View Full Version : Ruining a game of kick to kick
W. Smithers
26 Nov 2007, 09:48
You're having a kick of footy with your mates, about 30 metres apart, drop punts and some contested marking.
Good times....
... or so you thought, all of a sudden one of your mates starts kicking torps over your head every kick, or a mates girlfriend joins in and starts doing those 10 metre mongrel punts that always spin back to her and let's not forget the tosser who thinks he's a quarterback and starts throwing grid iron style passes.
What was the thing that ruined a game of kick to kick for you?
dom_105
26 Nov 2007, 09:51
You're having a kick of footy with your mates, about 30 metres apart, drop punts and some contested marking.
Good times....
... or so you thought, all of a sudden one of your mates starts kicking torps over your head every kick, or a mates girlfriend joins in and starts doing those 10 metre mongrel punts that always spin back to her and let's not forget the tosser who thinks he's a quarterback and starts throwing grid iron style passes.
I hate that, it's happened to me heaps of times.
Doctor Jolly
26 Nov 2007, 09:52
Count yourself lucky. Try having a kick-to-kick in a rugby area. They cant even kick drop punts. All you get are up-country mongrels where you have to run 30m sideways to get to.
:rolleyes:
Rohan J. Carringbush
26 Nov 2007, 10:11
The bloke trying to kick with his wrong foot all the time, but can't.
Vale, having a kick on the ground after a game... :thumbsd:
Few things better than the sight and especially the sound of a hunderd footies being kicked at once. You look skywards, and it's footies everywhere. Beautiful.
Good times....
i have had that many times not just in footy but many sports, mates GF comes in after whinging she wants to join in and then we she gets a go starts complaining after one go that she has had enough and is bored and wants to do something else and really drains the life out of the activity!!!!
Count yourself lucky. Try having a kick-to-kick in a rugby area. They cant even kick drop punts. All you get are up-country mongrels where you have to run 30m sideways to get to. :rolleyes:
God yes. Kids brought up in league areas can only do two kicks. The bomb and the grubber. Maaaaybe a wobbly 10m drop kick.
FOOOOTY
26 Nov 2007, 10:30
Fingers busted for me, hurts like hell.. no way i wanna keep playin kick to kick after breakin a finger :)
Those gridiron throws really piss me off. Happens so often as well it's annoying.
What REALLY REALLY pisses me off is when someone thinks it's cool to come out of nowhere and try to run off with the ball. That's happened to me a few times. :thumbsd:
Ryder Is God
26 Nov 2007, 11:20
A mates girlfriend joins in and starts doing those 10 metre mongrel punts that always spin back to her
ripitup27
26 Nov 2007, 11:43
The over the top torps piss me off. No need for them, just a show of 'oh look how far I can kick'. It can be fun, especially when you're like me and can kick further than all your mates. They stop quickly after that.
Rugby passes I don't mind, as long as they're straight.
I have one mate who considers himself a rugby player and he tries to do drop kicks all the time and can't. That pisses me off. Plus he thinks he's really good at them.
greennick
26 Nov 2007, 11:43
A mates girlfriend joins in and starts doing those 10 metre mongrel punts that always spin back to her
I don't mind that at all. Anytime a girl is giving it a go, you gotta be happy with that.
Power King
26 Nov 2007, 11:46
^True, but when she starts yapping and complaining... **** that.
Johnson#26
26 Nov 2007, 11:53
The mongrel punts from the kid who has no clue how to kick it, or the quarterback thrower, or the guy who wants one kick and decides to thump it miles over your head.
lifelike_
The unco friend who can't kick straight, although the mate who thinks it's a good idea to spear passes from 15 metres away (which almost always end up being sprayed) ranks highly as well.
Showoffs aren't great either.
Doctor Jolly
Maybe we can get Kevin07 to put compulsory drop-punt training into all schools as part of his "education revolution".
bigpapagman
26 Nov 2007, 11:56
i have to admit, i am the shit dropkick guy. sorry.
Having a mate who is a Nudist.
He flies for everything and well... bad things just tend to happen.
FOOOOTY
26 Nov 2007, 12:10
, although the mate who thinks it's a good idea to spear passes from 15 metres away (which almost always end up being sprayed) ranks highly as well.
*Puts hand up*
estibador
26 Nov 2007, 12:23
Depends whether it's a serious kick to kick down the oval or a muck around kick at a barbie. If it's just a muck around kick then for me it's the guy who thinks it's life or death, AFL premiership deciding type stuff.
The last thing I want after having a casual kick to kick at a barbie/piss-up is waking up the next morning feeling like someone has taken to my ribs with a baseball bat.
what about the 2 guys one at each end who always lead out to the side for the low stab pass. All those things in the poll should be banned.
And what about the guy who sits at the back and goes for the screamer every time but never gets near the ball but seems to knee you in the spine most times.
estibador
26 Nov 2007, 12:48
For shame all you people who voted for the young kid/girlfriend one.
It might be a tad inconvenient having a kid join in, but how would you have felt when you were an Aussie rules mad little tacker if the big boys you looked up to wouldn't let you join in because you couldn't kick far enough? They're not going to get any better if you don't let them play.
And any time we can get the girls involved it's gotta be a good thing.
popathon
26 Nov 2007, 12:52
Depends whether it's a serious kick to kick down the oval or a muck around kick at a barbie. If it's just a muck around kick then for me it's the guy who thinks it's life or death, AFL premiership deciding type stuff.
The last thing I want after having a casual kick to kick at a barbie/piss-up is waking up the next morning feeling like someone has taken to my ribs with a baseball bat.
A serious kick to kick? Isn't that a bit of an oxymoron?
bigpapagman
26 Nov 2007, 12:56
top thread. :thumbsu: keep it up.
thats loser talk :D
TassieSaint
26 Nov 2007, 12:58
My pet hate is the guy who thinks he looks cool trying to banana the ball every single kick, but just goes all over the shop.
I also hate the chicks coming in and generally being unco, but kids I love. Sure they can't kick for shite but having a kick to kick with a youngster,
teaching him some skills, it's great fun and you can tell they appreciate it.
estibador
A serious kick to kick? Isn't that a bit of an oxymoron?
I mean like sometimes you'll chuck on a pair of shorts, singlet and runners (or footy boots) just to meet your mates down the oval to have a kick. That's what I call a serious kick to kick. Usually a bit more running and contested marking involved too.
For me a casual kick to kick is when you're at a barbie or a mates house or something and someone pulls out a footy. Kicking in normal clothes, usually with a beer in one hand or off to the side.
whippersnipper
I nominate the guy who hangs onto the ball for about five minutes while he chats to his girlfirend/her friend/other person. Just kick the ****ing thing!
Or alternatively,the guy who thinks it his right to stop the game and try something "new"- like trying to kick the ball through a car window or some other place that almost always involves a lot of fetching.
And finally the guy who boots the ball an absolute frigging mile but refuses to go get it himself.
whippersnipper
26 Nov 2007, 13:00
I also hate the chicks coming in and generally being unco, but kids I love. Sure they can't kick for shite but having a kick to kick with a youngster, teaching him some skills, it's great fun and you can tell they appreciate it.
Yeah, agree with this one. The chicks are just plain annoying- and no, we dont have to involve them if we dont want to. But the little kids can be great fun.:thumbsu:
emperor
26 Nov 2007, 13:01
The ******** who kicks the ball onto the roof!! Not hard to control a drop punt mate:rolleyes:;)
Also the idiot who brings a flat footy!
Constant drop-kicking is also very annoying!
But all the reasons mentioned above have been experienced by any self-respecting bak yard footy player I'm sure:D:D
emperor
26 Nov 2007, 13:04
I mean like sometimes you'll chuck on a pair of shorts, singlet and runners (or footy boots) just to meet your mates down the oval to have a kick. That's what I call a serious kick to kick. Usually a bit more running and contested marking involved too.
For me a casual kick to kick is when you're at a barbie or a mates house or something and someone pulls out a footy. Kicking in normal clothes, usually with a beer in one hand or off to the side.
You're speaking my language mate. beer in one hand, the wafting aroma of snags and beef on the barbie, little kids running round like mad collecting the stray kicks, putting your beer down to take a screamer and teaching whippersnappers how to execute the perfect drop punt/torp.
'Serious' kick to kick is also great fun during the off season:thumbsu:
wce4premiership
26 Nov 2007, 13:05
Ahhhh so true.
For me the girls having a kick used to be good fun. I seemed to always get annoyed because me and my mates got out there first then the try hard footy stars came out and tried to do torps that both fell short and went 20metres left.
Whenever they started doing this we delibarately kicked long or short, it got really annoying because i was a good kick but they were cocky despite there shit skills.
ashley12
26 Nov 2007, 13:06
what about the 2 guys one at each end who always lead out to the side for the low stab pass. All those things in the poll should be banned.
And what about the guy who sits at the back and goes for the screamer every time but never gets near the ball but seems to knee you in the spine most times.
Good call.
When i read the thread title I thought you were talking about the new rules that if applied would stop the good old kick to kick:D
Agree about Rudd too, although he would only do it if Howard said he would
Aussie Assault
26 Nov 2007, 13:06
Haha great thread. Most of my mates are pretty good kicks, apart from this 1 bloke who not only has the worst kicking style in the world, but the ball could go anywhere.
We were at at our local granny this year having a kick on the ground at half time when he kicked it over the fence into the crowd. This bloke over the fence tried to save the ball from hitting a kid in a pram, but instead knocked the 2yo out of the pram onto the hard gravel. Gee I felt really great jumping the fence to collect the footy from a very angry mother, crying toddler and people giving myself and this other bloke a mouthful!!
lifelike_
26 Nov 2007, 13:07
Goalkicking is a whole new story.
There's the mate who'll hang onto the ball for an eternity treating it like a shot to win a Grand Final, when they're 30 out directly in front.
Then there are the ones who only take shots from impossible angles which unsurprisingly never end up going in.
There's the mate who'll continually take shots from 75 metres out, thinking they can make the distance.
The one that annoys me the most is the mate who continually tries to dribble it in from 50 metres out. Seriously, if you're going to have a shot, kick it properly!
whippersnipper
26 Nov 2007, 13:08
Ahh yeah. Nothing like going away down the beach for a week during the summer with a few good mates having a good old kick to kick + booze + barbie. Heaven.
Warwick
26 Nov 2007, 13:09
Definitely a toss up between the unco friend or the kid joining in.
You can join in kid, but you are fair game for a massive pack-splitting Capper-ess speccy if you play in front.
popathon
26 Nov 2007, 13:11
Is it humanly possible to kick the footy without a beer or a sausage in your hand?
I hate the bloke that wants to have a kick even though we/he knows he can't kick. Then when he's managed to worm his way in he always manages to kick it over the fence or on a roof or in a tree.
They always walk off to grab another coldie and never volunteer to retrieve the ball. Bastards.
estibador
27 Nov 2007, 00:22
Goalkicking is a whole new story.
There's the mate who'll hang onto the ball for an eternity treating it like a shot to win a Grand Final, when they're 30 out directly in front.
Then there are the ones who only take shots from impossible angles which unsurprisingly never end up going in.
There's the mate who'll continually take shots from 75 metres out, thinking they can make the distance.
*nods head knowingly*
I see you've met my mates.
diablo14
27 Nov 2007, 00:30
There are three things that piss me off when playing kick to kick.
1. The fool who thinks its funny to fly for a screamer at every opportunity.
2. The fool who thinks its funny to come off the line and run right thru you when youre going for a mark.
3. The fools who arent a part of your group who latch onto a stray kick and try to take control of your footy (usually a bunch of drunken bastards).
Then there's the mate doing his Mick Martyn impersonation and smashing your fingers or the back of your head in every marking contest.
Something else that pisses me off is noticing my once very good skills deteriorate each year.:o
westdog54
27 Nov 2007, 09:01
2. The fool who thinks its funny to come off the line and run right thru you when youre going for a mark.
3. The fools who arent a part of your group who latch onto a stray kick and try to take control of your footy (usually a bunch of drunken bastards).
This is one of the best ways to deal with the third group
XplyA_WpY-A
You have to wait about 2 minutes for the replays but its worth it
huggy_b
27 Nov 2007, 09:09
I hate when a mate holds the ball waiting for you to burst out on the lead, and then he proceeds to kick it 20m behind your lead. If you cant hit a target on the lead (or at least get it close) then don't request the lead.
I voted for the constant torpedo over the head.
Don't mind kids having a crack, they've gotta learn somewhere, just don't let them kick all the time.
Really get annoyed at guys who have to get their hands on every ball, whether they are going to kick it or not (often by flying over a pack when none was actually formed).
And dogs. I hate dogs that get in the way of a good kick.
demonfan9
27 Nov 2007, 09:52
I hate when you're playing Up In The Pack (aka Markers Up) and people always move back to get a big leap, but because everyone does it, you end up about 70m away from the kicker. Then if one person makes the sacrifice of moving forward to shorten the distance, he risks being jumped on by the selfish pricks at the back.
Which is why you can only play that game in an enclosed area, so people can't continually move back.
matthewlloydwebber
27 Nov 2007, 11:50
had a mate during school kick-to-kick who would solely punch and spoil. like wtf dude? who are you mal michael? he was also known to handball to you so he could tackle you straight after. prick. and we would hate the cheat who disguised his lead as anything but a cheap way to get a kick.
matthewlloydwebber
27 Nov 2007, 11:51
guilty as charged. isnt that whole point of k2k? to take hangers over your mates?
3. The fools who aren't a part of your group who latch onto a stray kick and try to take control of your footy (usually a bunch of drunken bastards).
Isn't that half-time of every game at the Telstra Dome? ;)
whippersnipper
27 Nov 2007, 13:01
Worng.Thats the best part. Because you then have licence to spear tackle the prick.
diablo14
27 Nov 2007, 13:06
guilty as charged. isnt that whole point of k2k? to take hangers over your mates?
Not when the ball is going 15 meters over your head.
Isn't that half-time of every game at the Telstra Dome? ;)
It happens anywhere you play kick to kick but outside the ground on on the oval after the game are prime spots lol.
Worng.Thats the best part. Because you then have licence to spear tackle the prick.
My uncles headbutted/smashed these two blokes in the middle of Windy Hill after a game there once for that very reason :D (and nearly gave me the same treatment for kicking it to these idiots not once but twice by accident)
The mate that insists on attacking from the back of the pack when everyone else is happy just going shoulder to shoulder..
Yeh if there's a chance of a mark go for it . But just going for the fly every time is not on.
I also hate the geek that thinks he's darren goldspink and umpires .
" nah no mark that was touched "
This is a top thread - Have not laughed so hard for ages.
Kick to kick is next to useless in Sydney unless you want put it on the ground and pretend your Johnny Wilkinson. :eek:
Carn Hawkas
27 Nov 2007, 15:35
The guy who kicks it over your head every kick.
This is a top thread - Have not laughed so hard for ages.
Kick to kick is next to useless in Sydney unless you want put it on the ground and pretend your Johnny Wilkinson. :eek:
Gold.
Pure utter gold.
People try to do that here, most of the drop kicks result in them either a measly ten meter grubber or 50 meters wide.
i have had that many times not just in footy but many sports, mates GF comes in after whinging she wants to join in and then we she gets a go starts complaining after one go that she has had enough and is bored and wants to do something else and really drains the life out of the activity!!!!
Yeah, chicks are gay.
Flashhh
29 Nov 2007, 23:11
this is a great thread.
But yeh its gotta be the mongrol punts from the unco kid and the ball ends up bouncing 30m to the left.
My number one hate is the guy that will wait for someone to lead and then everyone stays in the pack for a contest but one little wiener runs out the side and gets the kick.
Torps get a bad rap, if you can do them then use them. I've been perfectiong the old torpy for a while now and use it almost every kick. Not trying to boot it just to get the lovely spin.
bhorjus
30 Nov 2007, 11:24
I hate the guy that goes for the big torp over your head.
Also the girlfriend and/or little kid who joins in I find is very annoying.
Sherminator.
30 Nov 2007, 22:25
All of the above and then some...
TigerGlory
1 Dec 2007, 13:28
The group of blokes who go down the other end and want to hit the group of Western Oriental Gentleman playing "Soccer" just behind you. So they kick it miles over your head :mad:
windyhill
1 Dec 2007, 19:30
Brillaint thread W.S...ahhh the memories. (I went the unco kid btw)
Simon_Nesbit
1 Dec 2007, 19:54
had a mate during school kick-to-kick who would solely punch and spoil. like wtf dude? who are you mal michael? he was also known to handball to you so he could tackle you straight after. prick. and we would hate the cheat who disguised his lead as anything but a cheap way to get a kick.
Hmm...I wonder if you went to my school.
We had kick-to-kick in two places. On the tennis courts, and out on the oval. Ranged from 4 to 40 people 'playing'.
If you took the mark, or were taken out, (or one of the 'hot chicks' that came to watch) you got a free kick (with someone on the mark). Otherwise it was a free-for-all, until someone did take the mark. Generally we could all play by the rules, but there was one kid (who incidentally became a pretty decent local player) who did the same thing every single contest.
Stand at the back, fly early, get the ride, punch the ball clear. Get up, run-down the ball-carrier, big-ass spear tackle or karate throw - whether or not they still had the ball when he got there.
When he wasn't there, we could play an entire recess or lunch, and the worst you would get would be a scraped knee or elbow, and a couple of bumps. When he WAS there, you were lucky to get out without serious injury.
You could tell the ********s. When he showed up, they suddenly remembered detention, or decided to "even it up" by going up the other end.
Even though I wasn't overly tall I had an excellent leap, so I usually got a lot of the ball in kick-to-kick. I could kick accurately over 25m off both feet too, so I was a bit of a kick-to-kick star at school.
Unfortunately in real football, you have to change direction, and not every possession is a stand still contested mark. 30m doesn't count for much either.
Kaiser Powser
3 Dec 2007, 08:54
I have this annoying friend who is pretty bad at marking so he makes it his mission to punch/spoil the ball everytime.
Now there is an unwritten rule that there is no spoiling allowed and there is nothing more annoying than being in a prime position to take a screamer and a fist comes in from the side.:mad:
Also the idiot who stars torping continuosly, once is tolerable, any more is just annoying.
Podge2Flanklin
5 Dec 2007, 08:12
For me it's 'other'
The guy who persists with kicking with his non-preferred, no matter how terrible it is.
Glassjaw
7 Dec 2007, 00:49
How about those wanker motorists that think it's their road and that you have to stop kicking to let them pass!??!!? Hey buddy, we were here first! :p
loopy_cam
9 Dec 2007, 16:59
Definitely the Unco Kid for me. I also hate the guy that runs to the back of the pack and tries to take speckies every single kick.
bhorjus
15 Dec 2007, 18:33
Hmm...I wonder if you went to my school.
We had kick-to-kick in two places. On the tennis courts, and out on the oval. Ranged from 4 to 40 people 'playing'.
If you took the mark, or were taken out, (or one of the 'hot chicks' that came to watch) you got a free kick (with someone on the mark). Otherwise it was a free-for-all, until someone did take the mark. Generally we could all play by the rules, but there was one kid (who incidentally became a pretty decent local player) who did the same thing every single contest.
Stand at the back, fly early, get the ride, punch the ball clear. Get up, run-down the ball-carrier, big-ass spear tackle or karate throw - whether or not they still had the ball when he got there.
When he wasn't there, we could play an entire recess or lunch, and the worst you would get would be a scraped knee or elbow, and a couple of bumps. When he WAS there, you were lucky to get out without serious injury.
You could tell the ********s. When he showed up, they suddenly remembered detention, or decided to "even it up" by going up the other end.
Even though I wasn't overly tall I had an excellent leap, so I usually got a lot of the ball in kick-to-kick. I could kick accurately over 25m off both feet too, so I was a bit of a kick-to-kick star at school.
Unfortunately in real football, you have to change direction, and not every possession is a stand still contested mark. 30m doesn't count for much either.
Couldn't agree more with what you said. Had the exact same thing at my school.
Tarkyn_24
16 Dec 2007, 08:35
The guy that goes for a speccie every kick. It's fair enough if it's a plausable opportunity, but every kick gets a bit annoying.
Tarkyn_24
16 Dec 2007, 08:46
I've got a mate like this, though he carries it over to basketball, too.
What person punches a ball away when going for a ****ing rebound?
Simon_Nesbit
16 Dec 2007, 09:08
I've got a mate like this, though he carries it over to basketball, too.
What person punches a ball away when going for a ****ing rebound?
Blokes like me that can't shoot to save their life.
I used to average double-doubles....assist/rebounds. I'd be lucky to make 3 shots in a whole game!
Tarkyn_24
16 Dec 2007, 09:16
Blokes like me that can't shoot to save their life.
I used to average double-doubles....assist/rebounds. I'd be lucky to make 3 shots in a whole game!
I can't shoot either, but I don't blindly punch away at defensive rebounds, leaving the ball for the opposition?:confused: