View Full Version : worst five swans ever

bedford
8 Dec 2007, 10:34
i see another blog site is running a thread on the best five swans ever.
i thought we could muck around with the worst five.

1. Robbie Ahmat
this guy would not put in

2. Scott Russell
just shocking,i think the pies were paying us back for trading broken down hacks in teasdale and david young.what a shame he is in the photo when plugger broke the record.

3.Jared Mcveigh
gutless no talented dud

4. Jared Sunquist
same as mcveigh

5. A draw between Michael Parsons and David Cordner

big bodied boys who had no ticker

bloods01
8 Dec 2007, 11:23
i see another blog site is running a thread on the best five swans ever.
i thought we could muck around with the worst five.

1. Robbie Ahmat
this guy would not put in

2. Scott Russell
just shocking,i think the pies were paying us back for trading broken down hacks in teasdale and david young.what a shame he is in the photo when plugger broke the record.

3.Jared Mcveigh
gutless no talented dud

4. Jared Sunquist
same as mcveigh

5. A draw between Michael Parsons and David Cordner

big bodied boys who had no ticker

Surely Paul Chambers deserves a mention. Not sure about Robbie Ahmat. I didn't mind him. He kicked a ripper goal one year. Other player's that could represented in this thread include Paul Rouvray, Stephen Tingay, Nick Daffy, Mark Kinnear, James Meikeljohn, Simon Hawking, Andrew Bomford and David Spriggs just to name a few...

Corpuscles
8 Dec 2007, 11:27
1. Scott Russell - I still have nightmares about him actually trying to have a shot at goal or regularly being 20 mtres in the clear fumbling and getting caught HTB
2. Torture Chambers - The most unco lilly livered poor bastard ever to pull on a Swans guernsey but must be a better BS artist and illusionist than David Copperfield even to get that far:thumbsu:
3. S Tingay - Officially a swan 0 games
4. N Daffy :o - This little black Duck had high hopes but....Officially a Swan 1 game
5 ? Mott - Less commitment than Liz Taylor! ....but lost his chance for major tobacco/beer company sponsorship had he had just a little more upstairs:D ( Anyone could have missed that goal??? and good on him for marking it!!!.... maybe Rockets after match spray crushed him and sent him on a bender?)

Get Smart 86
8 Dec 2007, 16:54
Gerard Bennett was useless

Benevolent Ert
8 Dec 2007, 17:53
This thread is called worst Swans players EVER and people are naming players from the last 10 years?

red19
8 Dec 2007, 18:17
this is a nice little carve up isnt it ?
Easy for people to sit back and hang crap on players who have actually played senior football.
these players might not be the best to have played for the swans but unlike myself and the rest of you with your snide remarks , they have played senior football.
therefore they demand a little respect . not a piss take by some wannabes

red19
8 Dec 2007, 18:19
now this is a thread that i would expect on the ego -centric , wank session that is redandwhiteonline.com

bedford
8 Dec 2007, 18:30
now this is a thread that i would expect on the ego -centric , wank session that is redandwhiteonline.com
having a bit of fun in the off season,get a life

rancidpants13
9 Dec 2007, 17:05
Surely Paul Chambers deserves a mention. Not sure about Robbie Ahmat. I didn't mind him. He kicked a ripper goal one year. Other player's that could represented in this thread include Paul Rouvray, Stephen Tingay, Nick Daffy, Mark Kinnear, James Meikeljohn, Simon Hawking, Andrew Bomford and David Spriggs just to name a few...

tingay never played a game, so his being signed at all was not his fault
i was also about to say ahmat scored a sensational goal, almost goal of the year

i agree on russell, his career was over well before we signed him
daffy very similar, played one game

i guess chambers
and geez, ricky mott'd be there too, his biggest claim to fame apart from his departure was the missed sitter at TS in the dying stages against essendon

i'm sure i'll think of more as the evening passes

bedford
9 Dec 2007, 18:51
This thread is called worst Swans players EVER and people are naming players from the last 10 years?
sorry mate i should said in the modern era,maybe the last 25 years

rancidpants13
9 Dec 2007, 22:11
sorry mate i should said in the modern era,maybe the last 25 years

why not discuss this sorta thing....the "roomies" get to, er, do whatever it is they do with their little darling players
by the way, bedford, i know we'd both have j mcveigh somewhere here
my biggest complaint with mcveigh is that for ages i talked him up ... largely in the hope that he would eventually, FINALLY live up to my initial expectations
unfortunately i know have him as the new millennium incarnation of matthew nicks

as for the reference to playing senior afl football, probly 99 per cent of BF posters would LOVE to have played, or be able to play ... we can't, so we talk about it
big deal, stop spoiling our fun

red19
11 Dec 2007, 22:42
its not about spoiling peoples fun but more importantly about respect.
why take the piss out of people that achieved more than you ? its just sniping , just disrespectful
why not have positive threads about the swans. eg. top 5 favourite swans games you attended , top 5 favourite haircuts on swans players , conduct a poll ' would you miss the swans grand final if your sister was getting married at 3pm grand final ' etc ....that is more fun than just bagging peple

bedford
12 Dec 2007, 21:15
why take the piss out of people that achieved more than you ? its just sniping , just disrespectful
why not have positive threads about the swans. eg. top 5 favourite swans games you attended , top 5 favourite haircuts on swans players , conduct a poll ' would you miss the swans grand final if your sister was getting married at 3pm grand final ' etc ....that is more fun than just bagging peple
top five haircuts your kidding,what about five softest supporters.
your in

rancidpants13
12 Dec 2007, 21:25

nah, he wasn't useless
gerard was brave, maybe not the most speedy or skilful player, but he played tall and was fearless in a pack
far, far from useless

rancidpants13
12 Dec 2007, 21:28
top five haircuts your kidding,what about five softest supporters.
your in

heh heh
touche
thing is, we all DO talk up the swans, we spend the season riding the roller-coaster with them, highs and lows (and mcvagues), but this is reality, we're all entitled to feelings, both positive and negative
you don't like this thread, go find another one, join the roomies, they get might peeved if you so much as HINT at criticism of the players

Cheer Squad mbr
13 Dec 2007, 11:13
why take the piss out of people that achieved more than you ?
Although it is for some of us, footy is not the "be-all and end-all" of life.
What about Doctors, Teachers, Firefighters, etc., true heroes that have achieved far more in life than many footballers. Some or many of us may very well be one of those people, all just trying to have a little fun, which make far better role models than certain disgraced footy players.
You think footballers don't pay out on eachother? They do.

mattf83
14 Dec 2007, 14:17
Andrew Bomford

bloods01
15 Dec 2007, 06:56
Andrew Bomford

How bad was he? I didn't mind him when he was at Essendon. He was a handy wingman. But when he came back to us, he was shocking!

SouthSwans
17 Dec 2007, 01:59
1. Jarrad Sundquivst
2. Nick Daffy
3. Paul Chambers
4. Ricky Mott
5. James Meikeljohn

SouthSwans
17 Dec 2007, 02:00
Bennett was the one who kept the St.Kilda draw in 02 just that by pressuring Wulf into missing the goal. Courageous hero, not useless.

rancidpants13
17 Dec 2007, 14:56
Bennett was the one who kept the St.Kilda draw in 02 just that by pressuring Wulf into missing the goal. Courageous hero, not useless.

my thoughts exactly

ChubbMuff
22 Dec 2007, 12:52
Maybe Dermott Brereton, the best worst player ever? Or the worst best player. File with Rocca.

dezzy94
22 Dec 2007, 19:20
Paul Chambers Worst ever ! Fact:D

Dudley
22 Dec 2007, 22:29
Paul Licuria x5

Dunkley
23 Dec 2007, 13:41
i think you forgot to mention Andrew Schauble in this group of duds
Cant believe this bloke one a best and fairest

Cheer Red Blood
23 Dec 2007, 20:55
i think you forgot to mention Andrew Schauble in this group of duds
Cant believe this bloke one a best and fairest

Wow. ****, if all your post are like this one your a complete moron. But I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and just assume you never actually saw Schuabs play.

Nor was Licuria a dud. Sitting on the bench and with a lot of injuries at a young age, didnt have much of a chance as a Swan.

Henry Playfair will be nominated for these sorts of things in the future.

bedford
23 Dec 2007, 21:14
Wow. ****, if all your post are like this one your a complete moron. But I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and just assume you never actually saw Schuabs play.

Nor was Licuria a dud. Sitting on the bench and with a lot of injuries at a young age, didnt have much of a chance as a Swan.

Henry Playfair will be nominated for these sorts of things in the future.
you wouldnt remember them at your age

CAS79
23 Dec 2007, 21:50
What about

Gavin Rose
David Strooper
Paul Bryce
Ed Considine
Neil Brunton

And none of these guys were just a couple of games either, they all had extended chances to shine and were hopeless to a major degree.

rancidpants13
23 Dec 2007, 22:01
What about

Gavin Rose
David Strooper
Paul Bryce
Ed Considine
Neil Brunton

And none of these guys were just a couple of games either, they all had extended chances to shine and were hopeless to a major degree.

yeah, but i said that about matthew nicks and copped wagonloads of flak for it
not saying nicks was worst 5, but for a bloke who played almost 150 games ( i think) he made a lot of stupid mistakes and was awful under pressure

CAS79
23 Dec 2007, 22:09
yeah, but i said that about matthew nicks and copped wagonloads of flak for it
not saying nicks was worst 5, but for a bloke who played almost 150 games ( i think) he made a lot of stupid mistakes and was awful under pressure

Perhaps you should have said most 5 overrated and you could have built your case. These 5 did not play 150 games but by god they were supposed to be part of the main make up of our team in their time.

Sanecow
23 Dec 2007, 23:58
Do you reckon a few of the blokes who just fronted up one Saturday and were used to make up the numbers back in the suburban VFL might have been quite ordinary?!?

Dunkley
24 Dec 2007, 21:19
i did see shauble play unfortunately. Maybe i just remember him at the end of his career when he struggled

Dunkley
24 Dec 2007, 21:42
The worst alltime would have to be Mcveigh though. It looks like im not the only one who hates this bloke either. Watching him play live gives you a true indication of how bad he is. Surely its his last year, but would anyone else have him. This guy has the heart of a pea.

bedford
24 Dec 2007, 21:43
i did see shauble play unfortunately. Maybe i just remember him at the end of his career when he struggled
a bit harsh dunks theres been a lot worse than him,he would be handy now to release leo.

bedford
24 Dec 2007, 21:51
The worst alltime would have to be Mcveigh though. It looks like im not the only one who hates this bloke either. Watching him play live gives you a true indication of how bad he is. Surely its his last year, but would anyone else have him. This guy has the heart of a pea.
thats better dunks,another one who thinks mchack is a dud

rancidpants13
24 Dec 2007, 22:15
thats better dunks,another one who thinks mchack is a dud

stop jostling lads, plenty of room on this bandwagon

FM0226
25 Dec 2007, 09:35
Schuable won the best and fairest in his first year here (if I remember correctly), so he wasn't too bad (till he got injured).

For me, it has to be Torture...He's a signing that should get someone at management fired (he was THAT bad). Warfe was extremely ordinary. Micklejohn (spelling?) was up there too.

bedford
25 Dec 2007, 18:33
here's a few more to choose from.
brett allison
adrian battiston
tony begovich
aldo depetta
simon garlick
brent green
craig holden
mark kellett
clinton king
mark kinnear
michael lockman
andrew mcgovan
warren mckenzie
brett o'farrell
simon phillips (sorry roomies)
aaron rogers
robbie saggers
david stirling
josh thewlis
michael werner
david wittey
rudy yonson

Dunkley
25 Dec 2007, 21:06
What about tony malakelis. Another recycled player from the bad days. Would choose any other player mentioned on this thread ahead of McVeigh though.

Port_GW
25 Dec 2007, 21:39
Jamie Lawson

CAS79
25 Dec 2007, 22:17
Jamie Lawson

No No No. Jamie Lawson may not be in our best but the little guy worked his ass off and boy he could run.

He was no champion but he has no place been in this thread either.

ArnelDavis
26 Dec 2007, 06:42

Tony Malakellis

Peter Filandia:eek:

Richard Ambrose

Andrew Bomford

Allan McKellar

Just to submit some other names for the hell of it!!!

ArnelDavis
26 Dec 2007, 07:00
brett allison
adrian battiston
tony begovich
aldo depetta
simon garlick
brent green
craig holden
mark kellett
clinton king
mark kinnear
michael lockman
andrew mcgovan
warren mckenzie
brett o'farrell
aaron rogers
robbie saggers
david stirling
josh thewlis
michael werner
david wittey
rudy yonson

Robert Teal
Moose Henwood
Darren Morgan
Damian Angove
Craig Nettelbeck
Damian Lang (sorry pal)
Peter Green
Craig Potter
Anson Brownless
Stuart Mangin
Paul Rouvray
Scott Direen
Robbie Neal
Ben Aulich
Nick Daffy
Dion Scott
Stuart Wigney

For those of you who are real keen you could just look up the records of who they used priority picks on in the late 80's early 90's.

ArnelDavis
26 Dec 2007, 07:04
No No No. Jamie Lawson may not be in our best but the little guy worked his ass off and boy he could run.

He was no champion but he has no place been in this thread either.

J.Lawson a complete tragedy for the Sydney Football Club would have developed into a superstar was only a pup when he damaged his leg. Anyone who was a player at the Swans will tell you this.

bloods01
26 Dec 2007, 13:47
J.Lawson a complete tragedy for the Sydney Football Club would have developed into a superstar was only a pup when he damaged his leg. Anyone who was a player at the Swans will tell you this.

Totally agree. He could have been anything. He had pace to burn and was a goalkicker. As you said, it was a tragety that his broken leg ended his career.

rancidpants13
26 Dec 2007, 16:59
Schuable won the best and fairest in his first year here (if I remember correctly), so he wasn't too bad (till he got injured).

For me, it has to be Torture...He's a signing that should get someone at management fired (he was THAT bad). Warfe was extremely ordinary. Micklejohn (spelling?) was up there too.

disagree on warfe, was a very brave and solid defender but he stuffed his shoulder ( i think it was his shoulder) and never got right after that
but he was pretty tough, never shirked a contest
i thought schauble was okay too, another affected by ongoing injuries

mcvague just shts me

Port_GW
26 Dec 2007, 18:05
Yeah thats fair enough re Lawson. I was actually trying to think of that player from the NT who was playing around the same time, early 90's, had quite a long or unusual name, he might have even been a high draft pick but turned out to be a big disappointment for you guys.

Quite possibly got him confused with Lawson who after thinking about it, i agree wasn't too bad.

Johnson#26
26 Dec 2007, 18:38
Gavin Rose was ok IIRC.

Johnson#26
26 Dec 2007, 18:43
Mangan copped some injuries, didn't he? Played a handful of matches for us in 1998, nothing special, though I hear he's dominating in the DVFL these days.

Scott Direen

Now there's a name. Handy in 1996 if I recall.

The natural
26 Dec 2007, 19:06
Yeah thats fair enough re Lawson. I was actually trying to think of that player from the NT who was playing around the same time, early 90's, had quite a long or unusual name, he might have even been a high draft pick but turned out to be a big disappointment for you guys.

Quite possibly got him confused with Lawson who after thinking about it, i agree wasn't too bad.Player your thinking of is probably Brian stanislaus.

Humph
27 Dec 2007, 03:03
Wayne "Moose" Henwood was a cult hero in his day. A big bustling CHF, who was mainly a decoy for Capper when he was in his prime. He played a similar role that Jason Mooney did in '96 for Lockett. I remember Henwood and big John Ironmonger being my favourite players apart from Barry Mitchell when I was a kid, so I don't think he deserves to be mentioned on the list.Another one I'd disagree with is Scotty Direen. I was very surprised he never made it further in the AFL. When he was at the Swans I didn't think there was much between him and Shannon Grant. They were both young back pockets and would share the kick-in duties.

rancidpants13
27 Dec 2007, 15:44
Wayne "Moose" Henwood was a cult hero in his day. A big bustling CHF, who was mainly a decoy for Capper when he was in his prime. He played a similar role that Jason Mooney did in '96 for Lockett. I remember Henwood and big John Ironmonger being my favourite players apart from Barry Mitchell when I was a kid, so I don't think he deserves to be mentioned on the list.Another one I'd disagree with is Scotty Direen. I was very surprised he never made it further in the AFL. When he was at the Swans I didn't think there was much between him and Shannon Grant. They were both young back pockets and would share the kick-in duties.

ha, yes, wayne henwood....i still have a memory of henwood playing centre halfback and coming in over the top to spoil just on the defensive edge of the centre square (not sure which ground), and his punch cleared the other end of the square on the full, and by a good 5 metres or so...a massive punch, i remember thinking the rival going for the ball musta been so relieved henwood didn't connect with his head

Port_GW
27 Dec 2007, 17:16
Player your thinking of is probably Brian stanislaus.

Yeah i think you're right. Is it unfair of me to put him in the "worst" ever Swans category?? Obviously you guys know your players better than myself.

CAS79
27 Dec 2007, 20:33
Another one I'd disagree with is Scotty Direen. I was very surprised he never made it further in the AFL. When he was at the Swans I didn't think there was much between him and Shannon Grant. They were both young back pockets and would share the kick-in duties.

I think Scott Direen's carrer can be traced in 2 parts. If my memory serves me correct Direen had a seriously bad knock to the head (maybe against Richmond, no blame, a football incident) but when he came back he lost all confidence and never returned to being an effective player and the end from there was swift.

diablo14
27 Dec 2007, 20:39
Doug Koop board

Tarkyn_24
30 Dec 2007, 11:58
As soon as I saw this thread I thought of them.

Bit harsh on McViegh though IMO.

Ryan Crawford, anyone?

nico
5 Jan 2008, 19:55
Shannon "Corkers" Corcoran one of Eade's "senior" signings.

Hopelesslyaddicted
6 Jan 2008, 19:52
Most of the names put forward have been recycled players who had the profiles to be remembered and of course did not live up to expectations

Paul Chambers was pretty ordinary, but a name I thought I'd throw in that I have not seen mentioned, was a bloke from Essendon by the name of Ryan O'conner who was rather slow and from memory not all that great of kick.

Spriggs must also get a mention as I reckon he had more turnovers than usefull disposals

bedford
6 Jan 2008, 19:58

Ryan Crawford, anyone?
bit harsh on mcveigh you must be joking,even rocca's got more ticker but not much

Tarkyn_24
6 Jan 2008, 21:01
bit harsh on mcveigh you must be joking,even rocca's got more ticker but not much
You can have negative ticker? Rocca has zilch.

Mick Oxlong
6 Jan 2008, 21:45
You can have negative ticker? Rocca has zilch.

This thread is totally disrespectful to any player that has pulled on the red and white jumper. Fortunately for these players they have had the honour of representing our club regardless of their abilities and our expectations of them. Fair enough, some have failed miserably but overall...most don't make it!

Why not just rate your best ever (on a separate thread), it has more prestige and provides for what I believe would be a much better debate whereby champions are recognised for what they have done for the red and the white!

Cheer Squad mbr
7 Jan 2008, 11:43
Why not just rate your best ever (on a separate thread), it has more prestige and provides for what I believe would be a much better debate whereby champions are recognised for what they have done for the red and the white!
Its been done.

browny26
7 Jan 2008, 15:50
brett allison
adrian battiston
tony begovich
aldo depetta
simon garlick
brent green
craig holden
mark kellett
clinton king
mark kinnear
michael lockman
andrew mcgovan
warren mckenzie
brett o'farrell
aaron rogers
robbie saggers
david stirling
josh thewlis
michael werner
david wittey
rudy yonson

Interesting thread guys - you have had some duds thats for sure. Take exception to Craig Holden though - he was all australian in about 87 i reckon. Was as big a thing as it is now but he definitely got a gig.

Dunkley
7 Jan 2008, 21:12
Anthony "i miss my mummy' Rocca. Even though he was only young when he was at Sydney, for a bloke that size he didnt have a heart to match.
He is still the same at Collingwood but gives a few cheap shots these days

bedford
7 Jan 2008, 21:16
Interesting thread guys - you have had some duds thats for sure. Take exception to Craig Holden though - he was all australian in about 87 i reckon. Was as big a thing as it is now but he definitely got a gig.
holden is still a dud and always will be,one of the behind scenes staff who should be moved on.we need a freshen up everywhere.

ArnelDavis
10 Jan 2008, 22:01

Ryan Crawford, anyone?

Crawf yeah lets get into him anyway. lol Nah.......To be fair to Ryan he actually buggered his scaphoid really early in the year (like round 2) in the twos and carried it for the rest of the year.