View Full Version : Votes Vs Adellaide
Belgarion
30 Jun 2002, 19:29
5. Cousins
4. Chambers
3. Lynch
2. Jakovichj
1. Phil Matera
The crows scared me for a while with that gutsy comeback in the last quarter. But at the end , the best team on the day won.
Belgarion
bunsen burner
30 Jun 2002, 19:55
5. Cousins
4. Jakovich
3. Chambers
2. Lynch
1. Fletcher
Good to see Hunter contribute again.
Very difficult game to distribute points for IMO as there were quite a few who played exceptionaly well in particular quarters but faded in others.
Eg, Wooden was brilliant to half time with McLoed only havind about 10 posessions but the second half was so different. Kerr did little for three quarters of the game then had an excellent last quarter. And of course Cuz had 50% of his possessions in the first quarter. Jako, thrashed on speed for most of the game but stood solid in the last quarter. Anyhow here goes.
5)Hunter
4) Cuz
3)Fletcher
2) Milli
1) Lynch
carneagles
30 Jun 2002, 21:12
5: Cousins
4: HUNTAAAAAAA
3: Lynch
2: Chambers
1: Fletcher
daddy_4_eyes
30 Jun 2002, 21:41
5: Cousins (Heard on the radio about his 1st quarter. Bit dissapointed he didn't go on with it and only got 33 touches
4: Hunter (Really impressing me. Was in my 'delist' group but now i like the guy. Hop on the bandwagon everyone ;)
3: Chambers (3 goals+20touches from a midfielder/HF is fantastic. I reckon he could be a 30 possession midfielder if he spent the whole game on the ball like Cuzz does.
2: Judd (21 touches for him, and if the CH9 highlights are anything to go by they were all class. Will be an absolute champion of the future.
1: Fletcher (since coming back into the side he has gone from strength to strength. Great to have a 2nd midfielder who can consistently (lately) get 20+ touches)
Thrawn666
30 Jun 2002, 23:51
5 - Cousins
4 - Chambers
3 - Hunter
2 - Lynch
1 - Peter Matera
5 - Cousins (he set the game up and was fantastic)
4 - Chambers (this guy has one of the best kicks on goal in the side, was very very good)
3 - Hunter (seems to have improved heaps and played with a lot of confidence that he didnt have before)
2 - Lynch (provided a strong marking presence and kicked a couple of good goals)
1 - Fletcher (doesnt get the accolades but is doing a good job week in week out)
One person that missed out is Wooden, mainly because of McLeods last quarter :D However, until then Wooden was doing a terrific job on McLeod
My votes in what was a great game - Adelaide was superb in the last quarter with McLeod and Riccuito running rampant but we stood up when it counted! Our first half was great and we should've been a few goals further in front at half time!
5 - Cousins - simply brilliant in the first half and ran hard and contributed in the last 2 quarters.
4 - Chambers - needs to spend all 4 quarters on the ground every week - excellent running game.
3 - Hunter - keeps getting better and is gaining in confidence each week
2 - Lynch - led well, marked well and kicked well - dont forget it was his 2nd game!!!
1 - Fletcher - put in all day and was excellent in the first half in particular.
Honourable mentions for Jako (rock in the last 1/4), Roo, Judd, and Kerr (pure guts in the last), and Phil was good with 4 goals. I was pretty happy with most of the team today - also special mention for Banners - great game today - I was critical of him earlier in the season but Woosha knows best!:D
One final comment - look at my top 5 again - apart from Cuz the others are rookies and 2nd tier players that have really lifted with guidance from Woosh, Bluey and Suma!!!!
GGGOOOOOOOO EAGLES!!!!!!!
Very very tough to give votes on this game...so many contributors.
5 - Cousins - purely based on his first quarter, i dont think ive ever seen a better quarter of football from an individual than that one. 16 disposals and 2 goals....I thought he was gonna have a huge game and in the end his 33 touches and 2 goals was disappointing which says a lot for his game.
4 - Adam Hunter - I thought this kid was delisting material, boy was i wrong. He really looks like he has the goods to be a life member for our club. Kicked a goal, had 24 disposals and 6 marks. If he continues to take the next step with others like Chambers, Judd, Lynch...well we are gonna be very good in years to come.
3 - Quinten Lynch - we needed a target up forward and boy did he provide one, it was just like an 18 year old Wilson. Kicked 5 goals 4 so he could have had a huge bag.
2 - Callum Chambers - If my life depended on someone running into goal and kicking a goal from 40 or 50 out...Id give the ball to Callum! Not only did he kick 3 straight but he has now really cemented his spot in the side and his reputation as one of our best midfielders.
The four above i thought were certainties for votes...the last vote is just so hard to give...Fletcher was great and had 25 disposals, 5 marks and 7 tackles, he also played a 4 quarter game, never really drifting out of the game. Wirrpunda was dynamic early before he went off with an ankle injury, came back and played well. Jakovich was a rock in defence and when it looked like Adelaide were gonna round us up, he would get a clearance, a rebound or an important mark in the back half, he really almost won us the game, much like Cuz's last quarter against Carlton. Judd was back to his best with 21 touches and a goal, it all looks so easy for him. Kerr, brothers Matera, McIntosh...
1 - Chad Fletcher - ill give it to Fletch in the end, played well enough but as i said any of those mentioned above could have gotten this vote.
mentalgrind
1 Jul 2002, 02:14
5) Cousins (happy B'day cuz) - his first quater would have to be the best individual performance I have ever seen, and then Mcleod came out with the 'what you can do I can do better' attitude in the last quater. We were treated by two of the best today.
4) Chambers - definately one of our best these days.
3) Hunter - I stood by him when he was getting ribbed week in week out, but this kid is really starting to impress me and I think Dennis agrees with me.
2) Lynch - Wilson (congrats on the engagement) has reason to be nervouse and to quote my dad who saw him for the first time today, "Geez he's a big boy... how old is he ? "
1) Jakovich - a very solid game but in the last quater showed some real gritt and some leadership.
Also thought Judd played his best for us and Fletcher, Embly and the Matera brothers put in big efforts for us aswell.
TheRealBuzz
1 Jul 2002, 02:15
5) Cousins:
Set the win up with a sensational first half. Faded away in the second, but still did some crucial things at crucial times.
4) Fletcher:
A very solid four-quarter effort. He's added consistency to his game and I reckon he's really taken the next step.
3) Kerr:
I disagree with those who say he was quiet in the first three quarters. Did the grunt work, got his hands dirty and tackled hard. Some of things he did in the last quarter were inspiring.
2) Lynch:
Five goals are hard to overlook. Kept presenting all day and his kicking was a highlight.
1) Chambers:
Justified Woosha's faith in him. Knows his role in the side and does it beautifully. Silky skills, terrific speed and can kick a goal.
ahhhh, finally i'm back to my "We only won by HOW much, delist the whole lot!!" headspace:D
5- Cuz the birthdayboy ( geez he's good)
4- Chambers the pretty darn good
3- Jako the Jako
2- Lynch the next BIG thing (i'm gonna like that boy)
1- Hunter the under-rated ( not as crap as i thought)
gold stars- Roo, Kerr, Fletch and Judd all did a stellar job
onya boys!
:) :)
Goldenblue
1 Jul 2002, 12:30
5. Cousins
4. Hunter
3. Lynch
2. Chambers
1. Jakovich
5. Hunter
4. Cousins
3. Lynch
2. Chambers
1. Jackovich
Mr Eagle
1 Jul 2002, 13:40
5. Cousins
4. Lynch
3. Hunter
2. Jakovich
1. McIntosh
5. Hunter
4. Cousins
3. Chambers
2. Lynch
1. Phil Matera
Voice of Reason
1 Jul 2002, 15:29
It's a team game and never was that fact better illustrated than yesterday, when the team that held it together for 4 quarters beat the team of brilliant but inconsistent geniuses.
5 - Cousins - best start ever, 2 goals, huge mark & effective through the day ("only" 17 possessions in the last 3 quarters still ain't too bad)
4 - Lynch - 5 goals and was the target that Adelaide couldn't hold.
3 - Hunter - really good all round performance - I thought he looked confident in the warm-up and he certainly came to play
2 - Chambers - 3 goals & outrunning McLeod for 50 metres, he's just so damaging going forward
1 - Jakovich - a couple of errors early and looked a bit tired, but he just makes these superhuman efforts when it really matters.
Fletcher very unlucky - last quarter lift from Jako was critical to the win though. Phil Matera gets 4 goals and still not in the top 6 players. Judd and McIntosh also impressed.
Deepthroat
1 Jul 2002, 17:33
5 - Cuz
4 - Hunter
3 - Fletcher
2 - Lynch
1 - Phil Matera
GoEagles
1 Jul 2002, 19:57
5. Cousins (The best first quarter I have ever seen from a player, after 5 minutes he already had about 6 touches and a goal)
4. Hunter (Outstanding for 4 quarters, a true solid effort)
3. Lynch (I almost screamed out "WILSOOOOOOOOON" when he marked for goals, very similar in build and percentage of goals kicked :D - some fool tried to compare him to a 'big' Brett Spinks)
2. Chambers (Fantastic game by the little bloke, this year keeps getting better for him)
1. Phil Matera (4 goals, good to see him back to his old form)
Unlucky:
McIntosh
Fletcher
Kerr
I thought Jako was a bit rusty in the first half, looked as if he had slept for the mid-season break.
Changes for next week:
Jones got a knock to the leg so he may be in doubt.
Out: Jones
In: Braun
Mr Eagle
1 Jul 2002, 21:33
Poor Wooden...McLeod's one quarter of genius single-handedly wiped out all his votes...
Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Poor Wooden...McLeod's one quarter of genius single-handedly wiped out all his votes...
Yeah Wooden was gonna get votes until McLeod destroyed him in the last quarter. But Wooden controlled him early when we established our lead so i thought he was still very good for us. He and Chambers are fighting it out for Most Improved this season.
Been very surprised with Wooden; he's done the job on the most damaging opposition player and has more often than not won the contest
For him to totally blanket McLeod for over a half of football was a fantastic effort; just imagine if McLeod had been playing like that all during the game!!
Still waiting on votes from WA, Macca19, EKA and of course EF...
K is up to date!!! Never thought id say that. Thanks for the PM's K. I recant all my statements about your slowness :D
Just waiting on WA, Macca and EKA now.
Eagle_Fan
3 Jul 2002, 04:59
:D
I'll be good from now on, promise ;)
K.
btw... 'slowness'??? geez... tardiness, belatedness, delayed reply, late response.... anything but "slowness"! :eek: Geez... you make me sound like.... like... well 'her' really... ;)
Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
:D
I'll be good from now on, promise ;)
K.
btw... 'slowness'??? geez... tardiness, belatedness, delayed reply, late response.... anything but "slowness"! :eek: Geez... you make me sound like.... like... well 'her' really... ;)
Hahah "her" :D
Well lets go with SLACK! :D
*bump*
Still awaiting votes...cmon WA, Macca and EKA.
Bump again...read the post above!!! Your ALL LATE!!!
Sorry mate...i been away all week...only came back today.
5 - Cousins
4 - Chambers
3 - Lynch
2 - Hunter
1 - Fletcher
eagleskickass
6 Jul 2002, 00:12
Originally posted by Macca19
Sorry mate...i been away all week...only came back today.
5 - Cousins
4 - Chambers
3 - Lynch
2 - Hunter
1 - Fletcher
This is bloody freeky
Take the exact quoted post and u have my response!
Thanks guys...now just waiting on the latest of late (barring EF of course ;) ) WA.