View Full Version : What would you be happy with?
bomberwelsh
9 Dec 2007, 09:17
What is the number of games you would be happy with the Bombers winning this year?
bombersno1
9 Dec 2007, 09:29
I'd take anywhere between 5-7 to be honest. Although it would be nice to win a lot of games, realistically all I hope for is improvement in the youngsters and a stepping stone for 2008 and beyond (plus Rich would be nice in the 2008 draft which looks to be a ripper!)
GreaT SourcE
9 Dec 2007, 09:40
I obviously want us to win over 5 games, but to be honest, I just want us to be competitive.......If we win 6 games and be competitive in most of our matches I'll be happy, we should get a pretty good draft pick in what looks like a 'Super Draft', and we could have a chance of nabbing either Naitanui or Rich in next years draft.....Competitive is all I ask .!......:thumbsu:
Ryder Is God
9 Dec 2007, 09:48
High Ryder
9 Dec 2007, 10:00
10 games or more, none of this " i'll be happy if were competitive" crap. The Essendon footy club shouldn't and doesn't accept mediocrity. If you supporters are willing to, go support another team.
Happy Daze
9 Dec 2007, 10:25
To me, finishing 2nd or 15th are both wasted seasons....the game is about winning premierships. If we have to have a few seasons of finishing on the bottom of the ladder to pick up the talent for our next Premiership, than I'm all for it.
What's with this; 'we're happy with a mediocre performance because at least next year is good draft' attitude. People pay out Carlton and then they right the season off before it has even started. I'd be happy with anything that is an improvement on last year, so 11+ wins and hopefully a finals birth.
Amazing Bombers
9 Dec 2007, 10:33
What's with this; 'we're happy with a mediocre performance because at least next year is good draft' attitude. People pay out Carlton and then they right the season off before it has even started. I'd be happy with anything that is an improvement on last year, so 11+ wins and hopefully a finals birth.
I totally agree. We wil probably get a top 8 spot.
bombersno1
9 Dec 2007, 10:39
We have just lost Hird, I am expecting a fall in position a bit.
loopy_cam
9 Dec 2007, 10:46
We have just lost Hird, I am expecting a fall in position a bit.
Hird was only one player and even though he was great, we do have other good players (contrary to other teams beliefs). And with our youngsters improving, we should be right for a finals birth.
bombersno1
9 Dec 2007, 10:50
Hird was only one player and even though he was great, we do have other good players (contrary to other teams beliefs). And with our youngsters improving, we should be right for a finals birth.
2009/10, not in 2008 though.
retroparty
9 Dec 2007, 10:58
I expect 12 wins.
FootyEater
9 Dec 2007, 11:25
A Class: Fletcher, Lucas, Lloyd, Michael, Stanton, davey, mcveigh, mcphee
Middle of the road: dyson, peverill, lovett, lovett-murray, hille, welsh, watson, winderlich, monfries, jason johnson
The young brigade: ryder, jetta, gumbleton, houli, reimers, myers (all will be very very good players)
as dockers supporter looking from the outside in, i would have thought that so long as injuries were kind you should be disappointed with anything less than 10 wins. hell of a lot of talent there.
but that is just my opinion
Love to win enough games to give the finals a shake, but would be happier in seeing some continued player development from our youth.
Spike or Stants to take out the B&F. Jobe and Winders to consolidate and finish top5. Chook, Ryder or lovett to finish top 10. One of last years draftees to play every game and one of this years draftees to really have a stand out game or two.
Easily pleased!
Well said.
How many years are we going to use the "as long as the kids improve I don't care if we have less than a handful of wins" excuse? I'd hate for us to turn into Carlton-esque supporters.
as long as the kids are played i don't really care how many wins we have. but i expect us to make the finals in 09. i reckon we could finish anywhere from 5th to 14th. next season will be very open i reckon. i can't see anybody challenging geelong, and i don't see any other obvious top 4 sides
Ofcourse we all want enough wins for the finals because it been too f-----g long we've been out of them.
but honestly and realistically if we have a similar year to this year (except the younger guys get us over the line in the tight ones instead of Hird) next year I'd take it.
thebigboy
9 Dec 2007, 12:06
Realistically Id be happy with 8-12 wins assuming our youngsters dont come on fast. 12+ wins isnt out of the equation as long as a few our players take the next step.
Not a Wellman
9 Dec 2007, 12:29
We won ten games this year we really should get better no less then 10 games and i would accept that not be wrapt with it. I would like it if i knew we were going to beat the bottom sides next year instead of richmond and carlton knocking us off we lose games we should win.
B-Bomber
9 Dec 2007, 12:52
Ofcourse we all want enough wins for the finals because it been too f-----g long we've been out of them.
but honestly and realistically if we have a similar year to this year (except the younger guys get us over the line in the tight ones instead of Hird) next year I'd take it.
That's it for me. I would be satisfied with a slight drop in wins (lets say 8) but only if those wins were won off the backs of our younger ones. (of course, I'll always love seeing Lucas and Lloyd kick a bag :p)
To me, finishing 2nd or 15th are both wasted seasons....the game is about winning premierships. If we have to have a few seasons of finishing on the bottom of the ladder to pick up the talent for our next Premiership, than I'm all for it.
wtf, you sound like a Carlton supporter! I can't believe i just read that!
Essendon doesn't support mediocricy, this is what you are advicating.
Your supporting the wrong team pal.....:thumbsd:
If we could win between 8 to 12 games I would be happy. Anymore and I would be over the moon.
bomberandy
9 Dec 2007, 13:49
I'd be happy with winning half our games. We're on the way up but realistically we are still a long way off so 11 would be fair
Darealrath
9 Dec 2007, 14:03
However many it takes to make the finals. And winning one of them too.
Bomber4eva
9 Dec 2007, 14:21
A Class: Fletcher, Lucas, Lloyd, Michael, Stanton, davey, mcveigh, mcphee
Middle of the road: dyson, peverill, lovett, lovett-murray, hille, welsh, watson, winderlich, monfries, jason johnson
McPhee A class.. WTF??? :confused:
I'm not saying he's bad but 'A class' is a stretch... Fletch, Lucas & Lloyd are stars so no argument there.
but Dyson middle of the road? I'd say he's lucky to get a game and needs to really improve to stay on the list.
I'm not saying he's bad but 'A class' is a stretch... Fletch, Lucas & Lloyd are stars so no argument there.
but Dyson middle of the road? I'd say he's lucky to get a game and needs to really improve to stay on the list.
I wouldn't nit-pick about who is or isn't but his sentiment on topic was
"you should be disappointed with anything less than 10 wins. hell of a lot of talent there." (citing also the young emerging talent we have)
Pretty fair estimation I would have thought.
The_Young_Gun
9 Dec 2007, 15:26
Mate, Mcphee deserves to be classed as an A class more than any other player in our whole team. (of coarse having acceptions of "Fletch" "Lloyd" "Lucas" and probably others.)
And I'll give you an example why he's A class.... When we were getting smashed by Port Adelaide this year he was the only one who stood up and played the whole game out and also did it on other occasions (Indiginous round against Richmond), so its not all about been the teams best player, its all about been a leader and stepping up which he has done all year, actually I will go ahead and say that he is probably one of our best players at the moment and will be our top player at one stage in his career.
Don't worry about McPhee, when he is fit he is easily in our best 5 players. He has coped some criticism the last couple of years but he has been carrying injuries pretty much the whole time.
If he gets a full pre season and stays injury free in 08 you will see him back to AA form. :thumbsu:
BABYBOMBERS2007
9 Dec 2007, 17:02
Enough wins to make the 8.
Big Blow Hard
9 Dec 2007, 18:04
I think anything above a 50/50 win/loss ratio would be agood season. I would love to make a statement early and win some early games to give those doomsayer fans something to cheer about. I think it's important we continue to win interstate, as we finally started to do last year. This is a critical sign of our improvement. People need to see the new Essendon without Sheeds and Hird is well on track without them.
I expect 12 wins.
not trying to be a smart arse mate, but good luck... i would say 6 would be a good result...
Enough games to easily make it into the 8, and actually have an impact. None of this just scraping into the 8 crap, just making up the numbers and not having an impact.
We should aim to make the 8 and be premiership threats, and if we're not up to it, then we should just play a few kids (not tank and play all our youngsters, jsut the ones who have shown enough to warrant selection), that we can get a few games, hopefully develop them quickly.
What i am happy with and what i think might happen are two different things.
I will be happy if we make the finals and win at least one final.
What i think will happen is we might slip back a few wins in 2008. Say 6 to 8 wins. With an inexperienced midfield coming through it may be tough to win a lot of games.I wont be happy about it but i will be able to see the reason behind it.
GreaT SourcE
9 Dec 2007, 19:10
not trying to be a smart arse mate, but good luck... i would say 6 would be a good result...
6 wins would be a good result for Carlton, but the Dons are aiming higher than that, not to higher, but certainly higher......
football_legends
9 Dec 2007, 19:12
What is the number of games you would be happy with the Bombers winning this year?
15 outta 22 and make top 6 ! we now have a team that will go somewhere! back to our hard tuff footy that we used to be!:thumbsu:
I think with a new coach teams generally do improve alot and with a fresh look at the club i think we will finish around 7th or 8th. It comes down to the old thing how players we can keep on the park from injuries
We won 10 games last year, which was an improvement of 7 wins.
I expect a finals berth. 12-14 wins is where we should be looking. Youngsters will be ready to step up this year. And the veterans are still good. I don't see any cause for "over the top" pessimism.
bomba4eva
9 Dec 2007, 21:18
Around 11-13 wins with massive improvement from the kids and our older players being in good form. No reason why we should drop further down the table. We have been bottom four in 05,06 and 12th last season. We have had more than enough time to rebuild and get over the dud pick ups and recruitments of Cole, Alvey etc. We are on the way up and whilst Hird is a massive loss the kids will need to step up to cover his greatness. We have plenty of talent (though opposition fans widely disagree) and if we can get the right balance between youth and experience we should be able to improve from last season and fight for that 6-8th spot. I believe Essendon will finish anywhere from 6-12th. We have too many good players to fall below 12th IMO. All depends on the improvement from the kids and how much they step up. Go the Bombers!
bomba4eva
9 Dec 2007, 21:20
Piss of you loser! We dont accept mediocrity unlike your lot. Clearly you have come to ruffle our feathers. If you meant 6th position though, then your right, it would be a good result.
windyhill
9 Dec 2007, 21:28
Always happy when they have a crack, win or lose, just have a crack, it`s all you can ask.
King Patty
9 Dec 2007, 21:55
11 wins, then that would be an improvement.
But what i would like is to believe we are a chance to make the finals.
At the moment we are because of the unknown improvement in the draftees.
Dempsey, Lacock, winderlich, Ryder, Houli, watson, stanton set for big years.
Bomber4eva
9 Dec 2007, 22:55
Don't worry about McPhee, when he is fit he is easily in our best 5 players. He has coped some criticism the last couple of years but he has been carrying injuries pretty much the whole time.
If he gets a full pre season and stays injury free in 08 you will see him back to AA form. :thumbsu:
I hope you're right, I'm certainly NOT questioning his ability.
Anyway, back on topic... I will be happy with:
- seeing players applying defensive pressure (not just davey)
- seeing better skills and determination than last year (i mean this year..07)
- seeing young players stepping up and developing to set us up for 09/10
As for # of wins i'd be happy with 8-10 wins and really happy to make finals, especially if it's a result of the young blokes playing well!
Bomber32
9 Dec 2007, 23:35
I would be happy with 9-11 wins next year. I'd like to see players like Houli, Dempsey, Jetta and Reimers step up and develop into players that we can build around for the future.