24 Nov 2007, 23:22
Welcome to Carlton. :)
cfc4life
25 Nov 2007, 16:19
any chance of me being his buddy?
TheGeneral
25 Nov 2007, 17:16
Steven Browne (HBF, BP) - 1 February 1989, 181cm 74kg. WA/West Perth
"Weaver: If any of the specialist small backman is to be picked then surely Browne will the one. WA were dominant which made his task easier than it might have been - but he took the most dangerous opposition smalls, blanketed them, and cut them up the other way. No flairy headline grabbing stuff - just very effective percentage football married to good pace and accurate foot passing. Quite top-aged but certainly in the mix.
"
"ant555: Stephan Browne – 181cm, 74kg – West Perth. Played as a small defender during the national champs but he is another that will be looked at as a future midfielder. Plays tight and hard and did well to blanket out his opponents. Has good pace and is an accurate kick. Has had very good form in the WAFL in recent weeks.
"
"Quigley: Browne was another of the midfield / HBF brigade for WA who dominated the championships. His contribution was probably overlooked a little in light of the performances of Morton, Masten, Palmer and Rich but he was an important element of the team and got a lot of the pill and gave great run through the middle. Browne looks and plays like a footballer and at the very least is going to be a solid player for a lot of years to come. At best he could develop along similar lines to what Jed Adcock has for Brisbane. He should start in defence at HB or even BP before moving to the midfield as he develops. He moves extremely well and has good balance and pace. He reads play nicely and has the great knack of being in the right place at the right time and that is usually at the drop of the ball. He is a lovely kick off either foot particularly his left and can deliver it lace out or weighted nicely to his forwards. For his size Browne is a great mark and will often take marks over bigger opposition. He is a bit light at the moment but he seems to have a build which will fill out nicely. If he gets out of the top 20 on the real day I am going to be very surprised."
:thumbsu:
Jeremias
25 Nov 2007, 17:41
any chance of me being his buddy?
There are no guarrantees - you will just have to wait for the buddy draft to find out.
TheGeneral
25 Nov 2007, 21:23
West Coast - Megladon
#22 - Steven Browne - Medium Defender - West Perth - 180cm, 75kgs
One of my fav WA boys, very versatile, has mostly played back in state games but is a high quality onballer /forward who likes to kick goals, excellent over head mark, reads the fall of the ball very well, doesn't over attack from defence, spots turnovers early and is often the 1st man back, stays composed , good disposal. Made his league debut after 18s carnival and was outstanding. High quality backman with midfield skills and highest level footy smarts, would lead most sides he plays for in 1%ers and hard ball gets...no down side, will make the ideal go to defensive player desperately needed by the Eagles
Gilly1972
26 Nov 2007, 09:07
I had him spot on 20 on my "best available" list, the club had him inside 20 :D:thumbsu:
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22820480-2722,00.html
Sounds like a quality kid :thumbsu:
TheGeneral
26 Nov 2007, 09:15
Who needs Cotchin if Browney can kick with both feet and goes in hard? ;) :D
Gilly1972
26 Nov 2007, 09:16
Who needs Cotchin if Browney can kick with both feet and goes in hard? ;) :D
Browney will play on Cotchin and Cotch won't get a kick...then we have Kreuzer to boot :D:thumbsu:
TheGeneral
26 Nov 2007, 09:21
Browney will play on Cotchin and Cotch won't get a kick...then we have Kreuzer to boot :D:thumbsu:
Ha ha!
I was going to suggest we draft McGinnity in the rookie draft to stitch up the Cotch everytime we play them. ;) :cool:
Gilly1972
27 Nov 2007, 08:19
Ha ha!
I was going to suggest we draft McGinnity in the rookie draft to stitch up the Cotch everytime we play them. ;) :cool:
Well St Kilda have followed that reasoning drafting Jack Steven :eek:
Andyt31
28 Nov 2007, 21:52
hopefully Browney will keep Cotch to 0 just to see what Richmond supporters excuses are ;)
and see Kreuzer have a lot of kicks and hand passes and maby a few goals ;)
TheGeneral
28 Nov 2007, 22:17
hopefully Browney will keep Cotch to 0 just to see what Richmond supporters excuses are ;)
and see Kreuzer have a lot of kicks and hand passes and maby a few goals ;)
I doubt they'd care if Cotchin never gets a kick.
They've got the greatest bargains in draft history in Connors and Putt.
Their future success will be due to guns such as Oakleigh-Nicholls, Connors, Pattison, Putt, Schulz, Tambling, Pettifer and Hughes.
Not Cotchin.
Gilly1972
5 Dec 2007, 12:22
http://www.carltonfc.com.au/portals/0/images/players/blues/Steven_Browne_200.jpg
Looks like a real hard nut in Navy :thumbsu:
Well St Kilda have followed that reasoning drafting Jack Steven :eek:
Another one of your favourites at one stage.
Gilly1972
14 Dec 2007, 08:20
Another one of your favourites at one stage.
Nah, I just thought Steven was a bit underrated by some.....thought he was worth a punt with a 60+ pick. Can't remember what St Kilda paid for him but probably OTT.
TheGeneral
14 Dec 2007, 12:22
Steven Browne, WA, 1 February 1989, Small Defender, 179.8cm, 74.7kg:
Small defender / midfielder with clean skills and good ability overhead for a player his size. Made his senior WAFL debut in round 17 with West Perth and was named best on ground in round 18 with 29 disposals and ten marks. Recorded solid results at the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp with a 13.8 beep test and 3.00sec 20m sprint.
Midfielder. :thumbsu:
/CaptainObvious
TheGeneral
30 Dec 2007, 14:00
How many games do you think Browne will play next year?
I think he's an outside chance of getting a rising star nomination next year and will go down as a bargain pick. :thumbsu:
Browne appears to have more tricks up his sleeve and better disposal than Bentick going by the video footage on the AFL website. My gut tells me Browne could step up and be a surprise packet next year after he made his WAFL debut and played eight games with one BOG performance. I'd rather see Browne replace Bentick than Blackwell who I rate and have a soft spot for since he's a FS pick.
EddieBettsIsAChamp
1 Jan 2008, 00:17
How many games do you think Browne will play next year?
I think he's an outside chance of getting a rising star nomination next year and will go down as a bargain pick. :thumbsu:
Browne appears to have more tricks up his sleeve and better disposal than Bentick going by the video footage on the AFL website. My gut tells me Browne could step up and be a surprise packet next year after he made his WAFL debut and played eight games with one BOG performance. I'd rather see Browne replace Bentick than Blackwell who I rate and have a soft spot for since he's a FS pick.
His training stats really speak so what your saying may actually be a strong possability. I look for him to at least be a runner up for a nomination.
TheGeneral
1 Jan 2008, 19:32
His training stats really speak so what your saying may actually be a strong possability. I look for him to at least be a runner up for a nomination.
A runner-up for a nomination? :confused:
How does that work? ;)
I was a bit hasty to say he's ahead of Bentick and Blackwell, but both Browne and Armfield appear to have AFL bodies and look ready to go IMO.
Our list of midfielders and flankers will bat alot deeper next year. :thumbsu:
EddieBettsIsAChamp
3 Jan 2008, 13:24
A runner-up for a nomination? :confused:
How does that work? ;)
I was a bit hasty to say he's ahead of Bentick and Blackwell, but both Browne and Armfield appear to have AFL bodies and look ready to go IMO.
Our list of midfielders and flankers will bat alot deeper next year. :thumbsu:
Well, you know what I mean:). Sitting on the line of nominee, and first year player.
TheGeneral
13 Mar 2008, 14:10
Mike & Dan with Steven Browne (http://http://carltonfc.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=56141)
What would you describe as the strongest feature of your game?
I think there are 2 things that tend to get talked about – I’m a good mark for my size and a good kick on either side of my body.
Browne's skill should keep his name in front of selectors this year. :thumbsu:
That and the fact he's big enough to play seniors this year.
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/carlton_images/browne-060308-246.jpg
Steve looks a bit like Campbell Brown.
LOL.
We're a developing side, but our depth has improved out of sight when we can pick a competitive team without Walker and Carlos. :)
You said when you were drafted that you had idolized Chris Judd. Have you picked up any good tips from the new captain at training?
Just the way he goes about….everything he does really. The manner he goes about training, his diet – there’s so much you can learn from him.
Judd and Armfield>>>>>3, Kennedy and 20. :cool:
Jeremias
13 Mar 2008, 16:47
The injury to Walker may just have put Browney on notice, and he might just be creeping into the heads of the selectors.
I think he'll play seniors at some stage this year, and with a vacancy of a half back line, if he puts in some solid performances from the get-go, then it could be sooner rather than later that we see him in the Navy Blue.
Best of luck to him in 2008, I will be following his development throughout the season with interest. :thumbsu:
Trueblueroo
14 Mar 2008, 08:40
The injury to Walker may just have put Browney on notice, and he might just be creeping into the heads of the selectors.
I think he'll play seniors at some stage this year, and with a vacancy of a half back line, if he puts in some solid performances from the get-go, then it could be sooner rather than later that we see him in the Navy Blue.
Best of luck to him in 2008, I will be following his development throughout the season with interest. :thumbsu:
Has already been told he is in good stead for round 1.
Jeremias
14 Mar 2008, 10:35
Has already been told he is in good stead for round 1.
Source?
Trueblueroo
16 Mar 2008, 20:09
Source?
Yeah, Browney.
Jeremias
17 Mar 2008, 19:27
Yeah, Browney.
Fantastic news IF true.
I don't think that many of us would have expected that.
How do you know Browney?
Blue Dimension
17 Mar 2008, 20:00
Fantastic news IF true.
How do you know Browney?
I think it could very well be true. Played in the pre-season match against the Dogs and certainly didn't look out of place.
Jeremias
17 Mar 2008, 20:08
I think it could very well be true. Played in the pre-season match against the Dogs and certainly didn't look out of place.
Yes, but at the same time, he didn't do all that much. Also hadn't played in a preseason game prior to that, besides the Freo game in South Africa.
Don't get me wrong, I'd be extremely happy to see him play, but is he really ahead of someone like Pfeiffer?
Blue Dimension
17 Mar 2008, 22:44
Yes, but at the same time, he didn't do all that much. Also hadn't played in a preseason game prior to that, besides the Freo game in South Africa.
Don't get me wrong, I'd be extremely happy to see him play, but is he really ahead of someone like Pfeiffer?
I believe Pfieffer should get a gig ahead of him, however Pfieffer didn't play the last practice game and apparently has been injured the past two weeks, hence his absence. I think Browne will play if Pfieffer doesn't.
Trueblueroo
18 Mar 2008, 10:07
Fantastic news IF true.
How do you know Browney?
Play football with him time to time
BlueWorld
20 Mar 2008, 10:07
Has already been told he is in good stead for round 1.Really!:rolleyes:
Trueblueroo
20 Mar 2008, 11:21
Really!:rolleyes:
Yeah he was, unfotunate not to have been named an emergency, and he is dissapointed but for his sake, he'll carve up coburg on Saturday!
Mighty Eagles
6 Apr 2008, 20:36
How's his form been in the VFL?
The Grover
6 Apr 2008, 20:39
How's his form been in the VFL?
From all reports I think he did really well today. Played up forward (2 goals), down back & in midfield.
I think he's a massive chance to play next week, considering we need matchups for Thomas,Didak,Davis & Medhurst.
Blue Dawn
9 Apr 2008, 14:26
From all reports I think he did really well today. Played up forward (2 goals), down back & in midfield.
I think he's a massive chance to play next week, considering we need matchups for Thomas,Didak,Davis & Medhurst.
Let's hope so. Our structure needs blokes like Browne ans Armfield.
bluegal1983
27 Apr 2008, 11:19
Pretty good debut from young Browney :)
11 possessions, 6 marks, 6 tackles and a goal in his first game of footy.
Looks like he knows where to run and should keep his spot.
Jeremias
27 Apr 2008, 12:22
Thought he was very good yesterday, a real shining light.
I watched him particularly closely, and he looked like he improved as the game progressed. When he first came on he seemed a little lost, running around in circles and not really sure what to do.
But he then started to get a little of the ball, gaining confidence as the game went on, and ran to the right places.
He's not afraid to put his body on the line - 6 tackles in a debut is a magnificent effort. Skills looked good too.
I was really impressed with his game. Definitely in the team next week.
Well done Browney :thumbsu:
Blue Dawn
27 Apr 2008, 12:46
Very happy with the debut performance of B-R-O-W-N-E. Great ethic and knows how to finish (unlike one or two other blokes out there). Should be the beginning of a long career. Well done mate! :thumbsu:
Pred_ator
27 Apr 2008, 19:16
Very happy with the debut performance of B-R-O-W-N-E. Great ethic and knows how to finish (unlike one or two other blokes out there). Should be the beginning of a long career. Well done mate! :thumbsu:
Here, here- the small defensive hard nut we have been lacking in our line up.:thumbsu:
Best of all, he did not look at all overawed - the cheek/confidence to try and take a screamer for his first possession. Gotta love it
:thumbsu:
theone5
29 Apr 2008, 13:12
He did look quite the goods actually.
He sort of looked like he had played over 20 games for you blokes with his confidence and dash.
Do you expect him to play the majority of the rest of the year?
Blue Dawn
29 Apr 2008, 15:45
He did look quite the goods actually.
He sort of looked like he had played over 20 games for you blokes with his confidence and dash.
Do you expect him to play the majority of the rest of the year?
We expect him to play the majority of the next 15 my friend. ;):thumbsu:
Gilly1972
30 Apr 2008, 10:46
Sack Wayne Hughes :rolleyes:
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
3 May 2008, 17:12
Man I'm impressed by this kid. He is very composed and I feel safe and relaxed when the ball is in his hands
darknavy17
6 May 2008, 21:47
Interesting to note that Shane Rogers has come in to the Rec Department in the last twelve months and all of a sudden we are picking tough nuts, I bet he had something to do with Browne, Arnfield, Kruezer, Joseph, Ellard coming to the Club.
Thank God he is here, we still need more tough nuts, message to recruiting staff find hard nuts who can run and use the footy.
TheGeneral
6 May 2008, 23:13
My memory might have faded because it was 13 years ago, but Adrian Whitehead's game and body wasn't as advanced as Browne's in his first year.
Whitehead certainly didn't back himself in to jump over a pack and fly for a mark with his first touch. :cool:
The sky is the limit if Browne keeps working hard and doesn't rest on his laurels.
Great name for a back pocket or hard nosed tagger when it's as no thrills and as strong as his Carlton namesake who stopped Wallis in his tracks. ;)
Dunn - Well Done
12 May 2008, 11:17
is Browne in your best 22 when Houlihan, Thornton, Walker return. They are 3 very good defender types and im unsure whether his spot as a BP or HBF come under pressure when these players are fit.
How many games honestly will he play for the rest of 2008??
is Browne in your best 22 when Houlihan, Thornton, Walker return. They are 3 very good defender types and im unsure whether his spot as a BP or HBF come under pressure when these players are fit.
How many games honestly will he play for the rest of 2008??
I'd have Browne before Houlihan.
TheGeneral
12 May 2008, 13:19
This was posted 22 minutes ago, yet still no BlueWorld. :eek: ;) :p :D
Blue Dimension
12 May 2008, 19:08
Won't happen though i wouldn't think.
Houlihan will most likely take his place back upon returning from injury - whether or not he comes in for Browne or someone else is a different story
Blueboys7
13 May 2008, 12:55
Sorry to go a bit off topic but did you guys realise browne is about a month older than gibbs! I think a lot of people tend to forget how young bryce is.
TheGeneral
1 Jun 2008, 16:14
Browne reminds me of Ratten who started his career as a back pocket, so I hope he can improve as much as our coach when he moved into the middle.
Wasn't Ken Judge the coach who suggested to Parkin that Ratts should play on the ball? :thumbsu:
Murph is baby Judd
20 Jun 2008, 05:54
dunno what it is about this bloke, but ive got the feeling hes going to be incredibly important to our future success
has some real mongrel to him and is incredibly brave going backwards, doesnt seem to care what happens to him so long as he wins the footy
reminds me of luke hodge. probably wont get noticed much for a while (theres a reason hodgey went at no.3), but i reckon when he dos he'll be considered one of the bargains of the years draft
i forsee a lot of supporters putting 15 on their jumpers in the future
one_twelve112
20 Jun 2008, 11:35
dunno what it is about this bloke, but ive got the feeling hes going to be incredibly important to our future success
has some real mongrel to him and is incredibly brave going backwards, doesnt seem to care what happens to him so long as he wins the footy
reminds me of luke hodge. probably wont get noticed much for a while (theres a reason hodgey went at no.2), but i reckon when he dos he'll be considered one of the bargains of the years draft
i forsee a lot of supporters putting 15 on their jumpers in the future
Huh?!?!
Murph is baby Judd
20 Jun 2008, 12:32
Huh?!?!
typo , ease up