View Full Version : My Music!!

Marissa16
28 Jun 2002, 21:22
Well right at this very minute I am listening to 'Is this the Part' by One Dollar Short!! So I will say my music is Punk music I like alot of stuff! I love Grinspoon and One dollar short! I also like Sum41! But then I also like Papa Roach and Linkin Park!! I like a little Eminem at times!! So yeah! Punk is my music!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Love Marissa
xxxx

Richmondfan#1
28 Jun 2002, 21:42
And I'm guessing your punctuation mark is '!'.

Marissa16
29 Jun 2002, 16:21
Shut up I always get picked on for that!!

Grimace
2 Jul 2002, 01:25
ODS...the guy with all the piercings in his face? i heard their stuff...but not really my kind of music.

Sum 41 sh|t me up the wall!

:)

PeteLX
3 Jul 2002, 09:08
Originally posted by Marissa16
Well right at this very minute I am listening to 'Is this the Part' by One Dollar Short!! So I will say my music is Punk music I like alot of stuff! I love Grinspoon and One dollar short! I also like Sum41! But then I also like Papa Roach and Linkin Park!! I like a little Eminem at times!! So yeah! Punk is my music!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Love Marissa
xxxx

Do ya like real punk? Like from the 70's and 80's? You like Radio Birdman, Clash, Pistols, Stooges (not quite punk but similar)?

Rusty Brookes
3 Jul 2002, 09:28
Originally posted by PeteLX

Do ya like real punk? Like from the 70's and 80's? You like Radio Birdman, Clash, Pistols, Stooges (not quite punk but similar)?

You're talking my language here PeteLX but I think most kids wouldn't have an idea who these bands are these days. There are some great bands around now who play in the same tradition as these bands (off the top of my head, the Powder Monkeys, the Lazy Cowgirls, Soundtrack of Our Lives,etc) but they aren't considered punk rock! Meanwhile a heap of bands who have no connection with the 70s stuff (which stretches back to the mid 60s anyway with the MC5, the Sonics, ? and the Mysterions, and the like) are considered punk.

I'm just obviously an old fart who doesn't get these young kids!

PeteLX
3 Jul 2002, 09:35
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes

You're talking my language here PeteLX but I think most kids wouldn't have an idea who these bands are these days. There are some great bands around now who play in the same tradition as these bands (off the top of my head, the Powder Monkeys, the Lazy Cowgirls, Soundtrack of Our Lives,etc) but they aren't considered punk rock! Meanwhile a heap of bands who have no connection with the 70s stuff (which stretches back to the mid 60s anyway with the MC5, the Sonics, ? and the Mysterions, and the like) are considered punk.

I'm just obviously an old fart who doesn't get these young kids!

Lurve the MC5. I'm not exactly an old fart though, I'm only 24. It's a real shame the kids these days don't get into the original stuff and assume the Limp Bizkit shif they listen to is punk. Do they even understand the whole concept of punk? Send em off to see 'The Filth and The Fury'. And gob on them. :D

Rusty Brookes
3 Jul 2002, 09:47

Lurve the MC5. I'm not exactly an old fart though, I'm only 24. It's a real shame the kids these days don't get into the original stuff and assume the Limp Bizkit shif they listen to is punk. Do they even understand the whole concept of punk? Send em off to see 'The Filth and The Fury'. And gob on them. :D

I'm not exactly geriatric yet (29) either! Just feel that way sometimes! I suppose when I got into music in the mid 80s, albums by the MC5 and the Stooges were actually very hard to find. I got into Radio Birdman after seeing them on Rage. I didn't realise it was punk or high energy, I just loved the songs. I bought their records and read a few articles about them. I started trying to find records by their contempories (the Saints, the Ramones) and the bands which they were influenced by (MC5, Blue Oyster Cult, New York Dolls, Alice Cooper). I think in those days you really had to search for punk/high energy stuff whereas these days it is neatly packaged and played on commercial radio.

BTW Pete, do you live in Melbourne and if you do, which bands do you like to go see?

Shinboners
3 Jul 2002, 09:49

Do they even understand the whole concept of punk?

Y'know, I saw this coffee table book about punk at Readings last month. Hardcover, some very glossy pictures, selling for about $120....what was it about flogging dead horses?

Send em off to see 'The Filth and The Fury'. And gob on them. :D

A great film.

I still don't understand why anyone would listen to Green Day or Blink 1-8-2 when they could listen to the Buzzcocks.

PeteLX
3 Jul 2002, 09:58

BTW Pete, do you live in Melbourne and if you do, which bands do you like to go see?

Yep, live in Melbourne. Best city in the World! (at least for live music, anyway)

Um, a pretty broad range of bands actually. Saw Ash Grunwald at the Espy on Sunday night. Like Rocket Science, Fez Perez, Dan Brodie and the Broken Arrows, but see a lot of touring bands too.

Next one I'm looking forward to is Pacifier (Shihad) playing the .... wait for it ... ESSENDON GRAND! Ha! I live just near there, but have only been once. That was enough. But with Shihad (f*ck the new name) playing there, I think it just may rock.

Hey, did you hear that Frenzal Rhomb have changed their name to Shihad? Heard it on RRR this morning....not sure if its true, but it's funny!! :D

Rusty Brookes
3 Jul 2002, 10:01
Originally posted by Shinboners

Y'know, I saw this coffee table book about punk at Readings last month. Hardcover, some very glossy pictures, selling for about $120....what was it about flogging dead horses?

I still don't understand why anyone would listen to Green Day or Blink 1-8-2 when they could listen to the Buzzcocks.

Punk Coffee Table Book! Hahaha -Ever feel you've been cheated?

Shinners, 100% behind you on the Buzzcocks call. Ever Fallin' in Love is one my favourite Brit-punk songs.

Rusty Brookes
3 Jul 2002, 10:08
Pete,

I've known the guys from Rocket Science for years (I used to see a lot of their bands pre RS-the Freeloaders, the Martians, Megalong Valley). Fez Perez are pretty good although I prefer the Exotics and Intoxica who play in a similar vein. For my country blues fix, I used to religiously see the Paramount Trio (most times clad in footy jumper as they played late Saturday afternoon).

These days I'm pretty lazy in regards to going to shows. I've really been digging Hoss again lately and Dung (Ross Knight from the Cosmic Psychos band). I play bass in a band called Naked Eye so obviously I reckon Naked Eye are pretty good! As for touring bands, I saw Birdman (who were great IMHO) and I am absolutely hanging to see the Dictators when they play in August.

PeteLX
3 Jul 2002, 10:33
Pete,

I've known the guys from Rocket Science for years (I used to see a lot of their bands pre RS-the Freeloaders, the Martians, Megalong Valley). Fez Perez are pretty good although I prefer the Exotics and Intoxica who play in a similar vein. For my country blues fix, I used to religiously see the Paramount Trio (most times clad in footy jumper as they played late Saturday afternoon).

These days I'm pretty lazy in regards to going to shows. I've really been digging Hoss again lately and Dung (Ross Knight from the Cosmic Psychos band). I play bass in a band called Naked Eye so obviously I reckon Naked Eye are pretty good! As for touring bands, I saw Birdman (who were great IMHO) and I am absolutely hanging to see the Dictators when they play in August.

Boooo! I wish I got to see Birdman. Just recently got into them, and the reviews of the shows (especially the Melbourne gigs) sounded awesome. Ah well.

Oh, another band I like is The Gamma Rays. Saw them playing on a verandah in a side street during the last St Kilda fest. Very cool!

Where does Naked Eye play? Might have to check y'all out!

Santos L Helper
3 Jul 2002, 12:22
Originally posted by Marissa16
Love Marissa
xxxx

I'm back!! I say to you, that you wouldnt know a punk band if they held you down and gobbed all over you! (sorry to repeat myself)
'One Dollar Short' gimme a ****in break.

To Pete, Shinners and Rusty, we could also say that the 'Rolling Stones' had punk leanings in attitude in their early days too. For mine though, punk reached it's greatest heights and purest form in the early 80's in America. This is where the true DIY attitude, thousands of bands and minor labels came to the fore. Fashion took a step back and the music was played with real passion.
It was around the middle 80's where the big labels jumped aboard and started killing punk off.

just my 2c

Darky
3 Jul 2002, 12:45
Rusty, I do believe you owe me a Dictators thread...

happy_in_hell
3 Jul 2002, 12:47

Hey, did you hear that Frenzal Rhomb have changed their name to Shihad? Heard it on RRR this morning....not sure if its true, but it's funny!! :D

Yeah, i think they are just taking the p*ss, b/c they also told undercover news that they told the Yanks their new name was going to be diaper, but they were told that meant nappy in America (duh) so i think they are taking the p*ss an telling the Yank record labels to stop effing around with bands. The only reason Shihad changed their name was b/c it sounded too much like Jihad.

Make sense?

Rusty Brookes
3 Jul 2002, 13:04
Never fear Darky,

Once I've got the dates and venues (it sounds like they will spend a whole week in Melbourne) I'll start a thread on the Dictators impending tour.

Richmondfan#1
3 Jul 2002, 22:15
How could you like Grinners and Linkin Park? Linkin Park are gay nu-metal.

pedrothelioness
3 Jul 2002, 22:18
Aww I love dan brodie, not only for his musical abilities! sexy boy! I've been waiting for him to play in melbourne for about 6 months now, i met him at 161 bar and fell a little in lust with him, and he plays 3 weeks after i move to brisbane! grrrrr. not happy.

pedrothelioness
3 Jul 2002, 22:22
I love the exotics, i just dont like where they play, I turned up to the greyhound a few weeks back to see them with a girlfriend and it was bikie central.
Rusty did you catch d4? Im not a fan of radio birdman but wanted to go to the gig cause of them, got quite a bit of they're stuff. very rockin indeed.
As are the fred band, sixfoothick, mustang,maydays, a new band that i saw at the north melbourne town hall the weekend before i left BLACKLIST! AWESOME awesome, band, very much like my 2nd fav band in the world, murder city devils, minus the girl and keyboards. Gotta check them out, they rule.
The drummer works at international trash on swan st, a great place to buy dirty rock and roll and sniff, just around the road from my old home :(

Rusty Brookes
4 Jul 2002, 09:09
pedrothelioness,

I play bass in the Casanovas and we supported D4 on their first tour. Pretty cool band: they do heaps of covers of some of my fave bands (Johnny Thunders, the Dogs, the Haunted).

Once again, the Casanovas headlined with Blacklist, although I had to watch them from outside in the alley as the room was too packed. They reminded me a bit of the New Bomb Turks.

International Trash is a pretty cool shop and a good label to boot. Shame you are moving back up north but at least there is a footy team there now!

pedrothelioness
4 Jul 2002, 10:01
I was at that casanovas gig, I was standing up on the chairs infront but had to leave cause i had a serial smoker beside me, i didnt really wanna make an ungraceful exit by landing on everyone flat first. I had seen you guys play at the duke of windsore rock wars i think, but liked you guys better the second time i saw you. Your singer has some definate rock moves happenin.

hawkfan5
4 Jul 2002, 10:41
Sex pistols are brilliant.

First time I listened to their music I thought it was terrific.

GhostofJimJess
4 Jul 2002, 23:36
Rusty and Pete ... just caught up on your series of posts over the last few days and must say that it has been music to my eyes. I may as well be reading off the album covers in my vinyl/CD collection when ticking off the great outfits you've been mentioning.

I was so disappointed to have missed the Birdman a few weeks back - there will never be a time where I don't want to see those guys in action. I would still rate their show with Wayne Kramer and the mighty Powdermonkeys at the Palace as one my three or four favorite gigs of the 90's, up there with Janes Addiction, Soundgarden and Nirvana. And by hell I saw a few in the 90's !!!

Anyway, I'm not exactly sure what I wanted to tell you in this post except ... er... well done.