Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 10:45
pick 56 - Matt Austin
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/7586/austinje8.jpg
Quigley
24th November 2007, 10:48
Matt Austin - Midfielder - DOB 30/3/89 Ht 186 Wt 74
From Inside Football
"Matt's just a class player with very good skills and very strong overhead for his size. He's the sort of player that when he gets the ball you know something good is going to come from it. Can play onball or up forward." Nth Ballarat regional manager Phil Partington.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 10:52
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53541)
Matt Austin
12:05 PM Sat 24 November, 2007
Name: Matt Austin
DOB: 30/03/1989
Height: 186.5cm Weight: 75.4kg
Recruited From: NORTH BALLARAT REBELS
Position: Midfielder
Bio: Versatile player who is an excellent kick and strong overhead for his size. Has good ball handling skills and agility. Vic Country U18 representative in 2007. From Stawell FC.
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/8733/austinyo3.jpg
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 11:10
We certainly don't mind North Ballarat boys do we...
Adcock, Tyler, Notting are all ex-Rebels I believe.
ReluctantLion
24th November 2007, 11:59
We certainly don't mind North Ballarat boys do we...
Adcock, Tyler, Notting are all ex-Rebels I believe.
Two Stawell boys in the team. Not bad for a town with a population just over 6000.
Hope he's influenced on the ground and not off it by the other Stawell boy ;)
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 12:08
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53749)
The club’s final pick saw Ballarat Rebels midfielder and Vic Country U18 representative Matt Austin join the Lions.
“We had Matt rated somewhere in the 20s and were very surprised that he was still available with our final pick. He is a 186cm midfielder/half-forward who has excellent skills,” Allan said.
Draft Camp Invitees (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8914233&postcount=23)
TAC Cup Best and Fairests (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9106872&postcount=15)
North Ballarat Rebels
Adam Goodes Trophy (B&F Winner) - Nick Peters (327 votes)
Runner-up - Kyle Cheney (237 votes)
3rd - Matt Austin (188 votes)
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 14:00
Here is some video footage of Matt Austin in action (no.3) (mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl1/OnDemand/Preseason08/mattaustin.wmv)
Look at the bump he lays (approx 40 secs in) followed by the gather and handball.
Cool customer. :D Lethal will love him.
He's a strong mark too, and a nice shot on goal.
This bandwagon is mine folks. Anyone riding shotgun?
Sherminator.
24th November 2007, 15:04
Anyone riding shotgun?
Me, me, me! This guy owns! :D
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 15:05
Me, me, me! This guy owns! :D
Righto, on you get Sherm.
I take it you watched the video?
TheBrownDog
24th November 2007, 15:08
Last year we took a kid named Matt from Ballarat with pick 54.
This year we took a kid named Matt from Ballarat with pick 56.
Sherminator.
24th November 2007, 15:09
Yeah I watched it :cool:. I've seen him play before, too.
BigCat2
24th November 2007, 19:25
Last year we took a kid named Matt from Ballarat with pick 54.
This year we took a kid named Matt from Ballarat with pick 56.
TBD is a monty for 2008 Matt Austin sponsor then. :cool:
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 20:00
Preseason
Height - 185.5
Weight - 74.0
5m sprint - 1.13
20m sprint - 3.07
Agility - 8.42
Shuttle - 13.0
Vertical Jump - 66
Repeat Sprints -
Screening
Height - 186.5
Weight - 75.4
5m sprint - 1.13
20m sprint - 3.04
Agility - 8.57
Shuttle - 13.3
Vertical Jump - 66
Repeat Sprints - 25.79
BigCat2
24th November 2007, 20:05
Looks like room for improvement for both strength and endurance. Will be a work in progress for a little while.
Grimreepah
24th November 2007, 20:16
Matt Burgan's Phantom Draft (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NABAFLDraftBlogwithMattBurgan/BlogArticle/tabid/8123/Default.aspx?newsId=53419)
52 – BRISBANE LIONS – MATT AUSTIN North Ballarat Rebels, VIC, Medium midfielder, March 30 1989, 186.5cm, 75.4kg
The Lions were understood to be considering Austin in last year's draft and they continue to remain keen on him. He is right in the mix for their second last pick in the draft. Opinions have varied on where he sits overall, with some recruiters believing he could be a second round selection and others seeing him as a rookie prospect. A handful of other players have also been linked with the Lions at No.52 or No.56, including John Williams, David Zaharakis, Jeremy Laidler, Ryan Normington and Matthew Davis.
Bio: Versatile player who is an excellent kick and strong overhead for his size. Has good ball-handling skills and agility. Vic Country U18 representative this year. From Stawell FC.
BigFooty Profiles
Matt Austin, 186 cm. Lazy. C Grade that will get picked up, but doe not work hard enough for mine. Is a player that'll get 10 possies and 3 goals playing half forward but will be satisfied with it. Has all the makings of a great midfield/ flanker; Neat kick, reads the play well, body shape tremendous, isn't slow, can accumulate poessesions at will- work ethic is a worry.
Matt Austin has been in awesome form late in the year. very smart with the ball. averages over 5 tackles a game, for his size is an awesome effort. skills on both sides of body. could be very dangerous as an attacking half back. played the majority of his time in the middle with the rebels.
Grimreepah
25th November 2007, 00:13
Link (http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/austin-endures-nervous-wait/1091789.html)
Austin endures nervous wait
23 November 2007 - 9:51AM
http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/images/masthead_default_logos/96.jpg
A long, nervous wait will finally come to an end for former Stawell Warriors footballer Matt Austin tomorrow.Austin will anxiously listen in on the broadcast of the 2007 AFL National Draft, hoping his dream of playing elite football will come true.
"I am confident but you never know what's going to happen," he said.
"I am starting to get pretty nervous."
Austin, who was a co-captain for the North Ballarat Rebels this season, has already been in contact with three AFL clubs since his involvement in the AFL Draft Camp.
The talented midfield/forward said representatives from the clubs visited him and his parents at their Ballarat home.
"They just came down to get to know the family and me a bit better," he said.
"It's fairly positive, normally if they come down they are a bit keen."
He said living arrangements, pre-season and when he would be required to arrive at the club were all discussed in these meetings.
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53793)
A sense of excitement about moving to Brisbane was echoed by North Ballarat draftee Matt Austin, whom the Lions took shortly after Dalziel at pick 56.
“I’m looking forward to play alongside guys like Jonathan Brown and Simon Black and hopefully playing finals in the next couple of years,” Austin said.
“I think I’m getting to the club at a pretty good time and it’s obviously going to be a pretty exciting environment to be in.
“I know it’s a really good club for developing young players.”
The 18-year-old averaged 15 disposals per game playing for Victoria Country at the 2007 under 18 national championships.
“I didn’t really know what would happen today (draft day), where I’d be going or even if I would get picked up – so I’m pretty stoked,” Austin said.
“I’ll obviously be a Lions fan now but I used to be an Essendon supporter and so did my dad.
“As you could imagine, neither of us were too much fans of the Lions in the 2001 grand final!”
Sherminator.
25th November 2007, 01:05
It's 3am Grim, go to bed. There'll be more time for excitement tommorow :)
xplo
25th November 2007, 11:41
Liked the look of him. Composed, good toe, runs smart lines and reads the play well. Nice neat kick. Hard to see any glaring weaknesses in that snippet of video.
The Flying Belgian
25th November 2007, 13:07
I've been on for a while. Count me in.
Grimreepah
26th November 2007, 23:48
Link (http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/draft-picks-three/1092948.html)
http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/images/masthead_default_logos/153.jpg
http://wimmera.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif 26 November 2007 - 11:40AM
Draft picks three
By MATTHEW HILLARD
A FURTHER three Wimmera footballers have won a spot on an AFL club list after the region's most successful draft outcome in nearly 20 years.
Warrack Eagles' Clayton Hinkley and Kyle Cheney and Stawell's Matt Austin, all 18, were among 69 players selected in Saturday morning's national draft.
But the trio will head in different directions to pursue their football dream.
Hinkley was the first to go after Fremantle selected him at pick 24. Cheney is now a Demon after Melbourne opted to elect him at selection 53 while Austin went three spots later to the Brisbane Lions.
For Hinkley, there was little time to think about the consequences of Saturday morning's draft.
Yesterday he was on a flight from Melbourne to Perth to meet his new Dockers team-mates.
Hinkley's grandmother Joan Jennings said the family were all thrilled with Clayton's selection, which at pick number 24 came earlier than most pundits had predicted.
"It's a big change, but he was really happy about it," she said.
While Hinkley is already at his new club, Stawell's Matt Austin leaves today for Brisbane. There he will be reunited with former North Ballarat Rebels team-mate, Rupanyup's Matt Tyler.
Brisbane star forward Jonathan Brown rang Austin at the weekend to welcome him to his new club.
"I'm pretty happy to be up there," Austin said. "To get picked up is a massive relief and they're rebuilding so I am looking forward to it. But it was a fairly nerve-wracking and stressful time leading into it."
Warracknabeal's Kyle Cheney will have a further two days at home before heading to Melbourne on Wednesday to start his career as a Melbourne Football Club player.
"I'm still pretty flattered and over the moon," he said on the realisation new team-mates included AFL stars David Neitz, Cameron Bruce and Brad Green.
AFL Victoria Wimmera development manager Geoff Burdett said the draft was a great result for the region.
"It gives a lot of incentives for the young footballers coming through," he said.
http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/5539/austintk5.jpg
BRISBANE BOUND: Stawell's Matt Austin will head to the Brisbane Lions after being selected by the Queensland-based club in Saturday's draft. Here parents Mandy and Darren congratulate their son.
Grimreepah
28th November 2007, 15:31
Link (http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/austin-joins-lions/1093348.html)
http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/images/masthead_default_logos/96.jpg
http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/images/general/space.gif27 November 2007 - 8:44AM
Tim O'Connor
Matt Austin is busy settling into his new surrounds today after being selected in Saturday's AFL National Draft by the Brisbane Lions. Austin, who spoke to the Stawell Times-News from Melbourne airport, flew out to Brisbane yesterday to prepare for his new career as an elite footballer.
The former Stawell Warriors junior was taken at pick number 56 by the Lions, joining an exclusive list of the region's draftees including Brent Tuckey, Liam Pickering and Tim Notting.
Austin was simply relieved to finally know where his career would be heading.
"I am just happy and relieved that I got picked up," he said.
"It's a massive relief, it feels like 10 kilograms has been lifted off your shoulders."
On arrival to Brisbane, Austin said he would be picked up by Chris Johnston and taken to the club where he would meet with dieticians and fitness advisors and get a feel for the surrounds.
"I am fairly nervous but I am sure it will all work out fine," he said.
The 186 centimetre midfielder/forward admitted to speaking to a number of interstate and Victorian clubs in the lead-up to the Draft.
However, it was the Lions who snapped up this year's North Ballarat co-captain in their fifth and final pick.
Austin, an under 18 Victoria Country representative, joins former Warrack Eagles players Clayton Hinkley and Kyle Cheney as the Wimmera's 2007 exports.
Austin is also one of 37 Victorian players snapped up at this year's Draft.
A story on the Brisbane Lions website stated that the Lions had high opinions of the 18 year-old and were surprised he was still available when it came time for their final pick.
"We had Matt rated somewhere in the 20s and were very surprised that he was still available with our final pick. He is a 186cm midfielder/half-forward who has excellent skills," Lions Football Manager Graeme Allen was quoted as saying.
Austin will take up residence in Brisbane with assistant coach Paul Hudson, the son of former Hawthorn great Peter Hudson.
http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/1562/austinvs4.jpg
Newton Blues
28th November 2007, 17:28
Two Stawell boys in the team. Not bad for a town with a population just over 6000.
Hope he's influenced on the ground and not off it by the other Stawell boy ;)
Yes its good also rember Brent tucky played a few games for WC and collingwood wasnt quite good enough oh and liam pickering good players from my little town
danielcanberra
12th December 2007, 16:55
Oh crikey, I'm having trouble remembering Matt Austin.
Go on, talk him up to help me remember!
The Flying Belgian
12th December 2007, 19:50
That's an ordinary hair style.
Seriously, the first thing they should tell them at draft camp is to get a non-descript do so as not to make yourself a target.
Grimreepah
12th December 2007, 20:55
That's an ordinary hair style.
The hairdo reminds me of this bloke:
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/3229/cousinscw9.jpg
xplo
13th December 2007, 08:52
http://img507.imageshack.us/img507/1562/austinvs4.jpg
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1420/1093463844_5f829da72b_m.jpg
I reckon he's a spit for Haydn Kiel.
Grimreepah
19th December 2007, 15:08
I think Matt Austin has OP by the way.
Fwiw he carried OP during the entire TAC cup season. Hopefully he gets over it soon.
There haven't been any media reports on it so hopefully it's fairly mild.
TheBrownDog
19th December 2007, 17:41
There haven't been any media reports on it so hopefully it's fairly mild.
Has been in the stationary skills group every single time I've seen him at training, including today.
jack_riewoldt_rulz
19th December 2007, 17:46
Austin is a gun, He is a good mate of mine. Great Pick up!
Grimreepah
25th December 2007, 10:27
Link (http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22966107-23209,00.html)
Only one Lions draftee - pick No.56 Matt Austin - has been on a restricted program in the early stages of the pre-season.
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/8310/austinnh1.jpg
Kochie 16
25th December 2007, 19:18
Seems like a good kid, let's hope he performs well!
Grimreepah
17th January 2008, 10:27
So what do you think of the place? (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=54644)
Matt Austin is using the past experiences of another Ballarat product to navigate his way through early life as a Brisbane Lion.Austin has been lodging with Lions star Tim Notting, who is closing in on the 200-game milestone after being recruited from the Victorian country town in 1996.
“The playing group has been great and probably the hardest thing has been moving from country Victoria to the city,” Austin said.
“But I’ve been living with Tim Notting, who comes from the same area as me, and that’s really helped.
“Being able to watch and learn from him about diet and all the other professional things you have to do is great.”
Austin’s pre-season regime has been targeted around building resilience, after some injury problems during his junior career.
“I’m just working towards building up good core and overall strength,” Austin said.
“I had osteitis pubis a couple of years ago so my program is about making sure that doesn’t happen again.
“I’m doing Pilates, which I’d actually been doing for the last eight months before I came here. It’s really helped me and I know it’s the same for quite a few of the boys.”
Grimreepah
7th March 2008, 09:41
Must admit I wasn't overly impressed with Austin during the NAB Cup. He got a bit of the ball across half back but his decision making was lacking and he came up with some costly turnovers. Early days though.
TheBrownDog
7th March 2008, 09:54
http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/7453/austinzw0.jpg
Only one of our draftees to have an interrupted pre-season.... may have affected his confidence somewhat.
xplo
7th March 2008, 14:39
Must admit I wasn't overly impressed with Austin during the NAB Cup. He got a bit of the ball across half back but his decision making was lacking and he came up with some costly turnovers. Early days though.
Certainly looked a tad jumpy in the Essendon game, but I did like some of his foot skills in the North game at Carlton. A couple of times he got balanced up, sat his weight back on the kick, a little like Buckley used to, and ripped the ball out flat, fast and low straight over the obvious spots to kick to, on to a further contest. Lachie couldn't quite hold on to one of them, and Notting ran under the other one, but Austin appeared to me to be quite ambitious with what he thought he could achieve by foot -- and good vision to even see the less obvious options. Each time the ball sat up pretty like Luke's dinky chips but with much more depth.
We've got little to go on and it was only a glimpse, but I think if he can consistently pull off what he was attempting that day -- and he seemed to believe he could hit the pass -- he'll be one of the best 3 or 4 kicks in the side.
Early call I know.
Grimreepah
27th May 2008, 10:20
Link (http://stawell.yourguide.com.au/news/local/sport/afl/notting-austin-doing-league-proud/777256.aspx)
Who did you play for in the local Under 13 competition?
I played for the mighty Hawks.
How old were you when you started?
I think my first year in the under 13 competition was when I was about nine or 10.
The under 13 competition is now held under lights on Friday nights instead of the early Saturday mornings. Would you have liked the opportunity to do this Matt?
I would have much preferred to play under lights on Friday nights. It beats kicking the frost off the ground in the early hours of the morning and only being able to see 50 metres in front of you because of the fog. It also gives the family a good opportunity to get away for the weekend or get going early Saturday morning to other local footy.
What would you say to any kids out there now (boys and girls) thinking about having a game of football in the 13 and unders?
Football is a great game. It's a great way to meet new friends, get involved in physical activity and most of all have loads of fun which is the main thing.
Now to the Brisbane Lions. Firstly - how have you settled into life as an AFL footballer and the rigorous training regime under Leigh Matthews?
At first it felt very surreal being here and training with players such as Jonathan Brown, Simon Black, Luke Power and of course the great Tim Notting. But it didn't take to long to settle in and get used to being around and training with these blokes.
When I first got up here it was pre season training, so you could imagine it was fairly hard. I remember the first night I was here I think I saw three blokes have a chunder (vomit) in the space of 20 minutes. However, being a first year player the fitness staff ease you into it with a decreased training load for the first few weeks.
Training during the season is mainly about body maintenance, keeping fitness through skills sessions and for skinny kids like myself putting on some weight in the gym.
Living with Tim Notting must have been a bit surreal for you at the start. Has it been good having the support of another local Stawell boy?
Yeah it's been great living with Tim. He's helped me settle in to the life and routine of being an AFL footballer. It's hard when you first move up here being away from home for the first time, but Tim has definitely helped with the settling in period. I've been well looked after.
Who does the cooking?
I'd like to say I do, but Tim does most of the cooking. I help out with the occasional stint in the kitchen.
What are your goals for season 2008?
Obviously it would be great to get a senior game, but for the meantime I'm just focusing on playing good footy for the reserves in the QAFL with the Suncoast Lions.
Who has had the biggest influence on your football career to date?
Without doubt I would have to say my mum and dad. Not only did dad coach me up until I was 15, but he has always been there with advice and been willing to help me on any deficiencies. I hold dad in high regard for his football knowledge, I'd say he is up at the top with any coach I've had prior to getting into the AFL system. Mum is great, she has supported me the whole way.
http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/8165/austinsn3.jpg
charles202
27th May 2008, 15:24
For some reason i have this totally unrealistic belief that Austin can turn into that goal kicking medium forward that we are missing.
The only basis i have this it’s the fact that i have reread his draft bio's too many times, certainly a player i will be watching with interest in the next couple of years.