View Full Version : Des Headland

Slax
30 Jun 2002, 01:25
After a match winning performance tonight by Dessy Headland with 6 goals; was tonight the turning point in his career when he stood up and realised his potential.

He has always had talent and no-one doubted that it's just that he never used it. If he can now consistentally become a 3 goal a match forward we have our replacement for Lynchy when he retires at the end of the season.

campbell
30 Jun 2002, 11:51
I like his burst through the packs. Love it.

Hope he can cement a place full time in the team. Altough he is a forward not a back.
Now that Browny has redone his ankle, how about Des for CHF for a while. With Possum back up.

Slax
1 Jul 2002, 01:07
Sounds like a good idea. I always thought Dessy was a forward and Lethal should give him a go over the next couple of weeks to see what he can really do now he has some confidence.

Stocka
1 Jul 2002, 09:00
While I reckon Headland would be a good option for the forward-line, I reckon while Voss and Lappin are still out, we should position him in the midfield.

Headland has those similar qualities to Voss and Johnson, in that he breaks through the lines with explosive play. All season he's been building up to this performance, and I reckon his form should be capitalised upon while some of our other stars are out.

Likewise, Headland's also done some great tough work down back. It'd be good to see him get a run all over the ground, really.

In the long run, I reckon Headland will end up being a midfielder. I think he's too good to be positioned primarly as a "stay-at-home" permanent forward.

With that said, I wouldn't mind seeing D.Cupido given another run in the forward line. Now there is a player who is a natural forward who could certainly slot into our senior line-up!

BrainOfMorbius
1 Jul 2002, 17:50
Dessie's storming up the Lionised Player of the Year leaderboard at the moment... fourth with a bullet!

kimp
1 Jul 2002, 18:10
Dessy said great things in an interview on realfooty about Brisbane. I'm thinking he's going to stay.

Dessy is a Vossy underling and I like that Lethal is using him everywhere - excellent experience and groundings for a future great.

Kick it to Des!!!

Crimso
1 Jul 2002, 18:34
Dessy is doing what the other guys should be doing. He's not satisfied with being the hunted so he's hunting instead. Hope the other guys take note of his behaviour.

I reckon Leigh has him sorted pretty well for position, everyone freaked when he started down back a few weeks ago and look at him now, doing all the Chris Johnson things and, at the moment, better.

Get Dessy, PM Piky and Leppa across that halfback line and it will mean trouble for almost any team. Afterall none of them stop at the wing with their forward thrusts and all are capable of scoring.

Mr Ripper
2 Jul 2002, 20:49
Having seen Dessie off-field a couple of times of late, he gives the impression he's more than satisfied with Qld. life. Don't think he's headed anywhere at the end of the season other than on the players' trip.

keatings_gal
2 Jul 2002, 21:21
i agree with u ripper......

he is just such a ledge!!!!

his son is due to be born on the 14th of October this year...

but i know that he will be a legendary boy & will be born on the 17th... coz all LEGENDARY ppl are born on that day..... nick reiwoldt, evil knevil, me....

he has said that he wont be calling it des..... damn it... i wanted it to be like one of those golfing families... like the davis-love fella or whatever it is... isnt he like the third... if they were to call it des he would be des headland the third as well

CarterS
8 Jul 2002, 17:21
Another great game from Des against Melbourne on the weekend, that's about 6 games in a row where I think Des will be in the votes. I'm whacking some money on Des for an each-way bet for the Brownlow, good stuff @ $501-1!

Pike is also a good pick at $251-1.

keatings_gal
8 Jul 2002, 21:47
i should run & put some on pikey... he'll be right....

Des has been soooooo good.... i am just so proud & so is momma... i saw him today... with his grandma who is over from WA....

Slax
8 Jul 2002, 23:55
carterS, to what position do they pay place betting in the Brownlow?

CarterS
9 Jul 2002, 11:32
Originally posted by Slax
carterS, to what position do they pay place betting in the Brownlow?

Mate I'm not sure but I'm assuming it'd be the top 3 or top 5, probably top 3. A place pays a quarter of the original bet.

BrisGirl
9 Jul 2002, 14:37
Originally posted by kimp
Kick it to Des!!!

That has been my mantra for the past month.

Des has been the only one that has presented himself of late.

When someone has the ball, and he is looking to kick it to someone, the movement comes from Des.

Des has been the only one lately who will make space and present himself as a target.

He has been putting some Seniors to shame in my book.

Stocka
9 Jul 2002, 15:17
I would assume a place bet would be in the top 3 in the Brownlow.

Last year I had an each way bet on Akermanis for the Brownlow. $20 for the win (14-1), and $20 on a top 3 place (7-1).

:cool:

kimp
9 Jul 2002, 18:22
Dessy's our next captain (if we can keep him) He's the only one who has stepped up when needed I reckon (Black's always a hero)

keatings_gal
10 Jul 2002, 21:47
i have got another sign that des will be outstanding again this week.....

Des has been the only one lately who will make space and present himself as a target.

i also thought that over the past few weeks Shatts had been great..... not as much last week... but he was great the game before....

He has been putting some Seniors to shame in my book.

so true.....