View Full Version : Sydney Sporting Capital
KingsCrow
27 Nov 2007, 20:33
Isn't it funny that Melbourne claims to be the sporting capital of Australia/world. All the show case events are played in Sydney.
Olympics (best Ever)
Rugby World Cup (best ever)
Showcase matches ( i.e Like The Sydney FC game right now)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
The White Elephant (F1's)
PoidaCat
27 Nov 2007, 20:39
Isn't it funny that Melbourne claims to be the sporting capital of Australia/world. All the show case events are played in Sydney.
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
And everyone avoids Adelaide like the Plague...
Well there are some good things about Adelaide. The flight out've there for starts.
Big Ronnie
27 Nov 2007, 20:42
Night time floodlightless wrestling?
http://www.cruisingwithpride.com/images/allgayadventure/amsterdamfiremen.jpg:thumbsd:
KingsCrow
27 Nov 2007, 20:45
Well there are some good things about Adelaide
Coopers?
Big Ronnie
27 Nov 2007, 20:48
Coopers?
The backroad drive between flagstaff hill through Blackwood to Torrens Park is a beautiful drive. But then you are amongst the population:thumbsd:
KingsCrow
27 Nov 2007, 20:58
The backroad drive between flagstaff hill through Blackwood to Torrens Park is a beautiful drive. But then you are amongst the population:thumbsd:
Can't say many places in Melbourne are beautiful. Frankston sounds like a nice place though.
Arguement still stands
Big Ronnie
27 Nov 2007, 21:11
This is Olivers Hill Frankston
http://www.holidaymagazine.com.au/gallery/pics/83.jpg
Just at the back of where this photo is taken you need $3,000,000 to buy a house, and was once looked upon for a purchase by tom and Nicole (no jokes) It is also home to Carl Cox who is prbably the leading DJ ($30,000 a performance) in the world. If these sort of people are looking for there, where does that leave Adelaide as a hole? Sorry whole?
Ruddeger07
27 Nov 2007, 21:25
Why would Victorians give a crap about a game that involves teams of Gladstone Smalls that have to tape up their ears ?
As for the soccer,you can have that too.No doubt the fans will riot at the end of the game.
wally funk
28 Nov 2007, 02:42
rubbish thread.
Big Delut
28 Nov 2007, 10:31
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
+
Moto GP (annual event)
Olympics (first in Southern hemisphere)
Cricket World Cup (I assume you mean the final considering Melbourne also hosted games of the Rugby World Cup)
Spring Racing Carnival (annual event)
Australian Tennis Open (annual event)
Much better showcase matches as you call them ie. Socceroos v Argentina, Socceroos v Manchester United (shortly after they won the treble in '99), Socceroos v Brazil, Socceroos v France (whilst they were reigning World and Euro champions)
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 11:09
+
Moto GP (annual event)
Olympics (first in Southern hemisphere)
Cricket World Cup (I assume you mean the final considering Melbourne also hosted games of the Rugby World Cup)
Spring Racing Carnival (annual event)
Australian Tennis Open (annual event)
Much better showcase matches as you call them ie. Socceroos v Argentina, Socceroos v Manchester United (shortly after they won the treble in '99), Socceroos v Brazil, Socceroos v France (whilst they were reigning World and Euro champions)
What I am saying is whenever there is a show case event, such as the olympics etc events that are massive its usually Sydney who gets them. Which is kind of Bizzare because of Melbournes claim to be the sporting capital.
Love the abuse of Adelaide though
Boozeroo
28 Nov 2007, 11:15
I'm sorry, are you gloating about a LA Galaxy v Sydney Utd. exhibition match?
That's just sad.
Hoffy95
28 Nov 2007, 11:19
I'm sorry, are you gloating about a LA Galaxy v Sydney Utd. exhibition match?
That's just sad.
For sure. Wasn't that just an incredible exhibition of talent :o.
DapperDon
28 Nov 2007, 11:28
What I am saying is whenever there is a show case event, such as the olympics etc events that are massive its usually Sydney who gets them. Which is kind of Bizzare because of Melbournes claim to be the sporting capital.
Love the abuse of Adelaide though
you named 3 showcase events
Sydney Olympics (Melbourne had them 50 years ago)
Rugby World Cup (we had matches too, we also had the cricket world cup)
but you saved the best for last,
Sydney FC v L.A Galaxy, I mean c'mon. how are we supposed to compete with such gold plated events as this??
We all love abusing Adelaide, it's the only thing it's good for.
And_ROOS
28 Nov 2007, 11:52
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
That was a rubbish match, how can you even call it a showcase? So some garbage US team + Beckham, who ISNT the best player in the world no matter how much he earns VS Sydney FC Reserves. Wow. What a showcase.
Now if Sydney hosted Federer V Sampras, then i would agree with you.
I suggest you listen to Mark Fine's editorial regarding sporting events and Melb vs Sydney.
Your cant call the Micky Mouse LA Galaxy game a "showcase event"
Ryder Is God
28 Nov 2007, 13:02
LOL @ bragging about the Olympics when we had them 44 years earlier.
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 14:51
Oh well 2000 Olympics were the best thing that has happened in Australian Sport ever, I rest my case.
Chazz M Michaels
28 Nov 2007, 15:05
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
why not list crowd attendances... almost every major ANNUAL sporting even melbourne has attracts 100,000+ people.. i.e. melbourne cup DAY (not to mention the whole week), F1's, the AFL grand final, Australian Open Tennis, MotoGP..
And you could also list things like the Golf, the Bells Beach pro (which is the main aussie event).. and im sure there are heaps of others just cant remember off the top of my head..
and then you say "Oh well 2000 Olympics were the best thing that has happened in Australian Sport ever, I rest my case."
So your whole argument is based on the fact sydney had the olympics but years after melbourne..??
you sound like hawkamania typing a post and saying "end thread".. I'm nominating you for Impotent FLOG award for this thread..
Chazz M Michaels
28 Nov 2007, 15:07
sydney = city of colour and dance and strange romance.. (probably why KingsCrow is so fond of it..)
wally funk
28 Nov 2007, 15:11
Oh well 2000 Olympics were the best thing that has happened in Australian Sport ever, I rest my case.why on earth would you say something like this? archery? greco-roman wrestling? freakin walking?? really interesting sports to nobody except those who take part (incredibly small portion of the population). and you can't really 'rest your case' when you're stating one man's opinion as opposed to fact.
takeabowtredders
28 Nov 2007, 15:45
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
1. First Olympic Games - why was Melbourne picked first? Think about it.
2. Cricket World Cup
3. Only a sydney fan could go to watch David Beckham play, but shy away from their own team's regular season matches.
Then there's the Australian Open; the Grand Slam of Asia Pacific (1 of 4 - no Sydney there - we also have the 2nd best Australian tennis tournament in the Kooyong Classic), the Melbourne Cup (nothing comparable at all), we had the Bledisloe Cup this year because of the success at hosting last year's game against England, we had an international match against a world class nation in soccer instead of a pathetic attempt (that could only be succesful in Sydney) at collecting a fat paycheck by a past-it pretty boy who Sydney have one massive hard on for.
Oh, and if you're complaining about the AFL being biased, you might want to have a look at the fantastic National Rugby League and their wonderful spread of games (not to mention teams) across the nation.
Now let's list all the things that 'Radelaide' has...
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
Interesting
Melbourne had an Olympics 44 years earlier, the first in the southern hemisphere and regarded as the friendly games, introducing such initiatives as all athletes entering as one at the closing ceremony etc.
Rugby World Cup has help nation wide really, but yes they had the final, woobdydoo.
Showcase matches you say? 2 clubs, neither the best in their league playing on a tuesday night during the season? doesnt seem too significant really.
Where as Melbourne has/had such events as:
Australian Open - A grand slam, enough said
Spring Racing Carnival - One of the biggest in the world, horses come from all around the world. always 4 days of 100,000 crowds.
F1 - yes loses money, but still sydney hasnt got anything comprable.
FINA World Swimming Championships - regarded as a failure here in melbourne, but still regarded as a raging sucess by FINA
Commonwealth Games - Largest attendance ever (quite easily)
AFL Grand Final - Biggest domestic sporting match each year
9 AFL teams - 2nd most attended football league in the world on average.
Cricket World Cup Final - quite comprable to Rugny world Cup
Melbouren Victory - Biggest crowd of any team in the league quite easily.
Ben the Gooner
28 Nov 2007, 17:49
Oh well 2000 Olympics were the best thing that has happened in Australian Sport ever, I rest my case.
lol
Drug cheats?
Interesting
Melbourne had an Olympics 44 years earlier, the first in the southern hemisphere and regarded as the friendly games, introducing such initiatives as all athletes entering as one at the closing ceremony etc.
Rugby World Cup has help nation wide really, but yes they had the final, woobdydoo.
Showcase matches you say? 2 clubs, neither the best in their league playing on a tuesday night during the season? doesnt seem too significant really.
Spring Racing Carnival - One of the biggest in the world, horses come from all around the world. always 4 days of 100,000 crowds.
FINA World Swimming Championships - regarded as a failure here in melbourne, but still regarded as a raging sucess by FINA
spot on
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 18:48
Interesting
This is hard argueing against 1000 Vic's. What I am saying is showcase events are now played more in Sydney then ever. Because they do them so well, The Olympics, The Rugby World Cup Final (the one people remember), The World Cup Qualifier.
Sydney could easily buy the F1's, it would become so much more popular and I am sure Bernie would love to have his F1's in one of the worlds most recognised cities...not 'mallborn'.
All the other events you named are regional events, AFL, Racing, Cricket what not.
Commonwealth games...lol
Melbourne Victory- 1 team in a state of what 5 million people. And your bragging about Crowds. haha. Clown
Australian Open is the only credible event you named. Love watching it.
bomba4eva
28 Nov 2007, 18:54
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
Greece vs Australia
Australian Open
Formula One Grand Prix which you people want
Spring Carnival
AFL Grand Final
We've already held the Olympics too mate, which Adelaide will never achive-guaranteed;)
The list goes on.
LOL at a pathetic Adelaide fan who is extremely jeolous of a place with a real city. We all know Adelaide is a country town mascaurading as a city.
The Flash
28 Nov 2007, 19:00
This is hard argueing against 1000 Vic's. What I am saying is showcase events are now played more in Sydney then ever. Because they do them so well, The Olympics, The Rugby World Cup Final (the one people remember), The World Cup Qualifier.
Sydney could easily buy the F1's, it would become so much more popular and I am sure Bernie would love to have his F1's in one of the worlds most recognised cities...not 'mallborn'.
All the other events you named are regional events, AFL, Racing, Cricket what not.
Commonwealth games...lol
Melbourne Victory- 1 team in a state of what 5 million people. And your bragging about Crowds. haha. Clown
Why would we have the rugby world cup final? Are we a rugby state?
Also Melbourne had the world cup qualifier before Sydney did they not?
So obviously its called sharing it around.
Your argument has no credibility what so ever.
Melbourne ARE the sporting capital of the world, so get over it.
Ben the Gooner
28 Nov 2007, 19:04
This is hard argueing against 1000 Vic's.
If there were more than 10 literate people in SA it'd be an even contest:D
What I am saying is showcase events are now played more in Sydney then ever. Because they do them so well, The Olympics, The Rugby World Cup Final (the one people remember), The World Cup Qualifier.
Depends how you define showcase.
LA Galaxy? Please. Real Salt Lake were better than them.
Australia v Argentina > Australia v Greece > Irrelevant pub team #1 v Irrelevant pub team #2 + Becks
What about George Dubya's 'Sidney'?
Point is we have them.
Cricket's the Australian national team. Not regional.
Racing is an international carnival (Delta Blues, Media Puzzle et al.)
AFL GF > NRL GF
Commonwealth games...lol
Olympics + Commonwealth Games > Olympics
Still double Sydney FC's crowds though. And SFC have a bigger population.
Sick of tennis, but another win to Melbourne.
as a resident of sydney i would disagree with your thread.
i think melbourne is the sporting capital of australia , by far.
we have some good events in sydney but nothing compares to melbourne.
F1, aust. open tennis, afl grand final , melbourne cup etc.
anyway , i find both cities sydney and melbourne wonderful cities.
AND the people who bag sydney , normally havent been there or spent enough time there and Normally , the people who bag melbourne havent been there or spent enough time there .
as for adelaide , well its a dump.
bomba4eva
28 Nov 2007, 19:11
AND the people who bag sydney , normally havent been there or spent enough time there and Normally , the people who bag melbourne havent been there or spent enough time there .
lmao! Love the last line:thumbsu::D
Lambys Tent
28 Nov 2007, 19:11
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
That was funny when we stole the F1's off you...
Still you have the Mullet World Championships thats always won by a local. I thought it was rigged until I stepped foot into Rundle Mall.
In fact the local talent is so strong even Geelong's entry doesn't get into the finals!
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 19:13
The thread is misleading, but like I said in my opening sentence, Sydney is the Sporting ShowCase Capital of Australia.
As for Adelaide, bag it all you want. In the end I love this city and I can pretty proudly say that most people in this city do too.
Anti Gold Coast
28 Nov 2007, 19:15
Olympics (best Ever)
Compare to Melbourne
AFL (VFL in disguise)
Commonwealth games, HAHA
Sorry, was this the White Elephant that your city went crazy over losing? Or the one that your city wants to readopt if Melbourne gives it the flick?
Notice how every event that you have named, has had a presence in Melbourne. If Football (Soccer) is the worlds number 1 sport, and The Olympics the most popular event in the world, you would think that the Soccer at the Olympics would be the most interesting event. And now, let's look at the City that hosted the most Soccer games during the Sydney olympics. MELBOURNE!
Now, let's look at the Rugby world cup. Yep, that's right-held in Melbourne.
Of course you can argue that when the Olympics were in Sydney, we missed out on all the great Swimming action. Never fear, Melbourne hosted the 2007 FINA world swimming championship.
Showcase matches, such as Beckham playing in Sydney. Notice how Melbourne has hosted Manchester United vs Australia. That's a match with 2 competitive teams. Don't like that, how about Australia vs France, or Australia vs Brazil, or Australia vs the 2004 European Champions.
Now let's look at what Sydney has. We have the F1 Grandprix and the MotoGP Grandprix. They have A1.
In a Rugby Union dominated state, it is Melbourne, that has recorded the 2 highest ever Rugby Union crowds in Australia, and the highest in the World.
Melbourne has the Australian Open, Sydney has the warm up tournament.
Melbourne has the Premier Australian golfing event, whilst it may be argued behind the event at Coolum.
Melbourne has hosted the Cricket World Cup final, and hosts the Premier event on the Cricket Calender.
Therefore Melbourne is better then Sydney.
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 19:16
That was funny when we stole the F1's off you...
Still you have the Mullet World Championships thats always won by a local. I thought it was rigged until I stepped foot into Rundle Mall.
In fact the local talent is so strong even Geelong's entry doesn't get into the finals!
Well I could be a bigot and say I went to Melbourne and thought I was in China town. Or that Melbourne is full of cocky people. Generalisations, don't you love them.
Adelaide made the F1's, Melbourne ruined it.
Anti Gold Coast
28 Nov 2007, 19:17
Well I could be a bigot and say I went to Melbourne and thought I was in China town. Or that Melbourne is full of cocky people. Generalisations, don't you love them.
Well we have a right to be cocky. Has your city ever been named World's most liveable city?
Maybe you thought Melbourne was Chinatown, because you actually wondered into Chinatown?
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 19:21
[quote=Anti Gold Coast;9568804]Sorry, was this the White Elephant that your city went crazy over losing? Or the one that your city wants to readopt if Melbourne gives it the flick?
[quote]
A city of just over a million people got over 300,000 to an F1 event which the drivers called the best in the world. It hardly cost this state anything, gained international exposure.
Victorian cockyness lead to you guys buying the event, getting a good crowd the first year (celebrating your greatness), then it turning to crap, drivers just treating it like another race and your government having to foot a massive bill at the end of it.
OH WAIT, don't get me wrong the race will look really good next year when its raced in the dark.
KingsCrow
28 Nov 2007, 19:22
Well we have a right to be cocky. Has your city ever been named World's most liveable city?
Maybe you thought Melbourne was Chinatown, because you actually wondered into Chinatown?
Unless Melbourne is one big Chinatown, I don't think so.
Melbourne Cup aka the race that stops the Nation is probably the biggest Horse racing event (and Carnival) in the Southern Hemisphere and like the Australian Open Tennis and all the other big events listed so far happens EVERY YEAR.
If glamour and all that is the go I remember Melbourne had that WWF thing, Sydney may have as well but I can't remember.
LA Galaxy game was a joke and without Beckham nobody would have gone at all so it wasn't really a sporting event but just a one man exhibition.
tucky74
28 Nov 2007, 23:00
Went to sydney only to see the only event they have sail to tassie,thats right,the great sydney to tassie boat race,after they sailed into the distance i went back to the hotel room and turned on the local tv,a few VB later and i thought the moomba parade had started early,nope i was wrong it was the one and only gay and les parade,nice to see sydney has something to brag about,the biggest gay parade in the world.congrats:D
typical hawthorn homophobic bullshit.
mate , and you been caught out telling lies.
the sydney to hobart boat race is december 26th and the mardi gras is in late february/early march.
so you wouldnt have gone back to your hotel room after they sailed and turned on the tv to see the parade.
now i can only imagine that your reply will be 'you are from sydney so you must be gay '. ha ha ha .