View Full Version : Has there ever been a fatter AFL listed player?
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 08:57
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5773940,00.jpghttp://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5773940,00.jpghttp://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5773940,00.jpg
This takes it to the next level, pie nights in Waverly will make in excess of 200k for the duration of Dew's contract.
Outstanding pick Dawks, be careful he doesn't use Clarko as a toothpick.
Mr Lizard
29 Nov 2007, 08:59
Yes, Dean Rioli.
Bring-Back-Powell
29 Nov 2007, 09:10
Dunstall
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 09:11
Yes, Dean Rioli.
incorrect, Rioli got to around 110kg whilst Dew is around 115-120kg.
Johnny Utah #9
29 Nov 2007, 09:12
Yes, Dean Rioli.
LOL. I was just thinking that.
Geez it'd be a close call between Dew currently and Rioli after an off-season of eating turtles in NT.
Stuey Dew currently makes Lance Whitnall look like one of the Olsen twins!I nearly fell off my chair when i read that the guy blew out to 125kg's, bloody hell, he must have been brushing his teeth with Mars bars or something! Apparently now he tips the scales at 105kg's, but then he puts his right leg on as well!
WCE929406
29 Nov 2007, 09:16
My mate who plays for Hawthorn told me they had to specially design shorts for the fat slob, none in the team store would fit.
Maybe he could go see buddy and get some of the rapid weight loss gear.
Mr Lizard
29 Nov 2007, 09:20
Dew is currently about 104kg I think.
Just looking over the stats, Dew has also played 180 games, kicked 250-odd goals, and played in a premiership. And has unretired himself because he wants to play again. It could amount to nothing, then again it could prove another masterstroke from the Hawthorn Football Club. It's a fairly big space to watch, I'll keep my eye on him and give you progress reports if you like.
Frankston Rover
29 Nov 2007, 09:23
Incorrect.
From the Herald Sun today:
"Hawthorn said this week Dew was at 104kg and needed to lose another 10kg"
Dean Rioli wins hands down.
Hoffy95
29 Nov 2007, 09:23
Just looking over the stats, Dew has also played 180 games, kicked 250-odd goals, and played in a premiership. And has unretired himself because he wants to play again. It could amount to nothing, then again it could prove another masterstroke from the Hawthorn Football Club. It's a fairly big space to watch, I'll keep my eye on him and give you progress reports if you like.
That shouldn't be too much trouble. I can see him from where I am right now, and I'm in NSW :p.
Frankston Rover
29 Nov 2007, 09:24
My mate who plays for Hawthorn told me they had to specially design shorts for the fat slob, none in the team store would fit.
Maybe he could go see buddy and get some of the rapid weight loss gear.
I hear Ash Sampi sent him his shorts....
How is that top 10 pick going for you blokes again? :rolleyes:
ripitup27
29 Nov 2007, 09:26
Another masterstroke? I'll give you Mitchell, that was a good pick-up, but what else has been so brilliant?
Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 09:30
Tony Lockett
Lance Whitnall (didn't he get sent to a fat farm?)
Dean Rioli
A Jarman was kinda tubby wasn't he?
Bill Brownless
And of course these players ballooned out as soon as the word 'retirement' passed their lips:
D Jarman
M Long (Amazing transformation!)
B Taylor
D Kickett.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 09:34
he did all this whilse he was fit, not the fat bastard he is today.
Hawks killed this draft, they got a first rounder who doesn't want to play for them and a fat prick looking to cash up so he can afford buckets of KFC until he's dead.
top work Clarko:thumbsu:
ripitup27
29 Nov 2007, 09:36
Tony Lockett
Lance Whitnall (didn't he get sent to a fat farm?)
Dean Rioli
A Jarman was kinda tubby wasn't he?
Bill Brownless
And of course these players ballooned out as soon as the word 'retirement' passed their lips:
D Jarman
M Long (Amazing transformation!)
B Taylor
D Kickett.
Bill was never really that fat during his playing days, he's more a fatty after football.
True story, too.
Apparently they've sewn two brown pillow cases together. Although they had to cut a strip in the back 'cos they still couldn't get his arse in them.
Hawks killed this draft, they got a first rounder who doesn't want to play for them and a fat prick looking to cash up so he can afford buckets of KFC until he's dead.
But hang on, don't they have the best young list in the comp? :confused:
:o
Big Ronnie
29 Nov 2007, 10:32
http://www.elitesports.com.au/new/speakers/B_Brownless.jpghttp://www.theage.com.au/ffxImage/urlpicture_id_1077676841513_2004/02/25/sx_joybell.jpg
fishbowl
29 Nov 2007, 11:24
Yes, Dean Rioli.
Ryan O'Connor or Scott Cummings?
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 11:29
Ryan O'Connor or Scott Cummings?
forgot about Cummings, how fat did he get when at WC?
O'Conner blew out a tad too, around the same as Dunstall i'd say. Different game back then though fatties could get away with it.
fishbowl
29 Nov 2007, 11:30
Dunstall
He was at least 130kg. Stephen Jurica looked about 140kg, Richo looks 150kg though.
dipper86
29 Nov 2007, 11:52
Hawthorn could stuff up the next 3 drafts and still comfortably have a better list than Essendon. :)
Its all quite amusing, you have Knights as your head coach developing your list, the same coach who was chased out of Adelaide for his incompetence. Hilarious :thumbsu:
ultimate hater
29 Nov 2007, 11:58
I believe Stu Dew really took heed of the words of Dr. Nick...
"Instead of chewing gum, chew bacon!"
"Instead of using toothpaste, use milshakes!"
The Grover
29 Nov 2007, 12:04
What makes me laugh is not his weight but the fact he probably gave up football to follow his girlfriend & now they have split up he wants to play again. Bit like Fraser gehrig as well.
Guys please stop chucking it away for women.
bender22
29 Nov 2007, 12:23
He has 3 months to lose 10 kgs.... He's already lost 20kgs...
Why not wait until the season actually starts and it actually matters to see how fat he is?
im just glad we didnt re-draft him
well past his used by date old stuey
was great for us earlier in his career but from 2005 onwards it went all downhill from there
dutchy12
29 Nov 2007, 12:43
in his last year he averaged only 13 possesions and 0.8 goals. Now he is clearly more unfit than that. If you wanted expierence why would you force into retirement good players liek Joel Smith etc and employ a fat pig
royals1922
29 Nov 2007, 13:22
Sorry if these old chestnut have been done before;
When Stewie bleeds, he bleeds gravy.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 13:33
Hawthorn could stuff up the next 3 drafts and still comfortably have a better list than Essendon. :)
Its all quite amusing, you have Knights as your head coach developing your list, the same coach who was chased out of Adelaide for his incompetence. Hilarious :thumbsu:
Clarko wasn't deemed fit to coach St Kilda reserves in 2000, now we can see why. Getting mates who are overweight and past the game isn't exactly good coaching, then again he isn't exactly a good coach either. Fancy telling Buddy to have a quiet semi-final!! what an idiot!
Why yes we do, excellent research M73, it's great when other clubs (you still have a club don't you?) supporters recognise talent.:)
dipper86
29 Nov 2007, 13:49
Clarko wasn't deemed fit to coach St Kilda reserves in 2000, now we can see why. Getting mates who are overweight and past the game isn't exactly good coaching, then again he isn't exactly a good coach either. Fancy telling Buddy to have a quiet semi-final!! what an idiot!
Clarko = took Central District to its first premierships in 20 years, midfield coach of port in there premiership year, rebuilt the Hawthorn list and taken them to finals.
Knights: chased out of Adelaide for destroying the Port Adelaide FC, ranked as the worst coach in the history of the Port Adelaide FC, Coached Bendigo Bombers to pitiful performances in the VFL, stalled the development of many kids in his unsuccessful coaching attempts. Now coach of Essendon. :)
Clarkson avg winning margin against Essendon 2006 = 49 points.
Clarkson vs Essendon. = 5 wins 1 loss.
:thumbsu: Hilarious.
Frankston Rover
29 Nov 2007, 13:56
Yep, thanks for noticing. Next!
Clarko = took Central District to its first premierships in 20 years, midfield coach of port in there premiership year, rebuilt the Hawthorn list and taken them to finals.
Knights: chased out of Adelaide for destroying the Port Adelaide FC, ranked as the worst coach in the history of the Port Adelaide FC, Coached Bendigo Bombers to pitiful performances in the VFL, stalled the development of many kids in his unsuccessful coaching career. Now coach of Essendon. :)
:thumbsu:
BOOM.
DapperDons nomination for FLOG of the Year just gains more and more momentum.
Dipper, you really need to stop shooting into that barrell....
Rioli was 5-11' and weighed 110kg. Dew is 3cms taller.
Another difference between Rioli and Dew is that Rioli-poly never played in a premiership team, then he got too fat and he had to retire.
Dew won a flag, retired and then stacked on the weight.
He's now on a comeback and losing the weight in order to claim a 2nd premiership medal.
Partridge
29 Nov 2007, 14:24
What makes me laugh is not his weight but the fact he probably gave up football to follow his girlfriend & now they have split up he wants to play again. Bit like Fraser gehrig as well.
Guys please stop chucking it away for women.
The only thing Stuie has been chucking away is empty burger wrappers, usually after he's annihilated the contents.
Of course, it is still November. But it's a big risk.
Nonetheless, I advise all fairminded footy fans to get their fat jokes up to speed. We may need them.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 14:33
Yep, thanks for noticing. Next!
BOOM.
DapperDons nomination for FLOG of the Year just gains more and more momentum.
Dipper, you really need to stop shooting into that barrell....
haha,
1. Flog of the year would be an honour but don't take this personally Frankston Rover, i had never even heard of ya before you nominated me.
2. Knights took our crap VFL team to the semis this year after we delisted half his team the year before. Clarko walked into a ready made Port side so I wouldn't be giving him too much credit, then he walked into a side that game him 2 top 5 picks straight up. He messed up the first one with Roughead then got lucky Richmond can't see talent to save themselves and took Buddy, he made to worst player in your team captain then after years of grooming Hodge he deems him not good enough to lead the side out on the field (perhaps he knows he wont be playing next year) Now he has gone and drafted a kid who hates the club after one day of being there and a fat useless prick who is after a quick fix of the bank account because of his KFC addiction.
The first time you made finals in 6 years you were saved from some Buddy brilliance then what does Clarko do? tells him to have a quiet match in a semi-final! A SEMI-FINAL!! what a dipshit of a coach. not to mention a flog of a bloke!
Clarko is so tough he acts all nice on camera but doesn't have the balls to give it to journalists on camera. typical Hawthorn way of giving it through the backdoor.
What exactly has Clarko done right???
skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 14:48
haha,
Helped us finish 5th while your useless mob embaressed themselves and all of their supporters all year.
I felt sorry for Hird. He deserved better than the shit Essendon served up this year.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 14:55
Helped us finish 5th while your useless mob embaressed themselves and all of their supporters all year.
I felt sorry for Hird. He deserved better than the shit Essendon served up this year.
you're right, he did deserve better.
As does Crawfs, which is why i'm baffled Dew is now on your playing list. The only thing that could derail your flag chance happend when the name "Stuart Dew" was called out on Saturday. I actually feel sorry for you and your fellow supporters, I never thought Clarko would turn it into a mates club.
Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 15:02
you're right, he did deserve better.
As does Crawfs, which is why i'm baffled Dew is now on your playing list. The only thing that could derail your flag chance happend when the name "Stuart Dew" was called out on Saturday. I actually feel sorry for you and your fellow supporters, I never thought Clarko would turn it into a mates club.
Hird had to line up alongside Keppler Bradley in his last season.
Carn Hawkas
29 Nov 2007, 15:03
We will find out next season if it pays off.
bomba4eva
29 Nov 2007, 15:11
That shouldn't be too much trouble. I can see him from where I am right now, and I'm in NSW :p.
LOL. Dont see how the clown can play football when he cant even muster a jog without breaking out in sweat. Will be eating pies on the bench no doubt. Hawthorn will soon see how bad this decision is.
bomba4eva
29 Nov 2007, 15:13
We came 10th after finishing 15th the year before. He won 3.5 games the season before and 10 games this season. The only disgrace of the season was our performance against the Tigers:thumbsd:. Would think the season had been a success.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 15:14
Hird had to line up alongside Keppler Bradley in his last season.
true, but it wasn't like he was captained by our worst player:o
bomba4eva
29 Nov 2007, 15:16
Knights: chased out of Adelaide for destroying the Port Adelaide FC, ranked as the worst coach in the history of the Port Adelaide FC, Coached Bendigo Bombers to pitiful performances in the VFL, stalled the development of many kids in his unsuccessful coaching attempts. Now coach of Essendon. :)
:thumbsu: Hilarious.
Ummmmm Bendigo made it to their first finals appearance under Knights. And how would you know if he has stalled some players developments? Surely you dont follow Bendigo just to try and get some cheap laughs on BF? Should find out the right facts first before passing comments like above:thumbsd:
skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 15:18
We came 10th / Would think the season had been a success.
Sorry. I stand corrected. ;)
Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 15:18
Well a captain can't be captained, so it's a strange point you make.
skipjack
29 Nov 2007, 15:19
Sam Mitchell is not our worst player
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 15:20
Well a captain can't be captained, so it's a strange point you make.
so he didn't listen to Vandenburg? it makes sense, i would have told all other players to follow suit.
Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 15:21
so he didn't listen to Vandenburg? it makes sense, i would have told all other players to follow suit.
I was talking about Hird.....
bomba4eva
29 Nov 2007, 15:25
Sorry. I stand corrected. ;)
lol. You know what I mean.
bomba4eva
29 Nov 2007, 15:27
Stuart Dew is the single fattest AFL player you will see. Will be eating the grass when on the field, just so his stomach has a constant supply of food entering it.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 15:29
I was talking about Hird.....
my bad, and correct Hirdy still led the side through his brilliance and showed Lloydy what needs to be done. Just like Gary O'Donnell still led the side when Hirdy became captain teaching him the ropes.
It's how we do it at Windy Hill.
Do you guys still draw a name out of a hat, or have you got a system set up now?
Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 15:31
my bad, and correct Hirdy still led the side through his brilliance and showed Lloydy what needs to be done. Just like Gary O'Donnell still led the side when Hirdy became captain teaching him the ropes.
It's how we do it at Windy Hill.
Do you guys still draw a name out of a hat, or have you got a system set up now?
It's an arm-wrestling constest that decides it.
I thought that happened at all clubs.
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 15:36
It's an arm-wrestling constest that decides it.
I thought that happened at all clubs.
some do jelly wrestling, depends what state you play in I think.
dipper86
29 Nov 2007, 16:07
haha,
1. Flog of the year would be an honour but don't take this personally Frankston Rover, i had never even heard of ya before you nominated me.
2. Knights took our crap VFL team to the semis this year after we delisted half his team the year before. Clarko walked into a ready made Port side so I wouldn't be giving him too much credit, then he walked into a side that game him 2 top 5 picks straight up. He messed up the first one with Roughead then got lucky Richmond can't see talent to save themselves and took Buddy, he made to worst player in your team captain then after years of grooming Hodge he deems him not good enough to lead the side out on the field (perhaps he knows he wont be playing next year) Now he has gone and drafted a kid who hates the club after one day of being there and a fat useless prick who is after a quick fix of the bank account because of his KFC addiction.
The first time you made finals in 6 years you were saved from some Buddy brilliance then what does Clarko do? tells him to have a quiet match in a semi-final! A SEMI-FINAL!! what a dipshit of a coach. not to mention a flog of a bloke!
Clarko is so tough he acts all nice on camera but doesn't have the balls to give it to journalists on camera. typical Hawthorn way of giving it through the backdoor.
Bahhh wrong answer, Clarko took a Port Adelaide midfield that had lost Francou and Stevens and transformed it into a premiership midfield after the previous 2 years of choking, he also won a premiership at Central Districts.
Roughead has kicked 40 goals for the year, great pick up by Hawthorn he often gets amoungst the goals against Essendon. :thumbsu: The only 20 year old to kick more goals than Roughead was Franklin. :)
While Essendon once again drafted hacks like Gumbleton Johns and Bradley. :thumbsd:
Clarkson has taken Hawthorn to finals, rebuilt the squad while Knights was chased out of Adelaide, voted as the worst coach in Port Adelaides history and then coached pitiful at Bendigo, only got to finals because Sheedy kept dropping its senior players, then with one almighty stuff up he chose Meyer over Rioli, wen't for a dime a dozen half back flanker/wingman instead of pure talent. :)
The whole football world is laughing at the appointment of Knights as senior coach even you're own players are bemused.
Add to this the captaincy of pea heart Lloyd and you now have the two worst possible canditates leading your club, it was quite amusing watching Lloyd in the fetal position hands over the face, being pushed around by a player half his size, how inspiring for the Essendon FC, the football world shook its head and then laughed with delight. :) :thumbsu:
DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 16:11
Bahhh wrong answer, Clarko took a Port Adelaide midfield that had lost Francou and Stevens and transformed it into a premiership midfield after the previous 2 years of choking, he also won a premiership at Central Districts.
Roughead has kicked 40 goals for the year, great pick up by Hawthorn he often gets amoungst the goals against Essendon. :thumbsu: The only 20 year old to kick more goals than Roughead was Franklin. :)
While Essendon once again drafted hacks like Gumbleton Johns and Bradley. :thumbsd:
Clarkson has taken Hawthorn to finals, rebuilt the squad while Knights was chased out of Adelaide, voted as the worst coach in Port Adelaides history and then coached pitiful at Bendigo, only got to finals because Sheedy kept dropping its senior players, then with one almighty stuff up he chose Meyer over Rioli, wen't for a dime a dozen half back flanker/wingman instead of pure talent. :)
The whole football world is laughing at the appointment of Knights as senior coach even you're own players are bemused.
Add to this the captaincy of pea heart Lloyd and you now have the two worst possible canditates leading your club, it was quite amusing watching Lloyd in the fetal position hands over the face, being pushed around by a player half his size, how inspiring for the Essendon FC, the football world shook its head and then laughed with delight. :) :thumbsu:
blah blah blah, Knights is crap blah blah blah.
well done on not answering any of my questions instead you go into what i call "Hawks syndrome" when beaten run for the old "Lloyd is a diver, your team is old routine"
it's been done Dipper, get some new material dude.
dipper86
29 Nov 2007, 16:34
blah blah blah, Knights is crap blah blah blah.
well done on not answering any of my questions instead you go into what i call "Hawks syndrome" when beaten run for the old "Lloyd is a diver, your team is old routine"
it's been done Dipper, get some new material dude.
Hahaha, its only old because its true, I only deal with facts, just because you can't deal with it doeasn't mean its going to go away, lloyd is very valid in this, he forms a partnership with Knights that the football world is getting massive laughs out of. :thumbsu:
Knights is a horrid coach already been proven, What has Clarko done right??? He has premiership success, in SANFL and AFL, he has shaped one of the best young lists in the AFL, fast tracked the development of kids, massivive improvment in our middle tier players and we have just made finals. :) :thumbsu:
It was ridicoulous question that i thought didn't need answering, clearly i misjudged your football nous. :)
What has Clarko done right??? He has premiership success, in SANFL and AFL,
:eek:
(you still have a club don't you?)Tis a shame you don't know. Your club certainly does. :) supporters recognise talent.:)
They do. Which is why, if you didn't notice, the Ivanhoe Snawts have so many threads of people laughing at them. :thumbsu::)
Johnny Utah #9
29 Nov 2007, 17:34
Tis a shame you don't know. Your club certainly does. :)
They do. Which is why, if you didn't notice, the Ivanhoe Snawts have so many threads of people laughing at them. :thumbsu::)
Where does this name Ivanhoe Snawts come from??
DarwinRoo
29 Nov 2007, 17:37
Does Mick Nolan count?
Carlton_Blues
29 Nov 2007, 20:21
Does Mick Nolan count?
The "Galloping Gasometer" - good call! I think he goes way back to the '70s and the VFL.
Edit: DarwinRoo already called it ( pays to read page 2 of a thread )
See you young pussies dont know anything
Mick Nolan
Now Aaron’s bigger than big
At 211 centimetres — that’s a tad under seven feet in the language that some of us best understand — Fremantle ruckman Aaron Sandilands is not only the tallest player in the AFL, but the tallest in the game’s history.
Well, believe it or not, the man with the very unoriginal nickname of ‘‘Spider’’ has just got even bigger, thanks to a personalised off-season Dockers training program that has had him beef up by an extra six kilograms, from his 2003 playing weight of 114 kilograms to a massive 120.
But what makes the kilos surge all the more significant is that, according to AFL statistician Col Hutchinson, Sandilands now becomes the second heaviest man ever to play the game, behind the Kangaroos’ giant of the 1970s and ’80s, Mick Nolan, so huge of course that fans knew him better as the ‘‘Galloping Gasometer’’.
Big Mick’s playing weight is officially recorded as 111 kilograms but as a result of what the Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers describes as a ‘‘stomach that hung over his belt line’’, his typical playing weight was more like 124 kilograms (almost 20 stone), even though he stood 17 centimetres shorter than Sandilands does.
http://www.australianrules.com.au/image/micknolan.jpg
hawks_legends
29 Nov 2007, 20:36
I heard that Dew is only 99 kg eventhough he looks over. We aren't going to let him play until he is fully fit, obviously by seeing that photo he isnt fit. But you bombers had dean rioli running around the ground when he looked over 100kg.
hawks_legends
29 Nov 2007, 20:37
:eek:
He was assistant at port adelaide loser.
DarwinRoo
29 Nov 2007, 21:00
Edit: DarwinRoo already called it ( pays to read page 2 of a thread )
See you young pussies dont know anything
Mick Nolan
Now Aaron’s bigger than big
At 211 centimetres — that’s a tad under seven feet in the language that some of us best understand — Fremantle ruckman Aaron Sandilands is not only the tallest player in the AFL, but the tallest in the game’s history.
Well, believe it or not, the man with the very unoriginal nickname of ‘‘Spider’’ has just got even bigger, thanks to a personalised off-season Dockers training program that has had him beef up by an extra six kilograms, from his 2003 playing weight of 114 kilograms to a massive 120.
But what makes the kilos surge all the more significant is that, according to AFL statistician Col Hutchinson, Sandilands now becomes the second heaviest man ever to play the game, behind the Kangaroos’ giant of the 1970s and ’80s, Mick Nolan, so huge of course that fans knew him better as the ‘‘Galloping Gasometer’’.
Big Mick’s playing weight is officially recorded as 111 kilograms but as a result of what the Encyclopedia of AFL Footballers describes as a ‘‘stomach that hung over his belt line’’, his typical playing weight was more like 124 kilograms (almost 20 stone), even though he stood 17 centimetres shorter than Sandilands does.
http://www.australianrules.com.au/image/micknolan.jpg
Mick was still a gun ruckman too even for a bloke his size.
hawks_legends
29 Nov 2007, 21:19
Oh and Byron Pickett, he was also a shocker! :eek: