View Full Version : Who will be the 2008 premiers?
boom crash opera
4 Dec 2007, 18:50
Pick your 2008 premier
The Teflon Dean
4 Dec 2007, 18:52
If all their players stay on the park?
StKilda.
I can't believe you voted for Collingwood.:D:thumbsd:
My tip will be the Cats to go back-to-back in 2008. As far as the other teams are concerned, St Kilda (providing all their players are injury-free), Port Adelaide, and Collingwood could possibly give the 2007 AFL premiers Geelong a few anxious moments in 2008. I reckon the Cats would be taking notice of the poor form of 2006-7 Hyundai A-League champions Melbourne Victory, and will be aware that the same thing could happen to them if they're not careful.
Fremantle. Carlton the biggest improvers. Melbourne for the wooden spoon. West Coast biggest losers to finish 9th.
Bomber32
4 Dec 2007, 19:33
Geelong will be 2008 premiers with Collingwood as their main danger.
Richmond.
Well, it's not like you expected a serious, considered, balanced, unbiased answer did you?
Carn Hawkas
4 Dec 2007, 19:40
lol at people who said Essendon or Melbourne.
I picked Geelong btw.
Adelaide by 120 points over Pork Power:p
Claude Balls
4 Dec 2007, 20:05
At this stage, I'd say the most likely are Geelong, Hawthorn and Collingwood.
Sainters08
4 Dec 2007, 20:13
I Voted St.Kilda (its obvious why) but i reckon Geelong will probably win it. but like Dean said if St.Kilda can keep all their players on the park they will give em a run for there money, along with Hawthorn + Collingwood.
Wooden Spoon: Richmond (again)
Biggest Mover: Carlton (still wont make top 8 tho)
Biggest Slider: West Coast
why does everyone think st.kilda can win the flag? Admittedly, they do have some dangerous forwards, but they played most of the year last year and the saints still struggled. I think they have deficiencies in the ruck and their midfield is slow. nothing against them (i hope they prove me wrong) but i just can't see it happening.
Geelong obviously should be favourites and Hawthorn should be there abouts too.
At the start of 2006 i said the pies would win the premiership in 2008... I'm standing by it.
GFCats07
4 Dec 2007, 20:47
Geelong.
Of Course, The other teams that would be fighting it out in the finals will be Hawthorn and Collingwood.
(Just a comment).. im quite surprised at how many people from other teams have said that Geelong will go back to back! :thumbsu:
My tip will be the Cats to go back-to-back in 2008. As far as the other teams are concerned, St Kilda (providing all their players are injury-free), Port Adelaide, and Collingwood could possibly give the 2007 AFL premiers Geelong a few anxious moments in 2008. I reckon the Cats would be taking notice of the poor form of 2006-7 Hyundai A-League champions Melbourne Victory, and will be aware that the same thing could happen to them if they're not careful.
one of the stupidest things i've heard. do you really think mark thompson rounds up the boys and goes on about a soccer team and how things didnt go right for them.
obviously i voted west coast, i mean come on we're a powerhouse. who needs that judd bloke, nah it'll be hard but i think we have the depth and heart to really push for the flag.
im interested in whether or not a team like hawthorn can play a consistent home and away season and get a top 4 spot or even top 2. it will really depend on the team maturity.
i find it funny that at this point carlton have 3 votes and sydney have 0. hahahah, imagine that! carlton winning lots of games, its a fantasy land.
sydney for top 4 next year. cant write the barstards off.
Hard to write off Geelong with the season that they had last year. No other teams seem to really stand out too much.
Seriously people thinking West Coast will slide.:rolleyes:
Make no mistake, while ever they play 12 games a Subi with their current group they'll make the 8 and huge chance of top 4.
Judd and Cousins are massive losses but Priddis is no mug. Still doubt they can win the comp but definitely finals bound.
Sainters08
4 Dec 2007, 21:00
why does everyone think st.kilda can win the flag? Admittedly, they do have some dangerous forwards, but they played most of the year last year and the saints still struggled. I think they have deficiencies in the ruck and their midfield is slow. nothing against them (i hope they prove me wrong) but i just can't see it happening.
Geelong obviously should be favourites and Hawthorn should be there abouts too.
lol and thats coming from a melbourne supporter who have no forward line or backline and a very weak midfield
wont suprise me if u guys finish bottom
apart from the obvious choice of Geelong, I think collingwood are our main threat, good to start a new era without buckley, new excitement, and a good mix of young and experienced players but mostly a younger looking team, which is definately what Geelong are, a younger team.
lol and thats coming from a melbourne supporter who have no forward line or backline and a very weak midfield
Mate calm down, he never said his own team (melbourne) are good or better, he just said you are shit ;)
Fremantle. Carlton the biggest improvers. Melbourne for the wooden spoon. West Coast biggest losers to finish 9th.
So humorous. I guess freo supporters arn't all there.
FlyingCrow
4 Dec 2007, 21:10
In 08 Craigy understands the word ATTACK after taking 3 years to fine tune our defence...
Fremantle.
The reason Geelong were so much better this year than last was because of the motivation they took out of last year's disappointment.
Fremantle were flag favourites at the beginning of this year, and the disappointment of this season could very much drive them this pre-season, and throughout 08.
PS: I voted for collingwood;)
Fremantle.
The reason Geelong were so much better this year than last was because of the motivation they took out of last year's disappointment.
Fremantle were flag favourites at the beginning of this year, and the disappointment of this season could very much drive them this pre-season, and throughout 08.
PS: I voted for collingwood;)
nah, its coz they got a ****ing good 22 with depth and a solid gameplan. whilst im sure they were motivated, you have to have talent and they got an abundance of it.
In 08 Craigy understands the word ATTACK after taking 3 years to fine tune our defence...
Who's going to kick the goals?
Serious question...
FlyingCrow
4 Dec 2007, 21:26
Sellar and tippett Burton may get over the yips
Hentchel second half, maybe Biglands
First time in a few years the Crows maybe unpredictable. I am looking forward to next year.
UnKnown I know...But apart from Geelong Colligwood and WCE anyone has a sht at this time of year.
Raskolnikov
4 Dec 2007, 21:26
Essendon. I'm allowed to live in hope, though some might call it being in denial.
Fremantle.Carlton the biggest improvers. Melbourne for the wooden spoon. West Coast biggest losers to finish 9th.
HA HA HA.....oh dear my side hurts:thumbsu:
Essendon. I'm allowed to live in hope, though some might call it being in denial.
i'd call it being a dumbarse.
Ryder Is God
4 Dec 2007, 21:30
Brisbane.
Isandula
4 Dec 2007, 21:49
Easy West Coast for me :D :thumbsu:
greatwhiteshark
4 Dec 2007, 21:57
Even without Judd and cousins the Eagles list is very strong and I expect them to be top 4 material, end up in the right place and two home finals and then you never know.
Based on that at this point even though I am biased the Eagles still have the best list in the country and will win it in 2008.
And I can not even fathom how anyone could pick the saints to win it.
ok.crows
4 Dec 2007, 22:04
Who's going to kick the goals?
Serious question...
Who kicked them in 2005 & 2006?
Serious answer. :D
Geelong a good chance at back to back, but just coz its hard to do, I went with someone else...
Hawks for me.
Who kicked them in 2005 & 2006?
Serious answer. :D
Was it Perrie and Welsh?
;)
Was it Perrie and Welsh?
;)
and roo
Believe it or not, I've gone with Collingwood.
I narrowed it to four.
It's too easy to pick Geelong (How many people picked WC to win in 2007?)
Fremantle will rise quickly I think, the Flag is too far though
Hawks should press with a young list, which is gaining experience,
Which leaves Collingwood, who were a goal away from a GF in 2007 and seem to be very even!
wotdude25
4 Dec 2007, 23:02
If people are expecting Fremantle to do a Geelong you are mistaken. They lack a genuine running game that all good sides these days have. It would be more likely my beloved bulldogs will win it all in 08 than the dockers, because we can play the modern style of football. Freo is a bit too stagnant for me and thier best players aren't that young either. Freo will probobly struggle in 08, but they should make the eight, but I can't see that as a premiership list. I voted for the Bulldogs, but really I think the Hawks will win in.
apart from the obvious choice of Geelong, I think collingwood are our main threat, good to start a new era without buckley, new excitement, and a good mix of young and experienced players but mostly a younger looking team, which is definately what Geelong are, a younger team.
[B]Mate calm down, he never said his own team (melbourne) are good or better, he just said you are shit ;)
That would have to be the BF call of the week! :thumbsu::D
boom crash opera
5 Dec 2007, 09:24
look like ctas are the top pick
Walsh Bay
5 Dec 2007, 09:29
Whoa, where are all these Hawthorn votes coming from? What am I missing?
Rik E Boy
5 Dec 2007, 09:45
Adelaide by 120 points over Pork Power:p
Impossible. It takes the Blackbirds two games to kick that many points.
regards,
REB
cschreuder61
5 Dec 2007, 09:52
I'd say Geelong still have the best list, and they were the best team by 100 miles in '07 so it'd be naive to think they wont be around the mark again.
What could stop them is a big improvement from other competitiors and the sides I think with the most scope for improvement over 1 year are Collingwood and Hawthorn as they have a lot of youth who could collectively improve at once meaning they would be a chance.
Saints are a dark horse, but feel their list is lacking something at times, but they could be around top 4 if things go right for them. Will be an interesting '08 for the Saints.
Port I feel may go backwards to go forwards and don't think they'll replicate '07.
West Coast should be good, but how good?
Edit: Forgot North (as seems to be norm these days)
Have a solid list, and guys like J. Smith may add another dimension to their performance this year
philhawk
5 Dec 2007, 10:14
The reigning premiers are always going to be favourites going into the next season, but the odds of them going back to back are slim.
Overlooking them for a moment, who would the other main contenders be?
For mine, it's a three-way battle between Collingwood and North.
Collingwood have a young list that's more than capable of battling it out with the likes of Geelong, North and Hawthorn. My only concern for them would be,
a) Whether or not Wood can solve their problems in the ruck
b) What the retirement of Clement will do to their key-back stocks in the short term
North would probably be next in line, but they've also got an area that I feel they need to address. Have they found a key-position backman (or moulded another one like they did with Firrito), or will they be stuck using Leigh Brown?
Hawthorn will be around the mark, but it'll come down to whether or not we've learnt how to negate the flood.
flukeyluke
5 Dec 2007, 10:17
Obvious choice would be Geelong back-to-back.
My tip is the Weagles to bounce back.
Bring-Back-Powell
5 Dec 2007, 10:19
?
For mine, it's a three-way battle between Collingwood and North.
Out of all the non-north people, you certainly rate them the highest.
Geelong should win the flag.
Lions to be runner-up.
Bring-Back-Powell
5 Dec 2007, 10:23
Were you drunk when you typed that rubbish?
gees mate, did you forget what the thread was about? ie: who will be the 2008 premiers?
NOT
I am a touchy, small minded (insert football club supported here) follower and will reply to any posts that might question the merits of my team even if it has nothing to do with the thread........
I don't dislike the Saints. I know Melbourne struggled badly last year and won't challenge for a flag in the next few years.....so why would you go on about us finishing bottom when all i stated was I can't see you guys winning a flag this year too?
Or is it just a case of truth hurts perhaps?
:rolleyes:
Coin_Toss
5 Dec 2007, 12:11
I reckon Geelong are the team to beat, especially now that they've tasted success. I'm sure we will be in the race again but we need to be as good as last year to win the premiership. The forward line is very good. Watch out for Ben Reid, will go close to winning the Rising Star award. Hopefully Sean Rusling can turn potential into results. 70 goals is not beyond him (3 goals per game).
BABYBOMBERS2007
5 Dec 2007, 12:18
The Bulldogs will. Injuries cost them this year. They get Hudson and probably Welsh from the PSD and injured players back, they will be a force.
Hawkie_McHawkHawk
6 Dec 2007, 18:43
The Bulldogs will. Injuries cost them this year. They get Hudson and probably Welsh from the PSD and injured players back, they will be a force.
Is this the same smug toss i saw flapping his gums about how smart he is in another thread? You may be a nerd at school, but you have no idea when it comes to footy.
Back to the drawing board Einstein!
Palmer Stoat
9 Dec 2007, 11:00
Tend to agree that Geelong look the clear frontrunner at this point. These kinda polls nearly always favour the reigning premiers, and more often than not they don't back up. But in Geelong's case, they were absolutely dominant in this year, and looking at their list, there's no obvious reason why they shouldn't be the team to beat next year, though I expect the gap to close between them and the rest.
Threats: Hawthorn, Collingwood, maybe Brisbane.
DynamoUltra
9 Dec 2007, 14:55
Other.