View Full Version : Would you switch teams?

skipjack
28 Nov 2007, 12:56
So you have been supporting your AFL club your whole life, but Vlad decides to open up a new franchise in your backyard.

Do you

A) Stay true to the team you have always supported?

B) Switch immediately to the new team - just like West Coast fans did in 1987, or even worse, Freo fans did, after already switching once to WC only a few years earlier.

PoidaCat
28 Nov 2007, 12:59
Stay true.

Ryder Is God
28 Nov 2007, 13:00
Stay true.

Anthony_
28 Nov 2007, 13:54
So you have been supporting your AFL club your whole life, but Vlad decides to open up a new franchise in your backyard.

Do you

B) Switch immediately to the new team - just like West Coast fans did in 1987, or even worse, Freo fans did, after already switching once to WC only a few years earlier.

Well easy once the new team comes to the Gold Coast I will still be supporting the Bulldogs. (Before a smartarse talks about relocating the Dogs....you know what I meant :p)

geelong_crazy26
28 Nov 2007, 13:57
people should stay true,unless they go for hawthorn than it is perfectly understandable to change teams

# 28
28 Nov 2007, 14:04
I'd only change teams if Hotdog started to barrack for the same team as me......................

Bring-Back-Powell
28 Nov 2007, 14:07
When Norf relocate to QLD, I'll go for the franchise to piss off all our Norf friends :)

mantis
28 Nov 2007, 17:01
"Celtic_Pride" board. :p

Asty
28 Nov 2007, 17:19

Do you

Already answered that one.

Was born and bred in Adelaide but when the Crows entered I stayed a Geelong supporter.

Aristotel
28 Nov 2007, 17:26
When Norf relocate to QLD, I'll go for the franchise to piss off all our Norf friends :)

You should never jump off the Demons.....

The club needs both of you.

RandB
28 Nov 2007, 17:50
Very hard to answer this question. I immediately would say stick with the team but over time would you lose your passion depending on certain circumstances. I would like to know if less and less Fitzroy supporters are making it every year to Lions games or at least were as passionate. Credit to them if they stick it out but I reckon they are the best people to ask this for some real aspect.

tin can sam
28 Nov 2007, 17:52
I'll bet alot of West Coast fans didn't really follow the VFL, but started too once the Eagles came in, that's not switching. It's probably the same for many other people.

FWIW, Geelong is my backyard, so I'll stay true.

The Majestic
28 Nov 2007, 17:56
I'd stay true to the Maggies, though a Tasmanian team may see a few Collingwood games in Tassie ;) but I couldn't see myself supporting anyone other then Collingwood.

Carn Hawkas
28 Nov 2007, 18:51
Hawthorn for life.

red19
28 Nov 2007, 19:11
never trust a man that changes teams

skipjack
28 Nov 2007, 19:37

My sentiments exactly.

Makes it hard to trust a Weagle.

Barry Zuckercorn QC
28 Nov 2007, 23:00
I once switched teams for a night and deeply regreted it. The worst part was when I got the stitching removed....

Braun_2_B_Wild
28 Nov 2007, 23:19

Do you

Nice try :D I think you will find 99.99% of West Australians back in 1986 supported the WAFL and the VFL was just something you saw on the ABC highlights for 1 hour a week. None of us supported a VFL side so when the Eagles came in we had a team we could finally support.

Freo on the other hand are a bunch of bandwagoners as 99.99% of them supported the Eagles :D

Keyser Soze
28 Nov 2007, 23:28
I'll bet alot of West Coast fans didn't really follow the VFL, but started too once the Eagles came in, that's not switching. It's probably the same for many other people.

FWIW, Geelong is my backyard, so I'll stay true.

Lot of truth to this.

I, like many others I suspect, followed a WAFL team and may have had an interest in a VFL team without really supporting them as such.

When the Eagles came in it was a chance to support a local team in the VFL so I did.

Others like skipjack it seems had a higher level of support for an existing VFL team so they stayed true, depends really on how strongly you supported a VFL team.

I liked to see the Kangaroos do well because they had the same colours as my WAFL team - East Fremantle - but I didn't consider myself a North supporteras such.

BackyardWrasslin
28 Nov 2007, 23:28
Hawthorn supporters. In 96 it was Melbourne and now its Tasmania. What next, Alice Springs?

SweetLeftFoot
28 Nov 2007, 23:29

Who do you barrack for when Melbourne plays their games in Queensland?

Dyslexic Emo
29 Nov 2007, 04:03
Freo on the other hand are a bunch of bandwagoners as 99.99% of them supported the Eagles :D

Is that right? 99.99% you say? well I guess I must be part of those 43 people that followed the Dockers but not the Eagles. But whatever makes you sleep at night. Or are you one of those 99.99% of Eagles supporters who have a hard time sleeping, like doof doof music, chupa chups and brightly coloured clothing?

And by the way, I odn't think you really understand the term bandwagoner. A team must have succes beefore people like to jump on board, The word your looking for is passionate or loyal, but I can understand you not knowing what either means so i'll forgive you

BK Eaglesfan
29 Nov 2007, 11:49

That's me...was a passionate East Freo supporter, and watched the VFL on The Winners every Sunday night. Liked individual players more than any one team and was only 14 when the Eagles were born, so yes I jumped on.

When Freo came in, I went the opposite way to many fellow East Freo fans and stuck with the Eagles. Many East Freo people of course connected themselves with the Dockers....I couldn't, I'd just celebrated two flags in 3 years and stayed with the Eagles.

If I'd had a crystal ball I wonder how I would have gone......badly behaved, drug culture but delivered 3 flags, or be a Dockers supporter. Meh, happy with my choice. ;)

BK Eaglesfan
29 Nov 2007, 11:51
My sentiments exactly.

Makes it hard to trust a Weagle.

Trust us, don't trust us.......at least we're up on the news a little better than not knowing why the Eagles had Pick 3 in the draft hey? ;)

fishbowl
29 Nov 2007, 12:02

Do you

I thought this was a euphemism for Geelong Supporters who are gay.

Stay true to you team no matter what. I applaud Geelong supporters, who came out after their Gay Premiership this year. They had 44 years in the closet. They stayed true. After being beaten in 5 Grand Finals, they would have loved to be Hawthorn supporters and see 1971, 76, 78, 83, 86, 88, 89, 91 Premierships.

They stuck to their guns and remained Geelong faithful.

skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 14:54
Nice try :D I think you will find 99.99% of West Australians back in 1986 supported the WAFL and the VFL was just something you saw on the ABC highlights for 1 hour a week. None of us supported a VFL side so when the Eagles came in we had a team we could finally support.

Braun, that is the most elloquent post I have ever seen from you.

Big fan of "The Winners" were we? Me too.

Lot of truth to this.

I, like many others I suspect, followed a WAFL team and may have had an interest in a VFL team without really supporting them as such.

When the Eagles came in it was a chance to support a local team in the VFL so I did.

Others like skipjack it seems had a higher level of support for an existing VFL team so they stayed true, depends really on how strongly you supported a VFL team.

I liked to see the Kangaroos do well because they had the same colours as my WAFL team - East Fremantle - but I didn't consider myself a North supporteras such.

Once again Keyser, I find it difficult to disagree with you. Damn you and your sensible, high-brow responses!

skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 14:55
Trust us, don't trust us.......at least we're up on the news a little better than not knowing why the Eagles had Pick 3 in the draft hey? ;)

Here little fish? Or are you here to play too?

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 15:22
Here little fish? Or are you here to play too?
stay true........and will you stop doing that?:rolleyes:
it makes me go back and read every post again to see what i missed!!

skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 15:26
stay true........and will you stop doing that?:rolleyes:
it makes me go back and read every post again to see what i missed!!

I only do it if I think a little fish has pulled on the line. I promise.

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 15:28
I only do it if I think a little fish has pulled on the line. I promise.
no worries :thumbsu: and you do land a big one every now and then

skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 15:32
Oh that's right, it was because Judd wanted to leave you.

Does it still sting a little bit?

fishbowl
29 Nov 2007, 21:33
Geelong supporters are scared to post about switching because they have done a lot of it.

hawks_legends
29 Nov 2007, 21:36
STAY TRUE :thumbsu:

ChunkyDuckling
29 Nov 2007, 21:57
I don't live in Tassie anymore. But if they got a team I would buy a membership and support them v anybody but the Hawks...

But it wont happen.

And before the obvious comes, I am aware that many think I wont have a problem because both teams will be one and the same, but that wont happen either... :p

skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 23:23
I don't live in Tassie anymore. But if they got a team I would buy a membership and support them v anybody but the Hawks...

But it wont happen.

And before the obvious comes, I am aware that many think I wont have a problem because both teams will be one and the same, but that wont happen either... :p

Looking at your location Chunky, it might be a bloody long time before there is a team in your backyard!

thatswhatimtalkinabout
29 Nov 2007, 23:54

Fair enough - but how do you reconcile that with all the shiny new recruits at all the teams that will be representing their new club, but who supported other teams before they were drafted?

Just opening up the discussion a bit - I am a Hawk for life.

skipjack
30 Nov 2007, 01:05
Interesting.

I guess the kids would need to be preparing themselves for that from the time that they decide they may go into the draft. There is a 15 / 16 that they won't end up at their club of choice.

It is amazing how playing for a team changes allegiances though.

Anyone that has moved house and then needed to change footy / cricket club would know what it is like.

Keyser Soze
30 Nov 2007, 01:15
After the Eagle's final against the Bullies in 2006 I was chatting to a Bullies fan on the way out of the ground - turns out it was Farren Ray's dad.

He was an Eagles supporter but changed allegiances when Farren was drafted by the Bulldogs - can't say that should be held against him.

Nice fella BTW.

diablo14
30 Nov 2007, 01:43
It's not relevant in AFL, but I certainly did it with NRL. Twice.

I lived in Newcastle for a while as a kid, and thats where I developed an appreciation of league. So when the Knights came along I followed them (originally I followed Manly). Now I'm a staunch Storm man, even tho it took me 7 years of them being in the comp before I switched. If the Storm ever got the flick, I'd go back to following Newcastle.

Breakdown looks like this..

82-88 - Manly
88-2004 - Newcastle
2004 - current - Melbourne

But as far as it goes with the Cats, I will never EVER change teams.

diablo14
30 Nov 2007, 01:46
Fair enough - but how do you reconcile that with all the shiny new recruits at all the teams that will be representing their new club, but who supported other teams before they were drafted?

Just opening up the discussion a bit - I am a Hawk for life.

This is why I never had an interest in playing VFL/AFL footy. I could never play for anyone else but Geelong.

You Hawthorn folk could confirm this, but I believe David Schwarz was (and still is) a mad Hawthorn supporter who remained a member of the Hawks right throughout his playing days at the Demons?

GFCats07
30 Nov 2007, 22:01
Was born and bred in Adelaide but when the Crows entered I stayed a Geelong supporter.

Same here.
Born and bred in Adelaide and still a Geelong supporter.
And always will be.

Had a chance to go to geelong for a few days.
totally worth the 13hours of driving!
=D

WE ARE GEELONG.
THE MIGHTY PREMIERS OF 2007. :thumbsu:

estibador
30 Nov 2007, 23:17
After the Eagle's final against the Bullies in 2006 I was chatting to a Bullies fan on the way out of the ground - turns out it was Farren Ray's dad.

He was an Eagles supporter but changed allegiances when Farren was drafted by the Bulldogs - can't say that should be held against him.

I've often wondered what I would do if I had a son who was drafted to the eagles. Firstly I guess I'd find out if there was some sort of divorce form to disown your kids.

But seriously, there's no way I could stop supporting Freo. I'd hope that my son went well and I'd wish him success even if it meant the unthinkable - barracking for the eagles in a grannie. I'd justify it by telling myself that I was only barracking for my son, not for the club.

If it was a derby grand final? Sorry son. I hope you win the Norm Smith - but there's no way I want to see your team win.

Mind you, if this mythical son of mine inherits my footy ability then this is never going to be an issue.

Keyser Soze
30 Nov 2007, 23:35
I've often wondered what I would do if I had a son who was drafted to the eagles. Firstly I guess I'd find out if there was some sort of divorce form to disown your kids.

But seriously, there's no way I could stop supporting Freo. I'd hope that my son went well and I'd wish him success even if it meant the unthinkable - barracking for the eagles in a grannie. I'd justify it by telling myself that I was only barracking for my son, not for the club.

If it was a derby grand final? Sorry son. I hope you win the Norm Smith - but there's no way I want to see your team win.

Mind you, if this mythical son of mine inherits my footy ability then this is never going to be an issue.

It would certainly be a conundrum for a parent particularly if your son was drafted by a hated rival. I couldn't see myself shifting loyalties but it would be tough watching your son play a final against the team you supported.

Fortunatley, on displayed form from my two boys I won't be faced with that desision.

Spare a thought for the Selwoods - imagine if young Scott was drafted by Freo, they would have had to become that most loathsome of creatures - a Freagle:eek:

How are you esti BTW, sick of the wet season build up yet.

estibador
1 Dec 2007, 00:43
How are you esti BTW, sick of the wet season build up yet.

Not a day goes by without me thanking God for inventing air conditioners.