View Full Version : Mastens OP

SS_Fury
1 Dec 2007, 12:19
Just heard on the radio that Masten's OP is giving him trouble and he is going in for more scans tomorrow...aaaaak:(...hope he can sort it out because the way they talked about it was as if it was causing him a lot of grief.

Willow_2000
1 Dec 2007, 12:27
Bugger. That sucks of us. Im not to sure how long it takes to over come OP, i think it just depends on the player but hopefully he can get it right and at least play half of the 08 season.

chrsco
1 Dec 2007, 12:31
I'm sure the Eagles had a plan for the OP when they drafted him and if it's going to be better not playing him next year, then they won't. Not many draftees play a lot in the first year, Chris Judd is an anomaly there, so give the kid time. One thing is for certain, the club will no how to deal with the problem so don't get too despondent about it.

Eagle Ant
1 Dec 2007, 13:18
Just heard on the radio that Masten's OP is giving him trouble and he is going in for more scans tomorrow...aaaaak:(...hope he can sort it out because the way they talked about it was as if it was causing him a lot of grief.
Most rookies are lucky to get 5 games in there first year and I expect he wont play footy in total till around round 10 and that will be in the WAFL then if all is good after about 5 weeks he may get a chance to show what hes made of in the later part of the year. Woosha is known for making the kids do their apprentaship in the WAFL first and slowly indroduce then to the pace of the AFL 1 step at a time so if any of this seasons rookie get a long stint in the top side its because 1) they are somthing special aka JUDD or 2) we get crippled by injuries to a lot of midfielders. we still have so many options before we really look at the rookies example. (* is possible midfielders.)
F/B) B.Waters D. Glass B. Jones
H/B) A. Selwood* A. Hunter S. Hurn*
C) A. Embley* M. Priddis* M. Rosa*
H/F) T.Stenglien* A. Hanson M. Brown*
F/F) D.Wirrapanda* Q. Lynch M. Lecras*
RK) D. Cox D. Kerr* M. Braun*

Int) M.Seaby B. Staker* S. Butler* C. Fletcher*

Injury replacements for Midfield= C.Masten* B. Ebert* S. Selwood* J. McNamara* M. Nicoski* T. houlinhan*
S. Armstrong*

BACKS= J. Graham, M. Spangher, W. Schofield, J. Thomson, M. Nicoski, B. Ebert, S. Selwood, B. McKinley,
E. Mckenzie, Q. Lynch, C. Jones.

FORWARDS= J.Kennedy, C. Jones, M. Spangher, T. Notte, E. Mckenzie, B. McKinley, B. Ebert, J. Graham,
S. Armstrong, S.Hurn, M. Nicoski, A. Hunter, T. Houlihan.

So as you see it might be a little hard for Rookies to get a spot this year.

Happy Hunting

West Coast 06
1 Dec 2007, 13:29
In the West today Masten is quoted as saying it hasn't been bad lately, although he hasn't been running for two months. Said the work load he had last season likely contributed to it but didn't seem to be concerned about it from the quotes they printed.:confused:

huggy_b
1 Dec 2007, 14:48
Bugger. That sucks of us. Im not to sure how long it takes to over come OP, i think it just depends on the player but hopefully he can get it right and at least play half of the 08 season.

Look at Luke Ball - he has been playing with OP for basically his whole career. Very definitely depends on the player...

TOA.
1 Dec 2007, 17:02
Look at Luke Ball - he has been playing with OP for basically his whole career. Very definitely depends on the player...

Ball certainly has/had it bad.

We have had quite afew blokes with it but they dont seem hampered by it now (Hurn, Waters, Brown etc).

Tbh, I'm not sure the Saints handled Ball well afew years ago and unfortunatley he's paying for it now.

Willow_2000
1 Dec 2007, 17:41
As long as it doesnt affect Mastens long term career i dont care how they handle it. If that means not playing a senior game next year then so be it. I would rather have short term pain of him not playing for the long term gain of a brilliant career.

Davester
2 Dec 2007, 13:17
What have the eagles done about the conditioning staff cause we had major problems last year in that area eg soft tissue injuries. I don't have strong confidence that they can manage Masten if its the same ppl

Missing Doogs
2 Dec 2007, 21:31
Ball certainly has/had it bad.

We have had quite afew blokes with it but they dont seem hampered by it now (Hurn, Waters, Brown etc).

Tbh, I'm not sure the Saints handled Ball well afew years ago and unfortunatley he's paying for it now.
When Luke Ball was drafted back in 2001, he was still in year 11 at Xavier College. He wanted to go to Adelaide for the Lord Tavner Cricket Cup but the Saints demanded he attend a pre season training camp lasting for 11 days. According to the coach of the Xavier 1sts at the time, at that camp they absolutely hammered Ball who was still only 17 and he has paid for it ever since.

Cuzz09
2 Dec 2007, 22:42
Mark my words...

Bookmark this......

Masten will win the 2012 Brownlow Medal.

He is fair dinkum a clone of Bartel and Simon Black :thumbsu:

I already LOVE this kid :p

Jimmy_the_Gent
2 Dec 2007, 23:16
Mark my words...

Bookmark this......

Masten will win the 2012 Brownlow Medal.

He is fair dinkum a clone of Bartel and Simon Black :thumbsu:

I already LOVE this kid :p

But then you've never been one for overstatement.

heals
2 Dec 2007, 23:26
Simalarities with Judd, Both drafted at 3, both have dodgy injuries groin/shoulder and both will have won a brownlow by 2010 and a premiership medal to boot.

shoe
3 Dec 2007, 09:28
But then you've never been one for overstatement.
Haha, good call :thumbsu:
I have faith in our medical staff, he'll get the best looking after available.

I wonder if our staff knew Juddy was about to leave, and so didn't mind that he might have been aggrevating his problem by continuing to play this year?

RhEF JC
3 Dec 2007, 11:06

I wonder if our staff knew Juddy was about to leave, and so didn't mind that he might have been aggrevating his problem by continuing to play this year?

you may have faith in the skill of the medical staff, but you don't seem to assume that they're very good in the ethics department.

Embers
3 Dec 2007, 11:17

So thats why Woosha was chasing Judd around Subi with a blunt axe. Oh it all makes sense now

Obeanie1
3 Dec 2007, 12:48

Its a funny point this, did our staff know.:confused:

Maybe we should ask the Eagle Eye staff who produced the September 2007 issue. If you compare it to other issues the September issue was almost TOTALLY DEVOID of JUDD photo's and articles. His photo was on the SGIO ad on the back page and a very small group photo, that was it.

The front page was all about The Return of the Prodical Son - Cuz.

Concidering Judd was the squeaky clean pin up boy they didn't use him much at all in the September edition.:cool:

Isandula
3 Dec 2007, 21:36
I feel for the poor guy, I've had it for like 5 years now (f***in stupid doctors couldn't pick it up :thumbsd: :rolleyes:). Not fun no :mad: but I have done nothing to fix it mind you, dont really need too, just learnt to live with it, usually not bad occasionally flares up (lots of twisting and turning and walking does the job) and I have the art of walking like a crap when it does down to a fine art :)

ep2006
3 Dec 2007, 23:19
I knew we should have picked up Cale Morton instead. :mad:

greennick
4 Dec 2007, 10:14
Cale Morton may be better, but could you imagine if we had another issue with a Morton and ended up trading him for a lot less than pick 3 in a later draft? Besides, people on here have been saying the Eagles had an issue with the father always sticking his nose in. That issue doesn't really change with Cale.

chrsco
4 Dec 2007, 10:51
I'm not convinced Cale is going to be what everyone thinks he's going to be. Saw enough of him at Colts last year, especially against good opposition :D, to have big question marks about him being as good as many reckon.

Willow_2000
4 Dec 2007, 12:43
After having Mitch at the club iv learnt to hate the Mortons, im so glad we didnt get him.

jesterwester
4 Dec 2007, 13:26
I think you guys are getting a little bit carried away here in the 'short term' side of things.
Masten will be a 200-350 game for West Coast, maybe won't set the world alight in his first year like other top ten guys such as palmer, cotchin, Kruezer and Morton, but i will say that he won't get the second year blues like the 4 named above will.
The hardest thing to bear will be if Palmer won the rising star.
Imagine the freo fans.. :eek:
Oh well he becomes an eagles reject now... :p

shoe
5 Dec 2007, 13:00
you may have faith in the skill of the medical staff, but you don't seem to assume that they're very good in the ethics department.
The question was meant cynically. Even if the staff did know, i sincerely doubt they'd try to 'ruin' a player so that he'd be not as good for his next team.
Plus, it was Juddy that was insisting on playing, he wasn't forced or anything.

Still, I wonder if the staff knew?

Keyser Soze
6 Dec 2007, 01:16
The question was meant cynically. Even if the staff did know, i sincerely doubt they'd try to 'ruin' a player so that he'd be not as good for his next team.
Plus, it was Juddy that was insisting on playing, he wasn't forced or anything.

Still, I wonder if the staff knew?

I doubt very much that they knew.

I think Judd knew, Twigley knew and Paul Connors knew.

Probably Judd's parents and Yoko's parents knew as well, but not many more than that.

Greg Swan at Carlton was probably aware it was likely thanks to Connors.

Beyond that I doubt anyone else really had much of an idea.

Almost certainly, no one at West Coast had any idea. No one.

boms
6 Dec 2007, 01:24
:rolleyes: ive watched both play a bit, i would rate masten much higher then Morton.. Masten will play 200-250 games for your footy club. Maybe not win brownlows and stuff but be a very consistent player

I was hoping he would slip to pick 6 but im very happy with Myers anyways

NiGHTFuRY
6 Dec 2007, 21:24
I think you guys are getting a little bit carried away here in the 'short term' side of things.
Masten will be a 200-350 game for West Coast, maybe won't set the world alight in his first year like other top ten guys such as palmer, cotchin, Kruezer and Morton, but i will say that he won't get the second year blues like the 4 named above will.
The hardest thing to bear will be if Palmer won the rising star.
Imagine the freo fans.. :eek:
Oh well he becomes an eagles reject now... :p

:D;):thumbsu:

chrsco
7 Dec 2007, 22:53
:rolleyes: ive watched both play a bit, i would rate masten much higher then Morton.. Masten will play 200-250 games for your footy club. Maybe not win brownlows and stuff but be a very consistent player

I hope you're right boms. I've seen more of Morton than Masten but as I've said before, against good, well disciplined teams he didn't excite me that much.