View Full Version : Eagles announce leadership group

tonywce23
4 Dec 2007, 13:15
The West Coast Eagles is pleased to announce the leadership group for season 2008

Supporting captain Darren Glass, who was appointed to the position in November, will be vice-captains Dean Cox and Tyson Stenglein

Named best clubman in 2006, Cox is highly regarded by his teammates and respected for his strength of character and leadership qualities both on and off the field. Having played 145 games, Cox looks to be awarded with life membership early next year

Stenglein, secured by the club during the 2004 trade period from the Adelaide Crows, has made a phenomenal impact on the West Coast player group in a relatively short period of time. Touted by former coach Neil Craig as a future captain, Stenglein's appointment is an important step in an already impressive football career

Completing the leadership group will be Ashley Hansen, Adam Selwood and Matthew Priddis

Hansen was named best clubman at this year's Club Champion Awards and became the inaugural recipient of the Chris Mainwaring Medal. Having suffered a horror injury run in 2007, Hansen's off-field guidance was outstanding during a difficult season.

Also acknowledged at this year's Club Champion Awards as the club's third most outstanding player, Selwood's courage and strength of character shone throughout a season which proved challenging both on and off the field

West Coast's rookie of the year and fourth-place-getter in the Club Champion Awards, Priddis was elevated from the club's rookie list for season 2007 where he made an incredible impact on the field, winning a place in the side's decorated midfield. Priddis' determination and work ethic have earned him warranted recognition from his coaches and teammates

QL 21
4 Dec 2007, 13:19
Completing the leadership group will be Ashley Hansen, Adam Selwood and Matthew Priddis

Wow, wasn't expecting that, that is awesome. :thumbsu:

jesterwester
4 Dec 2007, 13:19
The West Coast Eagles is pleased to announce the leadership group for season 2008

Supporting captain Darren Glass, who was appointed to the position in November, will be vice-captains Dean Cox and Tyson Stenglein

Named best clubman in 2006, Cox is highly regarded by his teammates and respected for his strength of character and leadership qualities both on and off the field. Having played 145 games, Cox looks to be awarded with life membership early next year

Stenglein, secured by the club during the 2004 trade period from the Adelaide Crows, has made a phenomenal impact on the West Coast player group in a relatively short period of time. Touted by former coach Neil Craig as a future captain, Stenglein's appointment is an important step in an already impressive football career

Hansen was named best clubman at this year's Club Champion Awards and became the inaugural recipient of the Chris Mainwaring Medal. Having suffered a horror injury run in 2007, Hansen's off-field guidance was outstanding during a difficult season.

Also acknowledged at this year's Club Champion Awards as the club's third most outstanding player, Selwood's courage and strength of character shone throughout a season which proved challenging both on and off the field

West Coast's rookie of the year and fourth-place-getter in the Club Champion Awards, Priddis was elevated from the club's rookie list for season 2007 where he made an incredible impact on the field, winning a place in the side's decorated midfield. Priddis' determination and work ethic have earned him warranted recognition from his coaches and teammates
I think that they got that just about right.
Great sign to see priddis get something back for all the hard work he's put in to get this far..

Scotland
4 Dec 2007, 13:25
Great stuff, but um, where's Embley?

Star_is_Braun
4 Dec 2007, 13:27
already been posted.

apologies..

BK Eaglesfan
4 Dec 2007, 13:27

Carlton???? ;)

Isandula
4 Dec 2007, 13:28
Thats a good group, I like :thumbsu:

EagleMan87
4 Dec 2007, 13:28

I'd say the deal with Chick may have soured his standing a bit.

Disappointing, but to see Hansen, Priddis and Selwood in there is awesome. Remember how close Hansen came to leaving not so long ago?:D

jesterwester
4 Dec 2007, 13:29
Carlton???? ;)
gold!:thumbsu:

Definitely Maybe
4 Dec 2007, 13:43

That's what I was thinking.

I don't think the stuff earlier in the year with Chick had anything to do with a demotion if that has occurred.

The only thing I can think of is everyone else has been promoted.

Glass from vice-captain to captain
Stenglein from leadership group to vice-captain
Cox from leadership group to vice-captain
Selwood to the leadership group
Priddis to the leadership group
Hansen to the leadership group

Embley remains vice-captain???? Also it would make more sense to have an odd number of members in a group for voting purposes rather than even, though that is something minor. Surely it would have been mentioned in the article???

Keyser Soze
4 Dec 2007, 13:49
The selection of Priddis to me was unexpected - shows how highly regarded he must be within the club so good on him.

The non-selection of Embley was also a bit of a surprise (unless of course BK is right:D) leaving us to speculate as to why he has been omitted.

Good to see two Victorian lads in Hansen and Selwood promoted to the leadership group as well. At least those don't seem very likely to want to return home.

QL 21
4 Dec 2007, 13:53
Good to see two Victorian lads in Hansen and Selwood promoted to the leadership group as well. At least those don't seem very likely to want to return home.

Hansen said a few months back he will stay at WC for "as long as they want me". He'll hopefully be at WC for his whole career. :thumbsu:

lyall
4 Dec 2007, 13:58
Good to see Selwood and Priddis get a go in there.

No Embley is surprising, unless it was left out of the article because he was already a vice captain.

Judd4PM
4 Dec 2007, 13:58
WEST Coast have promoted Dean Cox and Tyson Stenglein to vice-captains for 2008 - while Norm Smith medallist Andrew Embley has been dumped from the club's new-look leadership group.

Following another torrid off-season which has seen Chris Judd leave, Ben Cousins sacked and Daniel Chick delisted, the club revealed a radically reshaped leadership group, with Cox and Stenglein becoming joint deputies to new captain Darren Glass.

And following a vote by players and coaches, Ashley Hansen, Matt Priddis and Adam Selwood made up the five-man leadership group, while Embley was not included.

Coach John Worsfold said Embley had been disappointed to have missed out, but the time had come for "drastic changes" to the club's leadership.

"The whole player group and the match committee have had their say on different criteria," Worsfold said.

"The key thing is showing strong leadership to achieve what we want to on and off the field, and those players have to be more committed to that than anyone else to lead the way.

"Andrew did not rank as high as those other guys ... he is disappointed because he would still like to be on the leadership group, but he is aware of why.

"The five that have been elected as those senior leaders are outstanding young men, and will do a great job."

Named best clubman in 2006, Cox has played 145 games, leaving him just five short of Eagles life membership.

Stenglein, secured by the club during the 2004 trade period from the Adelaide Crows, was touted by former coach Neil Craig as a future captain of an AFL club, and with the departure of Chick and Cousins becomes one of the Eagles' most experienced players.

The club will also have a junior leadership group, made up of highly rated younger players.

That group comprises Mark Seaby, Matt Rosa, Shannon Hurn, Brett Jones, Beau Waters and Mark Le Cras.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,22868230-23211,00.html

EagleMan87
4 Dec 2007, 14:02
We should have pulled a Carlton and upgraded our No. 1 draft pick straight to the leadership group...:cool:

lyall
4 Dec 2007, 14:10
Nice little junior leadership group there too

worsfold
4 Dec 2007, 14:13
The club will also have a junior leadership group, made up of highly rated younger players.

That group comprises Mark Seaby, Matt Rosa, Shannon Hurn, Brett Jones, Beau Waters and Mark Le Cras.

So we have a Captain
2 vice Captains
A leadership group and
a junior leadership group

isn't that a bit over the top or or we trying to make them more responsible ?

Embers
4 Dec 2007, 14:14
Some say wheres Embley but i say why whas he there in the first place

Mitch Browns right arm should be in the leadership group, He was robbed

Embers
4 Dec 2007, 14:16
So we have a Captain
2 vice Captains
A leadership group and
a junior leadership group

isn't that a bit over the top or or we trying to make them more responsible ?

From what ive gathered junior leadership group is a group that will largely intereact with the community. Do alot of chairty type events and be a bit more on the media savvy side of things considering players like Glass Stinger can barely say boo to the media without shitting themselves

Isandula
4 Dec 2007, 14:17
Some say wheres Embley but i say why whas he there in the first place

Mitch Browns right arm should be in the leadership group, He was robbed

I tend to agree, glad he's not in there to be truthful and obviously everyone thought the same.

greennick
4 Dec 2007, 14:29
Coach John Worsfold said Embley had been disappointed to have missed out, but the time had come for "drastic changes" to the club's leadership.

"The whole player group and the match committee have had their say on different criteria," Worsfold said.

"The key thing is showing strong leadership to achieve what we want to on and off the field, and those players have to be more committed to that than anyone else to lead the way.

"Andrew did not rank as high as those other guys ... he is disappointed because he would still like to be on the leadership group, but he is aware of why.

Interesting info on Embley there. I wonder exactly why. We all know the general stuff that happened, but not exactly what did they not like. Did they not like how Embley tried to take matters into his own hands, instead of talking to Worsfold or the leadership group? If not, what was it? What made them decide that he does not show "strong leadership"?

Good group of junior leaders too. Not really much to complain at all about in that group.

Kerrby
4 Dec 2007, 14:32
Woo! Go Selwood!?

Star_is_Braun
4 Dec 2007, 14:48
Bit surprised to not see Braun in there.. i thought he'd get a look in. But otherwise I really like what I see, and I'm loving the fact Priddis is in there!

Ambrose Burnside
4 Dec 2007, 14:50
Clearly Quinten Lynch must be in a leadership group all on his own: Football God.

I eagerly await the announcement.

tonywce23
4 Dec 2007, 14:55
Clearly Quinten Lynch must be in a leadership group all on his own: Football God.

I eagerly await the announcement.

Doesn't need to be annouced, everybody already knows :)

Biggie
4 Dec 2007, 14:58
Good to hear.

Really stoked for Priddis. :thumbsu:

anti.
4 Dec 2007, 15:12
i think the exclusion of embley is because of his injury trouble. he is probably trying to focus on getting on the park and playing well instead of being a leader.

game on
4 Dec 2007, 15:12
Hansen said a few months back he will stay at WC for "as long as they want me". He'll hopefully be at WC for his whole career. :thumbsu:

You can rest easy, I know Ash very well and he has always told me that he will stay at West Coast until he is retired/traded. He loves the club and the Perth lifestyle.

Its great to see him recognised for what he brings to the club, great work Asha.

shoe
4 Dec 2007, 15:13
The selection of Priddis to me was unexpected - shows how highly regarded he must be within the club so good on him.

The non-selection of Embley was also a bit of a surprise (unless of course BK is right:D) leaving us to speculate as to why he has been omitted.

Well if rumours have any basis in reality and he is contemplating leaving the club in the future, then IMO he's doing the right thing by omitting himself from the leadership group.
Basically, IF those are the reasons why he was omitted then he is doing exactly what Judd really should have done. Embley would be the right thing by our club and that's all we could really ask.

IF.

WCE57
4 Dec 2007, 15:18
Well if rumours have any basis in reality and he is contemplating leaving the club in the future, then IMO he's doing the right thing by omitting himself from the leadership group.
Basically, IF those are the reasons why he was omitted then he is doing exactly what Judd really should have done. Embley would be the right thing by our club and that's all we could really ask.

IF.

Exactly, right!:thumbsu:. And that why Judd should have known better.

Overall, the leadership groups looks really good. I am stoked that Stinger is a vice-captain. Amazed (in a good way) to see Priddis in the leadership group, very pleased.

QL 21
4 Dec 2007, 15:29
You can rest easy, I know Ash very well and he has always told me that he will stay at West Coast until he is retired/traded. He loves the club and the Perth lifestyle.

Its great to see him recognised for what he brings to the club, great work Asha.

Awesome, great to hear. :)

QL 21
4 Dec 2007, 15:45

Indeed he is.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m192/ql21/lynch.jpg

greennick
4 Dec 2007, 15:56
i think the exclusion of embley is because of his injury trouble. he is probably trying to focus on getting on the park and playing well instead of being a leader.
Then Hansen shouldn't have been included either. I suspect it was something else.

greennick
4 Dec 2007, 15:58
Indeed he is.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m192/ql21/lynch.jpg
I love it how in that photo there is the kid with his hand up, ready to shake the Big Q, but he has no interest.

A Living God
4 Dec 2007, 16:06
Then Hansen shouldn't have been included either. I suspect it was something else.
It could be due to Embley not wanting to be in the leadership group so he can focus on staying ift as opposed to not being selected because of injuries.

anti.
4 Dec 2007, 16:08
It could be due to Embley not wanting to be in the leadership group so he can focus on staying ift as opposed to not being selected because of injuries.

nah i think woosh said embers was disappointed to not be included. i'd say that means he wanted to be in it, but possibly other reasons unknown to us has not allowed him to get in.

Matt2
4 Dec 2007, 16:27
Wirrrrrrrrra?! :( Thought he'd be there for sure, seems like a top bloke with all the right morals / ethics / etc that makes for a good leadership group.

greennick
4 Dec 2007, 16:30
nah i think woosh said embers was disappointed to not be included. i'd say that means he wanted to be in it, but possibly other reasons unknown to us has not allowed him to get in.
Spot on.

I wonder what it is.

Isandula
4 Dec 2007, 16:35
The players and coaches voted so I guess they just thought differently as to who should get a gig in the leadership group. Maybe the just didn't do a good enough job.

And what is with the young leadership group? Bones is older than Hansen and Selwood and Seaby is the same age, strange :confused:

Sico 17
4 Dec 2007, 17:13
Embley was dumped for being a naughty little boy in the last few months.

Cuzz09
4 Dec 2007, 17:14
Nice how the Vic papers put a negative spin on our new leadership group :rolleyes:

http://news.realfooty.com.au/embley-loses-leadership-role-at-eagles/20071204-1et6.html

West Coast 06
4 Dec 2007, 17:26
Embley was dumped for being a naughty little boy in the last few months.
Just the fight with Kerr, or other things?

I am not really that worried about him not being in the group tbh. I think if the players and coaches have elected the group then the tribe has spoken.

I think they are all great choices, especially happy with Stinger as Vice and Selwood in the leadership group.

Jafa
4 Dec 2007, 18:51
Hi all. The entire playing group and coaching staff had a say on who was picked for these roles. Embly wasn`t dumped - he just didn`t have as much support as the others. A lot of consultation with big business and the like was had to try and find the best way of going about it.

It`s a good mix I reckon.

Cuzz09
4 Dec 2007, 19:21
I hope Embles doesn't get affected badly by this decision and feel isolated in the players group.

Fingers crossed it spurs him on to have his best and most consistant season ever :thumbsu:

SOSBenny
4 Dec 2007, 19:26
Innnteresting!

Obviously his team mates are thinking he is going to do a runner to carlton. Trade bait to get another early pick maybe...young Rich maybe?

Andrew Embley could be the sub plot for the 2008 season...

WCgirl
4 Dec 2007, 20:00

Sounds awesome to me!! :D

Love Hansen I'd love it for him to be an eagle forever :thumbsu:

Our new leadership group sounds great!

I am so excited for next season words can't even describe it lol

4Kerr4
4 Dec 2007, 21:52
I like the look of the new leadership group :thumbsu:

Bring on 08

shoe
4 Dec 2007, 21:57
Innnteresting!

Obviously his team mates are thinking he is going to do a runner to carlton. Trade bait to get another early pick maybe...young Rich maybe?

Obviously??
Being a captain/leader of a footy club is solely based on how long the other players think you'll stay at the club, not leadership abilities?

The players probably felt that someone else could do the job a bit better - i doubt there was much more to it then that.

How'd you jump to that conclusion so quickly?

Magnum27
5 Dec 2007, 06:37
I'm dissapointed Kerr didn't get a gig, i would have like to have seen the extra responsibility handed to him.

And call me old fashioned, but i would like to see 1 captain and 1 vc, for gods sake these guys are grown men, why does their need to be a leadership group.

larrikin
5 Dec 2007, 08:32
I'm dissapointed Kerr didn't get a gig, i would have like to have seen the extra responsibility handed to him.

And call me old fashioned, but i would like to see 1 captain and 1 vc, for gods sake these guys are grown men, why does their need to be a leadership group.
I like the new structure - spreading the leadership helps build the culture that you want at your club/business.

On the Embley stuff, I wish people would stop reading so much into it. He stuffed up a couple of times, the players & coaches obviously felt others were better to lead the club

larrikin
5 Dec 2007, 08:33
Nice how the Vic papers put a negative spin on our new leadership group :rolleyes:

http://news.realfooty.com.au/embley-loses-leadership-role-at-eagles/20071204-1et6.html
The Age actually has quite a positive article in it this morning.

Junior55
5 Dec 2007, 09:10
Innnteresting!

Yeah obviously :rolleyes:

Dont read so much into the non selection. As Woosha said he knows why he is not in the group as do the other players. It will have nothing to do with the false Carlton rumours.

The Made Guy
5 Dec 2007, 09:45
I'm really happy with the six-man group. I think we've got it spot-on for a change.

blackus
5 Dec 2007, 10:49
I'm really happy with the six-man group. I think we've got it spot-on for a change.
Yep they got it right. Hanson, Priddis and Bones are all great young guys.

dobbo_18
5 Dec 2007, 13:15
Originally Posted by Cuzz09
I hope Embles doesn't get affected badly by this decision and feel isolated in the players group.
If he reacts in this way then it will reflect poorly on Embley and show that the players definitely made the right decision.
Originally Posted by Cuzz09
Fingers crossed it spurs him on to have his best and most consistant season ever
Hopefully this happens instead, and I see this as a more probable outcome as Embley is a pretty determined guy, he just needs to put his injury worries behind him.

Biggie
5 Dec 2007, 14:51
Yep they got it right. Hanson, Priddis and Bones are all great young guys.

Selwood mate.

QL 21
5 Dec 2007, 16:39
Selwood mate.

Giving out employment advice now, BM?

.... Wow, that was terrible. :o

Eagle1/Syd
5 Dec 2007, 18:03

Typical crap from over east:rolleyes:

boo boo girl
5 Dec 2007, 18:26
Awesome

Beau_Waters for PM
5 Dec 2007, 23:48
Sounds like a great leadership group.

Quinz
5 Dec 2007, 23:56
Surprised at Hansen, but not at all surprised at Selwood. Great leader. And Stinger and Coxy as VC's is a great decision as well. Moving in the right direction.

Isandula
6 Dec 2007, 12:11
Surprised at Hansen, but not at all surprised at Selwood. Great leader. And Stinger and Coxy as VC's is a great decision as well. Moving in the right direction.

I dont know about Hansen, wasnt really a suprise with me.

Biggie
6 Dec 2007, 16:29
I dont know about Hansen, wasnt really a suprise with me.

Just hope hes on the park more than off it. :thumbsu:

Isandula
6 Dec 2007, 19:22
Just hope hes on the park more than off it. :thumbsu:

He will as Im never wrong (or hardly ever) so you can count on my word :thumbsu: :)

larrikin
6 Dec 2007, 20:20
He will as Im never wrong (or hardly ever) so you can count on my word :thumbsu: :)
Wow

I suddenly feel better

Isandula
6 Dec 2007, 20:40
Wow

I suddenly feel better

Ahh I know I'm channelling my inner psychic and not only is Hansen isnt going to be injured once next year and will kick around 50 goals, TBU is going to kick 85 goals and win the Coleman, Kennedy and Brown are going to contribute massively with 40 goals each, Masten for rising star, Kerr for Brownlow and Normsmith, 15 AA's, no home & away loses and West Coast will win the flag :thumbsu:

Oh wait that was dream :o :( :D

sydney eagle
9 Dec 2007, 09:17
Ahh I know I'm channelling my inner psychic and not only is Hansen isnt going to be injured once next year and will kick around 50 goals, TBU is going to kick 85 goals and win the Coleman, Kennedy and Brown are going to contribute massively with 40 goals each, Masten for rising star, Kerr for Brownlow and Normsmith, 15 AA's, no home & away loses and West Coast will win the flag :thumbsu:

Oh wait that was dream :o :( :D Nah Kerr won't win the Brownlow. Some flog from a lesser club will do it because Kerr will be fighting for votes with Matt Priddis !:p

tonywce23
9 Dec 2007, 17:16
Nah Kerr won't win the Brownlow. Some flog from a lesser club will do it because Kerr will be fighting for votes with Matt Priddis !:p

Some flog from a lesser club, aka Chris Judd :D

Isandula
9 Dec 2007, 17:32
Kerr will win it (suspensions and injuries aside)

tonywce23
9 Dec 2007, 17:38
Kerr will win it (suspensions and injuries aside)

I hope Kerr wins it, he certainly deserves to win one after finishing in the top three the past couple of years.