View Full Version : Adelaide probably the only place in the world without a genuine newspaper

Campbell's Chunky
30 Nov 2007, 10:22
Our 'newspaper' is just a tabloid farce.

Although this isn't tabloid, they treat us like 1 year olds. I highly advise anyone with half a braincell to invest in The Australian, if you haven't already done so.

http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/8443/advertiser1mr4.jpg

I read the paragraph in question, then matched it with the picture. Surely a mobile phone battery didn't cause that much of an explosion.

So I checked Google images under the very secretive search 'explosion'.

http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/5372/advertiser2fx7.jpg

Journalistic credibility at it's very best.

Post your examples of The Addy treating us like 1 yr olds.

crow87
30 Nov 2007, 11:34
Yes the Advertiser is shocking, and that post above gave me a laugh but unfortunately The Australian is not much better than the Addy. IMO the only decent paper is The Age, obviously they dont really report on too many local issues but the quality is miles better, plus you dont get Liberal propoganda shoved down your throat.
Uh, another example of The Advertiser treating us like 1 year olds you say? How about any reporting on Australian Idol as above, or any reality TV show for that matter.

Vic Crow
30 Nov 2007, 11:49
The combination of those two pictures and your text in between has me in an uncontrollable fit of laughter.

Are they serious?

MrsWelsh
30 Nov 2007, 12:57
Hey I used to work for the Advertiser........and yes they are laughing at us! And they treat their workers like shit too, So now I wipe my ass with it!

NikkiNoo
30 Nov 2007, 12:58
Ahh the quality that is the Crapertiser. I think we could also hear stories of a similar nature from most WA people about the 'Worst Australian'.

Any Murdoch paper pretty much turns into a tabloid. An example of this is Frank Rich, the so-called 'butcher of broadway' who was one of the top theatre critics at the New York Post prior to it being taken over by Murdoch. Once it was taken over he was told that his reviews need to take into account the views of the advertisers of the Post! He quickly resigned and now writes for the Times.

Just shows you what a Murdoch paper is really interested in, keeping their advertisers happy and not really caring about journalistic integrity.

Stevie_Crow
30 Nov 2007, 17:07
When i lived in SA, and as i will be doing that again in 2 weeks time, It was Herald Sun all the way for footy

crowtricolours
30 Nov 2007, 19:39
The Adertiser is crap, haven't purchased one in 4 months now. Seems like a few others are doing the same. Rucci factor?

References :-

Ray Morgan Research

Readership of metropolitan and national dailies June 2006- June 2007 (000s)

2007 2006

The Adelaide Advertiser 542 573

The Adelaide Advertiser(sat) 691 734

The Sunday Mail (SA) 739 790

-------------------------------------------------

Print sales down ( july-august-sept )
Friday, 16 November 2007
Danielle Kirk

NATIONAL newspapers have delivered above-average sales growth in the first directly comparable Audit Bureau of Circulation figures.

In the three months to September 30 2007, The Advertiser in Adelaide did the worst, slipping 6%.

------------------------------------------------

Ups and downs for the press

Jane Schulze | November 16, 2007

ref :three months to September 2007

Weekday sales of Adelaide's Advertiser fell 0.9 per cent to 188,936.

------------------------------------------------

BockPorplyziaFC
30 Nov 2007, 19:46
I had a subscription and with the general quality it very quicky got down to scanning it mondays and fridays and with all the Rucci crap it wasnt long to the subscription was cancelled.

Usually have a bit of a look at the website when Im bored but generally its the Herald Sun for sport and The Australian for me.

maccas_no1
30 Nov 2007, 19:51
I'd sooner read the Whyalla News than the Adelaide Advertiser.

- PC -
30 Nov 2007, 20:07
I buy it for the habit

Yes the West Australian is very similar, but I have noticed the Advertiser is like the Border Watch, only bigger ie Man breaks into car..now in Mt Gambier this used to be big news, but for a paper catering to 1 million people it should be reported in the crime stats

But yep I will be walking to the servo tomorrow am and buy the Saturday Brick

Mad Dog
30 Nov 2007, 22:57
would you subscribe to anything that would employ a whining Ferretheaded fool as a Chief Football writer ??

...seriously......:rolleyes:

...Hello - my name is Mad Dog - and I haven't bought an Advertiser in 3 and a half years.....

:)

KingsCrow
4 Dec 2007, 19:48
It would be cool if a daily newspaper were to open up in Adelaide and challenge The Advertiser. I think the new paper would win. Actually write about real things, cut the crap and have a good sports section, not one sourced from about 20 different papers.

brucetiki
10 Dec 2007, 19:37
If only something like 'The Independent Weekly' could expand to a daily format and get more exposure.

KingsCrow
11 Dec 2007, 19:01
Read some thing about the Adelaide City Council in the Independent and it was a load of rubbish.

crowtricolours
11 Dec 2007, 20:03
A few more examples of the Advertisers integrity -

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1602025.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s2074081.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1708829.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1369668.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1437610.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1607576.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1590633.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/200502_s2.htm

http://www.abc.net.au/mediawatch/transcripts/s1237203.htm