View Full Version : Who do you think will step up next year
bomberlegend2007
9 Dec 2007, 20:15
For me its Jay Nash i think he will play a big part in the team next year
Who do you think will step up
From the younger players Ryder, Monfries and Davey.
From the experienced McPhee (He better or he should go) Watson.
GreaT SourcE
9 Dec 2007, 20:30
Courtenay Dempsey, Bachar Houli, Jay Nash & Ricky Dyson (I hope for his sake)........
bachar will start to shine and from then on he'll just keep getting better.
cant wait to see him in action.:thumbsu:
Bachar_Houli
9 Dec 2007, 20:42
bachar will start to shine and from then on he'll just keep getting better.
cant wait to see him in action.:thumbsu:
agree 100%
Ryder Is God
9 Dec 2007, 21:11
Andrew Lee.
bomba4eva
9 Dec 2007, 21:12
Jetta. This kid oozes class. Will be one to watch and I think this season he'll show what he can do. This kid is a gem and to hear him working his butt off at training is excellent news. Watch him flourish.
I think Winderlich will explode and become one of the best outside midfielders in the game. With him and Lovett running rampant I think we will lose our tag of having a slow midfield.
Hislop will cement his place in the best 22 IMO and will become one of our better midfielders.
And of course Gumbleton. Played a few games towards the end of last year and whilst he didnt set the world on fire, once he bulks up a bit we will see why we invested a no. 2 pick on him.
Numerous others that I expect to step up with these being the main ones in my mind.
windyhill
9 Dec 2007, 21:30
Lovett. He has got over himself, we will now reap the benefits. Jetta has to get over himself. Watch Lovett go.
King Patty
9 Dec 2007, 21:43
Patrick Ryder will step up another level
Also expect Houli to become a best 22 player with his work ethic and fitness.
will be exciting year of delvelopment for the kids - jetta, gumby, houli, hislop, myers etc.
Paddy Ryder will continue to rise.
Alwyn Davey will pick up where he left off. He provides pressure on the opposition ball carrier that noone has at Essendon for years!
Angus Monfries will hopefully get some more midfield time. He started poorly in the season but was motoring home with career high possession games.
Jay Nash A real likely looking player, should play 20 games.
Courtney DempseyThe one game he played against Richmond was enough to show he is very important to our club, adding much needed pace.
Night Ryder had a big second year. You would expect him to go that extra step and be known as one of the best in the competition.
If you go by Ryder's improvement from his first to second year...You would then expect the classy second year youngsters in Gumbleton, Jetta, Hislop, Houli, and Reimers to take that step. I would expect atleast three from that list to shine. Injury is the only thing which will hold them back. Hope they get a lot of games / game times under their belt.
Exepecting big things from Lovett, Winderlich, Nash and Monfries. And Stanton should have a spring in his steps with that No.5 jumper on. Watson and McPhee would enjoy playing under Knights.
Dempsey and Neagle has sort of missed the boat that Ryder got on, though to be fair to them they have been injured. Really important for them to stay injury free and have a solid season. So I am expect them to step up...
I heard from Daniher's interview that Lee has been really training hard and is in good shape. And that he is sort of looking up to Lee. Franklin, Roughead, Lewis, Deledio, Tom Williams, Monfries, Rusling, Van Berlo, Travis Cloke etc who were from the same Nathion draft as him, all have made an impact at the AFL level , so he has been left behind big time. He needs a huge season to say the least.
Laycock.
Watson looks in even better shape now. He had an up and down year where he had to work on a number of issues but his great midseason form shows to me that he has another level.
Monfries coming off an average year but his late season form makes me hopeful of him cementing a position in the centre in the new year.
Throw a blanket over the draftees of the 2005 and 2006 drafts.
High Ryder
9 Dec 2007, 22:46
Lovett was playing some elite footy towards the end of last season. If he could string a whole season like that together he'd street it home in the Crichton medal.
dempsey, houli and jetta
all three barely had an impact this year so with these boys getting more game time we should see a strong positive impact from the above mentioned three
aron_rox
10 Dec 2007, 06:38
stanton=gun
Laycock.
Watson looks in even better shape now. He had an up and down year where he had to work on a number of issues but his great midseason form shows to me that he has another level.
Monfries coming off an average year but his late season form makes me hopeful of him cementing a position in the centre in the new year.
Throw a blanket over the draftees of the 2005 and 2006 drafts.
I'm similar
Laycock: Finally played a large chunk of the year and he improved week to week, and flowed into this pre-season without the usual spate of injuries. He's going to hit next season a different player, barring injury.
Watson: Lean and hungry after a few trials last year.
Monfries: He'll push into the middle more and flourish after a so-so year. He ended the season with a bit of an eye-catching midfield cameo so I took a lot of hope from that.
Winderlich: He'll simply build on last year. Looking bigger and he just has to stay fit and on the park. An important player to us last year, we looked quick when he was on the park and slow when he wasn't.
These four are not babies, and I think their fortunes might mirror the teams given they'll be looked too to carry the can in the midfield a lot of the time.
stants_24
10 Dec 2007, 11:32
MAIN IMPROVERS...
PADDY - Will continue to improve given more time in the ruck.
DAVEY - As said above adds another dimension into our game with his physical pressure.
WINDERS - Big improver in 07. I couldn't have been more happy for the youngster. Hes got lightening speed and good execution. I believe Winders will be the biggest improver.
CARN DONSS
acursi08
10 Dec 2007, 13:31
The question is... Who do you think will not take a step up, or who will take a step backwards?;) I can’t see anyone not improving.:)
bombersrbest05
10 Dec 2007, 14:21
I thin all of 2006 draftees will get a good run and will show who is going to be elite and who isnt, i think they all will :thumbsu:
Im hoping that johns is going to do something this year and prove something
The_Young_Gun
10 Dec 2007, 15:41
Jetta will improve the most probably,
Winderlich won't improve but hopefully he will get more of the ball and make use of it properly.
Gumbleton will improve but we won't see what he can really do for another couple of years of development.
Dempsey would be up there with Jetta for big improvers, mainly cause he hasn't played many games at all, and also injuries have stricken him to play noly one game for the year which he got injured in so he didn't show very much.
windyhill
10 Dec 2007, 19:58
Lovett was playing some elite footy towards the end of last season. If he could string a whole season like that together he'd street it home in the Crichton medal.
Spot on.
Lovett Lover 13
10 Dec 2007, 20:13
Finally i just got off my month long ban it was soo bad
stanton will be the stand out who will step up expecially with the 5 on his back, lovett was really starting to show signs of what he can do and hopefully now this season he can show us that more consistantly, Nash, Hislop and co. will also step up to cement a spot in the side as there will be new 1st year players looking for spots it will be good to see those 2nd year player fighting to cement a spot in the 22
bomba4eva
12 Dec 2007, 00:01
If we are really hoping that the young Bombers team makes the finals like the young Pies/Hawks did, then there has to be a collective development in the youth with a few having exceptional years. We know we have some great talent but this has to come to fruition. Players like Hislop, Houli, Dempsey, Gumbleton need to make a mark on the Bombers outfit and I am hoping that many of the youngsters cement their positions in the 22.
Monfries showed some good signs towards the end of the year and we need him to really push on and become one of our better midfielders.
This years recruits dont really need to prove much in the first season though it would be great to see their talent on show. The 2nd-4th year players need to really step up for us to be a finals contender. I believe this is in range for the Bombers and if we have luck with injuries, a good game plan and players tepping up then there is no reason why we cant make the 8.
Darealrath
12 Dec 2007, 14:34
Lovett and Monfries.
Laycock. Getting a run of games and a good pre season under his belt will have done him wonders.
Hocking. He is Mr.Football at the moment. I have not seen anyone train harder than him in a long time. If he doesnt make it it wont be through lack of effort.
Houli Last seasons little pipe opener will have done him a world of good.Always trains hard.
Jetta I expect that a fitter Leroy will prove to be a very dangerous small forward next year.
danielandoi
12 Dec 2007, 17:44
Stanton needs to take the next step an become the quality midfielder to promises to be. I think Houli will inject some much needed pace into the midfield. Gumbleton could be a huge improver, he looks like he could be anything.
Although is might be a bit of a rebuilding year for us I think we can just squeeze into the 8.
kelvinb
12 Dec 2007, 18:02
I think Lovett or Chook will win our most improved.
Not sure if our Rising Star award is only for first year players or is like the AFL one - but if its first year then Myers else Jetta.
Stants will be our next all australian.
Laycock. Getting a run of games and a good pre season under his belt will have done him wonders.
Hocking. He is Mr.Football at the moment. I have not seen anyone train harder than him in a long time. If he doesnt make it it wont be through lack of effort.
Houli Last seasons little pipe opener will have done him a world of good.Always trains hard.
Jetta I expect that a fitter Leroy will prove to be a very dangerous small forward next year.
If Laycock can take the next step and learn to work with Hille it would be a massive, massive boost for us. Whenever a ruck played well last year we were competitive at least.
I think Hocking will make it, he has the size and tank to play midfield in afl. I think his dedication will be a huge benefit for the group as a whole. Ditto for Houli.
I simply can't wait to see the return of Davey and Jetta as a combination, it just adds so much both offensively and defensively in the forward line.
BTW Ant how much improvement do you see in Davey next year?
Jim Bobz heroes
12 Dec 2007, 18:48
Lovett
Ryder
Jetta
lets_fly_up
12 Dec 2007, 19:05
B.stanton
J.watson
C.dempsey
L.jetta
T.hislop
J.nash
B.houli
un_eggs
12 Dec 2007, 20:59
Lloyd...
Azzballz Deluxe
13 Dec 2007, 02:39
Lloyd...
agree. With decent enough delivery, and a good run with injuries he will snag coleman.
If Laycock can take the next step and learn to work with Hille it would be a massive, massive boost for us. Whenever a ruck played well last year we were competitive at least.
I think Hocking will make it, he has the size and tank to play midfield in afl. I think his dedication will be a huge benefit for the group as a whole. Ditto for Houli.
I simply can't wait to see the return of Davey and Jetta as a combination, it just adds so much both offensively and defensively in the forward line.
BTW Ant how much improvement do you see in Davey next year?
I don't know that Davey has to improve all that much anyway. He will obviously be a little fitter with a full season at AFL level beind him.
Boris_Bewick
13 Dec 2007, 08:11
I don't know that Davey has to improve all that much anyway. He will obviously be a little fitter with a full season at AFL level beind him.
I think his measure of improvement will be through the amount of goals he kicks. His first year was nothing short of amazing, but add another couple of goals a game to that then we have a superstar
Kaiser Powser
13 Dec 2007, 08:17
I think his measure of improvement will be through the amount of goals he kicks. His first year was nothing short of amazing, but add another couple of goals a game to that then we have a superstar
Not just goals, but possession, he needs to make himself more of a forward option. I want to see him get up to 8 marks a game and some 20+ possession games
If he adds that to his game he will be very dangerous. Aaron added that aspect to his game in his second year, 20+ possession games.
walks87
13 Dec 2007, 12:58
I havent heard much about jay nash, can he step up? the guy can play and has had a terrible run with injuries, will he get a senior gig?
walks87
13 Dec 2007, 12:59
Sorry guys i meant jay neagle.
jetta2davey
13 Dec 2007, 13:02
i'm expecting big things from jetta, Neagle, Houli and especially Dempsey.
I'm also tipping that Pears will surprisingly give the rising star a fair shake.
danielcanberra
13 Dec 2007, 13:04
Houli for sure.
jetta2davey
13 Dec 2007, 13:07
Sorry guys i meant jay neagle.
Yeah injuries providing he can become a really good player, he has fantastic speed, good agility and can take a good mark. He and Sean Rusling are the models of what a modern full froward will eventually become
Stanton, Winderlich, Monfries and Jetta for mine.
Not sure Davey will get a whole lot better, will just continue to do what he does
Classyecho
14 Dec 2007, 08:47
I'm tipping Ryder will have a superb year. Stanton is a star who will rise to the challenge of wearing #5, while I'd expect Monfries and McPhee to do a bit more this season. Both prodigious talents when they're at their top.
Go Dons!
dave_27
14 Dec 2007, 08:49
Monfries without a doubt. He's at the cross roads.
He came to the club as a midfielder, has been busting for a spot in the middle and next year he will get that chance to cement himself in their.
bennythebomber
14 Dec 2007, 09:20
Monfries if he gets a crack in the midfield and Nathan Lovett Murray if he has an injury free year will gives us some run off half back flank.
walks87
14 Dec 2007, 10:35
Monfries without a doubt. He's at the cross roads.
He came to the club as a midfielder, has been busting for a spot in the middle and next year he will get that chance to cement himself in their.
remember monfries came to the club when he was very young, when you pick up a player that may not be as well developed in size and maturity it takes a little bit longer for them to hit their straps. i do agree he has been a shinning light but i wouldnt say he is at the cross roads just yet.
Stanton, Winderlich, Monfries and Jetta for mine.
Not sure Davey will get a whole lot better, will just continue to do what he does
I think Davey will improve because he'll be able to do what he does for longer.
A fitter Alwyn Davey will be able to be around the ball a lot more and that will no doubt make him, and the team, far better.
I think Davey will improve because he'll be able to do what he does for longer.
A fitter Alwyn Davey will be able to be around the ball a lot more and that will no doubt make him, and the team, far better.
Yeah good point.
I don't care about the fast guys having the ball in their hands as much if we improve our skills, but can't wait to have Davey, Jetta, Dempsey, Lovett ect chasing tackles and have teams looking over their shoulders for 2 hours.
The Toecutter
14 Dec 2007, 15:33
What about Johnsy?:confused:
so nobody thinks gumbleton will step up?
I reckon based on some of his later games in the year he can really step up!
keepzitreal
14 Dec 2007, 16:08
If NLM has an injury free preseason I believe he will have a great year. I also think Ricky Dyson may suprise a few
nighthawk
14 Dec 2007, 22:35
I'd be interested to see a poll of who people think is most likely to step up next year. Can the person who started this thread add such a poll?
bomba4eva
15 Dec 2007, 00:04
I think it would be extremely tough for him to step up in a big way next year purely due to his KP spot in the team. I cant see essendon having any success next year with a kid at CHF especially when we have Lucas there. I think Gumbleton will get plenty of game time but not always in the CHF position. Perhaps on a forward flank. It would be ideal to leave him at CHF and not have any worries, but I think he would be smashed to many times and at his age that wouldnt be a good thing. Certainly throw him in there for parts of a game, and if we are dominating leave him at CHF, but he shouldnt spend his total time on the ground at CHF IMO.
He still has more development to go. He hasnt put on much size so far over the pre season. He is still a year or two away from playing at his best.
I think it would be extremely tough for him to step up in a big way next year purely due to his KP spot in the team. I cant see essendon having any success next year with a kid at CHF especially when we have Lucas there. I think Gumbleton will get plenty of game time but not always in the CHF position. Perhaps on a forward flank. It would be ideal to leave him at CHF and not have any worries, but I think he would be smashed to many times and at his age that wouldnt be a good thing. Certainly throw him in there for parts of a game, and if we are dominating leave him at CHF, but he shouldnt spend his total time on the ground at CHF IMO.
I agree with a lot of that but if i remember correctly i think Knighter has talked about playing Lloyd and Lucas deep, as in FF and FP.
If this is the case then i think Gumby and Mcphee might play the flank and CHF as lead up forwards.
He definitely is too light to play a key traditional CHF position, but if he played a similar lead up role to Reiwoldt, for example, he could do ok but i can't see him playing 22+ games yet.
Smyth94
15 Dec 2007, 08:57
I feel that when Gumby does crack it into the seniors next year he should be played in-between the 50m arcs being one of the first targets coming out of defence whilst Lloyd and Lucas still have the F50 to work with. He won't command any better than the 3rd defender and I think he will trouble a lot of defences who are short on height and mobility in this manner.
Having said that, I would like to see Gumby start off in the 2's and really dominate a few matches for Bendigo to get his confidence right up there.
I agree with a lot of that but if i remember correctly i think Knighter has talked about playing Lloyd and Lucas deep, as in FF and FP.
If this is the case then i think Gumby and Mcphee might play the flank and CHF as lead up forwards.
He definitely is too light to play a key traditional CHF position, but if he played a similar lead up role to Reiwoldt, for example, he could do ok but i can't see him playing 22+ games yet.
yeh agree with maybe playing McPhee there and playing Gumby at HFF. McPhee has the size and could cause alot troubles for opposition players. He was saying that he has learned alot from playing on good forwards and how they operate
Slattery_20
16 Dec 2007, 20:49
Houli looks physically ready to play AFL. Huge lower-body strength, reminds me of someone like Diesel in build
That, combined with his VFL form of last year - a number of 30+ possession games - & his limited AFL game time gives me a bit of confidence he can do well
I expect Monfries, Laycock & Winderlich to continue the level of improvement they showed last year & become good AFL players this coming season
Davey.
I'm hoping he turns into a lightweight ball gathering machine.
Davey.
I'm hoping he turns into a lightweight ball gathering machine.
Yeh you gotta love Davey he very exciting player but the thing about Davey that I love is his defensive skills. He chases hard and I wish a few would take a leaf out of his book
Lovett Lover 13
18 Dec 2007, 14:25
hopefully he can bulk up abit in the gym this pre season and he'll be set
Windas_Magic
21 Dec 2007, 15:52
Even though he has had a dissapointing year, i think that Ricky Dyson has the tools to step up just like Winders did this year. He has pace, poise and skill but sometimes looked that he didnt want it enough. Also hope that Monfires gets more time in the middle. He is couragous, puts his body on the line, is creative and has good foot skills.
Longy413
23 Dec 2007, 19:35
Winderlich has a footy brain and know's where and when to run.
That's something that is very hard to develop over a preseason.
Windas_Magic
23 Dec 2007, 20:46
That may be true but Dyson is still capable of stepping up and improving. No one really expected Winders to step up like he did this year and i think that Dyson can do it over the next 2 years (if he dosnt then hes gone). The main problem with him is his inconsistently and he also looks like he dosent have much self confidence, but a new coach and a great pre-season may change that. I personally wasnt happy when he got a 2 year deal but he needs to show us what he is capable of because he does have talent. If he dosent step up then i think he wont be getting much game time because i would prefer Dempsey and Winderlich on the wings and Lovett and Monfries in the middle. On what he has shown, it doesnt look like he hurts opponents enough with his disposal and he fades out of games a lot. Knights has also mentioned that Ricky needs to develop a bigger engine and that may be the reason he fades out of games (plus he spent a lot of time on the bench).
Lovett is another player who i hope can build a bigger engine and become more consistent. He has shown glimpses of magic and had a great last 4 weeks of the season. He won us the blues game and got us back in the eagles game (even if we lost). He definetly has got spark and the match-winning ability that we need and along with that he has great skills. Lovett running through the midfield could really kill opponents, not to mention he also has a goal-kicking ability. Hes 25 years old and should be at his peak and i think next year he will be.
Longy413
23 Dec 2007, 21:57
No one really expected Winders to step up
I wouldn't be so sure of that...
Agree on Lovett, he's in for a big year.
He's already shown on the track that his repeated efforts will improve next year.
I wouldn't be so sure of that...
Agree on Lovett, he's in for a big year.
He's already shown on the track that his repeated efforts will improve next year.
I'm sure you would agree that he would bloody want to!!!!!
Winderlich has a footy brain and know's where and when to run.
That's something that is very hard to develop over a preseason.
Some, and I emphasise some, of that can come with confidence though.
I think a lot of Ricky's problems have come from not backing his judgement and not playing enough on instinct. It's quite possible that he's just over thinking the game at the moment.
If he gets some good opportunities and he's able to get a few kicks, I'm sure that area of his game can grow.
However, building up Ricky's confidence has never been easy.
I think a lot of Ricky's problems have come from not backing his judgement and not playing enough on instinct. It's quite possible that he's just over thinking the game at the moment.
If he gets some good opportunities and he's able to get a few kicks, I'm sure that area of his game can grow.
GD, very good thinking.
Maybe Ricky was so low on confidence and not wanting to take any risks thus he lost the tiny fragment of confidence Sheeds had in him......food for thought.
TheDon35
24 Dec 2007, 12:30
It's also quite possible that he's not good, shouldn't have been drafted, definately shouldn't have been given a 2 year extension and won't provide any real value to the bombers over his last 2 years in the system.
Quickly drink up that milk, before it evaporates away, it's getting low, it's only half empty :cool:
he has plenty of talent though.
i watching the essendon v collingwood from later in the season the other night, and he kicked a great goal. Received the ball 60m out, sprinted between two pies and kicked the running goal from 50m. i just reckon he is a real confidence player
Windas_Magic
24 Dec 2007, 13:53
Firstly, he was drafted at no. 44 so if he doesnt come good then its not like we used a first or secound rounder on him. Many people, including me, didnt think that Dyson deserved a 2 year deal but obviously Knights sees something in him and he would know a lot more about Dyson than we would. What Dyson needs is a full season in the seniors so we can see if hes got what it takes. He would player 2 or 3 games then be dropped for a month which doesn't help his self-confidence. As ive said he has defientely got talent he just needs to focus on using it.
The same could be said with guys like Dempsey and Neagle who havnt played many games (mainly because of injuries) and are into their second and third years at the club. Whos not to say that they will have more terrible runs with injuries or they show that they arnt good enough to play AFL? My point is that those palyers could end up duds or they could end up superstars, it all depends on how much opportunity they get and on how Knights plays them. Opportunity, is something that Dyson really hasn't been given. Instead of drafting guys like Alvey, Murphy and Campo (who all ended up giving as zero), Sheeds could have been playing younger kids like Dyson.
In 2004, Dyson played 11 games. 2005, 10 games. 2006, 17 games and 2007, 11 games which proves that in all years (except 06), hes been constently in and out of the side.
Slattery_20
24 Dec 2007, 16:57
There's something in this
Late in the season he kicked a couple of absolutely scorching - and I mean really good - goals, roving off a pack, putting his head down & full-on sprinting
I remember a few times he showed this sort of ability in his first few seasons as well - & then it went missing until late this year. Earlier this year he was like a third nipple - clearly he'd been told to man up & follow his opponent around, which he abjectly failed at. The few times when he did get the ball, he looked lost & often chose the wrong option
He just might be the sort of player who needs to be told to attack at will. & If he can produce the sort of speedy mazy runs to break open the game, he can be a seriously dangerous footballer. I stress IF. The problem might be finding that balance, coz he's no good on the defensive atm & needs to always produce to be worthwhile. What he needs, is to be able to find those little things in between times - linking handball here, tackle there, shepherd somewhere else - to make himself a rounded player
Longy413
24 Dec 2007, 16:58
Firstly, he was drafted at no. 44 so if he doesnt come good then its not like we used a first or secound rounder on him.
Merry Christmas Marcuz ;)
There's something in this
Late in the season he kicked a couple of absolutely scorching - and I mean really good - goals, roving off a pack, putting his head down & full-on sprinting
I remember a few times he showed this sort of ability in his first few seasons as well - & then it went missing until late this year. Earlier this year he was like a third nipple - clearly he'd been told to man up & follow his opponent around, which he abjectly failed at. The few times when he did get the ball, he looked lost & often chose the wrong option
He just might be the sort of player who needs to be told to attack at will. & If he can produce the sort of speedy mazy runs to break open the game, he can be a seriously dangerous footballer. I stress IF. The problem might be finding that balance, coz he's no good on the defensive atm & needs to always produce to be worthwhile. What he needs, is to be able to find those little things in between times - linking handball here, tackle there, shepherd somewhere else - to make himself a rounded player
I actually thought he played a pretty handy defensive game on Akermanis later in the year so he's not completely without talent in that regard.
Slattery_20
25 Dec 2007, 20:12
ha ha I don't think I could see any positives in that game, I was enraged & blind
Crossing swords over the wrong thing with Dyson, I think. He is NO AFL teams' midfielder but he serves our purposes now while we blood one. He's got 12 months(24 on contract I know). Ricky knows it, the other clubs know it, and I hope that Hocking, Longeran, Hislop, Jetta, Myers, Lovett, Monfires and be ****ed CJ because anyone who wants a slot there can have it if they can hold it down.
You guys are sucking air where you should be blowin' it. The midfield spots are tight. Jobe & Stats and the four or more rotations that follow, will make Dyson run harder but wider. It is his cancer, runs hard, cannot earn the ball, give to contested forward mark.
Just remember Mercuri's disposal time in 2001. Not fleet of foot but had footy acumen. Before he even got the ball evey punter knew what he was going to do. Glory days maybe but ..... instinct=\Dyson. We can find others.
Dyson has no poise. All the great Essendon teams and indeed premiers have had good to great midfielders. Who sees that photo!!??
He is just not there.
Azzballz Deluxe
26 Dec 2007, 09:21
I think Dyson could be a very valuable player for us if he can have a winder-like break out season next year. Like a lot of other posters i feel he is a confidence player, who just isn't feeling it because of his sparodic game time last season (wether thats sheeds fault or not is debatable).
Now, its easy to say that he is just a good VFL-standard player that cant cut it in the big-time (who knows it may turn out be true), but until he starts getting fluid game-time i cant really see him improving all that much on the big stage.
His best chance at getting some decent game time is obviously this pre-season. I reckon he could be a very handy depth player to our new-look need-for-speed midfield, rotating with winders or lovett (and hopefully dempsey). He is no slouch at kicking from 50 on the run and his accuracy would be a much welcomed assett for our forwards.
Carn Ricky-boy, you have it in ya! :thumbsu:
Slattery_20
26 Dec 2007, 21:10
Dapto - I don't think anyone's kidding themself that Dyso will be a Mercuri or Hird... but he just might be a Blumfield or even play the role Rama played that year... cheeky, taking them on, very attacking
I'm not ruling anything in or out, the new coach will see things differently & no doubt there will be surprises. I ruled Dyso out last year, now I'm not so sure.
kelvin_sheedy
26 Dec 2007, 21:26
I actually thought he played a pretty handy defensive game on Akermanis later in the year so he's not completely without talent in that regard.
He got spanked by Aker in that game. It was embarassing seeing an old man that has struggled toy with Ricky.
Ricky wasn't bad that night and was by no means 'toyed' with.
But there's obviously no use arguing.
Actually he didnt get spanked. Dyson didnt move onto him until the second quarter. During the time Dyson played on Aker Dyson had more possessions and Aker was clearly less damaging.
Aker did all the damage in the first quarter when Dyson wasnt playing on him. I have been critical of Rick as well but you cant say he played badly that day.
kelvin_sheedy
27 Dec 2007, 10:20
Actually he didnt get spanked. Dyson didnt move onto him until the second quarter. During the time Dyson played on Aker Dyson had more possessions and Aker was clearly less damaging.
Aker did all the damage in the first quarter when Dyson wasnt playing on him. I have been critical of Rick as well but you cant say he played badly that day.
Yep... but I still thought he was getting a serious towelling in the second quarter and it frustrated the hell out of me seeing Aker waltzing around him and doing as he pleases.
The pattern for the rest of the game was set and we had picked a pretty slowish side so I wanted Dyson to do more but the doggies runners were having a field day and he IMO was pretty invisible even though his second half stats might say otherwise. I think he got a couple of cheap ones right at the end when the game was done and dusted.
I believe Aker got votes and was only behind Cooney as BOG.
Windas_Magic
27 Dec 2007, 10:36
Yeah, i believe Campo was playing on Aker in the first quarter when he was killing us. I don't know why Campo was playing on him because hes way to slow for Aker
Dapto - I don't think anyone's kidding themself that Dyso will be a Mercuri or Hird... but he just might be a Blumfield or even play the role Rama played that year... cheeky, taking them on, very attacking
I'm not ruling anything in or out, the new coach will see things differently & no doubt there will be surprises. I ruled Dyso out last year, now I'm not so sure.
Thats fair. But I cannot see what value he specifically adds that cannot be found elsewhere. The Mercuri example was probably bad, Dyson has more defensive qualities but what I was trying to say was that if he was modeling himself on a kind of player it might be Merc but he just has not got the vision nor finish.
Slattery_20
27 Dec 2007, 15:01
There's been plenty of good players in great teams who don't have that vision
& I think we disagree a bit on his finishing skills, he's a pretty good running shot on goal & he can weight a kick nicely for a leading forward
For us to get value out of him, we have to use him as a running creative player. He can burst open packs & make the play.
Thats fair. But I cannot see what value he specifically adds that cannot be found elsewhere. The Mercuri example was probably bad, Dyson has more defensive qualities but what I was trying to say was that if he was modeling himself on a kind of player it might be Merc but he just has not got the vision nor finish.
yes he is not a Mercuri, Mercs was one of kind he had great silky skills and was very difficult to tackle and made opponients look bad. Ricky needs to use his asset and run and use that fantastic long kick of his to break the lines. Make or break year and time will tell
There's been plenty of good players in great teams who don't have that vision
& I think we disagree a bit on his finishing skills, he's a pretty good running shot on goal & he can weight a kick nicely for a leading forward
For us to get value out of him, we have to use him as a running creative player. He can burst open packs & make the play.
Granted. Granted to everyting you have said. I just would not keep a spot for a player that portends to do what you say without an extra dimension. I think he is a bit soft, he doesnt really burst packs but he does run and make play but too infrequently to warrant a starting 18/22. He's needs another tool in the shed (lol).
You will hit me again for making poor comparisons but TW burst packs and made play but he also ran back to the defensive 50, and wsa more than handy in forward 50 scoring goals. Sure he is no TW but he does need that other aspect to his game and I cannot see it.
yes he is not a Mercuri, Mercs was one of kind he had great silky skills and was very difficult to tackle and made opponients look bad. Ricky needs to use his asset and run and use that fantastic long kick of his to break the lines. Make or break year and time will tell
It would have been a disgrace to your user name if you did not lodge that post.
Yep... but I still thought he was getting a serious towelling in the second quarter and it frustrated the hell out of me seeing Aker waltzing around him and doing as he pleases.
The pattern for the rest of the game was set and we had picked a pretty slowish side so I wanted Dyson to do more but the doggies runners were having a field day and he IMO was pretty invisible even though his second half stats might say otherwise. I think he got a couple of cheap ones right at the end when the game was done and dusted.
I believe Aker got votes and was only behind Cooney as BOG.
Aker had 4 possessions in the second quarter yet he was towling up Dyson.
Amazing :rolleyes:
kelvin_sheedy
28 Dec 2007, 13:13
Aker had 4 possessions in the second quarter yet he was towling up Dyson.
Amazing :rolleyes:
Here's the Brownlow votes:
Brownlow Votes: 3: A Cooney (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--adam-cooney), 2: B Johnson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--brad-johnson), 1: J Akermanis (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--jason-akermanis)
Here's the AFL bests summary :
Best: Western Bulldogs: A Cooney J Akermanis N Eagleton D Giansiracusa D Morris. Essendon: J Watson J Johnson M Johnson J Nash A Monfries.
Strange that Aker got votes everywhere but was well held by Dyson for 3 quarters. :confused:
His possessions in the second quarter were very telling as they were for the whole game. He averaged 15.7 for the year yet had 24 against us.
If thats doing an alright job then I guess our standards have seriously slipped.
Here's the Brownlow votes:
Brownlow Votes: 3: A Cooney (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--adam-cooney), 2: B Johnson (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--brad-johnson), 1: J Akermanis (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-western-bulldogs--jason-akermanis)
Here's the AFL bests summary :
Best: Western Bulldogs: A Cooney J Akermanis N Eagleton D Giansiracusa D Morris. Essendon: J Watson J Johnson M Johnson J Nash A Monfries.
Strange that Aker got votes everywhere but was well held by Dyson for 3 quarters. :confused:
His possessions in the second quarter were very telling as they were for the whole game. He averaged 15.7 for the year yet had 24 against us.
If thats doing an alright job then I guess our standards have seriously slipped.
Keep up the good work. He had 11 possesions in the first quarter;) . Thats where he got the votes from. Anyway well held are your words. I was simply pointing out to you that he didnt toy with Dyson. He destroyed us in the first quarter before Dyson was moved onto him. After quarter time he didnt have as much influence on the game and Dyson had 17 possessions to Akers 13.
You cant hold his first quarter dominace against Dyson as he wasnt playing on him. You really need to have a better memory;)
kelvin_sheedy
28 Dec 2007, 23:09
Keep up the good work. He had 11 possesions in the first quarter;) . Thats where he got the votes from. Anyway well held are your words. I was simply pointing out to you that he didnt toy with Dyson. He destroyed us in the first quarter before Dyson was moved onto him. After quarter time he didnt have as much influence on the game and Dyson had 17 possessions to Akers 13.
You cant hold his first quarter dominace against Dyson as he wasnt playing on him. You really need to have a better memory;)
Ant... there's a few things that stick in my mind from last year and one that really annoys me is Aker baulking Dyson a few times and then delivering a perfect pass in the second quarter.
I can't let go of it because anyone with any footy nous would not have let that happen. It reminded me of a dad playing with his son it was that obvious!
How many possies did Dyson have in the last quarter when the game was done and dusted? I recall he got a few cheapies with a few minutes to go.
He frustrated me just as much as Courtney Johns' second efforts. Another thing that sticks out from last year is when Shannon Grant baulked Johns to kick an easy goal.
I have nightmares every night about those two piss poor efforts.
Ant... there's a few things that stick in my mind from last year and one that really annoys me is Aker baulking Dyson a few times and then delivering a perfect pass in the second quarter.
I can't let go of it because anyone with any footy nous would not have let that happen. It reminded me of a dad playing with his son it was that obvious!
How many possies did Dyson have in the last quarter when the game was done and dusted? I recall he got a few cheapies with a few minutes to go.
He frustrated me just as much as Courtney Johns' second efforts. Another thing that sticks out from last year is when Shannon Grant baulked Johns to kick an easy goal.
He frustrated me just as much as Courtney Johns' second efforts.
You are such a kidder kelvin :D
Well given Aker is/was a champion player i suspect he could baulk a lot of guys playing the game. You are picking out single faults and using them to judge a whole game. If you are going to do that then there are any number of times in games where you could have a shot at most players .
Now i am not going defend Dysons whole year. He was ordinary but in the game against the Dogs he was ok. You cant say he wasn't. He went onto a player who had 11 possessions and a few goals in the first quarter and kept his influence to a minimum for the rest of the game. Yes Aker did a couple of good things in the last three quarters, the pass balk and pass you mentioned was actually in the last quarter , but over all Dyson kept his influence on the game down. Im not convinced tht Dyson was the way to go but you cant use the game against the Dogs as evidence that he cant play.
As far as Grant baulking Johns i suspect Grant would do the same to most big men. You are talking about a midfielder on a tall. He would have done the same to Lloyd, Lucas, Mal ,Laycock,Hille and preactically any other tall other than Fletcher.
freakofnature
29 Dec 2007, 08:55
Dyson needs to learn the art of the chase down. He has the pace to do it and is becoming a feature of the AFL quicks. If he created one turn over per quarter he would be a much better player. Davey does it perfectly a great mix of exciting attacking dash with feared defensive pressure.
bomber_girl
29 Dec 2007, 10:17
I would love to see Lonergan and Hocking become regulars next year. I'd also like to see Andy Lee get over his injuries and get a few games.
As far as Grant baulking Johns i suspect Grant would do the same to most big men. You are talking about a midfielder on a tall. He would have done the same to Lloyd, Lucas, Mal ,Laycock,Hille and preactically any other tall other than Fletcher.
And Patrick Ryder. Just ask Dale Thomas.
I didnt include Ryder . Yes he nailed Thomas but he was also guilty of some very ordinary attempts to tackle in the past as well.
Houli2Gumbleton
29 Dec 2007, 13:07
y is lonergan never talked about.
Windas_Magic
29 Dec 2007, 15:04
y is lonergan never talked about.
Probalby because he hasnt played a lot of footy (for essendon and bendigo) because of injury which hasnt allowed people to make a call on him and to make a fair judgement. Hes been on the list for a few years but hes had a real unlucky run with his injuries. On what ive heard and seen, he seems like a real tough midfield (maybe similar to JJ) who attackts the footy. He'll definently be competing for a spot in the side with the likes of Slattery, Hislop and Hocking.
Sort of sums it up really. Hasnt had the chance to continually impress becasue of injury interuptions. Twice he has been on the verge of senior selection only to get injured.
What he may give if he steps it up in the midfield is a player who can do the job in the midfield but also be a dangerous small forward. He knows how to find the footy in and around the forward line. Just needs to improve his conversion rate a bit.