View Full Version : Add 3 players from the Past

KING-JAMES
5 Dec 2007, 17:16
OK, to copy the Carlton board thread if you could take 3 players from the past 1980-2000 who would you place in the side?

Amazing Bombers
5 Dec 2007, 17:30
1. Tim Watson
2. Michael Long
3. James Hird

Darealrath
5 Dec 2007, 17:36
Hird
Simon Madden
Watson

Our midfield would be sorted.

Ryder Is God
5 Dec 2007, 17:37
1. Simon Madden
2. Tim Watson
3. Gavin Wanganeen

warney7
5 Dec 2007, 17:41
Madden
Watson
Hird

d-mac3276
5 Dec 2007, 17:47
OK, to copy the Carlton board thread if you could take 3 players from the past 1980-2000 who would you place in the side?
Leon Baker, Darren Bewick and Paul Van Der Haar nah just kidding the 3 would b Judd Lalich, Daniel McAlister and Andrew Ukovic

drew_j
5 Dec 2007, 18:09
Madden.
Watson.
Harvey.

Excluding Hird, he's to obvious.

Longy413
5 Dec 2007, 18:18
Madden, Baker, Reynolds.

Darealrath
5 Dec 2007, 18:21
Madden, Baker, Reynolds.

We didn't have a Reynolds in that time frame mate.

Big Blow Hard
5 Dec 2007, 18:40
Simon Madden
Sean Wellman
Billy Duckworth

thebigboy
5 Dec 2007, 18:42
1. Hird
2. Simon Madden
3. Bewick

Longy413
5 Dec 2007, 18:48
We didn't have a Reynolds in that time frame mate.

Right you are, Joel started in 02 ;)

Lesson to self - Always read the opening post and not just the thread title.

Madden
Baker
Wanganeen

DonMania#5
5 Dec 2007, 18:49
1. Hird
2. Watson
3. Madden

The_Young_Gun
5 Dec 2007, 19:09
1. Dean Wallis.
2. James Hird.
3. Tim Watson.

retroparty
5 Dec 2007, 19:42
Simon Madden
James Hird (dunno if he counts)
Tim Watson

Bomber32
5 Dec 2007, 19:48
Simon Madden
Roger Merrett
Tim Watson

kelvinb
5 Dec 2007, 20:07
3 midfielders (and ill give hirdy a year off - hes tired)

Watson
Baker
Daisy

fish_bowl
5 Dec 2007, 20:30
neagle
long
watson

special mention to wanganeen and cockatoo-collins

give hird the year off

diablo14
5 Dec 2007, 20:33
Hird not gone long enuff, so i'll go

S Madden
Watson
T Daniher (is there a reason one of your finest captains, and a bloke who could play KP at both ends of the ground would not be mentioned thus far?)

How about this for a side of retired Essendon players since 1980...

B: Foulds A Daniher Wanganeen
HB: M Harvey T Daniher Mark Thompson
C: Neagle Baker Hawker
HF: Mercuri N Daniher Hird (i'll include him here)
F: Bewick Salmon Long
Foll: S Madden Watson D Williams
Int: O'Donnell Misiti Wellman Vander Haar

angus6
5 Dec 2007, 20:37
hird
watson
and any 1 of.....
mercuri
long
madden
salmon
bewick :thumbsu: always a fav

bullet21
5 Dec 2007, 21:00
Wellman-tall running defender
Wanganeen-would have field day under mal and fletch
kickett-just for the x factor

Margim
6 Dec 2007, 00:23
Jimmy
Wally
The Fish

Should probably have said Madden, but to be honest was 10 years old when he retired and can't really comment :)

bomberandy
6 Dec 2007, 01:33
Darren Bewick
Michael Long
Gavin Wanganeen

Kaiser Powser
6 Dec 2007, 08:07
Salmon
Watson
Wanganeen

noice!

diablo14
6 Dec 2007, 08:09
Seriously, did Terry Daniher kill someone at Windy Hill? Only one nomination, and thats by me, an interloper! :D

BomberComfort
6 Dec 2007, 09:03
Wanganeen
Hird
mercuri (in 1999 form)

ant555
6 Dec 2007, 09:28
Seriously, did Terry Daniher kill someone at Windy Hill? Only one nomination, and thats by me, an interloper! :D

I guess they see Lucas as being able to do the job at CHF.

Anyway my three.
Simon Madden - Sensational ruckman , great mobility and able to kick goals as a forward.
Terry Daniher - able to play KP both ends of the ground.
Darren Williams - hard inside mid with very good skills.

citizen-erased
6 Dec 2007, 09:43
Madden
Wellman
Mercuri

:( i miss the 90's

King Patty
6 Dec 2007, 12:43
Wanganeen
Not a Well man
Hardwick

Happy Daze
6 Dec 2007, 13:34
1 forward, a centre and a back for me:

John Coleman: my old man saw him play and he said Coleman had more talent in his body than any other footballer he's seen, Ablett included. A legend around Windy Hill. Essendon's Bradman. Our forward line would be unstoppable with Coleman in it.

Leon Baker: met Bakes before he came to Windy Hill when he was still playing for Swans in Perth - my cousin was playing with him at that stage. Had that 'X' factor as a centreman and was the only one I saw really dominate against the great Hawks midfield of the early-mid 80's. Just a great player whose Essendon career was but a cameo. We need an in and out style player in the guts and Baker is it for me.

Gavin Wanganeen circa 1993: had to go an aboriginal with this choice. Could have gone Madden instead because our ruck stocks are a bit sparse, but Wanga it is. Low centre of gravity, always broke tackles and was as elusive as a greasy eel in his first season. Didn't have 'breakaway' pace but always found himself in space and used the ball to perfection. Had a knack of kicking goals as well when he followed his man down to our forward line.

Edit: just seen the stipulation that it had to be a player from 80-2000, but I'm sticking with Coleman!

lets_fly_up
6 Dec 2007, 14:38
J.hird
S.wellman
T.watson

windyhill
6 Dec 2007, 14:47
Hard question.
1. Madden is the easy one
2. Long
3. Kickett

Essendon_2000
6 Dec 2007, 16:26
well it has to be
Zantuck
Cupido
Bolton

Margim
6 Dec 2007, 16:58
well it has to be
Zantuck
Cupido
Bolton

Funny.

But Bolton is actually the only one of those that qualifies (played at the club in the period 1980-2000)

Jim Bobz heroes
6 Dec 2007, 17:23
Wanganeen
Hird
Watson

bomber c
6 Dec 2007, 22:32
madden
hird
watson

un_eggs
6 Dec 2007, 22:38
Pretty easy really... Madden Hird and Watson were the standouts...

Don Gibson
6 Dec 2007, 23:03
We gotta harden up.

Merret
T. Daniher
Hardwick

diablo14
6 Dec 2007, 23:06
We gotta harden up.

Merret
T. Daniher
Hardwick

Do you need some pool chalk to help sharpen up those elbows? ;)

http://www1.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/1156115/2/istockphoto_1156115_snooker_pool_chalk.jpg

Margim
7 Dec 2007, 00:54
We gotta harden up.

Merret
T. Daniher
Hardwick

Dean Wallis!!!

FandangoDingo
7 Dec 2007, 09:36
1. Madden
2. Hird
3. Wanganeen, TD, Longy or Watson

Oh, the riches!!! :D :D

biglaycock
7 Dec 2007, 12:35
Dean Wallis!!!

Yeah i'd have Wally too. (Love to see him knock Fev out!!!!)
Hirdy
Mercuri (as someone said previous on 1999 form was pure class in midfield)

hayesy_27
7 Dec 2007, 16:39
Hird
Mecuri at his prime
Wanganeen

Slattery_20
10 Dec 2007, 18:45
Simon Madden
Sean Wellman
Billy Duckworth
That's a very astute call
With Knights "emphasis on skills", & call for a "tall running defender", & now 2 PSD spots... how old's Sean these days?:D

1. Sean Wellman
2. J Hird - of course
3. D Hardwick - to add hardness to our wicks

& it says something that 2 of these guys are defenders... this has been our achilles for far too long

adamcf
10 Dec 2007, 19:35
Mine'd be, TD, AD & CD.

donsman4eva
11 Dec 2007, 10:32
Madden, Hird, Wellman

Daytripper
11 Dec 2007, 10:55
Mercuri
Baker
Watson

Jex
11 Dec 2007, 14:53
Of those I've seen...Hird, Long and Watson (my 3 favourites of all-time)!!

Baker, Bomber, Harvs, Mercs and TD would also be nice :)

On a needs basis, Madden or Fish would be pretty handy in the ruck...but I'm hopeful Chook will continue to improve and Hille will step up in 08.

Of those I wish I'd seen...Coleman, Reynolds and Hutchy are the 3 most obvious choices.

Id' also be putting my order in for a 20 year old Fletch :thumbsu:

B-Bomber
11 Dec 2007, 16:38
Id' also be putting my order in for a 20 year old Fletch :thumbsu:

But that's a waste of 3 good footy years for fletch!

Jex
11 Dec 2007, 21:36
But that's a waste of 3 good footy years for fletch!

:D What was I thinking?