View Full Version : Rivalry Round

MC Extra Dollop
8 Dec 2007, 08:43
What do people think about the games that have been selected for the Round 5 Rivalry Round?

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section
Old Essendon vs St Bernards

C Section
Ormond vs Hampton Rovers

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

D2 Section
Old Westbourne vs Werribee

D3 Section
Elsternwick vs Monash Gryphons (night match at Sportscover)

D4 Section
Richmond Central vs South Mornington

out west
8 Dec 2007, 10:00
What do people think about the games that have been selected for the Round 5 Rivalry Round?

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section

C Section
Ormond vs Hampton Rovers

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

D2 Section

D3 Section

D4 Section

mc, the whole round is seen as rivalry round, not just these games. eg - Ivanhoe v Banyule, North Brunswick v West Brunswick. Obviously all teams can't have rivals in their division so the ones mentioned above would be the main ones in each grade.

Jascave
8 Dec 2007, 10:15
I wonder why would the VAFA copy the AFL and have a Rivalry Round? If that's the case the VAFA should have a Heritage Round (where VAFA clubs wear uniforms from days gone by), ANZAC Day Weekend, (where ALL VAFA clubs-no matter what section they're in-remember those who have served and died in war for Australia and remembering the ANZACs), and a Welcome 2008 round in Round 1.

Scribe
8 Dec 2007, 10:52
I wonder why would the VAFA copy the AFL and have a Rivalry Round? If that's the case the VAFA should have a Heritage Round (where VAFA clubs wear uniforms from days gone by), ANZAC Day Weekend, (where ALL VAFA clubs-no matter what section they're in-remember those who have served and died in war for Australia and remembering the ANZACs), and a Welcome 2008 round in Round 1.

1. the cost of obtaining original design jumpers would be too excessive for clubs to shell out for one round. Mind you, not that many clubs have changed their strip anyhow.

2. not a bad idea, given Anzac Day on the Friday.

3. seems a moot suggestion - the opening round is the opening round.

Jascave
8 Dec 2007, 11:41
At my suggestion, would it be a good idea for the VAFA to move the A Section match between Old Xaverians & Collegians to Sportscover Arena, have the seniors play their game on the Friday night (reserves have their game the following day). The following pre-match ceremony will occur on the Friday night of that game:

-A special tribute to the VAFA players who lost their lives in war
-The head of the local RSL recites the words to 'Ode of Rememberance' & 'Lest We Forget'
- A bugler from the Melbourne High School Band plays the 'Last Post' & 'Reville'
- The Melbourne High School Band and the Wesley College Band plays the National Anthem
- The player judged best on ground would receive the 'Bluey Truscott Award', in memory of the Melbourne premiership player who served in World War II, but died at the age of 26.

uglydermie
8 Dec 2007, 14:29
jas. You need to move to Florida brother. You would fit in here a treat!

oldtimer
8 Dec 2007, 15:04

How much money do you think clubs have. 90% of clubs under C Grade would JUST break even. Thank goodness you are not in charge of funds of your club!!!!

Eddie Woloschek
8 Dec 2007, 19:32
At my suggestion, would it be a good idea for the VAFA to move the A Section match between Old Xaverians & Collegians to Sportscover Arena, have the seniors play their game on the Friday night (reserves have their game the following day). The following pre-match ceremony will occur on the Friday night of that game:

-The head of the local RSL recites the words to 'Ode of Rememberance' & 'Lest We Forget'
- A bugler from the Melbourne High School Band plays the 'Last Post' & 'Reville'
- The Melbourne High School Band and the Wesley College Band plays the National Anthem
- The player judged best on ground would receive the 'Bluey Truscott Award', in memory of the Melbourne premiership player who served in World War II, but died at the age of 26.

Don't the Xavs have a band?

RockyBalboa
8 Dec 2007, 20:31

Why the Melbourne high school band?

The wesley one I get but Melbourne High?

harper
9 Dec 2007, 16:08

Jase, for someone so keen to improve the VAFA it was a little disappointing not to hear your views expressed at the VAFA AGM last Monday. If you were actually there you would of heard that the "rivalry" round is just one initiative the VAFA are using to celabrate 150 years of Australian Football and as a football comp older than the VFL/AFL they should be applauded. Many clubs will be able to plan large functions for past and present players and members which should be considered prime fund raising events for all clubs. The Werribee vs Old Westbourne game in D2 will be a cracker and I'm looking forward to wearing the Red V against the Fitzroy jumper in our D1 clash.

Also, while I reckon you could be on to something with the Anzac round remember, this is a rivalry round thread and all Jason Cave's suggestions to improve VAFA football should be directed to the appropriate thread.

Jascave
9 Dec 2007, 19:00
Interesting to note that the rivalry round is on May 10-the very same day that the AFL is having its All Stars game. I guess there will be a lot more people than normal to attend the VAFA Rivalry Round, not only to get their footy fix, but also to possibly boycott the All Stars game ahead of VAFA football. If you had a look at the AFL board (like I have), there is almost total opposition to the AFL's decision to stage an All Stars match instead of State of Origin as part of Australian Football's 150th Anniversary, with most claiming the match will be meaningless, a 'joke' and a complete waste of time.
My view is it's better to wait until after the All Stars game before making a judgement about whether the match and the concept was a success or not.

bigwaz
9 Dec 2007, 23:01

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section

C Section
Ormond vs Hampton Rovers

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

D2 Section

D3 Section

D4 Section

Yes and according to the VAFA website we're playing them at punt road oval.... first I've heard of that...

Mappa
10 Dec 2007, 11:24

D1 Section
Aquinas vs Yarra Valley

Apologies to these clubs, but Fitzroy vs South Melbourne at the Brunswick Street Oval will be a far better fixture.... the names, the jumpers, the ground, for heritage factor this will have it all. I'm sure the rivalry will develop pretty quickly on the back of it too.

I just love my footy
10 Dec 2007, 14:11
I think the VAFA have done a pretty good job of this round. It would be pretty hard to organise all grades and all teams.
i can tell you one thing, in C Grade the Whitefriars and Mazenod game will be a ripper. Both clubs have played each other since school days, and there is an intensity between them. They also play for a trophy, which is currently held by Mazeond.
To put it into perspective, the senior school teams also play for a trophy, and have done so for quite a while now.

This game will be as good as any for the rivalry round. Maybe both clubs should wear their traditional old style school jumper. That would mean Whitefriars wearing their original Brown and White stipred jumper.

Ruck Machine
10 Dec 2007, 14:16
D4 Rivalry Round Looks Pretty Good.

BHN vs Eley Park is a great match up, always close a competitive (a 1 point after the siren thriller last year). Not to mention they've had to share the same training oval for 3 years.

Scribe
10 Dec 2007, 15:23
Interesting to note that the rivalry round is on May 10-the very same day that the AFL is having its All Stars game. I guess there will be a lot more people than normal to attend the VAFA Rivalry Round, not only to get their footy fix, but also to possibly boycott the All Stars game ahead of VAFA football. If you had a look at the AFL board (like I have), there is almost total opposition to the AFL's decision to stage an All Stars match instead of State of Origin as part of Australian Football's 150th Anniversary, with most claiming the match will be meaningless, a 'joke' and a complete waste of time.
My view is it's better to wait until after the All Stars game before making a judgement about whether the match and the concept was a success or not.

Jase - no need to drag AFL chit chat onto this board mate.
Fact is, they;ll get 90,000 to the G, most of the whingers are interstate persons.

I doubt the EE Gunn will have every vantage point filled as a result of this fixturing quirk. :thumbsu:

Bloods22
10 Dec 2007, 23:56
Apologies to these clubs, but Fitzroy vs South Melbourne at the Brunswick Street Oval will be a far better fixture.... the names, the jumpers, the ground, for heritage factor this will have it all. I'm sure the rivalry will develop pretty quickly on the back of it too.

Mappy i think u may be underestimating the rivarly between Aquinas and Yarra.. Even tho i have only been at Aquinas for about 4 yrs one thing i do know and that is that there are no love lost between these two rivals.. Also goin to school at Aquinas there seemed to be a bit of hatred between the two schools... It's gr8 that as we are about to celebrate 150 yrs of this gr8 game Aquinas move back to D1 to reignite this rivarly and play again for the "Mitre 10" cup...

Mappa
11 Dec 2007, 08:07
Mappy i think u may be underestimating the rivarly between Aquinas and Yarra.. Even tho i have only been at Aquinas for about 4 yrs one thing i do know and that is that there are no love lost between these two rivals.. Also goin to school at Aquinas there seemed to be a bit of hatred between the two schools... It's gr8 that as we are about to celebrate 150 yrs of this gr8 game Aquinas move back to D1 to reignite this rivarly and play again for the "Mitre 10" cup...
....and all the best to you for the year Bloods (except against the Reds of course). I suppose I was wearing my "Heritage" hat rather than my "Rivalry" hat when i posted that.

JG Hornet
11 Dec 2007, 10:41

Great ideas Jason. I am a little concerned however, that the schoolboy bugler would be a little overawed by such a momentous event. Furthermore, given the scant regard that Wesley College and Melbourne High kids have for one another (if my tram is any indication) I am concerned that these two great musical instituitions would not gel together well enough and we could well be left with an anthem that rivals the 1993 Grand Final debacle.

I suggest you forward these ideas to Mick Sholly however.

Scribe
11 Dec 2007, 11:16
Great ideas Jason. I am a little concerned however, that the schoolboy bugler would be a little overawed by such a momentous event. Furthermore, given the scant regard that Wesley College and Melbourne High kids have for one another (if my tram is any indication) I am concerned that these two great musical instituitions would not gel together well enough and we could well be left with an anthem that rivals the 1993 Grand Final debacle.

I suggest you forward these ideas to Mick Sholly however.

JGH,

I suggest you work on your bike and run legs.
Your swim, however, was outstanding - clearly those broad shoulders carved up the Elwood beach swell like SMG and his buddies at Mo Mo's in the halcyon days of the mid-2000's.

Back to the topic though......come on Bourkey, what about SKOB -v- Caulfield Grammarians.

Surely that should have been a monty for rivalry round.
Imagine D. Ryan -v- JG Hornet off a half back flank at the magnificent Righetti Oval?

I'd fake a stomach bug and pi$$ off coaching for the day to watch that one.

FSC

JG Hornet
11 Dec 2007, 11:30
Fraser Scribe

Unfortunately, the bike was derailed by a seat malfunction of Martin Vinnocombe like proportions, which saw me riding the 20ks out of the saddle, BMX Bandits style. However, it was most gratifying to come up trumps in the battle of AF scribes, though I hear T Brain and P Williamson had below par runs.

Best

JGH

Jascave
11 Dec 2007, 11:52
It's a bit of a shame that Beaumaris is not in the same section that Hampton Rovers are in. Hampton Rovers v Beaumaris-that would certainly come under the criteria for rivalry round, especially after what happened in the 1998 C Section Grand Final.

JG Hornet
11 Dec 2007, 12:01
Jase you certainly love banging on about the 1998 C Grade Grand Final. It must have been some game.

Ruck Machine
11 Dec 2007, 12:08
What Happened in 1998 C Grade Grand Final?

JG Hornet
11 Dec 2007, 12:12
Buggered if I know mate

crazybear
11 Dec 2007, 12:17
What Happened in 1998 C Grade Grand Final?

Beauy were odds on to win it. They had premiers hats and t shirts made up before the game as they were very confident. Hampton won.

Scribe
11 Dec 2007, 12:34
Fraser Scribe

Unfortunately, the bike was derailed by a seat malfunction of Martin Vinnocombe like proportions, which saw me riding the 20ks out of the saddle, BMX Bandits style. However, it was most gratifying to come up trumps in the battle of AF scribes, though I hear T Brain and P Williamson had below par runs.

Best

JGH

Hornbag,

Methinks there could be a Scribes Triathlon Rivalry in the making here big guy.

I confess, my training to this point has been rather lax due to recent nuptuals, honeymoons, debilitating bone grafts, etc.

However, come Race #3 at Sandringham on 13/1/08, I will own you - provided you fix that bike seat and step up to the Olympic Distance. ;)

After that, we move on to Geelong for the 1/2 Ironman, and THEN the big showdown with Harps on 5/4/2008 for the final practice match before VAFA 2008 kicks off.

Happy cycling. :thumbsu:

Frase

harper
11 Dec 2007, 13:18
....and all the best to you for the year Bloods (except against the Reds of course). I suppose I was wearing my "Heritage" hat rather than my "Rivalry" hat when i posted that.

The Heritage flavour is definitely there in the Roys Vs South game but plenty of Districts boys still remember the 20+ goal belting the Reds handed out in the early 2000's while on their climb through the grades, also the memory of big Pudzy in the South goal square still sends a shiver through the spine of many Fitzroy backmen I hear. Plenty there for a rivalry to reignite, not to mention the sledging between the two reserve coaches that will be a highlight of the Big Footy boards through out season 2008.

Scribe, don't burn yourself out over the summer with all this triathalon business, I don't want any excuses come the 5th of April buddy.

JG Hornet
11 Dec 2007, 13:34
Hornbag,

Methinks there could be a Scribes Triathlon Rivalry in the making here big guy.

I confess, my training to this point has been rather lax due to recent nuptuals, honeymoons, debilitating bone grafts, etc.

However, come Race #3 at Sandringham on 13/1/08, I will own you - provided you fix that bike seat and step up to the Olympic Distance. ;)

After that, we move on to Geelong for the 1/2 Ironman, and THEN the big showdown with Harps on 5/4/2008 for the final practice match before VAFA 2008 kicks off.

Happy cycling. :thumbsu:

Frase

Actually old son, Sandy wasn't on my radar (tucked in between Pier To Pub and Portsea) but I may re-eveluate that now. I will accept your more than reasonable excuses and write off your loss to a FIRST TIMER as a mere blip.

To all you guys reading this, especially Jason Cave, apologies for digressing.

Jascave
11 Dec 2007, 13:35
I reckon the Beaumaris "Premiers 98" hats & t-shirts must be a collectors item by now. It's a perfect example of how not to get too confident ahead of the biggest game of the year. Home & away games yes, but never a grand final. That 1998 C Section Grand Final also saw, in my opinion and anyone else who was there that day, one of the WORST umpiring displays I've seen in any grand final in any league around Australia. Why Graham Thwaites & Martin Jackson were given the C Section Grand Final ahead of better performed umpires still amazes me to this day. While Jackson did OK, Thwaites had a shocker making several glaring errors. Even the Channel 31 commentary team were very critical about the the umpiring, with chief commentator Brad Beitzel predicting that they wouldn't be there to do the B & A Section Grand Finals.

JG Hornet
11 Dec 2007, 13:56
Ha, Marty Jackson. I'll never forget that man.
Together with Peter Gersch, he turned in the worst umpiring performance in the history of the VAFA which cost us a finals spot 11 years ago with their strutting, whistle blowing, show boating imbecility. Scotch kicked 7 goals to zip in a quarter and I reckon the free kick count was 50-0. Just to cap off a great display, he awarded a free kick after the siren to Rohan Plugger Orgard, which he duly slotted home to win by a point.

Marty Jackson = scumbag and Thwaites was a knob too

As you can see, I've moved on.

crazybear
11 Dec 2007, 13:59
I reckon the Beaumaris "Premiers 98" hats & t-shirts must be a collectors item by now. It's a perfect example of how not to get too confident ahead of the biggest game of the year. Home & away games yes, but never a grand final. That 1998 C Section Grand Final also saw, in my opinion and anyone else who was there that day, one of the WORST umpiring displays I've seen in any grand final in any league around Australia. Why Graham Thwaites & Martin Jackson were given the C Section Grand Final ahead of better performed umpires still amazes me to this day. While Jackson did OK, Thwaites had a shocker making several glaring errors. Even the Channel 31 commentary team were very critical about the the umpiring, with chief commentator Brad Beitzel predicting that they wouldn't be there to do the B & A Section Grand Finals.

Go easy on Thwaitesy. He along with Geoff Ridd are some of the better umpires. Worst display of umpiring I have seen was by that Tool Jason McNiece - He decided he would come in a threaten the the Banyule coach before the 2004 d1 grand final v uni blacks. The bloke is unstable and should never umpire again.

Ruck Machine
11 Dec 2007, 14:08
You guys know nothing of bad umpiring, try playing D4!

I just love my footy
11 Dec 2007, 14:55
i must agree, McNeice is a tool. He struts around like a peacock, and he apparently is the most important man on the field. He seems to forget that he is merely the umpire, and takes centre stage every time i have seen him. His ability to exert his influence over a game in the worst possible way is known all through the amateurs, and i dont know of many who are happy when they see his name on the game day roster at their game.

i am sure he oils up before he runs out so he stands out to the crowd.

out west
11 Dec 2007, 15:15
i must agree, McNeice is a tool. He struts around like a peacock, and he apparently is the most important man on the field. He seems to forget that he is merely the umpire, and takes centre stage every time i have seen him. His ability to exert his influence over a game in the worst possible way is known all through the amateurs, and i dont know of many who are happy when they see his name on the game day roster at their game.

i am sure he oils up before he runs out so he stands out to the crowd.

He was kicked out of the ammos and went to Southern League. Just read on their forum that he has also been kicked out of there. What a guy????

Over The Post
11 Dec 2007, 15:19
Even the Channel 31 commentary team were very critical about the the umpiring, with chief commentator Brad Beitzel predicting that they wouldn't be there to do the B & A Section Grand Finals.

Great prediction, given that the GF umpiring appointments are done on a ranking basis - umps only get one senior GF, determined by their place in the pecking order / food chain.

The other comments should be printed out and put on the VAFAUA rooms noticeboard in time for their BBQ tomorrow night, just for a stir!

Scribe
11 Dec 2007, 15:21
Ha, Marty Jackson. I'll never forget that man.
Together with Peter Gersch, he turned in the worst umpiring performance in the history of the VAFA which cost us a finals spot 11 years ago with their strutting, whistle blowing, show boating imbecility. Scotch kicked 7 goals to zip in a quarter and I reckon the free kick count was 50-0. Just to cap off a great display, he awarded a free kick after the siren to Rohan Plugger Orgard, which he duly slotted home to win by a point.

Marty Jackson = scumbag and Thwaites was a knob too

As you can see, I've moved on.

Lemme guess, Aujard's direct opponent that day?

Tim Silvers - err, no
Ben Corin - nup, try again
Oh, I get it now!!!

ultimate hater
11 Dec 2007, 15:34
The only umpire that stands out in my mind, would have to be "Frank" from school days in the APS.. I forget his last name and not sure if he is still running around, but he is unforgettable..
He was 4ft8, could do 100 pushups in 60 seconds, ripped like a staffy and wore this horrid rug on his head.. He also must have shopped for his umpires outfit in the Under8's section as his whole kit looked sprayed on..

There was a rumour that one lad back in the day (early 90's?) from MGS was unhappy with one of his decisions he made in a school game so subsequently pulled franky's wig off his head, I believe the kid was seeing stars soon after... not sure how true this could be, but if you knew him you'd love nothing more than to rip his wig off.. he was a wanker..

Does anyone remember this bloke???

sharp shooter
11 Dec 2007, 15:49

A Section
Old Xavs vs Uni Blacks

B Section

Firstly great to see Old Essedon and Bernards get to play their grudge match next year. Would have thought the biggest A section rivalry next year will take place between the two Uni teams. Thoughts....

Jascave
11 Dec 2007, 22:07
If there's one thing that still amazes me about '98, it's how Martin Jackson got to do the C Section Grand Final despite doing the State of Origin game earlier that year in Adelaide. In the old days, the two umpires who were selected to do a state game (A/B & C-D4) would be first cab off the rank to do the A Section Grand Final. Well, in '98 Steve McCarthy and Martin Jackson were selected to do the state matches and while McCarthy got the nod to do the A Section Grand Final, for some strange reason best known to the VAFAUA selectors, they chose ex-AFL umpire James Van Beek to partner McCarthy, while Martin Jackson ended up doing C Section. Why the VAFAUA decided not to go with the umpire (Jackson) who did the senior state game, and pick someone else still has me bewildered. Did the VAFAUA promise Van Beek the A Section Grand Final before the season started, ahead of better credentialled umpires like Mark Gibson & Wayne Hinton?

Slay Master G
11 Dec 2007, 22:47
The only umpire that stands out in my mind, would have to be "Frank" from school days in the APS.. I forget his last name and not sure if he is still running around, but he is unforgettable..
He was 4ft8, could do 100 pushups in 60 seconds, ripped like a staffy and wore this horrid rug on his head.. He also must have shopped for his umpires outfit in the Under8's section as his whole kit looked sprayed on..

There was a rumour that one lad back in the day (early 90's?) from MGS was unhappy with one of his decisions he made in a school game so subsequently pulled franky's wig off his head, I believe the kid was seeing stars soon after... not sure how true this could be, but if you knew him you'd love nothing more than to rip his wig off.. he was a wanker..

I want to say a big shout out to the umpire of the Essendon Grammar vs. Yarra Valley Grammar game in the final AGSV round, August 1999.

YV playing for their first ever AGS flag. The umpire, a graduate of Assumption College (i use the term 'graduate' loosely) decided that he wanted to disgrace arch rivals Essendon Grammar by allowing Yarra Valley, with Bogan Clokes Jason & Cameron in toe, to win the game and premiership.

Essendon up by 6 goals with 10 mins to go, this umpire turned, paying free kicks against Essendon at will, a free kick against an Essendon player for running too far, even though he grabbed the ball and snapped around the corner in 2 steps was a highlight. A great call. Deliberate out of bounds for a defender spoiling a mark was another great one.

Essendon Grammar held on by 3 points in a classic. Essendon players, supporters and parents chased the umpire off the field in amazing but justified scenes. The Yarra coach expressed his own concern at the umpire's intentions (even though they were in his favour) over a party pie in the social rooms after the game.

One of the poorer displays of officialdom I have ever seen. Perhaps Father Feelgood at Assumption College got the better of his judgement in a pre-match "pep-talk".........

firsthome
11 Dec 2007, 23:35
He was kicked out of the ammos and went to Southern League. Just read on their forum that he has also been kicked out of there. What a guy????

So you all know.. he didnt get kicked out of the ammo's for being a bad umpire there was a lot more to it then that.. i recall he might of hit a female umpire.. at a presentation night???

out west
12 Dec 2007, 06:26
So you all know.. he didnt get kicked out of the ammo's for being a bad umpire there was a lot more to it then that.. i recall he might of hit a female umpire.. at a presentation night???

Never said he got kicked out for poor umpiring!!

JG Hornet
12 Dec 2007, 08:15
Lemme guess, Aujard's direct opponent that day?

Tim Silvers - err, no
Ben Corin - nup, try again
Oh, I get it now!!!

Incorrect Fscribe. Big Rohan was playing in the ruck and was given the free on the siren due to the fact that "we had two players in the ruck".
Marty Jackson costs us a finals spot. Xavs won flag in a very even year after being about 1-9 at one stage.
i've gotta move on.

JG Hornet
12 Dec 2007, 08:25

Yeah I remember Frank!! What an agry little pocket rocket he was. We were down at Geelong College one day and I reckon he ate about 30 party pies during the speeches after the game. Then we saw him, as he was driving off, plough his car straight into a medium sized tree, which he flattened. He's got out, planted the tree back in, hurled some abuse at all nearby and driven off at about 100 miles an hour.
He used to really ham it up on the Friday games when all the students were watching. One day, as we ran out after half time, he was in the middle of the oval, chatting up about 10 Carey chicks. He was about 80 at the time. Great days.

Lance Burkhardt
12 Dec 2007, 09:17
Yeah I remember Frank!! What an agry little pocket rocket he was. We were down at Geelong College one day and I reckon he ate about 30 party pies during the speeches after the game. Then we saw him, as he was driving off, plough his car straight into a medium sized tree, which he flattened. He's got out, planted the tree back in, hurled some abuse at all nearby and driven off at about 100 miles an hour.
He used to really ham it up on the Friday games when all the students were watching. One day, as we ran out after half time, he was in the middle of the oval, chatting up about 10 Carey chicks. He was about 80 at the time. Great days.

Yes quite a few people have recollections of little Franky Virgona. Not just for the fact he used to oil up before games, wear his super tight eighties umpy kit or butcher a game for both sides playing. But for one umpiring technique of abusing anyone who disputed any of his decisions on and off the field. He had been known to quite literally stop the game to get stuck into someone watching on the sidelines. Classic Frank in full flight.

Jascave
12 Dec 2007, 09:32
Frank Virgona? He wouldn't be the umpire that paid a crucial free kick against Phil Cleary's Coburg in the 1980 VFA Grand Final against Port Melbourne that saw Port end up winning the game by a few points, was it?

JG Hornet
12 Dec 2007, 09:44
Bingo Jase!

He'd be about 140 now and is probably still umpiring.

Jascave
12 Dec 2007, 13:00
In fact, mention the name 'Frank Virgona' out at Coburg, and almost immediately horrid memories of the 1980 VFA Grand Final would come flooding back. It's the one of two grand finals they probably don't want to mention about at Coburg (the other was in 1986 when Coburg's Phil Cleary was sent off by umpire Jeff Ryan yet got off at the tribunal because of inconclusive video evidence. Coburg lost to Williamstown captain-coached by Terry Wheeler).

Ruck Machine
12 Dec 2007, 13:15
Are you a Coburg man Jase? My bro played for them 88-93.

ultimate hater
12 Dec 2007, 14:29
Jas.. You are just a wealth of knowledge..

I think you should either 1. Work for wikipedia, or 2. Pen your memories and bring out a book..

these forums are beneath you IMO..

Jascave
10 Jan 2008, 07:20
So, should the rivalry round be considered a 'one-off' or played every year?

Over The Post
11 Jan 2008, 13:28
I think its a cheapass ploy stolen from the AFL to try to manufacture a bit of enthusiasm, and totally unneccessary.

Every team knows who their rivals are - whether it be for ladder position, righting past wrongs, or just plain don't like the bastards. There can be half a dozen rivalry matches every season, or 18 in the case of some clubs.

And as we've seen from the discussions, what the VAFA conveniently fit into a fixture and what can be considered a genuine rivalry may not be the same.

Jascave
11 Jan 2008, 13:42
Over the Post, I'm with you on this one. I think it's just another marketing ploy by the VAFA to get people interested in VAFA football, when most people actually don't rate VAFA football very highly at all. They think comps such as the EFL is far superior to the VAFA. Would the VAFA Executive allow this to happen 5-10 years ago? I think not. Interestingly enough, every time the VAFA introduces something new to football (ie more interchange players, blood rule, melee rule etc) the AFL somehow copies them and adopt it as their own policy, when it really was the VAFA that made the rule-not the AFL. Now it's the other way round-the AFL starts up the Rivalry Round idea, the VAFA copies it and adopt it as their own idea. It's not just the VAFA who's doing it-the SANFL and the WAFL are using the Rivalry Round theme yet some of their sides are far better known to most football followers around Australia than the VAFA's.

btown
11 Jan 2008, 13:46
Over the Post, I'm with you on this one. I think it's just another marketing ploy by the VAFA to get people interested in VAFA football, when most people actually don't rate VAFA football very highly at all. They think comps such as the EFL is far superior to the VAFA. Would the VAFA Executive allow this to happen 5-10 years ago? I think not.

Jas Baby ..... Promoting the VAFA is their job!! Do you think they should do the opposite??

Wake up Caveman! :D