View Full Version : Gibbs + Murphy VS Deledio + Foley

Bachar_Houli
1 Dec 2007, 12:44
Which pair would u take.

BABYBOMBERS2007
1 Dec 2007, 21:54
I'd go with Deledio and Foley. Foley>>>Murphy>Deledio>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>the dud

HBK619
2 Dec 2007, 00:10
Nobody in this business needs to rely on potential when you can get output like that of Foley and Deledio, Lids is 4 months older than Murphy but already has one more year in the game, not only that Brett is a known goalkicking midfielder and for everyone saying he had an inconsistent year he did not reach 10 disposals in a game twice in 19 games, Marc Murphy once, pretty much the same.

Foley was easily in the top 15-20 midfielders this season and not only that got a nomination in the AA top 40, Foley is far better than Murphy.

Brett Deledio is better than Gibbs and as good as Gibbs might get he will be even or still better than him anyway.

adamania11
2 Dec 2007, 09:40
If it was Deledio and Tambling it would be a much tougher equation
But Deledio and Foley? They beat G+M by a mile!

Jono B
2 Dec 2007, 20:54
Foley would be best compared with Murphy as they are both short inside mids. Foley is faster but Murphy holds the edge in disposal. Foley is also 2 years older. Murphy just.

Deledio's first year was far better than Gibbs' first but he is stagnated since then and it would surprise me if Gibbs' doesn't eclipse Deledio's third year.
Gibbs just.

Murphy and Gibbs just.

Claude Balls
3 Dec 2007, 08:08
Due to Gibbs' disappointing first year, I will have to go for Deledio and Foley. Actually, I'd probably go for them even if Gibbs had impressed this year.

Monkeyboy
3 Dec 2007, 08:27
Good poll. Here we have Tigers only two bright sparks. They are great players, but they need to be when your support comes in the form of Richie Tambling, Cogs and battlers like King, Edwards and co.

The Carlton duo have them just covered. In future years this gulf may become quite big. Murphy is the stand out of the 4 at present. But it is Gibbs who will finally reach this peak. I bet they enjoy having Stevens, Walker, Simpson, Judd and co as support.:)

Flashhh
3 Dec 2007, 21:34
Murphy - 8/10 vs Deledio - 7/10
Gibbs - 4/10 Foley - 7/10

Richmond 14
Carlton 12

Jeremias
3 Dec 2007, 23:51
Murphy - 8/10 vs Deledio - 7/10
Gibbs - 4/10 Foley - 7/10

Richmond 14
Carlton 12

Gibbs 4/10? That's saying that his first year was a failure.

Not another moron :rolleyes:

marcmurphy3
4 Dec 2007, 01:05
Gibbs 4/10? That's saying that his first year was a failure.

Not another moron :rolleyes:

There are plenty on BF. I wonder how many Carlton matches some of these guys have seen anyway. People don't seem capable of forming there own opinion.

No Carlton supporter is diassapointed with Gibbs and anyone who has watched him properly will know that he is extremely capable of being a gun of the comp.

This poll is flawed for another another reason though. Deledio and Foley have had 7 years in the system combined vs Gibbs and Muphy's 3. You simply cannot compare that. You could do Murphy vs Deledio but Gibbs vs Foley isn't fair.

HBK619
4 Dec 2007, 07:05
There are plenty on BF. I wonder how many Carlton matches some of these guys have seen anyway. People don't seem capable of forming there own opinion.

No Carlton supporter is diassapointed with Gibbs and anyone who has watched him properly will know that he is extremely capable of being a gun of the comp.

This poll is flawed for another another reason though. Deledio and Foley have had 7 years in the system combined vs Gibbs and Muphy's 3. You simply cannot compare that. You could do Murphy vs Deledio but Gibbs vs Foley isn't fair.
And how is this different to Richard Tambling?

zacaxel1975
4 Dec 2007, 23:00
You could do Murphy vs Deledio but Gibbs vs Foley isn't fair.

Yeah, big bad rookie v's poor little #1 pick in the superdraft

Marc Shmurf 3
5 Dec 2007, 15:55
I'd go with Deledio and Foley. Foley>>>Murphy>Deledio>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>the dud

so who are we comparing Murphy & Gibbs to with your rabble???

HBK619
5 Dec 2007, 18:57
so who are we comparing Murphy & Gibbs to with your rabble???
English please.:confused:

Bazzar
5 Dec 2007, 19:05
Silly poll. Delideo, Foley and Murphy are guns, Squibs is just that. Is it true his nic is "Footsteps" ?

brettman135
5 Dec 2007, 19:09
murphy and gibbs are better than murpy and delidio. murphy and gibbs look very promising. Foley is a master clearance player and delidio has loads of talent but just seems like theirs a barrier there for him and so he struggles

HBK619
5 Dec 2007, 21:08
murphy and gibbs are better than murpy and delidio. murphy and gibbs look very promising. Foley is a master clearance player and delidio has loads of talent but just seems like theirs a barrier there for him and so he struggles
Fact is potential means shit all if you can't prove it.

Deledio at the same age as Gibbs had a brilliant first year and has been improving since, Gibbs was very average this year and unless he improves quickly will be nothing but an average player.

Bazzar
5 Dec 2007, 21:24
Gibbs you star:thumbsu:

bvXYAazPJnA

Bazzar
5 Dec 2007, 21:32
all class is Gibbsy;)

c2-HUEJ7Rcw

Monkeyboy
6 Dec 2007, 06:17
Funny Vids. But Gibbs will be the pick of the bunch. At present Murphy/Gibbs just, in a few years these two will be two of the finest young onballers we have ever seen and will leave Floey and his clearances and Deledio and his disappointments well behind.

parrot
6 Dec 2007, 10:15
Foley is a mid-range-talent try hard. Like his efforts, but will never be a star. Deledio can run fast in a straight line in open space, but struggles in tightly contested situations and his decision making under pressure, especially in the forward 50, is highly suspect. Murph and Gibbs are top-shelf talent. Gibbs is the best #1 pick we've seen in the past 25 years, and you'll see why in 2008. Just an extreme talent. :)

smiddaz123
6 Dec 2007, 10:18
Foley is a mid-range-talent try hard. Like his efforts, but will never be a star. Deledio can run fast in a straight line in open space, but struggles in tightly contested situations and his decision making under pressure, especially in the forward 50, is highly suspect. Murph and Gibbs are top-shelf talent. Gibbs is the best #1 pick we've seen in the past 25 years, and you'll see why in 2008. Just an extreme talent. :)
lol

beaver fever
6 Dec 2007, 11:52
Just an extreme load of shit.

Love The Game
6 Dec 2007, 12:52

Best #1 pick in 25 years, you just pwned yourself as having no clue about talent. :thumbsu:

Is your username parrot because you repeat nuff nuff comments from others. :confused:

Vote #1 Parrot for taking fan support to far. Clear your head and re-think that statement you made. :cool:

RichosGuns
6 Dec 2007, 13:11
Deledio and Foley are sooooo much better then Gibbs and Murphy at this stage it's not funny. However, in saying that Foley and Deledio are older and have more expirence.

You need to remmember that in 2008 Foley and Deledio will be copping the two best taggers from every team while Murphy and Gibbs will be protected by Stevens and Judd

blues4flag
6 Dec 2007, 13:37
Deledio and Foley are sooooo much better then Gibbs and Murphy at this stage it's not funny. However, in saying that Foley and Deledio are older and have more expirence.

You need to remmember that in 2008 Foley and Deledio will be copping the two best taggers from every team while Murphy and Gibbs will be protected by Stevens and Judd

You need to remember that as a second year player Murphy was copping the number one tag most weeks, and Gibbs was the second youngest player in the competition.

Seriously, I cannot believe the idiocy of some on these site. To say Gibbs is destined to be an average player at this stage of his career shows an utter lack of understanding of young talent entering the game. Gibbs first year was probably on a par with Pendles - who after his first year, very few would have had him near Murphy or Thomas. A year later and according to popular opinion on here, he's the pick of the bunch. Time and time the same posters prove their idiocy by writing of 17 and 18 year olds just starting out, and only to have it come back and bite them on the arse.

There is a reason why Gibbs was rated as the best number one pick in years. While his transition to AFL didn't live up the hype surrounding him, all that talent he displayed as a junior (and again at times this year - as hard as it might be for some to believe, his season extends beyond the Milne incident and the trip on the goal line) did not disappear over night.

parrot
6 Dec 2007, 14:05

lol. What you Richmond supporters need to understand, is that your list is pathetic compared to the rest of the competition, primarily because of several years of monumental list management gaffs by Miller. Your midfield just lacks quality - pure and simple. Foley had a good 2007, but is a footballer of average natural ability. These sort of players are useful, but what you badly need is top-shelf talent. Cotchin will hopefully be that player, that Deledio was hoped to be. Thought Deledio was quite ordinary in 2007. Lots of sooking, and Terry obliged my hiding him from midfield pressure either on the HB flank or in the forward llne. Thought that was a pretty pathetic statement. Tags and pressure are part of the game, and if he wants to take the next step, he needs to deal with it. Foley rarely had an opponent in 2007, and when the Weagles put one on him it was a complete and absolute shutdown you'll recall. I just don't understand the Tiges preoccupation with middle-of-the-roaders. For example, Miller traded away a top 2nd round pick, for a Bulldogs B-grader. Aren't you meant to be rebuilding? Why not start with and develop top-shelf talent, rather than waste draft picks on an older B-grader. The Tiges list management is a complete disaster. Your relocation to Cragieburn won't change that. Miller needs to be booted and booted fast. :)

Marc Shmurf 3
6 Dec 2007, 15:21
English please.:confused:

its ok... i wouldnt expect you to understand :confused:

Monkeyboy
6 Dec 2007, 16:23

Not only will they be protected by Judd and Stevens. They will have Walker and Grigg who will both be playing powerful midfielder roles in 08. Not to mention Carrazzo, Scotland and Simpson.

I guess this is why people are starting to wake up and fear the best onball division the league has potentially ever seen. Im sure Hammer Hampson and the Kreuzer Missile are going to enjoy the next decade!

HBK619
6 Dec 2007, 21:35
its ok... i wouldnt expect you to understand :confused:
No I can't, you see I speak English...Not Nuff Nuff.

HBK619
6 Dec 2007, 21:37
Did you not see that second video of Gibbs?

His decision making must be Tivendale like if Deledio's is suspect.:confused:

augie
7 Dec 2007, 09:18
Foley was a mile in front of all of them this year. Murphy and Delidio were about even, Delidio slightly ahead and Bryce was average.

It's funny when people (alright parrot isn't really a "person" and monkeyboy is a fool) say Foley has average talent. The most important talent for someone in his position is to get their hands on the footy first from a stoppage. He did that better than just about anyone this year. That is talent.

Coughlan
7 Dec 2007, 09:43
There are plenty on BF.

Yeah, Ive seen the Carlton board.

Deledio and Foley easily

jonesy86
7 Dec 2007, 09:56
on evidence so far Foley > Murphey >>>>> Gibbs = Deledio

Coughlan
7 Dec 2007, 09:58
on evidence so far Foley > Murphey >>>>> Gibbs = Deledio
Gibbs=Deledio.
The best form shown by any player on that list is from Deledio.

LOL, fool

darcytiger
7 Dec 2007, 10:23
Deledio dissapointing year to finish 5th in our B+F...

Murph and Deledio for the majority of the year were the main focous for opposition taggers, yes, this is a part of footy but young players such as these are not normally ready to break these tags. To break tags you need to be fast, strong and very smart.
This will come in time for both Lids and Murph and they will become premier players in the competition, I think they had about even years.

Everyone is getting a little bit exited about Foley and I don't think we will see him being as destructive as he was this year (please prove me wrong foles) becuase he will gain more attention from opposition coaches/players. He has only really had one good year and people think he is better than Jesus.

I spose I am not really in a very good position to judge Gibbs as I Havent seen him much but what I have seen hasnt really been as good as Murphy, Deledio's first year.

The Dice Man
7 Dec 2007, 10:48
HAha.. Those videos of Gibbs rival Richo's moments of hilarity:D

richcogs
7 Dec 2007, 14:45
Tigerdarcy what are you talking about mate? Foley had a couple of strong tags to the end of the season and was able to break them. He's bloody hard type of player to stop! And some of his this year were Judd like, imagine if he played for a better team.

parrot
7 Dec 2007, 15:34
Tigerdarcy what are you talking about mate? Foley had a couple of strong tags to the end of the season and was able to break them. He's bloody hard type of player to stop! And some of his this year were Judd like, imagine if he played for a better team.

He only had a tag in one game i.e. V Weagles. Result = complete and utter shutdown. Foley is a footballer of average natural ability, but with a big heart, who benefited from the under-the-radar effect. :)

makethat2
7 Dec 2007, 15:48
He only had a tag in one game i.e. V Weagles. Result = complete and utter shutdown. Foley is a footballer of average natural ability, but with a big heart, who benefited from the under-the-radar effect. :)
Reminds me of the same tagging job WCE put on Murphy in his first year. They let him play loose for 3/4 then when the games was to be one, they tagged him completely out of the game. Just shows it works both ways. Murph was tagged out when the game was up for grabs and so did Foley. Both gun players. At the moment Foley is better by a fair bit but murph will be the better player.

parrot
7 Dec 2007, 16:07
Reminds me of the same tagging job WCE put on Murphy in his first year. ...

lol. Think you've shot yourself in the foot with that example. Murph had only played a handful of games then, and the Weagles put their very best taggers on Murph from the opening bounce, and he cut the Weagles midfield to shreds. It was a spectacular effort. Gibbs and Murph are just extreme talents. We all know that of course. :)

benny_furs
7 Dec 2007, 16:53
Deledio ad Murphy are the most likely to develop into SUPERstars. Both have been getting tagged since their 2nd year and both are still getting their 15-20 possies as a teen.

Now both will be about 20yo and in another year or two they will be the cream of the crop.

Foley will stay where he is IMO, a top 20 midfielder of the competition specialising in clearances and 50m bursts with the ball.

Gibbs is harder to judge, just because he didn't show HEAPS as a young player doesn't mean he won't star when he hits his prime.

Exact same thing applies for Tambling btw.

parrot
7 Dec 2007, 17:53
Foley will stay where he is IMO, a top 20 midfielder of the competition ....

That made me laugh. Try top-50 to 70 at his very best. :)

makethat2
7 Dec 2007, 17:54
lol. Think you've shot yourself in the foot with that example. Murph had only played a handful of games then, and the Weagles put their very best taggers on Murph from the opening bounce, and he cut the Weagles midfield to shreds. It was a spectacular effort. Gibbs and Murph are just extreme talents. We all know that of course. :)
There wasn't a hard tag until the last 1/4. The first 3/4's was Stenglien doing his thing and Murph doing the same. Murph beat him no doubt but it wasn't until the last 1/4 was it a full tag and we all know Murph was beaten in the last quarter.

parrot
7 Dec 2007, 17:59
There wasn't a hard tag until ...

Watch the game again. Tag applied at the opening bounce and stayed with him until the final bell. lol. You're not having a good day are you. Hilarious stuff. :)

KING-JAMES
7 Dec 2007, 18:25
That made me laugh. Try top-50 to 70 at his very best. :)

Name them. The bloke is a gun. Your good for a laugh Parrot

makethat2
7 Dec 2007, 18:30
Watch the game again. Tag applied at the opening bounce and stayed with him until the final bell. lol. You're not having a good day are you. Hilarious stuff. :)
I watched the game as a nuetral supporter. I rate Murph as a gun so I'm not bagging him I'm just bringing your argument that Foley can get tagged out of games but yet Carlton supporters dive to Murph's defence with his below average games saying that he was tagged all year. Nothing wrong with being tagged out of a game early in your career.

The Dice Man
8 Dec 2007, 01:22

Well in Gibbs case, he certainly has an extreme talent to SQUIB.

But we all know that of course :)

QL 21
9 Dec 2007, 15:10
Deledio and Foley easily.

stifler's mom
12 Dec 2007, 19:39
Murphy and Deledio are about equal.

Foley>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Gibbs.

sante
13 Dec 2007, 22:48
What a landslide, give up parrot.

TheGeneral
10 Aug 2008, 22:45
The two with more class, talent, poise and football ability, Gibbs and Murphy.

Murphy baulking Peter Burgoyne on the wing and kicking long to Fev over the head over his opponent who had front position was pure class.

Foley was run down twice by Russell. :o

Gibbs is on another level altogether to Murphy, Foley and Deledio (in order).

murph#3
10 Aug 2008, 22:48
1.gibbs
2.daylight
3.deledio
4.murphy
5.daylight
6.foley

parrot
10 Aug 2008, 23:54
1. Gibbs - extreme, off-the-scale talent. Best #1 pick in draft history. Confirmed.

2. Murph - top-shelf talent. Future superstar

3. 120 light years

4. Deledio - can run fast in a straight-line over 100m, Licuria-like disposal effectiveness and hurt-factor. Has morphed into a standard HF-flanker type.

5. Foley - a little battler who is struggling now.

:)

Jason_K
11 Aug 2008, 00:06
Yeah Foley's been exposed now with more attention. Should chuck Cotchin in there instead to make it closer :)

parrot
11 Aug 2008, 00:28
Yeah Foley's been exposed now with more attention. ...

Yep, very obvious this year. It's been a complete shutdown and doesn't require a particularly heavy tag. Ratten showed Foley the ultimate disrespect and didn't even bother to put an opponent on him in the last quarter V Tiges. Stevens just did his own thing and delivered Foley the biggest pasting he has received in his career to date. I like Foley's attitude and determination, but he's not exactly talented, and at 23-24, is fair bit older than Gibbs and Murph. Closer to Judd's age group- 24. :)