View Full Version : Darnos 2008
lucifer1
28 May 2008, 20:49
who is it?
Allan Chandler
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 10:37
lol. i was just googling a few different things. i was hoping for some sort of humourous football/cricket photo. do you want me to take it down?
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 10:42
and its not a blog.
its a forum.
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 10:46
http://my247.com.au/247venue_images/17190-20071217-MONTE-SPONSORS.JPG
this is where your photo used to be.
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 10:53
we are going on a bus trip there over the queens birthday.
as a team.
goal sneak
29 May 2008, 11:00
What is the point? Any team bonding that occurs will just be eroded when you are belted by the tiggy train the week after.
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 11:03
yeah. righto.
Next Of Kin
29 May 2008, 14:38
Huge game for the Darnos this week. They have to win to keep their finals hopes alive. Against Longwarry I think that they are a massive shot.
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 14:46
yeah. we hope so.
Huge game for the Darnos this week. They have to win to keep their finals hopes alive. Against Longwarry I think that they are a massive shot.
everyone from bunyip down are already gone
Next Of Kin
29 May 2008, 14:53
I have to disagree there archer. Nilma are only 3 games behind catani. Over the next 6 weeks nilma play longwarry, langy, buln, neerim, dusties and bunyip. while catani have matches against cora lynn, nar nar goon and nyora which i cannot see them winning. If nilma can win 5 or their next 6 they will only be 1 game behind catani. from there anything can happen.
goal sneak
29 May 2008, 14:59
NOK please do not mention Nilma Darnum and finals in the same sentance unless discussing who is not playing in them.
speedytiger
29 May 2008, 15:03
Catani were terrible on the weekend but they still have enough good players to turn it around. I still think poowong is the big danger, longwarry and lang should end the darnos hopes
I have to disagree there archer. Nilma are only 3 games behind catani. Over the next 6 weeks nilma play longwarry, langy, buln, neerim, dusties and bunyip. while catani have matches against cora lynn, nar nar goon and nyora which i cannot see them winning. If nilma can win 5 or their next 6 they will only be 1 game behind catani. from there anything can happen.
catani have the dusties, neerim and bunyip in the next 3 weeks
goal sneak
29 May 2008, 15:07
Even if catani make it they will just be making up the numbers.
pretty tough to win it from 5th or 6th
speedytiger
29 May 2008, 15:14
pretty tough to win it from 5th or 6th
Probably not as tough this year compared to others. I think the top sides far more even this year.
its not mathematically impossible NOK but they will need to win EVERY game from now on
what do you think the chances are of that happening?
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 15:52
i think i worked out we can lose one more maybe two depending on how everyone else goes.
goal sneak
29 May 2008, 15:59
I would love to see darnum sneak into the finals. Hopefully we finish third and get a nice little practice match in the first week of finals.
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 16:04
in order to make the finals, we would have to be in cora lynn threatening form for the next 3 months. if we do make it, i would watch the **** out.
as Mr Wolf says 'lets not go ******* each others **** quite yet gentleman'
the darnos have won 2 games from 9
granted the win on the w/e wasn't bad but it was against a middle of the road side with 2 of their best out
They have no hope of making the top 6 - put it to bed big papa
bigpapagman
29 May 2008, 16:30
must. remain. positive.
nilma wont get over longwarry this week.. longwarry will be far to good. just because they had a loss to nyora, and drew with poowong (who seem to have there players back) doesnt mean they arent the same side they were when they knocked off lang lang at the start of the year. will take something special for nilma to out do them. yous might aswell start looking forward to next season papa
'Knocked off Lang Lang?' you've been listening to too much GS propaganda.
Very tough for them to make the finals. But if you sneak into 6th, you're in as good a spot as 3rd. But to win the flag, Nilma have to win at least 8 of the next 10, then win another 4 on the trot in the finals. Not happening, but worthy premiers if it does. One injury and it would be all over.
lucifer1
30 May 2008, 19:02
Please lets not even debate something as ridiculous as this. They have no chance whatsoever.
If Melbourne win every game from now till round 22 they can make finals. That is the same odds as Darnos have. Do you realise how ridiculous you sound now bigpapa?
If it's possible, it's possible, gives the team something to play for at least. I'd have them at over 500 for the flag, but stranger things have happened.
They'll have plenty of time to play for next season at the end of the year, they might as well keep seeking glory while still a remote possibility.
Potentially could be the best comeback and win the premiership since Fitzroy finished bottom and won the flag during the war.
bigpapagman
2 Jun 2008, 09:25
stack the twos.
Alan Chandler is the best player in the EDFL.
that might sound very biased but seriously, most under rated player in the league, if not country victoria.
shirtfront
2 Jun 2008, 22:57
Alan Chandler is the best player in the EDFL.
that might sound very biased but seriously, most under rated player in the league, if not country victoria.
Darnum are a pack of hungry self centred individuals that will never go anywhere until they learn that teams win games,not Chandler or Cann or any other player with any ability,seen them twice it looks like mates rates on the ground
They kick to a contest when they have free players leading:rolleyes:
bigpapagman
3 Jun 2008, 08:55
edfl, mate. 50/50's are more common than handballs.
50/50s are more way more common in the bad games. The better games tend to be a bit more directed.
goal sneak
15 Jun 2008, 11:23
Darnum are a pack of hungry self centred individuals that will never go anywhere until they learn that teams win games,not Chandler or Cann or any other player with any ability,seen them twice it looks like mates rates on the ground
They kick to a contest when they have free players leading:rolleyes:
Have to agree with this. The good players seemed to just want to kick it to each other even when there were others in better positions.
dontblowgoats
19 Jun 2008, 13:33
mates rates?
superslow
19 Jun 2008, 23:50
Sneak you wouldn't even know what a footy is your too busy running the other way so you don't get dirty
goal sneak
19 Jun 2008, 23:57
Who the **** are you? You must be so tough dishing out insults from behind a computer screen. Probably just another gimp who plays 2s for darnum.
bigpapagman
20 Jun 2008, 09:30
Sneak you wouldn't even know what a footy is your too busy running the other way so you don't get dirty
shutup julian.
loveskickinggoals
20 Jun 2008, 10:04
still wondering what the hell is mates rates???
bigpapagman
20 Jun 2008, 10:54
when friends help each other get shitloads of touches.
ie: joel & patrick bowden a few years ago.
goal sneak
21 Jun 2008, 19:43
Pfft
lucifer1
22 Jun 2008, 17:02
What sort of spin will Plugger try to put on this one. Absolutely shocking loss!
Pluggeroo
22 Jun 2008, 20:48
What sort of spin will Plugger try to put on this one. Absolutely shocking loss!
I dont recall ever putting spin on anything. We were shocking yesterday. Plain and simple.
saint leo
22 Jun 2008, 21:26
You have put a positive on Darnum for 2 years, they are no good. You blokes thought you would make finals last year, be pushing for top few spots this year and win a flag next year! You are a long way from it!!
Sounds like a terry wallace 5 year plan to me.
goal sneak
22 Jun 2008, 21:57
Yep agreed darnos struggle.
bigpapagman
23 Jun 2008, 09:23
shocking.
bigger bodies help in the wet. our midget brigade simply couldnt handle the conditions.
dontblowgoats
23 Jun 2008, 18:10
Can we please start a Darnos 2009 thread. RIP 2008
bigpapagman
24 Jun 2008, 09:12
or at least a darnos 2nds 2008 thread.
goal sneak
25 Jun 2008, 21:02
See that the Darnos have signed Sinclair again for 09.
shirtfront
28 Jun 2008, 23:31
See that the Darnos have signed Sinclair again for 09.
He might be a good coach with a team full of talent but I wonder with a team with a few good players that he does't have a good enough football brain to take Darnum any further
He seems to rely on the players with talent rather than bringing other less talented players into the game
Pluggeroo
29 Jun 2008, 11:44
He might be a good coach with a team full of talent but I wonder with a team with a few good players that he does't have a good enough football brain to take Darnum any further
He seems to rely on the players with talent rather than bringing other less talented players into the game
Couldnt be more wrong, really.
Played 3 kids out of the thirds, yesterday, and they were all fantastic. This, I believe, is a sign that he is already developing them for next year.
Oh, and there is no problem with the brain, either. Best coach, tactically and technically, that I have had. Very professional and thorough in everything he does. He gets the best out of everybody. Sometimes the best isn't good enough.
At the end of the day, some players have been asked to play senior footy when they either arent up to it or have fallen a bit short and are under-developed in football terms. We are already working on rectifying that for next year.
Next Of Kin
29 Jun 2008, 17:35
Darnos are poo.
Couldnt be more wrong, really.
Played 3 kids out of the thirds, yesterday, and they were all fantastic. This, I believe, is a sign that he is already developing them for next year.
Oh, and there is no problem with the brain, either. Best coach, tactically and technically, that I have had. Very professional and thorough in everything he does. He gets the best out of everybody. Sometimes the best isn't good enough.
At the end of the day, some players have been asked to play senior footy when they either arent up to it or have fallen a bit short and are under-developed in football terms. We are already working on rectifying that for next year.
quote:Played 3 kids out of the thirds, yesterday, and they were all fantastic
what decoys to run the opposition players away from the play
Adds up to a dick wit that can't coach
we won that game to ;) so it was either a stroke of genius or bringing the youngsters through like most bottom half coaches would be by now..
good post.
Bergles---------------centre-----ALL DAY(good playmaker)
O'hara --------------Rover-----changing with youngman (back pocket or flank)
Hughes to full foward(Good kick)
Chandler ruck rover changing with Cann forward pocket(potent)
Jensen (wing)on a good day brillant
Price---(wing) never plays a bad game
Olney-----CHF or CHB (this bloke can read the play and the ball)If he could take a mark he would be brillant !!!!!(disposal lets him down)
Just a few changes that would make a hell of a differance at darnum
Also with the other good young players its about time Sinclair tried a different approach !
we won that game to ;) so it was either a stroke of genius or bringing the youngsters through like most bottom half coaches would be by now..
good post.
4 wins for the year .........Good post
good post.
Darnum have the players to stop any team but they won't while the coach is playing with a 5 card deck (20 players make team!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 09:20
Bergles---------------centre-----ALL DAY(good playmaker)
O'hara --------------Rover-----changing with youngman (back pocket or flank)
Hughes to full foward(Good kick)
Chandler ruck rover changing with Cann forward pocket(potent)
Jensen (wing)on a good day brillant
Price---(wing) never plays a bad game
Olney-----CHF or CHB (this bloke can read the play and the ball)If he could take a mark he would be brillant !!!!!(disposal lets him down)
Just a few changes that would make a hell of a differance at darnum
Also with the other good young players its about time Sinclair tried a different approach !
bergles.
kicks a shitload of goals. why would you move him?
In And Under Tiger
23 Jul 2008, 09:44
Darnum ... won't while the coach is playing with a 5 card deck (20 players make team!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
Spot on olmate. Darnum are going have to go backwards before going forwards. They don't play like a team, and won't be able to beat good teams until they learn how to.
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 10:03
hi jake.
i'll agree with most of it, considering its how we line up most weeks.. but i'd be leaving bergels at FF atm
speedytiger
23 Jul 2008, 12:49
I see the Mal Michael rumour is back, pakky gazette
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 13:54
dear god no.
Next Of Kin
23 Jul 2008, 13:59
Yep i have it on good authority that mal will be pulling on the boots at Nilma next year for around $2000 a game.
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 14:00
awesome.
In And Under Tiger
23 Jul 2008, 14:16
Oarsome!
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 14:29
orsum.
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 14:34
Waste of money if its true. I reckon 5 x $400 a game would be much better value!
In And Under Tiger
23 Jul 2008, 14:43
orsum.
http://www.newsvent.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/03/id_fail.jpg
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 15:22
Waste of money if its true. I reckon 5 x $400 a game would be much better value!
for sure.
he would get bums on seats though. gate would be up.
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 15:28
For about 2 weeks ya would but would not be a good investment over the year. No one is worth 2000 a game in this league but for that amount of money you would wont a superstar ruckman who could dominate around the ground or a CHF who would take 15-20 marks and kick 5-6 goals a game. Mal Michael would not do either of them.
Mal Michael or Gilliate, Sheen, Franklin, Batt, Phil Smith? I reckon they would be about 2000 a week between them.
welcome back mal :D
knew it would come good!
speedytiger
23 Jul 2008, 15:42
I'm sure if mal trains hard and puts his head down he might get a spot in the pocket next to papa. Just make sure he stays out of your space papa!!
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 15:46
At least that means the Shitruck wont be at essendon next year, thats a good thing!!
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 16:31
lol.
EDFL follower
23 Jul 2008, 16:57
At least that means the Shitruck wont be at essendon next year, thats a good thing!!
Do you barrack for Essendon Leo
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 17:13
Yeah i do, let me guess you barrack for North?
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 17:21
why are you listed as freo?
Stanley da Russian
23 Jul 2008, 17:29
For about 2 weeks ya would but would not be a good investment over the year. No one is worth 2000 a game in this league but for that amount of money you would wont a superstar ruckman who could dominate around the ground or a CHF who would take 15-20 marks and kick 5-6 goals a game. Mal Michael would not do either of them.
Mal Michael or Gilliate, Sheen, Franklin, Batt, Phil Smith? I reckon they would be about 2000 a week between them.
PFFFFTTT! More like 3K.
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2008, 17:54
2.5-3 would be closer.
sheeny would eat up about 800-1000.
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 18:00
I dont think sheen is anywhere near that much, i think 400-500 from what i have heard, donno was on far more. Batt about 400, Franklin 300, Gilliatte and Smith 400-500. Rory is coach this year so maybe a bit extra for that but i got no idea what he gets. Would not be much more than 400 a person for them blokes.
Not every club has to pay 600+ like NNG nad Nilma to recruit gun players.
speedytiger
23 Jul 2008, 18:39
I dont think sheen is anywhere near that much, i think 400-500 from what i have heard, donno was on far more. Batt about 400, Franklin 300, Gilliatte and Smith 400-500. Rory is coach this year so maybe a bit extra for that but i got no idea what he gets. Would not be much more than 400 a person for them blokes.
Not every club has to pay 600+ like NNG nad Nilma to recruit gun players.
Way off the mark sorry. Dont forget Batt plays at his home club. As with all good players he could get stacks more elsewhere. And please dont tell Franklin he's worth that much, we might have to pay it!!
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 19:08
Well what are they on then, i know its his home club but he would still be on good coin, he could prob get 600-700 other places. Franklin would have to be on close to 300. 400 is not huge money these days, almost every club would have a player on that much money for sure.
Lang Lang would be paying a lot this year cos they reckoned they were close to a flag and they might be, but probably a year off.
Both Feet
23 Jul 2008, 19:16
How would you have any idea what NNG pays it's players? Which players do you think would be on 600+ ?
In And Under Tiger
23 Jul 2008, 19:21
Leo, I think you are a long way off the mark with your comment about Lang Lang paying a lot. We never thought we were in a position to challenge for a flag. When wde sat down at the start of the year our goal was to play finals. Now that we have made finals anything from here will be a bonus. I think you will also find a lot of guys at Lang Lang are on a lot less than they could get elsewhere. A few blokes that came from other clubs that would be in our top 5 told me what they were on last year and it was only $150. Batt could get $800 at some other clubs but plays for a lot less at Lang.
Pluggeroo
23 Jul 2008, 19:34
Mal's chances of coming to Darnum in 2009 are about 10-90.
Dont believe everything you read.
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 19:56
Leo, I think you are a long way off the mark with your comment about Lang Lang paying a lot. We never thought we were in a position to challenge for a flag. When wde sat down at the start of the year our goal was to play finals. Now that we have made finals anything from here will be a bonus. I think you will also find a lot of guys at Lang Lang are on a lot less than they could get elsewhere. A few blokes that came from other clubs that would be in our top 5 told me what they were on last year and it was only $150. Batt could get $800 at some other clubs but plays for a lot less at Lang.
People always say that about there own clubs, Cora Lynn would pay the most, then i reckon Catani and Nilma, then nyora, LL and NNG would be similar. Apparently buln a lot but i don't know, and Longwarry never pay heaps but the got Quaife, Campbell and Ablett during the year which would put them up a bit. LL have about 10 blokes on cash so when ya add it up its a lot of cash.
By talking to a few LL players preseason they thought they were only 2 players off winning a flag, i think that round 18 cup win against us last year gave some of you guys a false hope.
speedytiger
23 Jul 2008, 20:10
leo, you guys paid beaver. End of conversation
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 20:18
Rhys Nisbet is you ass coach for the 3rd year in a row! he is shocking!
gippslander
23 Jul 2008, 20:21
leo, you guys paid beaver. End of conversation
please tell me that is not true
steamboat
23 Jul 2008, 20:54
beaver was never paid a cent and rightfully so, way off the mark with that one lads
In And Under Tiger
23 Jul 2008, 20:55
Can confirm Beaver was on $200 a game.
saint leo
23 Jul 2008, 21:26
Only $200 a game, that would be the lowest paid player we have ever had!!
You got to be kidding dont you, beaver was an ok player but i dont think we would have been getting anything. Maybe a drink card at the most.
All i said was i think batt would be on $400 a game and you say its crap but wont say what he is on? I would happily pay Kurt that much to play if i was lang lang and i think every person in the league would think the same, i dont see what you are arguing about!
speedytiger
23 Jul 2008, 21:47
Only $200 a game, that would be the lowest paid player we have ever had!!
You got to be kidding dont you, beaver was an ok player but i dont think we would have been getting anything. Maybe a drink card at the most.
All i said was i think batt would be on $400 a game and you say its crap but wont say what he is on? I would happily pay Kurt that much to play if i was lang lang and i think every person in the league would think the same, i dont see what you are arguing about!
Beaver was getting paid. I doubt 200 though, also it would have only been per senior game, so you rarely would have had to. Kurt is obviously worth more than he gets and lang probably would be prepared to pay more. Thankfully due to the quality of the bloke we don't have to. Every club has these guys, I hear big O from catani is also in the same boat. GOOD ON THEM
lucifer1
23 Jul 2008, 22:48
Beaver was getting paid. I doubt 200 though, also it would have only been per senior game, so you rarely would have had to. Kurt is obviously worth more than he gets and lang probably would be prepared to pay more. Thankfully due to the quality of the bloke we don't have to. Every club has these guys, I hear big O from catani is also in the same boat. GOOD ON THEM
That big heap that stands in the forward line doesnt receive a cent actually.
bergles.
kicks a shitload of goals. why would you move him?
Because if he was in the centre he would be pumping it into the forwards and running on to the ball and kicking goals himself !
At the moment he sits back for the easy kicks and goals!!!!!!!!!
i'll agree with most of it, considering its how we line up most weeks.. but i'd be leaving bergels at FF atm
Why ?
Bergels playes for himself NOT the TEAM
20 dopes playing as a team and losing is much better than 1 bloke playing the lone ranger and losing(EG: 8 goals)
speedytiger
23 Jul 2008, 23:14
[/b]
That big heap that stands in the forward line doesnt receive a cent actually.
How good is that? Blokes like that are rare today
playing for the jumper