View Full Version : Quinten Lynch
chrisjudd3
30 Jun 2002, 18:29
Do you prefer Quinteh Lynch in the backline or forward, his WAFL form in the first 10 or 11 games had him named as one of the bset players on the ground consistently and consecutively. Named as a CHB but played as a full forward against Carlton.
Could he be the our next full forward after Troy Wilson or do we have a gy who could replace Jako or Milli???
Quinten Lynch highlight(so far anyway)
1. Was contesting with Luke Livingston as the ball hit the ground, Livingston got his body over the ball but Lynch stuck his hand in and ripped it out of Livingston's hands. From 40m out he hoofs it home.:D
2. In the tense last quarter against Carlton he bombs an outside 50m kick.:D
Belgarion
30 Jun 2002, 19:34
I like to have him in the forward line as shown today with 5 goals. He can kick it a long way too, just like the Rocca brothers, Sav and Anthony.
It will be wonderful to have both Lynch and Wilson in the forward line together.
Belgarion.
Au_Blue#24
30 Jun 2002, 21:37
Do we now have the luxury of wilson at ff, lynch at chf, and gardi floating down around the half back line to help jako out ??
Anyway great win and even better that freo got flogged - were now two games ahead of the court jesters.
Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
Anyway great win and even better that freo got flogged - were now two games ahead of the court jesters.
All I care about is who else there is in the top 8 trying to get our spot!
i absolutely loved seeing Lynch out there today.
a second game player taking the match by the throat and kicking 5/4.
but do we keep him up forward??? injuries give the coaching staff the luxury of not having to make a hard decision yet but fully fit we have Willo, Gasper, Sierra, Gardi(???) and maybe one day McDougall to fit in as tall forwards.
Thrawn666
1 Jul 2002, 00:06
While Lynch is kicking goals id rather he stayed up forward, end of story
He's doing well in the forward line so keep him there
Maybe move him to CHF and have Willo who is very fast off the lead at FF
Here's hoping they manage Lynch/Wilson better than the Wilson/Cummings problem last year. I think there is room for both of them if Lynch plays a lateral CHF role, and as a matter of fact, with the thumping kick on this kid, out past the fifty is probably the best spot for him. Gardiner would be very handy playing the extra man in defense role. Having said that, I'd love it if for one game, they decided to totally outmatch a team, and played one small crumber- Phil Matera or whoever, and then Wilson, Lynch, Gardiner, Siera and Embley as our FF/HF line. Most teams might be able to manage one big defender, maybe two, but that would be a shocker to match up on.
Thrawn666
1 Jul 2002, 00:48
Originally posted by Mead
Here's hoping they manage Lynch/Wilson better than the Wilson/Cummings problem last year. I think there is room for both of them if Lynch plays a lateral CHF role, and as a matter of fact, with the thumping kick on this kid, out past the fifty is probably the best spot for him. Gardiner would be very handy playing the extra man in defense role. Having said that, I'd love it if for one game, they decided to totally outmatch a team, and played one small crumber- Phil Matera or whoever, and then Wilson, Lynch, Gardiner, Siera and Embley as our FF/HF line. Most teams might be able to manage one big defender, maybe two, but that would be a shocker to match up on.
That top heavy forward line would be utterly destroyed on the rebound, that one game would more than likely cost us a lot in percentage.
Id still like to see Wilson and Lynch together at FF and CHF respectively. Im not missing Cummings one bit, he has proven himself to be every bit as injury prone over at Collingwood.
Heard an interview (or part of it) with Lynch after the game today. Apparently he played a lot of footy in the forward line as a junior and only went to defence when playing for the Falcons.
I think its a great position to be in with in form forwards - Wilson has to come in and play at FF so Lynch should be tried at CHF. If it doesnt work out he can switch to defence - it's great to have players that can play at either end as it adds some flexibility to the team. Gaspar is another fwd option but I always saw him as a defender. Great news about McDougall playing a good game in defence for Perth!
I do agree that we need to limit the numner of big guys in the fwd line as we need fast players to put pressure on the opposition defenders as they rebound - guys like Fido, Wirra, Judd etc
Lynch was fantastic today and i think he may even get the Rising Star nomination. IMO, leave him in the forward line. When Wilson comes back, which should be next weekend then just move Lynch to CHF. With Gaspar out ofr 6 to 7 weeks it seems like the obvious decision.
Goldenblue
1 Jul 2002, 12:35
I am really happy with Lynch. He is so strong, takes a great grab and uses his body well in the contests. I never heard much of him till VOR described him in a post recently.
When Willow comes back, CHF could be alternated between Willow and Lynchie. These two powerhouses could flatten most of the opposition backlines with their strength.
Mayhaps VOR could be employed by the Eagles as a talent scout to overlook players who are capable of wearing the mighty blue and gold.;)
chrisjudd3
1 Jul 2002, 17:42
Time to update the Quinten Lunch Highlight reel:
5 goals 4 behinds
4 goals from set shots from 35+ metres out.
1 goal on the run.
7 towering marks.
2 game debutant on home soil.
Got a 7 out of 10 rating from "THE GAME LIFTOUT"
GoEagles
1 Jul 2002, 20:10
Originally posted by jod23
Lynch was fantastic today and i think he may even get the Rising Star nomination.
I'll be spewing if he doesn't get it. 5.4 in your second game of AFL footy surely deserves that recognition!
Originally posted by chrisjudd3
Got a 7 out of 10 rating from "THE GAME LIFTOUT"
Mate, that was a disgrace! I reckon the only things that went against him was being slightly inaccurate in front of goal
Mr Eagle
1 Jul 2002, 23:00
Originally posted by Goldenblue
Mayhaps VOR could be employed by the Eagles as a talent scout to overlook players who are capable of wearing the mighty blue and gold.;)
To overlook talent? Isn't that what we did 1995-2000? :) I assume you're trying to say "look over"...
Voice of Reason
1 Jul 2002, 23:32
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
To overlook talent? Isn't that what we did 1995-2000? :) I assume you're trying to say "look over"...
Thanks for the compliment, GoEagles, but I can assure you that if I was the talent scout for the Eagles, there'd be a lot of players overlooked!
Originally posted by GoEagles
I'll be spewing if he doesn't get it. 5.4 in your second game of AFL footy surely deserves that recognition!
Burgoyne Jr will give him a run for his money? Not sure when the announcement is made? Tuesday?
Goldenblue
2 Jul 2002, 15:09
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Oops....slight slip of the grammar there.....:)
Voice of Reason
2 Jul 2002, 15:21
Originally posted by Goldenblue
Oops....slight slip of the grammar there.....:)
..and remind me to stop calling Goldenblue GoEagles.
Thanks to Mr Eagle, we are all virtually indistinguishable, avatar-wise.
It's a bit like opposition defences at Sue B. Shall I stop Cousins, Kerr, Chambers, Judd, Jones, Braun, Wirrapunda or one of the other midfielders from kicking this goal?
Burgoyne Jr will give him a run for his money? Not sure when the announcement is made? Tuesday?
He was very good wasnt he??
I'd say its touch and go but since i havent seen the Port game i cant choose confidently(but i reckon Lynch should get it ;) )
yup. you picked it jod
Mr Eagle
2 Jul 2002, 20:38
Originally posted by Voice of Reason
..and remind me to stop calling Goldenblue GoEagles.
Thanks to Mr Eagle, we are all virtually indistinguishable, avatar-wise.Uhh VOR...neither of their avatars have changed since my little redecoration...have you been suffering in silence for some time without letting us help you? :D (or can you just not see the difference between a flesh-coloured cartoon and a string of letters? ;))