View Full Version : James Polkinghorne

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2007, 10:47
Pick 41 - James Polkinghorne

http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/9295/polkinghorneab5.jpg

POBT
24 Nov 2007, 10:52
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22030766%255E19897,00.htmlHun articlehttp://

Fearless Polkinghorne in Hawkish mood
07 July 2007 Herald Sun
Gareth Trickey

A BRIEF flirtation with volleyball has proved rewarding for Calder Cannons midfielder James Polkinghorne.

James Polkinghorne
Rock solid: James Polkinghorne mops for Vic Metro against South Australia yesterday. Picture: Norm Oorloff

The 18-year-old son of former Hawthorn player Robert Polkinghorne and nephew of Hawks star David Polkinghorne, he has a remarkable ability to launch his 82kg frame over packs and snatch the ball out of thin air with the grace of a professional spiker.

His fearlessness around the packs has also caught the eye of national selectors at the national under-18 championships.

Polkinghorne picked up 18 possessions for Victoria Metro in last week's game against Western Australia and finished with 18 possessions yesterday against South Australia at Princes Park.

"The leaping and timing of my jump in volleyball has definitely carried across to my football game," Polkinghorne said.

"I played for three or four years with St Bernard's College and made the under-15 Victorian schoolboy side, but as football became more demanding I had to follow my passion and veer away from volleyball."

Polkinghorne missed a large chunk of last season because of osteitis pubis.

But the 181cm Strathmore teenager has returned from a rigorous pre-season to average 24 possessions this year.

Talk of playing for Hawthorn is inevitable when your father and uncle have left their mark at the club.

"Dad's been a really good influence and has tried to direct me in the right direction," Polkinghorne said.

"He tells me to just try and keep level-headed about it all and stay focused."

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2007, 10:55
Link (http://www.starnewsgroup.com.au/story/51987)

CALDER Cannons’ rich draft history was strengthened on Saturday when a total of seven players were added to AFL clubs at the National Draft.

The Cannons have built a strong reputation for consistently producing boys ready to step into elite competition.

Aaron Kite, James Polkinghorne, Darcy Daniher, Adam Maric, Mitchell Farmer and Dean Putt will get their chance to cut their teeth with the best in the AFL after hearing their names called out on the weekend.

The Cannons were again a power in 2007 and won the TAC premiership under coach David Flood.

Polkinghorne will make his new home Queensland with Brisbane selecting the gifted midfielder with its third pick (number 41).

The 18-year-old is a typical in and under style player with the ability to rack up possessions.

Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53620)

RD 3 SELECTION, PICK No. 41 OVERALL – JAMES POLKINGHORNE
Original Club: Calder Cannons (VIC)
DOB: 21/01/1989
Height: 182.7cm
Weight: 81kg
Position: Small/Medium Midfielder

High possession winner and utility player who excels at the stoppages. Very athletic player who represented Vic Metro at the NAB AFL U18 Championships and has debuted with Coburg in the VFL. Runner-up in the Calder Cannons Best and Fairest award for 2007. Son of former Hawthorn player Robert Polkinghorne and nephew of Hawks star David Polkinghorne.

Has a tremendous ability to fearlessly leap over packs and grab the ball with the skills of a professional ‘spiker’ thanks to his three or four year volleyball background with St Bernard’s College and for the U15 Victorian schoolboys side. Missed some of last season with osteitis pubis but returned from a rigorous pre-season to average 24 possessions this year.

NAB U18 Championships Averages: Kicks: 11, Handballs: 5, Disposals: 16, Marks: 2, Goals: 1.

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/3694/polkinghornekv3.jpg

Quigley
24 Nov 2007, 11:08
From Inside Football

"James is a natural leader and showed the way for us all season. He has great hands, is good on the ground, can take a mark when up forward and is poised when asked to play in defense. A good kid." - Cannons coach David Flood.

My review after the Champs:

Polkinghorne – DOB 21/1/89 Ht 181 Wt 82

One of the oldest Div 1 players and has some admirers on BF. For me though he was another of the highly rated but underperforming Vic Metro midfield and I am not convinced. He got a bit of the ball at the championships and generally was good in traffic and took the right options. He will chase hard and works to make tackles and has reasonable pace. He is often a receiver at clearances and can take a nice mark. I don’t think though that he has good balance or is strong on the ball. He can be knocked off it and pressured with the ball and will turn it over too much kicking straight to the opposition. He is also susceptible to being run down himself whilst making his decisions. I have concerns that this could be an issue when he gets to the AFL and he has a lot less time to make decisions.

TheBrownDog
24 Nov 2007, 11:54
Just watched the videos of our draftees on AFL.com.au. Was pretty impressed with Polkinghorne.

Seems to be that nuggety on-ball type. Pace is not great but seems to have plenty of time. Doesn't shirk the issue either.

Dare I say it.... Adcock Mk II?

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2007, 12:04
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53749)

At 183cm and 81kg, Polkinhgorne is an athletic, high possession winning midfielder who excels at stoppages.
“James is an inside midfielder and another kid with great leadership character. He is related to the Polkinghorne’s that played at Hawthorn and we were really happy to get another quality person at the club,” Allan said.

Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53752)

“Young Polkinghorne, we think, is a great leader and an inside midfielder who we’re very happy with,” he said.

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3954/polkinghornesq9.jpg
Rock solid: James Polkinghorne mops for Vic Metro against South Australia.

TAC Cup Best and Fairests (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9350503&highlight=Matt+Austin#post9350503)

CALDER CANNONS
Winner: Jeremy Laidler
Second: James Polkinghorne
Third: Jackson Trengove

TheBrownDog
24 Nov 2007, 13:57
Here is some video footage of Polkinghorne in action (no.7) (mms://wm9.streaming.telstra.com/wh_afl1/OnDemand/Preseason08/jamespolkinghorne.wmv)

Sherminator.
24 Nov 2007, 15:08
I rate Polkinghorne highly, one of my TAC Cup faves. :) Glad we nabbed him, he'll make a good centreman.

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2007, 19:36
Testing Results

Preseason

Height - 182.0
Weight - 80.95
5m sprint - 1.22
20m sprint - 3.14
Agility -
Shuttle Run - 13.1
Vertical Jump - 77
Repeat Sprints

Screening

Height - 182.7
Weight - 81.0
5m sprint - 1.12
20m sprint - 3.06
Agility - 8.83
Shuttle Run - 13.1
Vertical Jump - 68
Repeat Sprints - 25.03

Vertical Jump

1. David Gourdis 81cm
2. Lachlan Hill 74cm
3. Patrick Dangerfield 73cm
4. James Mulligan 72cm
5. Levi Greenwood 71cm
6. Matthew Lobbe 70cm
Steven Gaertner 70cm
Simon Starling 70cm
9. Robbie Tarrant 68cm
James Polkinghorne 68cm
Mitchell Farmer 68cm

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2007, 20:18
Matt Burgan's Phantom Draft (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NABAFLDraftBlogwithMattBurgan/BlogArticle/tabid/8123/Default.aspx?newsId=53419)

53 – MELBOURNE – JAMES POLKINGHORNE Calder Cannons, VIC, Medium midfielder, January 21 1989, 182.7cm, 81kg
Having had three selections at No.4, No.14 and No.21, Melbourne will be eagerly waiting to see who falls through to its next pick at No.52. One player who could be a realistic chance of slipping through is Polkinghorne, who is in the club's batch of players for this selection. Hawthorn will consider the nephew of former Hawk David Polkinghorne if it opts not to select Stuart Dew. The Brisbane Lions and West Coast (although unlikely at No.20 or No.22), are the other clubs linked with Polkinghorne.
Bio: High possession winner who excels at the stoppages. Athletic player who represented Vic Metro at NAB AFL U18 Championships and has debuted with Coburg in the VFL. Runner-up in the Calder Cannons Best and Fairest award for 2007.

BigFooty Profiles

James Polkinghorne, 181 cm. B Grade midfielder. Robert Harvey esque with the esque being key. Not overly quick over the journey, although accelaration is not a worry; but just can't be tackled. Incredibly strong player through the hips and core- very powerful. Has penetration in his kick although ball drop causes lack of spin ont he footy. Hard at it inside player with class. 3rd round potential.

Pick #54 – Essendon – James Polkinghorne – Calder – Midfield
Showed some poise when he went down back, however he made his name in the midfield this year. He has good hands and is excellent at ground level. His skills are good and is a leader. Essendon will take him and give him time to develop in the VFL.

# 58 St Kilda - James Polkinghorne (Cannons / 181cm / 82kg)

It really upsets me that blokes like Polkinghorne don’t go a little higher. A guy that works extremely hard at his footy and leaves very little on the park. Very much an in and under midfielder who excels at getting the football at a contest. Great with his hands and just gets the footy going your way. Reminds me a little of Dean Kelly last year albeit a bit quicker. Kicking is not that penetrating and probably not his best skillset so lets hope that does not hold him back.

64. Kangaroos- James Polkinghorne 181cm 82kg Calder Cannons

Started the year on fire and ended it pretty well. A hard player to categorise because he can do a lot of things pretty well. I see him being a small defender as he is very good in the air and is quite quick of the mark.

James Polkinghorne-181cm, 82kg-Calder Cannons. Solid kid who didn’t really shine for Vic Metro. He tackles hard and can win the footy in close. Pace is average but he gets the job done in the TAC Cup. Uses the ball well and seems to give 100% all the time. Accumulates possessions rather than staring with the ball. Very disciplined player.
Pick 40 plus.

xplo
25 Nov 2007, 11:35
He's a funny collection of attributes.

Looking at that little grab, his hands, turning and inside skills looked like a good centreman -- early Ben Cousins or Geoff Raines -- but the kicking wasn't elite. Ben's never been a long kick though.

Then he has this impressive vertical spring, but it's hard to see him getting a lot of time to set up to use it, as he's better in traffic, and doesn't look to have the kicking accuracy or depth to spend significant time in the forward line. If he played back, they'd beat that marking flair out of him in the first 6 months.

First impressions anyway.

Grimreepah
26 Nov 2007, 10:12
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=53802)

Dummy run should help Polkinghorne
10:52 AM Mon 26 November, 2007
By Simon White
for lions.com.au

JAMES Polkinghorne hopes being used as a “crash test dummy” will stand him in good stead as he embarks on his career with the Brisbane Lions.
The 18-year-old, taken by the Lions as the No. 41 pick of Saturday’s NAB AFL Draft, starred for Calder Canons last year in the TAC Cup competition.
But he also tasted senior VFL action for Coburg, as part of an affiliation agreement with the Canons.
"I was used as the “dummy” in a sense – I ended up playing for Coburg because they wanted to expand things and give the younger guys a chance to try things out," Polkinghorne said.
"The bigger bodies were noticeable at the start but I’ve done a fair bit of weights and pilates and I was able to cope with it.
"At the start I sort of had to stand back and take in the different style of play of that level. But it was a great experience."
At 183cm, Polkinghorne’s frame might initially appear to be best-suited to work around the stoppages and at ground level.
But Lions fans shouldn’t be surprise if they see him regularly attacking the ball in the air – a legacy of time spent playing volleyball at high school.
"As far as my leap and timing goes, the volleyball has definitely helped," he said.
"Just knowing when to jump, based on the volleyball, is pretty handy.
"It’s an especially good asset to have a midfielder, when it’s not necessarily expected of you."
Polkinghorne had some “informal” chats with the Lions in the lead-up to the draft but is delighted to get the opportunity to learn from the likes of Simon Black, Luke Power and Nigel Lappin.
"I’m really looking forward to joining a side that’s on the up," he said.
"It might be sort of daunting in the beginning to be around players of that calibre, having watched them on TV so much.
"But hopefully I can take on a role of my own, watch what they do and then try to follow in their footsteps."
The Victoria Metro representative comes from good Hawthorn stock, with his father Robert playing for the Hawks in 1979-80 and his uncle David racking up more than 150 games in the brown-and-gold.
The youngest Polkinghorne, who will share a house with Jed Adcock when he moves to Brisbane this week, has already changed his own allegiances to the Lions.
And he doesn’t expect his family will have too many problems in that regard either.
"I think my family will be pretty keen for a lot of sides to go well this year," Polkinghorne said.
"Apart from me, a lot of my friends ended up getting drafted by other clubs – so there will probably be a fair few teams they’ll barrack for.
"But hopefully they’ll barrack the most for the Lions."

http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/8611/polkinghorne2ne5.jpg

POBT
26 Nov 2007, 10:14
Runner-up in the Calder Cannons Best and Fairest award for 2007.

Out of interest, I checked who won the B&F for Calder Cannons this year and it was Jeremy Laidler, who was mentioned a couple of times as a possible late draftee but missed out. Others in contention were Mitchell Farmer and Ashley Arrowsmith.

CoZi36
26 Nov 2007, 10:49
James Polkinghorne Player Profile

http://caldercannons.footballvic.com.au/_content/image/00081843-image.jpg

Name: James Polkinghorne
Jumper Number: 7
D.O.B: 21st January 1989
Local Club:Strathmore
Nick Name: Pokey
Star Sign: Aquarius
Which AFL team do you barrack for? Hawthorn

How old were you when you first started playing footy?
Under 12's - bit of a blur, but always loved playing.

Which past Cannons player is the best and why?
Richard Douglas - very good honest player and role model, played like a leader.

One thing you never leave the house without?
Phone

Best subject in school?
Recess

One place you would like to visit?
Brazil

Best present you ever got for your birthday?
Buzz Light year

Name 3 people you would invite to dinner and why?
1. Lara Bingle - for her personality
2. Strauchnie aka Peter Hellier - funniest dinner I would eat
3. homeless friend

If you could be a movie star who would it be?
Owen Wilson

Best movie you've ever seen?
At the moment, Bra Boys.

Other than Football what sport would you like to play?
Soccer

Funniest thing a coach or team-mate has told you?
Maysie's love life.

What's your ambition in life?(Other than AFL Football)
To get the best out of myself and others.

What is your most embarrassing moment?
Too many to remember!

Source: http://caldercannons.footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=genericnewsdisplay&kw=63&aid=120873

Grimreepah
26 Nov 2007, 23:42
Link
(http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22824931-10389,00.html)
Matthews backs his new recruits
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Ashleigh McIntosh and Robert Craddock
November 26, 2007 11:00pm

LIONS coach Leigh Matthews' first exchange with new recruit James Polkinghorne contained a whimsical wish . . . "I hope you kick better than your uncle".
Polkinghorne, chosen by the Lions as the 41st pick in the national draft, has been drawn from the rich heritage of Hawthorn Football Club where Matthews rose to greatness as a player.
Polkinghorne's father Robert played five games for the club and his uncle David 161 in a nine-year career (1975-84) as a no-frills defender with an awkward kicking style.
At 182cm and 81kg, James is an almost identical size to his father and uncle. Matthews will be happy if the youngster has inherited his uncle David's fondness for hard work.
"David was one of those really fit, hardworking footballers but he had a very unusual kicking action," Matthews said. "He was one of those players who got the maximum out of his god-given talent. He was not blessed with enormous natural talent so while he was not regarded as a great player he played a lot of football.
"I don't know whether David's kicking skills would survive in the possession era we play in but he was a great competitor and we hope that has rubbed off in the family genes. They do say James is a great competitor."
Matthews described David Polkinghorne as "an outstanding person" who famously had the courage to tell the truth in a tribunal hearing involving a striking charge with saw rival Wayne Johnston suspended.
James Polkinghorne, 18, has moved to Brisbane from Melbourne with fellow draftees Brad Dalziell, Lachlan Henderson, Tom Collier and Matt Austin, who attended Lions training for the first time yesterday.
"I have some mixed emotions in that I am excited and nervous but it's great to be up in Brisbane and finally the dream has come true and I am lucky enough to live it," Polkinghorne said.
"Dad and my uncle brought me up as a Hawks fan. I was mad about them but more so tried to watch players I wanted to be like such as Shane Crawford. Now I have to change to a Brisbane supporter."
Polkinghorne was philosophical about having to sever his lifelong support for Hawthorn. "I sort of had to prepare myself. I wanted to play AFL football no matter where it was so I had to not worry about where it would be."

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/4291/polkinghorneca0.jpg

TheBrownDog
27 Nov 2007, 00:01
Link
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/200/polkinghornenv6.jpg
IN head first . . . Brisbane Lions draft picks from left to right, Brad Dalziell, Matt Austin, James Polkinghorne, Tom Collier and Lachlan Henderson at training.

Wow, they all got up here quickly. Good sign.

mexicanwave
28 Nov 2007, 20:50
Link
http://img137.imageshack.us/img137/200/polkinghornenv6.jpg
IN head first . . . Brisbane Lions draft picks from left to right, Brad Dalziell, Matt Austin, James Polkinghorne, Tom Collier and Lachlan Henderson at training.

Nice Article... Polkinghorne sounds promising espesh if he can kick!!

Cousin Jed
28 Nov 2007, 21:11
Name 3 people you would invite to dinner and why?
1. Lara Bingle - for her personality

That's what they all say.

TheBrownDog
28 Nov 2007, 21:17
Polkinghorne seems like a serious kind of chap.

Didn't see him crack a smile once at training today. Doesn't appear unhappy, just seems to be serious and focused.

Could be a little bit shy/nervous still I guess.

notting18
28 Nov 2007, 21:23
Polkinghorne seems like a serious kind of chap.

Didn't see him crack a smile once at training today. Doesn't appear unhappy, just seems to be serious and focused.

Could be a little bit shy/nervous still I guess.

If you were in your first few days under the tutorlidge of Leigh Matthews and leaders like Brown, Black, Lappin and Power....I would be a little nervous too!

mexicanwave
3 Dec 2007, 16:54
Seems down to earth and a little reserved but I suppose most people would be in an entirely new environment.

foj1
7 Jan 2008, 19:15
James is a quiet and reserved sort of character- more of a watcher rather than being in the centre of things. Is very happy thouh that Filthy Smith is up there with him now.

TheBrownDog
7 Jan 2008, 19:19
James is a quiet and reserved sort of character- more of a watcher rather than being in the centre of things. Is very happy thouh that Filthy Smith is up there with him now.

Is he living with another player or a host family?

acuguy
7 Jan 2008, 19:32
Thanks for the footage of Polkinghorne, i must admit to being a little bit excited after watching it.

1.Looks to have the basics in regard to kicking the footy on either side

2.Loved that handball from the ground to clear the pack and hit a player in a much better position

3. Ability to follow up and give 2nd and 3rd efforts

4. Looks strong over the ball and well balanced

Grimreepah
17 Jan 2008, 10:32
So what do you think of the place? (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=54644)

Calder Cannons recruit Polkinghorne has been losing some sleep in first couple of months at the Brisbane Lions – but it has little to do with nervousness or homesickness.Polkinghorne, who turns 19 on Monday, says Brisbane’s humid weather has been the hardest adjustment he has had to make.
“I think the hardest thing so far has been the weather,” Polkinghorne said.
“I think I’ve fitted in pretty well and the workload is probably as hard as I thought it would be – I haven’t been too shocked by that.
“But it’s so hot and humid. It’s pretty hard to get to sleep at night.”
Polkinghorne is sharing a house in East Brisbane with established midfielder Troy Selwood and says his pre-season program is largely about building endurance.
“I’m really working on the endurance aspect at the moment because it’s such an important part of playing in the midfield,” he said.
“I’m hoping to develop into a midfielder who can really run and it’s a matter of making sure you can do the gut-busting runs when you need to.
“Besides that I’m just concentrating on getting through a full pre-season, which is really important.”

dlanod
17 Jan 2008, 11:50
Geez can't they afford airconditioning to let our boys get some decent sleep? ;)

Warwick
17 Jan 2008, 12:11
Hot and humid?

He's seen nothing yet.

Grimreepah
31 Jan 2008, 10:22
Cannons in 7th Heaven (http://hume.yourguide.com.au/articles/1093569.html?src=topstories)

THE Calder Cannons had to wait until selection 21 for their first involvement in the 2007 AFL national draft.Once electrifying forward Addam Maric found his way to Melbourne, it started a domino effect and the Cannons ended with seven players drafted - or 9.85 per cent of this year's 69 selections.
Outgoing regional manager Chris Gleeson was in seventh heaven.

James Polkinghorne and Mitchell Farmer, considered two of the Cannons' best leaders, edged on to AFL lists in the third round.They will ply their trade at either end of the country: Polkinghorne will travel north to hook up with the Brisbane Lions and Farmer south to join last season's AFL runner-up Port Adelaide.
Gleeson sees both players as ready-made senior footballers entering the next phase of their careers with vastly differing junior backgrounds.
"Both of them played a game of VFL footy with Coburg in the seniors," Gleeson explained.
"They're good solid kids who've developed over three or four years.
"James and Mitch are different in that James was an under-16 state player and Mitch has improved over the last 12 to 18 months. They're both ready to go."

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/2714/polkinghorne2sz8.jpg

Heading north: James Polkinghorne, who is tackled by Eastern Ranges' Matthew Cunningham, has landed a berth on the Brisbane Lions list.

Grimreepah
18 Feb 2008, 14:42
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23228538-5003410,00.html)

Leppitsch said the focus of the game for Brisbane was to see how the club's youngsters responded to the challenge of senior fotoball and he identified Henderson and midfielder James Polkinghorne as the standouts from the club's five draftees to play.

Retired premiership defender Chris Johnson last week identified Polkinghorne, a third-round draft pick (41 overall), as a left-field candidate to assume his position in defence.
And the 19-year-old did his chances no harm, improving considerably when dropped back by Leppitsch to play in the defensive 50.

ZoBlitz
18 Feb 2008, 16:12
Did some good things on the basis that I checked the record a few times to work out who he was :)

Always struggle in the first round of the NAB, can never remember who any of the new guys are...

danielcanberra
18 Feb 2008, 16:44
Note to self in trying to remember names and faces:

The player who bears a slight resemblance to Ian from Shameless (http://www.channel4.com/entertainment/tv/microsites/S/shameless/) is Jim Polkinghorne

http://www.channel4.com/entertainment/tv/microsites/S/shameless/images/cast/series5/ianseries5_170.jpg

Grimreepah
21 Feb 2008, 11:07
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=55467)

Polkinghorne at home among the Lions
Author: Jennifer Witham
10:46 AM Thu 21 February, 2008

THE prospect of moving interstate to chase his dream of playing professional football did not intimidate new Lion James Polkinghorne.

The 19-year-old from Essendon accepted the fact he might be required to leave his home state during his final year of TAC Cup eligibility.

It was this mentality that made the eventual shift easier to bear.

"I think I've handled it pretty well," Polkinghorne told lions.com.au.
"I was top-age Under-18s and I knew where I wanted to be, and moving interstate wouldn't be an issue for me.

"I realised that could be the case for most of last year, and it wasn't that hard. Mum and dad were really supportive of it.

"In that regard, it's been better than it has been for a lot of other kids who can struggle. I think I've settled in pretty well.

"That's been ticked off, and then it's been a matter of ticking off the training sessions and then taking every training session as an opportunity to get better and put my hand up for another opportunity."

Polkinghorne, who has strong links with Hawthorn as both his father Robert and uncle David are former players, wasn't at all disappointed when his name was called by the Queensland club.

"I'm happy as up here," he said.

"I was absolutely ecstatic when it happened, and I haven't looked back.
"The rain in Brisbane has shocked me a bit, but I guess it's good for the drought and it will help the grounds.

"But, just going to sleep at night, you sort of toss and turn for awhile with the humidity."

The former Calder Cannons midfielder has an experienced mentor to learn from in his early months as a Lion, with the club arranging for him to live with teammate Troy Selwood.

"He's the sort of player I'd model my own game on," he said.

"It's good having him to see how he goes about it, not only on the track, but at home and away from football, and what he does and his professionalism.

"It's great having a role model like that, and he's good fun to live with."

Having been recruited on the November draft day, little did Polkinghorne know the following NAB AFL Rookie Draft would have a further effect on how he'd settle in to life in Brisbane.

His former Cannons teammate and fellow northern Melbourne suburbs dweller Phil Smith also became a Lion, which Polkinghorne believes made his own transition even smoother.

"That was great. He got picked up in the rookie draft, and it was even more rare having that happen," he said.

"We sort of haven't left each other's side, and we're starting to cop it a bit from the guys.

"But it's really helpful, because it helps even more with having to move away from home, having a close mate."

Polkinghorne got his first real taste of his new notoriety when the Lions recently travelled to Townsville as part of the Telstra AFL Community Camp program.

The emerging player completed several school visits, including one to St Anthony's primary where he helped Jonathan Brown and Nigel Lappin install a goal post on the oval following an open forum with the students.

"It's good being around young and vibrant kids who enjoy being involved in all kinds of sport," he said.

"It's just good to be around them, and try to teach them all the stuff you've been through. Hopefully, they can pursue something they love doing.

"Speaking in front of the group of kids makes you want to pinch yourself, and you realise that you're kind of a role model.

"It's good fun. It's not intimidating; I know where I've got to be, so this sort of stuff doesn't distract me too much."

So, has anything been intimidating or challenging since he began his life as a Lion.

"Nothing. It's all easy," he laughed.

"Nah, it's not all easy. Physically, it's really intense, but mentally I think I've been pretty professional about it all.

"I haven't drifted off from where I want to be, so that's good."

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/8161/polkinghornepo6.jpg

TheBrownDog
21 Feb 2008, 13:48
Great article.

Seems mature and wise beyond his years.

Noel Gallagher
21 Feb 2008, 14:14
I know familly pretty well and I have no doubt that this kid will develop into a good AFL player. He has a freaky leap for a guy only 181cm tall and is second only to Croady (who is 191cms) in the vertical leap at draft camp.

Is a great athlete and soley focussed on his career. From what I hear he has settled down well in QLD and homesickness isn't a factor.

Grimreepah
7 Mar 2008, 09:44
http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/2514/polkinghornepp3.jpg

danielcanberra
7 Mar 2008, 13:24
Apparently, he's not even called Jim!!!

We NEED a Jim to go with

Jared, Jamie
Jed
Ji??
Josh, Jonathan, Joel, Joel, Joel
Justin

I wonder if we can draft a Jeff next time!

Grimreepah
24 Apr 2008, 19:00
Link (http://news.realfooty.com.au/lethal-chooses-cubs-for-melbourne/20080424-28ds.html)

Polkinghorne, Dalziell and Collier will make their senior debuts if selected in the final 22 against the Demons at the Gabba. The nuggety Polkinghorne, the No.41 selection at last year's draft and nephew of former Hawks star David Polkinghorne, looms as the most likely to debut after showing good signs up forward in the reserves for the Suncoast Lions.

Gabbatoir
24 Apr 2008, 22:54
We must be due for a first game sensation.

Freo has Rhys Palmer who's working wonders in his first year etc. Wouldn't it be great if Polkinghorne was ours!

Grimreepah
25 Apr 2008, 17:47
According to this (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=58415) Polkinghorne will debut this week:

BRISBANE LIONS
B: Michael Rischitelli, Daniel Merrett, Jared Brennan
HB: Joel Macdonald, Joel Patfull, Cheynee Stiller
C: Jed Adcock, Travis Johnstone, Anthony Corrie
HF: Rhan Hooper, Jonathan Brown, Tim Notting
F: Justin Sherman, Daniel Bradshaw, Matthew Leuenberger
Foll: Jamie Charman , Simon Black, Luke Power
I/C: Robert Copeland, Scott Harding, Lachlan Henderson , James Polkinghorne
EMG: Tom Collier, Troy Selwood, Bradd Dalziell

In: Harding, Henderson, Polkinghorne
Out: Colm Begley (quad), Troy Selwood, Ashley McGrath (omitted)

New: James Polkinghorne (Calder Cannons)

macca69
25 Apr 2008, 17:53
Reckon he'll prove to be a very good get for you guys.

Don't think he has the raw talent to be a star, but his work-rate, leadership and hardness at the footy should see him make it and be a very solid player.

Best of luck James, will be watching him closely this week. :thumbsu:

notting18
25 Apr 2008, 18:35
Great news for the guy to have pushed so hard for selection that he is debuting at only round 6 in his first year on the list:eek:. Not many people would've picked that....

Best of luck to him!

danielcanberra
25 Apr 2008, 18:56
Well done Jim!

Have only seen him play at the practice match at Princes Park earlier this year. He's a bit of a work horse. A confident happy chap. This will be a great boost for him.

mpal6
25 Apr 2008, 22:09
Good luck Jim !!

acuguy
25 Apr 2008, 22:36
Looking forward to seeing him play, we don't need another Rischitelli, Stiller etc (all good players) we need someone that can move well and take a good overhead mark and knows how to hit the packs hard, i hope Polks can do some of this in the future

Grimreepah
27 Apr 2008, 14:28
I am really liking the look of Polkinghorne early. He seems to have the size/build about him, to compliment his skills, that could mean he could play some good footy early in his career

Me too Notts. He looks comfortable with the pace of the game and just has good body language about him. Surprised to see him playing up forward.

notting18
27 Apr 2008, 14:32
Surprised to see him playing up forward.
It is clear that he is playing the Ash McGrath role up forward and on his first half performance he is doing it quite well (all he needed to do was kick that goal). I've noticed him doing plenty of sheparding/body work which is always good to see from a young player.

macca69
27 Apr 2008, 17:28
Me too Notts. He looks comfortable with the pace of the game and just has good body language about him. Surprised to see him playing up forward.

Unfortunately, I didn't see the Brisbane game today (would have loved to see Polkinghorne debut), but at TAC level, he did pinch hit up forward quite effectively.

He's really smart player, has an excellent vertical leap and has really good hands. Good set-shot kick for goal too.

How did he look on debut today, and did he spent much time in the guts?

Grimreepah
27 Apr 2008, 17:47
How did he look on debut today, and did he spent much time in the guts?

No. Spent all his time in the forward line. Only got 10 disposals, but he showed good hands and looked reasonably dangerous when he had the ball. Had two shots on goal and missed both (one a poster). He didn't set the world on fire, but he looked composed and he struck me as being a smart player. I hope he gets another go next week.

konstas_87
27 Apr 2008, 18:27
very promising debut:thumbsu: great hands, and knew where to lead.

xplo
29 Apr 2008, 14:18
Yeah, I thought 'composed' was probably the word. Knew where to go to and what to do.

Grimreepah
25 May 2008, 19:31
Link (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=56333&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5494413&sectionID=56333)

James Polkinghorne’s strong marking was a feature, often against opponents much taller than him.

TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 16:29
I'm going to start pushing the Polkinghorne bandwagon hard.

I like everything about him... his professional attitude, work ethic, hunger for the contest and desire to succeed is of the Simon Black standard.

Hope we see him back in the senior side at some stage this year.

Go Jimmy P.

mish33
10 Jun 2008, 18:19
What I've seen of his games in the twos looks great. Haven't we had people calling for a strong crumbing forward who can take a grab???

TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 18:23
What I've seen of his games in the twos looks great. Haven't we had people calling for a strong crumbing forward who can take a grab???

He's certainly capable, but I'd rather see him developed as an on-baller.

mish33
10 Jun 2008, 18:48
agreed. He's got the makings of a Paul Chapman type about him I reckon.

Coach Bombay
10 Jun 2008, 18:59
Dont mean to toot my own horn here but am really good mates with polkers. Keep in touch fairly often. He certainly has played his best footy as an on-baller. In the past has had the ability to absolutely dominate in games. Very tough and comitted player. Hopefully gets another game soon!

Gabbatoir
10 Jun 2008, 19:08
Dont mean to toot my own horn here but am really good mates with polkers. Keep in touch fairly often. He certainly has played his best footy as an on-baller. In the past has had the ability to absolutely dominate in games. Very tough and comitted player. Hopefully gets another game soon!

Oh back off you horn tooter you!! :D

Nar that's interesting, hopefully he is able to make the transition from dominating VFL / AFLQ games to AFL matches.

TheBrownDog
10 Jun 2008, 19:08

How's his feedback been CB? Nice and settled up here? Gutted to not get drafted to the Hawks? ;)

Coach Bombay
11 Jun 2008, 00:49
Haha boys he is a very proud lion. The transition isn't easy but hardly ever is moving interstate. He's doing good though, gets alot of support from us back here (although copped it from him after you blokes beat us). We're all hoping he gets a game when you guys travel down here sometime.

LuckyLuke
11 Jun 2008, 09:13
Haha boys he is a very proud lion. The transition isn't easy but hardly ever is moving interstate. He's doing good though, gets alot of support from us back here (although copped it from him after you blokes beat us). We're all hoping he gets a game when you guys travel down here sometime.

Any nicknames of his you want to throw at us? ;)

Grimreepah
14 Jun 2008, 17:05
Good experience for Polkinghorne today to play a high intensity game against a high quality opponent in the Bulldogs. Didn't touch it in the first half but got into the game a bit more in the 2nd. Looks to be equally proficient off both feet.

Ceebee
14 Jun 2008, 17:11
Good experience for Polkinghorne today to play a high intensity game against a high quality opponent in the Bulldogs. Didn't touch it in the first half but got into the game a bit more in the 2nd. Looks to be equally proficient off both feet..
Liked him too Grim, didn't panic ,let him have another go.

irel
14 Jun 2008, 21:48
Why guild the lily. Let's call it as it is. Sorry but did not impress at all. In comparison to the Bulldogs young guns Polkinghorn looked a C grade plodder. At times it was embarrassing, his legs were moving but made absolutely no ground whatsoever. IMO, SLOW, SLOW F####G SLOW.

Judge
15 Jun 2008, 13:22
Why guild the lily. Let's call it as it is. Sorry but did not impress at all. In comparison to the Bulldogs young guns Polkinghorn looked a C grade plodder. At times it was embarrassing, his legs were moving but made absolutely no ground whatsoever. IMO, SLOW, SLOW F####G SLOW.

A bit tough, I would have thought.

On the basis of where we drafted him (42 or thereabouts) we would not have expected him to be a "young gun" like Cooney et al, and everybody probably looks a bit slower in a well-beaten team. I could obviously be wrong, but I think he is more than likely to become at least a useful utility. It seems that Leigh must like the look of him for some reason.

Ruse
15 Jun 2008, 16:36
yeah he didn't impress me either. Just seemed like another run-of-the-mill depth player I'd compare to selwood or copeland. He's needed in every team I suppose but we're better off blooding the better players we have running around suncoast at the moment like Collier and proud.

TheBrownDog
15 Jun 2008, 16:50
yeah he didn't impress me either. Just seemed like another run-of-the-mill depth player I'd compare to selwood or copeland. He's needed in every team I suppose but we're better off blooding the better players we have running around suncoast at the moment like Collier and proud.

Is this a serious post? He's been in the system 9 months and has played 2 games and he's already been pencilled in as a 'depth player'?

What did you think of Jonathan Brown after his first game?

Ruse
15 Jun 2008, 17:36
Is this a serious post? He's been in the system 9 months and has played 2 games and he's already been pencilled in as a 'depth player'?

Well they can't all be superstars. I'll admit he's only a kid really and trying to play at the top level at such a young age may be making him look ordinary so yeah we're probably better off playing the kids like Collier and Proud who has the body to go toe to toe with the opposition.

But yeah it's way too early to tell what he'll turn out like and I'm not one of those supporters who wants their players to either be handed the browlow or delisted after five games of AFL.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
15 Jun 2008, 18:12

Finally some sense, people have to be patient with developing players, for what its worth, i thought he did alright.

Grimreepah
15 Jun 2008, 19:05
Haha, 2nd game in and he's already being written off as a depth player:D

Polkinghorne looks to be quite a skillful player so I think the Selwood/Copeland comparisons are way off.

cjwalkley
15 Jun 2008, 19:30
Being at the game, I was impressed that Polkinghorne really knew where the ball was and found it well in clearances during his limited game time. His options were poor, generally giving off to any senior team mate that called for it (Black, Power) even when they were in a poor position.

As he gains experience he will eradicate that, and I can see hm becoming an excellent extractor.

mish33
15 Jun 2008, 21:03
agree. Looks like they see him as an in and under midfielder which is where I thought he did his best stuff. Certainly didn't look over-awed at stoppages which is encouraging.

Needs a longer run in the twos though to work on his fitness and disposal under pressure. That's what made me wonder when they selected him over Proud. Was Polks the only emergency that travelled?

bears2lions
16 Jun 2008, 14:50
Well done Jim, on your first game. You found the ball, which was a good thing.

TheBrownDog
16 Jun 2008, 15:04
Well done Jim, on your first game. You found the ball, which was a good thing.

Second game.

xplo
18 Jun 2008, 13:23
agree. Looks like they see him as an in and under midfielder which is where I thought he did his best stuff. Certainly didn't look over-awed at stoppages which is encouraging.

Needs a longer run in the twos though to work on his fitness and disposal under pressure. That's what made me wonder when they selected him over Proud. Was Polks the only emergency that travelled?

I agree with CJ. Watching him work off the ball, he knew when to leave to get to a contest that hadn't even begun forming -- basically looked like he read the play well.

I probably set higher expectations on Albie, but I thought James' game was better than Alby's last senior effort at Geelong.

bears2lions
19 Jun 2008, 21:27
Second game.

Picky picky. Some people are so pedantic...

Grimreepah
24 Jun 2008, 00:37
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23910393-10389,00.html)

Polkinghorne (41) is highly rated and looks poised whenever he is in the action, but has struggled to get his hands on the ball enough to be a meaningful contributor in his three games.

Grimreepah
29 Jun 2008, 12:14
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23937535-5016181,00.html)

Cubs come with a rush as Brisbane Lions rebuild
Article from: Sunday Herald Sun
Damien Stannard
June 29, 2008 12:00am

First-year player James Polkinghorne is one of four debutants so far this year.
Within days of arriving from his home in Melbourne he was made aware of the club's expectations.
"I guess the main (message) was to be really competitive and pride yourself on the hard things, like tackling and hunting the opposition," Polkinghorne said.

Polkinghorne, 19, has fallen in love with his new home.
His first touch almost reads like a who's who of premiership stars.
"I led up the wing and Blacky (Simon Black) kicked it to me. I made the mark and kicked it in field to Charmo (Jamie Charman)," he said.
"It's a bit weird. I never thought I'd be doing that two years ago."

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/1633/polkinghorne4zb4.jpg

mish33
25 Jul 2008, 13:11
Got another nick name for Jimmy courtesy of the AFLQTube commentators.

The Horne