is he able to find something and improve his around the ground work?
Draft Prediction: Pick 30 plus. Someone will take him and hope he can find a few gears around the ground. His ability to take a big mark up forward makes him attractive.

Stats: Averaged 14 possessions and kicked 23 goals in 18 regular season games. Averaged 10 hit outs in those games.

Infamy
24 Nov 2007, 15:36
No way in the world would any club even consider taking him so low. He was always going to go late in the draft. Much better option for you guys than Richards that's for sure!

Actually not true, he was one of 9 players mentioned at the draft night earlier this week which we would consider for Pick 18.

ImaBeliever!
24 Nov 2007, 17:25
Miller mentioned Putt as being a power forward for us, rather than a ruck.

Sounds like he has some of the required features for a forward (pace, agility, height, marking skill), but what is his kicking like?

I was a bit dissapointed missing out on Tarrant as a power forward with presence, but maybe Putt can fill the post-richo gap.

sante
24 Nov 2007, 17:59
For the first time in a long time everyone seems happy with all our picks :):):)

richcogs
24 Nov 2007, 18:05
Only things we did wrong were paying pick 19 for McMahon (free in PSD). Not getting rid of Schultz and Meyer was the other one!

HBK619
24 Nov 2007, 22:43
For the first time in a long time everyone seems happy with all our picks :):):)
Wait till they play a game of footy, then the anger starts coming in.

I would like to see what we were like the day of the 2004 draft.

Ruanaidh
25 Nov 2007, 17:47
Only things we did wrong were paying pick 19 for McMahon (free in PSD). Not getting rid of Schultz and Meyer was the other one!McMahon was never going to leave the Dogs 'high and dry', pick 19 and 35 for McMahon and Morton was a good deal IMO. I agree with your second point we should have traded Shulz for pick 28. Danny has one last year to prove himself.

Crumden
25 Nov 2007, 23:27
Only things we did wrong were paying pick 19 for McMahon (free in PSD).
Think he was contracted.

PHX
25 Nov 2007, 23:51
Think he was contracted.

Reasonably certain McMahon was a free man.

Morton was definitely contracted though in related goings.

polakthetiger
26 Nov 2007, 00:26
Reasonably certain McMahon was a free man.

Definately was out of contract. Lets just say there can now be alot of pressure applied to perform!

Bojangles17
26 Nov 2007, 10:36
Interesting reading Puttys CV that his best performances were against Northern Knights on a number of occassions most recently a final, looks like we'll unleash Kruezers worst nightmare on him sooner than he'd hope:eek:

MrMalteser
26 Nov 2007, 11:18
If we are in a no win situation. chuck putty up full forward last 4 or 5 games and see what his got

we need to find a new Full forward sooner then later

nugget_12
27 Nov 2007, 10:17
Just watched his footage on the RFC website and he looks the goods.

Great pick up for 51!

Good skills, can kick a goal and can take a good strong mark! could probably play League footy next year too i reckon.....in fact all of our draftees from this year i believe could play next year.

marcmurphy3
28 Nov 2007, 16:56
Interesting reading Puttys CV that his best performances were against Northern Knights on a number of occassions most recently a final, looks like we'll unleash Kruezers worst nightmare on him sooner than he'd hope:eek:

LOL.
Kreuzer: 24 possesions, 10 marks, 1 goal, 20 hitouts >>>>>>>>>>>> Putt: 13 possesions, 6 marks, 2 goals, 4 hitouts

But seriously though what position do you think Putt will play? Seems to have played relatively little in the ruck so far but has spent more time as a power foward. Seems to have the tank and height for the ruck though.

I guess you guys probably lack depth in both those two particular areas so if he could become a best 22 player in either it would be great.

HBK619
28 Nov 2007, 18:19
LOL.
Kreuzer: 24 possesions, 10 marks, 1 goal, 20 hitouts >>>>>>>>>>>> Putt: 13 possesions, 6 marks, 2 goals, 4 hitouts

But seriously though what position do you think Putt will play? Seems to have played relatively little in the ruck so far but has spent more time as a power foward. Seems to have the tank and height for the ruck though.

I guess you guys probably lack depth in both those two particular areas so if he could become a best 22 player in either it would be great.
WOW! You proved us wrong, a guy picked up 50 players before Putt could only get 9 more disposals a few more marks 1 less goal and some more hitouts, certainly got a gem with Kreuzer.:rolleyes:

TheGeneral
28 Nov 2007, 21:43
WOW! You proved us wrong, a guy picked up 50 players before Putt could only get 9 more disposals a few more marks 1 less goal and some more hitouts, certainly got a gem with Kreuzer.:rolleyes:
Does that make Cotchin a hack since he was beaten in the U18 champs by a kid who wasn't even drafted? ;)

We wish we were Richmond! :rolleyes:

HBK619
28 Nov 2007, 23:13
Does that make Cotchin a hack since he was beaten in the U18 champs by a kid who wasn't even drafted? ;)

We wish we were Richmond! :rolleyes:
I am not the one trying to prove that Kreuzer is sooo much better than Putt, Putt is a long term player who was picked at 51 in what is called a weak draft, it is only natural that someone picked 50 players before him will be better, but showing stats of a relativly average game from Kreuzer doesn't float anyones boat, for example we don't even know how much time Putt spent in the ruck for that match, he had 4 hitouts but kicked 2 goals meaning he could have been playing up forward more than anything else.

duckboy
29 Nov 2007, 10:32
LOL.

This is a pretty fair post. Agreed a few Tigers have gotten excited about Putt having decent games against the Knights. I think you're spot on when you say that we'd like him to be $5 each way as a ruck/forward.

marcmurphy3
29 Nov 2007, 11:43
I am not the one trying to prove that Kreuzer is sooo much better than Putt, Putt is a long term player who was picked at 51 in what is called a weak draft, it is only natural that someone picked 50 players before him will be better, but showing stats of a relativly average game from Kreuzer doesn't float anyones boat, for example we don't even know how much time Putt spent in the ruck for that match, he had 4 hitouts but kicked 2 goals meaning he could have been playing up forward more than anything else.

I'm actually pretty sure that he didn't spend much time in the ruck that day but my point wasn't to put down Putt. It was more the point that a couple of people have brought up the PF as a match where Kreuzer was beaten by Putt and I was just proving that, it is a myth, especially considering they weren't really even directly opposed to eachother.

MrMalteser
29 Nov 2007, 11:46
ok relax get over it who cares

we wont see anything for another couple years anyway