acuguy
22 Jun 2008, 01:12
I suggest the wing opposite Notting

Grimreepah
22 Jun 2008, 01:14
http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/6294/collierbr9.jpg

mpal6
22 Jun 2008, 01:37
His handballs under pressure were the most impressive for me. Just looked so poised and not at all overawed. You can just tell that he's "got it".

It will be very interesting if Roe, Sherman and Johnstone make it back next week. Surely he remains in the team, but in what capacity?

IMO, The Roulette going on for one spot in our starting 22 all these weeks, with Stiller/Proud/Harding/Polks - now Collier has joined the game.

When Lappin is fit, its a different story. :).

Grimreepah
22 Jun 2008, 02:05
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23902429-5016169,00.html)

Damian Stannard

Co-captain Luke Power led the fightback in front of 29,964 spectators, but it was debutant Tom Collier who almost stole the show. Collier, on debut, grabbed 17 disposals and showed the composure of a player in his 100th outing.

First impressions of Lions debutant Collier were encouraging. With his first touch, the rangy defender strode confidently through the middle of the ground, but he misdirected his kick onto the chest of Ben Rutten. His second and third possessions were accurate passes that provided first-quarter goals for Anthony Corrie and Jonathan Brown.

Vipertooth
22 Jun 2008, 03:33
What can I say, its that Tasmanian blood :D:thumbsu:

GO SHERMAN, GO COLLIER :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

So wish Lynch was still playing, my fav player of all time!!!

Grimreepah
22 Jun 2008, 11:11
Link (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/matthews-hails-gritty-win-50948)

Another to impress was first-gamer Tom Collier, who had 17 possessions on debut.
"What he has got is a great ability with the ball in hand to make the right decision and he's a good, precise kick. It was a very good first game for him," Matthews said.

Tassie4ever
22 Jun 2008, 12:44
What can I say, its that Tasmanian blood :D:thumbsu:

GO SHERMAN, GO COLLIER :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

So wish Lynch was still playing, my fav player of all time!!!

You said it- not as good as having our own Tasmanian side, but getting there

irish
22 Jun 2008, 17:33
Yup, I was so excited by him at 3 quarter time I started texting people about him.

Best debut since Brennan.

told ya folks this kid is a star !! steal of the draft , may develop into the new leppa in time to come

xplo
22 Jun 2008, 18:30
told ya folks this kid is a star !! steal of the draft , may develop into the new leppa in time to come

Is there anything more likely to have the heart fluttering happily all the next day than an eye-catching debut from nowhere? I know Tom has always had wraps on him, but most of the selection talk around the magoos of late has centered on Proud, Hawk, Dalziell and Polka.

Ranks with finding a forgotten $50 in that jacket you haven't worn since last winter.

POBT
22 Jun 2008, 21:14
I would have been happy had we taken Collier with our 1st pick last year - I thought he was legitimate 1st round. That he was still around in the second round was unbelievable. Would have loved to pinch Whitecross at that pick but Tom was way too good to ignore. I posted at the time of the draft that two things excited me - the potential to play on ball and the fact that he had played a fair bit of senior footy. He looked like a midfielder to me last night. And his composure must have had something to do with the senior footy he played for Tassie.

Most impressive thing - he wasn't paralysed by the fear of making a mistake. I hope the coaching staff point that out to the other youngsters.

Warwick
22 Jun 2008, 21:24
Could you imagine him and Brennan playing on the wing together?

It would be a nightmare for opposition coaches.

Grimreepah
23 Jun 2008, 01:29
Hammo (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23903576-10389,00.html)

The options facing coach Leigh Matthews are sticking with what he knows and selecting a safe side each week that should earn a position between sixth and eighth, or rolling the dice with some kids who just may take the club to the next level? There's no better time than now to take a gamble.

Tom Collier is a good example of a young player who may improve this side with an extended run in the seniors.
The 18-year-old Tasmanian made his debut on Saturday night and his 17 possessions were on the sixth line of ball winners, impressive without being spectacular.
But it was the glimpses of how he will approach his football that was most encouraging, his instinct to break the lines and attack from defence.
"I thought he set it up well, he is a good kick of the footy, a good precise kick," Matthews said.
"It was certainly an encouraging first game, no doubt about that.
"Jason Roe wasn't available, and probably if he was Tom wouldn't have played, but you have got to take your half chances as a young player and if you do you get a second chance.
"You always want to give a young player a couple of games, we try to do that no matter how badly they go in their first game.
"But if you show early glimpses you'll get more than a couple."

http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/3942/collierke0.jpg

konstas_87
23 Jun 2008, 02:20
havent had time to get on and post til now, but i noticed it instantly how well Collier was playing.
he was making all the right decisions and his disposal was spot on.
VERY impressed:thumbsu:

acuguy
23 Jun 2008, 07:36
I was extremely impressed with his ability to use his hands in tight situations, this kid is good enough, keep playing him (without expecting 20 possession each week!)

Grimreepah
24 Jun 2008, 01:54
http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/5862/collierds2.jpg

Collier impressed many on debut, including Ash McGrath and James Polkinghorne.

xplo
24 Jun 2008, 09:11
Hammo (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23903576-10389,00.html)

http://img103.imageshack.us/img103/3942/collierke0.jpg

Y'know what I love there?

Hendo would be at least a year younger and only have played 5 or 6 more games, but is clearly 100% rapt for Tom and only too happy to show it.

The reality is, these two guys are to some degree in competition for the same spot/s, and it would be easy for Lachie to smile but stand back after Tom makes a classy debut, but he clearly didn't feel the need to.

That's leadership potential there -- worrying about the team welfare ahead of your own.

dlanod
24 Jun 2008, 09:46
Is it just that photo, or does Henderson really have half a head over Collier despite being 11 months younger?

Ray Button
24 Jun 2008, 11:00
Watching both Henderson and Collier play on Saturday (and earlier in the season for Hendo as well), I've always had the feeling that Henderson's lack of senior football experience showed - he will need a bit more time to adjust to playing with men rather than boys, and probably will spend more time in the Bs while he gets that experience and fills out a bit.

I reckon Colliers' coolness in trafic, and some of his handballs, showed the benefit of playing seniors in the past.

I've no doubt both will feature in the Lions' future.

xplo
24 Jun 2008, 13:46
Is it just that photo, or does Henderson really have half a head over Collier despite being 11 months younger?

From memory 196cm vs 192cm -- so may be not a half head, but Lachie is certainly a big unit for his age.

TheBrownDog
24 Jun 2008, 14:55

Was very surprised at the sponsors function on how big a unit Hendo is.

May have even grown a couple of centimetres since he was drafted.

Old Den
24 Jun 2008, 23:52

That is mainly posture - going on published heights there is only 4 cms between them,not even half a hand

Grimreepah
27 Jun 2008, 23:42
Link (http://www.livenews.com.au/Articles/2008/06/27/Johnstone_Bradshaw_locked_in_for_Lions)

Tom Collier retains his place after a convincing senior debut last weekend.

"One thing you know, you play 10 first gamers and one of them might do okay and nine will be out of their depth initially," Matthews said.

"But great credit to Tommy he did enough in his first game to make us think we are going to keep going with him - we are very pleased with him."

Grimreepah
4 Jul 2008, 11:46
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=62679)

One for the future:
He’s only played two games but Tom Collier has shown with his 29 possessions that he’ll fit right in the Lions backline. The Tasmanian product looks to have a natural instinct to turn defence into attack and take the game on with the ball in his hand. With further experience and tutelage from “young veterans” like Josh Drummond and Joel Macdonald, Collier could be a fixture in the back half for years to come.

http://img160.imageshack.us/img160/6775/collier4dh3.jpg

Grimreepah
30 Oct 2008, 08:28
2008 End of Season Review

After being overlooked in the 06 draft Tom Collier was one of the better prospects in the 07 draft and Brisbane would have felt lucky to grab him with their 2nd round pick.

He played all the pre season games and looked like he might debut early in the year but suffered a hamstring injury just before round 1. Upon his return he was impressive for Suncoast, providing plenty of rebound out of defence.

An injury to Jason Roe saw Collier make his debut in round 12 and he looked very accomplished picking up 17 touches. He ran straight, his skills looked pretty sharp, and he looked comfortable with the pace of the game.
However he probably got worked out a little and in the following games he began to get exposed a bit in the air. He does not have great upper body strength and didn't seem to read the flight of the ball too well. It was also evident that he was getting bumped off the ball fairly easily. The exposure of his defensive limitations perhaps stifled his offensive output, and he was dropped after 5 games. But Collier continued to impress at Suncoast and he returned to the seniors in round 22.

All in all he looks a likely type. He's got endurance, pace, height, he can use the ball effectively and he likes to run and carry. His aerial weaknesses suggest he may not be best suited to a key position role (at least in the short term), but rather on the wing or half back where he can run with the ball.

http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/7416/collierxf4.jpg

http://i37.tinypic.com/15my6oj.jpg

Stocka
30 Oct 2008, 22:37
Definitely a prospect on the wing I reckon. Reminds me of Lappin in some ways (but so did Stiller a few years ago!).