View Full Version : Darnos 2008
bigpapagman
28 Apr 2008, 17:16
i thought toppa was gonna play on him.
what happened there, plug?
EDFL follower
28 Apr 2008, 17:24
The same bloke who kept O. Fitzpatrick to 2 goals last week.
So he can play on a big bloke like Fitzpatrick and a smaller bloke like Osler with success. Sounds like a handy backman. Whats his name?
bigpapagman
28 Apr 2008, 17:25
cameron? bawden.
goal sneak
28 Apr 2008, 17:26
I would take him to the cleaners
bigpapagman
28 Apr 2008, 17:36
I would take my jocks to the cleaners after i poo myself from not getting a kick
edited for accuracy.
lucifer1
28 Apr 2008, 17:38
Get real, Bawden is OK at best. Its actually Glen not Cam
Plugger, Owey Fitz had ten shots at goal against the Darno's, and finished with 2.8. Nothing to do with G Bawden he just didnt kick straight, could of easily finished with 6 or so.
olser had an off day that was all. every one has them. any other day he would of kicked 5 or 6. missed set shots he would normally nail, and dropped a couple of marks he would normally take.
bigpapagman
28 Apr 2008, 17:42
i couldnt remember his first name.
hence the "?"
seems like everyone has an off day when they play darnum.
just like everyone has an off day when they play richmond.
goal sneak
28 Apr 2008, 17:43
We had an off day against Dusties.
i couldnt remember his first name.
hence the "?"
seems like everyone has an off day when they play darnum.
just like everyone has an off day when they play richmond.
it was easy to see he was having an off day. set shots that he would normally kick, he missed.. and a couple of easy marks he dropped. would you say that geelong had an off day? or that fremantle are premiership contenders.. dont get ahead of youselves just yet.. just remember to make finals you need to win games. close losses are not wins.
bigpapagman
28 Apr 2008, 17:54
and balls are not flaps.
goal sneak
28 Apr 2008, 17:59
and balls are not flaps.
I am going to Thailand. Hope i don't end up taking home a ladyboy.
mate ya gonna have to do the grope test first...ending up with a face full of nuts could be a shocking life changing experience....for the worse:
Pluggeroo
29 Apr 2008, 17:01
Get real, Bawden is OK at best. Its actually Glen not Cam
Plugger, Owey Fitz had ten shots at goal against the Darno's, and finished with 2.8. Nothing to do with G Bawden he just didnt kick straight, could of easily finished with 6 or so.
When 8 of your 10 shots are from 45+ meters out, that is a good defensive job by the backman to force him out there. Also forced him wide on a number of occasions. We expected he would have his 8-10 shots at goal. We expected that he would kick some.
What we wanted was for him to be forced wide and deep on the 50 or further out, to get his kicks. Id say the plan worked, wouldnt you?
Pressure on the ball carrier means wayward kicks and longer leads required by the full forward. I know what I'm talking about, mate. I was Darnum's Full Forward in the years we were getting belted. I either got my marks wide or at a distance that would make me struggle for accuracy. Its also fair to point out that he missed a couple that I would have kicked with my knee injury.
We did that to Fitzpatrick. We hoped we could keep him to 4 to give us the best chance of winning. In the end he kicked 2 and we were done by 10pts anyway.
Bawden is doing his job.
bigpapagman
29 Apr 2008, 17:24
When 8 of your 10 shots are from 45+ meters out, that is a good defensive job by the backman to force him out there. Also forced him wide on a number of occasions. We expected he would have his 8-10 shots at goal. We expected that he would kick some.
What we wanted was for him to be forced wide and deep on the 50 or further out, to get his kicks. Id say the plan worked, wouldnt you?
Pressure on the ball carrier means wayward kicks and longer leads required by the full forward. I know what I'm talking about, mate. I was Darnum's Full Forward in the years we were getting belted. I either got my marks wide or at a distance that would make me struggle for accuracy. Its also fair to point out that he missed a couple that I would have kicked with my knee injury.
We did that to Fitzpatrick. We hoped we could keep him to 4 to give us the best chance of winning. In the end he kicked 2 and we were done by 10pts anyway.
Bawden is doing his job.
you can't kick over a jam tin. :D
Pluggeroo
29 Apr 2008, 22:14
you can't kick over a jam tin. :D
LOL. Correct.
About 35 is my distance now.
Back in the day though, I was pretty good from 40m. LOL:D
hey hey i've seen unlaunch a few from the light pole last year......
bigpapagman
30 Apr 2008, 09:11
unlaunch?
as in he de-launchs it?
it goes backwards?
unload a couple could be the go.
Pluggeroo
2 May 2008, 15:11
Confirmed today that Reserves Captain and Assistant Coach, Brad Platschinda will not play for the remainder of the season due to a knee injury he sustained in the 2nd quarter of the Round 1 encounter with Bunyip.
He goes under the knife for a reconstruction on the 20th of May.
goal sneak
2 May 2008, 15:22
I thought you were Brad Platschinda, Plugger? Is this not the case or do you just like to refer to yourself in third person?
bigpapagman
2 May 2008, 15:24
he was named on an extended bench last night.
whoever he is.
goal sneak
2 May 2008, 15:31
You know you are S.T. Ruggling when named on an extended bench for the magoos (bogan languague).
bigpapagman
2 May 2008, 15:54
david dench = bench.
goal sneak
2 May 2008, 16:02
Dead Horse = Tomato Sauce
Pluggeroo
2 May 2008, 16:04
he was named on an extended bench last night.
whoever he is.
He was named on an extended bench last night in the hope that the doctor would give the all clear today.
Not to be. Hard road back at 35.
goal sneak
2 May 2008, 16:06
Dont worry Mick Dillion for Cora Lynn is at least 52
Apparentley was an OK player in hs day. Poor bloke just embarasses these days.
bigpapagman
2 May 2008, 16:07
nah i think this might be the end for Platschinda.
He was named on an extended bench last night in the hope that the doctor would give the all clear today.
Not to be. Hard road back at 35.
oh well, you get that on big jobs
disapointing news for brad, really it is. my wishes are with him.
bigpapagman
3 May 2008, 00:09
yep. massive amounts of sensitivity.
goal sneak
3 May 2008, 18:38
Time to start a Darnos 2009 thread because you guys wont be playing finals this year.
Confirmed today that Reserves Captain and Assistant Coach, Brad Platschinda will not play for the remainder of the season due to a knee injury he sustained in the 2nd quarter of the Round 1 encounter with Bunyip.
He goes under the knife for a reconstruction on the 20th of May.
Hey Plug, as an ex team mate of yours i wish you all the best with the operation and hope you make a full recovery.
Pluggeroo
4 May 2008, 09:52
Hey Plug, as an ex team mate of yours i wish you all the best with the operation and hope you make a full recovery.
Why thank you Labroy. Havent seen you post on here for a long time.
Cheers
gippslander
4 May 2008, 11:04
what happened to the mighty darnos yesterday? losing to poowong?
Pluggeroo
4 May 2008, 20:26
what happened to the mighty darnos yesterday? losing to poowong?
Had a pretty bad day. Training was flat all week and as a result so were we on the weekend. Maybe the huge effort against the Saints last week took it's toll. Who knows?
Not to take anything away from Poowong. They were very good. Did enough to win the game in the end. Good on them.
gippslander
5 May 2008, 20:19
Had a pretty bad day. Training was flat all week and as a result so were we on the weekend. Maybe the huge effort against the Saints last week took it's toll. Who knows?
Not to take anything away from Poowong. They were very good. Did enough to win the game in the end. Good on them.
did u have a few out?
a couple but not to many, was just a disapointing day in every grade bar 3rds and 4ths.
have these days but dropped a very winnable game, standard slow start.
bigpapagman
6 May 2008, 09:24
okay. hit us with some advice champ.
take out the fact you guys are way closer to another decent league with money hungry pigs in it.
jimmyboy
6 May 2008, 09:35
Can someone please give me some info on Trent Webb who played for Darnum last year. Did he play for Gippsland Power?
bigpapagman
6 May 2008, 09:39
absolutely not.
i take it that you are from Ultima?
Cobras 2008
6 May 2008, 18:12
Darnos are a disgrace. If you are going to buy football players at least buy some players who can play the game. Look at us. We buy people who can play the game. You get spastics who wouldn't even get a game in the cobra 2's.
bigpapagman
6 May 2008, 18:26
yep jamie cann wouldn't get a game for you guys.
neither would allan chandler.
you are right.
Cobras 2008
6 May 2008, 18:26
Finally you are some speaking some sense chubbs
bigpapagman
6 May 2008, 18:39
yeah. okay. whatever you reckon mate.
shouldnt you get to training?
Pretty sure he's not a senior player, because none of them are as literate at that. (I use the word literate very liberally). Plus no senior players come from within 20 minutes of Cora Lynn (There's nothing within 20 minutes of Cora Lynn).
My bet is he's a thirdsman who couldn't get a game at Pakenham and plays at Cora Lynn with the rest of the MPNFL rejects they've got down there strutting around like they're kings of Cora Lynn. (the three men that actually live in Cora Lynn still claim that title and it's based on who has the best driveway bridge over the drain.)
bigpapagman
7 May 2008, 12:13
so what if they do?
all you appear to be doing is ruining this forum. why dont you **** off back to your stinking shithole of a town, no, wait, towns have shops & people. its a locality. or an area. a football ground with a septic drain running along side it. I thought cora lynn was a decent club, i considered playing there when they approached me directly after a game in 2006.(wasnt even changed yet). and also at the end of that season. (before sheeny rocked up). i'm glad i didnt now, you blokes are the epitome of what is wrong with country football.
WhenIwasyoung
7 May 2008, 13:14
Pretty sure Tuesday night is optional for "some" players at Cora Lynn. Most blokes on a decent packet would be expected to turn up to training 2 nights a week, attend all social functions, and basically "give something back" to the the club.
goal sneak
7 May 2008, 13:15
Blokes on a decent pay packet are not paid to attend functions. They are paid to win football games.
Cobras 2008
7 May 2008, 13:37
so what if they do?
all you appear to be doing is ruining this forum. why dont you **** off back to your stinking shithole of a town, no, wait, towns have shops & people. its a locality. or an area. a football ground with a septic drain running along side it. I thought cora lynn was a decent club, i considered playing there when they approached me directly after a game in 2006.(wasnt even changed yet). and also at the end of that season. (before sheeny rocked up). i'm glad i didnt now, you blokes are the epitome of what is wrong with country football.
Good one chubbs. As if you would get a game for us. Could just imagine a forward line of Donno, Sheeny, Collo and you. Yeah righta! You would not even make the 2s. Stick to eating your pies instead of making up bullshit stories.
bigpapagman
7 May 2008, 13:38
correct.
but if i was paying some one as much as some people do get paid then i would expect them to do a bit around the club.
bigpapagman
7 May 2008, 13:40
Good one chubbs. As if you would get a game for us. Could just imagine a forward line of Donno, Sheeny, Collo and you. Yeah righta! You would not even make the 2s. Stick to eating your pies instead of making up bullshit stories.
nah mate im talking 2006 here. i was in a bit better shape then.
http://www.edfl.vcfl.com.au/game.asp?game=202700&comp=4154&orgid=326
pretty sure it was directly after this game, when you nearly got beaten by a fairly average side.
you guys didnt have a full forward.
M.Gooden 57 goals >>>>>> Whoever won your goalkicking 34 goals.
goal sneak
7 May 2008, 15:27
Cobras 2008 why don't you name yourself. You are bagging everyone on here but in reality you are probably an ex ones player who now plays 2s that your club has recruited.
Trent webb senior fringe player at darnum, well would of been this year, was an ok player, played alot of twos, did not player gippsland power, far from that but im sure "festy, doully or the ugly kid" would of told you he did, like he told us ultima won the first game, he featured in the best with 27 touches and 3 goals only to look on the net.
they lost by easily 212 points.
hes a good bloke not a star but was looking fit in pre season.
Cobras 2008
8 May 2008, 12:06
Trent webb senior fringe player at darnum, well would of been this year, was an ok player, played alot of twos, did not player gippsland power, far from that but im sure "festy, doully or the ugly kid" would of told you he did, like he told us ultima won the first game, he featured in the best with 27 touches and 3 goals only to look on the net.
they lost by easily 212 points.
hes a good bloke not a star but was looking fit in pre season.
Are you trying to descibe the entire Darnum population?
bigpapagman
11 May 2008, 12:53
at least darnum have a population and things like a shop.
scottie pippen
11 May 2008, 14:40
shops don't win football games
bigpapagman
12 May 2008, 09:30
no but it creates infrastructure & ensures there is a township around your club.
not just a football club.
scottie pippen
12 May 2008, 12:50
Seems to be working well for you....forget infrastructure and recruit players who can get a kick against good opposition. There are no points awarded for best township
bigpapagman
12 May 2008, 12:56
im speaking long term, mate.
scottie pippen
12 May 2008, 14:05
i understand that but IMHO you are a long long way off.
cora lynn is never going to have a massive township it never has or build infrastructure etc
We have the top team in the league and argurably the best ground and facilities so were doing allright.
Jeffrey Boots
12 May 2008, 14:07
Michael Jordan's offsider has got a point. Calling a spade a spade, the key feature of Darnum is really a tip
great to see the darnos so competitive this year still looks like you'll be 2-4 after 6 though i'd say
i got it wrong, they are 1-5 after 6 games, nearly need to win every game from here on to make top 6
bigpapagman
16 May 2008, 14:45
there are at least 7 games where i would like to think we can win out of the remaining 12. KWR, Ellinbank, Bunyip, Poowong, NNS, Buln & Dusties.
then we have Catani, Nyora, Longwarry, NNG & Lang Lang.
if we can manage to somehow win 3/5 of the better sides, then we will be a geniune show. If you look @ the games against Nyora & Catani, we could have won both of them.
And the return match against NNG @ home will be a different story. Lang Lang & Longwarry? No idea how we will match up against them. Still a chance, just need everything to fall into the right hole, i guess. I am hoping that the loss against Poowong doesnt hurt too much. It was a game i believe we had won before we even took the field, and that was our downfall. It may all come down to the final round against poowong. dont write us off yet
goal sneak
16 May 2008, 14:48
Your finals chances are over. Most likely finish between 8th and 10th.
bigpapagman
16 May 2008, 14:50
see my post, please.
not writing them off completely - just looking at it realistically.
on the positive side though, they will probably improve on the 6 wins from last year and as you say have been competitive against last years GF sides
bigpapagman
16 May 2008, 14:57
oh yeah i understand that.
just saying that it is not all over yet.
Next Of Kin
16 May 2008, 15:01
I honestly cannot seeing Nilma Darnum play finals this year. It is a very long way back from 1-5 especially when Catani is sitting in 6th place 3 wins and percentage infront of them.
bigpapagman
16 May 2008, 15:38
oh yeah for sure, its gonna be a massive task & alot of things have to go our way.
including not losing this week, its pretty much an elimination final for darnum this week
bigpapagman
16 May 2008, 16:37
close enough to it.
basically all 7 games against non top 6 sides are now.
Timid Tiger
16 May 2008, 17:20
Who have the Dusties beaten this year? That club should be suspened from the league immediately.
bigpapagman
16 May 2008, 17:54
they have beaten on-one.
do you undertand that nilma darnum & the dusties are two differnt clubs?
Timid Tiger
16 May 2008, 18:07
Maybe they should merge. Then instead of having 2 shit clubs you will only have 1 shit club.
Pluggeroo
16 May 2008, 21:09
Maybe they should merge. Then instead of having 2 shit clubs you will only have 1 shit club.
That would be ok. Then the Nilma/Darnum/Warragul Industrials would have won a combined 9 premierships since Lang Lang troubled the statistitian.
It would appear that the only way Lang Lang would win a flag would be to join forces with Catani, Nyora, or maybe even one of the Peninsular Clubs.
Premierships Since WWI ended:-
Warragul Industrials = 5 -> 1948, 1960, 1976, 1986, 1996
Nilma/Lillico/Darnum = 4 -> 1948, 1949, 1951, 1959
Lang Lang = 0
speedytiger
16 May 2008, 21:31
For f..ks sake timid tiger please stop your dribble. It only gives people a chance to mention our rather empty trophy cabinet! Lets get the f..cking thing in the cabinet first. Then we can gob off all we like
Pluggeroo
16 May 2008, 21:40
For f..ks sake timid tiger please stop your dribble. It only gives people a chance to mention our rather empty trophy cabinet! Lets get the f..cking thing in the cabinet first. Then we can gob off all we like
And we will all applaud you.
Congratulate you, even.
chicken wing
16 May 2008, 22:35
longwarry and langy will smash darnum wouldnt even put them in the same sentence nilma have improved but dont think they will not match them two sides to quick to skillfull
Timid Tiger
16 May 2008, 23:03
Let them bag the empty cabinet all they like. Because it wont be empty at the end of this season.
speedytiger
16 May 2008, 23:11
Let them bag the empty cabinet all they like. Because it wont be empty at the end of this season.
If it is filled im sure it wont be any thanks to you
Pluggeroo
18 May 2008, 09:18
Arguing the night before a big game hey fellas? Not a good sign...
True True. Might have been their downfall yesterday, Ben.
no arguments now after yesterdays results, no chance for the darnos to make top 6 at all now, same goes for bankers, buln, neerim and dusties. no big surprises there
Pluggeroo
18 May 2008, 11:04
no arguments now after yesterdays results, no chance for the darnos to make top 6 at all now, same goes for bankers, buln, neerim and dusties. no big surprises there
Yep. Thats pretty much it for us now. All that is left is to help shape the 6. Hopefully we can remain competitive and have a good finish to lead us into next year.
bigpapagman
19 May 2008, 12:22
that is the biggest load of crap i have ever read. You can not make the finals. End of story. You will probably win 4 or 5 more games for the year. Finish around 8th-10th. A long way from the finals. You goose.
you must remain positive, mate.
even 5 years ago when i played for warragul & used to kick the absolute shit out of Cora Lynn every time we played them, i'm sure they remained positive, but you wouldnt know.
on one such occasion, i believe the margain was around 180 points.
bigpapagman
26 May 2008, 13:48
Darnum back in full swing.
117 point winners over Ellinbank.
watch out everyone.
Pluggeroo
26 May 2008, 13:52
Darnum back in full swing.
117 point winners over Ellinbank.
watch out everyone.
Dont get too carried away, mate.
Whilst it was a great win, I thought the reserves win was far better. To come from 29 points to nil behind at quarter time, and get up by a goal in the last minute was a great effort. 4 goals to yourself was a very handy contribution.
Gets us back on track for a shot at september.
saint leo
26 May 2008, 13:58
Good win but Ellinbank had no johnson or major, would not made that difference but the game would have been closer with them playing.
bigpapagman
26 May 2008, 14:46
Dont get too carried away, mate.
Whilst it was a great win, I thought the reserves win was far better. To come from 29 points to nil behind at quarter time, and get up by a goal in the last minute was a great effort. 4 goals to yourself was a very handy contribution.
Gets us back on track for a shot at september.
who kicked that last minute pisser from the boundary line by the way, plugger?
goal sneak
26 May 2008, 15:25
Good to see you kick a few papa. Another bag this week and you will be right for the big round 10 clash.
bigpapagman
26 May 2008, 16:06
lol. hope so.
whos shorts, socks and boots where you wearing?
bigpapagman
28 May 2008, 17:25
http://my247.com.au/247venue_images/17190-20071217-MONTE-SPONSORS.JPG
goal sneak
28 May 2008, 17:27
WTF is that?
bigpapagman
28 May 2008, 17:29
dont worry about it.
darnos will get it.
goal sneak
28 May 2008, 17:31
He looks old enough to be her father.
bigpapagman
28 May 2008, 17:36
lol. dunno about that.
goal sneak
28 May 2008, 17:46
who is it?
bigpapagman
28 May 2008, 17:51
the duckster.
bigpapagman
28 May 2008, 17:52
possibly the biggest machine in the league.