View Full Version : Official 2008 Buddy Draft Thread
Tarkyn_24
11 Dec 2007, 11:27
You could tell this would happen from a mile away, with the last few picks.:p
Snag Breac
11 Dec 2007, 11:32
Yeah i know i'm not having a go at you, you've done a top job.:thumbsu: Maybe give everyone thats left 24 or 48 hours to post there choice, i think that's more then enough time otherwise this could drag on for another week.
This seems like a fair suggestion Nick; it balances justice with mercy.
typewriter
11 Dec 2007, 11:47
so who we upto r we up2 skeetz? if its me id like cox if nobody has him yet which i cant that they have on the first page
Yeah Skeetz turn. But if you post your top two then once skeets picks, yours will be added automaticly.
nick_savo
11 Dec 2007, 12:14
I have a few peoples top 5 written down
typewriter
11 Dec 2007, 12:35
ok 1. cox 2. r shaw
r either of them taken?
who else is still available?
MagpieGirl_13
11 Dec 2007, 12:51
Players still left (ATM)
Jaxson Barham
Shannon Cox
Brodie Holland
Ryan Lonie
Brent Macaffer
Rhyce Shaw
Tobias Thoolen
Alan Toovey
Shane Wakelin
Sharrod Wellingham
Luke Casey-Leigh
nick_savo
11 Dec 2007, 12:55
Thanks for tht MagpieGirl, wow some really talent still left in that list, hurry up and pick skeetz :p
hahah it's so funny that someone is asking me to hurry up! I have been online more than anyone I reckon lately, waiting patiently for my turn. Now I'm sorry to ruin Smoky's plans, but I have wanted Rhyce since the start, and I can't believe he is still there!
skeetz with pick #36 chooses Rhyce Shaw.
:D :D
nick_savo
11 Dec 2007, 13:04
Haha, about time!!!!!!
Just kidding mate, nice choice
nick_savo
11 Dec 2007, 13:07
1Percenter it is your turn to choose your Buddy
woohoo Rhyce! I hope he gets a few more games than last yr....
nick_savo
11 Dec 2007, 13:13
Thats why its 1Percenters turn to pick :p
Seeings as we struggled to get the 44 in the first place, I will upgrade your pick to where PendlePie is
We are still looking for a replacment, so ask someone if they would like to join.
I only did it because you were first in
Skeetz is up
Thanks!
I thought that meant I'd locked in Rhyce but happily I will lock in Shane "THE HUMAN BLANKET" Wakelin.
Also known to alot of people as Shane "I catch a train to every game" Wakelin.
The way I have done that is quite unfair, sorry to change things Smoky but I am going to bump everyone up one spot and whoever the new person that is to join, they can have the last pick
Sorry smoky, don't get your hopes up mate. It would have been pretty unfair.
Seeings as we struggled to get the 44 in the first place, I will upgrade your pick to where PendlePie is
We are still looking for a replacment, so ask someone if they would like to join.
I only did it because you were first in
Skeetz is up
Faulty towers eat your heart out
popathon
12 Dec 2007, 13:32
So am i still #44 or have i been bumped up
nick_savo
12 Dec 2007, 16:03
powerpies is up
Tarkyn_24
12 Dec 2007, 19:06
Nick, this has been great. Thanks for puttin the time and effort in. :thumbsu:
nick_savo
12 Dec 2007, 19:10
No problem mate, starting to drag abit towards the end like expected :P
scottyD
12 Dec 2007, 19:16
Ah Well.... we got the basis covered.
Cjkirbs19
12 Dec 2007, 20:39
Seriously how long until i can confirm Nathan J Brown is my buddy? haha cant believe we arent up to pick 33 yet
nick_savo
12 Dec 2007, 20:43
checked the first page lately?
We are up to 39 and I gave you Nathan
Cjkirbs19
12 Dec 2007, 21:34
Clearly i havent, your a good bloke arent you!
MagpieGirl_13
12 Dec 2007, 21:35
Nearly there... only 6 to go!
The players still available:
Brodie Holland
Ryan Lonie
Brent Macaffer
Tobias Thoolen
Alan Toovey
Shane Wakelin
Sharrod Wellingham
Luke Casey-Leigh
Nearly there... only 6 to go!
The players still available:
Brodie Holland
Ryan Lonie
Brent Macaffer
Tobias Thoolen
Alan Toovey
Shane Wakelin
Sharrod Wellingham
Luke Casey-Leigh
Why is there 6 picks but eight players.
My prefrences:
Macaffer
Wellingham
Thoolen
Lonie
Casey-Leigh
MagpieGirl_13
12 Dec 2007, 22:01
Why is there 6 picks but eight players.
My prefrences:
Macaffer
Thoolen
Wellingham
Lonie
Casey-Leigh
Because there is 6 picks left from 39 - 44 but #25-Moeys Magpies hasn't picked yet & there is still the vacancy that Pendle pie left. = 8 :thumbsu:
Agreed with the sentiments above. A fantastic effort.
It has dragged along towards the end though (not your fault at all) but as 1%er has had 48 hrs already and hasnt made a pick can we please move on?
nick_savo
13 Dec 2007, 13:15
1Percenter has picked, it is now powerpies turn
1Percenter picked a while ago, powerpies has about 1 hour left
1Percenter has picked, it is now powerpies turn
1Percenter picked a while ago, powerpies has about 1 hour left
EOP26 your up!
Nick do you think we might be able to put some more time restrictions on the coming picks? Mate Im keen to get started
nick_savo
13 Dec 2007, 14:37
I would like to but it would be abit unfair for those left, they wont get as much time as the others
Hopefully you understand
Sorry mate
I would like to but it would be abit unfair for those left, they wont get as much time as the others
Hopefully you understand
Sorry mate
No picks in over 48hrs. You'de have to say were sort of at a stand still though.
You have done a great job of making this fair and reasonable to all. I just dont want this to still be going on this time next week!
All good mate (I feel better now!)
nick_savo
13 Dec 2007, 15:35
Sorry thats my fault, I forgot to post that I recieved 1Percenters pick
Mate with all the work you have done you really dont need to apologise. Great effort son
Tick, tick, tick...
Ditto, ditto, ditto....
nick_savo
14 Dec 2007, 16:12
j2roc is up
Then you smokym patience is the key, I take it your not a fisherman...........
j2roc is up
Then you smokym patience is the key, I take it your not a fisherman...........
Take away only son!!
Nick i was wondering if i could change my pick 2 young macaffer or wellingham.
Macaffer preferred
MagpieGirl_13
15 Dec 2007, 10:00
Nick, if you wanted me to & you're struggling to get people to fill the last spots ie pendle pie's spot, I don't mind taking on 2 buddies if you want? only if you can't get anyone else to do it, if there is someone else, they can do it.
Just thought I'd put my hand up & let you know that I don't mind taking on 2 buddies, whoever the buddy is...
nick_savo
15 Dec 2007, 10:41
Thanks MagpieGirl, I will get back to you on that, you could be like a caretaker until we find somebody...
On another note, at the end of the draft, those who havn't chosen a buddy yet, will be chucked into a random generator to select their buddy, saves having to wait for them to come online
nick_savo
15 Dec 2007, 10:42
at 5:00pm, if j2roc hasnt picked, Smoky you can take your pick
MagpieGirl_13
15 Dec 2007, 10:50
Sounds good Nick!:thumbsu:
I cant believe Brodie hasn't been picked up yet.
nick_savo
15 Dec 2007, 18:07
popathon its your pick
MagpieGirl_13
15 Dec 2007, 22:10
Thought I might as well up date who is left, mainly so I don't have to keep looking back...
Brodie Holland
Ryan Lonie
Tobias Thoolen
Alan Toovey
Sharrod Wellingham
Luke Casey-Leigh
nick_savo
16 Dec 2007, 10:05
Wow, a couple of surprises there, Holland, Lonie and Wellingham
I was going to take Lonie with pick 5 if Marty got taken
PieLebo87
16 Dec 2007, 15:57
Wow, a couple of surprises there, Holland, Lonie and Wellingham
I was going to take Lonie with pick 5 if Marty got taken
Noticed Wellingham quite a bit in training, he is very confident and popular with the boys. Hopefully he can get into the seniors this year and hold down a spot.
I'll take Brodie. Nick did you the PM i sent you?
nick_savo
16 Dec 2007, 18:45
Just remembered then
Really sorry mate, I wrote down your first top 5 you sent me a while back but they were all gone, sorry mate
nick_savo
16 Dec 2007, 18:53
Those who didnt pick went into a random draft and the list is now finished (finally :p)
PendlePie has got Ryan Lonie, so we are looking for someone to take over Ryan Lonie
Also, Bloben is going to start the Cameron Wood thread, and is looking for somebody to take over, if you already have a buddy please don't volenteer, its hard enough as it is finding people to do this
Cheers
Savo
I can't seem to post you tube videos. What am i doing wrong?
scottyD
19 Dec 2007, 08:15
pretend this is a youtube video code
#*@()$@($&)nfrgegnfiog[/youtube]
Bolded bit would be [youtube]
Still cant get it to work. Whenever i put a code no video comes up only the first part of the codes text. Hep me please.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNJpKec860g
[youtube]QNJpKec860g/YOUTUBE]
MagpieGirl_13
20 Dec 2007, 16:27
Still cant get it to work. Whenever i put a code no video comes up only the first part of the codes text. Hep me please.
Here is a link to a thread started a little while ago when someone wanted to know how to do the exact same thing.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402860
Here is a link to a thread started a little while ago when someone wanted to know how to do the exact same thing.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=402860
Got it thank you!!!
nick_savo
20 Dec 2007, 16:36
in between the g and the/ but a [
ofalltime
31 Dec 2007, 17:08
in between the g and the/ but a [
Can anyone confirm if Saad Saad from Seymour is training with the Pies VFL side.
Who is the lazy bastard doin ben reid nothing up here yet?
scottyD
18 Sep 2008, 13:49
Hello everyone. I am willing to run the Buddy Draft for the year 2009. I fell i have the time to do it and to be honest, we should get it going as soon as possible.
Thoughts?
medhurstISGOD
19 Sep 2008, 00:04
Hello everyone. I am willing to run the Buddy Draft for the year 2009. I fell i have the time to do it and to be honest, we should get it going as soon as possible.
Thoughts?
Good idea
Dave The Man
19 Sep 2008, 02:35
Can anyone confirm if Saad Saad from Seymour is training with the Pies VFL side.
What ever happend to Saad Saad?
Kate1985
19 Sep 2008, 08:26
Thoughts?
Good idea. I'll take a player in the Buddy Draft next year.
Snag Breac
19 Sep 2008, 08:52
Good idea. I'll take a player in the Buddy Draft next year.
Kate, you jest! Buddydom is one of the greatest honours that may be bestowed upon a poster. You must come to the altar of the Buddy Draft as a supplicant, and get in line, as must we all.
Mine you, then half of the newly appointed buddies will drop the whole thing within weeks, and their player will go reportless.:(
You, I'm sure, will be a conscientious reporter, especially if you snaffle Paul Medhurst.:p
Go ahead and do it, Scotty, if it's ok with the Mods, and you are found to be of good character. Just remember who your friends are when you're passing out those high picks - randomly, of course.
Godfrey Jones
19 Sep 2008, 09:06
yeh ill for it give me brad dick pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease
if yOu need more e's in that let me know i'll see what i can do
Kate1985
19 Sep 2008, 09:18
Kate, you jest! Buddydom is one of the greatest honours that may be bestowed upon a poster. You must come to the altar of the Buddy Draft as a supplicant, and get in line, as must we all.
Mine you, then half of the newly appointed buddies will drop the whole thing within weeks, and their player will go reportless.:(
You, I'm sure, will be a conscientious reporter, especially if you snaffle Paul Medhurst.:p
Go ahead and do it, Scotty, if it's ok with the Mods, and you are found to be of good character. Just remember who your friends are when you're passing out those high picks - randomly, of course.
I'll be willing to get in line. As it'll be my first year in the Buddy Draft, I will do my best to report extensively on my player next year!! :D
Pie eyed
19 Sep 2008, 14:45
Thoughts?
I already have Chris Dawes, who I wish to keep! and took over Jack Anthony as no-one was doing him at all.
I would like to suggest that....I be allowed to keep Dawes for next season, as I only got a couple of senior games with him.:):)
Secondly, someone take over, by ballot, Jack Anthony.:thumbsu:
Kate1985
19 Sep 2008, 16:20
I already have Chris Dawes, who I wish to keep! and took over Jack Anthony as no-one was doing him at all.
I would like to suggest that....I be allowed to keep Dawes for next season, as I only got a couple of senior games with him.:):)
Secondly, someone take over, by ballot, Jack Anthony.:thumbsu:
If the ballot came my way, I'd love to take Jack Anthony off your hands! :thumbsu:
RRRooocccaaa
19 Sep 2008, 23:47
'K - how does it work? WHere/when do we nominate?
MagpieGirl_13
19 Sep 2008, 23:56
'K - how does it work? WHere/when do we nominate?
The drafting - basically you express your interest (when scottyD does a new thread, whenever). Then you randomally get assigned a number in the draft order (1-44, I think). Then it's pretty much like draft day. When it's your turn, you pick a player based on who is left when your number comes up. & they are your buddy.
Then you just have to post reports on your buddy's game etc.
It'll probably get underway around December or something, depends really.
Pie eyed
27 Sep 2008, 21:07
ScottyD Maaaaate...what's it gonna take to lubricate the draft? lol
Wouldn't it be a coincidence me getting Dawes 2 years in a row?....:thumbsu:
Snag Breac
27 Sep 2008, 21:12
ScottyD Maaaaate...what's it gonna take to lubricate the draft? lol
Wouldn't it be a coincidence me getting Dawes 2 years in a row?....:thumbsu:
The day itself is not purer than ScottyD's heart, Pie Eyed. He will staunchly resist any attempts at bribery. :thumbsu:
Pie eyed
27 Sep 2008, 21:30
The day itself is not purer than ScottyD's heart, Pie Eyed. He will staunchly resist any attempts at bribery. :thumbsu:
LOL
I have my ways.
I've turned pollies in my day, ScootyD will have an Achilles heel.....
scottyD
27 Sep 2008, 21:33
LOL
I have my ways.
once you get my name right:thumbsu:
Pie eyed
27 Sep 2008, 22:44
once you get my name right:thumbsu:
ROFL....a simple ploy to open a dialogue.
Now to read every post you have ever made and get my team of "profiler's" to work finding out what pushes your buttons....
scottyD
28 Sep 2008, 21:52
Alcohol.
Pie eyed
28 Sep 2008, 23:00
My team of profilers have suggested the following package which should enable me to turn you.
You will be offered a two week all expenses paid holiday on exclusive Brampton Island. This includes limousine transport to the nearest airport, the first class flight to Fremantle where you will board one of Greg Normans luxury ocean going motor yachts. You and a second party, of your choice, will be treated to 6 star cuisine while you navigate at a leisurely pace North around the top end, game fishing at your discretion. A Bell Jet ranger helicopter is at your disposal for "quick" trips to and from the mainland or simply for "mooning" Indonesian fishing vessels illegally within our economic zone.
On arrival at Brampton Island you will be greeted by your butler who will assist you and your guest to relax and settle into your accomodation and itinerary.
You will be awoken at 10.00am by a troop of Tahitian "dancers" and whisked off for a 4 course breakfast. After breakfast you will be introduced to Collingwood Head Coach, Michael Malthouse and he will introduce you to the Drafting team. At these morning meetings you will be fully briefed on all draft discussions and your input will be required.
Afternoons will be left to your imagination, but the entire current Collingwood list will be on the Island ready at a moments notice to re-enact key passages of play from the previous season for your amusement. Evenings will be spent indulging your every fantasy, no expense has been spared, with a life size replica of the MCG, complete with lights and a 100,000 strong crowd of enthusiastic fans to cheer you on as you fullful your childhood dreams of "kicking the winning goal after the siren", "the last second "speccy" in defence to win the GF" and of course the "80 metre torp to top the magic 150 for the year and wrap up the Coleman".
After the game the list will join you in the reproduction "rooms" to sing the club song before retiring to the "local" for some well earned coldies.
Of course greg Norman will drop in several times during the fortnight for a round of golf and to join you should you and your guest wish to sample the "billfishing" in the area.
The return journey will be slightly different from the first as "diving with Whale Sharks" at Ningaloo will be on the agenda as well as several samba lessons from your choice of celebrity dancer.
On arrival back at Fremantle you will be given a tour of the "infamous" Swan River so as to familiarise yourself with Ben Cousins past feats, primarily so you are better prepared when you are included in his contract negotiations. With Bens contract signed, sealed and safely put to bed you and your guest will be flown, 1st class, to the destination of your choice.
See.....
scottyD
28 Sep 2008, 23:05
Decline:D
Pie eyed
29 Sep 2008, 00:10
Ok then...and alcohol.
You're a hard man.:D
Snag Breac
29 Sep 2008, 19:23
Decline:D
A boy after my own heart. :p
Snag Breac
29 Sep 2008, 19:26
LOL
I have my ways.
Young Scoooooty may have his Achilles heel, but your average politician has nothing but. It's in their nature to turn. Scotty is above all that.:thumbsu:
But ethics aside, I'm keeping ROCCA, aren't I Scotty?:)
scottyD
29 Sep 2008, 19:36
Bags MC!
Now as savo had, i hope people have respect to leave MC as i will be running this thing.
Snag Breac
29 Sep 2008, 19:40
Bags MC!
Now as savo had, i hope people have respect to leave MC as i will be running this thing.
You've earned him. But what happens then to the official MCC thread?
scottyD
29 Sep 2008, 19:52
It will be reborn
ARFCoach
29 Sep 2008, 20:29
Can anyone (such as me!) be involved in the 2009 Buddy Draft?
MagpieGirl_13
29 Sep 2008, 20:31
^ you sure can!:thumbsu:
scottyD
29 Sep 2008, 20:38
I'll start the sign up thread soon
Tarkyn_24
30 Sep 2008, 12:13
Nudge me when you get this started, I'm intending to actually remember this next season.
Pie eyed
21 Oct 2008, 07:58
My team of profilers have suggested the following package which should enable me to turn you.
You will be offered a two week all expenses paid holiday on exclusive Brampton Island. This includes limousine transport to the nearest airport, the first class flight to Fremantle where you will board one of Greg Normans luxury ocean going motor yachts. You and a second party, of your choice, will be treated to 6 star cuisine while you navigate at a leisurely pace North around the top end, game fishing at your discretion. A Bell Jet ranger helicopter is at your disposal for "quick" trips to and from the mainland or simply for "mooning" Indonesian fishing vessels illegally within our economic zone.
On arrival at Brampton Island you will be greeted by your butler who will assist you and your guest to relax and settle into your accomodation and itinerary.
You will be awoken at 10.00am by a troop of Tahitian "dancers" and whisked off for a 4 course breakfast. After breakfast you will be introduced to Collingwood Head Coach, Michael Malthouse and he will introduce you to the Drafting team. At these morning meetings you will be fully briefed on all draft discussions and your input will be required.
Afternoons will be left to your imagination, but the entire current Collingwood list will be on the Island ready at a moments notice to re-enact key passages of play from the previous season for your amusement. Evenings will be spent indulging your every fantasy, no expense has been spared, with a life size replica of the MCG, complete with lights and a 100,000 strong crowd of enthusiastic fans to cheer you on as you fullful your childhood dreams of "kicking the winning goal after the siren", "the last second "speccy" in defence to win the GF" and of course the "80 metre torp to top the magic 150 for the year and wrap up the Coleman".
After the game the list will join you in the reproduction "rooms" to sing the club song before retiring to the "local" for some well earned coldies.
Of course greg Norman will drop in several times during the fortnight for a round of golf and to join you should you and your guest wish to sample the "billfishing" in the area.
The return journey will be slightly different from the first as "diving with Whale Sharks" at Ningaloo will be on the agenda as well as several samba lessons from your choice of celebrity dancer.
On arrival back at Fremantle you will be given a tour of the "infamous" Swan River so as to familiarise yourself with Ben Cousins past feats, primarily so you are better prepared when you are included in his contract negotiations. With Bens contract signed, sealed and safely put to bed you and your guest will be flown, 1st class, to the destination of your choice.
See.....
Where you the dissenter during negotiation ScottyD?:D
DThomas
30 Oct 2008, 08:00
When this starts I have dibs on Dale Thomas!
DoubleO7
3 Nov 2008, 21:57
I want a buddy. Any player available?
DoubleO7
4 Dec 2008, 22:38
I want Sidebottom if available. Hands of leeches.
TRAVCLOKE#32
5 Dec 2008, 10:45
Oh its's definately on!!!
I want Harry O!!