Name: Tom Collier
Height: 192cm
Weight: 86kg
State: Tasmania
Club(s): Lauderdale
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 09:08
A few quotes.
AFL teams are going to have very different ideas for where they want Collier to play. Several teams don't have a real full back and Collier could solve that problem. He reads the play very well at half back, so he could fill a role there. He can also run and a spot on the wing, where he can mark in space and also kick goals on the run, would also suit him.
- AFL Insider
Neither fish nor fowl? He might be a CHB or he might be a ruck-rover, but then blokes like Murray Vance came and went with that resume. Collier is a bit of a bull who rushes at the spillages and pounds long bombs forward. Not one to waste too much time with fancy stuff like thinking his way through a crowd or making decisions. Has been capable in senior company with Tassie. Fits the AFL template of tall athlete with passable skills who can be improved with coaching. Roos like to draft talls early (or trade early picks for them) and Collier shaping as a backman suits with Hansen earmarked for the front half.
- Weaver
I think Collier would be a great fit for the Lions. He offers them a good defensive player with the ability to play big or small and who has a great run off and line breaking ability that is a need area for the Lions. He could be running off the Lions half back line much in the way Leppa and Chris Johnson did in the premiership years. People talk of Rance as being the best CHB prospect in this draft but for me that player is Collier.
There were two guys who stood out head and shoulders above the rest of Div 2 players as far as being draft prospects go and they were Rioli and Collier. Collier played on ball or at half back and looks like he has all the talent and skills to be a star at the next level. At 192 he could legitimately play at CHB at AFL level but with his skills and engine he could also play in the midfield much in the same way as Chad Cornes does for Port. At the Champs was a very physical presence especially charging through packs when he had the ball. He is a very strong, well balanced, elusive runner with a fantastic burst of speed all of which makes him extremely difficult to tackle. This is all the more the case when he is playing in the middle against smaller opponents. At the Champs he had some jaw dropping runs through the middle leaving defenders sprawling in his wake.
As far as his midfield work goes for a tall guy he works well in and under and got his fair share of hard balls. When he has the ball he is poised and balanced in his disposal. He has good vision and his option taking is usually first class. He regularly set up goals for others at the Champs. At the Champs he had a hard tag most of the time and still managed to pick up 23 possessions a match and most of them were pure class. Collier also ended up with 11 contested possessions a match which was fourth best and even better considering he split time between the backline and midfield. He was a leader of the Tasmanian team and the guy they looked to to lead the way for them. He tends at this stage to not work overhead much and I haven’t seen enough of him to know whether this is a problem in his game or not. He has improved enormously over the last year after being overlooked in last year’s draft. He had been playing senior football for Tasmania in the VFL at half back and has shown discipline and composure in that role at that level. He was injured toward the end of the year with a finger problem but I don’t see this hurting his draft prospects at all. This is one guy that I would love to see at Brisbane and at 25 I don’t have to think twice.
- Quigley
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 09:10
Link (http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,21657479-13222,00.html)
Tom plays patient waiting game
Article from: The Mercury
SEAN STEVENSON
May 02, 2007 12:00am
TOM Collier's future may be in the hands of AFL talent scouts and recruiting managers but he is doing his best to concentrate on the here and now.
"I just want to enjoy my football," the young Tasmanian Devils defender said yesterday.
"I am optimistic about being drafted this year but I am not really thinking about it at the moment."
Those in the know were tipping Collier as a potential draftee last year, despite the fact that he was the third youngest player to attend the draft camp in Canberra.
But Collier, who had another year in the system ahead of him anyway, said the initial disappointment of not being selected was quickly overtaken by positives.
"It has probably worked out better for me in a way," he said.
"If I had gone to Victoria for example, I might not have played VFL straight away."
Collier said the experience of attending the draft camp had already made him a better player, as had the faith Devils coach Daryn Cresswell has shown in him.
The 17-year-old from Seven Mile Beach made a promising VFL debut against Geelong in round two and, after missing out because of team balance in round three, made another useful contribution against Frankston last Saturday.
"I have been pretty happy with the way I have started," he said.
"`Cressa' has helped me a lot with the things I have to improve.
"The main thing is getting confidence back into my game because last year I struggled a bit with injury."
Collier is also working on adding some bulk to his 192cm, 85kg frame.
But tall and athletic, Collier fits the mould of the modern footballer and is also a rare breed -- he has an appetite for playing in the backline.
"I seem to play my best football down back," he said.
The Devils are hoping to end a three-game losing streak when they take on the winless Box Hill at Bellerive on Saturday.
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/5919/collier3dh5.jpg
Link (http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,22523596-13222,00.html)
AFL plunders Tassie talent
JAMES BRESNEHAN
October 03, 2007 12:00am
FIVE of Tasmania's finest young footballers face the most important interviews of their football careers in Canberra from today when they face more than 100 AFL recruiting managers and coaches at the 14th annual draft camp.
Mariners players Tom Collier, Aaron Joseph, Jaye Bowden, Tom Bellchambers and Alex Grima are among a record field of 79 draft camp attendees, all
hoping to be selected in the AFL draft on November 24.
The "fab five" will jump, sprint and sweat their way through three days of the toughest physical tests sports scientists could devise to gauge speed, endurance and strength.
At the head of Tasmania's Class of '07 is Lauderdale 18-year-old Collier, who was
yesterday rated "a certainty" to be drafted by the man in charge of the draft camp, AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan.
"It's hard to know where Tom will go, the clubs will decide that, but I'd say he's a certainty to get drafted," Sheehan said.
"He was at the draft camp last year and got overlooked.
"But the year that he's had in terms of maturing and developing, Tom has come on so well that he is now an outstanding AFL prospect."
At the start of the 2007 season, Mariners coach Andrew Mellor thought the pickings in Tasmanian football were rather slim.
"We thought Tom Collier was the only obvious draft choice, but by the end of the season we now have a realistic chance of getting four guys drafted," Mellor said.
"That could be a mixture of the AFL draft and the rookie draft."
Collier and Joseph were named in the All-Australian team at the national under-18 championships in Melbourne this year. When available, Collier was a regular for the Devils in the VFL, and when given the chance, Joseph and Grima impressed AFL recruiters with their VFL form.
Bellchambers averaged 31 hit-outs per game for the Mariners this season, and 34 per game at the national championships, and produced a five-goal best-on-ground performance for the Allies against Victoria in Melbourne last Thursday.
Bowden's footy smarts, goalkicking and ability to run through the midfield make him a player of interest to AFL scouts.
"All the playing has been done, it's a chance now for the clubs to get up close and personal with each of the players and get to know them as a person and as athletes," Sheehan said.
He expects 50 of the 79 will get drafted.
Link (http://www.nowuc.com.au/news.php?extend.499)
Tom of all trades looks to ply his trade in AFL football
Monday 13 August 2007 - 21:44
By Roy Ward
Tasmania’s Tom Collier has a problem with the thought of playing in the AFL.
He can’t make up his mind which position to play.
“I reckon I could play in the midfield,” Collier said. “Even across halfback at AFL level, maybe even up forward as well.”
Collier, 18, has moved beyond the question of whether he will be drafted this year after claiming All-Australian honours with his standout performance at this year’s AFL under-18 National Championships.
“It is a massive honour,” Collier said. “I am stoked, I couldn’t be happier. I was always a chance to be all-Australian and a few people had mentioned to me that they thought I was a chance but you can’t think about it.”
The 192cm Tasmanian was put into the midfield for the championships even though he had become comfortable on halfback for Tasmania’s team in Victoria’s VFL competition, even getting a few mentions in the team’s best players.
But once the under-18s started, he used the confidence he had taken from playing against men to his advantage.
“It helped me immensely to play seniors this year,” Collier said. “It has just given me confidence to take the ball and run with it. It has taught me that I can play against men…that I can play at that level.”
Collier had to also take a more senior role at the championships; one which he believes has helped him greatly.
“I think I showed a bit of leadership in the second half of our last game,” Collier said. “I think this carnival has given me greater leadership skills.”
Collier’s powerful running and ability to break tackles surprised many observers at the championships although not his coach Andrew Mellor.
“He is the complete package,” Mellor said. “He runs like a midfielder, has very good disposal and is a hard worker. He could even play a key position. I dare say he will be a top 10 pick this year [in the AFL draft].”
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=52264)
NAB AFL Draft Camp: Ready and willing
8:11 AM Mon 8 October, 2007
By Matt Burgan,
TASMANIA’S leading draft prospect this year, tall defender Tom Collier, believes he wasn't ready to be drafted in 2006, but is now ready for the challenge of being selected by an AFL club in the upcoming November NAB AFL Draft.
The 18-year-old was a genuine contender last year, although in the back half of the draft, but was overlooked as he was a bottom-age player. Being overlooked has paid dividends with Collier producing a fine year in both the junior and senior competitions.
"I found it to be a good season. I played the first half [with the Tasmanian Devils] in the VFL and it improved my game and I played for Tassie in the [under-18] championships and captained the side there and it's been a pretty solid season," he said.
"It was good playing with the Kangaroos guys too [with the Tasmanian Devils] in the VFL, so it was good to compare yourself with them, although there was a lot of young blokes playing their first season as well.
"Last year I was a bit of a chance [to be drafted], but I wasn't ready to go, but this year I've had a year playing with bigger bodies in the VFL and it's helped my game and areas I needed to improve on."
Collier said he was honoured to be seen as Tasmania's best young prospect this year, despite feeling some greater expectations coming from within his state.
He believed he had matured this year, which had helped his footy considerably.
"I've matured this year and I knew what I had to do to go to the next level. I went off and did that and now if you get drafted, you've got to move anywhere, so it won't worry me at all and it'll be pretty exciting," Collier said.
The 192cm tall from Acton, near Hobart, said he was best suited as a defender, although his versatility is a key attribute of his game.
"Half-back has been where I've played my best footy this year, but I can also play on the last line on a tall or a small as well and I played in the midfield during the championships. I've also played forward."
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/189/collierzu8.jpg
Quotes (http://blackwhitestripes.scribblewiki.com/TomCollier)
Kevin Sheehan:
Tall defender who averaged 23 disposals and showed he could run the lines throughout the championships, providing rebound from the back half. Much improved player who has already been prominent for Tasmanian Devils in the VFL. He was ranked fourth overall in contested possessions, with 11 per match.
Anonymous AFL Recruiter 1, during 2007 U18 National Championships:
When he was moved onto the ball, he made a big impact in the second quarter. This got Tasmania back into the game. Coming into the championships, Collier had played in the senior state game for Tasmania against Queensland. He was widely considered to be the player to watch entering these championships for them.
Anonymous AFL Recruiter 2, during 2007 U18 National Championships:
Collier was really good for three quarters, but probably dropped off a bit in the last term. He plays a rugby-style of game, he's not a great decision-maker, but he is developing a strong body.
Andrew Mellor (Tasmanian under 18 coach):
Tommy's a really bright prospect and a potential top 10 selection. There was interest in him last year but he's added that hard edge to his footy 12 months on and he showed it in the VFL this year. At 192cm he uses the ball, runs well, carries the footy ... the complete package really and we are hopeful he is drafted quite high.
Alan McConnell (AIS-AFL Academy High Performance Coach):
Tom has played defence with the Tasmanian team but he has also played in the midfield both on the ball and as a wingman and even as a forward pushing up onto the ball, so he’s actually played a variety of roles. His athleticism makes him ideally suited to be the third tall in defence rather than the key defensive player; his capacity to be able to run and carry the ball is quite pronounced. He is a right footer with a lovely kicking technique and can kick a long ball. He gets plenty of the ball, so that tells you that he can read the play effectively.
He’s improved enormously over the last 12 months, he was considered by some as a late pick last year and it just shows how much the boys can develop in a year. He’s gone from a possible last round pick as a 17-year-old to a prospective first round pick.
Emma Quayle (The Age)
Collier has played £ and played well £ at both ends, but I'd be picking him as a key defender who can run and attack and read the play well.
He should get picked around the middle of the first round.
BigCat2
24th November 2007, 09:11
Shotgun on the bandwagon. :D Quigley's probably driving it?
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 09:14
http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/1205/collier2ax7.jpg
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 09:14
How athletic is he Quigley.
Could he potentially spend time on-ball or a wing?
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 09:15
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3743/collier3ag3.jpg
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 09:17
Link (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=53227)
Top draft prospects: Tall defenders
10:12 AM Wed 14 November, 2007
By Jason Phelan
Tom Collier – Tassie Mariners, TAS, 192.3cm, 83.7kg, DOB 25/3/89
Honours
NAB AFL All-Australian Under-18 Team 2007
Tasmania representative - 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships
AIS-AFL Academy graduateNAB AFL National Draft Camp highlights
Agility – 8.22 sec (4th overall)
3km time trial – 10:38 (4th overall)
Handspan – 25.0cm (7th overall)Alan McConnell, AIS-AFL Academy High Performance Coach says:
“Tom has played defence with the Tasmanian team but he has also played in the midfield both on the ball and as a wingman and even as a forward pushing up onto the ball, so he’s actually played a variety of roles. His athleticism makes him ideally suited to be the third tall in defence rather than the key defensive player; his capacity to be able to run and carry the ball is quite pronounced. He is a right footer with a lovely kicking technique and can kick a long ball. He gets plenty of the ball, so that tells you that he can read the play effectively.
“He’s improved enormously over the last 12 months, he was considered by some as a late pick last year and it just shows how much the boys can develop in a year. He’s gone from a possible last round pick as a 17-year-old to a prospective first round pick.”
POBT
24th November 2007, 10:13
Shotgun on the bandwagon. :D Quigley's probably driving it?
No way - he was my man. Quigley liked him but couldn't quite get over his Rioli fetish!
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 10:21
Link (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5469)
AFL Top 30 Draft Prospects
3. Tom Collier, Tasmania, 25 March 1989, 192.3cm, 83.7kg.
An extremely versatile player. Capable of playing key position at either end of the ground and has the athleticism to play on ball. Captained Tasmania at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships and received All Australian honours. At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Tom recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. From Lauderdale FC
Quigley
24th November 2007, 10:58
No way - he was my man. Quigley liked him but couldn't quite get over his Rioli fetish!
Correct POBT. With us overlooking Rioli I have to concentrate on driving the Hanley bandwagon. I happy to take a rest every now and then though and enjoy the ride on the Collier bandwagon.
From Inside Football
"Tommy's a really bright prospect and a potential top 10 selection. There was interest in him last year but he's added that hard edge to his footy 12 months on and he showed it in the VFL this year. At 192cms he uses the ball, runs well, carries the footy...the complete package really and we are hopeful he is drafted quite high." - Tasmania under 18 coach Andrew Mellor.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 11:01
Link
(http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53749)
RD 2 SELECTION, PICK No. 25 OVERALL – TOM COLLIER
Original Club: Tassie Mariners (TAS)
DOB: 25/03/1989
Height: 192.3cm
Weight: 83.7kg
Position: Tall Defender
An extremely versatile and athletic player capable of playing key positions at either end of the ground. Known as a quick and much-improved defender who runs the lines and can win his own ball. Captained Tasmania with a consistent 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships winning All Australian honours.
At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Collier recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. He also showed his aerobic qualities with a time of 10:38 for the 3km time trial, ranking him fourth at the Camp. His handspan is 25cm placing him equal seventh overall. AIS-AFL Academy graduate from Lauderdale FC. A highly regarded top 20 selection, he could easily have been a round one draft pick.
NAB U18 Championships Averages: Kicks: 12, Handballs: 11, Disposals: 23, Marks: 5, Goals: 1.
Alan McConnell, AIS-AFL Academy High Performance Coach says:
“Tom has played defence with the Tasmanian team. But he has also played in the midfield both on the ball and as a wingman, and even as a forward pushing up onto the ball. So he’s actually played a variety of roles. His athleticism makes him ideally suited to be the third tall in defence rather than the key defensive player. His capacity to be able to run and carry the ball is quite pronounced.”
“He is a right footer with a lovely kicking technique and can kick a long ball. He gets plenty of the ball too so that tells you that he can read the play effectively. He’s improved enormously over the last 12 months. He was considered by some as a late pick last year and it just shows how much the boys can develop in a year. He’s gone from a possible last round pick as a 17 year-old to a prospective first round pick in 2008.”
Quigley
24th November 2007, 11:01
How athletic is he Quigley.
Could he potentially spend time on-ball or a wing?
Collier is very athletic and he could play up on the wing I think. I am not sure if he could do it full time at the moment but it is certainly an option. I would expect him to start out as third tall defender / HFF and develop from there. Make no mistake he is a very good defender and the run he could give us would be a weapon.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 11:20
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/general/draft-day-is-like-christmas-for-16-afl-clubs/2007/11/17/1194767026939.html?page=fullpage#contentSwap2)
Draft day is like Christmas for 16 AFL clubs
Emma Quayle | November 17, 2007 - 10:35PM
The following is not a phantom draft, rather how she rates her top 25 players from this year's pool.
17. Tom Collier
(Tassie Devils. 18, 192cm, 84kg) Collier has played £ and played well £ at both ends, but I'd be picking him as a key defender who can run and attack and read the play well.
He should get picked around the middle of the first round.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 11:30
Burgan's phantom draft
2006 (http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=35871)
70 - BRISBANE LIONS - TOM COLLIERTassie Mariners, 25 March 1989, 191.6cm, 83.5kg
Collier looms as a potential late selection in the draft and has been linked with the Brisbane Lions at No.70. He is not without a chance of featuring earlier in the draft, given his height and athletic attributes.Highlights/achievements: Athletic, versatile player who is a very long kick. Has good speed which showed representing Australia at U17 level versus Ireland this year.
2007 (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NABAFLDraftBlogwithMattBurgan/BlogArticle/tabid/8123/Default.aspx?newsId=53419)
18 – RICHMOND – TOM COLLIER Tassie Mariners, TAS, Tall defender, March 25 1989, 192.3cm, 83.7kg
Collier is highly regarded as a top 20 selection and has been linked with the Brisbane Lions (No.8), Sydney (No.11) and Hawthorn (No.12). The Hawks are super keen, but with Jack Grimes, Alex Rance and Cyril Rioli also in their mix, it complicates Collier’s situation. He will be right in Richmond's thinking, however, as it looks to bolster its key defensive stocks. The Tigers are also understood to be keen on Patrick Veszpremi, Addam Maric and Andy Otten at this choice as well. David Gourdis is another who can't be dismissed.
Bio: An extremely versatile player. Capable of playing key position at either end of the ground and has the athleticism to play on ball. Captained Tasmania at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships and won All-Australian honours. At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Collier recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. From Lauderdale FC.
Right club, wrong year.
AFL Insider (http://www.**********.net/2007-afl-draft-prospect-tom-collier/)
2007 AFL Draft Prospect: Tom Collier
July 22nd 2007 13:14
Height: 192
Weight: 86
State: Tasmania
Club(s): Lauderdale
AFL Positions:
AFL teams are going to have very different ideas for where they want Collier to play. Several teams don't have a real full back and Collier could solve that problem. He reads the play very well at half back, so he could fill a role there. He can also run and a spot on the wing, where he can mark in space and also kick goals on the run, would also suit him.
Perfect Fit For:
Richmond don't have Gaspar now and some of their defenders are undersized and played out of position. Collier would help them a lot. It would also continue the Tasmanian tradition that Richmond have developed over the years, and with Riewoldt at one end and Collier at the other they would have some exciting and talented players to rebuild around. But Collier is unlikely to be Richmond's first round pick, as they wouldn’t want to use a top 3 pick on him, and he may not be around for their priority and second round picks.
**********.net prediction:
Maybe somewhere around the second half of the first round. Hawthorn don't have any real draft need, so they might draft Collier and use him all over the ground. In the future, they could put him in the middle with Bailey, Hodge and Mr Kennedy Version 3.0 and have a huge size advantage over their opponents. But next season, it would be expected that Collier would be a tall defensive option. If Hawthorn want to grab another Tasmanian prospect, then Collier is the one they should go for.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 11:50
Some more Phantom Draft profiles (following on from Browndog's post)
Official (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=393244)
#25 - Tom Collier - Tall Defender - Tassie Mariners - 192cm, 84kgs
I think Collier would be a great fit for the Lions. He offers them a good defensive player with the ability to play big or small and who has a great run off and line breaking ability that is a need area for the Lions. He could be running off the Lions half back line much in the way Leppa and Chris Johnson did in the premiership years. People talk of Rance as being the best CHB prospect in this draft but for me that player is Collier.
There were two guys who stood out head and shoulders above the rest of Div 2 players as far as being draft prospects go and they were Rioli and Collier. Collier played on ball or at half back and looks like he has all the talent and skills to be a star at the next level. At 192 he could legitimately play at CHB at AFL level but with his skills and engine he could also play in the midfield much in the same way as Chad Cornes does for Port. At the Champs was a very physical presence especially charging through packs when he had the ball. He is a very strong, well balanced, elusive runner with a fantastic burst of speed all of which makes him extremely difficult to tackle. This is all the more the case when he is playing in the middle against smaller opponents. At the Champs he had some jaw dropping runs through the middle leaving defenders sprawling in his wake.
As far as his midfield work goes for a tall guy he works well in and under and got his fair share of hard balls. When he has the ball he is poised and balanced in his disposal. He has good vision and his option taking is usually first class. He regularly set up goals for others at the Champs. At the Champs he had a hard tag most of the time and still managed to pick up 23 possessions a match and most of them were pure class. Collier also ended up with 11 contested possessions a match which was fourth best and even better considering he split time between the backline and midfield. He was a leader of the Tasmanian team and the guy they looked to to lead the way for them. He tends at this stage to not work overhead much and I haven’t seen enough of him to know whether this is a problem in his game or not. He has improved enormously over the last year after being overlooked in last year’s draft. He had been playing senior football for Tasmania in the VFL at half back and has shown discipline and composure in that role at that level. He was injured toward the end of the year with a finger problem but I don’t see this hurting his draft prospects at all. This is one guy that I would love to see at Brisbane and at 25 I don’t have to think twice.
Couch Coach (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=393275)
Draft Pick No 12 Hawthorn
Best Available IMO: Tom Collier
Best Club Fit: Hawthorn are lucky that they don't need much but they do need a tall defender, Tom Collier
Possible Options: David Myers or Tayte Pears
Outside Chances: Scott Simpson, a forward line of Franklin, Williams, Boyle and Simpson would be dangerous and would free up Roughhead for the backline, also Addam Maric as a crumbing forward option
Hope to Slide: Alex Rance
Selection: Tom Collier (Key Def / Ruck Rover) - 25 March 1989, 192cm 86kg. Tasmania/Lauderdale
Reasons For: Fills clubs need, is versatile so can plug gaps and at the same time gives greater ties to Tasmania
Reasons Against: Was overlooked last year, decision making
Stats: 8.22 Agility
Foj1 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391568)
22. West Coast- Tom Collier 192cm 86kg Tasmania
Super athletic tallish utility who continues to develop. I think the Eagles will take the best available and players who will fit into the way they play and this bloke would be extremely difficult to match up on- especially at Subiaco. I am undecided where this bloke will ultimately play at AFL level but he has the tools to be a good one.
timmeh (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391478)
12. Tom Collier (Lauderdale/TASMANIA) – Hawthorn
Position: Key Defender/Ruck Rover
Height: 192cm Weight: 86kg
Strong marking and mobile defender who can play on ball. Was overlooked in the draft last year but played superbly to increase his chances of getting drafted this year. Provides good rebound from defence, ranked 4th overall for contested possessions in the championships. He has pretty good foot skills and can find the ball in packs. Decision making could do with some work but very hand in that he can play rover or as a key defender.
Collier fits the Hawthorn running style of play and their recent type of talls drafted in Thorp, Jarryd Morton and Birchall. Hawthorn will be looking at Rioli and Myers here too.
Bulldogs 6 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391549)
14. Tom Collier- Melbourne. Mobile Defender who has good enough skills and good work rate to play midfield. Whilst in defence he is an excellent rebound player with superb foot skills. Extremely handy player to have. (Key Back- Mid). Height: 192cm Weight: 86kg
Arden Street (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=391148)
11. Tom Collier (Sydney)
I think Tom Collier would be a good fit for Sydney. Collier showed great form in the VFL and at the the championships this year then he was struck down with injury for the rest of the year. Although some people are questioning if he will make it as a KPD at 192cm, i think he could develop into a good player and play a role similar to Matthew Scarlett.
Other players they may consider here are Chris Masten, David Myers, Ben McEvoy, Pat Vezpremi, Alex Rance, Cyrill Rioli, David Gourdis.
Alberton Magpie (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=389672)
Pick 11 (Sydney) – Tom Collier – Sydney have a good forward line but lets face it its old and structured around veterans Barry Hall and Michael O’Loughlin, they need a new target in the forward line that will be their for the next 10 years and Tom will be a good prospect for Sydney.
ridethewind (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=385862)
11 Sydney: Tom Collier (192cm, 86kg)
The Swans are in an interesting situation, they might still have a year or two as a contender before some of their big stars retire, so they might trade for another veteran or could keep their pick but add someone who can make an impact right away. Collier has senior experience at VFL level, and can step right into the lineup with his new AFL club in round 1.
If Kennelly and Malceski are used more in the middle of the ground by Sydney, Collier could take a spot in the back line. Collier is a very versatile defender so he can play on nearly any type of forward, and if he is asked to he can also attack from the back, so at the Swans he would be very similar to Barry and C Bolton, and even a bit taller than those two.
Collier also has shown he can play in the middle of the action, so if Sydney used Collier and Goodes in the middle they would have a lot of size.
Weaver - mid year draft prospects (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=347430)
11. Tom Collier (Key Def / Ruck Rover)
Has a reasonable record at CHB where he is a good stopper. What will attract AFL clubs is his ability to influence games when cast as a makeshift ruck-rover. He has good foot skills (on the right at least), can run with the ball, and can find it in the packs. Decision making can get better but defenders who can make a spoil and then switch into midfield-like mode are pretty important in modern footy. Might drop a little because he was elligable last year and overlooked, so there are some question marks there.
Snoop Dog (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=393907)
# 23 Essendon – Tom Collier (Tasmania / 192cm / 86kg)
Good choice for the Dons here. Lovely player who is a tallish midfielder and has been a standout for Tas at champ level for 2 years. Surprisingly did not get taken last year so one wonders what he was missing. Still it was a high quality draft and its happened before to good players (eg Swallow). Plays HB and the middle and is very much in the Jobe Watson style but importantly his foot skills are a lot better. Has the ability to turn games and brings his teammates right into the mix which is important. Can also go forward and kick goals.
If Dangerfield lasted to here then I suspect he might be a Don or alternatively someone like De Boer or McGinnity could very easily be in the mix.
Mojon95 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=394706)
22) West Coast – Tom Collier – 192cm – 86kg – Tassie Mariners.
Collier can play both Mid and Back, but will develope as maily a hard running backman.
Go Dons (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=395188)
17. Geelong: Tom Collier CHB/MID 192cm 86kg Tasmania
I expect that the Cats will look for a key defender to back up their slightly small stocks. Collier could just as easily end up a midfielder, but is still more of a CHB at 192cm. Had very good carnival with Tasmania and a good season in the VFL which I expect will make him attractive to the Cats. I expect the Cats to overlook Pears for Collier on the basis that Collier’s taller and more proven.
Best Available: Collier Next in Line: Selwood Smokey: Gaertner Hopeful Slider: -
TOA
(http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=395295)
Pick 26 – Sydney – Tom COLLIER (12/03/89) 192/84
Collier is a top-age tall who played well in the VFL this year after being overlooked for last years draft. This traditionally means a kid will fall further than expected so it will be interesting to watch him on draft day. He has shown an ability to play CHB but will probably turn out to be a running defender/midfielder at AFL level which will suit the Swans game style. Collier has also attracted the interest of the Lions, Roos and Melbourne so he could easily go in the preceding selections. Alternatives for the Swans include a young tall forward like Robbie Tarrant,
TFLUA Tiger (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=395629)
Pick 18 > Richmond - Tom Collier - 192cm 86kgs - Tasmania (Key Back/Mid)
Big, big fan of Collier. My favourite player in the draft almost went to the Cats with the previous pick and I am very pleased to be able to pick him up for my beloved Tigers. Collier is extremely athletic and agile for a boy his size and has potential to play as a Key Back, and also in the midfield. Has unbelievable pace and the ability to tear games open. Has good foot skills and the ability to go forward and kick goals if needed. Could well end up as a stopper at CHB for the Tigers in years to come.
Rizzo (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=396831)
Pick #12 - Hawthorn – Tom Collier – Lauderdale – Tall Back
Tall defenders seem the order of the year, and the Hawks will look towards Tom Collier as their solution. Tom is a big man who acts like a midfielder and has great athleticism. Will fit into the Hawks game plan extremely well and will be seen as a running defender.
Reg Hickey (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=397150)
#17 Geelong – Tom Collier
The Cats don’t have any real deficiencies, and should be thinking about succession plans. Their three oldest players are tall rebounding defenders in Milburn, Harley and Scarlett, so they would be licking their lips to pick up Collier here.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 12:03
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53749)
Collier is a 193cm quick defender who won All Australian honours playing with Tasmania in the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships.
“We rated Tom as a first-round pick,” Allan said. “He had an outstanding carnival in the under 18s and can play centre half-back, on the back flank or in the midfield. He is very versatile and a great athlete.”
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53752)
Allan was pleasantly surprised to see young Tasmanian defender Tom Collier available at pick 25 in the second round.
“We didn’t think [Collier] would be there. I thought he was one of the outstanding players of the [under-18] carnival and Matty Armstrong, who works for us down in Tassie, is just a massive wrap on him.”
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 13:52
Here is some video footage of Collier in action. (no.16) (mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl1/OnDemand/Preseason08/tomcollier.wmv)
Superb contested mark.
Sherminator.
24th November 2007, 15:21
http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/1205/collier2ax7.jpg
Taking on VFL premiership player and leading goal kicker? Can someone spunky! :D
Sherminator.
24th November 2007, 15:22
Of all the Brisbane Lions 2007 draftees, Collier will be the most likely to step up and play immediately.
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 15:24
Of all the Brisbane Lions 2007 draftees, Collier will be the most likely to step up and play immediately.
Yeah, he's a good size. Looks ready to go. The extra year did him the world of good.
dmc333
24th November 2007, 15:34
He was on the news down here last week.
Early nickname- Ronaldinho
Wilbur35
24th November 2007, 15:52
Congrats guys, you have done very well to get him as low as 25.
Have seen him play a few games in the VFL, and he looked at home playing against AFL-listed players and was often playing against bigger opponents due to Tasmania's lack of key position players.
He is agile, quick, tall and seems to make the right decision under pressure. A great pick up.
He is mobile enough to play as a tall winger, and can play forward as well.
dmc333
24th November 2007, 16:25
Collier just on the news, beer in hand. :D
Old man seemed pretty excited, Collier seemed like a pretty cool customer though.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 19:27
3km time trial
1. Joel Smouha – Mt Gravatt (10.23)
2. Rhys Palmer – East Fremantle (10.25)
3. Cale Morton – Claremont (10.32)
4. Tom Collier – Tassie Mariners (10.38)
5. Hugh Sandilands – Oakleigh Chargers (10.42)
6. Nick Murphy – South Adelaide (10.48)
7. Clayton Hinkley – North Ballarat Rebels (10.49)
8. Matthew Lobbe – Eastern Ranges (10.49)
9. Scott Selwood – Bendigo Pioneers (10.49)
10. Matthew Kreuzer – Northern Knights (10.51)
Agility Test
1. Aaron Joseph 7.91 sec
2. Lachlan Hill 8.05 sec
3. Clayton Hinkley 8.07 sec
4. Tom Collier 8.22 sec
5. Jackson Hall 8.26 sec
6. Andy Otten 8.29 sec
7. Scott Selwood 8.32 sec
8. Brendan Whitecross 8.36 sec
9. Callan Ward 8.38 sec
10. Steven Gaertner 8.39 sec
BigCat2
24th November 2007, 19:35
Sorry POBT, my apologies.
I've been very very excited about Collier this year, and thought many times "if only we had picked him up last year...".
Well, those demons can be put to rest now. :D
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 23:58
Link (http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,22808019-13222,00.html)
Collier's wish to be wanted
Article from: The Mercury
ADAM SMITH
November 23, 2007 12:00am
IT might be second time around for AFL hopeful Tom Collier, but draft day doesn't get any easier.
Collier went through the process last year, and despite having some idea of how the day pans out, he admits things are just as tense this year.
The 18-year-old is Tasmania's brightest hope of getting selected tomorrow, and is even being touted as a possible top-10 pick.
However, like most youngsters hoping to hear their name called out during the day, the key defender doesn't care whether it is at pick No. 5 or No. 55, as long as someone wants him.
"I suppose I'm excited, but obviously I'm getting a little anxious not knowing where I could end up," Collier said.
"It is a lot different this year than last year. Last year I didn't know what was really happening.
"This year it's a different feeling, I guess I'm more of a chance."
Despite missing the last five games of the season with the Devils in the VFL because of finger surgery, Collier impressed enough with his composure and skills against AFL-listed players.
Since undergoing surgery to repair a detached ligament on his little finger, Collier has been to the draft camp and has taken part in the Devils' pre-season so far.
The injury had an impact on how he performed during the camp, but given his high ratings by most clubs it appears being drafted is a mere formality.
"I was definitely underdone with a lack of stuff I was able to do, so I wasn't really surprised," Collier said. "I knew I would be OK in a couple of tests, but I did better than I thought in a couple of others."
Mariners coach Andrew Mellor also believes Collier's results outweighed expectations and said many club recruiters were still impressed despite his less than ideal preparation.
"I think he still surprised everyone at draft camp, they expected him to be a little underdone, but his recovery was further along than they thought," he said.
Link (http://www.southernfootball.com.au/news/show_news.php?subaction=showfull&id=1196645687&archive=&template=)
25/11/07 Draft joy a blow to mates Devils' draft joy as Lions quick to pick Tassie tyro
By: BRETT STUBBS
Collier, 18, was taken at No. 25 by Brisbane -- the only Tasmanian selected yesterday while the likes of mates Brodie Moles, Jaye Bowden, Aaron Joseph and Tom Bellchambers missed out.
The running defender knows exactly how they feel, as he missed out on the previous year's draft.
``I'm very disappointed. I'm very close mates with all the boys who were a chance,'' Collier said.
``A few of them might have been a bit stiff but that is the way it goes.
``I definitely feel for them. I was in the same boat last year.''
But despite their own disappointment, a few of his teammates had been in contact to congratulate him.
``I've talked to a couple of them, they wished me luck,'' he said.
Collier spent yesterday morning with family and friends listening to a Melbourne radio station's live call of the AFL national draft via a mobile phone.
``I was pretty relaxed this morning. As soon as the draft happened, that was when the nerves set in,'' the Lauderdale Football Club player said.
``It has been a big few days, that's for sure.
``I wasn't too worried early because I knew my name wasn't too far away. I'm just stoked to be picked up by anyone.''
Brisbane football manager Graeme Allan said the Lions were delighted to get Collier with their second pick.
``We rated Tom as a first-round pick,'' Allan said. ``He had an outstanding carnival in the under-18s and can play centre half-back, on the back flank or in the midfield.
``He is very versatile and a great athlete.''
AFL Tasmania general manager Scott Wade said Collier's selection was a tribute to Devils coach Daryn Cresswell's work.
``Daryn Cresswell made a significant improvement to Tom Collier's footy,'' Wade said.
``Daryn didn't have a great year in terms of the Devils' results but he should get some credit for the work he's done with Tom Collier.''
Link (http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,22815039-13222,00.html)
Just one Tassie pick in AFL draft
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/news_sourcelogo.gif (http://www.news.com.au/)
BRETT STUBBS
November 24, 2007 12:00am
AFL Tasmania's decentralised system and weak local competitions have resulted in only one Tasmanian being picked up in yesterday's AFL draft -- and the state's major footballing body is taking full responsibility.
Mariners, Devils and Lauderdale key defender Tom Collier was the only Tasmanian name read out yesterday, going to Brisbane with pick 25, while the likes of Launceston's Tom Bellchambers and Glenorchy duo Brodie Moles and Aaron Joseph were overlooked. AFL general manager Scott Wade said he was not surprised by the lack of locals selected, but hoped a few more might get picked in next month's rookie draft.
"It would have been nice to get more, but we are probably disappointed we haven't given Tom Bellchambers the best chance to get drafted," Wade said.
"And when I say we, I mean us as an organisation. We have to take some responsibility for not giving the guys the best opportunity."
It tops off an annus horribilis for Tasmanian football, which saw the Devils collect their first wooden spoon and Tasmania lose to Queensland in the first representative game since 1999.
The last time Tasmania only had one player drafted was back in 2001, when Port Adelaide selected Barry Brooks with pick No.15, while even the Northern Territory and non-Australian Rules states New South Wales and Queensland had more players selected than Tasmania yesterday.
Wade said the lack of draftees also came from the standard of regional competitions, which was why AFL Tasmania was pushing for a revamped statewide league starting in 2009.
"If Tasmanian football fans don't realise now you won't get drafted by playing NTFL and SFL footy, then they will never realise it," he said.
"It is an enormously competitive environment and Tom Collier played one TAC Cup game, he played in the national championships in which he didn't dominate, but he played exceptional VFL footy. There is no doubt Tom Collier's VFL experience didn't do him any harm.
http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/4743/colliergq6.jpg
Solo effort ... Key defender Tom Collier was the only Tasmanian picked up in the AFL draft.
POBT
25th November 2007, 09:41
I think what I liked most about Collier is that he doesn't seem likely to be a "miss". The risk is low that he won't make it, IMO. At worst, he looks capable of playing as a 3rd or 4th tall from half back. We've got a few of those so it is not a great result if that's all he ends up being. He may end up being a quality CHB - he certainly has the athletic prowess, endurance and toughness to be a good tall defender plus the dash and boot to play a rebounding role too. We could do with one of those. He might slot onto a wing - his 3km time is good enough to play that role and there's nothing like a long kicking wingman to break the lines. Or he might play as an oversized ruck rover and, from limited viewings, looks good enough below the knees to play that role. While I can't say where he'll end up spending his playing time, it seems unlikely that he won't cement a spot somewere in the 22.
For me, the big hope is that he'll either play a Notting type role as an athletic endurance based flanker/wing or he'll end up as part of the on ball rotation. We lack size in the clinches and he could be the solution.
Great pick up.
Fairley
25th November 2007, 09:43
I was hoping he would turn into a gun CHB...
Grimreepah
25th November 2007, 10:21
Footydraft (http://www.footydraft.com/tom-collier/)
Tom Collier - Lauderdale/Tasmania
Ht: 192 cm Wt: 86 kg
Junior Position: Centre Half Back/Ruck Rover
AFL Position: Centre Half Back/Ruck Rover
Collier is one of the most versatile options in the draft this year, equally capable at Centre Half Back and as a Ruck Rover. Collier is capable of playing on the shorts and talls in the backline and has tremendous dash, being able to run off his opponent and break the lines off Centre Half Back. As well as this he has the smarts and explosiveness to play in the midfield, making him a recruiters dream. Tom excelled playing for the Tasmanian Devils in the VFL this year, Colliers game centers around his ability to so quickly change defence into attack, with his run and carry and good foot skills. A good stopper at CHB, with an ability to find the ball in packs, Collier was named in The U18 All Australian Team, after a solid showing at the National Championships in which he averaged 23 disposals
Strengths: agility, explosiveness, versatility, good frame for CHB
Weaknesses: decision making, lack of height for Key Position Player.
Question Marks: Was overlooked as a bottom aged player last year, showing clubs have some concerns - will this affect his value? Does he have the height to hold down Centre Half Back in the AFL?
Draft Prediction: Pick 10 - 25
Fairley
25th November 2007, 10:42
so how tall would you need to be to be a CHB?
I'm sure giving away 2cm or so to some of the powerhouses isn't going to make a huge difference?
TheBrownDog
25th November 2007, 11:01
I'm sure giving away 2cm or so to some of the powerhouses isn't going to make a huge difference?
Agreed.
The modern day CHB is more about the ability to set up play on the rebound. From what I've seen of Collier, the defensive part of his game looks top notch anyway.
xplo
25th November 2007, 12:33
Chad Cornes is 191cm. Craig Bolton isn't much bigger. Leo Barry is shorter, so you can certainly play at that height - but you probably do need a natural footy brain to make up for the extra size and freakishness of the taller athletes coming through Mitch Clark, Gumby, Lachlan Hansen, Tom Hawkins etc . All of those guys are over 195cm and some closer to 200cm.
Collier looks a pretty natural footballer, so I'd back him to grow into that role. He might end up at 194cm by the time he gets to 23.
Gee, he gets down to the ball, bounces up and accelerates beautifully for a big guy. That step up in pace is impressive.
And it might just be the big no.16, but I reckon there was a bit of the young JB in the way he sets and goes at a contested mark.
The Flying Belgian
25th November 2007, 13:01
Had shades of Leppa there too in his rebounding ability. Thanks for posting the link Dog.
Quigley
25th November 2007, 13:05
Barry is listed at 184. 192 is fine.
With Collier's athleticism and agility he should be fine at CHB eventually. I agree with whoever said he is likely to pressure Roe for his job next year.
Fairley
25th November 2007, 14:15
B: Roe Merrett Begley
HB: Macdonald Collier Drummond
(Patfull, Roe, Dummond rotations)
Grimreepah
25th November 2007, 16:19
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53789)
Second time lucky for Collier
11:51 AM Sun 25 November, 2007
By Simon White
for lions.com.au
NEW DRAFTEE Tom Collier credits former Brisbane Lions assistant coach Daryn Cresswell with providing the impetus for a year of development that has lifted him into AFL ranks.
Mobile defender Collier, taken with the No. 25 pick of Saturday’s draft, was in the mix for last year’s draft but went unselected.
That disappointment proved to be a blessing in disguise, giving him the chance to play senior football under Cresswell at the Tasmanian Devils.
“Having Daryn Cresswell as a coach definitely helped my development,” Collier told lions.com.au.
“Cressa played a big part in me getting drafted by giving me a chance to play in the VFL. “Playing against grown men at my age was really important to my development.”
Collier’s “second-time-lucky” selection means he will soon swap the comparatively cool climate of his native Tasmania for the humidity of the Sunshine State.
The 18-year-old is excited by the opportunity to mix with elite company at the Lions and work with former star centre-half-back and now assistant coach Justin Leppitsch.
“With the kind of career had, he (Leppitsch) is going to be great to work with and I’ll obviously learn a lot from him,” Collier said.
“I’m really excited to be going to Brisbane because of the calibre of players up there – Jonathan Brown and Simon Black and, of course, playing under Leigh Matthews.
“I’m also looking forward to getting up there, having a new lifestyle, meeting my new teammates and becoming part of the club.”
Collier hopes Tasmania’s hotter summer days will provide some preparation for the heat of Brisbane, which he visited for the under 18 national carnival two years ago.
His mobile phone rang freely after Saturday’s draft and said his family was almost delighted as he was to hear his name read out.
Wherever I went I was going to have to leave home – so my family aren’t too worried about me going to Brisbane,” Collier said.
“They were stoked for me that I got drafted. Obviously they were hoping for me last year but when I didn’t get picked up they were pretty happy because it meant I got an extra year to spend down here getting ready.”
At 192cm and just under 84kg, Collier will likely need to put on some weight if he is to play key position defence – the position he played for much of his junior career – in the AFL.
His ability to play a variety of roles should stand him in good stead until the extra kilograms arrive.
“I’ve definitely got some kilograms to put on – and that’s something I’ll have to work on,” he said.
“But I think I can play as a running defender as well as key position and also maybe in the midfield as a taller midfielder.”
http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/4499/colliersb2.jpg
charles202
27th November 2007, 13:41
Im not sold on Collier at CHB, i would prefer to see him as our third tall rebounding of the HB line. But thats just me.
I think that as a CHB that he may have some troubles with the elite CHFs, due to his size constaints however i think that he would be able to dominate a teams third tall both defensively and on the rebound.
My opinion is biased as i think that Henderson would be an ideal CHB, but thats a topic for a different thread.
Grimreepah
27th November 2007, 15:34
I think that as a CHB that he may have some troubles with the elite CHFs, due to his size constaints
He's taller than Leppitsch so we'll just have to see. If he's got a good leap, good speed, can read the play well and has good body positioning, then I would have thought he is a legitimate candidate for centre half back.
charles202
27th November 2007, 15:43
He's taller than Leppitsch so we'll just have to see. If he's got a good leap, good speed, can read the play well and has good body positioning, then I would have thought he is a legitimate candidate for centre half back.
Agree with you Grim there are many ways that he can negate his shortcomings (pun intended), and we are only talking 5cm here.
Grimreepah
27th November 2007, 16:49
Agree with you Grim there are many ways that he can negate his shortcomings (pun intended), and we are only talking 5cm here.
My ideal height would probably be around 194cm, but I think the importance of height in a CHB can be over stated at times. A bit taller helps you in the air and a bit smaller helps you on the ground so it's all good. There aren't that many really tall CHBs these days and a lot of the good ones are around the 190cm mark.
But I agree in the short term he looks like a good 3rd tall option. He seems to have a fairly mature body, and may get a taste of senior footy early on if Roe or Drummond were to get injured.
BigCat2
27th November 2007, 17:54
You don't need to be super tall to play CHB. Campbell Brown was AA CHB this year and he's 177cm. Good speed and leap can make up for height, and being agile becomes far more important once the ball hits the deck.
Also, sounds like at the moment Collier projects a very similar role to the one we envisage for Jason Roe. Similar height although Collier should end up a bit bulkier. Both have the potential to provide great rebound playing as a 3rd tall defender.
Collier from the looks of it will be more versatile, and that certainly helps. Play him on a wing, and put him at either end of the ground at a pinch. Roe's role is probably clearer at this stage.
Warwick
27th November 2007, 17:58
You don't need to be super tall to play CHB. Campbell Brown was AA CHB this year and he's 177cm. Good speed and leap can make up for height, and being agile becomes far more important once the ball hits the deck.
I'd be sacking your statistician if I was you Cat. ;)
Egan was the AA CHB - ironically one of the last "true" CHB's in the game.
BigCat2
27th November 2007, 18:03
I'd be sacking your statistician if I was you Cat. ;)
Egan was the AA CHB - ironically one of the last "true" CHB's in the game.
Shush, don't let facts get in the way of a good story. :D
Warwick
27th November 2007, 18:08
Shush, don't let facts get in the way of a good story. :D
I wouldn't worry about it - you have just lost all credibility as far as I am concerned. :p
Love this bit from the article:
Collier hopes Tasmania’s hotter summer days will provide some preparation for the heat of Brisbane, which he visited for the under 18 national carnival two years ago.
Haha.
You have no idea what's in store Tom. :D
TheBrownDog
27th November 2007, 18:27
You have no idea what's in store Tom. :D
Average summer temperature in Tasmania = 21 degrees.
Average summer temperature in Brisbane = 29.5 degrees.
Will certainly be a shock at first. Hanley must be feeling it badly.
BigCat2
27th November 2007, 18:54
I wouldn't worry about it - you have just lost all credibility as far as I am concerned. :p
I don't think I can technically lose something I never had in the first place. ;)
Fairley
27th November 2007, 19:07
I think 192cm is a legitimate height for a powerful CHB as Pavlich and Lucas are both around the 191 mark. There are several who are around the 193-194 mark and only buddy who clearly creams the lot being at 196. Therefore with Collier's agility i have no idea how you could possible deem him as too small... If you look on a ruler and have a look at 2cm which is about the norm he'd have to play on you will soon realise that it will not mean shit.
CoZi36
27th November 2007, 20:30
I think 192cm is a legitimate height for a powerful CHB as Pavlich and Lucas are both around the 191 mark.
Braddles is also 191! :D
The Flying Belgian
28th November 2007, 06:52
Agree the height aspect of KPP's are overstated. I'm always interested to find out if they measure arm length at draft camp. A player could be only 190cm but have arms 2 cm longer than someone else. Then there's vertical leap...
Grimreepah
28th November 2007, 10:51
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53877)
Tasmanian defender Tom Collier will become only the second player to wear the No.22 Brisbane Lions Guernsey – recently vacated by veteran Chris Scott – since the merger in 1997.
danielcanberra
28th November 2007, 17:59
One Tasmanian (mark II) = number 11
Two Tasmanians, double 11 = number 22
This one will be easy to remember.
TheBrownDog
28th November 2007, 18:12
One Tasmanian (mark II) = number 11
Two Tasmanians, double 11 = number 22
This one will be easy to remember.
Geez, if we draft another Taswegian, Hooper may have a fight on his hands.
POBT
29th November 2007, 14:21
Geez, if we draft another Taswegian, Hooper may have a fight on his hands.
Nige too.
irish
30th November 2007, 19:24
this boy is a gun !! could be the real jewel of the draft !!!
well done lions
POBT
3rd December 2007, 11:11
There's an article about Tommy in today's Courier Mail - unfortunately I can't find it online.
A couple of the key points:
- talks about a change in his mental attitude: changed the way he went about his footy and started backing himself more.
- mobility to play as running defender, on ball or centre half back with a bit of bulk - prefers to play off half back or in the midfield
- gives most of credit for being drafted to a Mr P. Obt - "I would be nothing today if not for the bandwagon he started."
mexicanwave
3rd December 2007, 16:53
There's an article about Tommy in today's Courier Mail - unfortunately I can't find it online.
A couple of the key points:
- talks about a change in his mental attitude: changed the way he went about his footy and started backing himself more.
- mobility to play as running defender, on ball or centre half back with a bit of bulk - prefers to play off half back or in the midfield
- gives most of credit for being drafted to a Mr P. Obt - "I would be nothing today if not for the bandwagon he started."
Yeah the article was great up until that point...
Cousin Jed
3rd December 2007, 17:03
Must have been cut off in my edition :cool:
xplo
5th December 2007, 08:20
I read it as Mr P. Off. ;D
TheBrownDog
5th December 2007, 15:16
From Collier's AIS profile (http://web.archive.org/web/20060523173058/www.ais.org.au/austrules/collier.asp)
Sport: Australian Rules Football
Position/event: CHF, CHB, ruck, wing
Date of birth / birthplace: 25 March 1989
What is your major sporting goal? To play at the highest level possible
Who are your idols, and why (not necessarily sporting)? Lance Armstrong because of his never give up attitude
Who has most influenced your sporting career, and why? Parents, friends and coaches who have always encouraged and supported
How do you hope to be remembered when you retire from your sport? As someone who worked hard and loved playing the game
What do you regard as the most memorable sporting moment? Cathy Freeman's 2000 Olympic 400m gold medal; Jason McCartney's comeback game after the Bali bombing
http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/6943/collier2wq7.jpg
TheBrownDog
12th December 2007, 01:06
Collier will wear Chris Scott's No. 22 next year.
Source - The Age (http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport/tigers-no-1-hope-gets-coveted-no-9/2007/12/10/1197135375642.html)
POBT
12th December 2007, 08:38
Collier will wear Chris Scott's No. 22 next year.
Source - The Age (http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport/tigers-no-1-hope-gets-coveted-no-9/2007/12/10/1197135375642.html)
Great choice. Seems like a really good match.
Grimreepah
17th January 2008, 10:29
So what do you think of the place? (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=54644)
Tom Collier is a likely key defender of the future but it was one of the smaller, midfield Lions who helped him settle in at the Gabba.While the Tasmanian recruit is now living with a host family, early time spent lodging with co-captain Luke Power may well prove invaluable.
“Living with Luke was great – he’s a good bloke,” Collier said.
“He’s the kind of person you can really learn off as far as following the way he does things on and off the track.”
Collier admits the transition to AFL life has its quirks but says there is little time for thinking too deeply about new surrounds.
“When you first get here and see who your new teammates are and your coach is, it’s a bit surreal, I guess,” he said.
“But once you get out there on the track and start training with them, you don’t really think about it.
“You’re just busy doing the things you know you need to do.”
Grimreepah
7th March 2008, 09:48
http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/4853/collierpg8.jpg
Grimreepah
9th March 2008, 10:59
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/8573/collierub3.jpg
Tom Collier was our only first year player to play all 4 preseason games.
POBT
10th March 2008, 16:11
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/8573/collierub3.jpg
Tom Collier was our only first year player to play all 4 preseason games.
According to the AFLQ website (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5173847§ionID=56333) he kicked 4 goals and was BOG for the Suncoast Lions in their praccy match v Morningside - he wouldn't have played twice, would he?
Grimreepah
10th March 2008, 16:18
According to the AFLQ website (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5173847§ionID=56333) he kicked 4 goals and was BOG for the Suncoast Lions in their praccy match v Morningside - he wouldn't have played twice, would he?
How many reserves play in the NAB practice games? He was in the squad of 29 and it was reported that Henderson, Selwood and Clouston didn't play. I figured that meant Collier was playing.
Edit: just remembered that photo is from the Sydney game.
GreaT SourcE
10th March 2008, 16:23
How many games do you expect from Tom this year Grimreepah ??
Grimreepah
10th March 2008, 16:24
This was Quigley's report on the Sydney game:
Collier – has improved a lot over the last few weeks. Apart from one occasion where he was caught with the ball after being sold up the river a bit by Charman I thought he was very good in the limited time he had on ground. He laid a few nice tackles, launched into a few of his trademark tackle busting runs through the middle (he is learning that he can’t break the tackles as easily as he did as a junior but he is learning quickly) and he was clearing the ball well. He even matched up on Goodes for a few minutes there which must have been an experience for the youngster. He will be a goodie but he will play a few games for the Suncoast before we see him again at senior level I think.
How many games do you expect from Tom this year Grimreepah ??
Five.
GreaT SourcE
10th March 2008, 16:28
This was Quigley's report on the Sydney game:
Ok thanks...:thumbsu:
notting18
10th March 2008, 17:13
How many reserves play in the NAB practice games? He was in the squad of 29 and it was reported that Henderson, Selwood and Clouston didn't play. I figured that meant Collier was playing.
Edit: just remembered that photo is from the Sydney game.
An article in the Herald Sun down here said that Mills played in the Reserves game (as they made reference to him swapping with Henderson) after playing in Canberra, so there may have been a few.
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23346495-5016212,00.html
blynd_freddie
10th March 2008, 17:14
I believe it will depend on three factors, the standard… injuries both team and self, the second will be ressie form. As we saw last year with Chris Schmidt, good seconds form was rewarded with a call up.
The third will be team form, Chris was called up in round 10 during our mid season slump. If the seniors are playing good winning football, as expected this year, I think it might be difficult to debut or promote Tom.
Stability in the back half is normally a no brainer but with the amount of wave running and ball carrying out of defense, half back rotations are now almost as important as the mids. So he might play a couple of low TOG purely to assist in resting the runners….
So how many games might Tom play this year? Anywhere between 10 and 2 is my guess.
Fairley
10th March 2008, 17:17
Lets just cut straight to the point, not enough games for your Dream Team bench. Proud on the other hand...
black_hart
7th April 2008, 11:55
Anyone have any idea when he may get a game or two?
notting18
7th April 2008, 18:33
Anyone have any idea when he may get a game or two?
He has been listed as "1 week" with a hamstring for the last few weeks (ie too long). If fit he would be one a few players I would contemplate bringing in this week just to mix it up a bit. Unfortunately the likes of Sheldon, Clark and Collier just aren't physically fit at the moment.
Grimreepah
24th April 2008, 17:42
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23595021-5016169,00.html)
"Tom Collier . . . he's another very impressive youngster." Matthews said.
It seems Collier is doing all the right things. He played all the preseason games, then unfortunately he suffered a hamstring injury but returned last week, and now has been named on the extended bench.
Not sure if that's where he played, but he was named at full back last week against Zillmere. With Begley out injured, you'd have to think he's a good chance of getting a gig, and with his athleticism he may be able to give us a bit of run out of defence.
acuguy
24th April 2008, 22:03
Collier is a certain for this week, he is the type of football player that excites Matthews
Ruse
25th April 2008, 01:03
Collier is a certain for this week, he is the type of football player that excites Matthews
ripped guys?
Wow anyone got any recent photos.
Quigley
25th April 2008, 11:05
Collier along with Rioli were my two favourite Div 2 players last year by a fair margin. It was fantastic that we ended up with him and lets hope he gets a chance and carves them up. He is probably more of a runner than a KP at the moment (as you would expect from a 19 year old) but he is very dangerous with the ball and he would give us great run from the back.
Grimreepah
25th May 2008, 19:33
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5494413§ionID=56333)
Tom Collier played with plenty of dash off half-back and through the midfield for the Lions
Grimreepah
19th June 2008, 19:41
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61803)
Collier's call-up
5:06 PM Thu 19 June, 2008
Michael Rischitelli, Robert Copeland and debutante Tom Collier have been included in the Lions’ senior line-up ahead of Saturday night’s clash against Adelaide at the Gabba.
Collier becomes the third player to debut for the Lions this season (actually he is the 4th behind Henderson, Polkinghorne and Hawksley) after he was taken with Pick No.25 in the 2007 National Draft. The 19 year-old is a versatile and athletic defender who captained Tasmania in the 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships.
The Lions will be without key defender Jason Roe who succumbed to a hamstring injury during last week’s match, while Cheynee Stiller and Matthew Leuenberger have both been omitted.
The full Lions team is:
B: Josh Drummond (39), Daniel Merrett (21), Joel Patfull (24)
HB: Jared Brennan (17), Joel Macdonald (26), Troy Selwood (28)
C:Anthony Corrie (18), Simon Black (20), Tim Notting (8)
HF: Michael Rischitelli (35),[/B] Jonathan Brown (16), Justin Sherman (11)
F: Rhan Hooper (33), Mitch Clark (1), Travis Johnstone (4)
Foll: Jamie Charman (19), Luke Power (6), Jed Adcock (7)
Int: Tom Collier (22), Ashley McGrath (9), Robert Copeland (30), James Polkinghorne (31)
Emerg: Albert Proud (2), Lachlan Henderson (14), Scott Harding (5)
IN: Michael Rischitelli, Robert Copeland, Tom Collier
OUT: Jason Roe (hamstring), Cheynee Stiller, Matthew Leuenberger (omit)
NEW: Tom Collier (Tassie Mariners)
http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/1789/hendotm7.jpg
Good luck Tom:thumbsu:
POBT
19th June 2008, 20:45
The bandwagon has left the staging post. Get on board or get left behind.
BigCat2
19th June 2008, 20:53
No worries for me. Already booked a seat in the front row since September last year.
Go Tommy! :thumbsu:
Cousin Jed
19th June 2008, 21:20
Yep I've been on it since draft day.
Grimreepah
20th June 2008, 00:40
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23891708-5016169,00.html)
Tom Collier to make his debut for Lions against Crows
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
June 20, 2008 12:00am
BRISBANE has called on first-year player Tom Collier to make his debut in Saturday's clash with the Crows at the Gabba.
Collier was a standout junior and a highly rated selection at last year's national draft and the Lions have been desperate to see him in the seniors.
However his selection could be seen as a gamble - the hard-running defender has been experiencing tightness in his back that has affected his hamstrings.
He spent time at Wednesday night's training session with the rehab group that also included Daniel Bradshaw, Jason Roe and Travis Johnstone.
It is understood the 18-year-old was given an epidural injection at the weekend to free up his back, paving the way for his AFL debut.
Collier captained Tasmania in the 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships where he earned All-Australian honours as a running defender.
The Lions have been impressed by his instinct to tuck the ball under his arm and run from defence, a trait that will fit nicely into coach Leigh Matthews' new game plan.
Last week the Bulldogs pressured Brisbane so well they were unable to move the ball freely out of defence, which severely restricted the quality of the delivery to Jonathon Brown in attack.
Adelaide is less prone to playing one-on-one football and is more likely to drop a loose man into defence to stop Brown.
The flip-side for Brisbane is that it will also have a free man, which should give rebounding defenders Josh Drummond and Collier space to run.
http://img440.imageshack.us/img440/2518/collierdy3.jpg
madvass
20th June 2008, 09:53
I understand a seasoned player coming in with a few niggles to boost the side in a crucial match but a debutant? What happened to Leigh's 100% fitness rule. Anyways, good luck to the boy.
notting18
20th June 2008, 10:20
I understand a seasoned player coming in with a few niggles to boost the side in a crucial match but a debutant? What happened to Leigh's 100% fitness rule. Anyways, good luck to the boy.
My thinking is that maybe he was given light duties, etc as they knew they were going to debut him this week to ensure that the issues he has been having aren't going to affect his performance. Thus he will be at 100% fitness this weekend
cjwalkley
20th June 2008, 12:32
I just purchased the Tom Collier "Away" guernsey on Lions Auctions for $100. Signed by Tom and with the number 22 properly printed on the back.
Very happy with the purchase as I think he will be at the Lions for a lot of years.
POBT
20th June 2008, 15:37
I just purchased the Tom Collier "Away" guernsey on Lions Auctions for $100. Signed by Tom and with the number 22 properly printed on the back.
Very happy with the purchase as I think he will be at the Lions for a lot of years.
If not, it is a talking point as to why Chris Scott's signature is so unrecognisable!
Grimreepah
20th June 2008, 19:19
Link
(http://news.theage.com.au/sport/nigel-lappins-birthday-wish-simple-20080620-2u3j.html)
At the other end of the spectrum, first year player Tom Collier will become the third Lion to make his AFL debut this season on Saturday night. The teenage defender - who has overcome hamstring tightness - may not have played a senior game but he has already earned major raps.
Hudson - a former Hawthorn player - compared Collier with Hawks great Michael Tuck.
"He's a mature kid. He reminds me of an old teammate Michael Tuck - a little wiry but just gets the job done and provides some run," Hudson said of the No.25 pick in the 2007 AFL Draft.
Collier, 19, captained Tasmania in the U18 National Championships last year and will replace the injured Jason Roe.
dmac_55
21st June 2008, 09:38
Everyone seems to forget he is the 4th player to debut..
Hawksley, Henderson, Polkinghorne, Collier!!
Grimreepah
21st June 2008, 23:03
Link (http://blacktown.yourguide.com.au/news/national/national/sport/lions-finally-bury-their-crows-bogey/794302.aspx)
Debutant Tom Collier, who was asked by Matthews to tag veteran Andrew McLeod for a period in the second-half, finished with a credible 17 possessions.
Well done Tom. Best debut we've had in a while (probably since Brennan).
Pedro the Lion
21st June 2008, 23:31
Just got home and first comment is "Holy Tom Collier!" Brilliant debut!
TheBrownDog
21st June 2008, 23:49
Just got home and first comment is "Holy Tom Collier!" Brilliant debut!
Yup, I was so excited by him at 3 quarter time I started texting people about him.
Best debut since Brennan.
acuguy
21st June 2008, 23:56
Yup, I was so excited by him at 3 quarter time I started texting people about him.
Best debut since Brennan.
I think his hands under pressure were excellent. Are we ruling him out as a tall defender and thinking he is more of a running mid?
TheBrownDog
21st June 2008, 23:58
I think his hands under pressure were excellent. Are we ruling him out as a tall defender and thinking he is more of a running mid?
His defensive work seems pretty solid, but geez, he showed alot as a tall runner didn't he. Adam Goodes like.
lions_den
21st June 2008, 23:58
Best debut for a Lions player since Brennan. Could easily see him as my favourite player in the future:)
acuguy
22nd June 2008, 00:01
His defensive work seems pretty solid, but geez, he showed alot as a tall runner didn't he. Adam Goodes like.
Shit do we really want to be making Goodes comparisons:D
Fair call, i am still trying to work out who his hunched kicking style is like
Cousin Jed
22nd June 2008, 00:01
No worries for me. Already booked a seat in the front row since September last year.
Go Tommy! :thumbsu:
Yep I've been on it since draft day.
Sorry I will stop derailing the Roster watch thread now.:D
Pedro the Lion
22nd June 2008, 00:07
His handballs under pressure were the most impressive for me. Just looked so poised and not at all overawed. You can just tell that he's "got it".
It will be very interesting if Roe, Sherman and Johnstone make it back next week. Surely he remains in the team, but in what capacity?
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.