View Full Version : Hawks vs. Pies.....future rivalry

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 09:32
This board is clogged up with so many crap threads bagging out Geelong or Hawthorn – time for a change. Lets raise the standard and start talking about the rivalry of the future: Hawthorn vs Collingwood. Two great clubs with up and coming young lists and resources, both with the potential to win a flag in the not too distant future.

If we avoid reference to Geelong, hopefully their posters will refrain from using this thread, this will also give us the quickest fix available to lifting the standard of this board

So here goes, here are some lighthearted stats and facts comparing the 2 clubs, tainted somewhat to resemble relevance to the current positions of both clubs.

Most recent finals series: Hawks 2007, Pies 2007. This is even as both clubs made the finals this year, Pies slightly ahead given they made it 1 week further.

Most recent flag: Hawks 1991, Pies 1990. Of little relevance today as players from both teams have since retired, but Hawks still win.

Most recent wooden spoon: Hawks 1965 , Pies 1999. Damning statistic, Hawks win. How many players remain on the Pies list from the spoon side?

Most recent game: In a close contest the Hawks won through in the end at the Telstra Dome. In the few games prior to that the Pies comfortably accounted for the hawks. Nevertheless, we can only go on the most recent performance and the Hawks win.

Most recent profit: Hawks $3.6M, Pies $2.1M. Hawks win, but both clubs have recorded profits over recent years and are in a strong financial position going forwards.

Jacket wavers: Jeff vs. Joffa. Let’s just admit it, these guys are both tossers of the highest order but there is no bigger jacket wearing tosser than Jeff, win to the Pies. (lose the jacket Jeff)

President: Eddie vs. Jeff. Eddie takes the tosser tag to a whole new level, whilst Jeff is a walking headline and creates more news and publicity for the club. Win for the Hawks

Marquee Player: Buddy vs Thomas. Buddy picks up chicks at will off-field and kicked 3 50m+ goals in the last qtr of his first final to win the game, whilst Thomas is in desperate need of a haircut and needs better awareness of the boundary line to win goal of the year. Win to Buddy and the Hawks

Captain: Mitchell vs. ????? Mitchell is a gun and the Pies don’t even have a Captain, easy win to the Hawks

All in all the Hawks win hands down, from the simple stats and facts, I score it at Hawks 7, Pies 1 and 1 draw.

Stats never lie? Maybe I am a little biased? Time will tell. Are there any other relevant (ie. not Gary Ablett related behaviour) stats or facts?

Either way I am looking forward to the Hawks ownership of the Pies over the next decade

sunnyTEE
29 Nov 2007, 09:36
Veranda Sans Serif? Why are you speaking Mexican?

sunnyTEE
29 Nov 2007, 09:41
This is just puss, are you sick of flirting with all the handbaggers and trying to bag some fresh meat???
Collingwood blokes aren't into that stuff mate, you can't compete with us on and off the feild and you know this. Stop manipulating stats and then claiming them as factual.

Hodge2Franklin
29 Nov 2007, 09:42
This is just puss, are you sick of flirting with all the handbaggers and trying to bag some fresh meat???
Collingwood blokes aren't into that stuff mate, you can't compete with us on and off the feild and you know this. Stop manipulating stats and then claiming them as factual.

Yeah, says the supporter who has won, ONE flag in half a century ...

LOL ...

When it comes to competing on the field, best you just stay out of all this buddy...

MinerBoy
29 Nov 2007, 09:46
I like Collingwood. Good club and good team.

I know this is out of place on Bay 13, but they are the club I am actually looking forward to enjoying a genuine rivalry with over the next 5 years.

The 2007 clash was a cracker. I hope future encounters are similar in nature.

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 09:54
answer to your 1st part of the question....yes

which stats were manipulated?

DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 09:56
Hawks trying to find yet another rival, I told ya guys, nobody cares enough about Tassie to consider them a rival.

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 10:00
Hawks trying to find yet another rival, I told ya guys, nobody cares enough about Tassie to consider them a rival.
you are just saying this because this is what you will be experiencing over the next few years.......except for maybe richmond

DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 10:05
you are just saying this because this is what you will be experiencing over the next few years.......except for maybe richmond

granted, Hawks will be the better team over the next few years, but you'll never get more members, crowd numbers or the wealth of Essendon. This is why nobody cares about your club.

Aristotel
29 Nov 2007, 10:13
To be honest, I'm looking forward to the rejuvination of the Collingwood vs. Carlton rivalry... Now that the Blues might actually be competitive over the next 3-5years.

Nothing beats Pies vs. Blues at the MCG when both sides are firing...

Whothorn?....hahahahahaha.. Yeah, can't wait for those once a year clashes at the Telstra Dome...:rolleyes:

Perhaps the HFC and their supporters should concentrate on beating their real rival; the Kangaroos, before they start trying to forge rivalries with the big end of town...:thumbsu:

Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 10:13
It will be one of those Geelong/Hawthorn style rivalries where the games are typically close but invariably result in Hawthorn winning.

Aristotel
29 Nov 2007, 10:32
It will be one of those Geelong/Hawthorn style rivalries where the games are typically close but invariably result in Hawthorn winning.

Good one...! Outstanding logic L.P...:rolleyes:

Hawthorn have lost 4 out of their previous 5 matches against the Pies by an average losing margin of 43points.

The Hawks took home the chocolates this year will a 8point win at the Dome. Unfortunately for Collingwood, Anthony Rocca was suspended.

He kicked a combined total of 12 goals in his previous 2 games against the Hawks....

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 10:52

Hawthorn have lost 4 out of their previous 5 matches against the Pies by an average losing margin of 43points.

The Hawks took home the chocolates this year will a 8point win at the Dome. Unfortunately for Collingwood, Anthony Rocca was suspended.

He kicked a combined total of 12 goals in his previous 2 games against the Hawks....
Logic?:rolleyes:
The hawks also missed williams in that game. The hawks leading goalkicker from the last 2 seasons.
What was the most number of goals kicked by a tall forward against the hawks in 2007? Do you really think rocca would have made a difference?
There will be more chocolates for the hawks next year too:thumbsu:

Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 10:54

Prior to 2007 neither side was a solid finals contributor.

Now that we've both stepped up we're on the cusp of a rivalry that could and should include encounters in finals.

Since both sides have stepped up to top 4 contention, Hawthorn have had Collingwood covered. That's fairly solid logic.

Prepare for the Rocca v Dawson rematch in 08, where Cougar shows Pebbles what revenge is all about.

Aristotel
29 Nov 2007, 11:09
Prior to 2007 neither side was a solid finals contributor.

Now that we've both stepped up we're on the cusp of a rivalry that could and should include encounters in finals.

Collingwood came 2nd in 2002 + 2003....

Since 2002 Hawthorn have made the finals once (this year) and we all know how that ended....

Don't try and lump us into your category of mediocrity.

P.S..I'm outta here..You insecure Hawthorn supporters can argue amongst yourselves about how good your team going to be...:thumbsu:

Leather Poisoning
29 Nov 2007, 11:13
Collingwood came 2nd in 2002 + 2003....

Since 2002 Hawthorn have made the finals once (this year) and we all know how that ended....

Don't try and lump us into your category of mediocrity.

P.S..I'm outta here..You insecure Hawthorn supporters can argue amongst yourselves about how good your team going to be...:thumbsu:

Good, he's gone, I can tear loose without concern of rebuttal and claim victory and ownership.

Did I think that or type it?

Collingwood's 2002 and 2004 grand final sides had players like Buckley, Tarrant Richard Cole and Clement playing key roles. They're gone now and it's a new era. You didn't have Cloke, Pendlebury, Thomas or Goldsack, we didn't have Franklin, Rughead (typo, but I'll leave it cos it made me laugh) Lewis or Birchall. We're now level pegging. Well, almost level, Hawthorn just ahead on raw talent and brighter future.

Mitchell Madness
29 Nov 2007, 11:17
granted, Hawks will be the better team over the next few years, but you'll never get more members, crowd numbers or the wealth of Essendon. This is why nobody cares about your club.

Did you see this years profit?

fishbowl
29 Nov 2007, 11:19
Serious Question: Are you retarded?

Today is Thursday, why aren't you at Centerlink? That is a typical comment from the unrepresentative swill that is Geelong FC. Phillistines of the highest order.

I wouldn't call it a rivalry. I will say if the round 13 clash is anything to go by, there are going to be a few ring-a-ding-ding clashes in the future and both teams could stamp themselves as the new contender.

doppleganger
29 Nov 2007, 11:21
The hawks also missed williams in that game. The hawks leading goalkicker from the last 2 seasons.
Williams, bahahaha....he was Clements BIATCH.

never got a sniff when Clement took him, the last time Williams had any impact was in 05 when he was on Presti til 3/4 time, had kicked 5, Clement moved on to him, didn't let him touch the ball, outmarked him with ease and set up a pies win.....Williams has nightmares about Clement!
What was the most number of goals kicked by a tall forward against the hawks in 2007? Do you really think rocca would have made a difference?
Rocca is a flat track bully, he tears apart defences that lack a real big KP defender, he murders Sydney and Hawthorn because of this, and struggles against the quality defenders.....Rocca play pies win, really was that simple, we had more shots on goal, more inside 50s having Rocca as a target instead of 1st gamer Reid meant we would have won.

DapperDon
29 Nov 2007, 11:34
Did you see this years profit?

yes I did, take out your 3mill handout from Tasmania and you made a whooping 100k profit.

Essendon made over 2mill without help, big difference.

sgbn77
29 Nov 2007, 12:05
yes I did, take out your 3mill handout from Tasmania and you made a whooping 100k profit.

Essendon made over 2mill without help, big difference.

OK, then take out your sponsorship deal with 3, seeing as we aren't allowed to include sponsors.

sgbn77
29 Nov 2007, 12:09
Williams, bahahaha....he was Clements BIATCH.

never got a sniff when Clement took him, the last time Williams had any impact was in 05 when he was on Presti til 3/4 time, had kicked 5, Clement moved on to him, didn't let him touch the ball, outmarked him with ease and set up a pies win.....Williams has nightmares about Clement!

Rocca is a flat track bully, he tears apart defences that lack a real big KP defender, he murders Sydney and Hawthorn because of this, and struggles against the quality defenders.....Rocca play pies win, really was that simple, we had more shots on goal, more inside 50s having Rocca as a target instead of 1st gamer Reid meant we would have won.

You are correct. Clement did manage to handle Williams very well. Problem is, Williams was our only avenue to goal back in those days. Could you imagine the score we'd kick if you neglected to mark Roughead, Boyle, Buddy Franklin, and whichever resting midfielder we have strolling around. It'd be raining goals.

Clement is all class, no doubt. But I do believe he just retired.

Having said all this, I do believe the Hawks and Pies will have some cracking matches in the future (I'll avoid saying rivalry, as I've noted how testy some of the big 4 fans get about anyone else considering themselves a rival of the esteemed 4).

douls
29 Nov 2007, 12:11
I'll avoid saying rivalry, as I've noted how testy some of the big 4 fans get about anyone else considering themselves a rival of the esteemed 4)

And don't you forget it :thumbsu:

doppleganger
29 Nov 2007, 12:37
Having said all this, I do believe the Hawks and Pies will have some cracking matches in the future.

The game at the dome was brilliant, the roar after Didak's first goal was fantastic

doppleganger
29 Nov 2007, 12:38
I'll avoid saying rivalry, as I've noted how testy some of the big 4 fans get about anyone else considering themselves a rival of the esteemed 4.

Not testy, just that we would much rather beat Carlton in a finals match than Hawthorn.

sunnyTEE
29 Nov 2007, 14:07
answer to your 1st part of the question....yes

which stats were manipulated?

I do believe Collingwood will have quite a good rivalry with the Hawks over the next few years don't get me wrong.

You just put a bunch of crap out there and hoped that morons took the bait... hang on..............

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 15:10
I do believe Collingwood will have quite a good rivalry with the Hawks over the next few years don't get me wrong.

You just put a bunch of crap out there and hoped that morons took the bait... hang on..............
yep, all facts presented in a lighthearted manner from a one-eyed point of view....something you can relate to?

this board attracts morons.....it's a slow work day.....and there is no footy on!

MagpieGirl_13
29 Nov 2007, 21:28
Collingwood's 2002 and 2004 grand final sides had players like Buckley, Tarrant Richard Cole and Clement playing key roles. They're gone now and it's a new era. You didn't have Cloke, Pendlebury, Thomas or Goldsack, we didn't have Franklin, Rughead (typo, but I'll leave it cos it made me laugh) Lewis or Birchall. We're now level pegging. Well, almost level, Hawthorn just ahead on raw talent and brighter future.

Sorry to inform you but I think you have got your facts all muddled up! We were grandfinal sides in 2002 & 2003!!!!!

MagpieGirl_13
29 Nov 2007, 21:30
We have Strauchanie & you (hawthorn) DON'T!!!!!!!
Clearly a better side...

play2win
29 Nov 2007, 22:13
We have Strauchanie & you (hawthorn) DON'T!!!!!!!
Clearly a better side...
stuey dew is growing the mullet over summer followed by a good bleaching in the preseason, everything goes to plan weve got strauchnie covered no worries:thumbsu:

forrrestGump
29 Nov 2007, 22:55
obviously from the lack of response to this low grade troll, pies supporters can steal pcs but have yet to master stealing broadband access

Ron
29 Nov 2007, 23:17
obviously from the lack of response to this low grade troll, pies supporters can steal pcs but have yet to master stealing broadband access

Nice to see you have decided to side with the Hawks.

And as for the Hawks, they might be a good team for the next five years or so, but they'll never have a rivalry with us, they just aren't important enough.

Hawkk
29 Nov 2007, 23:21
Unlike Melbourne and Richmond :)

In reality we're nothing like Collingwood...most of our supporters have more then 1 Premiership on DVD :)

MmkMrMackie
30 Nov 2007, 02:19
They should rename this board the 'Hawthorn rejects'. Hawthorn have yet to prove anything. They finished 6th this year and fell away come finals when it mattered. Collingwood and Geelong currently have a rivalry as we played in a close preliminary final. Hawks supporters wouldn't know what one of them is though. They had a chance to get to one this year, but couldn't beat a team which got thrashed by both Port and Geelong. It seemed you were content with one finals win. Medicority and Hawthorn go hand in hand it seems.

When playing in a final that really mattered though neither of your superstars in Hodge and Franklin could do anything. As GC26 likes reminding us, Hodge only got 8 touches, Franklin had the worst first quarter of football in finals history, despite having the ball shoved down his throat on numerous occasions, and Crawford ended up going the knuckle as he knew his team wasn't good enough.

Collingwood are miles ahead of the Hawks, and I hate to say it, but their young players are better than the Hawks' youngsters. Rivalries are created when two teams such as the Pies and Cats draw 80k+ to a regular season game. Rivalries are created when preliminary finals come down to the wire and both teams give it their all. Rivalries aren't created on paper, so there is no point rubbishing on how good your young players might be. Rivalries are created on the field, and if your team has no heart, as it seems was exhibited against the Kangaroos, I can't see them creating a rivalry with a team like Collingwood any time soon.

By the way, there is no rivlary between Geelong and Hawthorn - it is merely a case of Geelong supporters mocking the Hawks for their lack of recent success, as the Hawks enjoyed doing in years gone by, up until we wrecked their party by having the most successful season of AFL football ever seen. It is also a case of Hawthorn supporters suffering from an inferiority complex. They can't come to grips with the fact that Geelong is such a better team than Hawthorn, and that they didn't have to finish last to become a better team.

6th place is rubbish. Hawthorn FC is a joke. Hawthorn supporters are a bunch of self satisfying ego pumping nuff nuffs. Please get over yourselves and come back when you've won a flag.

Aristotel
30 Nov 2007, 08:30
Collingwood are miles ahead of the Hawks, and I hate to say it, but their young players are better than the Hawks' youngsters. Rivalries are created when two teams such as the Pies and Cats draw 80k+ to a regular season game. Rivalries are created when preliminary finals come down to the wire and both teams give it their all. Rivalries aren't created on paper, so there is no point rubbishing on how good your young players might be. Rivalries are created on the field, and if your team has no heart, as it seems was exhibited against the Kangaroos, I can't see them creating a rivalry with a team like Collingwood any time soon.

...well said.

Leather Poisoning
30 Nov 2007, 08:37
...well said.

The legion of teams that can't beat hawthorn are high-fiving each other.

How cute.

winty
30 Nov 2007, 08:43
The legion of teams that had a better finals series than hawthorn are high-fiving each other.

How cute.

Edited for accuracy.

Carson_Kressley
30 Nov 2007, 08:55
what is it with hawthorn trying to find rivalry, no one cares about the hawks. face it hawks no one cares about u enough to have a rivalry with you. the only rivalry u got is at the mardi gras to see who can outdress you. bunch of queers

Leather Poisoning
30 Nov 2007, 09:26
what is it with hawthorn trying to find rivalry, no one cares about the hawks. face it hawks no one cares about u enough to have a rivalry with you. the only rivalry u got is at the mardi gras to see who can outdress you. bunch of queers

What is it with you trying to slag Hawthorn in every thread?

You comment on rivarly when the only thing your club has 'competed' for this century is a number 1 draft pick.

Don't tell me you're another carlton supporter expecting to play finals this year?

Carson_Kressley
30 Nov 2007, 09:31
What is it with you trying to slag Hawthorn in every thread?

You comment on rivarly when the only thing your club has 'competed' for this century is a number 1 draft pick.

Don't tell me you're another carlton supporter expecting to play finals this year?

we will play finals in 2 to 3 years

Leather Poisoning
30 Nov 2007, 09:35
we will play finals in 2 to 3 years

Still gives me a giggle.

Carson_Kressley
30 Nov 2007, 09:37
Still gives me a giggle.

bet not as much as the seasons we won the wooden spoon bet u laffed alot then too lol