View Full Version : Saints Back to Back?
notwotiheard
29 Nov 2007, 19:06
Question;
1 - Can the Saints go Back to back is the million dollar question?
2 - Is the million dollar man willing to buy another?
:confused::confused::confused::confused:
superfreak
29 Nov 2007, 19:26
Question;
1. will be tough but im sure they can
2. are you??? ;)
April Fool
30 Nov 2007, 04:38
Question;
1 - No for me. Chelt 2008 !
2 - I dont think its up to who he buys.its who stay's!
Brightspark
30 Nov 2007, 05:12
Question;
Yes and Yes.
The only thing i would say is the man spends his $$$ on gun players.Not to many battlers on Richies books,other clubs couldn't say the same.
pdog pizza's
30 Nov 2007, 06:33
I would definately say YES to both questions!
Heard a whisper the other night the Saints have only lost 3 players- Hassan, Newman and maybe Arvanitis but have picked up possibly 8-10 new senior players making their depth extremely strong.
I think Big Rich may have got worried towards the end of last season losing those 2 games to St Pauls thinking they might not win the flag. Well the news is worse for 2008 he won't let that happen again and will make certain of it by going out and spending more on new players just to make certain that the flag is in the bag for the Saints. He will want to go out and destroy the opposition by 15+ goals each week.....and they probably will :rolleyes::rolleyes:
cuttingedge
30 Nov 2007, 06:36
Yes and Yes.
The only thing i would say is the man spends his $$$ on gun players.Not to many battlers on Richies books,other clubs couldn't say the same.
Who did he pay and what did he pay,? You would be shocked,
Let me say the club payed a lot more of the wages than the coach.
Also if you read a few posts back a couple of the punters were surprised
with the amount of locals in the flag team, I think there was only 5 players that hadnt played for the club before and 2 of them started on the bench!So before you shoot your mouth off get your facts right.
cuttingedge
30 Nov 2007, 06:41
Heard a whisper the other night the Saints have only lost 3 players- Hassan, Newman and maybe Arvanitis but have picked up possibly 8-10 new senior players making their depth extremely strong.
I think Big Rich may have got worried towards the end of last season losing those 2 games to St Pauls thinking they might not win the flag. Well the news is worse for 2008 he won't let that happen again and will make certain of it by going out and spending more on new players just to make certain that the flag is in the bag for the Saints. He will want to go out and destroy the opposition by 15+ goals each week.....and they probably will :rolleyes::rolleyes:
More bad news Newman will be back & Campbell will be back from work duties in Tasmania,at this stage have signed 1 definite senior player to the list not 8 or 10, I would think at this stage we would need at least 6 new players to cover retirements etc, we hope to see a bit more development in our younger players ,Bruno,McConchie,Porter,Grundy etc
the_fresh
30 Nov 2007, 07:42
Question;
is he now paying a million a year? ;)
starcraft
30 Nov 2007, 08:45
Were is Arvanutus rumoured to be heading next year?
cuttingedge
30 Nov 2007, 09:00
Were is Arvanutus rumoured to be heading next year?
living in outer sth east , finished the year with 10 injuries, might have a year off or play in his area, we are hopeful he will stick around
batfink
30 Nov 2007, 12:18
with the amount of locals in the flag team, I think there was only 5 players that hadnt played for the club before and 2 of them started on the bench!So before you shoot your mouth off get your facts right.
Don't try and gloss over it the coach bought himself the job and a shallow flag, everyone knows that.
cuttingedge
30 Nov 2007, 12:38
Don't try and gloss over it the coach bought himself the job and a shallow flag, everyone knows that.
No such thing as a shallow flag, ask the 7 or 8 players that played in there 3rd flag or the 5 or 6 which racked up there 2nd with the club, theres never been a premier who didnt spend on there players and with only a kick in it at the end , a bought flag would be a balwyn flag where ex afl players starting on the bench and over half the side brought in for one year. Keep gobbing off it just makes our players more hungry to win it again, they all read the crap thats written and have a good laugh. As they say in the classic winners are grinners and losers can please themselves.
Brightspark
30 Nov 2007, 15:15
Must of hit a nerve Cutting you knucklehead.My previous post suggested that the blokes that he does pay are guns and worth what is spent.I know a few of the blokes there well and they do stick fat so if that continues you will win it again.
I would think that spending $$ on the right players is a credit to your club but,maybe you took my previous post the wrong way.
Mr Insider
30 Nov 2007, 15:42
No such thing as a shallow flag, ask the 7 or 8 players that played in there 3rd flag or the 5 or 6 which racked up there 2nd with the club, theres never been a premier who didnt spend on there players and with only a kick in it at the end , a bought flag would be a balwyn flag where ex afl players starting on the bench and over half the side brought in for one year. Keep gobbing off it just makes our players more hungry to win it again, they all read the crap thats written and have a good laugh. As they say in the classic winners are grinners and losers can please themselves.
We'll look forward to when the dough is no longer there and it will happen it's just a matter of time. He can buy players but credibility is earned not purchased. I admire your loyalty cutting but it must be hard living in denial
cuttingedge
2 Dec 2007, 16:46
We'll look forward to when the dough is no longer there and it will happen it's just a matter of time. He can buy players but credibility is earned not purchased. I admire your loyalty cutting but it must be hard living in denial
Mate, the club has rewarded its players well for a long time, there is no doubt when a club has extra finances or sponsors who employ it helps and of course if these 2 things are not good you will struggle, we finished 5th in 2006 and beat 2 finalists away, and left our run 2 late,also we made divvy 1 gf in 01 & 02 so its not new that we had success. Stating the obvious is getting boring.
We have 30 odd sponsors at the club not one, if you were observant you would see we had 16 of the 21 were players who had played in flags with the club, so this mass paranoia about fintrack buying this & that wasnt justified, also as I have stated before Richard brought Cass with him as he works for him & Big Mimo, the other new guys were at the club prior to
Richard signing and Hassan came late in pre season, keep eating sour grapes . The paranoia about the coach is amazing.
cuttingedge
2 Dec 2007, 16:50
Just a side note the big footy rumor mill tells me youare an East Brighton official, mate you had your chance and blew everything. If you are the bloke I think you are I admire you because you tip in plenty, but anything you say on here regarding Houston,Casset,StKilda City has no credibility because it is all sour grapes. Good Luck in 2008
notwotiheard
3 Dec 2007, 10:07
Question;
To answer my own question.
1 - The Saints should win the 2008 flag.
2 - Not 100% sure if it is Richards money but they are definatley the top spender in the SFL.
Maybe you could estimate your clubs budget Cuttingedge ??
cuttingedge
3 Dec 2007, 11:18
To answer my own question.
1 - The Saints should win the 2008 flag.
2 - Not 100% sure if it is Richards money but they are definatley the top spender in the SFL.
Maybe you could estimate your clubs budget Cuttingedge ??
1- thats our aim, but we are long way off with player losses and retirements
2- dont think the forum is the place to discuss it, all I will say is our 2 main sponsors probably contribute 40 % of the incentives,as stated in previous comments Richard is not contributing the amount which is rumored, his additional sponsorship allowed us to bring in 3 new players of which 1 works for him. He didnt need to go beserk as reported, we had a pretty solid list to start with
Cutting, your starting to turn me around in thinking that City has the right blueprint for winning flag after flag after flag. But are you going to spend another 12 months with a chip on your shoulder regarding Mr Money.
PS - we only bite because we know you'll take the bate.
cuttingedge
3 Dec 2007, 12:13
Cutting, your starting to turn me around in thinking that City has the right blueprint for winning flag after flag after flag. But are you going to spend another 12 months with a chip on your shoulder regarding Mr Money.
PS - we only bite because we know you'll take the bate.
No chip buddy, sitting here laughing at all the knockers, everyone is entitled to there opinion, no matter what is said I will and always have been stkilda city thru & thru , whether its winning flags or being relegated.
the thing that we look forward to is our next batch of kids filtering thru this year and next.
Billy the Kid
3 Dec 2007, 12:28
Which club and league is Hassan going to?
superfreak
3 Dec 2007, 12:50
West Adelaide in the SANFL.
notwotiheard
3 Dec 2007, 12:51
West Adelaide for $30,000 package.
notwotiheard
3 Dec 2007, 12:59
2- dont think the forum is the place to discuss it, all I will say is our 2 main sponsors probably contribute 40 % of the incentives,as stated in previous comments Richard is not contributing the amount which is rumored, his additional sponsorship allowed us to bring in 3 new players of which 1 works for him. He didnt need to go beserk as reported, we had a pretty solid list to start with
Fair comment.
But 1 - What is the total spend ??
2 - Fintrack/Richard % ???
3 - Who pays Dimaschki his $800 per game ???
cuttingedge
3 Dec 2007, 13:49
West Adelaide for $30,000 package.
30000 +, an offer way out of our league, plus he wanted to play at a higher level and West Adelaide is his former club, was recruited heavily by Andy Collins, we wish him all the best
cuttingedge
3 Dec 2007, 13:55
Fair comment.
But 1 - What is the total spend ??
2 - Fintrack/Richard % ???
3 - Who pays Dimaschki his $800 per game ???
Mate your obsessed, I think you ned to get on board to satisfy your interest:)
1- Not sure at a guess would be between 50 - 75k
2 - about 25%
3- was on under half that per game, thats fact
probably worth more this year, had a huge granny
and rucked all year
These are approximates just to satisfy your hunger, look we appreciatre your interest but I think the other clubs would be jack of the stkilda talk on here I reckon we should close this topic now
notwotiheard
3 Dec 2007, 14:07
Mate your obsessed, I think you ned to get on board to satisfy your interest:)
1- Not sure at a guess would be between 50 - 75k
2 - about 25%
3- was on under half that per game, thats fact
probably worth more this year, had a huge granny
and rucked all year
These are approximates just to satisfy your hunger, look we appreciatre your interest but I think the other clubs would be jack of the stkilda talk on here I reckon we should close this topic now
Not obsessed Cutting just looking for some answers thats all.
Just a little Argy Bargy.Your easy to suck in !!!
Brightspark
24 Feb 2008, 11:10
Along way off Cutting you have to be kidding?
In's
Artz
Davies
Lindsay
Mahoney
Quinn
And the rest that haven't been announced yet.
Out's
Arvanitis
Newmann (Big Loss)
Hasan
Couple of retirements.Big deal you blokes are miles in front of every other Div.1. club so stop playing it down your credibility on big footy is taking a hammering.
superfreak
24 Feb 2008, 15:52
Along way off Cutting you have to be kidding?
In's
Artz
Davies
Lindsay
Mahoney
Quinn
And the rest that haven't been announced yet.
Out's
Arvanitis
Newmann (Big Loss)
Hasan
Couple of retirements.Big deal you blokes are miles in front of every other Div.1. club so stop playing it down your credibility on big footy is taking a hammering.
you can add mick stinear (ex. carlton), his brother from de la, rhys bloomfield and gary johnstone (both port melb.) to that list
cuttingedge
24 Feb 2008, 17:00
you can add mick stinear (ex. carlton), his brother from de la, rhys bloomfield and gary johnstone (both port melb.) to that list
Brightspark & Superfeak you both very excitable and wrong with half of what youve said
; Losses are Hassan(West Adelaide),Newman(Darley),Pitcher(work),Pecora(work)Arvanitis (Tooraddin),Zosens(work in sydney at this stage) that would make 4 of our top 7,plus Piquer & Johnston likely to retire,Cruse(lilydale), R .Webb (oak Park) that 10 out of final 23, gains are Gav Mahony ex Ashwood hasnt played for 2 years, Myles Quinn (Strathmore), Gary Johnstone Port reserves played with us last year, Michael Stinear (Mt Gravatt),John Stinear DeLa salle twos and coming off surgery,John Lindsay (Port Colts) plus a couple of country blokes so we are banking on our young guys like Grundy,Stern & Hopkins to come up from the twos .In saying that we are still trying to firm our list up.
Our losses far outweigh our gains.As i mentioned in a previous post backing up is hard at this level because there are alot factors outside footy that cause clubs to lose players, thats why when you get the chance to win a grand final you have to grab it with both hands because they dont come around every year.We expected to lose 6 players so we have a bit of work to do.
We will be a lot younger this year, well be happy to finish top 4
Cheltenham will be odds on favourites to win with Pabst from ODist & blokes back from Sandy and no reported losses?they will be far and away the best list.
Also Ben Artz trained once and was never seen again, Boeh Davies has never been to the club and I dont who Rhys Bloomfield is.
seeing you blokes are experts whats happening at St Pauls and Clayton
superfreak
24 Feb 2008, 17:34
Brightspark & Superfeak you both very excitable and wrong with half of what youve said
; Losses are Hassan(West Adelaide),Newman(Darley),Pitcher(work),Pecora(work)Arvanitis (Tooraddin),Zosens(work in sydney at this stage) that would make 4 of our top 7,plus Piquer & Johnston likely to retire,Cruse(lilydale), R .Webb (oak Park) that 10 out of final 23, gains are Gav Mahony ex Ashwood hasnt played for 2 years, Myles Quinn (Strathmore), Gary Johnstone Port reserves played with us last year, Michael Stinear (Mt Gravatt),John Stinear DeLa salle twos and coming off surgery,John Lindsay (Port Colts) plus a couple of country blokes so we are banking on our young guys like Grundy,Stern & Hopkins to come up from the twos .In saying that we are still trying to firm our list up.
Our losses far outweigh our gains.As i mentioned in a previous post backing up is hard at this level because there are alot factors outside footy that cause clubs to lose players, thats why when you get the chance to win a grand final you have to grab it with both hands because they dont come around every year.We expected to lose 6 players so we have a bit of work to do.
We will be a lot younger this year, well be happy to finish top 4
Cheltenham will be odds on favourites to win with Pabst from ODist & blokes back from Sandy and no reported losses?they will be far and away the best list.
Also Ben Artz trained once and was never seen again, Boeh Davies has never been to the club and I dont who Rhys Bloomfield is.
seeing you blokes are experts whats happening at St Pauls and Clayton
i got 3/4 (75%) so thats more than half!! could be 4/4 though.....
Ah cuttingedge my friend, im not exitable at all, but one of your players is cos he is the one telling me whats going on down at the farm!! loose lips sink ships is how the saying goes isnt it :)
You blokes are odds on and you more than anyone should know it...no need to shift the expectation onto another club that hasnt earned it as of yet.
Onto stuff you asked about.....Andrew Shilton (who won a club B&F at Chelt a few years ago) is at St Pauls. They got him a job. Has played the last few years at Noble Park, good inside midfiedler. Merkon still the 'bank' at the Doggies it seems.
Burgiel brothers not at Clayton, Haydn is coaching Maffra. Gags heading O/S it seems.
cuttingedge
24 Feb 2008, 18:08
Ah cuttingedge my friend, im not exitable at all, but one of your players is cos he is the one telling me whats going on down at the farm!! loose lips sink ships is how the saying goes isnt it :)
You blokes are odds on and you more than anyone should know it...no need to shift the expectation onto another club that hasnt earned it as of yet.
Onto stuff you asked about.....Andrew Shilton (who won a club B&F at Chelt a few years ago) is at St Pauls. They got him a job. Has played the last few years at Noble Park, good inside midfiedler. Merkon still the 'bank' at the Doggies it seems.
Burgiel brothers not at Clayton, Haydn is coaching Maffra. Gags heading O/S it seems.
How could we be odds on with the players weve lost? the guys we have picked up are unknown quantity. I said all year last year there was only 5 goals between the top 4 and it worked out like that apart from the Prelim
Nothing to hide its all in front of you, I heard Currie was back at Clayton and also I see Taranto at Chelt, Rafferty will be at St Pauls from Casey
we have lost more than we gained, but if Quinn stands up it will mean we have a ruckman which we played pretty much all year without.We are sweating on Zosens getting back from Sydney(BOG Gf)
Also heard Mckenzie,Martin & Ott are at Chelt add pabst and clearly the best list. Have chelt lost any. Best from stpauls is at Bonbeach & I hear LJames has a bad foot injury. Cant wait for round one!
Had heard he was heading down to Toora with the rest of the Chelt contingent
remus junior
24 Feb 2008, 20:38
How could we be odds on with the players weve lost? the guys we have picked up are unknown quantity. I said all year last year there was only 5 goals between the top 4 and it worked out like that apart from the Prelim
Nothing to hide its all in front of you, I heard Currie was back at Clayton and also I see Taranto at Chelt, Rafferty will be at St Pauls from Casey
we have lost more than we gained, but if Quinn stands up it will mean we have a ruckman which we played pretty much all year without.We are sweating on Zosens getting back from Sydney(BOG Gf)
Also heard Mckenzie,Martin & Ott are at Chelt add pabst and clearly the best list. Have chelt lost any. Best from stpauls is at Bonbeach & I hear LJames has a bad foot injury. Cant wait for round one!
MYLES QUINN will win the Southern FL comp by the length of the Flemington Straight.
6'4, mobile, athletic ruckman who runs like the wind.
2004 - 2005 WAFL REP RUCKMAN.
Strathmore Premiership Ruckman in Essendon FL which is very good standard.
superfreak
25 Feb 2008, 09:43
Had heard he was heading down to Toora with the rest of the Chelt contingent
Nope, had his clearance to Toora rejected as he owed Noble cash. St Pauls stepped in and got him a job (Merkon) and paid noble what he owed. He played at St Peters in juniors so he knows a few of the blokes at the Dogs.
Brightspark
25 Feb 2008, 10:13
Cutting you think Lindsay,Quinn,Mahoney and Stinnear are unknown quantities??
Lindsay would be in the best 10 surburban footballers in Melbourne.
Quinn WAFL Rep Ruckman(enough said their)
Stinnear QAFL superstar who makes up for the loss off Hasan.
Mahoney hard at it onballer/back flanker who will be even better in strong side.
Certainly better pick ups than Chelts so far
Pabst good 2nd Div player
Martin man mountain who didn't get a look in at Sandy
Ott ??
Taranto didn't cut it at Noble but will be dominant back at Chelt.
So for mine City have by far picked up more than they have lost.
And if you think anyone believes that Zosens,Pecora and Pitcher will all not play due to work then you are definately kidding yourself.
Brightspark
25 Feb 2008, 10:15
Nope, had his clearance to Toora rejected as he owed Noble cash. St Pauls stepped in and got him a job (Merkon) and paid noble what he owed. He played at St Peters in juniors so he knows a few of the blokes at the Dogs.
How do you owe a club money at the end of a year if you are a paid player??And why didn't Toora pay it??
cuttingedge
25 Feb 2008, 10:24
Cutting you think Lindsay,Quinn,Mahoney and Stinnear are unknown quantities??
Lindsay would be in the best 10 surburban footballers in Melbourne.
Quinn WAFL Rep Ruckman(enough said their)
Stinnear QAFL superstar who makes up for the loss off Hasan.
Mahoney hard at it onballer/back flanker who will be even better in strong side.
Certainly better pick ups than Chelts so far
Pabst good 2nd Div player
Martin man mountain who didn't get a look in at Sandy
Ott ??
Taranto didn't cut it at Noble but will be dominant back at Chelt.
So for mine City have by far picked up more than they have lost.
And if you think anyone believes that Zosens,Pecora and Pitcher will all not play due to work then you are definately kidding yourself.
Fair assessment? - Zosens is in Sydney and looks unlikely to return,Pecora will play twos if available & Pitcher definitely not playing, also you throw in Johnston,Piquer & possibly Walker retiring thats 9 key players gone with Arvo,Newman & Hassan gone and with only 4 or 5 quality ins we need our kids to stand up, if you dont believe me come down and watch training.
Brightspark
25 Feb 2008, 10:31
Fair assessment? - Zosens is in Sydney and looks unlikely to return,Pecora will play twos if available & Pitcher definitely not playing, also you throw in Johnston,Piquer & possibly Walker retiring thats 9 key players gone with Arvo,Newman & Hassan gone and with only 4 or 5 quality ins we need our kids to stand up, if you dont believe me come down and watch training.
Still expect Zosens to play with you blokes.
Quote from one off your more senior players "If you think last years team was good wait untill you see what we do to SFL this year".
Only going from what ive been told.At least your club also realises that your juniors will be the future as i wouldn't expect that Richie will be around forever.
superfreak
25 Feb 2008, 10:40
How do you owe a club money at the end of a year if you are a paid player??And why didn't Toora pay it??
cos you dont get paid if your playing in the magoos. he struggled with injury last year and couldnt break back into the seniors. the job was the clincher for the dogs.
superfreak
25 Feb 2008, 10:41
Quote from one off your more senior players "If you think last years team was good wait untill you see what we do to SFL this year".
Only going from what ive been told.At least your club also realises that your juniors will be the future as i wouldn't expect that Richie will be around forever.
can you confirm that the tunners, along with dingley have been approached to come up to div 1?? something about two current div 1 teams not being able to field a reserves side and thus are under pressure to retain there spot in the top division......
cuttingedge
25 Feb 2008, 11:02
We hope like hell Benny can get back to Melb, also we hope to get Campbell back from work in Tassie he was runner up B&F 2006 and missed last year. Right now our losses outweigh our gains, but we are still trying to add abit of experience, our improvement will come from the 19-22 yolds who need to step up. Our U17 side has some great kids and would expect to have 5 or 6 of them playing seniors or reserves this year
Brightspark
25 Feb 2008, 11:20
We hope like hell Benny can get back to Melb, also we hope to get Campbell back from work in Tassie he was runner up B&F 2006 and missed last year. Right now our losses outweigh our gains, but we are still trying to add abit of experience, our improvement will come from the 19-22 yolds who need to step up. Our U17 side has some great kids and would expect to have 5 or 6 of them playing seniors or reserves this year
Good to hear that City is intent on having juniors as this will secure the clubs future.That's my biggest worry with my old club E Brighton they need to start making inroads soon before it's to late.
Brightspark
25 Feb 2008, 11:23
can you confirm that the tunners, along with dingley have been approached to come up to div 1?? something about two current div 1 teams not being able to field a reserves side and thus are under pressure to retain there spot in the top division......
I thought everyone was aware of that?
The league cannot and will not relegate 2 teams and put us and Dingley up.Remembering that Round 1 is only 7 weeks away it simply won't happen.
I presume you are talking about Highett and Mordialloc?
superfreak
25 Feb 2008, 11:25
I thought everyone was aware of that?
The league cannot and will not relegate 2 teams and put us and Dingley up.Remembering that Round 1 is only 7 weeks away it simply won't happen.
I presume you are talking about Highett and Mordialloc?
highett and your old mob.....
Brightspark
25 Feb 2008, 11:35
highett and your old mob.....
Who nearly played finals and has picked up 10-12 blokes already.They simply cannot do it to any club unless clubs from both Divisions are happy about it.I know East will be amongst the mix with some of the recuits that ive been told about.
cuttingedge
25 Feb 2008, 12:33
Who nearly played finals and has picked up 10-12 blokes already.They simply cannot do it to any club unless clubs from both Divisions are happy about it.I know East will be amongst the mix with some of the recuits that ive been told about.
East is always competitive no matter what they pu ton the ground, although there twos have been shocking for awhile, shame to see Matt Jamieson & Brightspark at Heatherton 2 of the better division 1 players.Why would they leave East?
Tiger bait
26 Feb 2008, 17:25
Normally on the AFL boards but had to jump on here for a look-see..........and from what i can see....
@#$@#$ u guys talk shiiit
of course st kilda will win another shallow flag next year
of course st pauls/cheltenham and other honest hard working clubs are gonna fail at the last hurdle due to the lack of depth...
it all comes down to money, and if st kilda get their kicks outta paying for flags then so be it, when we are out there playing against them, makes me feel that much better knowing that we aren't bankrolling our season the the degree the saints do......
Brightspark
26 Feb 2008, 18:24
Normally on the AFL boards but had to jump on here for a look-see..........and from what i can see....
@#$@#$ u guys talk shiiit
of course st kilda will win another shallow flag next year
of course st pauls/cheltenham and other honest hard working clubs are gonna fail at the last hurdle due to the lack of depth...
it all comes down to money, and if st kilda get their kicks outta paying for flags then so be it, when we are out there playing against them, makes me feel that much better knowing that we aren't bankrolling our season the the degree the saints do......
P@#S off back to the AFL board you pathetic Richmond loser.The tigers were a powerhouse 30 years ago and now are nothing but a walk in the park for most sides except Carlton.
StPauls and Cheltenham both spend plenty and it's all sour grapes for these clubs because at the end of the day it's about success/premierships.For the record St Pauls have lost 5 grannys in 7 years and Cheltenham haven't ever won a Div.1. final.Both these clubs enjoy belting struggilng clubs but neither have delivered when it counts.
cuttingedge
27 Feb 2008, 06:39
P@#S off back to the AFL board you pathetic Richmond loser.The tigers were a powerhouse 30 years ago and now are nothing but a walk in the park for most sides except Carlton.
StPauls and Cheltenham both spend plenty and it's all sour grapes for these clubs because at the end of the day it's about success/premierships.For the record St Pauls have lost 5 grannys in 7 years and Cheltenham haven't ever won a Div.1. final.Both these clubs enjoy belting struggilng clubs but neither have delivered when it counts.
Well said sparky, sick to death of the idiots that get on here and carry on about nothing, we've heard it all before.
Tiger bait
27 Feb 2008, 11:06
Spend plenty? I think St Kilda's spending eclipses half the league. St Pauls & Cheltenham try to recruit from their own area, not as much poaching evident as there is from St Kilda. Face it, you have heard all this shit before, but you're gonna keep hearing it because everyone involved with SFL knows that StKilda will pay for a flag, just like Balwyn did not that long ago.
St kilda will always poach other players, overpay and be a dirty on field football club.
At the end of the day, which would you rather, shallow success, or a team full of mates that actually want to play together in the spirit of the game....
Get ****ed stkilda city scum
one_glove
27 Feb 2008, 11:11
Spend plenty? I think St Kilda's spending eclipses half the league. St Pauls & Cheltenham try to recruit from their own area, not as much poaching evident as there is from St Kilda. Face it, you have heard all this shit before, but you're gonna keep hearing it because everyone involved with SFL knows that StKilda will pay for a flag, just like Balwyn did not that long ago.
St kilda will always poach other players, overpay and be a dirty on field football club.
At the end of the day, which would you rather, shallow success, or a team full of mates that actually want to play together in the spirit of the game....
here here
and why do st kilda city people feel the need to constantly defend a premiership on an internet forum...? Do you think if you really spent less then everyone else thinks on your team you'd even come on here?
cuttingedge
27 Feb 2008, 11:53
here here
and why do st kilda city people feel the need to constantly defend a premiership on an internet forum...? Do you think if you really spent less then everyone else thinks on your team you'd even come on here?
Mr Glove & Mr Master Bait,
You blokes should get a life .LOL
by the way Brightspark aint from City
one_glove
27 Feb 2008, 13:36
Mr Glove & Mr Master Bait,
You blokes should get a life .LOL
by the way Brightspark aint from City
well retorted... i've learnt my lesson
backtoback08
27 Feb 2008, 14:12
well retorted... i've learnt my lesson
Hey Edge , any truth in the rumor a key defender Nick Porter will miss the season with a knee injury after a motor bike injury, this would be a mortal blow to your chances!
cuttingedge
27 Feb 2008, 14:19
Hey Edge , any truth in the rumor a key defender Nick Porter will miss the season with a knee injury after a motor bike injury, this would be a mortal blow to your chances!
Good info, it looks like he will miss the season, off field injuries are cruel blows at this stage of the year, also at the ripe age of 38 Robbie Walker will be calling it a day due to work commitments we are trying to get him in for another year, this will leave us with 10 or 11 losses from Grand Final team
April Fool
1 Mar 2008, 04:51
Confirmed Saints 2008 Flag by 10 Goals
Once again Money talks sh*t walks.
Brightspark
1 Mar 2008, 08:00
Your obviously a disgruntled St Pauls player and champ i can tell you personally their is nothing better in footy than winning a flag.You blokes should stop sooking win a flag and experience what it's like.I have been lucky enough to play in 2 and sure we had mercenaries just like City did last year,but we wouldn't have won 1 without them.
On another issue the following players would all be paid so St Pauls aren't that far behind City.
James,Barnes,Sziller,Best,Rogerson,McIntyre,Cooke,Prew,O'Rei lly,Mackenzie,Shaw,Artz,Ridgeway and Calabrese.
cuttingedge
1 Mar 2008, 15:53
Your obviously a disgruntled St Pauls player and champ i can tell you personally their is nothing better in footy than winning a flag.You blokes should stop sooking win a flag and experience what it's like.I have been lucky enough to play in 2 and sure we had mercenaries just like City did last year,but we wouldn't have won 1 without them.
On another issue the following players would all be paid so St Pauls aren't that far behind City.
James,Barnes,Sziller,Best,Rogerson,McIntyre,Cooke,Prew,O'Rei lly,Mackenzie,Shaw,Artz,Ridgeway and Calabrese.
Spot on comment, its not only what you spend its who you recruit. The biggest myth is you win flags easily, let me tell you it takes as massive amount of phone calls ,meetings etc etc to be in a position to win it, there is no substitute for hardwork, all the players mentioned would be paid,also you left out Dessent. James & Barnes would be big coin on $700 plus at previous clubs?
one_glove
3 Mar 2008, 06:35
Spot on comment, its not only what you spend its who you recruit. The biggest myth is you win flags easily, let me tell you it takes as massive amount of phone calls ,meetings etc etc to be in a position to win it, there is no substitute for hardwork, all the players mentioned would be paid,also you left out Dessent. James & Barnes would be big coin on $700 plus at previous clubs?
just quoting this for referencing sake. LOL
cuttingedge
3 Mar 2008, 07:40
just quoting this for referencing sake. LOL
Glad you liked it!:):):)
Brightspark
6 Mar 2008, 16:45
Cutting Chelsea could be your main danger this year with Roberts from Frankston on board.He will bring a couple along as will Greg Walker from Keysy if the rumour mill is true.
cuttingedge
7 Mar 2008, 09:28
Cutting Chelsea could be your main danger this year with Roberts from Frankston on board.He will bring a couple along as will Greg Walker from Keysy if the rumour mill is true.
Will be a very even top 6 I think, injuries will play a big role on who finishes 1 - 6
superfreak
7 Mar 2008, 10:02
cuttingedge, can you fill us in on this transfer....didnt the vampires want to clear him to you blokes? seems like he then got a clearance to another club then they cleared him to his destination of preference.
Davis, Dean from East Brighton to Northcote Park 26/02/08
Davis, Dean from Northcote Park to St Kilda City 28/02/08
Any other clubs done this before??
Brightspark
7 Mar 2008, 10:19
cuttingedge, can you fill us in on this transfer....didnt the vampires want to clear him to you blokes? seems like he then got a clearance to another club then they cleared him to his destination of preference.
Davis, Dean from East Brighton to Northcote Park 26/02/08
Davis, Dean from Northcote Park to St Kilda City 28/02/08
Any other clubs done this before??
Super Dean did a pre season last year with Northcote Park and then didn't play so maybe the paperwork was mixed up but definately got his first clearance last year.
goblues2008
24 Mar 2008, 11:05
interesting to know that....strong comp (and n.p have been strong for many years).....i will have to email my cousin (played there all his life) and find out how he goes...??
What happened with the tunners? wasnt he training there?
Had an interesting convo with my cousin before heading o-s (first time i have really had a chance to ask him about alan henry)...
convo went a little like this.....
me: 'Played with Henry a few years ago...he came to us after he left u guys....he ruined the joint!
cousin 'oh that peanut...what about his missus...does she wear the pants or what?'
heard another rumour (not a rumour, definite!) that heatherton have picked up brent williams from noble park....thats a huge signing!!.....if he takes it half serious...he will kick 120+......
i reckon they will win it in 2008....havent had the luxury of seeing the whole team...but its looking good at ross st.
i hope they win it anyway.....and even more important is to keep a strong group together so they can remain competitive if they do get promoted. Not sure if Brent will be the best signing for that purpose....but early days yet...havent heard much about it....and not sure of his intentions for dropping down a few levels.....he will be very good though for the tunners in 08. :thumbsu: