View Full Version : Darnos 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

lucifer1
24 Jul 2008, 07:16
He just gets canteen vouchers:D

WhenIwasyoung
24 Jul 2008, 08:50
Not every club has to pay 600+ like NNG nad Nilma to recruit gun players.
Who would be on that money @ NNG Leo?? Don't think any of the players are worth that.

Or are you talking out of your a*se and have no idea??

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 09:26
People always say that about there own clubs, Cora Lynn would pay the most, then i reckon Catani and Nilma, then nyora, LL and NNG would be similar. Apparently buln a lot but i don't know, and Longwarry never pay heaps but the got Quaife, Campbell and Ablett during the year which would put them up a bit. LL have about 10 blokes on cash so when ya add it up its a lot of cash.

By talking to a few LL players preseason they thought they were only 2 players off winning a flag, i think that round 18 cup win against us last year gave some of you guys a false hope.
how many paid players do you seriously think we have?

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 09:28
[/B]

That big heap that stands in the forward line doesnt receive a cent actually.
he would have last year & maybe at the start of this year, though?

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 09:29
Why ?

Bergels playes for himself NOT the TEAM

20 dopes playing as a team and losing is much better than 1 bloke playing the lone ranger and losing(EG: 8 goals)
you havent seen kael play much this year.

saint leo
24 Jul 2008, 10:41
how many paid players do you seriously think we have?

Not sure but including your coach i have no doubt you would be paying in the top 3 in the comp. I reckon the order would be

Cora Lynn

Catani
Nilma

LL
Nyora
NNG
Longwarry
Buln ?? You would know more than us about them

NNS
KWR
Ellinbank
Bunyip

Dusties

Grouped together i think would be payin similar amounts.

WhenIwasyoung
24 Jul 2008, 11:34
Based on the issues we are hearing about down at KWR, maybe they are paying a bit more and might need to move up a bracket??

We will never find out the whole picture on most clubs.

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 11:37
buln would have been up there earlier in the season but now are not, due to non-performance.

yeah if you include sinclair, we would be right up there.

saint leo
24 Jul 2008, 12:06
Thats just my thoughts on seeing the teams and what ppl hear around the place. I have no idea what most at nyora or on so its just a guess really.

I dont think KWR pay much, i just think they have been a really badly run club. Ellinbank would be paying a lot less since their coach left, would have been higher at start of year.

Stanley da Russian
24 Jul 2008, 13:30
Not every club has to pay 600+ like NNG nad Nilma to recruit gun players.

You are kidding aren't you? Name one player for me on that sort of money at NNG please you goose.

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 13:34
yeah i dont think anyone from NNG would be on that either.

Williams as coach could be.

they dont have any standout, matchwinning players worth that sort of coin, they are just a well rounded, even team.

Stanley da Russian
24 Jul 2008, 13:42
yeah i dont think anyone from NNG would be on that either.

Williams as coach could be.

they dont have any standout, matchwinning players worth that sort of coin, they are just a well rounded, even team.

Well said papa. There aren't many players in this comp actually worth that sort of money. Some might pay them more, but doesn't necessarily mean they are worth it.

lucifer1
24 Jul 2008, 13:46
he would have last year & maybe at the start of this year, though?

Hes a local, hes never received anything. Believe it or not some locals dont put their hand out. Its called loyalty.

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 13:53
fair enough, then. does he get double awards or something?

lucifer1
24 Jul 2008, 14:11
No, there are cash awards that can only be won by local players. If he plays well enough he gets one of them

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 14:31
ah, okay then.

Stanley da Russian
24 Jul 2008, 14:38
Hes a local, hes never received anything. Believe it or not some locals dont put their hand out. Its called loyalty.

Do you get paid Lucy? Or are you one of those blokes who put there hand out?

Axe Man
24 Jul 2008, 15:06
Not sure but including your coach i have no doubt you would be paying in the top 3 in the comp. I reckon the order would be

Cora Lynn

Catani
Nilma

LL
Nyora
NNG
Longwarry

NNS
KWR
Ellinbank
Bunyip

Dusties

Does everyone at Poowong play for nothing?:D

lucifer1
24 Jul 2008, 15:07
I just get a kick, unlike yourself Stanley

bigpapagman
24 Jul 2008, 15:07
would imagine they are in the third tier.

unless sweeney bumps them into the 2nd.

In And Under Tiger
24 Jul 2008, 16:52
I can't really see how Nilma are so high on that list. They would only have 3-4 paid players IMO. Nyora and Lang Lang would both have 8-12 guys on coin.

saint leo
25 Jul 2008, 09:54
Sorry missed them, they would be up with Nyora and LL i reckon. Sweeney, Anthony, Grant are all on huge coin. A few of the good locals would be on cash too.

Next Of Kin
25 Jul 2008, 12:40

Cora Lynn

Catani
Nilma

LL
Nyora
NNG
Longwarry

NNS
KWR
Ellinbank
Bunyip

Dusties

Cora Lynn would pay the most, closely followed by Lang Lang, Nilma Darnum and Nyora. Don't think Catani would be up that high, especially if blokes like Fitzpatrick aren't getting a cent. You also have Longwarry way to high. They are paying very little this year and would be below Bunyip, KWR and Buln Buln.

bigpapagman
25 Jul 2008, 12:46
agreed on longwarry.

saint leo
25 Jul 2008, 12:53
Cora Lynn would pay the most, closely followed by Lang Lang, Nilma Darnum and Nyora. Don't think Catani would be up that high, especially if blokes like Fitzpatrick aren't getting a cent. You also have Longwarry way to high. They are paying very little this year and would be below Bunyip, KWR and Buln Buln.

Longwarry would not have been high at start of year but they picked up ablett, campbell and quaife during the season. Quaife doesnt play anywhere for the love of the club, had to pay money to Bunyip to get ablett cleared and campbell is a gun who was always on very good coin there in the past.

Catani have Phil Smith, Harris who they have added this year. Not sure who they lost from last year that was on much coin?
I really doubt O Fitz is not getting paid, would be well under what he could get but he gets something, maybe 200 a game?

I think NNG would be up with Nyora and LL too, got 5 or 6 ROC blokes who would be on good cash.

olmate
25 Jul 2008, 22:32
you havent seen kael play much this year.

Have seen you and Kael a few times this year the problem you both have is an own goal is so much important than a team goal!!!

Both of you DON'T know what a handball is or what a team mate is!!!!

Take up golf or tennis,have a win then have a drink with your team mates :)

goodie
26 Jul 2008, 07:57
ive seen bigpapa give 2 off this year in the goal square!!!!!!!

gippslander
26 Jul 2008, 18:26
Sorry missed them, they would be up with Nyora and LL i reckon. Sweeney, Anthony, Grant are all on huge coin. A few of the good locals would be on cash too.
who would the good locals on big coin be?

olmate
26 Jul 2008, 19:16
ive seen bigpapa give 2 off this year in the goal square!!!!!!!

because he's to slow to turn and kick it
FFS he's playing in the seconds

saint leo
26 Jul 2008, 20:01
Hooker, Jess Att and Fitzy do alright out of it. Not huge cash cos all very good players but they get enough.

gippslander
26 Jul 2008, 20:12
Hooker, Jess Att and Fitzy do alright out of it. Not huge cash cos all very good players but they get enough.
so they should, have to still look after your locals

saint leo
26 Jul 2008, 20:50
yeah ya do, all 3 a great blokes who deserve it. Most top 6 teams would pay 8-10 players, if ya want to be good ya have to and if locals are good enough they should get cash to.

lucifer1
27 Jul 2008, 21:31
Longwarry would not have been high at start of year but they picked up ablett, campbell and quaife during the season. Quaife doesnt play anywhere for the love of the club, had to pay money to Bunyip to get ablett cleared and campbell is a gun who was always on very good coin there in the past.

Catani have Phil Smith, Harris who they have added this year. Not sure who they lost from last year that was on much coin?
I really doubt O Fitz is not getting paid, would be well under what he could get but he gets something, maybe 200 a game?

I think NNG would be up with Nyora and LL too, got 5 or 6 ROC blokes who would be on good cash.

You dont have to believe it, but it is fact.

However, after this year he will probably have to get something

Pluggeroo
27 Jul 2008, 23:32
You dont have to believe it, but it is fact.

However, after this year he will probably have to get something

Nice 14 goal haul yesterday. Unstoppable with the quality ball coming in to him. Could have kicked 20 barring some missed shots. One thing I notice about him is he is actually a beautiful kick with a near flawless technique. He makes kicking the ball look easy.

Catani would be please with their return to form, albeit against an ordinary effort from us.

Could probably translate that to be a 6 goal haul against the others fighting it out in the finals.

bigpapagman
28 Jul 2008, 09:20
okay. majority of marks/goals i kick are from 0-25 meters.

you go ahead and handball that far out after a mark.

Next Of Kin
30 Jul 2008, 12:35
Read in the pakenham gazette that sinclair said it was the worst display of football he had seen in his 27 years involved in the game. So much for Nilma going places.

goodie
30 Jul 2008, 12:38
yep i got the **** outta there at half time....

Axe Man
30 Jul 2008, 13:01
Read in the pakenham gazette that sinclair said it was the worst display of football he had seen in his 27 years involved in the game. So much for Nilma going places.

He obviously didn't see Darnum play before he got there. Or us over the last 2 years.

bigpapagman
30 Jul 2008, 13:09
Catani vs. Dusties last year was the worst one i have seen.

I kicked the first goal of the game and then i think we only kicked one more.

lucifer1
30 Jul 2008, 13:45
Catani vs. Dusties last year was the worst one i have seen.

I kicked the first goal of the game and then i think we only kicked one more.

Gotta remember you were playing quality opposition papa, that day and also on the weekend!

bigpapagman
30 Jul 2008, 13:51
yes you were good last year but **** me, we were terrible.

you guys have improved since last ime in the 2nds.

i will give you that.

In And Under Tiger
12 Aug 2008, 17:35
It would be much appreciated if the Darnum scoobies could stay off the ground tonight to ensure that the ground is in an appropriate condition come Sunday.

Thanking you,

Lang Lang Football Club

Pluggeroo
12 Aug 2008, 18:00
It would be much appreciated if the Darnum scoobies could stay off the ground tonight to ensure that the ground is in an appropriate condition come Sunday.

Thanking you,

Lang Lang Football Club

2 points.

Point 1-: The Darnum Recreation Reserve, in its worst condition (Im talkin 1995-no grass at all) is a far better prospect than the Lang Lang Reserve at its best in March.
Darnum R.R. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Langy R.R

Point 2-: We dont care who plays on it on Sunday. We will train where we like. It wont be our problem.

In And Under Tiger
12 Aug 2008, 18:09
How is the ground looking plug? Will it be in a playable condition come sunday?

lucifer1
12 Aug 2008, 18:26

You could be playing at Nar Nar Goon on saturday anyway couldnt you goal sneak?

In And Under Tiger
12 Aug 2008, 18:36
You could be playing at Nar Nar Goon on saturday anyway couldnt you goal sneak?

Pretty sure Lang Lang plays Longwarry Sunday at Nilma Darnum.

saint leo
12 Aug 2008, 18:51
I cant see how darnums ground will be any good for finals. More rain this week if there is any rain on saturday it will be stuffed before the 2's.

A tllhis talk about darnums ground having all this money spent on it and its still a shithole. Looks to me is not better than it was 10 years ago and we are in a so called "drought".

goodie
12 Aug 2008, 19:40
there was a blocked drain that day which rooted it for the rest of the year but it has pulled up very very well considering.

saint leo
12 Aug 2008, 21:47
Its been a shit ground with any rain forever, not much has changed. Will be embarassing for the league and the club if the ground is a bad as when we played on sunday. They should move the game to a better ground, surely there are a few in decent condition at the moment, sure cora lynn is in decent condition.

Pluggeroo
12 Aug 2008, 22:36
I cant see how darnums ground will be any good for finals. More rain this week if there is any rain on saturday it will be stuffed before the 2's.

A tllhis talk about darnums ground having all this money spent on it and its still a shithole. Looks to me is not better than it was 10 years ago and we are in a so called "drought".

I didnt know you were playing in the EDFL 10 years ago. In fact, after having "met" you 2 weeks ago, I would say that 10 years ago you were about 8 yrs old and wouldnt remember squat about how many hot meals a week you got, let alone what condition Darnum's ground was in. In fact, you would have been lucky to have been playing 5ths then, such was your age.

When you are still wet behind the ears, son, you shouldnt talk about things that you have no real memory of; but rather what other people have told you.

Pluggeroo
12 Aug 2008, 22:43

When I walked out my front door in Moe tonight I looked across the valley towards the footy ground and saw the biggest blackest rain clouds towards the west. They were right over the Rec Reserve area.

On arrival at training my suspicions were confirmed. The western end of the ground was flooded with a blocked drain and it was very greasy on the surface. The centre is a mud bucket and will be lots of fun come 2:15pm on Sunday.

One of the locals said we got about 2 inches of rain in 15 minutes with hail as well.

Oh, and we trained on it. And pretty well too. Hope it rains on Saturday.:D

Johnnooo
12 Aug 2008, 23:10
When I walked out my front door in Moe tonight I looked across the valley towards the footy ground and saw the biggest blackest rain clouds towards the west. They were right over the Rec Reserve area.

On arrival at training my suspicions were confirmed. The western end of the ground was flooded with a blocked drain and it was very greasy on the surface. The centre is a mud bucket and will be lots of fun come 2:15pm on Sunday.

One of the locals said we got about 2 inches of rain in 15 minutes with hail as well.

Oh, and we trained on it. And pretty well too. Hope it rains on Saturday.:D

Any story that starts about walking out of ya house in Moe is always going to go nowhere.

Hopefully common sense prevails and sundays games are re-scheduled from Darnums stink pot.

saint leo
12 Aug 2008, 23:16
I didnt know you were playing in the EDFL 10 years ago. In fact, after having "met" you 2 weeks ago, I would say that 10 years ago you were about 8 yrs old and wouldnt remember squat about how many hot meals a week you got, let alone what condition Darnum's ground was in. In fact, you would have been lucky to have been playing 5ths then, such was your age.

When you are still wet behind the ears, son, you shouldnt talk about things that you have no real memory of; but rather what other people have told you.

I will take that as a massive compliment plugger that you think i look so youthful, guess we must have found the fountain of youth at nyora! Thanks!

Have been playing senior or reserve footy since 1998 which is 10 years and played my first season in EDFL or (WDFL in those days in 1993), so thats 15 years of footy and been to every nyora game in that time!! I prob played at darnum well before you were there!! Think i have seen far more than ya think buddy. Darnum is a good ground when dry but terrible when wet, been like that for 15 years, hows that then!

bigbadmal
13 Aug 2008, 02:17
The Darnum Ground is going to struggle to come up by Sunday. At the moment with the recent deluge of rain and drainage issues, the ground is under a fair amount of water. With more rain forecast between now and the weekend the chances are it will chop up pretty badly. The ground is one of the best surfaces in the league in summer and has had a lot of work done on it last summer - added topsoil, laser levelled, two sets of goals squared up, permenant water supply etc. It will have a soft lush green surface all year around - even in the middle of summer. What has not been done yet is the new drainage system put in place which will happen in the weeks after the elimination final. The current drainage system is not adequate and is currently blocked with the excessive rain.
There will be many more improvements to the playing surface over the summer to ensure the ground will be up to scratch in the future.

bigpapagman
13 Aug 2008, 09:22
very diplomatic BBM.

In And Under Tiger
13 Aug 2008, 09:42
What I understan is why all finals are not played at Nar Nar Goon and Cora Lynn. Clearly the best two grounds in the comp. This is how the finals should look.

1st Elimination - Nar Nar Goon
2nd Elimination - Cora Lynn
2nd Semi - Nar Nar Goon
1st Semi - Cora Lynn
Preliminary - Nar Nar Goon
Grand Final - Cora Lynn

bigpapagman
13 Aug 2008, 10:32
you dont wanna go chopping them up.

bigpapagman
13 Aug 2008, 10:33
by the time the senior grand final comes around, cora lynn would have had 14 games on it in 3 weeks.

Stanley da Russian
13 Aug 2008, 11:14
by the time the senior grand final comes around, cora lynn would have had 14 games on it in 3 weeks.

Yeah and those two would still be in better condition than any other ground with no traffic. I haven't seen the Cora Lynn ground in recent weeks but on past history I'm sure it will be great. I know for a fact the NNG ground is nearly perfect.

bigpapagman
13 Aug 2008, 11:47
Cora Lynn got flogged with finals a few years ago (2004) and the Senior GF was the worst conditions i think i have ever seen.

Pluggeroo
13 Aug 2008, 17:53
I will take that as a massive compliment plugger that you think i look so youthful, guess we must have found the fountain of youth at nyora! Thanks!

Have been playing senior or reserve footy since 1998 which is 10 years and played my first season in EDFL or (WDFL in those days in 1993), so thats 15 years of footy and been to every nyora game in that time!! I prob played at darnum well before you were there!! Think i have seen far more than ya think buddy. Darnum is a good ground when dry but terrible when wet, been like that for 15 years, hows that then!

Take it as a compliment then. I will stand corrected.

Stanley da Russian
13 Aug 2008, 18:35
Cora Lynn got flogged with finals a few years ago (2004) and the Senior GF was the worst conditions i think i have ever seen.

Yeah but the MCG would've been similar condition that day! You can't do too much about it when it rains like it did then, i remember it well it ****in pi55ed down for days leading up to it.

goodie
13 Aug 2008, 19:36
i hope the game doesnt get moved, i wanna see a good slog fest!!!!!!

like i remember from the old days lol.

Pluggeroo
13 Aug 2008, 20:18
i hope the game doesnt get moved, i wanna see a good slog fest!!!!!!

like i remember from the old days lol.

The game wont be moved.

The club has already gone to considerable expense organising toilets, caravans, food etc for the day.

The league would need to compensate for those losses in the first place even before they think about moving it to another ground and then hoping that club can mobilise it's forces in the space of 24 hrs or so.

Pluggeroo
13 Aug 2008, 20:25
Any story that starts about walking out of ya house in Moe is always going to go nowhere.

Hopefully common sense prevails and sundays games are re-scheduled from Darnums stink pot.

Its ok Johnnooo. Ill take my $200k home at 8% p.a. and continue to work only the one job whilst you:- a) live in your rental home in Camberwell, like all the wannabe yuppies in this world, because you will never ever afford to own anything more than a Hills Shed with 1 slat window and a second hand "welcome" door mat, or b) live in your $1m mansion whilst working 3 jobs to pay for the outrageously overpriced property you thought you got for a steal 4 years ago.

Dont worry about Moe, mate. Clean up your own back yard.

lucifer1
13 Aug 2008, 20:57
Its ok Johnnooo. Ill take my $200k home at 8% p.a. and continue to work only the one job whilst you:- a) live in your rental home in Camberwell, like all the wannabe yuppies in this world, because you will never ever afford to own anything more than a Hills Shed with 1 slat window and a second hand "welcome" door mat, or b) live in your $1m mansion whilst working 3 jobs to pay for the outrageously overpriced property you thought you got for a steal 4 years ago.

Gotta disagree with that one Plugger. That $1m overpriced property you speak of will probably be worth double in ten years whereas your joint in moe will still be worth 200k.

goal sneak
13 Aug 2008, 21:24
Actually lucifer the property market if f**ked. I wouldn't go investing too heavily in it at the moment.

saint leo
13 Aug 2008, 23:45

Johnnos back yard might be a mess but **** that was a good party that day.

Thats ok plugger, my youthful looks are the envy of many. People pay shitloads to look 5 years younger, it come easy to me!!

goodie
13 Aug 2008, 23:58
The game wont be moved.

The club has already gone to considerable expense organising toilets, caravans, food etc for the day.

The league would need to compensate for those losses in the first place even before they think about moving it to another ground and then hoping that club can mobilise it's forces in the space of 24 hrs or so.
yes i know ive been busy at work making 600 odd burgers and even more snags. way to ruin my week NDFC

bigpapagman
14 Aug 2008, 09:05
camberwell > moe.

but plugger still has a point.

goal sneak
14 Aug 2008, 10:00
yes i know ive been busy at work making 600 odd burgers and even more snags. way to ruin my week NDFC

I thought you were a mechanic? sice when do mechanics make burgers?

bigpapagman
14 Aug 2008, 10:07
nah hes a butcher now.

Johnnooo
14 Aug 2008, 10:22

Your clutching at short straws mate to think anyone from Moe pulls in anything close to $200k legally.

And mate id rather be a wannabe yuppie from camberwell than have a kid swimming at the bottom of my local lake - nah good areas.

loveskickinggoals
14 Aug 2008, 10:30
Get back on topic boys this is not about where people live but about how good or bad the darno's are/ were this year and getting the club in the right direction. Who really cares whether you live in moe or camberwell

bigpapagman
14 Aug 2008, 10:46
Your clutching at short straws mate to think anyone from Moe pulls in anything close to $200k legally.

And mate id rather be a wannabe yuppie from camberwell than have a kid swimming at the bottom of my local lake - nah good areas.
ooooh.

also, he said 200k home loan, not income.

goal sneak
14 Aug 2008, 13:41

Spot on Johnnooo. For once you are speaking some sense. How anyone could want to live in moe is beyond me. $200k home in Moe? Plugger you must be living in the taj mahal.

bigpapagman
14 Aug 2008, 13:48
moe heights.

bigpapagman
14 Aug 2008, 13:52
this house is in moe.

http://maps.google.com.au/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=moe&ie=UTF8&ll=-38.185442,146.249228&spn=0.049384,0.076904&z=14&layer=c&cbll=-38.202224,146.2398&panoid=ylCcQC3TyyuIo7IHdAXgaQ&cbp=1,464.08731441865256,,0,5

goodie
14 Aug 2008, 19:08
yeah confirmed plugger lives in the nice area of moe heights go for a drive up there one day, its quite nice.