View Full Version : 16.Tayte Pears

Ryder Is God
24 Nov 2007, 09:06
One of the steals I reckon.

Schmick
24 Nov 2007, 09:20
Definately. I rated him very highly and thought it was very unlikely he'd slip to pick 23, but look what happened. All smiles from me :D:D:D

Gus2Gumby
24 Nov 2007, 09:49
Great pick...

Merv Neagle
24 Nov 2007, 10:18
Big upside on this bottom age kid imo.

Very good pick.

Have a look at him here (mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl1/OnDemand/Preseason08/taytepears.wmv)

Bachar_Houli
24 Nov 2007, 10:30
Big upside on this bottom age kid imo.

Very good pick

man he is good around the ground for a kpp. do u have a vid of myers?

Ryder Is God
24 Nov 2007, 10:39
man he is good around the ground for a kpp. do u have a vid of myers?

I posted a link in the Myers thread.

Bachar_Houli
24 Nov 2007, 10:49
I posted a link in the Myers thread.

thanks mate.

TheDon35
26 Nov 2007, 05:54
First footage of Seen of Pears.

With this the only footage i've seen. I'll make an uneducated statement and say he looks good. Ticks boxes - Pace, first grab marking / ball gathering, disposal, balance, aggression.

Anyone got some info on what his weeknesses are. Didn't look like he's got much of a left foot in the footage shown here. Other than that. Anybody got anything to add?

Cheers,

hulld
26 Nov 2007, 09:34
i spoke to someone "in the know" and he told me that pears is a similar player to that of adam hunter.

i only saw him play in the carnival but would others who have seen more of him play tend to agree with that comparison?

The Dustbin
26 Nov 2007, 11:33
i spoke to someone "in the know" and he told me that pears is a similar player to that of adam hunter.

Dodoro said the same thing. Hmmmmmm

Darealrath
27 Nov 2007, 11:26

Lucas will love playing on him in the pre season then ;)

Longy413
27 Nov 2007, 18:21
Lucas will love playing on him in the pre season then ;)

Lloydy won't.

Merv Neagle
28 Nov 2007, 09:31
Highlights of Pears on Bomber.tv now

hulld
29 Nov 2007, 18:07
Dodoro said the same thing. Hmmmmmm

well than i'll tell my mate he is a good judge of talent

GreaT SourcE
1 Dec 2007, 22:40
He is a very quick tall defender, uses the ball pretty well and attacks the footy damn hard. Look forward to seeing him in action thorughout next season !

GoDons
2 Dec 2007, 14:58
I'm starting to get the feeling that he's being groomed for a role similar to that if Sean Wellman back in the day.

The guy that'll hurt you on the rebound with good skills and pretty good pace but at the same time be handy in a contest.

I certainly wouldn't mind if he ended up in Wellers' class.

Merv Neagle
2 Dec 2007, 15:41
He is a very quick tall defender, uses the ball pretty well and attacks the footy damn hard. Look forward to seeing him in action thorughout next season !

And another thing he can do, which we have been crying out for for years, is he can shut down an opponent.

We need 1 of him or Darcy to be able to turn into a lock down backman, hopefully Darcy, as we need one badly.

The Dustbin
10 Dec 2007, 18:42
I'm starting to get the feeling that he's being groomed for a role similar to that if Sean Wellman back in the day.

The guy that'll hurt you on the rebound with good skills and pretty good pace but at the same time be handy in a contest.

I certainly wouldn't mind if he ended up in Wellers' class.

If he can he turn out to be half as good as Wellman, i'll be rapt. Like Ryder Is God said will be the steal of the draft.

SM10
17 Dec 2007, 22:25
For those in the know..

Is he a good kick?

GoDons
18 Dec 2007, 10:52
For those in the know..

Is he a good kick?

He's a very nice kick.

He's got a good drop and kicks through it nicely.

Probably one of the main reasons we drafted him.

iluvessendon
23 Dec 2007, 15:34
We got very good value for this pick - I'm looking forward to seeing Tayte in the red n black in '08.

BenCousins09
23 Dec 2007, 16:20
Pears Is a Legend! Rated him highly from the beginning. Didnt think we would get at Pick 23

Windas_Magic
23 Dec 2007, 16:33
Pears Is a Legend! Rated him highly from the beginning. Didnt think we would get at Pick 23
Yeah i was pretty surprised that he slid to pick 23, but i think hes a great pick-up and hopefully he can add some great run out of defence aswell as shuting down a forward

DaSawx
24 Dec 2007, 11:19
Looks like a man amongst boys in his Highlights Reel, hopefully it's the same story in 6-7 years time.

jetta2davey
24 Dec 2007, 13:42
He may actually wind up a half back flanker who can pinch hit in the midfield due to his pace and skills in close, very similar prospect to David myers with a more mature frame at this point in time IMO (just hasn't had the experience that Myers has in the midfield).

hulld
24 Dec 2007, 21:33
we would expect him to grow a bit more though seeing as he is only 17. i reckon he will be groomed to play in a key defensive position. much like adam hunter

acebomer
25 Dec 2007, 08:38
i certainly hope so:thumbsu:

Bachar_Houli
25 Dec 2007, 20:35
there is only one player who can play chb and mid: chad cornes. I reakon he can be as good as cornes. I reakon he will turn out to be the steal of the draft

bringbackschwarter5
25 Dec 2007, 20:46
One of the steals of the draft. And a good comparison with Chad Cornes, gun utility but also has the strength and smarts to shut down a big key forward

KING-JAMES
26 Dec 2007, 09:15
I reckon some people have unfair expectations on him. I'm a fan however.

BenCousins09
26 Dec 2007, 16:00
Could Myers and Pears be the Next McPhee?

Ryder Is God
26 Dec 2007, 16:57
I hope not.

BenCousins09
9 Jan 2008, 17:51
I hope not.

Why? I think McPhee Is a Legend?

Merv Neagle
22 Jan 2008, 12:22
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news_imagesize.asp?imagefile=/images/07/newdraftees.jpg (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/07/newdraftees.jpg)
Pears is settling into life at the Bombers well. Pears feeling more comfortable

Tuesday, 22 January 2008
Can you see yourself holding down a key defensive position in the future? (Luke Turner)

It’s hard to say at this stage but I think I am capable of holding down a key position. The only thing that may hold me back is my height because I am not an ideal size for the modern day half-back role.

You are known as key position defender, because you have great pace do you see yourself moving up into the midfield at anytime next season if you get a game? (Nicholas Loschiavo)

That would be up to the coaching staff. If I was to have a run in the midfield at some stage, I think I would need to develop my game further.

Who did you used to barrack for? (Caitlin Sexton)

I’ve never barracked for one team in particular.

What did you think of Essendon before you arrived at the club? (Caitlin Sexton)

It is a very strong club with a great history.

How did you feel on the day you were first introduced to Windy Hill? (Nicholas Loschiavo)

I was really nervous at first but all the boys got around us and had a few words to us and it helped us to settle in a lot.

Have you stopped growing in height or do you believe you can still get any taller? (Trevor Swain)

Being only 17, I think I have some growth left in me but time will tell.

Has the coaching staff indicated where you might begin your career? e.g. Half back flank,etc. (Billy Macleod)

At the moment I am mainly focusing on the pre-season training and taking it one step at a time.

Do you have any pre game superstitions? (Glen Sutton)

I like to listen to my ipod in the changerooms before we go out.

How does it feel to be selected by the most popular and best team in the AFL? How did you feel when you met the best players in Essendon? (Sarah Sordelli)

I was stoked to be picked up by such a strong club and couldn’t be happier. All the players came and spoke to us (new draftees) straight away so it didn’t take long to feel comfortable around them. Now they are like mates but it is still all just sinking in.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5521

Slattery_20
23 Jan 2008, 10:00
Lloydy won't.
Lloyd just about put Hunter through a fence!
Hunter thought he was tough

Longy413
24 Jan 2008, 08:30
Lloyd just about put Hunter through a fence!
Hunter thought he was tough

Hunter knocked out Lloydy in the 2002 QF.
It ended Lloyd's streak for consecutive games with at least one goal kicked.

Lloydy missed the next week and we got beaten by Port.

TheDon35
24 Jan 2008, 09:11
Looks like a ripper.

Tough, quick, skillful and looks like he reads the game extremely well.

Look for him over 2009 to come on with Neagle, Ryder, Gumby etc to form the best spine in the league.

Slattery_20
24 Jan 2008, 10:16
Hunter knocked out Lloydy in the 2002 QF.
It ended Lloyd's streak for consecutive games with at least one goal kicked.

Lloydy missed the next week and we got beaten by Port.
Wow
You have a loooong memory
Maybe that's why Lloyd was decking him last year...

Lance Uppercut
23 Feb 2008, 09:16
this guy looks awesome!!

That passage of play early in the 3rd, where it was Pears to Myers got me very excited!!!!

Pawtucket Patriot
23 Feb 2008, 09:23
I was very impressed with him tonight. He definitely looks like he could develop into a genuine key defender.

hulld
23 Feb 2008, 10:21
he did as good a job on johnson as any of our defenders have over the past few years. hard to believe he is only 17

DaSawx
23 Feb 2008, 12:31
Has that extra anticipation and aggression for a young kid when it's his turn to spoil that I absolutely love.

His bandwagon would have to be one of the most easily accessible

Slattery_20
24 Feb 2008, 10:32
Just quietly... Richmond would be kicking themselves (again) at picking Rance over Pears

Even at this early stage

DaSawx
24 Feb 2008, 11:16
Tambling...Franklin
Fiora...Pavlich
J.O.Nichols...anyone

they should be used to it :D

Lance Uppercut
24 Feb 2008, 12:19
Just quietly... Richmond would be kicking themselves (again) at picking Rance over Pears

Even at this early stage

completely agree. I reckon in a few more years some other teams might be feeling the same way too

bringbackschwarter5
24 Feb 2008, 12:29

Even at this early stage

To be fair to Richmond, Rance is more of a genuine fullback than Pears is. That being said i was a little annoyed when the Demons overlooked Tayte at pick 21

Longy413
25 Feb 2008, 12:04
Footy smarts...

Merv Neagle
11 Apr 2008, 16:50
Tayte Pears to debut against Bulldogs

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/spacer.gif Friday, 11 April 2008
for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1
The first of Essendon’s 2007 recruit will debut tonight. After turning 18 on March 24, Tayte Pears, will record another major milestone when he plays his first game for the Bombers.
Team Manager, David Calthorpe, said the club is excited by the debut of Pears.
“This is an important night for Tayte, and for the club, because we think he is going to be a valuable player for us, especially in defence, for many years to come.
“We think he can he can hold down a key defensive post long-term and he is an important part of our succession plan for players like Mal Michael and Dustin Fletcher.
“Tayte is still very young but he showed some good signs in the pre-season competition and we think he is physically ready to play AFL footy.
“This will be an exciting game for fans eager to see the first debutant from the 2007 draft.”
Pears was Essendon’s second pick in the 2007 draft taken with pick 23 (David Myers was taken with pick 6).
He is 190cm, 92 kg and is from East Perth in Western Australia.
Pears played in the backline in the championship winning under/18 WA team last year and was unlucky to miss out on All-Australian selection.
Born on March 24, 1990 he was not even 1-year old when the Bombers played Collingwood in the 1990 Grand Final.
Pears has been brought into the team after Angus Monfries was a late withdrawal with a virus.
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/images/08/magin02-l.jpg
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5701

Good luck Tayte.

I'm a big fan of this kid and lets hope he is out next lock down defender, as we really need one.

The first of many....

Trump
12 Apr 2008, 01:15
Who taught him how to handball?

Couldnt hit a brickwall last year via hands, now he's firing out perfectly weighted left-handed handpasses.

Bad luck tonight, personally thought the better team lost.

BomberAce7
12 Apr 2008, 01:17

Couldnt hit a brickwall last year via hands, now he's firing out perfectly weighted left-handed handpasses.

I did!!!

The_Young_Gun
12 Apr 2008, 01:20
With Laycock as our only option up forward, there'd be no bets taken on us.

Good game in my opinion. Sh1thouse last quarter though, just ran out of legs.

I'm actually looking forward for round 11........ Scotty's back!!!

The Dustbin
12 Apr 2008, 01:20

Fired off two great handballs. Might have to start calling him Diseal. :D

Lance Uppercut
12 Apr 2008, 10:28
by golly he looks the goods!

High Ryder
12 Apr 2008, 10:45
Good effort from the youngster, in hindsight Johns probably should've played ahead of him but Pears has the tools to be a very good footballer. He has such a big body for someone who just turned 18 the end of last month.

hulld
13 Apr 2008, 12:46
knights said that johns wasn't ready to go on the friday. pears had 4 goal assists

Johnnyprinias
14 Apr 2008, 16:28
Really like pears. Has got a footy brain and a developed body for his age. Should develop into a very good footballer :thumbsu:

RED STRIPE MAGIC
17 Apr 2008, 21:18
Good effort from the youngster, in hindsight Johns probably should've played ahead of him but Pears has the tools to be a very good footballer. He has such a big body for someone who just turned 18 the end of last month.

pears got picked instead of Johns because he can play forward and back but also in the midfeld. i know you may think that i am crazy but he was placed in the top 10 for the 20m sprint last year. so his very quick on his feet for a 191cm tall kid. and like i said quick on his feet where as johns is not and johns is also a one posistion players which is full forward and he doesn't do that very well either.

great tio see pears going to play his second game. if he geats 5 games this year it will be a very great effort.

Windas_Magic
17 Apr 2008, 21:26
I'd like to see him play a majority in defence to see how he goes. Maybe on someone like Gardiner? He isn't anything special and would be a manageable task for young Tayte

High Ryder
17 Apr 2008, 21:38
pears got picked instead of Johns because he can play forward and back but also in the midfeld. i know you may think that i am crazy but he was placed in the top 10 for the 20m sprint last year. so his very quick on his feet for a 191cm tall kid. and like i said quick on his feet where as johns is not and johns is also a one posistion players which is full forward and he doesn't do that very well either.

great tio see pears going to play his second game. if he geats 5 games this year it will be a very great effort.Johns runs 20m sub 3 seconds, much quicker than Tayte anyway.

Merv Neagle
18 Apr 2008, 09:56
Pears embraces Skipworth's heartbreak

Steve Butler | April 18, 2008

ESSENDON teenager Tayte Pears has embraced the AFL heartbreak of former Adelaide wingman Hayden Skipworth and vowed not to waste a second of his burgeoning career.
The 18-year-old made a surprise debut in the Bombers' 30-point loss to Western Bulldogs last Friday, and coach Matthew Knights saw enough to select him for tonight's crucial game against St Kilda at Telstra Dome.
Pears, the No. 23 pick in last year's national draft, is now a full-time housemate and sometimes teammate of Skipworth at Essendon's VFL affiliate, the Bendigo Bombers. He said hearing the former Crow's nightmare football tales would ensure he would not take his own career for granted.
Skipworth was twice delisted by Adelaide in a 44-game career between 2001 and 2006 and last year received a season-ending knee injury when he ruptured a knee tendon. The West Australians share a house with another WA draftee, David Myers.
"Skip's become a mentor for us because he's been there and done it all, and he helps us out quite a bit," Pears said.
"You realise with him that you've got to make the most of it and take every chance you get."
Pears earned only eight possessions in a low-key debut after earning a late call-up when midfielder Angus Monfries called in sick.
Pears said working at Essendon with development coach Adrian Hickmott, a former star with Geelong and Carlton, and boyhood idol Mal Michael had helped him fend off homesickness.
And watching Chris Masten (West Coast), Rhys Palmer (Fremantle) and Cale Morton (Melbourne) — all teammates from last year's national under-18 championship team — made him hungrier to get on the field.
"To get a game myself, I was over the moon," he said.
WEST AUSTRALIAN

http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/04/17/svTAYTE.jpg
Brad Johnson is spoiled by Tayte Pears.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/pears-embraces-skipworths-heartbreak/2008/04/17/1208025380847.html

Longy413
18 Apr 2008, 11:13
I'd like to see him play a majority in defence to see how he goes. Maybe on someone like Gardiner? He isn't anything special and would be a manageable task for young Tayte

Gardiner is a good match up for him.

He leads up at the footy and one thing Pears does have is smarts.
It will be a good test for the young kid because Gardiner will lead him up the ground, but will provide the opportunity for Pears to back his instincts and drop off or hurt him the other way.

whirl
18 Apr 2008, 11:18
Johns runs 20m sub 3 seconds, much quicker than Tayte anyway.

Tayte was tested at 2.91 secs at draft camp. I think Johns was tested around 2.80 secs at Essendon, but I think we do it under slightly different conditions than the AIS. I think you could say they were both pretty quick in a straight line, with Tayte being a bit more nimble.

richoatthedisco
18 Apr 2008, 11:27
I was impressed with the kid. It will be interesting to see how Alex Rance goes for us, given these two were defensive standouts for WA at the U/18 carnival last year.

RED STRIPE MAGIC
18 Apr 2008, 15:55
Johns runs 20m sub 3 seconds, much quicker than Tayte anyway.

pears can do it in 2.80 look at the essendon website and go find pears profile. rest my case

hateitorlovett13
18 Apr 2008, 22:55
Looked very impressive tonight, won the ball on numerous occasions and looks like an awesome future prospect.

Any thoughts?

BomberAce7
18 Apr 2008, 23:07
Yeah he looks ok. Not sure what his position will be.

GreaT SourcE
18 Apr 2008, 23:09
Barring injuries, he'll end up being a very valuable team member...:thumbsu:

The Dustbin
19 Apr 2008, 02:06
Went well tonight. Seems to have good endurance, a good footy brain and skills. Already has a good build, a few more pre seasons and he'll be built like a brick shit house.

Well on the way to putting some respect back into the #16. :thumbsu:

Schmick
19 Apr 2008, 19:06
Went well tonight. Seems to have good endurance, a good footy brain and skills. Already has a good build, a few more pre seasons and he'll be built like a brick shit house.

Exactly my thoughts, Couldn't have said it better myself.

Slattery_20
20 Apr 2008, 19:30
Tayte was tested at 2.91 secs at draft camp. I think Johns was tested around 2.80 secs at Essendon, but I think we do it under slightly different conditions than the AIS. I think you could say they were both pretty quick in a straight line, with Tayte being a bit more nimble.
I've seen office buildings that change direction quicker than CJ

Pawtucket Patriot
20 Apr 2008, 19:50

I am sure Kep is very proud. ;)

Merv Neagle
10 Jun 2008, 19:08
He wanted to play on Franklin last week.

Good confidence in that lad.

I reckon this one is a keeper.

IsDonIsGoodes
10 Jun 2008, 19:59
still feel like i haven't seen enough (or enough good things) from pears yet, wanting to play on buddy is a great thing though, wouldn't have been the worst thing to try either considering the final result

hulld
10 Jun 2008, 20:19
will probably play on kennedy this week

windyhill
10 Jun 2008, 21:33
A big boy that is still growing.

Pawtucket Patriot
11 Jun 2008, 19:58
He is so cool and calm under pressure for an 18yr old that is playing in a backline that is conceding so many forward fifty entries.

Schmick
11 Jun 2008, 21:33
Hopefully he's left in the side for the rest of the year, just playing as a 3rd tall. I love how the recruiters have actually started drafting players who actually have footy brains, isn't it just great.

HighettBomber
11 Jun 2008, 22:46
Really like him. He has good skills, agression and runs very hard. He's also going to be an absolute tank. Should be able to play forward, back or even midfield in future.

ravarma
23 Jul 2008, 20:55
We need a quality backmen after the performence angainst richmond. the backmen we shocking bar ryder.
When is he back

Lance Uppercut
24 Jul 2008, 11:12
couldn't you just see him and Hurley dominating a miserly defence in about 3-4 years :D

loopy_cam
24 Jul 2008, 15:41
Don't forget Ryder

Sico 17
31 Jul 2008, 23:34
Just wondering how Tayte is going? I enjoyed the games I that I got to see him play but haven't heard much about him for a while.

This is not a supercoach question, I am an East Perth fan and watched him come through the colts and have a bet running that he will be better than Rance!

Smyth94
1 Aug 2008, 07:47
couldn't you just see him and Hurley dominating a miserly defence in about 3-4 years :D

Pears, Hurley, Ryder in defence..daymn thats the good $hit :thumbsu:

Smyth94
1 Aug 2008, 07:48
Just wondering how Tayte is going? I enjoyed the games I that I got to see him play but haven't heard much about him for a while.

This is not a supercoach question, I am an East Perth fan and watched him come through the colts and have a bet running that he will be better than Rance!

Unfortunately he's been injured lately, but I'm pretty sure he'll be playing for Bendigo this week. We're all very excited about his future :thumbsu:

Sigmund
1 Aug 2008, 10:50
Unfortunately he's been injured lately, but I'm pretty sure he'll be playing for Bendigo this week. We're all very excited about his future :thumbsu:

Has been a little forgotten in recent times with his injury but very excited about this young man...Man being the key word in terms of his body and calmness under pressure

Sico 17
1 Aug 2008, 12:10
Excellent, thanks guys!

hulld
1 Aug 2008, 12:36
not named for bendigo this week but could almost be considered a certainty for next week as he trained well during the week. just needs to get through another week of training without pulling up sore.

i dont mind that we are taking a conservative approach with tayte. he is only 18 so there is no need to play him if he isn't 100%

bipolarbeaR
1 Aug 2008, 23:45
Has such a big body for an 18 year old.
Exciting agressive defender. Great kick too!

bipolarbeaR
13 Aug 2008, 23:15
He wanted to play on Franklin last week.

Good confidence in that lad.

I reckon this one is a keeper.

Wow! I am really impressed Merv! Where did you hear that?
Very confident! Just what we need in the backline I think.