View Full Version : Kerr Vs Bartel

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 20:26
Who is the better player?

Glassjaw
8 Dec 2007, 20:31
Kerr is marginally better, but I'd rather Bartel at Geelong.

tonywce23
8 Dec 2007, 20:31
I voted for Kerr, only on the basis that he has been good/great for more than one season. Having said that, I rate Bartel very highly and would love to have him at West Coast

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 20:40
Kerr for mine....

The guy is a superstar, Bartel is a gun but Kerr is comfortably better.

dalethomas13
8 Dec 2007, 20:51
Kerr is marginally better, but I'd rather Bartel at Geelong.

As good as Bartel is and i do rate him, 'marginally' is being far too generous.

More along the lines of 'comfortably' better.

EB&W Pieman
8 Dec 2007, 20:54
I love Jimmy, but I would take Kerr in a heartbeat. Not even close.

CatmanForever
8 Dec 2007, 20:55
Kerr has been an elite midfielder for several years now while Bartel has had one good year at that level. At the moment Kerr is easily in front but if Bartel backs up 2008 with another excellent year (top 5 in the Brownlow) then I would say the gap is closing.

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 20:56
As good as Bartel is and i do rate him, 'marginally' is being far too generous.

More along the lines of 'comfortably' better.

Yeah, and no guessing who he voted for.....:D

At the end of the poll we will have to get the admin to tell us what % of Bartels votes were from Geelong supporters, likewise for Kerr..

Kooley
8 Dec 2007, 20:59
kerr easily

Bomber32
8 Dec 2007, 21:15
Kerr for mine.

Lynch takes a mark
8 Dec 2007, 21:21
Kerr is the better player but I would much rather have Jimmy at the club

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 21:35
15 votes for Bartel yet not one person has posted a comment in this thread in favour of him. Who thinks that all the votes for Bartel are from Geelong supporters?

sabby
8 Dec 2007, 21:57
Even tho Bartel has won a brownlow I still rate Kerr higher although his off field discretions makes him less appealing

boulos
8 Dec 2007, 21:59
I think "Kerr comfortably" describes it perfectly.

Kochie 16
8 Dec 2007, 21:59
Kerr by a fair margin, the votes confirm my theory!

Whiskers
8 Dec 2007, 22:02
let me be the 1st

JIMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY by a whisker, he is a team man, with fantastic marking ability, great wet weather player. Can adapt to anything.

Oh but im a cats fan so no one is listening.

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 22:08
let me be the 1st

JIMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY by a whisker, he is a team man, with fantastic marking ability, great wet weather player. Can adapt to anything.

Oh but im a cats fan so no one is listening.

On the contrary, i admire the fact that you voiced your opinion.

It's a shame the other 17 Cats supporters that voted for Jummy didn't do the same. :thumbsu:;)

tiger trooper
8 Dec 2007, 22:12
kerr by an absolute country mile.

best midfielder in the comp IMO. Both extrfemely good players but kerr just has that thing about him, the X factor. Also every time he gets the ball he uses it brilliantly and has the ability to hurt you in a game more then bartel IMO

Kochie 16
8 Dec 2007, 22:15
Oh look at that

Kerr 41
Bartel 18

Seems like the majority of people know their footy!

Isandula
8 Dec 2007, 22:16
Kerr easily but that's not saying Bartel isn't any good, hes definitely way up there as the 3rd/4th best midfielder in the comp.

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 22:21
Oh look at that

Kerr 41
Bartel 18

Wait till that Seethus bloke sees this thread, the poor bugger will probably neck himself! :D:eek::(:D

Kochie 16
8 Dec 2007, 22:26
Wait till that Seethus bloke sees this thread, the poor bugger will probably neck himself! :D:eek::(:D
LOL! :thumbsu:

Whiskers
8 Dec 2007, 22:27
Oh look at that

Kerr 41
Bartel 18

Or not.

U take a poll at start of 2007. Will Geelong be this years premiers? Yes or No? Majority say no, most are wrong.

Not sayin im right but my guess is Jimmy has more better years than kerr coming up. Better player in 07 and shall continue.

Glassjaw
8 Dec 2007, 22:29
Yeah, and no guessing who he voted for.....:D

I voted for Kerr, because as I stated I believe him to be better.

I'm not going to vote for Jimmy just because I'm a Geelong supporter.

PendlePie
Kerr > Bartel

Kerr has been good for several years, Bartel has a fair way to go to catch him :thumbsu:

I have Kerr 2nd and Bartel 4th in the comp

The Teflon Dean
Kerr.

Kochie 16
8 Dec 2007, 22:33
Or not.

U take a poll at start of 2007. Will Geelong be this years premiers? Yes or No? Majority say no, most are wrong.

Not sayin im right but my guess is Jimmy has more better years than kerr coming up. Better player in 07 and shall continue.
You might be right I don't know, but the fact of the matter is that atm Kerr is the Better of the two!

claf-43
8 Dec 2007, 22:36
Or not.

Oh geez one good year and all you Geelong fans think all your players are the second coming.

Kerr has the runs on the board for many years in a consistent finals performing team.

In 3 years time if Kerr has dropped off the face of the planet and Bartel is still dominating I will then change my views.

BABYBOMBERS2007
8 Dec 2007, 22:40
Kerr is a billion times better than Bartel. Always has been and always will be.

Kochie 16
8 Dec 2007, 22:47
Oh geez one good year and all you Geelong fans think all your players are the second coming.

Kerr has the runs on the board for many years in a consistent finals performing team.

In 3 years time if Kerr has dropped off the face of the planet and Bartel is still dominating I will then change my views.
Amen to that!:thumbsu:

Whiskers
8 Dec 2007, 22:50

All you geelong fans? Im the only one posting at the moment. Kerr has been better in 06 and prior to that. However he is not who i would prefer at my club. Jimmy much better bloke and this year was better and we performed. Won the brownlow by a mile surrounded by 9 AAs and what was kerr's competition? About 2 players maybe

Kerr has runs on the board in a consistent finals team? Most people wanna say Jimmy stood out better coz we had a good year.

Kochie 16
8 Dec 2007, 22:55
All you geelong fans? Im the only one posting at the moment. Kerr has been better in 06 and prior to that. However he is not who i would prefer at my club. Jimmy much better bloke and this year was better and we performed. Won the brownlow by a mile surrounded by 9 AAs and what was kerr's competition? About 2 players maybe

Kerr has runs on the board in a consistent finals team? Most people wanna say Jimmy stood out better coz we had a good year.
DOn't get me started on the selection of th 2007 AA side, mate that was sooo biased It wasn't funny.

QL 21
8 Dec 2007, 22:57
Kerr is a freak. Bartel is very solid. Kerr for me, easily.

Whiskers
8 Dec 2007, 23:42
DOn't get me started on the selection of th 2007 AA side, mate that was sooo biased It wasn't funny.

Yeah coz they were all Geelong fans..........:rolleyes:

carmi99
8 Dec 2007, 23:59
So far 21 Cats supporters have voted for Jimmy Bartel and 59 non biased football followers and West Coast supporters have voted for Kerr. :thumbsu:

Tarkyn_24
9 Dec 2007, 00:03
I'd prefer Kerr, he adds that toughness around the packs and the speed that Collingwood really need.

Mind you, Bartel's probably more reliable. No six week suspensions for stupid reasons.

Seethus
9 Dec 2007, 00:35
LOL! :thumbsu:
I saw it ages ago, in fact I find it pretty stupid that you try to get a poll to validate your own opinion. Just like yourself, noone here has given a valid reason why one player is better than the other.
Wow..it comes back down to opinions doesn't it.
Except for the fact that Bartel has got a brownlow and Kerr hasn't.
In closing I dont care how much you want to play the
'HAVING A BROWNLOW DOESN'T MEAN YOUR GOOD LOL' card
cos its pathetic, in regards to the fact of how much attention a brownlow medalist gets..its for a reason, hes the best player of the year.
so nice try, my team just won a premiership. I'm far from necking myself :D:thumbsd:

Glassjaw
9 Dec 2007, 04:56
Mind you, Bartel's probably more reliable. No six week suspensions for stupid reasons.

Don't think he's a fan of the horse tranquillisers either.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
9 Dec 2007, 06:11
Kerr has been an elite midfielder for several years now while Bartel has had one good year at that level. At the moment Kerr is easily in front but if Bartel backs up 2008 with another excellent year (top 5 in the Brownlow) then I would say the gap is closing.

Spot on.

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 08:02
Kerr. Without a shadow of doubt.

Both similar toughnut type players but Kerr just has that X factor. Bartel is a star but Kerr is a genuine superstar. I'd have him down as the second best midfielder after Judd.

Carlton Kid
9 Dec 2007, 08:09
Just like yourself, noone here has given a valid reason why one player is better than the other.
Wow..it comes back down to opinions doesn't it.
Except for the fact that Bartel has got a brownlow and Kerr hasn't.
In closing I dont care how much you want to play the
'HAVING A BROWNLOW DOESN'T MEAN YOUR GOOD LOL' card
cos its pathetic, in regards to the fact of how much attention a brownlow medalist gets..its for a reason, hes the best player of the year.

Oh....he just doesn't get it :o. In 2005 Kerr came runner-up in the Brownlow by one vote. In 2006 Kerr came third in the polling even though he missed a game due to suspension. In 2007 Kerr managed to come second in the polling despite missing FIVE games due to injury and suspension. Over those 3 seasons Kerr averages over a vote a game. I would have liked to see how the 2007 Brownlow had of turned out had Kerr not missed those five games ;).

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 08:18
Just like yourself, noone here has given a valid reason why one player is better than the other.

Q6mKp3pVak4

Have a look particularly at the 06 GF where is runs through the pack, picks the ball up in his left hand on the bounce, and then delivers precision to Lynch on the lead with his left foot.

1. Supreme skill to read the ball and grab the ball clean
2. Supreme confidence in his ability that rubs off on the team. Read: Supreme onfield leadership skills

That pice of play is indicitive of how Kerr plays the game. He's a freak, and is good as Bartel is, he's just not quite in the Kerr class. Kerr is one of the best players i've ever seen. He really is that good.

bigdroppunt
9 Dec 2007, 08:19
I voted jimmeh,

Not only because i go for geelong, but jimmeh dosnt come with any off field baggage.

But kerr is the more flashy player IMO.

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 08:31
And if you're not convinced:

2. Have a look at all those situations on the youtube clip - they are nearly all big games. He won the Swans game (rnd 1 07) with that tackle and that mark. He performed in the GF. He kicked a tight goal against the cats in that comeback game that put them in front. Actually, he was the catalyst for that comeback.

3. Consistency over a number of seasons. Finished top 5 in Brownlow last 3 years. Last year he was suspended and injured for a lot of matches and finsiehd very high.

4. Check the poll results

5. Where's Jimmy Bartel's youtube montage?

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 08:33
but jimmeh dosnt come with any off field baggage.
So how do you rate Gary Ablett Snr? Do you take his off field problems into account when deciding how good a player he is?

tip: the game is played on the field.

bigdroppunt
9 Dec 2007, 08:39
So how do you rate Gary Ablett Snr? Do you take his off field problems into account when deciding how good a player he is?

Gary's not playing anymore, and i was refering too, which player i would have at my club,But kerr dosnt seem to be affected by his off field problems, Or mabey he is and thats why he keeps getting rubbed out ?

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 08:41
Gary's not playing anymore, and i was refering too, which player i would have at my club,But kerr dosnt seem to be affected by his off field problems, Or mabey he is and thats why he keeps getting rubbed out ?The OP is "Who's the better player?"

tip: Learn to read.

bigdroppunt
9 Dec 2007, 08:43
The OP is "Who's the better player?"

tip: Learn to read.

Meh , do us a faviour mate and go play in some traffic. :thumbsu:

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 09:07
Meh , do us a faviour mate and go play in some traffic. :thumbsu:Upset at your weak logic and absurd justification and bias being exposed? Given you had to bend the rules by bring in off fieled antics and "who i'd rather in my team" to make your decision it seems apparent that deep down you know Kerr is a better player. You should just admit it.

bigdroppunt
9 Dec 2007, 09:25
Upset at your weak logic and absurd justification and bias being exposed? Given you had to bend the rules by bring in off fieled antics and "who i'd rather in my team" to make your decision it seems apparent that deep down you know Kerr is a better player. You should just admit it. I said he was more flashy, and ill stick with that,i dont look at a player and judge him by what he only does on the field, It's a overall package that does it for me.

and i can for the life of me work out why guys like him have to be out doing stupid shit at night anyway.

carmi99
9 Dec 2007, 10:05
I voted jimmeh,

Not only because i go for geelong, but jimmeh dosnt come with any off field baggage.

But kerr is the more flashy player IMO.

Nice try.....but you voted for Bartel because you go for Geelong, no other reason.

Since when does off field baggage have anything to do with how good a player is onfileld? lol

Obviously you don't rate Gary Ablett snr or Steve Johnson very highly? :rolleyes:

carmi99
9 Dec 2007, 10:09
Gary's not playing anymore, and i was refering too, which player i would have at my club,But kerr dosnt seem to be affected by his off field problems, Or mabey he is and thats why he keeps getting rubbed out ?

The OP isn't 'which player would you have at your club'...

It is 'who is the better player'

Surely it is not that hard a question for you to grasp?

You voted for Bartel because you are biased, no one can blame you for that as you are a Cats supporter, however no need to deny it. :rolleyes:

You will end up looking as silly as your mate Seethus.

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 10:28
I said he was more flashy, and ill stick with that,i dont look at a player and judge him by what he only does on the field, It's a overall package that does it for me.Then obviously you don't rate Gary Ablett highly (or as high as his some of his peers) because he had a lot of offield problems whilst he was playing.

wce4premiership
9 Dec 2007, 10:38
Very similar players and i love watching jimmy but kerr just.

branedotorg
9 Dec 2007, 10:51

tip: if you ask a leading question you don't want to hear an opposing answer.

in this case you have to take off field antics into account if they can retard his efforts on the field or even make him miss games. gary ablett's most serious misdemeanours happened when he was retired.

kerr is the better player but i'd take bartel into my team of the two.

Copernicus
9 Dec 2007, 10:53
It's difficult to separate them but you'd have to say Kerr is marginally better. Jimmy has a Brownlow, and there is no denying he has blossomed into a great player, but he's more of your 'solid and dependable' type who has great courage and great ability to read the play. Kerr is just that bit more spectacular although I reckon he doesn't handle the tag as well as Jimmy does.

bunsen burner
9 Dec 2007, 12:42
tip: if you ask a leading question you don't want to hear an opposing answer.Except it wasn't me who aksed the question.

Someone asked for reasoning behind Kerr being better, so I showed them.

So have I nice big mug of STFU.

boulos
9 Dec 2007, 22:39
I'd even prefer Kerr over Judd.

Bomber Man
15 Dec 2007, 19:06
I would put my left one on Bartel having a better season than Kerr in 08. Said it a thousand times, but no Judd or Cousins means #1 tagger all year for Kerr and I'm not convinced he can handle it from past experience. IMO Bartel has no problem with taggers and revels in man on man play.

Bartel is excellent overhead for his size, kicks more goals and can play the sweeper/link-up through defense better. Kerr is amongst the best in the league at breaking through tackles and weaves his way through traffic brilliantly, again amongst the best. They are both great at centre bounces/clearances, reading the play, winning the ball and applying defensive pressure/tackling. IMO Bartel has better disposal by foot, although both make good choices with or without pressure.

Everyone saying Bartel's had 1 good season mustn't have watched him much in 06, he fully matured this year after improving steadily since returning midway through 04 from his "spell" in the 2s. I won't bother mentioning the off-field contribution of each.

Bartel for mine, he's more versatile and is still growing. I wouldn't be surprised if we've seen Kerr's best already (although it has been very good).

Bomber Man
15 Dec 2007, 19:13
Nice try.....but you voted for Bartel because you go for Geelong, no other reason.

Since when does off field baggage have anything to do with how good a player is onfileld? lol

Obviously you don't rate Gary Ablett snr or Steve Johnson very highly? :rolleyes:Since it affects how many matches they play a season.

wce4premiership
5 Mar 2008, 17:32
BUMP.

In another thread all these comparisons are being made.

This thread started after jimmy won his brownlow and look at the results geelong fans.

gocats88
5 Mar 2008, 18:24
BUMP.

In another thread all these comparisons are being made.

This thread started after jimmy won his brownlow and look at the results geelong fans.

So fuking wat,who cares what supporters thinks it matters what the coaches, staff and of course other afl players think about other players. They play on the feild and have a much better P.O.V who is the better player. these polls are what just some hack of a football player who only reached 4th division or just football fans.

jako27
7 Mar 2008, 10:12
calm down, bartel is good, just not as good as kerr obviously

bzparkes
7 Mar 2008, 17:07
So fuking wat,who cares what supporters thinks it matters what the coaches, staff and of course other afl players think about other players. They play on the feild and have a much better P.O.V who is the better player. these polls are what just some hack of a football player who only reached 4th division or just football fans.

Phew, for a second there I thought you may have taken it personally....