View Full Version : Pearce Hanley

Pages : [1] 2

TheBrownDog
4th October 2007, 10:42
Now that he's officially signed, he gets his own roster thread.

http://gamesdevelopment.gaa.ie/images/junior_international_rules/pearce_hanley_-_13.jpg

Name: Pearce Hanley
Club: Ballaghaderreen
County: Plays for Mayo, was born in Meath.

Other Facts of Interest: He won the Ron Barassi medal two years ago for best player of the Under 17 International Rules series in 2005.

Link to Original. (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=52066)
Lions sign promising Irish junior
THE BRISBANE Lions look set to welcome the arrival of another Irish recruit, with Mayo teenager Pierce Hanley’s team manager John O’Mahony confirming that the talented young player has accepted a two-year contract from the Queensland club.

The Lions already have Colm Begley on their books.

Hanley’s imminent departure is a big blow to his county as, unlike previous Irish recruits, he was already making an impact at senior level and had played a crucial role in the county’s senior football campaign.

Speaking to Irish newspaper the Evening Herald, O’Mahony admitted that although he wished Hanley the best for his future, he couldn’t help but be disappointed at losing the young star.

“As I said so many times, he had a big future ahead of him playing for Mayo. He has come up through the ranks and starred at minor (under-18) and under-21 level,” O’Mahony said.

“You would have been looking forward to him progressing in his career, but that’s on hold certainly. Obviously we wish him the best of luck but he is a loss to us, no doubt about it.”

The news comes just weeks before the GAA and the AFL are due to meet to discuss and revival of the international rules series and the scouting issue.

However O’Mahony, who is one of the highest profile county managers in Ireland, believes there is not much the GAA can do to halt the march of young players Down Under.

“The frustrating thing from a GAA point of view is that they cannot compete with the professional game. It’s not an even playing field.”

TheBrownDog
4th October 2007, 10:45
Pearce knows where the goals are at GAA level.

dnOwEEa63EI
Mayo vs Derry

ZtHsgh2pHts
Mayo vs Cavan

TheBrownDog
4th October 2007, 10:55
A couple of quotes from GAA Boards (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?PHPSESSID=a204d7f8cd03f3113e71e03e45fe525c&topic=4027.15) about him.

All boundary slagging aside young Hanley is some footballer. Saw him first hand in the u-21 Connacht Final this year and he was (as Spectator pointed out) devastating. Big, strong, fast and skillful with great maturity and awareness. If I'm not mistaken I think he was only minor last year. Big loss to GAA but in fairness to him a professional contract in Oz is a chance of a lifetime.

He played against Cavan & Down & one of the few Mayo players to shine on both days, was on the under-21's also plays for Ballaghadeereen who are running riot in Mayo. He is what a very high percentage of Mayo fans (from what I cant tell) believe is our best & most natural forward in decades.

Grimreepah
4th October 2007, 13:36
Here is the build up to Hanleys arrival:

Hanley to hit OZ (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8275424&postcount=7)
Junior International Rules Team (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8275477&postcount=8)
Recruiting Hanley (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8275586&postcount=10)
Lions Chase Hanley Deal (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8359667&postcount=23)

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/9861/hanleyfe7.jpg

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/6065/hanleytv3.jpg

Ruse
4th October 2007, 13:45
What is his talent and potential compared to the other irish youngsters signed by the other clubs this year. Is he the best irish prospect? Also where do u think he'll play next year? Back, mid or forward?

notting18
4th October 2007, 14:05
What is his talent and potential compared to the other irish youngsters signed by the other clubs this year. Is he the best irish prospect? Also where do u think he'll play next year? Back, mid or forward?

I do not expecting him to get anywhere near AFL level in his first year. Other Irish guys have been able to, but if we go into this expecting him to do that we are setting ourselves up for a fall IMO

From the reports above, i would expect him to play forward...

The Royal Sampler
4th October 2007, 14:12
You got him, eh? Good job, looking forward to the Colm/Pierce vs. Marty/Kevin rivalry for years to come. :p :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
4th October 2007, 16:16

In terms of talent, he has been dominating at senior level at an age where most kids are playing lower grades.

Warwick
5th October 2007, 01:31
I've got a few mates over in Ireland who are fanatical Gaelic supporters. They still believe Murphy is the one that got away - was easily pick of the bunch.

They do have high wraps on Hanley though. :thumbsu: As TBD said, one of the few who were recruited from the senior leagues (may have been the first).

Quigley
5th October 2007, 23:28
I am happy to drive the bandwagon for Pierce. I am shotgun on Colm's bandwagon so there may be some synergies there that can be acheived. I do however reserve the right to relinguish the post if we draft Rioli as that bandwagon could require my full time attention earlier on.

BTW I do like Wayne although I think we should go a little bit more Ocker. Maybe "Wayno".

danielcanberra
7th November 2007, 21:20
Well, Brendan Murphy arrived today in Sydney (reported on Sports Tonight), where is Handles?

TheBrownDog
7th November 2007, 21:29
Well, Brendan Murphy arrived today in Sydney (reported on Sports Tonight), where is Handles?

Was raining all afternoon/evening here.

Training may have been cancelled.

danielcanberra
9th November 2007, 09:32
Brendan Murphy media exposure didn't take long thanks to Tadhg talking him up.

Now where is Handles? I would prefer to read about Handles. What's he like?

I expect a write up soon.

Cousin Jed
9th November 2007, 11:15
According to today's courier mail he was arriving today.

Grimreepah
9th November 2007, 15:49
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53148)

Begley's flight of fancy
4:16 PM Fri 9 November, 2007
Brought to you by Laine Clark

IRISH import Colm Begley failed to return from his homeland with any Gaelic football silverware - but he did arrive in Australia with something very valuable to the Brisbane Lions.
Begley spent his off-season break playing in Stradbally's failed bid to win the Laois County championship final.
And he flew home with the Lions' new Irish recruit Pearce Hanley.
The 18-year-old arrived in Brisbane on Friday with Begley, keen to follow in the footsteps of his travelling companion who has quickly earned a reputation in their homeland for his AFL exploits.
Known for his blistering speed and silky ball disposal for Gaelic football club Mayo, Hanley has been signed on an international rookie contract.
Hanley cited Begley and Sydney's Irish star Tadhg Kennelly as role models.
"I'm just looking to making the most of an opportunity to become a professional sportsman," a bleary eyed Hanley said.
Picking Begley's brain during the flight, Hanley received a crash course on AFL and said he was bracing himself for the speed of the game.
The 184cm, 81kg Hanley first caught Brisbane's attention when he received the Ron Barassi Medal as Ireland's best player in the third Under 17 International Rules Test at Fremantle in April, 2006.
But the Lions did not formally approach Hanley until Brisbane football manager Graeme Allan travelled to Ireland in July.
Hanley is expected to slot into half-back as he begins his AFL education.
He will meet the Lions players on Saturday and start pre-season training on Monday.
Big things are expected from Hanley after defender Begley's meteoric rise.
Begley, 21, has blown coach Leigh Matthews away due to his remarkable transformation from an amateur Gaelic footballer into an AFL professional in less than two years.
Despite only picking up an Australian football for the first time in 2006, Begley became a permanent fixture at Brisbane in 2007 and played 20 games to earn the Lions' Rookie of the Year award.
Begley may have helped kick-start Hanley's AFL education but a much richer source awaited the Irishman in Brisbane.
Hanley has temporarily moved in with Lions legend and assistant coach Craig Lambert and his family.

Grimreepah
9th November 2007, 23:42
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22731802-5003410,00.html)

AFL all Irish to recruit Pearce Hanley
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
By Jim Tucker
November 09, 2007 11:00pm

JETLAGGED Lions recruit Pearce Hanley yesterday said the AFL trail blazed by Irish countrymen Tadhg Kennelly, Marty Clarke and Colm Begley would drive him when he felt homesick.
Hanley, 18, arrived in Brisbane at breakfast time yesterday and had a Sherrin in his hands by late morning as he started coming to terms with his plunge into the unknown.
"I've never played a proper game of Aussie Rules but seeing Colm and others make it out here is massive encouragement to keep at it," the 1.84m Hanley said.
"A lot of young Irish players now think about coming over.
"For me, the fact I could concentrate fully on playing sport meant I couldn't turn down this offer from the Lions.
"I like the physical part with the tackling and the reward of a mark but it's all new so I'll find out plenty when I get to training for the first time."
Hanley, from the small dairy town of Ballaghaderreen in County Mayo, chewed the ear of Lions rookie of the year Begley on the flight from Dublin.
"Pearce is asking the same questions I did when I first arrived at the Lions," Begley said.
"Dedication and a good mindset are very important to deal with the huge learning curve of new skills and the unfamiliar bounce of the ball at high speed.
"Basically, you start from scratch so you don't bring in any bad habits.
"There is a youthful, positive atmosphere at the Lions and that's going to help a young guy like Pearce too."
Gaelic football is played with a round ball and Hanley's speed and use of the ball had him rated as one of his county's most exciting prospects.
Hanley is to live with Lions assistant coach Craig Lambert and his family while he settles into Brisbane life.

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/9919/hanleypd4.jpg

lookagoose
10th November 2007, 01:27
No doubt he has the frame for footy:thumbsu:, will fill out nicely! Sounds like he doesn't mind the physical stuff either. Interesting to see how quickly he picks up the oval ball considering the "silky skills" comments from the lions website. Looks a similar shape to Sherman and he will probably play a similar role running off half back. Leigh has a good rep of developing some very good footballers running out of the backline (CJ, Aka, Adcock, Begley!). They learn the game and accountability a lot quicker watching the footy come in, as opposed to playing forward and focusing on where to lead etc.. Looks like we're building a pretty competent bunch of half back runners/midfielders! Best of luck Pierce!:cool::thumbsu:

danielcanberra
10th November 2007, 08:05
Did Courier Mail get his name wrong? It is Pierce and not Pearce isn't it?

Looks like Handles was kitted out and then sent upstairs for a photo shoot (the cricket must have been on, otherwise it would have been the obligatory pic on the ground).

Grimreepah
11th November 2007, 00:22
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/irish-arrive-to-try-their-luck/2007/11/10/1194329570223.html)

Peace Hanley arrived in Brisbane on Friday morning and joined new teammate Colm Begley. He caught the eye of Australian recruiters playing in the under-17 International Series two years ago when he won the Ron Barassi Medal as the best player of the series. A Lions spokesman said Hanley had a similar build to Irishman Begley, who is 188 centimetres tall.
Like most of the Irish talent tried in Australia, he is said to possess "explosive pace and strong running".

Interesting that this article also spells his name Pearce (or Peace:rolleyes:)

Grimreepah
15th November 2007, 10:17
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53267)

It's all Irish to Pearce
10:39 AM Thu 15 November, 2007
for lions.com.au

The Lions’ newest recruit Pearce Hanley is the latest in a growing trend of Gaelic footballers looking to make the successful transition to the AFL.
Hanley, who hails from the small dairy town of Ballaghaderreen in County Mayo, has already begun his steep AFL learning curve after being signed by the Lions on a two-year international rookie contract.
The 18 year-old, who only arrived in Australia on Friday, wasn’t phased as he fronted to media with team mate and fellow Irishman Colm Begley for the first time prior to Wednesday’s training session.
"I've never played a proper game of Aussie Rules but seeing Colm and others make it out here is massive encouragement to keep at it," Hanley said.

The sport is not entirely foreign to the Ballaghaderreen Gaelic player who regularly watched his homeland heroes play in the AFL on television back in Ireland.

He also played in the hybrid 2006 Under 17 International Rules Series in Fremantle where he first shot to prominence by winning the Ron Barassi Medal as Ireland’s best player.

"I like the physical part of football with the tackling and the fact that you get rewarded for taking a mark,” he said. “But it's all new and I'm sure to find out plenty more during training.”

Touted as a good user of the ball with excellent pace, Hanley showcased his skills with the oval ball for the first time at Monday’s training session at Churchie.

“Sometimes when I bounce the ball it will come back up to me. But the next time I try it won’t and I end up running after it,” Hanley laughed. “But I feel like I’m getting used to it.”

Fortunately, Hanley has an ally in compatriot Begley, who was in a similar position two years ago.

Begley arrived in Brisbane at the end of 2005 with a Gaelic football background and only a very basic understanding of the sport. His extraordinary development has seen him play 21 senior matches in his two seasons with the club.

It is no surprise that Begley has been the perfect sounding board for Hanley as he tries to prepare for transition from Gaelic football to the AFL.
"I have basically mentioned that dedication and a good mindset are very important to deal with the huge learning curve of new skills and the unfamiliar bounce of the ball at high speed,” Begley said.
“When I first starter, I found that the biggest challenges were definitely the speed of the game and the fact that you really can’t afford to make any mistakes.”
“But the good thing about it is that you get to start from scratch and you don’t bring in any bad habits with you,” Begley said.

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/3895/hanleyte3.jpg

Grimreepah
15th November 2007, 10:24
Handles was there. Was struggling a bit towards the end of the session (he looked buggered ) but I was very impressed. His handballing skills are good on both sides, and you can tell he wont run away from the contact. I took a few photos of him and of a few others so I will share if I can get them uploaded.

Pearce is definitely struggling at the moment. Don't know whether it is the heat or just the amount of work. He will get used to it - I wouldn't worry at all. It's been a pretty piss-poor summer so far. Will be interesting when it actually gets hot.

http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/6963/hanley1et5.jpg

http://img144.imageshack.us/img144/9643/hanley2kg0.jpg

http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/7011/hanleyng6.jpg

LionPride
15th November 2007, 10:36
However his name's spelt, how cute is his accent!
I've always had a soft spot for Irish, even though I could barely understand what he was saying! (Something about a pointy ball, chasing after it and the boys having a laugh!)
Can't wait to see him play :-)

TheBrownDog
15th November 2007, 12:32
So what is his name? Pierce or Pearce?

Appears to be Pearce from all the correct sources I've seen.

Can a mod please change the title? Some douchebag got it wrong when he started the thread.

Grimreepah
15th November 2007, 12:53
Appears to be Pearce from all the correct sources I've seen.

The Irish articles seem to call him Pierce and the Aussie articles call him Pearce.

TheBrownDog
15th November 2007, 12:57
The Irish articles seem to call him Pierce and the Aussie articles call him Pearce.

Hmm, you are right.

This is quite a baffling situation...

Quigley
15th November 2007, 16:03
However his name's spelt, how cute is his accent!
I've always had a soft spot for Irish, even though I could barely understand what he was saying! (Something about a pointy ball, chasing after it and the boys having a laugh!)
Can't wait to see him play :-)
Watching on Sports Tonight last night I was thinking that subtitles would have been handy.

awesome_assassin
16th November 2007, 06:53
I was trying to watch the thing on the tellie about him the other day and the Mrs kept telling me to shut up so she could hear his accent:p

Maybe she might watch more footy games this year with me eh:thumbsu:

Sherminator.
16th November 2007, 12:14
I bet Ireland hate us :p

TheBrownDog
16th November 2007, 12:17
I bet Ireland hate us :p

Most of what I've read on GAA forums etc is that they are disappointed to lose their most talented players, which is completely understandable.

Most of the Irish supporters realise that its a good opportunity for the players, and I get the impression that underneath the disappointment, there is a bit of pride to see players from their county making it in our game.

danielcanberra
21st November 2007, 21:37
Some detail that is easily overlooked (just above Handles' head)

http://img701.mytextgraphics.com/photolava/2007/11/21/00pierce-48kqf8423.jpg

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/3895/hanleyte3.jpg

TheBrownDog
21st November 2007, 21:40
Some detail that is easily overlooked (just above Handles' head)

http://img701.mytextgraphics.com/photolava/2007/11/21/00pierce-48kqf8423.jpg

Haha, must admit I did not notice that originally.

notting18
21st November 2007, 22:03
Haha, must admit I did not notice that originally.
I saw it the first time i saw the picture, but just assumed it was Begley being Begley...lol

POBT
30th November 2007, 14:58
Saw a post elsewhere that said that Hanley's name appeared on the rookie list on today's list lodgement. Can't find confirmation though.

TheBrownDog
30th November 2007, 15:02
Saw a post elsewhere that said that Hanley's name appeared on the rookie list on today's list lodgement. Can't find confirmation though.

I wonder how they spelt his first name.

Cousin Jed
30th November 2007, 15:37

I wonder how they spelt his first name.

Pearce (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=53954)

The Flying Belgian
3rd December 2007, 12:29
Admin note: spelling corrected in thread title

Grimreepah
11th December 2007, 10:09
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=53704)

Hanley, who hails from the small dairy town of Ballaghaderreen in County Mayo, has been training with the Lions since he arrived in Australia last month.

Touted as a good user of the ball with excellent pace, Hanley played in the hybrid 2006 Under 17 International Rules Series in Fremantle where he first shot to prominence by winning the Ron Barassi Medal as Ireland’s best player.

He joins compatriot Colm Begley as the second listed player at the Lions to have played Gaelic football in Ireland.

Officially now a Lion being taken with pick 38 (third round pick) in the 2007 Rookie Draft (http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=54164).

scottymac
16th December 2007, 19:46
I think I saw Pearce Hanley at one of the recent training sessions at Coorparoo, he was kicking the ball up over his head and catching it behind his back... maybe he is quite skilled already with the oval ball. I hope he gets a run next year.

BigCat2
24th December 2007, 19:55
Does anybody know his date of birth?

Grimreepah
24th December 2007, 22:03
Does anybody know his date of birth?

Rookie Draft Profile (http://www.lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=53704)

NAB AFL Rookie Draft round-three selection
Name: Pearce Hanley.
DOB: 15/11/1988
Height: 184cm
Weight: 78kg
Recruited From: COUNTY MAYO - IRELAND
Position: Midfielder
Bio: Super quick prospect who was outstanding for Ireland at U17 level in 2006.

BigCat2
24th December 2007, 22:40
Thanks Grim. :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
24th January 2008, 00:12
Schmiddy and Handles lock horns in the 2006 U17 International Rules series.

http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/4873/3828372202ecmq6.jpg

It would have never entered the minds of these gentlemen at the time that they would one day be teammates.

Funny how things work out.

BigCat2
30th January 2008, 14:48
Hanley's quiet homage to St Patrick

http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=54833

THE rigours of an AFL pre-season prevented Pearce Hanley from fully partaking in his first Australia Day and they are poised to limit his St Patrick’s Day celebrations as well.

But the 19-year-old Irish rookie wouldn’t have it any other way.

Hanley, who arrived at the Gabba in November, enjoyed a quiet Australia Day, with a low-key barbecue at the home of fellow Irishman Colm Begley.

And it is likely to be a similar story when Ireland’s corresponding day of celebration rolls around on March 17.

"We’re not allowed to go out and have a drink until after the intra-club match," Hanley told lions.com.au.

"The closest thing we have [to Australia Day] is St Patrick’s Day and normally that’s a pretty big day but, with it being so close to the start of the season, it won’t be this year.

"But that’s okay, I’m happy enough to be training hard and doing the right things."

If Hanley’s St Patrick’s Day isn’t as boisterous as it might usually be, at least he can take solace in numbers – and family.

Aside from teammate Begley, his parents will be making the trek Down Under to see how their son is faring with his AFL adventure.

Hanley freely admits that time spent away from family and friends has made for the toughest adjustment in his new life as a Lion.

"Being away from my family has been the hardest thing – usually you’d always have that support from your parents," Hanley explained.

"It was probably a bit easier when I first came out here, because I knew I’d be going home for Christmas in five or six weeks.

"When I came back after Christmas I realised that it was for the long haul and that I wouldn’t be seeing family and friends for a long time – and that was very hard.

"But my parents are coming over in March and they’ll be here for St Patrick’s Day, so that will be great."

Hanley is working to come to grips with the match simulation drills that have begun appearing during Lions training sessions.

As you might expect, this is no small challenge for someone yet to actually play his first match of Australian Football.

He concedes there are times when he finds himself running around but not quite sure in which direction to head next.

"For the last couple of weeks that’s pretty much all I’ve been feeling," he laughed.

"Luckily I’ve been able to ask the boys when I’ve been confused and they’ve been able to help out."

"Having Colm around has been a great help. Quite often he’ll see me doing something the wrong way at training and let me know what I should be doing."

Hanley, from County Mayo, shares a house with midfielder Cheynee Stiller, and believes there is nothing to be lost by aiming high during his first year as a Lion.

"I’m hoping I might be able to a play an AFL game during my first year," Hanley said.

"I’m not going to be upset if I don’t quite get there but I think I need to aim high and go for it.

"The biggest thing for me is just to keep working and keep improving to the point that I can play senior football."

danielcanberra
30th January 2008, 16:42
He concedes there are times when he finds himself running around but not quite sure in which direction to head next.

"For the last couple of weeks that’s pretty much all I’ve been feeling," he laughed.

"Luckily I’ve been able to ask the boys when I’ve been confused and they’ve been able to help out."

Oh Handles! There are still heaps of well seasoned players who still can't read the play.

Half the swearing in the stands is directed at those players. The other half to the umpires... ;)

Grimreepah
7th February 2008, 22:22
Link
(http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/20080209133842488)
Irish Barassi medallist talks of Gaelic and Aussie Rules similarities and differences

Monday, February 11 2008 @ 10:38 AM EST
Contributed by: Peter P
Europe

Pearce Hanley is the Brisbane Lions' latest Irish recruit and already is being favourably compared to Colm Begley who played 19 games last year for the Lions.

Hanley is interviewed by the Queensland Courier Mail talking of his homesickness for County Mayo in Ireland's west and the challenges he has had adapting to the oval ball.

He makes the point that the only real challenges are adapting to the oval ball and tackling, but that otherwise Gaelic football and Aussie Rules "are nearly the same".

Hanley was the Barassi medallist as best player in the 2006 Under-17 International Rules series. The loss of such top young talent from Gaelic Football has been cited as one reason for abandoning the under age series by the GAA, and losing Hanley would have been a particularly painful blow.

On that score, GAA fans can console themselves with some of Hanley's comments - that returning to Ireland a better footballer and playing for his club and county in the GAA remain his long term ambition. However it is early days and whether he will still think that way once he tastes AFL finals action and other attractions of the land down under remains to be seen.

Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23177022-10389,00.html)

Hanley learning fast
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
February 07, 2008 11:00pm

IN footballing terms, Pearce Hanley is at primary school. In fact, 12-year-old Townsville West pupils Eve Miller and John-Henry Hero have more experience of AFL.
But Hanley, the Ron Barrassi medallist as the best player in the last Under-17s International Rules series between Australia and Ireland, is learning fast.
Lions coach Leigh Matthews thinks the 19-year-old from the dairy farming village of Ballaghaderreen in County Mayo might kick the ball slightly better than fellow Irishman Colm Begley did after his first pre-season campaign.
Long-term assistant coach Craig Lambert cannot split the pair when it comes to kicking, but suggests Hanley's "hands are just a bit cleaner in traffic".
That's fair praise when you consider Begley played 19 games last season and Hanley gratefully accepts it.
"It's been very difficult learning a new sport, especially being away from home because I've always had my parents' opinions from watching me playing games," he said.
"At the start it was tough just learning how to use the ball, bouncing it and kicking it and I was struggling with that but I've got the hang of that now.
"Now we're going into match practice and it's just learning new rules and where to go and where not to be."
Hanley is not getting too caught up in the hype over his progress because he believes very little separates Gaelic Football and AFL.
"Apart from the ball and tackling it's not that different at all," he said. "Tactically and the way you play the game it is nearly the same."
Instead of new rules and getting used to an oval shaped ball, the biggest factor facing Irish imports is homesickness and Hanley is not exempt.
"The boys from interstate find it hard when they get home sick but every so often they get to travel home and it's only really a couple of hours in flight," he said.
"Mine would be a 24-hour flight and that's tough.
"Lately I've been a bit homesick because I know now I'm in for the long haul, but it's just a matter of dealing with it."
Hanley hopes to stay beyond his current two-year International Rookie contract with the Lions and make a career in the AFL.
But if that does not eventuate, the move to Brisbane has already been a success because it will make him a better Gaelic footballer when he eventually does return home.
"It was always going to be a success, even if I don't start playing games," he said.
"Because I'll go back stronger and fitter and more experienced."
And no matter how well he goes in the AFL, his last game of football will be back with his mates.
"I don't think it will ever be my number one passion," he said. "That would be back home winning a title for my club."

http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/8820/hanleycb9.jpg

POBT
8th February 2008, 11:52
John-Henry Hero

Does this make the top 5 coolest names ever?

LuckyLuke
22nd February 2008, 18:36
If today (North vs Lions, preseason game) was Pearce's first game, then i like the cut of his jig.:D;)

Seriously though, he is quick and i could see him running out of the backline and kicking it long to Browny/Braddles for us.

xplo
22nd February 2008, 19:00
If today (North vs Lions, preseason game) was Pearce's first game, then i like the cut of his jig.:D;)

'Jib'. A jib is a triangular staysail set ahead of the foremost mast of a sailing boat.

But, yeah, he's got a good size and moves really well, doesn't he? Looks heavy but doesn't move heavy.

TheBrownDog
22nd February 2008, 19:55
'Jib'. A jib is a triangular staysail set ahead of the foremost mast of a sailing boat.

I think 'jig' was intentional. A bit of irish humour xplo.

LIONOFZION
22nd February 2008, 20:48
I think 'jig' was intentional. A bit of irish humour xplo.

I love these icons - a picture tells a thousand words :) :confused: ;)

Grimreepah
22nd February 2008, 20:59
Hanley spent the first half on the bench, and played the second half in the back pocket. Was very impressive, grabbed the ball and ran and bounced on a few occasions.

http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/8199/hanleyzs4.jpg

Sounds like he did well in his first competitive hitout. Anyone else think he looks like Paul Williams in a Lions guernsey?

LIONOFZION
22nd February 2008, 21:13
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/8199/hanleyzs4.jpg

Sounds like he did well in his first competitive hitout. Anyone else think he looks like Paul Williams in a Lions guernsey?

Definitely a resemblance there - just taller - I'd be happy if he turned out nearly as good as Williams :)

rebelcounty
23rd February 2008, 06:38
Don't know if ye've seen it yet but..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mUc5U_Uu2E

mish33
23rd February 2008, 11:10
Gave away a silly 50 early-on for stepping over the mark that resulted in a goal, but definitely seemed to adjust to the pace and physicality of the game pretty quickly. Seems like he's got a handle on the running bounce too :)

Quigley
23rd February 2008, 13:57
For a young guy just taking up the professional game he has some nice size about him. Along with Proud, Pearce might be adding some physicality to our play through the middle in the not too distant future.

TheBrownDog
23rd February 2008, 14:56
Don't know if ye've seen it yet but..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mUc5U_Uu2E

Hadn't seen it, great video. Thanks for the link. :thumbsu:

rebelcounty
24th February 2008, 06:17
Ya the the Irish lads can match yere lads in every nearly area of the field with endurance and such before they even get there. But the one area where they struggle in is the weights, even in the video Hanley was struggling with the weights while Begley wasn't as much. Besides the whole being able to play the game part we match ye in every other area and better ye in some, except the weights.

TheBrownDog
24th February 2008, 16:28
Ya the the Irish lads can match yere lads in every nearly area of the field with endurance and such before they even get there. But the one area where they struggle in is the weights, even in the video Hanley was struggling with the weights while Begley wasn't as much. Besides the whole being able to play the game part we match ye in every other area and better ye in some, except the weights.

Lets not get carried away.

rebelcounty
25th February 2008, 08:05
Lets not get carried away.

Ya, maybe, but still, besides physicality, (and obviously the knowledge of the game) name one thing that we don't outdo or at least match ye in.

Grimreepah
25th February 2008, 08:29
Ya, maybe, but still, besides physicality, (and obviously the knowledge of the game) name one thing that we don't outdo or at least match ye in.

Who are you comparing? The entire Gaelic football league or just the elite players/athletes who are coming to Oz? It's only natural that the Australian scouts are targeting great athletes, because there's not much else to go on (ie. they don't play footy).

Anyway I don't think comparing nations and claiming superiority is going to lead anywhere. Lets just say Ireland has some terrific athletes and so do we.

black_hart
25th February 2008, 11:04

Didn't we beat ye lot like rented mules;) So much so that ye lot cancelled the competition.

TheBrownDog
25th February 2008, 11:07

Melees.

:p

rebelcounty
26th February 2008, 01:30
Didn't we beat ye lot like rented mules;) So much so that ye lot cancelled the competition.

BEAT (literally) different game. I said beside the actually game. I mean like endurance, coordination..etc.

xplo
26th February 2008, 08:00
BEAT (literally) different game. I said beside the actually game. I mean like endurance, coordination..etc.

Athletically, there should be no reason why the best irish kids can't compete really well, and that's been proven by what we've seen in the last few years. The adjustment time is always going to be the question mark for each kid.

Begley's adjustment has been amazing and Marty Clark's was beyond belief. On the other hand, Taigh took a couple of years and Sentanta took over three.

That's the true talent these recent kids have shown. You take a great athlete and give him long enough and he'll become a great golfer or soccer player or runner. Clark becoming a rock solid contributor in his first season was gobsmacking.

But it remains to be seen whether Clark's first season will become a freak event or the norm as Dyas, Murphy and Hanley get into the coming season.

Hanley certainly made a great impression in his first hitout.

danielcanberra
14th March 2008, 06:17
Apparently, Pearce still doesn't have a team nickname.

I called him 'Handles' at the Victorian family day, and he responded, but it just didn't seem right. It's good for short-hand here though. Hmmm

P-E-A-R-C-E (6 letters) vs H-A-N-D-L-E-S (7 letters)

I understand some of the Brisbane crowd are calling him Brosnan.

I think I'll just call him Pearce.

Cara_Cougar #16
14th March 2008, 11:57
He played for club named mayo? Not being mean or anything but isnt that what you put on you're sandwiches? :p:p:p:p

TheBrownDog
14th March 2008, 12:37
He played for club named mayo? Not being mean or anything but isnt that what you put on you're sandwiches? :p:p:p:p

Actually Mayo is the name of the county his is from (and represented at County level)... his club was Ballaghaderreen. Quite a mouthful.

Cara_Cougar #16
14th March 2008, 20:33
Actually Mayo is the name of the county his is from (and represented at County level)... his club was Ballaghaderreen. Quite a mouthful.

LOL yeah

chopperduck
14th March 2008, 21:15

maybe call him whopper, they are a mouthful of mayo :D

lookagoose
16th March 2008, 11:17
Have heard Pearce has a nice bit of mungrel about him, loves the tough stuff! Is ahead of Colm development wise which is a good sign considering Colm didn't take too long.

Grimreepah
27th April 2008, 04:17
Link (http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Other-sports/2008/04/23/GAA-Begley/?facets/sport-space/great-britain-locale/gaa/)

Begley backs Hanley for Rules glory
by SetantaSports.com Staff
23 April 2008

Brisbane Lions star Colm Begley is backing Pearse Hanley to make a name for himself in Australian Rules Football.
Hanley, 19, made the switch ‘Down Under’ last summer and is currently sharing a house with fellow Rules convert Begley and another Lions player, Cheynee Stiller.
And while his compatriot is still getting to grips with the game, Begley believes that the Mayo teenager is capable of great things in Aussie Rules.
"He's doing amazingly well," former Laois footballer Begley told the Irish Times. "He's a talented footballer, a talented athlete, he's very fast and his skills - he's ahead of me where I was at this stage. He's just adapted well.”

http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/6646/hanleydk6.jpg

danielcanberra
27th April 2008, 08:30
Pierce, Pearce and now Pearse?

Will the real Handles please stand up?

mish33
27th April 2008, 11:43
Link (http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Other-sports/2008/04/23/GAA-Begley/?facets/sport-space/great-britain-locale/gaa/)

Handles is a gun! Looks like their blooding him as another mid-sized running defender. There's a passage of play on one of the aflqtube games where he runs straight through the guts, does a couple of one-twos and thumps it long and low to full-forward. just blew the other mob away:thumbsu:

he doesn't mind the agro either :D

Chasing the Dream
27th April 2008, 17:48
Showed plenty early on today in the reserves before going off injured. Did not reappear after half time.

Looked like a leg injury. Not sure of the damage.

Grimreepah
17th June 2008, 03:16
This (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%2520A-E/Bris_BegleyFanPomona_246.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx%3FnewsId%3D59420&h=316&w=246&sz=23&hl=en&start=17&tbnid=98YFTbogPDh1kM:&tbnh=117&tbnw=91&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dcolm%2Bbegley%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DG) is an article from a month ago:

Lions' Irishmen get a taste of the country
Simon White
12:02 PM Sun 11 May, 2008

THE WEATHER is warmer, dense bushland borders one side of the field, and the rules are slightly different – but Brisbane Lions' Irishmen Colm Begley and Pearce Hanley say country footy isn't all that different from the grass roots level back home.On Saturday, the two international rookies made the trek up Bruce Highway to Pomona, 166km north of Brisbane, as part of the AFL's Community Football Weekend.
The pair took in a hard-fought match between Pomona and Sunshine Coast rivals Nambour, and enjoyed what they saw.
"It's definitely different to the AFL, but it's good to see where it all comes from – the roots of the game," Begley said.
"When I got here, the first couple of people I ran into were telling me all about the 35-year history of the club. They haven't managed to win a grand final in that time, but they still loving playing the game, and you can see the camaraderie.
"It reminds me very much of back home in a lot of ways. It's a small ground with a small clubhouse, but that's matched by people with a lot of passion."
While Begley is into his third year of Australian life, Hanley only arrived at the Gabba late last year and is still adjusting to the Queensland climate and the “new" game.
"Me and the sun usually don't match – but this is great," Hanley said.
"I had to make sure I put the sunscreen on before I came out here. The winter weather here is actually better than summer back home
“I've been carrying a football around the whole time just to get used to things, but I'm still learning about the game.
"The first few games I was just following my man and didn't know where to go. A couple of the lads shouted to me to get out of the way, which is pretty hard when you don't know what's going on.
"I'm just concentrating on sticking to my man and keeping my mouth shut!"
As for the standard of the State Association Division 3 North clash? Well, Begley hopes to one day replicate the longevity of some of veterans still running around in 25C temperatures.
"It's tough out there – some big fellas and a lot of hard hitting," Begley said.
"I probably expected that, but some of the guys are really good players as well. A few young kids have got talent, and there are also a few men over 50 running around as much as I do in a game."

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/4492/hanleyvx4.jpg

Grimreepah
25th July 2008, 23:05
Link (http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Other-sports/2008/07/24/GAA-Hanley-vows-to-remain-a-Lion/?facets/sport-space/great-britain-locale/gaa/)

Hanley vows to remain a Lion
Setanta Sports
by Brian Murphy
24 July 2008

Former Mayo underage sensation Pierce Hanley has vowed to make himself a permanent fixture with the Brisbane Lions, despite suffering from acute homesickness in his first few weeks at the AFL giants.
Hanley joined Laois native Colm Begley at the Lions last year and has already been earmarked by officials at the club as a potential star in the making.
However, Hanley is aware that success is not guaranteed in the AFL and admitted that the option to return home is always open to him.
Cork defender Michael Shields recently cut his losses with Carlton and is back training with the Rebels this week.
In the mean time, Hanley is hoping that he will be allowed to come home and play for Mayo in the AFL off-season, a dream he can only realise if John O’Mahony’s men make the All-Ireland final on September 21.
"When I got to Brisbane I was homesick but after my parents came out for two weeks at Easter, things got easier," Hanley said in an Evening Herald interview.
"I feel like I'm coping okay now and I want to stay in the AFL to have a long career with the Lions.
"I've got nothing to lose by leaving the GAA. I can always go back if things don't work out so I can't see myself going home for a long time.
"I do miss playing Gaelic football but I can hopefully play for Mayo in the Aussie Rules off-season.”
Despite all the projections of doom that have attended the establishment of an AFL scouting networks in Ireland in recent weeks, Hanley has dismissed suggestions that a mass exodus of Gaelic football talent Down Under will take place.
"I can't see dozens and dozens of GAA players coming out here because it's very tough to adapt to Aussie Rules from Gaelic football but nobody should blame anyone who wants to try," he added.

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/6219/hanleypn6.jpg

Grimreepah
26th July 2008, 07:21
Link (http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaelic-football/hanley-fixes-sights-on-a-return-1438793.html)

Hanley fixes sights on a return
Herald.ie
By Ahmer Khokhar
Wednesday July 23 2008

Mayo teenager Pierce Hanley has set his sights on a temporary GAA comeback during the Aussie Rules off-season in September.
Ballaghaderreen-born Hanley, who won the Ron Barassi medal as the standout player of the 2006 U-17 International Rules for Ireland against Australia, sent shockwaves through GAA circles when he joined former Laois defender Colm Begley as the Brisbane Lions second Irish recruit last year.
After an encouraging start to his Aussie Rules career in the Lions reserve team squad in February, Hanley suffered a serious hamstring injury which put paid to his chances of making a senior team debut this year.
But with his injury problems finally behind him Hanley has shown plenty to suggest he could make it as an elite AFL player and Lions recruiting manager Graeme Allan wasted no time in branding him a "special talent".
"When I got to Brisbane I was homesick but after my parents came out for two weeks at Easter, things got easier," Hanley told the Evening Herald.
"I feel like I'm coping okay now and I want to stay in the AFL to have a long career with the Lions.
"I've got nothing to lose by leaving the GAA. I can always go back if things don't work out so I can't see myself going home for a long time.
"I do miss playing Gaelic football but I can hopefully play for Mayo in the Aussie Rules off-season.
BOLSTER
What the involvement of John O'Mahony's beaten Connacht finalists will be during that period remains to be seen but he would certainly be welcomed back to bolster his home club.
"I've got an awesome opportunity to build a career as a professional sportsman in the AFL and I definitely made the right decision to come out here."
Hanley expects Laois teenager Conor Meredith to join him and Begley as the AFL's tenth Irish player later this year but rejects suggestions of a GAA player exodus to the professional world of Aussie Rules.
"I can't see dozens and dozens of GAA players coming out here because it's very tough to adapt to Aussie Rules from Gaelic football but nobody should blame anyone who wants to try," he said.

http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/3306/hanleywf4.jpg
Enjoying life: Pierce Hanley in action for the Mayo under-21 team last year

BigCat2
26th July 2008, 10:54
Hanley expects Laois teenager Conor Meredith to join him and Begley as the AFL's tenth Irish player later this year

:thumbsu:

Grimreepah
21st August 2008, 00:43
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24214461-10389,00.html)

Lions ready to call up raw Irish rookie Pearce Hanley
By Ben Dorries
August 21, 2008 12:00am

THE Brisbane Lions are set to spring their biggest selection surprise of the season by blooding Irish rookie Pearce Hanley on Saturday against Carlton.
In one of the most tantalising gambles in Lions history, the 19-year-old former Gaelic footballer from the dairy farming village of Ballaghaderreen in County Mayo is poised to be pitched into the fray at the Gabba as Brisbane fights to keep its season alive.

Hanley would become the second Irishman to play for the Lions and follow in the footsteps of his housemate Colm Begley, who could be the player to miss out for his countryman.

Hanley has trained with the senior side this week and coach Leigh Matthews last night confirmed he was in the frame for selection.

Matthews is an unabashed fan of the youngster who has shown skills more impressive than much more seasoned players.

Hanley last night indicated he felt like he was nearing selection.

"I would like to think I'm close to getting a game, but we will just have to wait and see what happens," he said.

"I have picked up on the basics of the game pretty quick but I am on a learning curve and I have still been making a mistake or two playing in the reserves.

"I have been mainly playing in the defence since I came over here but I was actually tried out on the wing last weekend and I really enjoyed it."

The Lions are set to lodge papers with the AFL to get the international rookie-contracted player elevated to the senior list and it is understood the request will be granted.

Hanley, whose hand skills have been rated above those of Begley, is still learning the game but the Lions are desperate to see him in action before the end of the season.

He seems set to play against Carlton, most likely across halfback or on the wing, but would be an almost certain starter a week later (against Sydney) if the Lions crash to the Blues on Saturday.

Hanley, first spotted by Lions recruiting manager Graeme Allan who last year travelled to Ireland to watch him play, has impressed everyone at the Lions with his skill.

The teenager, a Ron Barassi medallist as the best player in the last under-17s International Rules series, has made friends quickly in Brisbane.

But he admits his main problem has been adjusting to life a world away from his family and friends in the quiet Irish village where he was raised.

"I have definitely had some problems with homesickness but I am doing my best to get over that," Hanley said.

"I live with Colm and Cheynee Stiller and they have been great to me. Colm has really taken me under his wing and helped me with what to expect in AFL."

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/3549/hanleyyi5.jpg
Lions' Irish rookie Pearce Hanley could get a game against Carlton on Saturday.

If this happens Hanley will be our 7th debutante behind Henderson, Polkinghorne, Hawksley, Collier, Dalziell and Clouston.

Ruse
21st August 2008, 00:58
Damn it doesn't take all that long for these kids to adapt to a new game nowadays. Congrats on the kid.

TheBrownDog
21st August 2008, 01:04
Was sensational against Broadbeach on the weekend, those who havent had the chance to see him yet may be in for a bit of a surprise.

He's better than Begley was at this stage of his career.

He's a solid size but runs like a gazelle.

Tear it up Pearce!

rebelcounty
21st August 2008, 02:39
He was a great footballer, great lad, hopefully he'll do well. Looks like we'll have our first pair of Irish lads playing together.

For what it's worth Pearce has blistering pace, very skillful as well, but that was with our round ball.

Delighted for him though. Hope he does well.

Grimreepah
21st August 2008, 14:13
Link (http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/20080821105323765)

Hanley's elevation likely
World Footy News
Thursday, August 21 2008 @ 11:20 AM
Contributed by: Troy Thompson

The Brisbane Lions were able to fast track Colm Begley (http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/20060824103639910) to AFL football in what seemed like an impossibly short amount of time. Now it looks like they have done it again with Pearce Hanley (http://www.lions.com.au/TheClub/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/5189/Default.aspx?playerid=18458&typeid=1). And the word from those that have watched his form with the Suncoast Lions this season is that he is better by both foot and hand than Begley. The Lions would be keen to give the homesick Irishman a taste of the big time to focus on his career in his adopted sport, but selection would not be a token effort. The Lions are pushing to make the finals and have applied to elevate the international rookie to the senior list, possibly to play as soon as this Saturday against Carlton.

The Courier Mail reported (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24214461-10389,00.html) that Hanley has trained with the senior side this week and coach Leigh Matthews last night confirmed he was in the frame for selection. "I would like to think I'm close to getting a game, but we will just have to wait and see what happens," he said. "I have been mainly playing in the defence since I came over here but I was actually tried out on the wing last weekend and I really enjoyed it."

Hanley’s fast tracked appearance and that previously of Begley would also have to give some confidence to fellow Irishman Conor Meredith (http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php?story=20080713002306146&query=Meredith) that he could also have a future with the Lions in the AFL.

Grimreepah
21st August 2008, 17:23
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=66005)

Hanley earns senior call-up
4:32 PM Thu 21 August, 2008

Irishman Pearce Hanley will make his AFL debut this Saturday night against Carlton at the Gabba – less than 10 months since arriving in Australia to embark on football career with the Lions.

Anthony Corrie has also been recalled to the team following an impressive seven-goal haul for the Suncoast Lions last weekend.

Second year midfielder Albert Proud and Hanley’s fellow countryman Colm Begley have both been omitted.

Hanley, who hails from the small dairy town of Ballaghadereen in County Mayo, hadn’t touched an Australian Rules football until he arrived in Brisbane in November last year as an International Rookie.

The solidly built 19 year-old has been impressive for the Suncoast Lions reserves side for much of this season and earned his call-up following a best-on-ground display playing on a wing against Broadbeach last Saturday.

Hanley has been temporarily elevated to the Club’s senior list in place of ruckman Matthew Leuenberger who is currently on the long-term injury list.

He becomes the Lions’ seventh debutante this season and only the second Irish player to ever be selected for a senior match with the Club.

The full Lions team list is

B: Joel Macdonald (26), Daniel Merrett (21), Joel Patfull (24)
HB: Justin Sherman (11), Jason Roe (29), Ashley McGrath (9)
C: Bradd Dalziell (34), Simon Black (20), Jed Adcock (7)
HF: Michael Rischitelli (35), Jonathan Brown (16), Matthew Moody (10)
F: Rhan Hooper (33), Daniel Bradshaw (36), Anthonie Corrie (18)
Foll: Jamie Charman (19), Luke Power (6), Jared Brennan (17)
Int: Pearce Hanley (42), Travis Johnstone (4), James Hawksley (12), Robert Copeland (30)

Emerg: Tim Notting (8), Troy Selwood (28), Lachlan Henderson (14)

IN: Anthony Corrie, Pearce Hanley

OUT: Colm Begley (omit), Albert Proud (omit)

NEW: Pearce Hanley (Ballaghadereen, Mayo – Ireland)

Good luck Handles:thumbsu:

Lehmo87
21st August 2008, 21:41
Good luck, Hanley:thumbsu:

I don't know much about him so I hope I'm pleasantly surprised by a good performance by the young lad.

acuguy
21st August 2008, 22:10
He will surprise many because he is a monster unit in the absolute making, he is very white! The kid can play! I don't think there will be as many panic possessions as Begley has had recently.

Grimreepah
22nd August 2008, 00:56
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24220332-10389,00.html)

Lions choose rookie Pearce Hanley over Colm Begley
By Ben Dorries
August 21, 2008 12:00am

THE luck of the Irish smiled on rookie Pearce Hanley and deserted his housemate Colm Begley at the selection table last night.
The Lions have rolled the selection dice by pitchforking 19-year-old Hanley into battle as they scrap to keep their season afloat against Carlton at the Gabba tomorrow night.

Hanley, from the dairy farming village of Ballaghaderreen, will start off the interchange bench and be deployed primarily in the backline after being elevated to the senior list.

The teenager with explosive pace, who lists his favourite foods as his grandmother's cabbage, bacon and potatoes, has impressed coach Leigh Matthews with his quick learning and his savvy ball skills in his first year in the game.

"I have picked up on the basics of the game pretty quick but I am on a learning curve and I have still been making a mistake or two playing in the reserves," he said.

Hanley, who earlier this week felt he was nearing selection, had mixed feelings as he was congratulated by teammates last night.

The 83kg whippet was delighted by his own call-up but had to console his housemate Begley who received the chop.

Hanley credits Begley with helping him adjust to life in Australia, beating homesickness and learning the intricacies of the AFL.

But Matthews felt there was no room for two fresh-faced Irishmen, with similar skills, in the Brisbane side and plumped for the untried Hanley in a game the Lions must win to keep their season alive.

Hanley received his call-up after being temporarily elevated to the senior list in place of beanstalk ruckman Matthew Leuenberger, who is on the long-term injury list.

http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/7508/hanleyfd2.jpg

lecca
22nd August 2008, 02:18
i just wanna wish pierce all the best in his 1st game.although im a west coast supporter i take a keen interest in all the irish boys and hope they do well,hopefully he will be a 200 game player for the lions.All the best to the lad and hopefully he does well.Good luck Pierce.:thumbsu:

The Flying Belgian
22nd August 2008, 10:13
I remember being stunned at Begley's progress after his first pre-season and then at the start of this year being floored by Pearce's progress after only a few weeks with an oval ball. Really looking forward to this game for his debut alone.

xplo
22nd August 2008, 12:52
Yeah, it'll be a nice memory to take away from my first visit to the Gabba. Give 'em stick, Pearce!

blynd_freddie
22nd August 2008, 13:30
I know the Irish are renowned for their sense of humour, I just hope I have not been led up the country path with the following phrase.

Ádh na nÉireannach tá tú Handles!! :thumbsu:

I believe/hope it is Irish Gaelic for luck of the Irish to you.

TheBrownDog
22nd August 2008, 13:34
I know the Irish are renowned for their sense of humour, I just hope I have not been led up the country path with the following phrase.

Ádh na nÉireannach tá tú Handles!! :thumbsu:

I believe/hope it is Irish Gaelic for luck of the Irish to you.

It roughly translated to "keep your hands off my whiskey you protestant bastard".

blynd_freddie
22nd August 2008, 14:04
It roughly translated to "keep your hands off my whiskey you protestant bastard".

hahahahahahaha,

and that whiskey would be “uisge poitin” or poteen and… sshhhhhh. it’s a kick ass brew… :o

POBT
22nd August 2008, 14:12
He is also the heir apparent to the title of Big Guns.

Grimreepah
22nd August 2008, 18:04
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=66092)

Matthews adds a bit of Mayo for Blues
By Simon White
4:07 PM Fri 22 August, 2008

LEIGH MATTHEWS expects first-game Irishman Pearce Hanley to give the Brisbane Lions an injection of ball-carrying power for Saturday night’s vital clash with hard-running Carlton at the Gabba.
The ninth-placed Lions need a win to stay in the race for a finals berth and Matthews is banking on Hanley and fellow call-up Anthony Corrie boosting the side’s pace.
Rookie-listed Hanley, who hails from the small dairy town of Ballaghaderreen in County Mayo, has matched the achievement of compatriot Colm Begley by debuting in his first season at the Gabba.
Ironically, Begley was one of the two players omitted to make way for Hanley and Corrie.
“He will make us quicker and will give the team more players who can genuinely carry the footy. He will not get caught from behind,” Matthews said of Hanley on Friday.
“He’s been very impressive. I saw him kick in November when he first got here from Ireland and he kicked the ball pretty well straight away, so that was a tick.
“He’s been very impressive. He’s got a fair bit of size, some speed and power and his ball skills are good.
“You tend to watch players in the reserves with an eye to how they will go at senior level and he’s the one we’ve been impressed by.”
Matthews was glowing in his praise of Begley when he became the first Irishman to play senior football for the Lions two years ago and believes Hanley has even more physical attributes.
“Frankly, I think Pearce has even more speed and power,” Matthews said.
“Compared to any of our players he has great speed and an ability to carry. Those qualities are very hard to find.”

It's rare that Leigh talks new players up as much as that.

Lace Out
22nd August 2008, 20:42
From the glimpse in pre-season he looked a bit like Marty Clarke but with a turbo and less fear.

Quigley
22nd August 2008, 21:44
Congratulations to the young guy. Great to see him get the chance even if it ruins one of my DT smokeys for next year.

I think as he develops he will add a lot to our team. He is a solid hard at it guy with good pace and we need both of those things in our midfield unit (I include the flankers in that). His disposal also seems like it is pretty good as well which will be very handy.

Hopefully he will have a big game and add to the selection woes for next year.

Grimreepah
22nd August 2008, 21:49
Hopefully he will have a big game and add to the selection woes for next year.

That's a good point. You'd think his goal would be to play well enough to start on the senior list next year. That's an extra person that would need to be delisted.

Quigley
22nd August 2008, 21:59
You would have to think if they didn't promote Begs at the beginning of this year they are unlikely to promote Pearce but you never know. The Lions could just rely on the fact that historically there is an long term injury to someone at the beginning of the year. Even if that wasn't the case early in the year him having a few more games dominating in the reserves is probably not going to do him any harm.

Loved the look of him earlier in the year though and I am hoping we see plenty of him next year. Hopefully I get to see him live next week.

bears2lions
22nd August 2008, 22:22
Irish Times (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0822/1219353251849.html)

Friday, August 22, 2008

Hanley steps up for the Lions

AUSSIE RULES: THE FORMER Mayo footballer Pearce Hanley will make his Australian Rules debut tomorrow, just nine months after joining the AFL club Brisbane Lions.

Hanley's promotion rivals the remarkable success story of Martin Clarke at Collingwood; the young Down star is a regular for the Pies within a year of making the transition from Gaelic football to Aussie Rules.

Laois's Colm Begley has been omitted from the Lions squad.
The 19-year-old Ballaghadereen man's selection by coach Leigh Matthews for the game against Carlton Blues has been described in the local Courier Mail as "one of the most tantalising gambles in Lions history".

A housemate of Begley, Hanley feels he is ready to make the step up: "I have picked up on the basics of the game pretty quick but I am on a learning curve and I have still been making a mistake or two playing in the reserves," said Hanley. "I have been mainly playing in the defence since I came over here but I was actually tried out on the wing last weekend and I really enjoyed it."

The Lions lodged papers with the AFL to get the international rookie-contracted player elevated to the senior list.

The teenager, a Ron Barassi medallist as the best player in the last Under-17 International Rules series, has settled well in Queensland but admits his main problem has been adjusting to a completely different life.

"I live with Colm and Cheynee Stiller and they have been great to me. Colm has really taken me under his wing and helped me with what to expect in AFL."