View Full Version : The 2008 player sponsor drafting only thread
Our last pick in the rookie draft was Ryan Davis, the scholarship kid from NSW. Is said to be a speedy gun. A bit of extra information worth noting is that his dad is very pleased with the way West Coast has handled the drug situation and is more than happy for his son to be a part of the club.
Assuming you meant the rookie draft, looks like he's yours.
I mean, our last pick in the national draft was Scooter Selwood, and he's long gone, so it must be Davis you've selected.
Father Jack
14 Dec 2007, 03:47
Wasn't McGinnity the last player elevated to the main list? Is he on the main list? Seriously, it is a bit tough down this end of the draft, but whatever, I'll take Patrick McGinnity. I think he was the last player drafted onto the main list.
You didn't say main draft ;)
Father Jack
14 Dec 2007, 12:15
You didn't say main draft ;)
Of course I didn't ... I was just hoping I hadn't inadvertantly picked a rookie by mistake. I haven't, have I?
greennick
14 Dec 2007, 13:08
And that would be?
Ryan Davis?
Edit: Oops, I didn't realise there was a next page that it was answered on.
peterss
14 Dec 2007, 13:16
So unexplained has taken Pat correct?
If so ill be back with my pick in a minute!
peterss
14 Dec 2007, 13:26
Ok!
After putting the remaning players into a hat and pulling one out
My sponsored player is....................
****DRUMROLL***
ASHLEY ARROWSMITH!
kane249
15 Dec 2007, 10:06
thefamilyguy has until 12:26 today to make his pick before it rolls over to the next guy
eaglesalways
15 Dec 2007, 14:32
Ok so then it is my turn? :confused:
peterss
15 Dec 2007, 14:43
If you were after thefamilyguy then yes as hes 24 hours is up
So pick away :)
eaglesalways
15 Dec 2007, 14:50
I will take James Thomson :)
Don't know him much as a player yet, but I am sure he will be another west coast gun! :thumbsu:
peterss
15 Dec 2007, 15:13
Don't know him much as a player yet, but I am sure he will be another west coast gun! :thumbsu:
Youve got a tough job! Spent the majority of last year in the WAFL Reserves for his club ;)
eaglesalways
15 Dec 2007, 15:23
Youve got a tough job! Spent the majority of last year in the WAFL Reserves for his club ;)
there was only a couple of players to choose from so I just picked him. Hes pretty tall too- 194cm. Hopefully he gets a game next year
Sorry ive been out all day and ill be out all night, ill get back to this later tonight.
P.s cheers for looking after things kane.
kane249
15 Dec 2007, 23:21
Sorry ive been out all day and ill be out all night, ill get back to this later tonight.
P.s cheers for looking after things kane.
No worries heals :thumbsu:
kane249
15 Dec 2007, 23:26
Son of Channel 9 Perth's Sports commentator Michael "Thommo" Thomson
happy_eagle
16 Dec 2007, 15:09
times up for 4kerr4, its beautimes turn
Sorry I missed my turn I didnt check the last page wasjust going my the first part where the names aren't updated.
if I missed out thats okay.
if not I'll take Callum Wilson with my pick
happy_eagle
16 Dec 2007, 17:15
Sorry I missed my turn I didnt check the last page wasjust going my the first part where the names aren't updated.
if I missed out thats okay.
if not I'll take Callum Wilson with my pick
think you can still take your pick once you've missed out
so you take callum wilson
I'll take McGinnity thanks.
kane249
17 Dec 2007, 01:35
I'll take McGinnity thanks.
Umm 2 problems skooks
A) McGinnity is already taken
B) You don't actually appear to be one of the registered participants in the draft
How is Tim Houlihan still there ? i was going to pick him at my pick like wow
And unlucky bout the reds tonight kane.
kane249
17 Dec 2007, 02:02
And unlucky bout the reds tonight kane.
Typical performance by manure, one chance on goal all game and it goes in!
Not to mention that penalty for handball we should have got, Kewell's shot being cleared on the line... ARGH! it was a frustrating game all round really
ashley12
17 Dec 2007, 03:42
Typical performance by manure, one chance on goal all game and it goes in!
Not to mention that penalty for handball we should have got, Kewell's shot being cleared on the line... ARGH! it was a frustrating game all round really
great game dont you mean:D
Only watched the second half, but all that matters is the score at the end of the day. Not that I take a lot of confidence from the game, just the fact we can grind out results if need be
Seaby says: "I had really good time in South Africa - I ate some food and had a drink. I saw some kids and then caught this plane back to Perth. I had a really good time now I want to kick some footy in the park please"
SS_Fury
17 Dec 2007, 10:58
Waters said: 'Someone tried to take my footy from me while i slept. I bumped em real good. Now they wont touch my footy again. They got big Koi in SA. They dont go down as easy as there little brother goldfishies. Seaby is real tall eh
As the 2008 player sponsor of Mark Seaby of the West Coast Eagles I will reply to the comment in bold with a written statement on Marks behalf....
"Yes, Im tall"
Thank you - No more comments at this time, we hope you respect Mr Seaby's wishes.
Interesting fact:
Mark Seaby height is (according to official AFL statistics) 200cm which is the same as this tree.
http://i4.tinypic.com/6jcjn7q.jpg http://i5.tinypic.com/8am2hhu.jpg
SS_Fury
17 Dec 2007, 11:37
thats gold lmaooo
beautime
17 Dec 2007, 13:04
il take houlihan with my pick.
Think this kid has promise suprised he lasted this long
SonOfReep
17 Dec 2007, 17:44
I guess I'll take Beau Wilkes. If I scrunch up my eyes it could almost be "Beau Waters" so I'll take that in a pinch.
Bobo!
Finally it's happy eagle's turn and here are he's choices:
Lewis Stevenson
Will Sillivan
Ryan Davis
Umm 2 problems skooks
A) McGinnity is already taken
B) You don't actually appear to be one of the registered participants in the draft
Ok well,
Your loss, not mine.
ashley12
17 Dec 2007, 21:34
Ok well,
Your loss, not mine.
Dont now how having not enough players to go round worries heals and greenick compared to yourselves.
Good work by the way heals with keeping it up to date
happy_eagle
18 Dec 2007, 01:26
il take ryan davis
kane249
18 Dec 2007, 08:19
Ok well,
Your loss, not mine.
Umm yeah, i'm sure i'll cope? :p
Ok well,
Your loss, not mine.
How is it he's loss when you miss out?
thefamilyguy, will have till this time tomrrow(9am) to make his pick otherwise his pick will be forfeited and I need another poster to fit a space to take a rookie.
That skooks guy could?
Father Jack
18 Dec 2007, 12:41
That skooks guy could?
But he wants Patrick, and I'm afraid he can't have him. Unless of course he IS him.
I'm the next best thing.
Noooooooooo BINGO
heals, I was thinking that I could filled that space, if thefamilyguy does not show up by 9am tomorrow. Then kane249 doesn't have to share sponsor of Dean Cox. Which could be a good thing because at some point I will mention the fact that I am a Man Utd supporter, well it could get ugly :cool::p. Also if Will Sullivan is still available, my love for Dean Cox will instantly transform the youngster into a gun.
Yeh mate i see that as fair you gave up your spot for him, so i reckon its yours.
The Draft Is Over.
we Have Bingo.
kane249
18 Dec 2007, 22:43
Yeh mate i see that as fair you gave up your spot for him, so i reckon its yours.
Matette, she is female after all :p
Ohhh double bingo !
kane249
18 Dec 2007, 23:26
Ohhh double bingo !
You sunk my battleship, hehe
Ha!! Yes, thank-you kane249 :p. Good to see that you haven't forgotten :cool::D.
And thank-you, heals and any others for organizing this draft business.
Well done all involved.. except the no-shows, you all fail.
Props to Heals, Kane and the No Bingo guy.
kane249
22 Dec 2007, 14:21
Well done all involved.. except the no-shows, you all fail.
Props to Heals, Kane and the No Bingo guy.
I don't deserve any credit, all i did was say who had the next pick :P
The credit should all go to heals and his organization
3 cheers for heals, hip hip..
greennick
25 Dec 2007, 10:11
I don't deserve any credit, all i did was say who had the next pick :P
The credit should all go to heals and his organization
3 cheers for heals, hip hip..
...hooray
ashley12
25 Dec 2007, 10:37
hip hip...
greennick
28 Dec 2007, 09:30
replacement
there will be none of that talk in the Birds of Prey board...
bigburger
3 Sep 2008, 17:08
What time of the year do we traditionally do this? Count me in for 2009.
Usually done after the PSD/Rookie drafts
greennick
3 Sep 2008, 18:42
What time of the year do we traditionally do this? Count me in for 2009.
Should be done after the PSD, but if last year is anything to go by, we will get impatient!!
Masten_Magic
3 Sep 2008, 19:23
I would like to be a sponsor to
give me someone to back up on here besides masten
Just a question, how do I apply and are the picks decided randomly?
Looks exciting.
You apply when the thread gets posted saying that the nomination period is open for the player sponsor draft. Depending on the number of players on the senior and rookie list, this determines the number of spots open for people to nominate.
eg say for example there is 42 people in total on the Eagles lists, then the first 42 people to nominate are placed in the player draft
A random draft order is then generated from the applicants, and subsequently a draft order is determined.
But this is all a moot point since the registration period isn't even open yet. So people wishing to nominate will need to wait like the rest of us :p
happy_eagle
4 Sep 2008, 00:52
are the picks decided randomly?
Apparently :rolleyes:
Oh I get you. *taps nose*
Guess who got a bad pick last year? :D
The draw is done fairly no matter what some think
bigburger
5 Sep 2008, 04:16
I bags the first pick.:thumbsu: ;)
Crimson King
5 Sep 2008, 15:31
I am Daniel Rich, West Coast's first pick.;)
FiveStrings
5 Sep 2008, 15:33
I'm registering my interest in being in the 2009 draw.
I note that Mark Seaby floundered in 2007 without my support.