View Full Version : Bradd Dalziell

Pages : 1 [2]

mpal6
4 Aug 2008, 00:50
Rising star's BS if he doesnt get it this round.
Cale Morton had a good game but Dalziell's been elite with 2 30+ possessions in the last 3 rounds.

PaddleFoot
4 Aug 2008, 11:25
Very impressed with Bradd - where the hell was he hiding ? And are there others of his ilk ? Maybe a name change could inspire others .. Timm Notting for example.

TheBrownDog
5 Aug 2008, 02:03
Missed out on the Rising Star nomination again this week. Gavin Urquhart from the Roos is this week's (worthy IMO) winner.

xplo
5 Aug 2008, 08:46
As long as Bradd is allowed the freedom to move, he's going to be pretty hard to negate. I'd love to GPS him one game because I honestly reckon he'd put 2-3kms into anyone else out there.

When the ball has just been cleared from a contest area and everyone else is ball watching and walking, Tripple D is already off and gone at a fast clip.

Good luck trying to tag him without a motorbike or a team of bare-footed Ethiopians.

chopperduck
5 Aug 2008, 09:09
i just love how this bloke gets his possies. they aren't cheap ones in the back pocket, he just runs his guts out to always position himself somewhere to help, weather its running to receive a kick in or just staying a kick back in case someone gets into trouble. he never seems to be lost and is always in the right place. very good footy smarts, does the hard stuff as well, lays shepards etc.

was one passage of play where he got it 3 times, just from running forward and making position. lethal would love that kind of work ethic. he wont miss another game unless injuried.

Tim the Toolman
5 Aug 2008, 15:38
Gotta play every game for the rest of the year regardless of what he does against the great sides coming up and will earn the nomination as well.

Pity he couldn't get one for his almight efforts thus far?

luthor
6 Aug 2008, 21:18
Very excited about DDD.

After just 3 AFL games, looks a class above already.

Not sure how good a mark he is but the rest of his game is almost Bartel-like....seems to have that innate ability to get to position and get the pill and do something useful with it.

mpal6
6 Aug 2008, 22:02
Very glad, very pleased with DDD. Finally seeing someone PRESENTING across the ground.. always ready to run rather than ball watch and take a stroll.

Waiting for the raising star DDD. Great going !!

Lehmo87
6 Aug 2008, 22:46
The thing I like most about this guy is that he seems like a solid player that doesn't rely on flash skills ala Brennan. He's always in the right position at the right time and always seems to have a level head, which, in a way, reminds me of Black - not necessarily the same type of player but same work ethic.

acuguy
7 Aug 2008, 06:04
Just from the television i reckon he runs harder than most blokes in the competition. He reminds me of Lappin because Nige is a gut busting runner who would burn opponents by foot and often seem to be by himself. In Dalziell and Proud we are starting to see a brighter future for our midfield.

mpal6
7 Aug 2008, 19:41
This is another player who deserves a contract extension. Lets see how things unfold.

Grimreepah
16 Aug 2008, 23:36
Link (http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/08/16/2337624.htm?section=sport)

Youngster Bradd Dalziell once again showed his propensity for possessions, picking up 27 touches, 10 marks and a goal in another busy display in his first season.

http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/5568/dalziellwv5.jpg

Link (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=65471)

Dalziell has just five games experience at AFL level, but his poise and precision make him seem a veteran

Link (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/sport/lions-back-from-wilderness/2008/08/16/1218307323757.html)

Bradd Dalziell punished Brad Johnson’s poorly disguised punch out of bounds by bending his first AFL goal from an impossible angle, then picked out Brown from a pinpoint centre to gift the reigning Coleman Medallist his third of the night.

GXE29kwcnZ0

Ceebee
16 Aug 2008, 23:44
This is the first game I have been able to watch for the last few weeks.
All I can say is, Bradd Dalziell ,WOW!!!!!!!

mpal6
16 Aug 2008, 23:58
Rising Star ?!?!?

Feel Cale Morton is gonna pinch it off him this week. Damn ! DDD made to work for that nomination, just as he did before getting a senior gig.

Keep them coming Bradd, Luv your work. :)

Grimreepah
17 Aug 2008, 00:15
Dalziell appreciation thread here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=12091645#post12091645).

http://i34.tinypic.com/2m67fi1.jpg

mish33
17 Aug 2008, 00:15
Yeah Morton was good and going by this f$%ked selection process he'll get picked. But he wasn't BOG in a crunch game against quality opposition:thumbsd:

EDIT: Could Razzle be topping our brownlow polling since he's come in?

SouthSwans
17 Aug 2008, 04:29
And who's been calling it all year?? :D

TheBrownDog
17 Aug 2008, 15:03
I loved his celebration... watching him train alot, I get the impression that he is a shy bloke who harbours doubts over whether he really belongs at AFL level.

The goal celebration may have signified the realisation that he does.

Lehmo87
17 Aug 2008, 15:26
I loved his celebration... watching him train alot, I get the impression that he is a shy bloke who harbours doubts over whether he really belongs at AFL level.

The goal celebration may have signified the realisation that he does.

I haven't seen the goal myself yet, but those eyes look bloody frightening:eek:

TheBrownDog
18 Aug 2008, 01:02
Dalziell is averaging 5 goal assists per game so far.

How bloody valuable is this bloke going to be for us!

The recruiting coup of the year.

Grimreepah
18 Aug 2008, 01:56
http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/3447/brownic2.jpg

The players line up to give Razzle a hug. Wait your turn Browny!!!

Grimreepah
18 Aug 2008, 02:23
It was interesting to hear the commentators say he was a chance to be recruited as a cricketer in the Sheffield Shield this year. Apparently he opened the batting and the bowling for his local club. When talking about his massive tank they joked he could probably keep to his own bowling.

Tim the Toolman
18 Aug 2008, 11:35
How funny was the commentary when he lined up for goal: hasn't kicked a goal in AFL....impossible angle....oh well you've done it now he's not going to miss....never in doubt!

Classic stuff from the all-too-gushing Foxtel boys on Saturday night but I laughed at this one and it did absolutely make my night including the actual win. :D

Razzle Dazzle indeed! :thumbsu:

Grimreepah
18 Aug 2008, 17:38
Link (http://news.smh.com.au/sport/matthews-hints-lappin-is-nearing-the-end-20080818-3xfn.html)

If Lappin has played his last game for the Lions, Matthews sees a ready-made replacement in Bradd Dalziell. A mature-age recruit picked up No.52 overall in the 2007 Draft, the 21-year-old has shined since making his AFL debut against West Coast in round 16.
He again stood up on Saturday against the Bulldogs, amassing 27 distributions and kicking his first goal, a remarkable effort from the boundary line as the Lions mounted their attack in the third quarter.
"He's doing a little bit of what Shaun Hart used to do, and Nigel Lappin used to do," Matthews said.
"When you watch him play a game he runs really hard. It'd be an interesting study just to watch him, how hard he runs, and it's a lesson to all our players to be honest.
"He's been incredible really, how he's just been linking up and getting to the right spot when we need someone to run into space. It's been a really good first month."

vbr1tKEZE1o

delirious1
19 Aug 2008, 04:17
Intresting trivia, He went to the same public school as James Hawksley (different years of course), the local school newsletter my younger brother brought home had a thing about blokes who were in the cricket program who have made it playing professional football (including fremantles Chris "Chopper" Mayne)

freq
19 Aug 2008, 10:25
Bradd got a mention on Footy Classified last night, they really didn't have all that much to say about him apart from comparing his statistics with other players that have started their careers well. Good to see he is starting to get noticed.

Grimreepah
19 Aug 2008, 15:46
Didn't get a rising star nomination again...:eek:

... but did make team of the week (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=65800).

Team of the week

By Matt Burgan 9:52 AM Tue 19 August, 2008

B: Leigh Harding (North Melbourne), Luke McGuane (Richmond), Joel Patfull (Brisbane Lions)

HB: Michael Firrito (North Melbourne), Sam Fisher (St Kilda), Paul Wheatley (Melbourne)

C: Bradd Dalziell (Brisbane Lions), Jimmy Bartel (Geelong), Cale Morton (Melbourne)

HF: Nick Gill (Adelaide), Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda), Leon Davis (Collingwood)

F: Brent Harvey (North Melbourne), Travis Cloke (Collingwood), David Hale (North Melbourne)

FOLL: Brendon Lade (Port Adelaide), Shaun Burgoyne (Port Adelaide), Gary Ablett (Geelong)

I/C: Matthew Richardson (Richmond), Shane Tuck (Richmond), Scott Thompson (Adelaide), Cameron Bruce (Melbourne)

Bradd Dalziell (Brisbane Lions) – In just his fifth match, the 21-year-old midfielder continued his outstanding start to his AFL career. He was best-on-ground against the Bulldogs, winning 27 disposals.

The round 20 rising star nominee, Cale Morton, also made it on the other wing.

Lace Out
19 Aug 2008, 15:54
Probably only needs to be 15th best on ground to get his rising star next week.

SouthSwans
19 Aug 2008, 21:22
What would Bradd's trade value be, we'd love to have him at the Swans.

Nick Davis, Luke Ablett and our first rounder for Dalziell and your fourth rounder? Would that cut it?

TheBrownDog
19 Aug 2008, 21:27
What would Bradd's trade value be, we'd love to have him at the Swans.

Nick Davis, Luke Ablett and our first rounder for Dalziell and your fourth rounder? Would that cut it?

As silly as it sounds after only five games... Dazzle Is borderline untradeable IMO. I think we have something special here.

Grimreepah
19 Aug 2008, 21:40
As silly as it sounds after only five games...

Not really that silly. Hard to see a player being traded after he has been close to your best player in his first 5 games.

Grimreepah
20 Aug 2008, 04:24
One thing I noticed about Dalziell is that he never seems to look buggered. Other players like Nigel Lappin and Robert Harvey can run and run but you can see the effort. Dalziell always looks like he could go up a gear.

That was what was good about his 4 bounce run on the wing. There was no sign of leg fatigue at the end and he was able to deliver the ball with poise and precision.

I don't think we've really seen him in a position where he's had to go flat out. I'd be interested to see a chase just to see how quick he can really go.

awesome_assassin
20 Aug 2008, 09:54
Not really that silly. Hard to see a player being traded after he has been close to your best player in his first 5 games.

Yep. You just feel so confident when the pill is in Bradd's hands. Along with Black, he is the only other mid who you feel wont turn it over.

Loving your work Razzle:thumbsu:

Lace Out
20 Aug 2008, 13:13
I'd be happy if he turned out as good as someone like DalSanto(when in form)-anything more would be a bonus

Tassie4ever
20 Aug 2008, 14:53
Pretty soon, maybe against Carltank, he'll cop a tag- hopefully he will run them into the ground, a la Simon Black, as well.

Old Den
20 Aug 2008, 16:49
I have been thinking that in the past few days - the opposition will need more than one tagger to cover him

It's the skills and footy brains that he is taking to all parts of the ground that are really impressive

Which it is why it's puzzling that he has not got a RS nomination - that is the stuff they usually lap up and it is the talls that find it hard to get the nod

xplo
22 Aug 2008, 15:17
He'll very likely get one this week. Sure he's probably deserved one before now, but I don't think there have been any other nominees that haven't deserved their nomination. For instance, Cale Morton has played 3/4th of the year at a high level, and, like Bradd, was BOG last week. Hard to begrudge him.

acuguy
22 Aug 2008, 22:04
I will make the call now that i think Dalziell is almost impossible to tag due to the amount of ground that he covers, if he works hard he will eventually burn off his opponent. What a find!

Lehmo87
22 Aug 2008, 22:30
Ok, I have been just as impressed with Dalziell's first 5 or so games but to start labelling him "impossible to tag" is a little premature, in my opinion. He's played 5 games, ffs! Next year will be very important for him - he can continue his incredible form or he can end up on the BF chopping block like a couple of other players have in recent weeks (and we all know how ruthless people on BF can be:p).

JasRulz63
22 Aug 2008, 22:33
Hopefully one of these days, they put that Channel 10 tracker thing on him, would be very interesting to see.

Grimreepah
23 Aug 2008, 23:01
Link (http://www.sportsaustralia.com/articles/news.php?id=4298)

Bradd Dalzeill continued his whirlwind AFL debut in gathering 32-possessions, reducing Simon Black into the role of the support cast

Interesting game from Razzle tonight. Played a bit more inside - picked up 13 contested possessions which is outstanding but just needs to refine his handballing in tight a bit.

Only got 32 disposals so may just miss out on the rising star nomination again.

Lace Out
23 Aug 2008, 23:10
When will be his next bad game?

Or is he a machine and the bet is not available????

TheBrownDog
23 Aug 2008, 23:29
Should win the rising star. I'm talking about the whole thing!

Lehmo87
23 Aug 2008, 23:39
Only got 32 disposals so may just miss out on the rising star nomination again.

haha:thumbsu:

Seriously, if he doesn't get nominated this week the thing is rigged.

notting18
23 Aug 2008, 23:51
Seriously, if he doesn't get nominated this week the thing is rigged.

It is rigged, but he will get it.

dmac_55
25 Aug 2008, 16:23

It will be interesting to see what the selectors think.. IIRC it is a 5,4,3,2,1 voting system.. Imo his 6 games (banking on next week) have been better then any other nominee this year by a fair margin.. Should definitely figure in voting of 3's and below i would think.. Although Palmer probably has it sewed up..

I am not totally convinced on Rioli's season, and it would be a crime if Kruezer polls before Razzler based purely on hype. The kid has had a good first year, but Razzle would of had at least 4 games better then anything Kruezer has produced..

If the award was to go on how many brownlow votes recieved, i could see Dalziell getting second behind Palmer!!

mpal6
25 Aug 2008, 16:30
When will be his next bad game?

Or is he a machine and the bet is not available????

At the rate he's going, his bad game would be 20 possessions.

Dylan12
25 Aug 2008, 19:14

Would he still qualify next year having played less than 10 games for the year or will his age preclude him?

Quigley
25 Aug 2008, 19:20
He will be too old next year.

Chasing the Dream
25 Aug 2008, 19:44
The Herald Sun and afl.com.au had him with 32 possessions this week, 13 contested and 21 uncontested.

My abacus has broken, but that seems hard to work out:confused:

Grimreepah
26 Aug 2008, 10:39
Link (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=66297)

NAB AFL Rising Star: round 21

By Jennifer Witham 7:50 AM Tue 26 August, 2008

BRISBANE Lions midfielder Bradd Dalziell has been rewarded for a stunning month and a half of performances with the round 21 NAB AFL Rising Star nomination.

Dalziell, 21, has made an instant impression on the football world in the past six weeks, averaging nearly 27 disposals a game since making his debut in round 16 against West Coast.

"I've enjoyed just getting a taste of AFL this year. It's been really good and a lot of blokes have really helped me along the way," Dalziell told afl.com.au.

"It's good to be recognised, but I just wanted to go out there and win some games for the team and play finals.

"But we couldn't make the finals and it's disappointing. There was a real sombre mood in the changerooms after the game on Saturday night, because it was a season where we could have had a really good year and we just missed out."

The young Western Australian picked up 32 touches in a highly-exciting debut that saw him eclipse Fremantle's Paul Hasleby's first-game return of 30 possessions in round one 2000.

Dalziell backed up to amass 18 disposals and five tackles the following round, and has since become one of the Lions' most reliable ball-getters.

"It's surprised me how I've fitted in. I thought maybe I could play on a half-forward flank and just get a couple of quarters a game, so it really has surprised me," he said.

"All my teammates have been telling me to use my voice and they've been able to get the ball to me, so that's helped."

In 2007 Dalziell was struggling to perform in the WAFL after battling a broken arm in the first half of the season. At 20 years of age, he thought he had missed the AFL boat and considered himself too old to be drafted.

But he overcame his injury and got back into the East Fremantle reserves side, where he was scouted by the Lions' WA-based recruiting assistant Graeme Hadley (father of former Lion and current Blue Richard).

"From where I was last year, it's really surprised me to be where I am now," Dalziell said.

"I had a broken arm throughout the first half of last season and I struggled through the second half before I finally got some games before the end of the year.

"I was lucky enough to catch someone's eye."

Despite the fact the young cricket convert has seemingly breezed into the Lions' senior side virtually unaided, he says he couldn't have done it without the help of his more experienced teammates.

"It hasn't been easy, but it does make it a bit easier when you've got guys like Simon Black and Luke Power in your side, instructing you where to go on the field," he said.

"Even Nigel Lappin, even though I haven't played with him, he's full of ideas and tells me all this stuff at training to make me a better player."

Dalziell joins Bachar Houli (Essendon), Josh Hill (Western Bulldogs), Rhys Palmer (Fremantle), Kieren Jack (Sydney), Ben McKinley (West Coast), Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn), Austin Wonaeamirri (Melbourne), Kurt Tippett (Adelaide), Garrick Ibbotson (Fremantle), Nathan Brown (Collingwood), Matthew Kreuzer (Carlton), Trent Cotchin (Richmond), Jarryd Morton (Hawthorn), Colin Garland (Melbourne), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond), Kyle Reimers (Essendon), Brett Ebert (West Coast), Gavin Urquhart (North Melbourne), Shaun Grigg (Carlton) and Cale Morton (Melbourne) as contenders for this year's prize.

http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/7949/bradddalziell246dy5.jpg

Link (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/dalziell-delights-lions-king-55555)

Dalziell delights Lions king
26/08/2008 9:17:22 AM
Sportal

Brisbane coach Leigh Matthews has likened this week's Rising Star nominee Bradd Dalziell's hard running to Lions greats Shaun Hart and Nigel Lappin.

Dalziell got the penultimate nod for this year's award after a 32-possession game against Carlton on Saturday night.

The 21-year-old, who was overlooked in the 2005 and 2006 drafts, has been one of few highlights in Brisbane's disappointing second half of the season.

Matthews reserved high praise for the former East Fremantle midfielder.

"He has been incredible in his ability to link up and get to the right spots when we need someone to run into space," Matthews said.

"You need to be an extremely talented endurance athlete to keep getting into spots that other people can't get to because they are too tired."

"When you watch him play a game, he runs really hard. He's doing a little bit of what Shaun Hart and Nigel Lappin used to do."

Dalziell burst on the scene with 32 touches against West Coast on debut in Round 16 of this season.

He has played every match since, averaging over 26 disposals per game.

Dalziell was a fourth-round selection, pick 52 overall, in the 2007 draft.

He is one of three former East Fremantle players on Brisbane's list to have been nominated for the Rising Star honour, joining Simon Black (1999) and Mitch Clark (2007).

http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/4889/dalziell1dd0.jpg

Link (http://blogs.abc.net.au/grandstand/2008/08/dalziell-is-pri.html?site=afl)

Dalziell is pride of the Lions

A shining light has emerged from the Brisbane Lions poor season with midfielder Bradd Dalziell, nominated for the AFL rising star award.

The centre/wingman has been nominated for his stunning performance in round 21 which included 32 disposals and 3 marks against Carlton in Brisbane's six-point loss at the weekend.

However his form has not just been restricted to the Lion's fourth quarter fade out against the Blues.

The 21-year-old Western Australian has made a significant impression on Lions officials after averaging 27 disposals a game since making his debut against West Coast in round 16.

His statistics include 14 kicks and 18 handballs against the Eagles, 34 disposals and eight marks against North Melbourne in round 18 and 15 kicks, 12 handballs and 10 marks against the Western Bulldogs in round 20.

His performances have been even more remarkable considering he was a bit player in the WAFL as late as last season after breaking his arm for the East Fremantle reserves.

Dalziell's form has provided the one glimmer of hope for the Lions during a season coach Leigh Matthews has described as a "failure."

After missing out on the finals, the Queensland glamour club is hoping to secure one of the AFL's major awards and will be pinning their hopes on the 21-year-old Western Australian with Dalziell the club's only nominee.

Discussion Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=483862)

Lehmo87
26 Aug 2008, 13:25
It's about bloody time!

There is a lot to like about this guy's work ethic and you can certainly see him in the same mould as Hart, which is a major compliment from Lethal.

Edit:- Sorry, didn't know there was a discussion thread already in place:o

SouthSwans
31 Aug 2008, 14:57
It amazes me the amount of people from clubs other than Brisbane who are laying into a seven-gamer who's averaging 30 possies a game. West Coast and Fremantle fans in particular are just getting into Dalziell's work ethic and ability to win the hard ball, saying he's a passenger.

I can't believe it.

Old Den
31 Aug 2008, 15:20
It amazes me the amount of people from clubs other than Brisbane who are laying into a seven-gamer who's averaging 30 possies a game. West Coast and Fremantle fans in particular are just getting into Dalziell's work ethic and ability to win the hard ball, saying he's a passenger.

I can't believe it.

Don't let it worry you SouthSwans - they are just sour because he was right there under their scouts' noses and they missed him or left it too late in the draft - Freo may well have intended to take him 3 picks after us

guitar god
31 Aug 2008, 19:23
hey guys,
just wanted to say that this guy will be a gem for brisbane in years to come, lets hope your mob can nurture him and develop him well.

lionbear
31 Aug 2008, 21:42
On the Footy Show this morning he was 4th on the betting. For a guy who only played his first game a month ago that is an amazing effort.

Grimreepah
3 Sep 2008, 11:55
Link (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=66859)

NAB Rising Star countdown

By Jennifer Witham
2:04 PM Tue 02 September, 2008

FULL LIST OF NOMINEES
Round one – Bachar Houli (Essendon)
Round two – Josh Hill (Western Bulldogs)
Round three – Rhys Palmer (Fremantle)
Round four – Kieren Jack (Sydney)
Round five – Ben McKinley (West Coast)
Round six – Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn)
Round seven – Austin Wonaeamirri (Melbourne)
Round eight – Kurt Tippett (Adelaide)
Round nine – Garrick Ibbotson (Fremantle)
Round 10 – Nathan Brown (Collingwood)
Round 11 – Matthew Kreuzer (Carlton)
Round 12 – Trent Cotchin (Richmond)
Round 13 – Jarryd Morton (Hawthorn)
Round 14 – Colin Garland (Melbourne)
Round 15 – Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)
Round 16 – Kyle Reimers (Essendon)
Round 17 – Brett Ebert (West Coast)
Round 18 – Gavin Urquhart (North Melbourne)
Round 19 – Shaun Grigg (Carlton)
Round 20 – Cale Morton (Melbourne)
Round 21 – Bradd Dalziell (Brisbane Lions
Round 22 – Alipate Carlile (Port Adelaide)

Bradd Dalziell (Brisbane Lions)
The mature-aged midfielder came to the Lions when the Queensland club threw him a lifeline in last year's NAB AFL draft after all but giving up on a career at the elite level. Dalziell announced his arrival at the club by breaking Simon Black's beep test record, and was unveiled in round 16 in astonishing fashion. He had 32 touches that game, collected 34 two weeks later, and finished the year with an average of 26 possessions across his seven senior games – an amazing effort.

Winner will be announced today.

xplo
3 Sep 2008, 13:59
Bit of a shame that he was probably in the selection mix from around round 8, but Polks, Proud, Hawkesly and Collier all got their chance/s before him. Luck of the draw, but a pity.

POBT
3 Sep 2008, 15:58
Didn't get a vote in the end.

Lehmo87
3 Sep 2008, 21:56
Didn't get a vote in the end.

Honestly, I never expected him to get one. Realistically, it was the Palmer, Cotchin and whoever-the-third-person-was show. Would have been nice to get one little vote.

Cousin Jed
3 Sep 2008, 21:57
Honestly, I never expected him to get one. Realistically, it was the Palmer, Cotchin and whoever-the-third-person-was show. Would have been nice to get one little vote.

Actually 5 people get votes.

Lehmo87
3 Sep 2008, 22:00
Actually 5 people get votes.

Yes, I know that. Considering he only played 7 games, the voters weren't going to give him much of a go.
I was just saying Cotchin, Palmer and Rioli (I couldn't remember his name before:p) were the only ones who were going to win and there were others who had played many more games so were going to attract the votes.

Old Den
4 Sep 2008, 00:35
It is nice that Bradd got the recognition of a nomination after such a late start

Looking at the nominees,there are a lot of players who did not get a vote who will make their clubs and fans happy in the future

Grimreepah
4 Sep 2008, 14:21
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=67047)

Dalziell credits Woewodin

By Matt Burgan
12:52 PM Thu 04 September, 2008

EMERGING Brisbane Lions midfielder Bradd Dalziell says 2000 Melbourne Brownlow Medallist Shane Woewodin was a key figure in helping him break into the AFL system.
Dalziell, who won 185 disposals at an average of 26.42 touches per match, credited the help of the former Demon and Magpie, who is now coaching East Fremantle. The 21-year-old said the 200-game AFL player had been a huge help.
"Being coached by someone like Shane Woewodin and having people around you like that – it helped me a lot and helped me adapt to the game," Dalziell said.
"Shane and I were pretty good mates and I sat down with him at the end of last year and he told me the pathway he went into the AFL. He said it was pretty similar to the way I was going and all he said was: 'Don't give up – you're good enough to play AFL'.
"I believed that and he strongly believed that and I just had to give it a good crack and I did that. He was a good help last year, because he was a prime example of what you need to do to become an AFL footballer and he just helped me lots."
Dalziell, who like Woewodin was overlooked in a handful of drafts before gaining an opportunity, said the Lions were always the team most interested in his services.
"I had a few talking to me, towards the later stages of the draft period, but Brisbane was the one club, which kept hassling me all of the time and kept ringing up and asking how I was going," Dalziell said.
"I always thought that they were the number one club that I thought I'd go to – and there were a few [clubs] out there [interested in me] – but I'm happy I'm at Brisbane.
"I don't think you can ever be too confident in the draft, because you hear of a lot of stories where clubs have promised guys … but it hasn't happened. I wasn't really confident of getting drafted, but I was hoping someone would give me a chance."
Dalziell, who impressed considerably in the Lions' final seven matches this season after debuting in round 16 against West Coast, reflected on his journey from East Fremantle to the Lions, after being drafted at No.52 in last year's NAB AFL Draft.
"I'm really rapt the way I finished off the season. My main goal this year was to make my AFL debut and I've ticked that off the list and to continue playing good footy – there's not more I could've asked for," Dalziell told lions.com.au.
"It was a big step, coming from where I was last year to where I am now, so I just hope I can continue that next year.
"Being two or three years older than other draftees probably helped me a little bit and playing a couple of years in seniors, back in Perth, helped me a lot. Being around bigger bodies and blokes who have played AFL footy before [also helped]."
Dalziell, who had three 30-plus disposal performances in 2008, said he was delighted to receive a Rising Star nomination in round 21, after winning 32 touches against Carlton.
"It's always good to get recognition for your performances and I was thrilled with the nomination in round 21, but my main focus here is to play consistent football and I think I've done that," Dalziell said.
"I just want to keep my spot in the team and set myself for a good year next year.”

lions_den
7 Sep 2008, 01:11
Footage from the NAB Rising Star night: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcrfr1i-bDw

Sherminator.
7 Sep 2008, 01:19
Footage from the NAB Rising Star night: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcrfr1i-bDw
Good vid, thanks. Favourited!

Grimreepah
21 Sep 2008, 03:29
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/5748/dalziellwf4.jpg

NAB AFL Rising Star Nominees (Back L-R) Nathan Brown of Collingwood, Colin Garland of Melbourne, Jack Riewoldt of Richmond, Cale Morton of Melbourne (Front L-R) Bradd Dalziell of Brisbane, Bachar Houli of Essendon & Trent Cotchin of Richmond pose for a photo during 'The Draft' Book Launch at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

TheBrownDog
21 Sep 2008, 03:33
http://img229.imageshack.us/img229/5748/dalziellwf4.jpg

NAB AFL Rising Star Nominees (Back L-R) Nathan Brown of Collingwood, Colin Garland of Melbourne, Jack Riewoldt of Richmond, Cale Morton of Melbourne (Front L-R) Bradd Dalziell of Brisbane, Bachar Houli of Essendon & Trent Cotchin of Richmond pose for a photo during 'The Draft' Book Launch at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The Dazzler scrubs up alright.

A preview of what he will look like in 2011 when they hang a Brownlow around his neck.

Grimreepah
5 Oct 2008, 01:09
Link (http://afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=68636)

Named 'Rookie of the Year' at the Merrett-Murray awards.

TheBrownDog
13 Oct 2008, 14:29
Bold prediction time: After Black retires, Dalziell will win the Brownlow. :thumbsu:

Old Den
13 Oct 2008, 14:57
Bold prediction time: After Black retires, Dalziell will win the Brownlow. :thumbsu:

If our pick 7 in the upcoming draft doesn't take too many votes off him

POBT
13 Oct 2008, 15:05
If our pick 7 in the upcoming draft doesn't take too many votes off him
Can't see Hurley stealing votes...tall defenders don't poll well. ;)

TheBrownDog
13 Oct 2008, 15:10
Can't see Hurley stealing votes...tall defenders don't poll well. ;)

Vidman to spontaneously combust in 5...4...3...2...

Grimreepah
27 Oct 2008, 17:11
End of Season Player Review

When Dalziell was drafted it was a case of Bradd who, but he well and truly exceeded expectations, having one of the more remarkable starts to a a footballing career.

A mature age recruit Dalziell had been around the block, having trained with Essendon, North Melbourne and Fremantle. Noted for his elite fitness, he made an immediate impression breaking Simon Black’s long standing shuttle run record.

He hit the ground running playing for Suncoast polling well in the Syd Guildford from the start. He was consistently among the best players, excelling with his link up play and getting plenty of the ball. However it wasn’t until round 16 that he debuted in the seniors on the back of three 40 possession games for Suncoast.

Dalziell had little difficulty adapting to senior football, gathering 32 touches on debut against West Coast. He continued to get plenty of game time and gather a tonne of possession over the remaining weeks, eventually earning a rising star nomination in round 21.

Dalziell’s strength is his amazing aerobic capacity combined with the knowledge of where to run. He continually works to provide his team mates with an option and he likes to run with the ball when he can. His kicking is fairly reliable but his handballing is a bit weak.

Dalziell finished the year breaking possession records for a new player and was one of our best players since his inclusion in the team. In a disappointing season for the club, Dalziell was a massive positive to come out of the year.

http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/3308/razzlegd5.jpg

http://i34.tinypic.com/206oemp.jpg

*averaged 26.4 disposals a game

TheBrownDog
9 Nov 2008, 21:17
What do people think of the idea of developing Dalziell into our main tagger.

His endurance is freakish, as is his concentration. He can run all day long and could become an absolute pain in the ass to the elite mids of the competition and still have energy to burn on the rebound.

At the moment, he is probably best used as an outside link man, but as our midfield depth develops, we may have the luxury of playing him as a tagger in the Ling/Cornes design.

Cousin Jed
9 Nov 2008, 21:19
I'll take the 30 possessions running free when everyone else in our midfield can't find the pill in a chemist.

TheBrownDog
9 Nov 2008, 21:21
I'll take the 30 possessions running free when everyone else in our midfield can't find the pill in a chemist.

Cornes and Ling rack up numbers like that playing as hard taggers. If he can get those numbers and shut down an opponent, his value is even higher.

Warwick
9 Nov 2008, 21:24
Exactly.

We need about 3 other blokes to take up the ball-winning slack before we can use him in that role.

It would be nice to play him in that position, but it would leave another yawning gap in our ability to bloody win the actual thing.

TheBrownDog
9 Nov 2008, 21:31
Exactly.

We need about 3 other blokes to take up the ball-winning slack before we can use him in that role.

It would be nice to play him in that position, but it would leave another yawning gap in our ability to bloody win the actual thing.

Which would be way I specified it would be contingent on us developing midfield depth.

It was a long term suggestion. Reading for the win. ;)

mish33
9 Nov 2008, 22:17
Cornes and Ling rack up numbers like that playing as hard taggers. If he can get those numbers and shut down an opponent, his value is even higher.

Do you think he has the strength and the mongrel that those two (and Sewell, Kirk) have to be an effective tagger? I seem to recall him getting bodied out of a few contests this year.

I like the idea though, more-so than say Sherman or Adcock tagging. Dazzle probably won't ever have the serious hurt-factor with his possessions that either of these can have but if he's racking them up running with the opposition's best mid then what he's doing becomes even more valuable. He fits the bill in that his disposal and decision making don't seem to weaken with fatigue, which is something that happens to Selwood IMO.

Grimreepah
9 Nov 2008, 22:59
A tagger is a physically demanding role and I don't think Dalziell is tough enough yet. I also don't think his defensive game is his strength. He averages two tackles a game which is not a lot (17th best at the club). While he may need to become more defensively minded, I don't think being a stopper would be his go.

irel
10 Nov 2008, 08:45
IMO the argument is irrelevant, because the opposition will have to find an Abibi Bikila clone each week just to keep up with our Dazzler. He will be a tagged man himself as I can't see him being allowed the time and space he was in his debut season. The question is can he learn to live with a tagger hanging off his shorts?

Lace Out
10 Nov 2008, 11:13
Yeah I think he has to be played offensively.At least it's another bloke they have to look at.Opposition coaches have really only had to use one shut down player against us."Who do we tag,Black?.Yeah that should do it"

Fairley
10 Nov 2008, 12:38
Dalziell won't be tagged unless he becomes more damaging with his disposal...

Grimreepah
14 Nov 2008, 10:57
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=69767)

Time to muscle up
By Simon White
10:23 AM Fri 14 November, 2008

HIS RUNNING ability played a big part in him reaching AFL level, but Brisbane Lions midfielder Bradd Dalziell is banking on improved strength to help him stay there and take his game to another level.

Dalziell, made a huge impact in the final seven games of the 2008 season, averaging more than 26-possessions-per-game and picking up a Rising Star Nomination.

The 21-year-old, taken by the Lions with the No. 52 pick of the 2007 National Draft, arrived at the Gabba weighing 80kg but has since bulked up to around 82kg.

He believes another few kilograms will help him build on an exciting start to his AFL career.

“The consensus from talking to the assistant coaches has been that opposition teams will know more about me this year and pay me a fair bit more attention,” Dalziell said.

“I know I’m going to have to get stronger, so that I can push off my opponents and then get the ball.

“That’s going to be a big thing for me over the pre-season. I’m doing five gym sessions a week and hopefully I can add that strength to my running.”

Aside from his match-day performances, the impression Dalziell left on season 2008 also included a record-breaking effort in the Lions’ beep test last summer.

He hopes to better his mark again in the months to come and joked that previous record-holder Simon Black had already conceded defeat.

“I reckon Blacky’s pretty much given up on that,” Dalziell laughed.

“He’s already said that at his age he doesn’t think he has any beep tests left in him.

“I’m hoping to take it up another couple of steps this year. The thing will be whether the strength work knocks any of my running ability out, but I guess I’ll find out when the time comes.”

Dalziell said the spectre of the dreaded 'second-year blues' had briefly entered his mind, but was quickly swept aside by the positive vibes of a first pre-season under new coach Michael Voss.

He intends to consult veteran midfielders Black and Luke Power for advice as he comes up against more tight-checking defenders.

“I’ll probably have it a little bit easier than some young players. I’ll be able to turn to Luke and Simon who are champion players and that will be a great learning tool,” Dalziell said.

“There’s a really good atmosphere around the club at the moment. Michael Voss has come in and is doing a few different things.

“There has been quite a lot of boxing and wrestling and competitive work to get us going. All the boys are loving it.”

http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/7016/dalziellxo3.jpg