View Full Version : SEN, Gary Ayres on Essendon's future

GoldenboyHird_5
4 Dec 2007, 10:49
Hungry for Sport, KB interviewed Gary about all his new coaching commitments and also his stuff with Gary Ablett...

Then he asked Gary about Essendon's future.

Ayres said that we had a very strong leadership group that had Matty Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher, Scott Lucas, Mal Michael and Mark McVeigh.

He also said that next year depended on how much more our kids would improve.

After that, he then singled out four kids as potential stars of Essendon.

Paddy Ryder: Athleticism will probably not be matched and his footy skills and intelligence is first class.

Leroy Jetta: Potential gamebreaker and really dynamic but depends on how his pre-season shapes up.

Jay Neagle: Big, bustling foward who has been extremely unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if he gets fit then he will be a one to watch.

and finally...

Courtenay Dempsey: Gary seemed at his most excited when talking about Dempsey. Mentioned that, along with Paddy, they both have great skills and intelligence but like Jay has been unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if Courtenay is right then he will probably be the best of the bunch.

Interesting stuff...;)

hulld
4 Dec 2007, 11:03
Dempsey!!!!!!!

Jono B
4 Dec 2007, 11:19
Dempsey!!!!!!!
Is there still room on that bandwagon?

setlikejelly
4 Dec 2007, 11:27

Jump aboard mate, always room for more...

The Donners
4 Dec 2007, 11:51

I jumped on that train a while back... there's plenty of gravy left!!!

I can't wait to see CD and Gumby in particular in '08... but really I can't wait to see all of them!!! ;)

carmi99
4 Dec 2007, 12:05
Jump aboard mate, always room for more...

I jumped on when i saw him play in a pre season game this year against the Hawks at Casey fields......

I was tipping the 07 season to be a big breakthrough season for him but it was ruined by injury.

Hopefully he can stay fit for 08'

I reckon Jetta is one to watch also and i almost cream myself when i think about Davey, Jetta and Dempsey running amok in our forward line in 2008. :D

Hislop200
4 Dec 2007, 12:39
My 5 year old son saw the goal that Dempsey kicked against Richmond
last year and said now that Hirdys gone can I put his number on my jumper. I think he has a good eye for talent.

setlikejelly
4 Dec 2007, 13:00
My 5 year old son saw the goal that Dempsey kicked against Richmond
last year and said now that Hirdys gone can I put his number on my jumper. I think he has a good eye for talent.
...and finances. Only have to add the '1' now, and shes good to go.

TheDon35
4 Dec 2007, 13:16
He also gave Davey a fair bit of praise for his first year and suggested what a player he will be.

dave_27
4 Dec 2007, 13:35
I spotted him after "that goal" on a bloody hot Friday afternoon in March at Optarse Oval in '06.

I win. ;)

Longy413
4 Dec 2007, 14:19
You weren't the only one.

I still haven't come down from that.

carmi99
4 Dec 2007, 14:33
You weren't the only one.

I still haven't come down from that.

What happened, please explain. ;)

Longy413
4 Dec 2007, 14:38
You Tube search Essendon's top 10 goals from 2006 and have a look.

carmi99
4 Dec 2007, 15:04
You Tube search Essendon's top 10 goals from 2006 and have a look.

Not bad!!

Hopefully he provides simliar sort of run for us in 2008. :thumbsu:

The Dustbin
4 Dec 2007, 15:26
Hungry for Sport, KB interviewed Gary about all his new coaching commitments and also his stuff with Gary Ablett...

Then he asked Gary about Essendon's future.

Ayres said that we had a very strong leadership group that had Matty Lloyd, Dustin Fletcher, Scott Lucas, Mal Michael and Mark McVeigh.

He also said that next year depended on how much more our kids would improve.

After that, he then singled out four kids as potential stars of Essendon.

Paddy Ryder: Athleticism will probably not be matched and his footy skills and intelligence is first class.

Leroy Jetta: Potential gamebreaker and really dynamic but depends on how his pre-season shapes up.

Jay Neagle: Big, bustling foward who has been extremely unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if he gets fit then he will be a one to watch.

and finally...

Courtenay Dempsey: Gary seemed at his most excited when talking about Dempsey. Mentioned that, along with Paddy, they both have great skills and intelligence but like Jay has been unlucky with injury. Ayres said that if Courtenay is right then he will probably be the best of the bunch.

Interesting stuff...;)

Sounds bullish to me. :p

hulld
4 Dec 2007, 15:28
Not bad!!

Hopefully he provides simliar sort of run for us in 2008. :thumbsu:

he will

Merv
4 Dec 2007, 15:31
Sounds bullish to me. :p

Think your on the wrong forum mate :p

The Dustbin
4 Dec 2007, 15:36
Think your on the wrong forum mate :p

Been listening to much to Knights. :eek:

Sorry about that!

Merv
4 Dec 2007, 15:45
Been listening to much to Knights. :eek:

Sorry about that!

hahaha no i was talking about that other forum when everything is bullish, including bumper stickers :D

The Dustbin
4 Dec 2007, 15:50
hahaha no i was talking about that other forum when everything is bullish, including bumper stickers :D

Arh crap. I'm way out of the loop....

I'm off to find that other bullish forum!

:D

THE AISSASSIN
4 Dec 2007, 16:38
Interesting to read this thread as I watched the Bombers train after Carlton yesterday and I watched 1 drill very closely.

That drill had 4 pairs of players
Jetta v Rheimers
Lloyd v Hille
Fletcher v Dempsey
Michael v Houli.

Each team had 4 players and the drill was about running to space and maintaining possesion by short foot passes.

Jetta is a jet, had great footy smarts and Rheimers couldnt stay close to him. Reminds me very much of Lovet
Houli looks like has bulked and was way too slick for Michael. I think Michael looked really slow and immobile. I think he might get horribly exposed if he gets isolated. IMO he might really struggle next year.
Dempsey had pace but just didnt have the footy smarts of Jetta or Houli, didnt time his leads or run to the right places.
Lloyd looked in great nick as did Hille.

Had a good look at Frog who is fully recovered. Hid groundwork is great and weights his passes really well

Kaiser Powser
4 Dec 2007, 16:44
Interesting to read this thread as I watched the Bombers train after Carlton yesterday and I watched 1 drill very closely.

Jetta v Rheimers
Lloyd v Hille
Fletcher v Dempsey
Michael v Houli.

Each team had 4 players and the drill was about running to space and maintaining possesion by short foot passes.

Jetta is a jet, had great footy smarts and Rheimers couldnt stay close to him. Reminds me very much of Lovet
Houli looks like has bulked and was way too slick for Michael. I think Michael looked really slow and immobile. I think he might get horribly exposed if he gets isolated. IMO he might really struggle next year.
Dempsey had pace but just didnt have the footy smarts of Jetta or Houli, didnt time his leads or run to the right places.

Had a good look at Frog who is fully recovered. Hid groundwork is great and weights his passes really well

Thanks Champ, that makes for a good read.:thumbsu:

ant555
4 Dec 2007, 23:02

Jetta v Rheimers
Lloyd v Hille
Fletcher v Dempsey
Michael v Houli.

You have made that judgment by watching Mal play on one of our fittest midfielders. Seriously Mal would not have kept up with Houli when he was 22 let alone now. He has never been hugly mobile or had any sort of outstanding endurance.
Here's a little tip for you from someone who has seen most of our training over the last 4 years .Mal is easily 50% fitter at this stage compared to what he was at last pre season ;)

THE AISSASSIN
5 Dec 2007, 00:54
You have made that judgment by watching Mal play on one of our fittest midfielders. Seriously Mal would not have kept up with Houli when he was 22 let alone now. He has never been hugly mobile or had any sort of outstanding endurance.
Here's a little tip for you from someone who has seen most of our training over the last 4 years .Mal is easily 50% fitter at this stage compared to what he was at last pre season ;)

I am well aware that Houli is fit and in a different leaugue to Michael with his mobility.

I dont doubt that he is fitter than last year, but boy did he look slow and lacking agililty. Even Hille was moving considerabely better than Mal.

If I was an opposition Key forward I would be licking lips at having Michael alone with plenty of space.
I hope the 50% fitter Michael still gets to play on Fev again this year, it was so good to watch their duel last year ;).....I hope this extra fitness makes a difference

ant555
5 Dec 2007, 06:27
I am well aware that Houli is fit and in a different leaugue to Michael with his mobility.

I dont doubt that he is fitter than last year, but boy did he look slow and lacking agililty. Even Hille was moving considerabely better than Mal.

If I was an opposition Key forward I would be licking lips at having Michael alone with plenty of space.
I hope the 50% fitter Michael still gets to play on Fev again this year, it was so good to watch their duel last year ;).....I hope this extra fitness makes a difference

Yet in the contested defensive drill that they did later on when Andrew Lee was against Laycock and Mal was against Hille , Mal looked very good doing a role that he is best at.
My point is if you think Mal looks slow and lacking agility (which he never really had a lot of anyway) now then you should have seen him last pre season. Last pre season he looked less mobile than Lance on his worst day.
Just on Fev didnt he spit the dummy the last time Mal played on him ? Arguing with the umpire while the footy was being run out of defence and ending up on the bench ;)

The Dustbin
5 Dec 2007, 06:48

Great news about Mal. He was obviously under done last year with his late start....

Amazing what a full pre season can do. :thumbsu:

THE AISSASSIN
15 Aug 2008, 21:03

Bumpdy Bump Bump Bump ant555

Thanks for the tip about Mal Michael being as fit as a fiddle pre season.

Looks like my prediction that he would struggle to be competitive and perhaps not see the year out was a little more on the mark than yours even if you have watched 4 yrs of pre season.

So ;) right back at ya :D

;)....and once again for good luck.

;).....its getting addictive

;).....it is addictive

;).....I need help....someone to send me to rehab......I need naltroxene NOW

bomber69
15 Aug 2008, 21:12
Bumpdy Bump Bump Bump ant555

Thanks for the tip about Mal Michael being as fit as a fiddle pre season.

Looks like my prediction that he would struggle to be competitive and perhaps not see the year out was a little more on the mark than yours even if you have watched 4 yrs of pre season.

So ;) right back at ya :D

;)....and once again for good luck.

;).....its getting addictive

;).....it is addictive

You have way too much time on your hands..

THE AISSASSIN
15 Aug 2008, 21:47
Why ? ;)

Because I chose to bump a thread where a poster acts like a know it all and throws in a condacendingig wink ;) just for good measure at the end.

I am actually a very busy man.......but just wanted to point out how some of the posters here on BF carry on like they are experts but are really just footy lovers like most of us, and when they rubbish anothers opinion they can end up looking the fool ;)

And if you ;) too much you just end up one of those one eyed supprters who cant see the forrest thru the trees.

Pre-season Mal was moving like he was on train tracks as I stated, he wasnt good enough to get a regular game, and now he is gone......Hmmmm.........but heck.......Im just a dumb ass Carlton fan who happenned to notice that Mal moved slower than a blob of cement.......so what would I know ;)

kelvin_sheedy
15 Aug 2008, 22:51
^^ You are an A grade peanut Arseasan. Probably one of the dumbest posters ever to revisit a nothing thread 12 months later.

You might have noticed that apart from Fev and McKinley that Michael has been pretty solid this year, especially when our team is up an running.

But hey, what would we know, we just watch them every week as opposed to you who sees one training session.

The Dustbin
15 Aug 2008, 23:00

I think you mean naloxone. ;)

:cool:

GoDons
15 Aug 2008, 23:14

dirtywhitepacker
16 Aug 2008, 00:30
Nah, I'll give the guy credit. He picked up something on Mal, which was there at the time, and it has obviously manifested to being the main reason why Mal is giving it away. He can't keep up now, he is an old-fashioned defender and isn't mobile enough. He was called out to make look a fool, he copped it, went away and came back when he was correct. Good on ya mate.

THE AISSASSIN
16 Aug 2008, 01:38
^^ You are an A grade peanut Arseasan. Probably one of the dumbest posters ever to revisit a nothing thread 12 months later.

You might have noticed that apart from Fev and McKinley that Michael has been pretty solid this year, especially when our team is up an running.

But hey, what would we know, we just watch them every week as opposed to you who sees one training session.

Kelvin, Melvin.....so glad to hear u think Mal has been solid......crikey he should play on.......the game is getting quicker but hey.....if he asks nicely maybe Full forwards wont lead and just stay in the goal square and just wrestle him......what do you predict Melvin after such a solid year.....top 10 in ur b&F.....top 15 ?..top 20?....give us your prediction, Im curious to see how a solid year in your view is assessed by your own match commitee. After all, as you say you do watch him every week so you should have a pretty good idea how he will go ;)

Oh and as for ur peanut comment.....only a very bright man could come up with that.....what do you do for coin ?.......pack supermarket shelves on nightshift ?

kelvin_sheedy
16 Aug 2008, 10:40
These are Mal's opponents(one's I can remember) in games this year.

Thompson - 2
Hawkins - 0
Fev - 8
Welsh - 3
Kosi - 2
Wood, Fraser and Medurst - 5 goals
Westhoff - 1
Sydney - ?
Hughes - 1
Anthony - 2
Melbourne - no damage
McKinley - 7

An fwiw Mckinley kicked obout 3 on Fletcher and all his ones on Mal were snaps from the boundary line.

The bottom line is he was fitter this year and has had a better year than last. The difference being is that Sheedy chose to play Fletcher a lot more loose and thus help out. Knights game plan has often exposed defenders one on one.

But anyway what would I know I didn't see that one training session. :rolleyes:

Merv
16 Aug 2008, 11:53
Oh and as for ur peanut comment.....only a very bright man could come up with that.....what do you do for coin ?.......pack supermarket shelves on nightshift ?

Time for you to leave....

efcboy
16 Aug 2008, 11:57
re michael - it was hardly a nostradamus prediction that this guy could go down hill. he was 31yo, retired 2 years ago, then came back, played and is now retiring at the end of the season. hardly groundbreaking stuff!

ant555
16 Aug 2008, 13:14
Why ? ;)

Because I chose to bump a thread where a poster acts like a know it all and throws in a condacendingig wink ;) just for good measure at the end.

I am actually a very busy man.......but just wanted to point out how some of the posters here on BF carry on like they are experts but are really just footy lovers like most of us, and when they rubbish anothers opinion they can end up looking the fool ;)

And if you ;) too much you just end up one of those one eyed supprters who cant see the forrest thru the trees.

Pre-season Mal was moving like he was on train tracks as I stated, he wasnt good enough to get a regular game, and now he is gone......Hmmmm.........but heck.......Im just a dumb ass Carlton fan who happenned to notice that Mal moved slower than a blob of cement.......so what would I know ;)

Yep i was wrong and you where right.
Like i always have said i have been wrong before and i will be wrong again. Theres no denying that.
I stand by my comments that he was fitter at that stage of the season than he was the previous year as he was.
As it turns out his ability to recover from games and a quicker game has seen him end up on the scrap heap.
Just like to ask you buddy, have you been 100% correct in every call you have made about footy of about players ?
I

yaco55
16 Aug 2008, 15:05
The Assassin is a great person.

He understands Michael's body and fitness better than ANT who regularly attends training.

AndyLesPaul
16 Aug 2008, 16:21
Why ? ;)

how could you be condescending to someone when you dont even no how to spell it?

The Dustbin
16 Aug 2008, 19:30
I didnt, but how did that drug work out for you ? ;)

Wouldn't know I'm not a heroin user. ;)

Don't worry, it's not unusual for people to get the two confused, happens quite a bit actually.

Naltoxene - Alcohol
Naloxane - Drug addiction

Just be a little bit more specific next time (??? rehab).

:cool: