View Full Version : Lloyd says emphasis on skills building a new-look Bomber squad

Ryder Is God
4 Dec 2007, 23:22
Lloyd says emphasis on skills building a new-look Bomber squad

Len Johnson | December 5, 2007

ESSENDON'S skill levels last year were more than once the subject of a Kevin Sheedy lament. Fans shared the pain.

The performance of most AFL players have increased in recent years with concentrated training and coaching; so, too, the ability to execute those skills under pressure. The cream on the cake is the ability to perform under pressure and when fatigued.

Essendon captain Matthew Lloyd said yesterday that in pre-season training under new coach Matthew Knights there had been an emphasis both on executing skills when fatigued and defence.

Lloyd said the side was training at the Carlton ground once a week to replicate the sort of extra running that was needed on bigger grounds such as the MCG.

"We're more (about) getting our running base during the skill work, when you're under fatigue — which is an area where we've been pretty poor over the last two or three years," Lloyd said.

When asked about the main difference so far between Sheedy and Knights, Lloyd replied: "The intensity of the training; he demands nothing but 100% on the training track.

"We had too many goals kicked against us, so there's a massive emphasis on the defensive part of our game."

The Dons will experience more coping with fatigue during a training camp in Tasmania next week. Included on the schedule is an assault on sand dunes described by high-performance manager John Quinn as "the biggest I've ever seen in my life".

The Henty Dunes are on a stretch of coast near Strahan, on Tasmania's west coast. Asked to compare them to the Portsea dunes made famous by legendary athletics coach Percy Cerutty and his famous pupil Herb Elliott, Quinn said: "It blows them away."

The players have had most of the schedule handed out to them with a few details being held back. "That might be the surprise for us," Lloyd said.

Lloyd spent more time playing up the ground last year, even playing in the midfield at times. Knights has already indicated he thinks Lloyd is best in attack and the captain yesterday agreed.

"I feel I play better footy (closer to goal)," Lloyd said, "but I understand that you can't be one-dimensional as a side. It will probably be 80-20 over the course of the year.

"I'll play closer to goal most of the time but with Scott Lucas in the form he's been in over the past few years, he'll play a similar role, and hopefully we'll have Scott Gumbleton playing that lead-up role next year."

The raft of changes at Windy Hill has extended to guernsey numbers, with midfielder Brent Stanton taking over James Hird's No. 5. Jay Neagle will wear the No. 1 once worn by his father, Merv, while Jay Nash will take over 17.

Lloyd said Hird had told Knights during a recent meeting that he wanted to see his old number handed on rather than retired, and expressed a preference for Stanton.

"We reckon he'll be one of our key leaders in the coming years," Lloyd said.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/bombers-focus-on-skills-building/2007/12/04/1196530679149.html

bomba4eva
6 Dec 2007, 22:08
Was a given considering how our players have performed and some of the dreadful delivery of the ball from players like Watson. Good on Knights for highlighting this urgent need to improve our skills. Defensive pressure is a key he is also working on which is great as we get smashed on the turnover.

boms
6 Dec 2007, 22:11
Ive pretty much hearld this about 100 times now, From Knights-Prescott-Hockmott-Lloyd etc

gg-bomber
7 Dec 2007, 08:37
Was a given considering how our players have performed and some of the dreadful delivery of the ball from players like Watson. Good on Knights for highlighting this urgent need to improve our skills. Defensive pressure is a key he is also working on which is great as we get smashed on the turnover.

I would love it if people stopped giving Watson a hard time regarding his foot skills. Did anyone watch the second half of the year? He had the yips at the start of the season and was too scared to kick the ball properly, but after about round 9 or 10 he really worked on it and his foot skills from then on were very good. I would love to see stats on his turnovers by foot in the second half of the season. I would suggest they would be better than most players!!

Merv
7 Dec 2007, 09:31
I would love it if people stopped giving Watson a hard time regarding his foot skills. Did anyone watch the second half of the year? He had the yips at the start of the season and was too scared to kick the ball properly, but after about round 9 or 10 he really worked on it and his foot skills from then on were very good. I would love to see stats on his turnovers by foot in the second half of the season. I would suggest they would be better than most players!!

Very true.

One thing that Jobe has done is work very hard on his kicking and i agree that his kicking improved out of sight in the second half of the year.

You could see his confidence grow as he started hitting targets and if he can build on that next year, he will then hopefully gotten rid of the "yips" he had

NathanS
7 Dec 2007, 11:21
Agreed about Watson. His kicking improved a great deal. There's still room for improvement, but he's on the right track. With the effort he puts into improving his game, he is going to be a top player.

Not a Wellman
7 Dec 2007, 15:22
With the defencive pressure situation i just hope we don't turn into a boring side like Sydney, its crap watching that stuff and the last few seasons Sheedy has been trying to get us to attack and have shoot outs at times with other sides, it was better to give young blokes the confidence to take on others and made footy so much better in general.

Just hope the work Sheedy did to get us to attack and play proper footy isn't just thrown out the window. But in saying that thumbs up for identifying areas of improvement.

bomba4eva
7 Dec 2007, 20:43
He was the first person that came to mind. Had more than the yips mate. Got to the point where you could see he was terrified to dispose of the ball by foot. Dont get me wrong. He is one of my favourite people at Essendon and one of the most important IMO. The team as a whole needs to improve its skills. Its things like not hitting the targer than killed us last season.

The_Young_Gun
7 Dec 2007, 22:11
Lets hope Knighta can teach him a new kicking style that he can adjust to better so that he can dispose of the ball more efficiently, he's gots great hand skills but his kicking was definitly his achilee's heal this season, and should definitly over the pre-season think about working overtime to get it right.

Slattery_20
10 Dec 2007, 18:47
He was the first person that came to mind. Had more than the yips mate. Got to the point where you could see he was terrified to dispose of the ball by foot. Dont get me wrong. He is one of my favourite people at Essendon and one of the most important IMO. The team as a whole needs to improve its skills. Its things like not hitting the targer than killed us last season.
To be fair, he did improve about a zillion percent after the 1st few games... was actually pretty good by foot from the North game - he was our only shining light - onwards. Still needs improvement tho - but surely that's obvious?