View Full Version : Under 18's teams in 2008
Pages :
[
7]
jellis10
6 Jul 2008, 22:12
What was like playing a evening game jellis and brazell?
yeah it was good m8 but ed to early morning games so ya in a routine n its stuffed it up a bit but to wickers credit we played well
Learmonths Coach was filming our game on the weekend to Braz, as you probably already know
gothelakers
7 Jul 2008, 00:47
Learmonths Coach was filming our game on the weekend to Braz, as you probably already know
interesting!! can u fill us in on that brazell... seems to me to be taking it a bit to far cause once ur playing footy u don't think about that but each to their own!!!
he was filming our forward line in the first quarter, probably to get a better understanding of how murphy plays
gotheswans
7 Jul 2008, 20:14
learmonth are taking it very seriously! im shocked about that :eek:
Braszell
7 Jul 2008, 22:09
interesting!! can u fill us in on that brazell... seems to me to be taking it a bit to far cause once ur playing footy u don't think about that but each to their own!!!
haha what are you serious i didn't even no.. what a joke why concentrate on you guys we need to concentrate on ourselves and so does he cos we go in at the quarter breaks and we stand around doing jack shit waiting for something to happen and nothing happens so where just like yer come on boys who hoo lets go with no idea how to change how where playing cos he doesnt tell us..
Braszell
7 Jul 2008, 22:10
learmonth are taking it very seriously! im shocked about that :eek:
yer me too and im in the team.. might sound like where taking it seriously but come in the rooms before a game..come in about 10 mins before cos that when we all get ready
haha what are you serious i didn't even no.. what a joke why concentrate on you guys we need to concentrate on ourselves and so does he cos we go in at the quarter breaks and we stand around doing jack shit waiting for something to happen and nothing happens so where just like yer come on boys who hoo lets go with no idea how to change how where playing cos he doesnt tell us..
Seriously have u guys talked to him about this? Communication needs to happen at both ends for things to work. Dont be afraid to give him some constructive critisism...pull him aside and say the boys need to be pumped up coach, any ideas... maybe the filming is his way of trying to better himself? At least he is interested enough to be doing something, which is more than last years did. Im not bagging u out either.
Just a thought.....
Braszell
7 Jul 2008, 22:36
Seriously have u guys talked to him about this? Communication needs to happen at both ends for things to work. Dont be afraid to give him some constructive critisism...pull him aside and say the boys need to be pumped up coach, any ideas... maybe the filming is his way of trying to better himself? At least he is interested enough to be doing something, which is more than last years did. Im not bagging u out either.
Just a thought.....
yer someone needs to say something to him about the breaks and what needs to be said. cos its a joke
Well take the lead....talk to either him or maybe someone else who could do it for you if ur not comfortable about it.
Hey animal if u really wanna do something for learmonth why not help out here...... the boys are obviously keen and need some direction strategies and stuff like that, surely u or some other players could give the boys a talk, maybe help out the coach???
This is what i mean when i say that learmonth dont do much for the juniors, cmon open ur eyes people!
beaufortboy223
8 Jul 2008, 11:39
does any1 recon buninyong have any chance of beating bungaree this week?
hutchie_1
8 Jul 2008, 14:07
i reckon they will put up a great fight but think bunga will be 2 strong in the end
gtrain90
8 Jul 2008, 14:13
definately i would rate this as their biggest test yet.
a very strong midfield in both sides and saw first hand on the weekend the damage that miller and bomatali do.
a very slick side.
i think that bungaree might have an ascendancy in the ruck with locandro around the ground.
who is the bungaree full back??? (cos he has to play on davies)
he is a quiet achiever. i wouldn't think he has had many kicked on him all year.
played at bunninyong on a big ground which is an advantage to bunninyong.
so a real chance to knock em off, but you cant tip against bungaree.
mahar vs miller. probly the 2 inform mids of the comp and i predict that the league b+f might come from these 2
hutchie_1
8 Jul 2008, 14:33
question to u gtrain... what happend to your boys on the weekend i honestly though use were in with a chance this year and the game on the weekend ended ur finals hope first of all what happened and will use be any good next year or was this ur last chance
Its definetly our biggest test for the year
We've been lucky enough to play the top sides at home (Hepburn, Gordon, Creswick, Learmonth and Waubra will be the following week) so a massive challenge playing at their groud
Ash Nichols comes back which adds another midfield option and tagging option if needed
I personally really hope i get up for this game cause i always love playing Buninyong
beaufortboy223
8 Jul 2008, 15:09
a very strong midfield in both sides and saw first hand on the weekend the damage that miller and bomatali do.
a very slick side.
i think that bungaree might have an ascendancy in the ruck with locandro around the ground.
he is a quiet achiever. i wouldn't think he has had many kicked on him all year.
mahar vs miller. probly the 2 inform mids of the comp and i predict that the league b+f might come from these 2
gotta agree wit ya there m8 i recon either miller or bomatali vs maher could be a very interesting match up. also its a huge job for whoever plays on murphy
gotheswans
8 Jul 2008, 15:51
question to u gtrain... what happend to your boys on the weekend i honestly though use were in with a chance this year and the game on the weekend ended ur finals hope first of all what happened and will use be any good next year or was this ur last chancei think they didnt put in a 22 man performance
gotheswans
8 Jul 2008, 15:55
Its definetly our biggest test for the year
We've been lucky enough to play the top sides at home (Hepburn, Gordon, Creswick, Learmonth and Waubra will be the following week) so a massive challenge playing at their groud
Ash Nichols comes back which adds another midfield option and tagging option if needed
I personally really hope i get up for this game cause i always love playing Buninyongi think buninyong could have a real chance home bigger ground may not suit bungaree but the way there going at the moment could turn out to be a 30 point or plus win to bungaree
bomber boys
8 Jul 2008, 16:41
a very slick side.
yea this weeks game will be a great challenge for us in which i think all the boys are very keen to get fired up and see how we go. yes it has been good to see miller getting some confidence back after having sorta a quiet start to the season he is playing really good footy and with him bomatali and kitchen in the middle its good to watch. also would be good if turner came down to 18's this week in a very big match would be good to see him and joely mahar go at it. i rate joel highly very skillful player so whoever plays on him will be a big game also jackson murphy he has been tearing it up but our full back is also a good player mark tanis. im tpping a good game
whos your ruckmen bomber boys?
gtrain90
8 Jul 2008, 17:58
question to u gtrain... what happend to your boys on the weekend i honestly though use were in with a chance this year and the game on the weekend ended ur finals hope first of all what happened and will use be any good next year or was this ur last chance
hutchie. a good question.
too right we were in with a chance but in some big games this year we havent played the full 4 quarters, look at hepburn we matched if not beat them for 3 quarters. and creswick we came back in the last quarter to give them a real shake.
the problem is not being able to put it all together when everything is on the line.
but i must admit we were out played by bunninyong, they are a very good side.
i just hope young matt ford can break into their side and be a force in september when it counts.:D keep fighting buddy!
and it would be pretty fair to say that without a big scandal with a couple of sides seasons derailing finals maybe out of our reach.
this was my last chance as i move up next year.
but success breeds success.
for example bungaree, who wouldnt want to go to a club where you are almost guaranteed finals?? and gordon this year also.
so they can attract players of very good quality.
as for next year, i see no reason why we cant improve on this year again, push and make the five and give the comp a real shakeup!
gtrain90
8 Jul 2008, 18:00
yea this weeks game will be a great challenge for us in which i think all the boys are very keen to get fired up and see how we go. yes it has been good to see miller getting some confidence back after having sorta a quiet start to the season he is playing really good footy and with him bomatali and kitchen in the middle its good to watch. also would be good if turner came down to 18's this week in a very big match would be good to see him and joely mahar go at it. i rate joel highly very skillful player so whoever plays on him will be a big game also jackson murphy he has been tearing it up but our full back is also a good player mark tanis. im tpping a good game
chances of turner coming down?? (not likely??)
who is the man for murphy??
matt ford would have to be a show for the bigfella?
hutchie_1
8 Jul 2008, 18:26
too right we were in with a chance but in some big games this year we havent played the full 4 quarters, look at hepburn we matched if not beat them for 3 quarters. and creswick we came back in the last quarter to give them a real shake.
the problem is not being able to put it all together when everything is on the line.
i just hope young matt ford can break into their side and be a force in september when it counts.:D keep fighting buddy!
and it would be pretty fair to say that without a big scandal with a couple of sides seasons derailing finals maybe out of our reach.
for example bungaree, who wouldnt want to go to a club where you are almost guaranteed finals?? and gordon this year also.
as for next year, i see no reason why we cant improve on this year again, push and make the five and give the comp a real shakeup!
yer i see wat ur saying. wat i have seen of use this year i rate urself shane holland and tim dalton very highly. but yer no1 als seems 2 menchane dalton and holland at all im intested 2 get ur thoughts on the 2 players??
gtrain90
8 Jul 2008, 19:02
who have you seen us play hutchie?
hutchie_1
8 Jul 2008, 20:21
who have you seen us play hutchie?
ballan and a bit of daylsford
bomber boys
8 Jul 2008, 20:52
whos your ruckmen bomber boys?
we have two ruckmans m8 one is tim mitchell good build wouldnt call him massivly tall but has a good leap on him pritty much similar to locandro also grady thorne he leads by example in our team for commitment for the footy he will put his body on the line 10 out of 10 i reckon he is a fair unit. have you boys only got locandro rucking m8
bomber boys
8 Jul 2008, 20:57
turner might come down m8 to play as he has to qualify for finals so he might play this week. i dont think we really have a man for murphy yet to early in the week thinking maybe kayne gilbert very good player in backline or mark tanis. also dowler i when i was playing forward line against use on the weekend i quote you saying to kitchen that he is only a sheep dog now m8 that is a very big call he is a very smart footballer and pritty sure he beat your defence most times. i saw you get a fair few cheap kicks so i would watch who you call a sheep dog next time your playing on a good player like kitchen who most players in the 18's chfl rate
beaufortboy223
8 Jul 2008, 21:21
we have two ruckmans m8 one is tim mitchell good build wouldnt call him massivly tall but has a good leap on him pritty much similar to locandro also grady thorne he leads by example in our team for commitment for the footy he will put his body on the line 10 out of 10 i reckon he is a fair unit. have you boys only got locandro rucking m8
grady thorne is probably one of buninyongs most important players. he sets the scene for them physically along with josh mcvity. josh mcvity is also a very underated player from wat iv seen
gothelakers
8 Jul 2008, 22:10
so ur saying that for these clubs and maybe others being succesful was a reason they attract players... not a bad point... got any examples??
thats a secret :)
well i back up sometimes but im hopeless, and jacko sometimes has a crack
gtrain90
9 Jul 2008, 18:06
so ur saying that for these clubs and maybe others being succesful was a reason they attract players... not a bad point... got any examples??
brad hallam??
james mahar??
tristan fay??
pat webb??
oh and bunninyong.
miller
davies
bomaltali
do i need to go on?
sure mates help, as no one would want to go to a club where you have no friends.
gtrain90
9 Jul 2008, 18:20
turner might come down m8 to play as he has to qualify for finals so he might play this week. i dont think we really have a man for murphy yet to early in the week thinking maybe kayne gilbert very good player in backline or mark tanis. also dowler i when i was playing forward line against use on the weekend i quote you saying to kitchen that he is only a sheep dog now m8 that is a very big call he is a very smart footballer and pritty sure he beat your defence most times. i saw you get a fair few cheap kicks so i would watch who you call a sheep dog next time your playing on a good player like kitchen who most players in the 18's chfl rate
seems as good as time as any for turner to play. does he train with you boys??
gilbert is the matchup i would go with, with both height and fitness being able to go with murphy..
maybe double team even??
you played forward line josh??:confused:
when was this "sheepdog" quote heard??
kitchen is a smart footballer and i rate the lad highly.
last 2 times he has smashed us. both this year and last year at buninyong.
he kicked 5 so one might say he got a bit of it...
cheap kicks on my behalf, care to elaborate??
bomber boys
9 Jul 2008, 18:52
brad hallam??
james mahar??
tristan fay??
pat webb??
oh and bunninyong.
miller
davies
bomaltali
do i need to go on?
sure mates help, as no one would want to go to a club where you have no friends.
well i can tell you now bomatali and davies didnt come to buningyong chasing a premiership they came because they both live about 500m from the oval so would be stu[id for them to go to another club futher away and also bomas brother plays seniors and davies dad is on the committe. alex miller came out because he has heaps of m8s out there
gtrain90
9 Jul 2008, 19:06
well i can tell you now bomatali and davies didnt come to buningyong chasing a premiership they came because they both live about 500m from the oval so would be stu[id for them to go to another club futher away and also bomas brother plays seniors and davies dad is on the committe. alex miller came out because he has heaps of m8s out there
i didnt say chasing a premiership.
read my earlier quote. the whole one.
i simply stated that success breeds success.
and that as such it helps recruitment.
in bold.
my exact point.
how else do people recruit in juniors, family, friends, geographical status..
that would some it up i would think. money not an issue is it??
bomber boys
9 Jul 2008, 19:46
dont bag fordy the only reason he missed out on the weekend was because we have a rotation system in which felix marshall or tom dunstone didnt play either and every player in our team is going to be missing a game this year doesnt matter what game it is.
what is the age restrickion in this league? for 2009 would be great thanks guys
no garry nooo
9 Jul 2008, 19:55
yer good call dowler its matt ford here and pretty sure it is called rotation i don't have a problem in making it into the side. on the weekend felix marshall got rotated and he is one of our best midfielders and week before davies and shane brundell got rotated aswell. our coaches are trying to make it that every person misses atleast one game.
plus it wasn't a bad thing that i missed out against yous becasue as you seen it wasn't a close game and all you did all game was tell everyone else what to do insted of leading by example.
shooter243
9 Jul 2008, 19:58
just curious the match up for murphy and maher last weekend??
were they successful??
anyone from bungaree or hepburn with their thoughts.
biscuit you must turn 18 after july 1st in that year.
so next year birth date after 1st july 1991. unless its changed.
bomber boys
9 Jul 2008, 19:58
seems as good as time as any for turner to play. does he train with you boys??
gilbert is the matchup i would go with, with both height and fitness being able to go with murphy..
maybe double team even??
you played forward line josh??:confused:
when was this "sheepdog" quote heard??
kitchen is a smart footballer and i rate the lad highly.
last 2 times he has smashed us. both this year and last year at buninyong.
he kicked 5 so one might say he got a bit of it...
cheap kicks on my behalf, care to elaborate??
actually i think josh played backline. i was playing other end of ground to him and i was standing write next to our chf when you said it to him aswell i laughed when i heard you say it our chf can probly verify it.
just curious the match up for murphy and maher last weekend??
were they successful??
anyone from bungaree or hepburn with their thoughts.
biscuit you must turn 18 after july 1st in that year.
so next year birth date after 1st july 1991. unless its changed.
:mad: thanks for that.
gtrain90
9 Jul 2008, 20:15
actually i think josh played backline. i was playing other end of ground to him and i was standing write next to our chf when you said it to him aswell i laughed when i heard you say it our chf can probly verify it.
care to put a name to yourself mate??
not an alias, your name.
gtrain90
9 Jul 2008, 20:24
is gtrain grady?
yep. :rolleyes:
bomber boys
9 Jul 2008, 20:46
[quote=gtrain90;11653772]care to put a name to yourself mate??
not an alias, your name.[/quot
i dont have to tell you my name this site is confidential
bomber boys
9 Jul 2008, 20:47
is gtrain grady?
gtrain is grant dowler not grady i doubt grady has a big footy
gtrain is grant dowler not grady i doubt grady has a big footy I doubt grady can even read or write.
gtrain90
9 Jul 2008, 20:53
i dont have to tell you my name this site is confidential
no you dont. but without your name your "quote" is invalid.
like if people didnt know who i was, i could make up stories too.
Well take the lead....talk to either him or maybe someone else who could do it for you if ur not comfortable about it.
Hey animal if u really wanna do something for learmonth why not help out here...... the boys are obviously keen and need some direction strategies and stuff like that, surely u or some other players could give the boys a talk, maybe help out the coach???
This is what i mean when i say that learmonth dont do much for the juniors, cmon open ur eyes people!
Learmonth have an extremely talented under 18's team this yr and they are under a first yr coach with no prior coaching expierence but from what i was told no-one else put there hand up, so good on him for having a go though. There's certainly a break-down between the juniors and senoirs.
I have seen a club from a different league make it a rule that 2 senior players assist the coach or coach BOTH junior sides(2 different players for each team) it works great at this club however it does force the senoir players to devote and give away alot of time but you have to protect the FUTURE of your club. It also gives your senior players a base of coaching expierence so its a win-win situation except players having time is the only issue.
Its not my call to make that decision out at learmonth ive only been there for 18months except it certainly does need to be looked at.
Maybe AJ could help Learmonth out? Seeing as his not playing at all
In regards to the match ups
Some big number 8 (winnard i think) played on Jacko. Was way to quick for him
I'm pretty sure no one tagged J Mahar, as far i as i can remember
Tips For this weekend coming?
Hepburn vs Learmonth - Both sides will be wanting to get back on the winners list, but Hepburn to strong. Burras by 30 plus
Creswick vs Springbank. Wicks by 80
Beaufort vs Gordon - Pretty obvious. Gordon by over 100
Clunes vs Ballan. Can the clunes lads get their first win? who cares. Clunes by 1 :eek:
Newlyn vs Dayelsford. Cats by 20
Waubra vs Dunnstown. Waubra need to win if they have any possible chance of making finals. Waubra by 20
beaufortboy223
9 Jul 2008, 22:30
brad hallam??
james mahar??
tristan fay??
pat webb??
oh and bunninyong.
miller
davies
bomaltali
do i need to go on?
ya got a good point her g train. a lot of buninyongs recruits are bunny boys that have played els where from a young age n as for james maher i recon hes just chasing a premiership.
fatality666
10 Jul 2008, 22:33
Here are my tips for the weekemd
Hepburn vs Learmonth - hepburn quite easily- 30+
Creswick vs Springbank. Creswick by 50
Beaufort vs Gordon - Gordon by plenty about 60 weather may restrict margin
Clunes vs Ballan. cant see clunes getting a win not really fnding any form.. ballan by 20
Newlyn vs Dayelsford. daylesford by 10
Waubra vs Dunnstown. towners in a tight one. waubra pretty much out of finals now
Bungaree vs Buninyong- hard to go agianst bunga after there thumping of hepburn. very evenly matched teams i think.. be set for a good game
gothelakers
10 Jul 2008, 23:16
Hepburn vs Learmonth - hepburn quite easily- 30+
Creswick vs Springbank. Creswick by 50
Beaufort vs Gordon - Gordon by plenty about 60 weather may restrict margin
Clunes vs Ballan. cant see clunes getting a win not really fnding any form.. ballan by 20
Newlyn vs Dayelsford. daylesford by 10
Waubra vs Dunnstown. towners in a tight one. waubra pretty much out of finals now
Bungaree vs Buninyong- hard to go agianst bunga after there thumping of hepburn. very evenly matched teams i think.. be set for a good game
i was speaking to a mate tonight who plays for gordon and he was saying that they have a few handy players out and that their expecting for it to be a tight match so i'd expect the margin to be a lot less than that....
gotheswans
11 Jul 2008, 14:36
Hepburn vs Learmonth - hepburn by 15 points just for the fact a gun midfield
Creswick vs Springbank. Creswick by 70+
Beaufort vs Gordon - Gordon by plenty
Clunes vs Ballan. clunes by a a tight margin
Newlyn vs Dayelsford. newlyn by 20
Waubra vs Dunnstown. waubra by 20 defintly out of finals but you never know!
Bungaree vs Buninyong- bungaree in a 20+ victory surpurb in every place in the game
gotheswans
11 Jul 2008, 22:25
whos the league best and fairest???
Braszell
13 Jul 2008, 12:45
we beat hepburn by 12 points over there in there shithole. worst umpire ever needs a bullet
gotheswans
13 Jul 2008, 13:21
good job i thought the midfield would have run over the top of use but use look the real deal this yr
why did they take points off waubra??
we beat hepburn by 12 points over there in there shithole. worst umpire ever needs a bullet
well no one picked that win. Good job, did u get some more talk happening from the coach? Was hepburn missing any key players? .
bunnies look like they must of given the bunga boys a bit of a run.seems to be a very good competition this year, should make things interesting in the years to come!
Braszell
13 Jul 2008, 13:55
well no one picked that win. Good job, did u get some more talk happening from the coach? Was hepburn missing any key players? .
bunnies look like they must of given the bunga boys a bit of a run.seems to be a very good competition this year, should make things interesting in the years to come!
ne they had noone out. we had a couple out though. the difference wwas we no how much we needed to win the game to have a chance of making finals. also our coaching was alot better..
we were down by 2 goals at 3 quarter time then came out and kicked 2 goals in first 3 mins. last quarter went for about 5-6mins too long.
shooter243
13 Jul 2008, 15:28
well seeing it is almost that time of year i thought i would put up my final 5 and the run home for all contenders.
1st BUNGAREE. 68 points
waubra (H)
dunstown (H)
learmonth (A)
springbank (H)
gordon (A)
a couple of danger matches with learmonth and gordon, with waubra a chance to cause a bit of a headache on their day.
but should see the bungaree side as they have a 2 game gap over 2nd head straight into the 2nd week of finals with a bye.
this side knows how to play finals footy with the bulk of their playing list having been there and done that.
contender for league b+f: maher or murphy
2nd GORDON 56 points
creswick (H)
hepburn (H)
buninyong (H)
waubra (A)
bungaree (H)
this is the toughest of all the runs home with all sides being very competitive this season. all games will cause somewhat of a headache but with the exception of bungaree i think that they should get up and finish 2nd with the elusive double chance.
league b+f contender: aquilina or gunnels.
3rd HEPBURN 56 points.
springbank (A)
gordon (A)
ballan (A)
newlyn (H)
daylesford (A)
a side that has found a way to win most weeks but in the last couple the cracks have started to appear. relativly easy draw home with only gordon as the danger game who i think they may have caught off guard in the 1st match of the season and gordon will want to pay back the favour. wont catch gordon on percentage unless gordon get a belting off bungaree which i would think is unlikely. dont think they can do a great deal of damage in the finals as knight and cimera play a big part and i dont think they have many helpers.
league b+f: knight or cimera
this is where it starts to get tricky as teams play each other and have to make assumptions.
4th BUNINYONG 52 points.
learmonth (A)
springbank (H)
gordon (A)
ballan (H)
newlyn (A)
predicting the buninyong get win against learmonth this week which is a big if as learmonth are in good form would mean they would only lose to gordon from here. so hence the 52 points. 3 games to boost percentage so dont think they can be caught on that front.
league b+f: miller
5th CRESWICK 52 points.
gordon (A)
ballan (H)
newlyn (A)
daylesford (H)
clunes (A)
the win last week against learmonth is the one for me that gets them over the line, if it went the other way learmonth would be in my 5. a very nice run home and i think this might be a bit of a double edged sword, with 4 weeks of relatively easy footy they will have to put the pressure on themselves to perform. i think they will get in but playing bunninyong in the 1st week will see them bow out.
league b+f: lockyer
6th LEARMONTH 48 points
buninyong (H)
waubra (A)
bungaree (H)
dunnstown (A)
springbank (A)
loss to creswick hurts massively. I predict they will get beaten by buninyong and bungaree but picking them to get over waubra but that is shaky as the cross town rivals will see waubra put in a spirited performance. to make the 5 will need to beat buninyong this week or bungaree so not completely out of chances to make finals. note a superior percentage to creswick so a win could well see them in.
league b+f: mayall with aston polling well also
key matches that could change the outcome (winners in bold)
learmonth vs buninyong rd13 learmonth could force into finals
gordon vs hepburn rd14 could allow buninyong a 2nd chance in finals
gordon vs buninyong rd 15 top 3 up for grabs
learmonth vs bungaree rd 15 learmonth could force into finals
gordon vs bungaree rd 17 mental edge in finals.
enjoy the literature
Braszell
13 Jul 2008, 16:02
well seeing it is almost that time of year i thought i would put up my final 5 and the run home for all contenders.
1st BUNGAREE. 68 points
waubra (H)
dunstown (H)
learmonth (A)
springbank (H)
gordon (A)
a couple of danger matches with learmonth and gordon, with waubra a chance to cause a bit of a headache on their day.
but should see the bungaree side as they have a 2 game gap over 2nd head straight into the 2nd week of finals with a bye.
this side knows how to play finals footy with the bulk of their playing list having been there and done that.
contender for league b+f: maher or murphy
2nd GORDON 56 points
creswick (H)
hepburn (H)
buninyong (H)
waubra (A)
bungaree (H)
this is the toughest of all the runs home with all sides being very competitive this season. all games will cause somewhat of a headache but with the exception of bungaree i think that they should get up and finish 2nd with the elusive double chance.
league b+f contender: aquilina or gunnels.
3rd HEPBURN 56 points.
springbank (A)
gordon (A)
ballan (A)
newlyn (H)
daylesford (A)
a side that has found a way to win most weeks but in the last couple the cracks have started to appear. relativly easy draw home with only gordon as the danger game who i think they may have caught off guard in the 1st match of the season and gordon will want to pay back the favour. wont catch gordon on percentage unless gordon get a belting off bungaree which i would think is unlikely. dont think they can do a great deal of damage in the finals as knight and cimera play a big part and i dont think they have many helpers.
league b+f: knight or cimera
this is where it starts to get tricky as teams play each other and have to make assumptions.
4th BUNINYONG 52 points.
learmonth (A)
springbank (H)
gordon (A)
ballan (H)
newlyn (A)
predicting the buninyong get win against learmonth this week which is a big if as learmonth are in good form would mean they would only lose to gordon from here. so hence the 52 points. 3 games to boost percentage so dont think they can be caught on that front.
league b+f: miller
5th CRESWICK 52 points.
gordon (A)
ballan (H)
newlyn (A)
daylesford (H)
clunes (A)
the win last week against learmonth is the one for me that gets them over the line, if it went the other way learmonth would be in my 5. a very nice run home and i think this might be a bit of a double edged sword, with 4 weeks of relatively easy footy they will have to put the pressure on themselves to perform. i think they will get in but playing bunninyong in the 1st week will see them bow out.
league b+f: lockyer
6th LEARMONTH 48 points
buninyong (H)
waubra (A)
bungaree (H)
dunnstown (A)
springbank (A)
loss to creswick hurts massively. I predict they will get beaten by buninyong and bungaree but picking them to get over waubra but that is shaky as the cross town rivals will see waubra put in a spirited performance. to make the 5 will need to beat buninyong this week or bungaree so not completely out of chances to make finals. note a superior percentage to creswick so a win could well see them in.
league b+f: mayall with aston polling well also
key matches that could change the outcome (winners in bold)
learmonth vs buninyong rd13 learmonth could force into finals
gordon vs hepburn rd14 could allow buninyong a 2nd chance in finals
gordon vs buninyong rd 15 top 3 up for grabs
learmonth vs bungaree rd 15 learmonth could force into finals
gordon vs bungaree rd 17 mental edge in finals.
enjoy the literature
very good prediction..
we lost to creswick im not sure how we managed to do that but any way. creswick may lose one of them games ya never no and i think we will beat bunyinyong
footy rilz
13 Jul 2008, 17:04
very good prediction..
we lost to creswick im not sure how we managed to do that but any way. creswick may lose one of them games ya never no and i think we will beat bunyinyong
Big call mate buninyong nearly beat bunga on the weekend and i cant see gordon finishing second there run home is way 2 hard
bungareepremiers06
13 Jul 2008, 17:24
very nice shooter i see the results panning out the exact same way.
however scrap the gordon v hepburn, gordon v bunga and bunga v learmonth games for importance. these games are only mental and provide no affect on the five for the following reasons.
Final Five
the buninyong v learmonth game this week is most definatly learmonths best shot at finals, buninyong are the only side that can drop out now with creswick almost a certainty to win 4 of thier last 5. buninyong at this stage are likely to lose to gordon and that is the result that will decide learmonths fate should they win this week.
if learmonth lose to buninyong but beat bungaree they will still fall short this time on percentage. learmonth are almost 60 % behind buninyong and buninyong's lesser three games include springbank, ballan and newlyn.
the other crucial game will be gordon and buninyong in round 15 which as i said gordon will go in favourites at this stage. should buninyong be able to win all of there final 5 games they may be able to pinch the double chance, regardless of whether gordon beat bungaree. (percentage will fall to below 280% with games against 1st, 3rd, 4th, 6th and 7th)
while mathmatically top spot is still up for grabs, even if bunga lose to both gordon and learmonth there percentage should still be better than gordon.
hepburn are virtually assured of a top 3 spot with games against springbank, ballan, newlyn and daylesford.
Contenders
all top 6 sides will be dangerous come september but at this stage i see bunga, gordon and buninyong the major contenders, learmonth the dark horse if the results go thier way and they can get in to the finals, and both hepburn and creswick not likely to win a final.
Leading Goalkicking
Gordon have a horror run so it seems likely that Jackson Murphy should take the chocolates with games against Springbank and Dunnstown to come. Hallam will need to kick at least 3 a week to be any sort of chance. Aston remains a contender but will need to kick goals against buninyong and bungaree to challenge for the title.
paper_up
13 Jul 2008, 17:55
good job i thought the midfield would have run over the top of use but use look the real deal this yr
why did they take points off waubra??
I noticed this also, as I saw that Springbank now have 10 points instead of 6 points.
I am very interested to find out if this was a mistake made by the league/administrators or did Waubra play a unregistered/ineligible player?
matho44
13 Jul 2008, 19:56
Pretty sure points were taken off Waubra due to them playing unregistered players?
We were lucky to win on the weekend
Full credit to the Bunnies. can't wait to play them on a decent day and a full strength side
shooter243
13 Jul 2008, 20:00
very nice shooter i see the results panning out the exact same way.
however scrap the gordon v hepburn, gordon v bunga and bunga v learmonth games for importance. these games are only mental and provide no affect on the five for the following reasons.
top post bungapremiers. good to see some real footy talk.
those games still can affect the make up of the 5 apart from gordon bunga.
gordon vs bunga i said was purely mental. but will it big a huge advantage for whoever gets up.
the learmonth bunga. if learmonth lose to buninyong but beat both waubra and bungaree superior percentage will get them into the finals. so a crucial game.
gordon vs hepburn. if hepburn get up. gordon will obviously not recieve 4 points putting them back to 52 and on equal points will buninyong so percentage will play a part. (with buninyongs run containing springbank, ballan and newlyn and gordons tough run this is a big option.)
footy rilz
13 Jul 2008, 20:12
Pretty sure points were taken off Waubra due to them playing unregistered players?
We were lucky to win on the weekend
Full credit to the Bunnies. can't wait to play them on a decent day and a full strength side
Which side had players out and got any of their names
matho44
13 Jul 2008, 20:35
We had Matt Laux, Ash Nichols and James Lindeback out.
Joel Duggan playing with Concussion (His eyes were all over the shop)
I played with a strained hammy (No big loss though) and Nick Locandro played with a strained hammy
On a decent day they could have seriously bet us
gtrain90
13 Jul 2008, 20:41
there was rumour young sam turner would play.
did he??
is he gonna qualify for finals as the 1s are looking for finals also???
matho44
13 Jul 2008, 21:42
nah he didnt play
alex miller possibly has the best side step. wow haha
got me a beauty
footy rilz
13 Jul 2008, 22:33
So matho do u think they r the best side u have played
and did any1 tag joel maher or jackson murphy
matho44
13 Jul 2008, 22:39
Gordon are the best side mate
Come finals look out
Buninyong were good though
Some bloke with long hair tagged Joel (Wasnt felix though) and no one tagged Jacko
gothelakers
13 Jul 2008, 23:15
Gordon are the best side mate
Come finals look out
Buninyong were good though
Some bloke with long hair tagged Joel (Wasnt felix though) and no one tagged Jacko
have to disagree with ya there matho..i reckon use r the best side followed by buninyong and then hepburn/gordon... bunga has the best 2 players in the comp and the best coach and knows how win grand finals...
matho44
13 Jul 2008, 23:32
haha well im not going to rate us as the best side
I just rate Gordon higher because i know what there capable of
bungareepremiers06
14 Jul 2008, 13:44
gordon operate out of a really good spine that are really good when going but like last year their depth is not so great shut any 4 out of l. gunnell, m.gunnel, j.maher, r.aquilina, b.hallam and p. lahey and they are very beatable. in saying that, they are a pretty tough bunch of 6 to shut down. buninyong seem to be more level across the side and have the depth to go with most sides.
look forward to seeing buninyong and gordon clash again, looks like they will have to play each other twice at least before the year is out
also, can anyone tell me how many under 18 games sam turner has played this year, if any?
footy rilz
14 Jul 2008, 15:48
gordon operate out of a really good spine that are really good when going but like last year their depth is not so great shut any 4 out of l. gunnell, m.gunnel, j.maher, r.aquilina, b.hallam and p. lahey and they are very beatable. in saying that, they are a pretty tough bunch of 6 to shut down. buninyong seem to be more level across the side and have the depth to go with most sides.
look forward to seeing buninyong and gordon clash again, looks like they will have to play each other twice at least before the year is out
also, can anyone tell me how many under 18 games sam turner has played this year, if any?
Sam Turner hasn't played a game yet this year but he still trains with the under 18s it sounds like he is not going 2 play 4 them at all cause he is going well in the firsts and the buninyong firsts will prob make finals
gtrain90
14 Jul 2008, 17:43
Sam Turner hasn't played a game yet this year but he still trains with the under 18s it sounds like he is not going 2 play 4 them at all cause he is going well in the firsts and the buninyong firsts will prob make finals
surely he would qualify. what if the 18s made it to the gf and the seniors didnt??? it would be silly for him not to play his 3 games.
fatality666
14 Jul 2008, 17:54
haha well im not going to rate us as the best side
I just rate Gordon higher because i know what there capable of
what would make gordon a more capable team? buninyong have gone down by the smallest margin to you guys by a fair way, and also had more scoring oppurtunities however failed to capitalise.. i'm just interested to see why u think gordon are the better team?
no garry nooo
14 Jul 2008, 19:00
surely he would qualify. what if the 18s made it to the gf and the seniors didnt??? it would be silly for him not to play his 3 games.
it would be good to have him in that case but it would be unfair to everyone else because one person that has played all year would have to get dropped for him to play and in my opinion that wouldn't be right.
gtrain90
14 Jul 2008, 19:05
it would be good to have him in that case but it would be unfair to everyone else because one person that has played all year would have to get dropped for him to play and in my opinion that wouldn't be right.
fair enough. but if you lose the grannie by 10 points??
and get beaten in the midfield??
(he would have played his 3 games btw)
no garry nooo
14 Jul 2008, 19:10
fair enough. but if you lose the grannie by 10 points??
and get beaten in the midfield??
(he would have played his 3 games btw)
But we should be good enough to win the granny with the team that got us there we shouldn't have to bring in a senior player to win. thats if we get there of coarse. thats just my opinion nothing against sammy turner.
footy rilz
15 Jul 2008, 20:05
But we should be good enough to win the granny with the team that got us there we shouldn't have to bring in a senior player to win. thats if we get there of coarse. thats just my opinion nothing against sammy turner.
Are u kidding mate, your saying that you would rather not have sam turner which would seriously cut your chances of winning a grand final than have him cause that would b unfair 2 one player that would get dropped. What a joke you should definantly have your best side out there cause u need it. I am sure that most of your side would rather have him and go the best they can
no garry nooo
15 Jul 2008, 21:54
Are u kidding mate, your saying that you would rather not have sam turner which would seriously cut your chances of winning a grand final than have him cause that would b unfair 2 one player that would get dropped. What a joke you should definantly have your best side out there cause u need it. I am sure that most of your side would rather have him and go the best they can
well this is were your wrong because even sam turner feels the same as me he said that he couldn't play in the granny if he was replacing a player that has played all year. so yer i am serious i think you have to earn your spot in the team no matter how good or shit ya are.
footy rilz
15 Jul 2008, 22:28
well this is were your wrong because even sam turner feels the same as me he said that he couldn't play in the granny if he was replacing a player that has played all year. so yer i am serious i think you have to earn your spot in the team no matter how good or shit ya are.
So basically u r saying that u would rather play without your best player. Sam Turner can think anything but i would think the coaches and rest of team would way rather him out there playing. If not your not really serious about going far this season r u. Or else u r afraid of being dropped
i wouldnt say they arnt serious, i think the point is loyalty to the players that got the team there, which is great i think. :thumbsu:
But on the other hand it would be useful to have him on the ready just in case there is an injury or someone cant play, it is still a few weeks to get to that stage yet.
Loyalty towards a club does have to work both ways.
But everyone has different opinions about this, neither is right or wrong. It depends on a lot of different circumstances.
Bunnies need to concentrate on getting there first.
surely they would make sure this kid plays the required games and then just let fate decide..
bungareepremiers06
16 Jul 2008, 10:49
hepburn had the same issue last year with adding beau ryan to the grand final side, altho never had to worry about it after they missed the grand final. i know for us it was a real concern if he played but at the same time it does seem unfair for him to play in a side that had gone without him all year.
On the flip side if its an option that gives you the best possible chance then its one worth looking at.
It'l be interesting to see what option Buninyong go for, im guessing it will be a joint decision between the leadership group and Sam himself
fatality666
16 Jul 2008, 14:13
i think that it wouldnt be unfair for sammy to play. it hasnt been his choice to play seniors and has more or less done it for the club even tho he may have had more fun playing with mate his own age.. he's trained with the 18s all year and has been a leader in our group and one of the most consistent even though he hasnt yet been let down to play in the 18s.
no garry nooo
16 Jul 2008, 19:08
i think that it wouldnt be unfair for sammy to play. it hasnt been his choice to play seniors and has more or less done it for the club even tho he may have had more fun playing with mate his own age.. he's trained with the 18s all year and has been a leader in our group and one of the most consistent even though he hasnt yet been let down to play in the 18s.
that is true he has had alot to do with the under 18's this year always there to help out so he may deserve to play but he has said that he wouldn't feel right in playing when another player misses out that has played all year but i do agree that he helps out heaps for our under 18's side
footy rilz
16 Jul 2008, 19:10
So anyway back 2 footy a couple of major games this week wif buninyong V learmonth and gordon V creswick
who does every1 expect 2 win these and who r the major players that need 2 b shut down in either game
gotheswans
16 Jul 2008, 19:43
So anyway back 2 footy a couple of major games this week wif buninyong V learmonth and gordon V creswick
who does every1 expect 2 win these and who r the major players that need 2 b shut down in either gamelearmonth v buninyong-buninyong should win but they need to shutdown aston and a few players in the midfield. learmonth need to shut down there midfeild and win more tap outs against buninyongs ruck man. gordon will be to strong but creswick must play there best if they have any chance
bomber boys
16 Jul 2008, 21:01
learmonth v buninyong-buninyong should win but they need to shutdown aston and a few players in the midfield. learmonth need to shut down there midfeild and win more tap outs against buninyongs ruck man. gordon will be to strong but creswick must play there best if they have any chance
im thinking our full back in mark tanis should beat aston pritty easy he is a skill full baclkine player along with kane gilbert and together they shoud keep our backline solid. mark is a pritty quick off the mark and he is a skill full hard worker down there for us. also do you know if learmonth have any other ruckman from bondy beacuse othewise i rwckon our ruckman could run all over him in havin two ruckman an advantage and they are both pritty fit and good ruckman
fatality666
17 Jul 2008, 14:09
learmonth v buninyong-buninyong should win but they need to shutdown aston and a few players in the midfield. learmonth need to shut down there midfeild and win more tap outs against buninyongs ruck man. gordon will be to strong but creswick must play there best if they have any chance
ill say gordon should dominate creswick i dont really rate them as that great of a team.. Must win game for bunnies we're probably the better team looking over results but we have struggled in other big games this year to our disadvantage.
footy rilz
18 Jul 2008, 21:15
Yeah i rekon that gordon should comforatably account 4 creswick as well. But buninyong learmonth should b a ripper of a game. Both sides seasons r on the line so it should b a great game. Buninyong have a few more goal kickers which will give them the edge a tough midfiels battle, hard 2 pick a winner but ill go buninyong by 7 pts
bomber boys
19 Jul 2008, 18:32
us bunny boys had a good win today was a crucial game for both teams on making finals. learmonth put the pressure on the last quater kicked a few goals was a good game. mark tanis eaily best on for us kept aston to 1 or 2 goals i think he was killing him. also alex miller played a good game
Braszell
19 Jul 2008, 19:01
yer we lost once again only started playin after the first half finished.. aston kicked three goals and was one of our best easily. i think miller from bunninyong needs to stop worrying about getting his hair messed up the pansy.
your umpire is a disgrace. how many goals did you guys get off free kicks he needs a bullet. once again this is why we need real umpired so we dont have idiots like bunninyongs out there.
overall pretty good game we played like crap till last quarter.then thats what we played like last week against hepburn
Braszell
19 Jul 2008, 19:06
what im sick of at learmonth is how the junior side of the club and the seniors are totally seperate. the senoir side of the club pretty much dont want to have anything to do with us the under18s.
there is no support from them or encouragement none of them come to our huddles to give us pointers.. for me its a joke. we are all on our own. id like to no what the situation is at other clubs with this issue or if it is an issue.
at my club its as if the under18s arent affiliated with the rest of the senior teams.
hepburn had the same issue last year with adding beau ryan to the grand final side, altho never had to worry about it after they missed the grand final.
beau had only played the one game anyway so he wouldnt have played in the granny
gotheswans
19 Jul 2008, 21:53
yer we lost once again only started playin after the first half finished.. aston kicked three goals and was one of our best easily. i think miller from bunninyong needs to stop worrying about getting his hair messed up the pansy.
your umpire is a disgrace. how many goals did you guys get off free kicks he needs a bullet. once again this is why we need real umpired so we dont have idiots like bunninyongs out there.
overall pretty good game we played like crap till last quarter.then thats what we played like last week against hepburni agree with brazell why do they umpire 13's in brat league wen its better skill at under 18s out in the country ?!?
beaufortboy223
20 Jul 2008, 00:05
overall pretty good game we played like crap till last quarter.then thats what we played like last week against hepburn
yourv always got a excuse dont ya m8 maybe ya should stop winging bout umpires and admit that yas were beatin by a better team ya say ya played like crap maybe thats cos buninyong were better than yas?
what im sick of at learmonth is how the junior side of the club and the seniors are totally seperate. the senoir side of the club pretty much dont want to have anything to do with us the under18s.
there is no support from them or encouragement none of them come to our huddles to give us pointers.. for me its a joke. we are all on our own. id like to no what the situation is at other clubs with this issue or if it is an issue.
at my club its as if the under18s arent affiliated with the rest of the senior teams.
Its called the make or break process....either make it yourself or break away from the club :D
But seriously it does differ from club to club, some do have a strong senior involvement whilst others have a stronger parent support base. I dont think the seniors have alot to do with 18s out bungaree, but they have others around to do the encouraging etc. and their results speak for themselves. (it may be different these days).
Im thinking the biggest prob out ur way is that u lack on both sides with little parent support and no senior help.
On the other hand the team do need to take some responsibility and seek out this support u need, ask the senior/ressies coaches, ask the players and ask ur parents. Put up notices in the rooms.... Otherwise nothings gunna change.
By the way not all grades in the BFL get umpires as u all may think. Often the ressies have club umps, and thats just what i know of.