View Full Version : Too much cricket?

Adelaide Hawk
2 Dec 2007, 11:24
I'm on the players' side here. When they tell me they are playing too much cricket, then I believe them.

However, after convinciing me they need more rest, they run off and sign up for more cricket in the Indian super-league. What's it to be guys, are you playing too much cricket or not?

I'm guessing it's a case of not enough money rather than too much cricket

SriLankanCat
2 Dec 2007, 12:10
To be fair to the players u cant blame them for taking the money and compaling abotu too much cricket. The ICL and IPL are purely money makign exercises, the players wont take it as seriosuly. The international commitments are a different kettle of fish.

On another note i think it is terrific that we have players playing in other countries with their foes from other countries.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Dec 2007, 12:57
Look, this year they haven't played to much cricket and the players agree, playing a 20/20 game is hardly taxing stuff, most of the time half the batting lineup don't get a hit and your in the field for an hour and a bit, big deal.

Since the end of the 2005 Ashes up to the 2006/07 ashes the amount of cricket played was to much for our boys. An unbelieveable amount of cricket was played.

World X1 matches (3 one dayers and 1 test)
Followed IMMEDIATELY by 3 tests against the windies and
then 3 tests against the South Africans
Followed
by a One Day Series in which Australia played 8 one day games
Then fly straight to south africa for one dayers and tests
then fly to Bangladesh for one dayers and tests
then have a short break
before flying to Malaysia and then on to India for a shyte load of one dayers
before coming back to play in the most eagerly awaited series ever.

Fair dinkum, i remember at times during that period that there seemed to be australia playing someone at cricket at all times.

A couple of Aussies have come out and said that the tri-series is to long and would benefit by being shortened. Well, we all agree about that.

But as usual, some wankers ans some journos interpret this as the "we are playing to much cricket - we're tired" when all it is is a lOGICAL (most cricket BF members wouldnt understand this word) suggestion that is totally correct.

Bombers_Forever
2 Dec 2007, 13:16
They are playing too much one day cricket - and most of the games are meaningless. They are not playing too many Tests and 20/20 does not take a lot of you

OzBomber
2 Dec 2007, 13:35
If you're tired and complaining about too much cricket, then don't play. I'm sure there are others that would grab at the chance to play for Australia.

DIG
2 Dec 2007, 14:05
If you're tired and complaining about too much cricket, then don't play. I'm sure there are others that would grab at the chance to play for Australia.
Totally agree. Half of them complain on one hand, then on the other cash in on the IPL.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Dec 2007, 15:13

Of course there would be heaps of people wanting to play for Australia, but then how good would me be, we'd be crap.

sherb
2 Dec 2007, 17:01
However, after convinciing me they need more rest, they run off and sign up for more cricket in the Indian super-league. What's it to be guys, are you playing too much cricket or not?

I thought pretty much the same thing when I heard the story.

At the right price, a bit of extra cricket doesn't seem to be an issue for the players.

pluga_4
2 Dec 2007, 17:40
ok how ever many tests we play in our summer, is and should be what is expected on the away circuit.

the ICC just need to even up the draw a little so everyone only has 2 away tours every year. (world cup year excepted)
tri-series tournaments need to be scrapped (except for world cup, champs trophy and 20/20 wc) and play bi-lateral series only.

how's about them making a tour a full tour, not stop over odi meaningless tournaments.
eg. it seems we tour india every year now. we played the odi series last month and don't play the test sries until next year. india just want to cash in and have the aussies there regulalrly in one form or the other. fact is it should've been a 4 test tour with the 7 odi's and 20/20 match. the odi's could even be scaled down to 5.

DeadlyAkkuret
2 Dec 2007, 18:34
If you're making between 400-600K, and playing about 1-2 months worth of cricket in a year, then i think you should shut up and get on with it!

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Dec 2007, 19:08
If you're making between 400-600K, and playing about 1-2 months worth of cricket in a year, then i think you should shut up and get on with it!

Its not just the playing side of it, most of the guys who are saying there is too much cricket are the older more experienced ones.

Gilchrist, Hayden, etc, most of these guys of young children, they are going to want to earn enough money to secure their children's future and stuff, who can blame them if they sign up to play some 20/20 cricket.

Its hardly a test match is it.

THe problem is the touring and training and stuff, all the time away from family, especially children.

It all takes its toll.

Some people are amazingly ignorant at times.

pluga_4
2 Dec 2007, 19:43
i think the biggest problem is the logisitics of the fixtures.

i spent 20 minutes putting together a fixture
(i won't type it all down here)

*for the purpose of the exercixe i didn't include zimbabwe.

*this fixture would work perfectly if india, pakistan, sri lanka and bangladesh were to play their home games during august - november.

*each country would play 5-7 home tests every year (bangladesh would only play 4-5)

*this includes tests only (most countries play 10 home odi's per year and a 20/20 or 2...so from the 2 visiting nations you could split it up)
eg. year 1 aust host eng and bang, play eng in 7 odi's and bang in 3, year 2 aust host sri lanka and india, play 5 odi's against both....etc etc

*no multi team tournaments except the world cup, 20/20 world cup, and champions trophy. asia cup could still go ahead if they felt it still had credability.

*if any country wanted to play outside their fixture and tour kenya or invite canada for odi's ...then so be it.

*for anyone thinking i was harsh on not including zimbabwe, while teams tour south africa perhaps they could add on a 3-5 odi series in zimbabwe ???

year 1; host bang (2), eng (5)
away in sept-oct sri lanka (3), india (4) back to back tours (less time away)

year 2: host sri lanka (3), india (4)
away in late feb - may south africa (3) west indies (4) back to back tours again

year 3: host pakistan (3), south africa (3)
away in late feb- july new zealand (3) england (5) back to back tours

year 4: host new zealand (3) west indies (4)
away in sept - oct bang (2) pak (3) back to back tours

the back to back tours may be a tad long, but they aint comin and goin, here there and everywhere and get 8-9 months in their home country every year.

Grimwood
2 Dec 2007, 19:49
In an ideal world it would just be 6 tests at home and 6 tests away.

pluga_4
2 Dec 2007, 19:51
here was england's itenary mr p@h :D

year 1: away in dec-feb in aust (5), new zealand (3)
home south africa (4), sri lanka (3)

year 2: home new zealand (3), india (4)
away in oct-sept sri lanka (3), bangladesh (2)

year 3: home australia (5) , bangladesh (2)
away in sept-nov india (4), pak (3)

year 4: away in feb-apr south africa (4), west indies (4)
home west indies (4), pakistan (3)

DeadlyAkkuret
3 Dec 2007, 00:22
Its not just the playing side of it, most of the guys who are saying there is too much cricket are the older more experienced ones.

Gilchrist, Hayden, etc, most of these guys of young children, they are going to want to earn enough money to secure their children's future and stuff, who can blame them if they sign up to play some 20/20 cricket.

Its hardly a test match is it.

THe problem is the touring and training and stuff, all the time away from family, especially children.

It all takes its toll.

Some people are amazingly ignorant at times.

They're earning a shit load more than most people, and they're complaining about being away from home? I hate to tell you but that's life, so my response is deal with it.

Compared to other elite athletes (and most cricketers are barely athletes) they're getting it very easy, so this whinging about being overworked is just a little sickening. Get on with it, girls!

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Dec 2007, 00:42
They're earning a shit load more than most people, and they're complaining about being away from home? I hate to tell you but that's life, so my response is deal with it.

Compared to other elite athletes (and most cricketers are barely athletes) they're getting it very easy, so this whinging about being overworked is just a little sickening. Get on with it, girls!

Well on the one hand, the public are whinging that there is TOO MUCH CRICKET and that the SEASON DRAGS ON while on the other people like you say, your earning lots of money so keep playing till you drop.

Well, in that case, the standard of cricket will drop world-wide with injuries curtailing careers and interest in cricket dropping off, how much work and hours do you think it takes to become a test cricketer, they are the best in the business, and they get paid well for it, but it is senseless to play as much cricket as Australia played between the Ashes 2005 and the Ashes of 2006, have a look at the fixture, it almost seemed that every week Australia was playing a game of cricket.

That is ridicilous to flog fast bowlers like that, **** some people are ignorant.

The tri-series is so ****ing long, the public agrees, some Australian players say that it might maintain interest to shorten the series or reduce neutral games and low and behold, some people take that as a "we are playing to much cricket, the workload is to much", FFS.

DeadlyAkkuret
3 Dec 2007, 03:44
while on the other people like you say, your earning lots of money so keep playing till you drop.

I never said that, i just think they shouldn't complain when they've barely played any cricket this year. What about swimmers who get up at 4am to train every day? or regular Joe's who work 16hrs a day just to make a living? The don't make money by getting months off at a time, and it shouldn't be any different for cricketers.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Dec 2007, 10:15
I never said that, i just think they shouldn't complain when they've barely played any cricket this year. What about swimmers who get up at 4am to train every day? or regular Joe's who work 16hrs a day just to make a living? The don't make money by getting months off at a time, and it shouldn't be any different for cricketers.

So your basically saying that cricketers should play months on end?

WHat exactly are you saying?

No-one is complaining about this years fixture it was last years that was chocca block.

OzBomber
3 Dec 2007, 16:03
So your basically saying that cricketers should play months on end?

WHat exactly are you saying?

No-one is complaining about this years fixture it was last years that was chocca block.And that's why they got the break.

CAS79
3 Dec 2007, 17:00
I've got no problem with the players demonstrating they are playing too much cricket.

They could start by refraining from playing county cricket and the Indian stuff. They demonstrate with their actions before they demonstrate with words.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Dec 2007, 17:59
I've got no problem with the players demonstrating they are playing too much cricket.

They could start by refraining from playing county cricket and the Indian stuff. They demonstrate with their actions before they demonstrate with words.

Once again, the indian series is 20/20, hardly taxing stuff, and with the money on offer you'd be silly to refuse it.

Most of the established Australia players don't play county cricket.

CAS79
3 Dec 2007, 18:44
Once again, the indian series is 20/20, hardly taxing stuff, and with the money on offer you'd be silly to refuse it.

Most of the established Australia players don't play county cricket.

Perhaps not in the last 12 months in relation to county cricket but there have been times when several of the squad have and a time when too much cricket was a topic of interest for Tim May.

While your correct that 20-20 wont be too taxing in terms of the game but if you needed a break you would think traveling to India, training, traveling between the city's facing the media and the crowds would not be something you were doing if you needed a break from cricket.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Dec 2007, 19:31
Perhaps not in the last 12 months in relation to county cricket but there have been times when several of the squad have and a time when too much cricket was a topic of interest for Tim May.

While your correct that 20-20 wont be too taxing in terms of the game but if you needed a break you would think traveling to India, training, traveling between the city's facing the media and the crowds would not be something you were doing if you needed a break from cricket.

I don't think any of the players were whinging about the fixturing in the last 8 months, Hayden and Gilchrist both said that the current Tri-Series drags on to long and therefore the public quickly lose interest combined with the fact that there are at least 3 neutral games and also the fact that most games are one-sided at the end of often a long summer.

They are basically saying what a majority of people have been saying for several yeas. That the tri series held in teh new year is to long and it would be better served to shorten the series or make a new format in order to both MAINTAIN PUBLIC INTEREST and try and ensure QUALITY CRICKET.

I think having a long series, especially if one team is utter shyte (2003/04 with zimbabwe) can often water down the quality of the cricket.

However, some people have taken what Hayden and Gilchrist have said as a cry of "we are playing to much, we're tired give us a rest" while in fact what they ment was "yes the tri-series is probably to long it would be better to shorten it to ensure public interest".

I don't think it had to do with being tired as such, more to do with the fact that the public lose interest.

Agree?

This time last year the Aussies had been on the road basically since hte 2005 ashes, and if criket is series about maintaining quality players and ensuring the standard is high, they should ensure shorter fixtures take place or at least make it reasonable.

No players can keep playing through that time, how the hell would Tait go or other fast bowlers, think about it.

pluga_4
4 Dec 2007, 12:05
here's my itenary for bangladesh :D

year 1: away in nov-dec aust (2), sth africa (2)
home in aug-sept india (2), nz (2)

year 2: home in aug-sept pakistan (2), england (2)
away in oct-nov india (2), pakistan (2) - stay in sub continent all year

year 3: away in july england (2)
home in aug-sept sri lanka (2), west indies (2)
away in oct sri lanka (2) - stay in sub continent all year except trip to eng.

year 4: away in feb-march nz (2), west indies (2)
home in sept-oct australia (2), sth africa (2)

Howard Littlejohn
5 Dec 2007, 19:01
I'd like to see no tours without Tests. Nobe of this one-day only twaddle; except the World Cup of course. That would allow for less cricket, and an extra first class game before a Test series.

But it is hard to see "we play too much cricket" and "we want to play 20/20 exhibition games" and not think there is just a little contradiction somewhere.

pluga_4
6 Dec 2007, 07:49
the plan for the saffies would be:

year 1: at home dec-feb bang (2) , pak (3)
away mar-jun nz (3) , eng (4)

year 2: at home jan-mar wi (3), aust (3)
away in oct-nov pak (3) , ind (4) - stay in sub continent

year 3: away in dec-jan aust (3)
home feb-may ind (4), sri lanka (3)
away in jun wi (3)

year 4: home in jan-mar nz (3), eng (4)
away sept-oct sri lanka (3), bang (2) - stay in subcontinent

west indies itenary:

year 1: home in mar-apr sri lanka (3), pak (3)
away in aug-sept sri lanka (3) , india (3) - stay in sub continent

year 2: away jan-mar sth af (3), nz (3)
home mar-may nz (3), aust (4)

year 3: home apr-jun ind (3), sth af (3)
away in sept-oct bang (2), pak (3) - stay in subcontinent

year 4: away in dec-jan aust (4)
home mar-may eng (4), bang (2)
away jun eng (4)

raikkonen
6 Dec 2007, 10:58
It is their job to play cricket. They have played what 3 Tests this year? 7 ODI's since the World Cup, and a few Twenty-20's? Had a good 3 months away from the game. Those of us that have full time jobs, work 40+ hours per week, 48 weeks per year. That is our job, cricket is their job. We wouldnt get days off work just because we are overworked??

If I have to pay up my hard-earned to see Australia play, I want to see the best going round, not some bunch of whinging sooks complaining about their job. Half a test Match is spent in the dressing rooms, they are out there for 6 hours a day, doing bugger all for most of the time when they are fielding.

I appreciate the fact that they have to train and keep fit etc, but thats a choice that comes with their job. Just like I have to get up no later than 2.15am for my job. With work comes, some sacrifices. Most people my age are out 4-5 nights per week, I get 1, and 2 on a good week. But hey, I deal with it. They can deal with 9 months of cricket. Their family gets to tour half the time anyway!

Kane McGoodwin
6 Dec 2007, 11:13
I'm on the players' side here. When they tell me they are playing too much cricket, then I believe them.

There isn't enough cricket on at the moment. ;)

The Australian players are now commanding very good salaries, so they are being reimbursed at a very fair rate for the hours they are putting in.

However, we do need to get the balance right between scheduling Tests, ODI's & 20/20 games across the year. I'm guessing that ODI's (such as the ending of the tri-series) will reduce, with more 20/20's -which if managed properly could reduce the workload.

pluga_4
8 Dec 2007, 09:33
here's what i gave india

year 1: away in aug bang (2)
hoe in sept-oct wi (3) aust (4)
away in nov pak (3) - all in sub continent

year 2: away in dec-jan aust (4)
away jul-aug eng (4)
home in oct-nov bang (2) sth af (4)

year 3: away in feb-may sth af (4) wi (3)
home in sept -oct-eng (4) nz (3)

year 4: away in mar nz (3)
home in aug-sept sri lanka (3) pak (3)
away in oct sri lanka (3) - stay in subcontinent excep tour to nz

india could then add on any meaningless games they wanted.