View Full Version : What position would who play in?

Keyser Soze
2 Dec 2007, 01:21
With apologies to Issy, Em, WC06 and any other female posters I forgot to mention, most of us would have (or still do) played football at some level.

If in some parallel universe you were drafted by the Eagles what position would you have played in.

As a kid growing up, since I was always kinda small and also played in the age group above me for my club (we were often bereft of numbers) I spent a lot of time as a forward pocket.

Therefore I always fancied myself as a crumbing forward pocket - think a slow Phil Matera.

What position would you play?

Makka
2 Dec 2007, 03:32
When I used to play I was always a small forward. I remember in 1982 winning every game throughout the season and losing the grandfinal. I was the only multiple scorer on my team that day. I was priviledged to have repeated the same feat in 1997, by winning every game throughout the year but losing the grand final. That was my last game!

FiveStrings
2 Dec 2007, 09:42
I always fancied myself as a key defender. Was a ruckman in juniors but I'm only 6'3" so I'm not going to be able to play that at AFL level.

Mop
2 Dec 2007, 10:21
Well.. I'd probably be a small forward.
Being 5'11" and a half and not having heaps of speed, I'm not sure where else I'd play.
My kicking is very... unpredictable though. Sometimes I'll peg it exactly where I want, but sometimes.. eh.

I didn't play much AFL as a youngin', I played soccer for a while.

weagles_fan
2 Dec 2007, 12:08
Half back flanker probably. Good at reading the play and have quite a fast speed burst over 5 metres or so.

weagles_fan
2 Dec 2007, 12:09
When I used to play I was always a small forward. I remember in 1982 winning every game throughout the season and losing the grandfinal. I was the only multiple scorer on my team that day. I was priviledged to have repeated the same feat in 1997, by winning every game throughout the year but losing the grand final. That was my last game!http://www.vivisect.org/choke/choke_full.gif

A Living God
2 Dec 2007, 16:09
Close checking defender or tagger, if a was taller I would be fullback.

A Living God
2 Dec 2007, 16:10
http://www.vivisect.org/choke/choke_full.gif
I would prefer to play in two losing Grand Finals then play 200+ games without making a final :(

tonywce23
2 Dec 2007, 16:19
A creative hard-running defender, or a midfielder who can be used in an attacking run with role

Isandula
2 Dec 2007, 17:51
At school they had a women's footy team but jeez they were crap, I played the dashing midfielder type that had a little bit of a temper, I'd say the Kerr of women's football just couldn't help myself at times :( :D

They were so crap that I much preferred to play with the guys, most if not all the chics were as soft as butter and fell to easily, made me look badder that it should have :thumbsd: and no I'm no butch, far from it I'd say a Tony Notte type of build but hey it doesn't stop me been as rough as nails or throwing my weight around:D (considering some of these chics were like twice the size of me :rolleyes:)

I was thinking of having a sex change and getting drafted as a midfielder for the Eagles, sounds enticingly good :)

placebo
2 Dec 2007, 18:05
Half-Back.
I played most of my junior footy there and used to create some good run off half-back.

FiveStrings
2 Dec 2007, 23:51
I was thinking of having a sex change and getting drafted as a midfielder for the Eagles, sounds enticingly good :)

They already went down that road with McDougall, it didn't really work out:p

Keyser Soze
3 Dec 2007, 00:42

Hahahaha:)

I reckon Issy sounds tougher than Doogs already anyway.

She would've been harder at it than Mitch Morton too from the sounds of it.:thumbsu:

wce_all_da_way
3 Dec 2007, 01:24
Centre Half Back or Full Back, that's where I've played pretty much all my footy bar the first few years when I was a wingman.

daddy_4_eyes
3 Dec 2007, 06:57
I still play footy for my local club and usually play in defence. At 6' I'm a short arse by AFL standards, but often one of the taller blokes at suburban level. So I often play FB, and recently I've had stints at CHB as I've put on a fair bit of muscle in the last 12 months.

I even had a stint in the ruck in one game this year, as our ruckman went down with injury and I was the next tallest who wasn't so fat he couldn't jump :D It was only for 15mins in the last qtr, so it wasn't too bad.

So if I were drafted to an AFL club, probably end up playing back pocket :( Most boring position on the footy field.

hawk-boy
3 Dec 2007, 06:57
im 16 and im about 6ft3 so i play mainly at CHF or FF, with stints in the ruck

but being to small for ruck in the afl i would like to be a CHF

sydney eagle
3 Dec 2007, 07:38
I've never played Aussie Rules. I was always too light for Rugby League and I don't even know who my local Rules team would be (possibly Western Suburbs). When I was young there was NO penetration of Rules into high schools; the choices were Rugby Union or soccer and as I dislike the first choice and wasn't "ethnic" enough for the second I didn't play anything. My father however played both Rugby League and Aussie Rules in Wagga many years ago.

larrikin
3 Dec 2007, 07:48
An unaccountable glory hog of a HFF.

Think Brett Heady with less heart and skill.

sydney eagle
3 Dec 2007, 07:54
An unaccountable glory hog of a HFF.

Think Brett Heady with less heart and skill. You mean Mitch Morton ?:p

wce4premiership
3 Dec 2007, 08:07
I've always played like cousins, so midfield would be me.

bzparkes
3 Dec 2007, 08:20
Played on the HFF.

Isandula
3 Dec 2007, 08:26

Hey Im better than McDudall :mad: :D

FiveStrings
3 Dec 2007, 13:40
Hey Im better than McDudall :mad: :D

Hehe I wasn't implying that you weren't;)

But the team is unlikely to take that chance anyway - once bitten twice shy...

Isandula
3 Dec 2007, 14:54
Hehe I wasn't implying that you weren't;)

But the team is unlikely to take that chance anyway - once bitten twice shy...

They will never know cause I would look very 'manly' ;)

I could always use my fantastic, superb, rare talent hypnotic skills (the best in the business) and make them do what ever I wont, now that sounds very good to me :thumbsu:

Mop
3 Dec 2007, 23:21
They will never know cause I would look very 'manly' ;)

I could always use my fantastic, superb, rare talent hypnotic skills (the best in the business) and make them do what ever I wont, now that sounds very good to me :thumbsu:
.. does that consist of you flashing your set at the scouts?

ashley12
4 Dec 2007, 01:24
I always seemed to play in the backline as either a pocket or fullback.

Started from under 10's and went through until 15's when i was forced into retirement (2 clubs merged and I was one of the fringe players:p).

Didnt matter whether it was for a school team, club or even when we played 3 on 3 in the neighbourhood park, I was always in defence. In my two games I played forward I scored 2 goals 1 and 4 goals straight as a forward pocket/2nd ruck rover.

Was looking forward to playing fantasy footy somewhere other then the last line of defense and... yeah

Isandula
4 Dec 2007, 08:52
.. does that consist of you flashing your set at the scouts?

Hahaha NO!!! You see I dont have to go such ****ty low levels ever, when I speak everyone listens because I'm just that good with an aurora that draws people in to hear what I the mighty one has to say, and anyway they would be too afraid to not as I'm the master at Kung Fu you see ;)

Magnum27
5 Dec 2007, 05:28
I played all my junior footy in the backline, mostly CHB or FB. I was playing my 100th game and asked the coach if i could have a run on the ball for once, well that lasted a quarter, i spent the whole quarter as a ruck rover playing a loose man in the backline. Forgot to go foward( old habits die hard), straight back to the half back line for me, and never left.

QL 21
5 Dec 2007, 09:41
Think Staker with less skill, speed, poise and more brain fades.

... So, who wants me on their team?

.. Anyone?

Lach72
5 Dec 2007, 20:45
With apologies to Issy, Em, WC06 and any other female posters I forgot to mention, most of us would have (or still do) played football at some level.

If in some parallel universe you were drafted by the Eagles what position would you have played in.

As a kid growing up, since I was always kinda small and also played in the age group above me for my club (we were often bereft of numbers) I spent a lot of time as a forward pocket.

Therefore I always fancied myself as a crumbing forward pocket - think a slow Phil Matera.

What position would you play?

You'd be Kepler's bitch...:)

sweepi4
5 Dec 2007, 20:46
heh well i use to play with campbell brown and his dad, big mal, was our coach. he always use to put me in FF as i was a lil bigger back then an he always used to say use me weight to advantage hehe
and in high school i played FF too an got most improved one yr wwooo
my biggest bag was 5 against another crappy high school team, shoulda been six tho, their goal umpires screwed me haha

tonywce23
5 Dec 2007, 20:50

Cept Kepler can't play football to save himself, which makes him a good fit at Freo :D

Keyser Soze
5 Dec 2007, 22:16

Yeah, because Kepler's got such a good record playing on small crumbing forwards...

and tall marking forwards....

and resting ruckman....

and medium sized forwards....

and, well you get my drift.

Apparently he didn't look too bad playing as a forward against West Coast once - didn't look like a complete gorm;):D

Underdog
5 Dec 2007, 22:30
I still play footy for my local club and usually play in defence. At 6' I'm a short arse by AFL standards, but often one of the taller blokes at suburban level. So I often play FB, and recently I've had stints at CHB as I've put on a fair bit of muscle in the last 12 months.

I'm the same height but rather Notte built and played a similar role last year at times, but was best from a pocket as a third tall where i'd zone off and contest with the leading forwards or in the pocket on one of the 2 FF's. Some of the monsters I came up against was insane

This season they tried to turn me into a forward pocket...it didn't work - doesn't help we were shit. But I'm not quick,never been a crumber nor have freakish skills.

I'm most comfortable on a HFF

Biggie
6 Dec 2007, 08:40
I played CHF, CHB, FF and Ruck due to my amzing leaping ability. (Only 6'1)

However when a cunning older ruckmen was against me, whammo, corkie in the thigh.

I preferred CHF.

No engine for the middle Im afraid. :o

September_Glory
17 Dec 2007, 00:02
I never played club footy growing up, played basketball mainly. I loved the physical contact and scrapping for loose balls, and was always good defensively.

I most likely fit a tagger role. It would suit me perfectly because I'm not very fast, can't kick but have good hands.

matera_goal
17 Dec 2007, 20:53
Still play footy, under 14s.

I can play pretty much anywhere but played this year at full-back with flying colours :D

Last year played full-forward playing up a few grades in a team that got beaten by 10-20 goals every week. Still kicked a few bags :)

This year played total of 6 quarters up forward (first game played last quarter CHF kicked a goal 6 marks, 4th game kicked 3 to half time before going to full back because of injury and lack of KPPs, two more games spend a quarter at CHF and kicked a goal in each).

I'm probably about ?5'8? I think

As a player, I'm probably most similar to Darren Glass down back and Ben McKinley up forward. Except the dodgy kicking :p

I have a knack of pulling goals out of nowhere, thats probably my 3nd forte behind leading and general defending.

I also have been known this year and last for dishing out a few Byron Pickett/Beau Waters shitmixers (legally). Satisfying...

I kicked a goal from 75m at the school oval yesterday (I had the wind though and it bounced once :P)

I think my weakness is probably my vision (contacts help but aren't as good as having normal eyes, sight-wise and having-plastic-in-your-eyes-wise.) and leg speed (it's ok but not great).

Sorry about this long, winding and rambling post. Hope it makes some kind of sense. yeh

mg

Liub
18 Dec 2007, 00:34
I've always wanted to play AFL but there were no local clubs near my suburb so I had to settle with playing Tennis and Soccer.

Strength: speed, agility, endurance, long kick

Weakness: height, defence, accuracy

I am only just over 5'9 so I would be useless in defence. I can create some pace and have good endurance. I'm not afraid to throw my body around as well so if I did play AFL I'd probably be a midfielder - Daniel Kerr type player with 1% of his talent. I have a fairly long kick for my height but my accuracy can be shocking at times. I could be a small forward.

I wish i could of played AFL :(